View Full Version : Where did you grow up?

Miguel
05-11-2013, 11:18 PM
Just interested to see what parts of the city and beyond we all came from. Are we mainly Leithers and East Enders, or is that a myth nowadays?

05-11-2013, 11:22 PM
Falkirk born and bred.

05-11-2013, 11:22 PM
Dalkeith :agree:

05-11-2013, 11:23 PM
Started in Roseburn/Balgreen area, moved to Corstorphine about 10 :aok: My dad and Uncle are both Hibees and were Corrie boys growing up too :agree:

aunty joyce
05-11-2013, 11:28 PM
Just interested to see what parts of the city and beyond we all came from. Are we mainly Leithers and East Enders, or is that a myth nowadays?

I'm from the south side of the city, however, my Dad was originally from Lochend and my Mum was from Ferrier Street (now the car park at the foot of Easter Rd) and we were brought up on the Hibees so much so that my Dad would wear a black tie when Hibs lost a game ;-)

05-11-2013, 11:28 PM
Telford :cool2:

05-11-2013, 11:30 PM
South Queensferry all my life. My year was 90% Jambos unfortunately. :(((

VivaHiberña
05-11-2013, 11:32 PM
The village of Newhaven (as evidenced by my avatar), none of this Edinburgh nonsense for me!

The terrifying thing is though, I only moved there when I was four from around about Bruntsfield and only support Hibs because that's who my friends at school supported. Had I not moved I would probably have grown up a yam, a thought that still makes me shudder.:jamboak:

HibeesLA
05-11-2013, 11:34 PM
Loanhead

05-11-2013, 11:35 PM
It's in the user name. :wink:

05-11-2013, 11:36 PM
Albert Street when I was a bairn.

05-11-2013, 11:37 PM
Leven in fife

05-11-2013, 11:46 PM
Gullane, Gilmerton, Crew Toll, Dalkeith.

sauzeelegod
05-11-2013, 11:47 PM
oxgangs

stu in nottingham
05-11-2013, 11:54 PM
Musselburgh as a youngster.

gogsy23
05-11-2013, 11:55 PM
Loanhead

06-11-2013, 12:08 AM
newcraighall born and bred. not Edinburgh as our postcode was "by Musselburgh". been a Maggie boy for 30+ years though

06-11-2013, 12:19 AM
Born & raised in Restalrig, then flew the nest all the way to the other side of Easter Road before moving up here to sunny Aberdeen 12 years ago. Miss Leith big style!

Wakeyhibee
06-11-2013, 12:25 AM
Lincolnshire & Malta briefly then Lancashire, old man was an Hibee from Ayrshire.

Kingsknowe (Longstone). My Dad, who was born and raised in the Dean Village, was a Hibee . He had Irish grandparents who lived at the top of Easter Road and we're involved with Hibs.

McHibby
Dalkeith... But the strange thing is I genuinely think of Leith as my home, I lived there for years before moving to England.

Leishy1995
06-11-2013, 12:28 AM
Musselburgh, parents and grand Parents the same. Keep it local.

ma6mkd
06-11-2013, 12:29 AM
Grew up in Swanston before moving down South for Uni and been down here ever since.

06-11-2013, 12:34 AM
South of London.

06-11-2013, 12:41 AM
came over from France and grew up in Hillside, montgomery street.

jae
06-11-2013, 12:47 AM
Hyvots, although first 3 years Manderston Street Leith. Dad is a Lochender but class myself as from Gilmerton.

06-11-2013, 12:47 AM
Born in Longstone (next to where Longstone Hearts SC is now), raised in Carnoustie since I was 4.

Crossgates Hibs
06-11-2013, 12:50 AM

South Queensferry too then Linlithgow,Bathgate, 24 years moving with Army now in Crossgates Fife. The ferry is full of yams still a fair few Hibbies though.:flag:

06-11-2013, 12:53 AM
Lorne street in leith

hibseleven
06-11-2013, 01:03 AM
Penicuik. Ooooooooh the ruikie cuikie. You put your Bonnyrigg in......

DAVE1875
06-11-2013, 01:12 AM
Born in Aberdeen, raised in Ellon

londonhibby
06-11-2013, 01:31 AM
From a sexist male-side point of view: great-grandfather: Tain, Highlands; grandfather, Dean Village, but classed himself as, and lived as, a Southsider up until a few years before; father Wardlaw Street, Gorgie, then in late teens Moredun; me, Maryhill, Glasgow, but first primary was Oxgangs and I grew up in Kirkcaldy. Confused.com :confused: and that's before we take in he female side of he family.

