View Full Version : Hibs' Starting XI's by Decade

TheFamous1875
06-11-2013, 07:49 PM
Just a wee fun thread away from the serious anticipation of our new manager (whoever he may be! ;) ) where we can pick and discuss our ideal starting XI's by decade. Since I'm not a pup, I'll start mines in the 90s (which I don't mind that well).

1990s:

Goram.

Sauzee. Hunter. Mitchell.

O'Neil. McGinley. Collins. McAllister.

Latapy.

Jackson. Wright.

Subs:
Leighton.
Hughes.
McLeod.
Harper.
Weir.
Mixu.
K. Miller.
W. Miller.

2000s:

Andersson.

Whittaker. Sauzee. Jones. Murphy.

Jack. Thomson.
Latapy.

Brown. Fletcher. Riordan.

Subs:
Colgan.
O'Neil.
Laursen.
O'Connor.
Stokes.
Shiels.
Zemmama.
Sproule.

I'll probably change my choices over time (part of the fun), but these are my choices when I first thought this up. All open to discuss, and I can't wait to see some older posters choices!

06-11-2013, 07:56 PM
What about the 2010's

Williams

McGivern Hanlon Forster Maybury

Sproule Thomson Robertson Harris

Griffiths O'Connor

TheFamous1875
06-11-2013, 07:58 PM
What about the 2010's

Williams

Griffiths O'Connor

Oh aye, I forgot that.

2010s:

Williams.

Griffiths.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

06-11-2013, 07:59 PM
What about the 2010's

Williams

Griffiths O'Connor

surely we can make a better team than that?

06-11-2013, 08:06 PM
surely we can make a better team than that?

Knock yourself out! :agree: My mind goes blank during CC, but turns out we still had Stokes, Riordan, Ian Murray, Zemmama, and Hogg for the 2010 New Year Derby.

06-11-2013, 08:18 PM
My mind goes blank during CC

I think even Calderwood himself gets that.

E10 Rifle
06-11-2013, 08:29 PM
80's

Rough

Orr Hunter Paterson Mitchell

McNamara McGinley Bell Collins

Durie Cowan

Subs

McArthur
Sneddon
Kane
Weir
Willie Irvine

06-11-2013, 08:51 PM
Knock yourself out! :agree: My mind goes blank during CC, but turns out we still had Stokes, Riordan, Ian Murray, Zemmama, and Hogg for the 2010 New Year Derby.

yeah fair enough, when I thought about it i struggled.

If we're allowed to use those players it's alot easier though

Bobo
06-11-2013, 09:11 PM
1970's

Jim Herriot
John Brownlie
Erich Schaedler
Pat Stanton
Jim Black
John Blackley
Alex Edwards
Jimmy O'Rourke
Alan Gordon
Alex Cropley
Arthur Duncan

I couldn't break up the best team I've ever had the pleasure of watching so it's the Tornadoes always for me. As an alternative though I wonder how we would have got on with this team? :

Gordon Marshall
Bobby Smith
Chris Shevlane
Jackie McNamara
Craig Paterson
Des Bremner
Ralph Callachan
Ally McLeod
Joe Baker
George Best
Joe McBride

StevieT
06-11-2013, 09:27 PM
1970's

Jim Herriot
John Brownlie
Erich Schaedler
Pat Stanton
Jim Black
John Blackley
Alex Edwards
Jimmy O'Rourke
Alan Gordon
Alex Cropley
Arthur Duncan

I couldn't break up the best team I've ever had the pleasure of watching so it's the Tornadoes always for me. As an alternative though I wonder how we would have got on with this team? :

Gordon Marshall
Bobby Smith
Chris Shevlane
Jackie McNamara
Craig Paterson
Des Bremner
Ralph Callachan
Ally McLeod
Joe Baker
George Best
Joe McBride

The 70s team speaks for itself. If there was to be any change then it would either be at goalkeeper or centre half. I was brought up with this team and they were a pleasure to watch. I just dare anyone to mention Joe Harper :grr:

Bobo
06-11-2013, 09:31 PM
The 70s team speaks for itself. If there was to be any change then it would either be at goalkeeper or centre half. I was brought up with this team and they were a pleasure to watch. I just dare anyone to mention Joe Harper :grr:

:agree: a better keeper and centre half would have seen the Tornadoes win more honours.

