View Full Version : Maurice Malpas - one club man

06-11-2013, 12:53 PM
Didn't realise he had spent his ENTIRE career with Dundee Untied?

What a jobsworth, brownnosed, dundee loving creep :whistle:

Gerrard (cont), Carragher, Scholes, Gary Neville, Le Tissier, (Tony) Adams are a few English ones..

4 Hibs players have acheived this feat - anyone hazard a guess? no googling :)

nribs
06-11-2013, 12:56 PM
Didn't realise he had spent his ENTIRE career with Dundee Untied?

What a jobsworth, brownnosed, dundee loving creep :whistle:

Gerrard (cont), Carragher, Scholes, Gary Neville, Le Tissier, (Tony) Adams are a few English ones..

Gordon Hunter?

Leighonel
06-11-2013, 01:00 PM
Does lewis stevenson count?

Lawrie Reilly

Gordon Hunter
Laurie Reilly
Eddie Turnbull

errr can't think of another of the top of my head....

Lawrie (born, breed and died)

I can't think of any Hibs players that spent their entire career at Dundee Utd. :confused:

Is he finished?

06-11-2013, 01:02 PM
I can't think of any Hibs players that spent their entire career at Dundee Utd. :confused:

That's what caught me out as well.

I think the OP just means players that have spent their entire careers at any club.

06-11-2013, 01:02 PM
Turnbull and Reilly, not sure on the other two

06-11-2013, 01:03 PM
Malpas spent his entire career at Dundee Utd because Jim McLean had him on a 47 year contract.

06-11-2013, 01:04 PM
That's what caught me out as well.

I think the OP just means players that have spent their entire careers at any club.

Ah! Lucky you're here. :whistle:

Leighonel
06-11-2013, 01:04 PM
Is he finished?

Of course not but he has spent his entire career up to this point at hibs.

McSwanky
06-11-2013, 01:15 PM
Was going to say Gordon Rae, but he moved on near the end of his career I think.

06-11-2013, 01:17 PM
Was going to say Gordon Rae, but he moved on near the end of his career I think.

:agree: Partick

Highland Hibby
06-11-2013, 01:20 PM
Cant remember his name but the Hibs player that broke his leg 2 minutes into his debut and never played football again. he is in the Guiness book of records. Late 70's early 80's I think it was.

06-11-2013, 01:22 PM
Cant remember his name but the Hibs player that broke his leg 2 minutes into his debut and never played football again. he is in the Guiness book of records. Late 70's early 80's I think it was.

Ian Hendry

He came from DUNDEE UNITED IIRC

Highland Hibby
06-11-2013, 01:25 PM
Ian Hendry

He came from DUNDEE UNITED IIRC
:greengrin Ha ha never knew that, was gonna say Gordon Rae as my other choice so time to retire gracefully from this thread I think :rolleyes: :greengrin

06-11-2013, 01:32 PM
bobby templeton

06-11-2013, 01:33 PM
bobby templeton

Good call. :aok:

davy malcolm
06-11-2013, 01:36 PM
Did Turnbull no play for falkirk

Sent from my HTC One X+ using Tapatalk

Highland Hibby
06-11-2013, 01:36 PM
Bobby Combe

06-11-2013, 01:37 PM
Benny Brazil????

Highland Hibby
06-11-2013, 01:39 PM
Benny Brazil???? Played for Hamilton after leaving Hibs, and yes we got Turnbull from Falkirk

06-11-2013, 01:39 PM
Bobby Combe

Played for Dumbarton.

hibbybrian
06-11-2013, 01:46 PM
George Muir

06-11-2013, 01:49 PM
George Muir

Played for Yeovil Town.

Highland Hibby
06-11-2013, 02:09 PM
I can't think of any Hibs players that spent their entire career at Dundee Utd. :confused: Unless they played for united from 1909 until 1923!!

06-11-2013, 02:14 PM
Of course not but he has spent his entire career up to this point at hibs.

Let's chuck in Ross Caldwell, Jordon Forster, Alex Harris, Danny Handling and Sam Stanton. Probably one or two more. :wink:

MoscowHibs
06-11-2013, 02:19 PM
Lawrie Reilly, Eddie Turnbull, Bobby Combe, Patrick Callaghan, And naw, I didnae google it.............I wikipediad it!!!!!

06-11-2013, 02:21 PM
Gordon hunter played for an Australian team possibly Melbourne or Sydney. So not him.

hibbeedavid
06-11-2013, 02:46 PM

There's many on this site who would argue he finished playing for us in approximately May 2007........

LeithBoozy
06-11-2013, 03:10 PM
Benny Brazil????

It just felt like he did Blackpool! :greengrin

06-11-2013, 03:46 PM
Lawrie Reilly, Eddie Turnbull, Bobby Combe, Patrick Callaghan, And naw, I didnae google it.............I wikipediad it!!!!!