06-11-2013, 02:05 AM
North Junction Street and before that the Shore

06-11-2013, 02:33 AM
Boness , full of old firm fans , a few hibbys tho

HKhibby
06-11-2013, 02:51 AM

This is a good post!....Most of all my family were Hearts supporters, apart from two of my mothers brothers, and my dads sister, but everyone else that i could think off were jambos,thats why i supported Hibs, plus i like going to Easter Road, originally grew up around Polwarth area, which was mostly Hearts!, but as my father was in the RAF we moved away, firstly Leuchars, then London and Oxfordshire, then Gibraltar, back to Scotland, then Hong Kong, which is one of the reason i live here in HK now and the fact i worked with the MOD for a few years here and even managed to get posted to Gibraltar and Berlin before they pulled the Military out in 1994.
We went back to Edinburgh in the mid 80s, where my parents settled in Polwarth then Murrayfield, with me but i left and went South in 1987.
Now HK in home and i will not leave here unless somewhere else in Asia, but have the best of both worlds, my father is dead now, but my Mother spends the Summer in Edinburgh, and the winter in Gibraltar, as she still ownes an apartment there, and everywhere,
But the original question about where i was brought up etc.. well there you have it, and everywhere i have lived i have always managed to find or even accidentally come accross Hibs supporters somewhere!...strangely never that many Hearts!

iHIBS
06-11-2013, 04:22 AM
Longstone, all my days!!!

06-11-2013, 04:45 AM
Craigmillar (Hay Road) then Burdiehouse (Southhouse Medway) then moved down to Kelso at some point and then further and further away ...

Greendub
06-11-2013, 04:54 AM
Newhaven, then restalrig from about 7 years old .

scott7_0(Prague)
06-11-2013, 05:09 AM
Sighthill

06-11-2013, 05:11 AM
Newhaven, then restalrig from about 7 years old .

Born in Eastern General which is in EH6, moved about a bit as a bairn as the old man was in the army, until I was 9 when finally left Melrose to be domiciled in Craigentinny and a staunch member of 11th Edinburgh Batallion of the Boys Brigade at Lochend!

Attended Craigentinny primary and Leith Acadamey Secondary, but at the age of 23, left behind the remnants of Turnbull's Tornadoes for sunny Sydney.

06-11-2013, 05:20 AM
Born in Eastern General, briefly Silverknowes, grew up in Gilmerton til I was 20 years old, bought first flat in Leith, moved to South Side 15 years ago and stayed since.

DoonTheSlope
06-11-2013, 05:21 AM
Born St James Square (St James Centre) moved to Greendykes (Craigmillar) stayed there until 24 (now 51).

06-11-2013, 05:24 AM
Pitt Street, Leith.

Silky
06-11-2013, 05:25 AM
Born and brought up in Restalrig. Old man and granddad were Hibby's so I was not going to be anything else. Moved to Sunderland for a few years then came back. Lived in Maronville and now in Porty.

deekster
06-11-2013, 05:26 AM
West Granton then East Pilton . I know that make me sound posh but I'm really down to earth.

06-11-2013, 05:30 AM
Westerhailes.

06-11-2013, 05:35 AM
Begg's buildings (Abbeyhill) ..Lochend ..Leith ..Glenrothes..Bingham.. Newgraighall ..Stenhouse ..Magdalene ..:greengrin

muirhousehibby
06-11-2013, 05:40 AM
First 2 years of life I lived in kings rd portobello. Brought up in east pilton park.

06-11-2013, 05:50 AM
Hutchinson then Parkhead

HibsNZ
06-11-2013, 05:50 AM
Born In Auckland to Scottish parents, father from Musselburgh, mother from Aberdeen. Came back to Scotland in 1977 as a 5 year old and lived in Aberdeen for 6 years. Three brothers supported Aberdeen but success wasn't for me so I became a Hibby (like my dad). Back to Scotland again in 1997 this time to Edinburgh and my first time at Easter Rd (Had seen Hibs at pittrodie a few times) Had the pain of relegation and the joy of promotion in my 2 years back. Was back again in 2010 for a five week tiki tour with family round UK and managed to get to Motherwell away (3-2 win) and huns at home (0-3).

06-11-2013, 06:00 AM
Wilkie place , Greendykes gardens,Broomhouse loan,Hailsland flats (from nipper to 20)
Sloan st ,Dalmeny st,upper Sloan st ( 20-30)
Mussy 30-
Bt

Jazza
06-11-2013, 06:16 AM
big T

c31
06-11-2013, 06:23 AM
Balerno

06-11-2013, 06:25 AM
Born in Edinburgh. First 7 years between the Inch and Greendykes.