Harper was an odious little 💩

06-11-2013, 09:31 PM

Booooooooooooooooooooooooooo you just did :greengrin

TheFamous1875
07-11-2013, 02:00 PM
My attempt at a 2010s XI (so far):

Williams.

McPake. Bamba. Murray.

Zemmama. Claros. Thomson. Harris.

Griffiths. Stokes. Riordan.

07-11-2013, 02:29 PM
My attempt at a 2010s XI (so far):

Williams.

McPake. Bamba. Murray.

Zemmama. Claros. Thomson. Harris.

Griffiths. Stokes. Riordan.

2 defensive centre midfielders!? :greengrin

Mind you at top form that front three would annihilate everything in its path...:agree:

brian6-2
07-11-2013, 02:51 PM
80's

Rough

Orr Hunter Paterson Mitchell

McNamara McGinley Bell Collins

Durie Cowan

Subs

McArthur
Sneddon
Kane
Weir
Willie Irvine

nae willie miller?

Eric
07-11-2013, 02:53 PM
1940's

Tommy Younger*

Jock Govan* Davie Shaw* (capt)

Bobby Combe* Johnny Paterson Archie Buchanan*

Gordon Smith* Bobby Johnstone Lawrie Reilly* Eddie Turnbull Willie Ormond*

Subs:

Jimmy Kerr*

Jimmy Cairns

Hugh Howie

Willie Finnegan*

Peter Aird*

Sammy Kean

Alex Linwood*

* Still have their autographs which I got in 1948 and in those days they were legible :wink:

07-11-2013, 04:47 PM
2000 - 2009

.............................Stack................ ..........
..Whittaker.....Sauzee.....Jones.....Murphy......
..........................Thomson................. ........
........Latapy............Luna............Brown... .....
..................Fletcher.........Riordan........ ........

2010 +

TBs starting 11 + tactics. :pray:

07-11-2013, 04:53 PM
1940's

Tommy Younger*

Jock Govan* Davie Shaw* (capt)

Bobby Combe* Johnny Paterson Archie Buchanan*

Gordon Smith* Bobby Johnstone Lawrie Reilly* Eddie Turnbull Willie Ormond*

Subs:

Jimmy Kerr*

Jimmy Cairns

Hugh Howie

Willie Finnegan*

Peter Aird*

Sammy Kean

Alex Linwood*

* Still have their autographs which I got in 1948 and in those days they were legible :wink:

Other than Howie for Shaw that's the first team I saw.Also still have their autographs(beside the ones from girls in my primary class proclaiming undieing love for me).

bournehibby
07-11-2013, 09:20 PM
OK, now I've been drawn in.......1960's

Simpson
Davis
Stanton
MacNamee
Baxter
Scott
Cormack
Martin
Hamilton
Stevenson

bh

07-11-2013, 09:22 PM
OK, now I've been drawn in.......1960's

Simpson
Davis
Stanton
MacNamee
Baxter
Scott
Cormack
Martin
Hamilton
Stevenson

bh

Cracking team that :agree:

c31
07-11-2013, 09:24 PM
60's

Allan
Duncan
Davis (c)
Stanton
Masson
McGraw
Scott
Quinn
Stein
Cormack
Stevenson

07-11-2013, 09:34 PM
60's

Allan
Duncan
Davis (c)
Stanton
Masson
McGraw
Scott
Quinn
Stein
Cormack
Stevenson

And another (I'm sure you meant Madsen)

c31
07-11-2013, 09:37 PM
a did ...

07-11-2013, 09:46 PM
2000 - 2009

.............................Stack................ ..........
..Whittaker.....Sauzee.....Jones.....Murphy......
..........................Thomson................. ........
........Latapy............Luna............Brown... .....
..................Fletcher.........Riordan........ ........

2010 +

TBs starting 11 + tactics. :pray:

Get rid of Luna (liked him, but never a 'team of the decade' player and certainly not as a midfielder), put Latapy in the middle, Brown on the right and Zitelli on the left. Oh and Doumbe for Jones, Andersson for Stack.

Winner.

TheFamous1875
07-11-2013, 10:20 PM
Out of interest, how did the 60s teams line up??