How clever of you:rolleyes:

Wee Scottie Dug
06-11-2013, 03:54 PM

You must have a dodgy Wiki site then cause Bobby Combe played 20+ games for Dumbarton when he was player-manager there after he left Hibs ....... :na na:

06-11-2013, 03:57 PM
Do players count who only ever played for two clubs, one of which no longer exists? Say, Hibs and Rangers? :dunno:

06-11-2013, 04:04 PM
Alan O'Brien

06-11-2013, 04:05 PM
....sorry, I thought it said who had their carer at Easter Road.

I just assumed it was Tommy Craig.

06-11-2013, 04:11 PM
Alan O'Brien

This is a thread for players that have played for 1 club in their career. Not players who have never played at all. :wink:

legends of 73
06-11-2013, 04:16 PM
Gordon hunter played for an Australian team possibly Melbourne or Sydney. So not him.

Canberra cosmos

06-11-2013, 08:56 PM
Paolo Maldini (just a pity it wasn't for us!)

Austinho
06-11-2013, 09:13 PM
A little known fact though - my dad had a trial with Dundee united in nov 81 and a few months later malpas left to become a policeman only to return weeks later . Richard gough had just broken in to first team at that time. My dad scored a hatrick against first team in training game the week leading up to united losing 2-1 'to rangers to an Ian ferguson goal he thinks and admits that perhaps they weren't trying too hard !!!! I think malpas just gt disallusioned for a while

06-11-2013, 09:16 PM

As stated it was Ian Hendry but he did play football again. In fact he played one more first team game for Hibs before moving down south and playing non league

Wee Scottie Dug
06-11-2013, 09:59 PM
So in summary the answer is in the thread .......

Lawrie Reilly / Eddie Turnbull / Bobby Templeton / Patrick Callaghan ......

And if Lewis renews another couple of times it could take it to 5 !

MoscowHibs
06-11-2013, 10:30 PM
You must have a dodgy Wiki site then cause Bobby Combe played 20+ games for Dumbarton when he was player-manager there after he left Hibs ....... :na na:

Coates, ColinColin Coates (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colin_Coates_(footballer))
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/8/88/Ulster_banner.svg/23px-Ulster_banner.svg.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_Ireland) Northern Ireland (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_Ireland)
Crusaders (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crusaders_F.C.)
present

Cohen, AndrewAndrew Cohen (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andrew_Cohen_(footballer))
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/7/73/Flag_of_Malta.svg/23px-Flag_of_Malta.svg.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malta) Malta (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malta)
Hibernians (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernians_F.C.)
present

Cohen, GeorgeGeorge Cohen (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Cohen)
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/b/be/Flag_of_England.svg/23px-Flag_of_England.svg.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England) England (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England)
Fulham (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fulham_F.C.)

Combe, BobbyBobby Combe (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Combe)
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/1/10/Flag_of_Scotland.svg/23px-Flag_of_Scotland.svg.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scotland) Scotland (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scotland)
Hibernian (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.)

Combi, GianpieroGianpiero Combi (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gianpiero_Combi)
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/a/ad/Flag_of_Italy_%281861-1946%29.svg/23px-Flag_of_Italy_%281861-1946%29.svg.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Italy) Italy (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Italy)
Juventus (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Juventus_F.C.)

Compton, DenisDenis Compton (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Denis_Compton)
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/b/be/Flag_of_England.svg/23px-Flag_of_England.svg.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England) England (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England)
Arsenal (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arsenal_F.C.)

Compton, LeslieLeslie Compton (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leslie_Compton)

Thats wot it says :na na:

06-11-2013, 10:34 PM
Coates, ColinColin Coates (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colin_Coates_(footballer))
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/8/88/Ulster_banner.svg/23px-Ulster_banner.svg.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_Ireland) Northern Ireland (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_Ireland)
present

Cohen, AndrewAndrew Cohen (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andrew_Cohen_(footballer))
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/7/73/Flag_of_Malta.svg/23px-Flag_of_Malta.svg.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malta) Malta (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malta)
present

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/1/10/Flag_of_Scotland.svg/23px-Flag_of_Scotland.svg.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scotland) Scotland (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scotland)

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/a/ad/Flag_of_Italy_%281861-1946%29.svg/23px-Flag_of_Italy_%281861-1946%29.svg.png (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Italy) Italy (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Italy)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobby_Combe

06-11-2013, 10:35 PM
Let's chuck in Ross Caldwell, Jordon Forster, Alex Harris, Danny Handling and Sam Stanton. Probably one or two more. :wink:

We got Forster from Celtic. You need to up your game... :wink::greengrin

Northern Hibby
06-11-2013, 10:44 PM
Maurice says his boyhood team was Dumfermline and still looks out for them.

Wee Scottie Dug
06-11-2013, 10:52 PM
2002g
present

present

I forgive you , you're too young to remember :greengrin

if it's any consolation I thought that both Bobby Combe and John Fraser were possibilities but my older cousin John put me right!! :not worth

07-11-2013, 09:09 AM
Is he finished?

Didn't realise he'd started.

Craigyno1
07-11-2013, 09:13 AM
Was going to say John Fraser but he played 7 games at the end of his career at Stenhousemuir, after 14 years at Hibs.