The Livi till 21 - Dedridge and Craigshill

Currently in Leven, Fife.

gorgie_harp
06-11-2013, 06:27 AM
It's in the user name. :wink:

Snap:greengrin

06-11-2013, 06:29 AM
Wardieburn then on the ramps of West Granton.

06-11-2013, 06:31 AM
Setúbal, Portugal

06-11-2013, 06:32 AM
Born in Oban, spent some time in Blackpool but from 10 lived in Muirhouse were dad still lives. Easter Road for the last 20 years.

Godsahibby
06-11-2013, 06:35 AM
Fairmilehead

06-11-2013, 06:39 AM
Easter Drylaw until I was 21, then Gorgie, Northfield, Restalrig and somehow have ended up in Livvie.

06-11-2013, 06:39 AM
Largs.

Smiggy 7-0
06-11-2013, 06:40 AM
Gilmerton born and bred, I'm now 57 :thumbsup:

06-11-2013, 06:40 AM
Darkest Penicuik

147lothian
06-11-2013, 06:44 AM
Lochend, Temple Park Cresent, Lothian Road, London (Lewisham) Albert Street, Leith Street

erskine-hibby
06-11-2013, 06:44 AM
Born tay street jusy over the rail bridge from the diggers. Moved out to east calder when I was 9, moved back to sighthill im 2nd year. Stayed there until I joined the navy. My dad still stays there, but now I stay in erskine...funnily enough ;-)

MKHIBEE
06-11-2013, 06:50 AM
Born in weegietown, moved to Peebles aged 5, left Scotland over 30 years ago

Berwickhibby
06-11-2013, 06:51 AM
Muirhouse....Germany...... London..... Berwick and finally retired in Malta :greengrin

patch1875
06-11-2013, 06:52 AM
Banana flats

Jay
06-11-2013, 06:53 AM
Born in Dunfermline, moved to Glenochil then Edinburgh when I was 7, lived prison quarters, both top and bottom :-)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

SolentHibee
06-11-2013, 06:54 AM
Albion Terrace, 200 yards from the ground

aussie_hibee
06-11-2013, 06:55 AM
Born in Simpsons and we stayed in pennywell gardens until I was 4. Moved to Crewe road north and stayed there until I was 14 when I was dragged kicking and screaming to Oz. Still homesick to this day.

brian6-2
06-11-2013, 06:55 AM
YLT through and through.

06-11-2013, 06:57 AM
Born in Leith but grew up between Wallyford (mother) and Sighthill (father). Like to consider myself posh because of it.

pontius pilate
06-11-2013, 06:59 AM
Brought up in muirhouse w pilton and wester hailes before I flew the best and joined the army settled now in Parkhead/Sighthill. Started going to hibs games in the 80's when in muirhouse with my old boy and some of his biker friends

06-11-2013, 07:01 AM
Trafalgar Lane and then to Cannon Street (demolished & deleted by the planners after the '68 hurricane) beside the Fort, then Northfield.

06-11-2013, 07:03 AM
The lovely Moredun :D

Platinum Scotty
Started out in Pilton then Silverknowes - did a short period of missionary work up Gorgie way in the mid 80's (hard work that) then back to Silverknowes......now in SE London.

Dalkeith.

yekimevol
06-11-2013, 07:05 AM
Niddire / Leith.

06-11-2013, 07:08 AM
Born in the Southside, moved to Liberton when I was 4 and now living in Musselburgh.

06-11-2013, 07:11 AM
Raised in Graham street , briefly flirted with the south side of Edinburgh but it felt a bit foreign. When i was wee in the fifties you could hear the roar from ER when we scored even from where i lived in Leith, not been many days like that lately.

SaudiHibby
06-11-2013, 07:13 AM
Leith, Kano, Lagos, Telford, Bahrain. Bahrain being the posh one! As someone said (HK) see plenty of Hibbies but not many Jambos. Maybe something to do with the vibes I give off :greengrin

DarrenSQH
06-11-2013, 07:15 AM

Same but being about 4 years older my year was mostly Hibees.

woody0-7
06-11-2013, 07:16 AM
Setúbal, Portugal

Wow never thought there would be any hibbies out there. I work out there at the dockyards refitting cruise liners:-) oh and I come from clermiston

06-11-2013, 07:21 AM
West Granton then East Pilton . I know that make me sound posh but I'm really down to earth.

Born Meadowbank, now stay Albert Street

Wonderful village of Newhaven but now based in Polmont for my sins

Robinho08
Portobello. Born in Spring Gardens, which isnt in Leith but closer to ER than the Eastern General. ;-)

Liams
06-11-2013, 07:26 AM
Crewe Terrace aka Posh Pilton

Glesgahibby
06-11-2013, 07:27 AM
Glasgow,family all celtic"I was the black sheep"
Now Erskine.

MotherSuperior
06-11-2013, 07:30 AM
Southside, Gilmerton, now at Craigmillar.

hibby67
06-11-2013, 07:31 AM
Born in elliot street (just of albert street) but grew up in west granton

Gustavo Fring
grew up in roslin , then moved to leith when i was about 21 to be closer to the san siro :flag:. now staying back out in the sticks

Born in Hermitage place Leith, grew up in Magdalene.

AndyB_70
06-11-2013, 07:32 AM
Portland street, Leith. Fort Primary school ya bas. Then Crown St at the foot of the walk. So I think Leith it is for me.

erskine-hibby
06-11-2013, 07:34 AM
Glasgow,family all celtic"I was the black sheep"
Now Erskine.
Heyhey Erskine venga bus.

The Gorf
06-11-2013, 07:36 AM
Portobello :flag:

06-11-2013, 07:36 AM
Bottom Pans. Been in Leith for 25 years now though.

Bill Milne
06-11-2013, 07:42 AM
I was a Niddron for most of my childhood until we moved to Clerie. When I went to secondary, I was sent to Porty where it was mostly Jambos. One saving grace was I was in the same year as 2 future Hibs players in Laurie Dunn and Ralph Callachan. When we moved to Clerie, my dad made sure I went to Ainslie Park, where a Jambo was a rare thing indeed. My year also included another future Hibby in Alex (Dingus) McGhee.

Glesgahibby
06-11-2013, 07:44 AM
Heyhey Erskine venga bus.
I think there's a few of us :wink:
My daughter is friends with a girl at school who's dads a hibby,could that be yourself sir ?

greengnome
06-11-2013, 07:44 AM
Born in Drumbrae, Moved to Muirhouse when my Mother died, then to Restalrig Road... Never a chance of being a yam, my family are Hibby's through and through. Live in Willowbrae now, Iraq is where I spend most of my time...working. :( :thumbsup: :flag:

erskine-hibby
06-11-2013, 07:46 AM
I think there's a few of us :wink:
My daughter is friends with a girl at school who's dads a hibby,could that be yourself sir ?

Yes that will be me :-D

alhibby
06-11-2013, 07:47 AM
Born 1956 in the Inch, Claverhouse Drive (Northfield then) moved twice since then, both times only a 1/4 mile from where I started out, although its now Liberton not the Inch :wink:

06-11-2013, 07:50 AM
Born and raised in sloan st, leith

johncrobertson@
06-11-2013, 07:51 AM
Born in Chessels Court in the Canongate

green glory
06-11-2013, 07:55 AM
Gilmerton Dykes for a few weeks then Grierson, Newhaven, Lower Granton Road.

MurrayfieldHibs
06-11-2013, 07:56 AM
Hong Kong, South Africa, Yorkshire, Musselburgh, Dundee and finally settled in Edinburgh 26 years ago.

Mark79
06-11-2013, 07:56 AM
Joppa for me.

Glesgahibby
06-11-2013, 07:57 AM
Yes that will be me :-D
:greengrin She wants us all to go to the new year derby(toss you to see who drives)
I will be in touch mate:aok:

crewetollhibee
06-11-2013, 07:58 AM
Begg's buildings (Abbeyhill) ..Lochend ..Leith ..Glenrothes..Bingham.. Newgraighall ..Stenhouse ..Magdalene ..:greengrin

Jeezo, has the Provvie man still no caught up with you .............? :wink: Oh, and big T for me.

Causewayside area. My dad drank in the Falcon or Kellys bar. Now live just down the hill a bit and been known to have a pint or two in Swanys in Ratcliffe Terrace. Southside boy all my days. Good Hibs area.

Im a Leither, get accused of getting a nose bleed if i have to leave the EH6 postcode for any reason

06-11-2013, 08:01 AM
Burdiehouse for me, was pally wi HibbyAndy from p1 all the way to end of high school and I can assure you, he's been talking Pish all his life :-)

06-11-2013, 08:05 AM
Born 1956 in the Inch, Claverhouse Drive (Northfield then) moved twice since then, both times only a 1/4 mile from where I started out, although its now Liberton not the Inch :wink:
Me too, I was born in The Inch, Walter Scott Ave.

hibeeron
06-11-2013, 08:11 AM
Born and raised in Aberdeen, lived all my adult life in Liverpool, followed the Hibees since the 60's:flag:

iainm
06-11-2013, 08:13 AM
Gorebridge up until I was 25 (was a member of the Bonnyrigg branch supporters club)

Then lived in Dalkeith for 12 years

Now in the big T

06-11-2013, 08:17 AM
Fort Place (gone now) Leith

06-11-2013, 08:18 AM
Lochend Brazilian.

Sherlock Jones
06-11-2013, 08:20 AM
Born in Simpsons, lived in Buchanan Street just a few yards South of the Leith border. Went to Leith Walk school. Moved to Tanfield Lane, attended Stockbridge. Back to Buchanan Street and Leith Walk again. Had to wear a false moustache the 2nd time to avoid detection.

AndyM_1875
06-11-2013, 08:22 AM
Born at the Western and grew up in Stockbridge then Orchard Brae.

06-11-2013, 08:23 AM
Grew up in Dunfermline for a while. Was actually at school with Maurice Malpas ironically....

Flanny boy
06-11-2013, 08:23 AM
Born and bred in leith I live in blackpool now
My hibs daft old man was brought up in the Canongate

06-11-2013, 08:25 AM
Born Marchmont, away for ages, back to Marchmont, but now Gorgie (:hide:)

hibseleven
06-11-2013, 08:28 AM
Darkest Penicuik that must be Ladywood.............

06-11-2013, 08:28 AM
Born Bothwell street. Moved to Hyvots when a toddler.
Was always gonna be a Hibby even though hyvots seemed to be 90 percent yam.

Benny Brazil
06-11-2013, 08:30 AM
Started life in Sighthill, then Clermiston, then East Craigs, left home and moved in to my first house in Sighthill and then out to South Queensferry where I have been for the last 11yrs

hibees59
06-11-2013, 08:31 AM
Tollcross (ya b@ss)

Lester B
06-11-2013, 08:32 AM
Parkhead. Very few Hibbies at school. Parents were a mixed marriage- he's fae Leith, she's no'

06-11-2013, 08:34 AM
Dalmahoy then Currie. Then various flats in Edinburgh including gorgie and Easter Road before eventually moving to sunny Mussy.

06-11-2013, 08:36 AM
Glenrothes - and NEVER to return!

06-11-2013, 08:36 AM
Born and raised in Aberdeen, lived all my adult life in Liverpool, followed the Hibees since the 60's:flag:

Where about in the pool you live mate?

As for me, born in Liverpool (obvious I Know) been in Edinburgh (West side of the city) supporting the Hibs for 22 years.

06-11-2013, 08:41 AM
Originally Piershill, then Leith from the age of 10, now living in Parkgrove.

06-11-2013, 08:44 AM
Born in Ayrshire, moved to London when I was one. Moved upto Paisley at 5 until I was 16. Moved through to the East at 16.
Dad worked in the airline industry, we moved around all the airports

06-11-2013, 08:44 AM
YMF ya bass (Mayfield) but my wife says ive never grown up
Lol ,ps she is right , again ..

06-11-2013, 08:46 AM
leith all my childhood first Largo Place until age 8, then the Fort till I was 18 and moved out
Live IN boswall now

06-11-2013, 08:48 AM
Greendykes until I was 5, Piershill for 16 years, a wee while in London, a couple of years in Bingham and through here since.

Green Fish
06-11-2013, 08:50 AM
Roslin, now fife

06-11-2013, 08:59 AM
Born in Stirling town centre above Boots the chemist. Moved to Causewayhead when I was about 5 or 6. Left there at 15 to go to sea and that is where education began. :-)

Now in the Denny area where my house, but up until a couple of months ago not really my home, is. Settling into this retirement thing quite well thank you. :-)

06-11-2013, 08:59 AM
Newhaven til 6 then the hertz stronghold of Drylaw.

06-11-2013, 09:01 AM
Danderhall, now live in Glasgow, moving out to Dunblane area in January.

hibbeedavid
06-11-2013, 09:04 AM
Born in Elsie Inglis at the foot of Arthur's Seat, lived and in Parkhead and Clermiston and spent the vast majority of my childhood and adolescence in South Queensferry and Kirkliston with a brief spell in Dunfermline inbetween, now in Musselburgh

GREEN WARLORD
06-11-2013, 09:05 AM
Born in Lauriston but grew up in Dalkeith. My Hibs daft faither was brought up in Prestonfield, where they used to make John Greig beg for a game.

Posh Swanny
06-11-2013, 09:07 AM
Peterborough --> Portsmouth --> Canonmills (the short stroll up to Easter Road for a football fix led to my Hibee tendencies) --> Fettes --> Ormiston.

Weststandwanab
06-11-2013, 09:08 AM
Barony street but now in Duddingston GGTTH

06-11-2013, 09:10 AM
Trinity.

Shaggy
06-11-2013, 09:11 AM
East Calder

(At my schools there was no dominant team fan base !
split between most of the 4 )

davy malcolm
06-11-2013, 09:12 AM
My grandad lived in a tenement at bath field road at the fort leith that's where my my father was born my grandad followed leith athletic as he would say I'm not following a loch end team his words but my father was a mad hibby followed home and away and I've been following the hibees for all my life I was born in granton and only left granton for 1 year my first house was in pennywell gardens

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

06-11-2013, 09:12 AM
Born in Galashiels but spent most of my life in Bonnie Peebles.

caithnesshibee
06-11-2013, 09:16 AM
Born in Edinburgh and lived in Uphall/Broxburn until I was 5, moved up to Caithness (near John O Groats) and been here ever since. Got in to Hibs through my uncle who still stays in Broxburn, luckily for me as my old man is a jambo.:greengrin

PHEONIXHIBS
06-11-2013, 09:23 AM
First post and thankfully nothing controvesial, Born at the simpsons hospital and grew up in sunny dunfermline..

The_Sauz
06-11-2013, 09:23 AM
Beaverbank (Broughton),Clermiston,Warriston (after my mother died). back to Clermiston (Dad re-married), then out to Newbridge, then to Broxburn (Got Married :bitchy:) then moved up to Uphall for 7 years before moving to Abbyhill (after the split:greengrin), them back out to Broxburn(after Divorce)....I guess I'm just a typical Hobo :greengrin

06-11-2013, 09:31 AM
Niddrie til I was about 10 then duddingston/northfield until I was 20, moved in with the missus at the jewel and then upped sticks to Dunfermline 6 years ago

banarc7062
06-11-2013, 09:34 AM
:flag: Winchburgh :flag:

madhibby
06-11-2013, 09:37 AM
Brought up in Bruntsfield and it was there I became a Hibby. Not sure what age that was maybe about 8? Dad supported Aberdeen, probably influenced by a few Hibs fans in my class at primary.

Since then lived in Aberdeen (as a student), Middlesbrough (the Boro are now my English Team), Whitley Bay and now Glasgow. My 3 kids are Hibbies (and season ticket holders) despite never having lived in Edinburgh.

N M 156
06-11-2013, 09:45 AM
Trinity

ArmadaleHibs
06-11-2013, 09:46 AM
Born in Simpsons hospital 1973. Lived first ten years of my life in Southhouse Square. Moved to the inch were my parents still live. Joined the navy submarines in 1997 and moved to helensburgh hence my username. Spent a brief spell in wester drylaw a couple of years ago but have now moved for the last time to unsunny Armadale.

​I may have moved around a lot but my real home is Easter Road

TrinityHibs
06-11-2013, 09:50 AM
Dumfries (mon the Queens), Abbeyhill, Bruntsfield now Trinity. Scary thought I got my first Hibs top while living in Dumfries in 1972 5 years before I moved to Edinburgh.

06-11-2013, 09:51 AM
*deep breath* Gilmerton - Port Glasgow - Dalry (Ayrshire) - Musselburgh - Wallyford - Longniddry - Ratho - Pumpherston - Musselburgh - Leith - Willowbrae - Leith - Joppa.

Smaragd
06-11-2013, 09:53 AM
Born in Leith, but grew up in the Pans (Top Pans)

06-11-2013, 09:58 AM
Wardieburn then on the ramps of West Granton.

Best playground in Edinburgh before being demolished. :greengrin:

06-11-2013, 10:10 AM
Yi take the 26 aw the way round
and when yi get tae Clerie yi know yir in town.

06-11-2013, 10:13 AM
Pilrig st (the Leith side :greengrin)

06-11-2013, 10:19 AM
Mountcastle. Went to Holy Rood.

David_D
06-11-2013, 10:24 AM
Lived just off Easter road all my life. If I stick my head out my window I can see the stadium.

06-11-2013, 10:24 AM
Brought up in Oxgangs, proper enemy territory. Lived in Abereeen for 5 years and Barcelona for just under a year.

Now live in Leith.

06-11-2013, 10:30 AM
Grew up in Dunfermline for a while. Was actually at school with Maurice Malpas ironically....

Can you no phone him and ask whats happening :greengrin

HibbyRod
06-11-2013, 10:31 AM
Cadiz Street, Leith until 18 years old.

Since then I've lived in Edinburgh South, East and now West.

At heart I still feel I'm a Leither! :greengrin

06-11-2013, 10:32 AM

:agree: :greengrin

G-Reg
06-11-2013, 10:50 AM
Although I lived in Greendykes for my first 6 years I'd consider myself Joppanese as I spend most of my years there. Now in Leith though

wpj
06-11-2013, 10:50 AM
Plymouth - Gibraltar - Fife - Wick - Bo'ness - Edinburgh - Dusseldorf - London

Been a Hi-Bee since primary school in Fife in the 70's :flag:

06-11-2013, 11:03 AM
Born a stone's throw from home at Old Simpson's, Gillespie Crescent and Mardale Crescent in Tollcross/Bruntsfield for a couple of years, then Dalkeith Road (Southside) for 16 years, Maryhill (Glesgae) while working in Govan then Leeds at university (where I made good friends with son of Blackpool and Newcastle legend Tony Green) before settling in Leith for 17 years, now just moved to Peebles. Spent a lot of time travelling through Morocco and Levant too.

06-11-2013, 11:09 AM
Sighthill. Glenalmond Ct the high flats that are now demolished. Very sad. Moved to Alloa 26years ago on missionary work to try and bring civilization to the heathens, still trying..:cb

06-11-2013, 11:09 AM
Kingsknowe (Longstone). My Dad, who was born and raised in the Dean Village, was a Hibee . He had Irish grandparents who lived at the top of Easter Road and we're involved with Hibs.

Just to add that I bought my first flat in the Land of Milk and Honey (Albert Street), in between the Nip and the Clan, where I stayed until moving to Brittany 9 years ago. Living 300 yds or so from the stadium didn't really speed up my "matchday experience" as I generally went to the Windsor for a couple of hours before and after each match.

06-11-2013, 11:12 AM

As for me, born in Liverpool (obvious I Know) been in Edinburgh (West side of the city) supporting the Hibs for 22 years.

Yer just after his address so you can rob him when he's out ;)

06-11-2013, 11:12 AM
West End / New Town and then Trinity.

As a wee boy, we lived within walking distance of Haymarket, but fortunately no Hearts allegiance in the family so was able to discover where my loyalties lay for myself!

06-11-2013, 11:15 AM
The streets of New York :)

Cannonmills and then Trinity - close to crematorium.

06-11-2013, 11:16 AM
Bridge of Allan
Alloa
Leith Walk
Constitution Street
Shandon
Bruntsfield
Tollcross
Cameron Toll
Bread Street
Viewforth
Longstone
Roslin
Liberton
Penicuik.

Hobo? Who, me?

PS

Thought Penicuik was a ****hole till I went to Dalkeith, Bonnyrigg and Loanhead.........,

Only kidding.

RamblingJack
06-11-2013, 11:17 AM
Grew up in ferrier Street,foot of Easter road,went to Norton Park which is now part of ER,i remember Walter Galbraith was the manager.Now live in sunny Spain.

Craigyno1
06-11-2013, 11:17 AM
Portobello when younger and now Craigentinny.

06-11-2013, 11:18 AM
Born in Albion Terrace, then moved to Burdiehouse when I was about 1, until age of 9, when I moved down to Crewe , Cheshire (due to millers foundry in London road closing down so my dad was relocated to Crewe) until I was 23. Been in Rosyth for the last 9 years

06-11-2013, 11:19 AM

Ask a daft question - is "Scouse" a surname? Reason I ask is that there is a bench at Arthur's Seat that is to a Somebody Scouse. and it was not in quotes so made me do a "double-take"....

Born in Falkirk, Linlithgow till I was 9, South Queensferry till I was 25, Edinburgh till I was 30 and Musselburgh to date. If I keep moving east I will be on an island in the north sea in about 10 years time.

Barman Stanton
The good side of Pilrig Street.

Lendo
06-11-2013, 11:21 AM
Currie

06-11-2013, 11:22 AM
Born and lived all my life in Peebles. Stay 150 yards from the old hospital where I was born, so haven't really moved very far!

Persevere80
06-11-2013, 11:23 AM

I stayed in the house on the corner next to the boozer. I remember a few hearts players visited the primary school handing out pictures, pencils ect.... My grandparents and dad stayed in leith for a while.

06-11-2013, 11:24 AM
Lochend.

06-11-2013, 11:25 AM
Penicuik

Persevere80
06-11-2013, 11:28 AM
Born in Eastern General which is in EH6, moved about a bit as a bairn as the old man was in the army, until I was 9 when finally left Melrose to be domiciled in Craigentinny and a staunch member of 11th Edinburgh Batallion of the Boys Brigade at Lochend!

Attended Craigentinny primary and Leith Acadamey Secondary, but at the age of 23, left behind the remnants of Turnbull's Tornadoes for sunny Sydney.

The eastern General hospital has been knocked down and now new build flats, that's where I'm staying now. A nice 5 minute walk from easter road.

06-11-2013, 11:31 AM
Grew up in muirhouse, but aw ma daft pals were from pennywell pl. played football morning til night in the cage, mostly all hibbys :-) moved to Dalgety bay in later life. Now in Cramond .

06-11-2013, 11:32 AM
Tollcross, Joppa, Hutchison, Portobello & Grantham (Spittlegate dad in RAF) all until aged 7. Then Portobello until 15 then Leith Walk until 17. Then a year in Reddish, Greater Manchester, then off to Kings Lynn, seasonal work (student) for four months, directly after 1974 world cup and then London until 2006 and then North Essex Coast. Still work in London.

Behar
06-11-2013, 11:33 AM
Born and lived 21 years in Winchburgh, taken to home games at ER and Tynie as a child, but brought up a Hibby as my uncle (Dad’s brother) Bill Harper, was goalkeeper with Hibs many many years ago.
The rest of my life, lived mainly in South Queensferry. Stint at Summerside street, off Ferry Road and two short stints in London. Now 71 and still living the dream.

caithnesshibee
06-11-2013, 11:37 AM
Plymouth - Gibraltar - Fife - Wick - Bo'ness - Edinburgh - Dusseldorf - London

Been a Hi-Bee since primary school in Fife in the 70's :flag:

You have fair moved around although im guessing Wick must have been the highlight. :greengrin

06-11-2013, 11:38 AM

Certainly was a cultured childhood growing up on the ramps.

06-11-2013, 11:40 AM
I stayed in the house on the corner next to the boozer. I remember a few hearts players visited the primary school handing out pictures, pencils ect.... My grandparents and dad stayed in leith for a while.

I was about 100 yds away in Kingsknowe Place - you would have been about 10 when I moved away.

I used to go to the matches with a couple of guys who stayed in Kingsknowe Drive (both long since moved away) - we had quite a Hibee stronghold in the land of the enemy!

andudare2
06-11-2013, 11:44 AM
newcraighall born and bred. not Edinburgh as our postcode was "by Musselburgh". been a Maggie boy for 30+ years though i can confirm that monktonharp was def.from deliverance country,still plucking his banjo to this day hahahaha,however he did see the light &moved to god,s country(magdalene) as for myself,southside,magdalene,greendykes,then the inch.all good hibs areas!!!!!!!! :flag::flag::flag:

inglisavhibs
06-11-2013, 11:47 AM

Port Seton.

Adniston Burn
06-11-2013, 11:52 AM
"The Blast" or to give it it's proper name Macmerry.

06-11-2013, 11:53 AM
Drylaw for the first 23 years, living in Craigentinny now. Yet to see anything than Hibs tops since moving ;)

Dobosz83
06-11-2013, 11:53 AM
Magdalene 0-15 :devil:

Musselburgh 15-24 :aok:

Burntisland 24-29 :cb

Back living in Musselburgh now having just hit the 30's. Regularly found in the Auld Brigg/Ship Inn :aok:

06-11-2013, 12:02 PM
Born in the Eastern General and started life living in Elgin Terrace (off Easter Rd) then on Leith Walk. Moved to Craigentinny then Mountcastle and then Craigour (not Moredun ;-) ). Met my future Albanian husband while I was on holiday in Alaska, and stayed there for nearly a year. Now we are living the hi-life in Southhouse!

06-11-2013, 12:08 PM
Top of Leith walk

erskine-hibby
06-11-2013, 12:10 PM
:greengrin She wants us all to go to the new year derby(toss you to see who drives)
I will be in touch mate:aok:

Heads I win, tails you lose ;-)

oramhibee
06-11-2013, 12:12 PM
I grew up in the Inch, east of Liberton. Near Cameron Toll

06-11-2013, 12:14 PM
Dalkeith.

:hyper:

06-11-2013, 12:16 PM
Mean streets of Joppa. Hope to return.

06-11-2013, 12:18 PM
Dalkeith

06-11-2013, 12:18 PM
Ask a daft question - is "Scouse" a surname? Reason I ask is that there is a bench at Arthur's Seat that is to a Somebody Scouse. and it was not in quotes so made me do a "double-take"....

Yeah there are plenty of people with the surname Scouse.

06-11-2013, 12:20 PM
Yer just after his address so you can rob him when he's out ;)

I just knew this response was coming :thumbsup:

06-11-2013, 12:23 PM
Lorne street in leith

My Nana and Granda lived in Lorne Street and it was my Granda that took me to my first game back in 1979. I lived on Newhaven road before moving Down south for University in 1989. Most of my mates lived in either Bonnington or Trinity and I used to do a paperbound in Newhaven/Trinity.

06-11-2013, 12:30 PM
I'm not happy about admitting to "growing up"...

Its optional right?

Bowtow
06-11-2013, 12:31 PM
Born in Newhaven, Dad was a docker and Hibbee, while I was at Victoria school early 70's the Hibs players used to visit the peacock for lunch, we would stand outside and get there autographs, which I don't have anymore, moved to crew toll when 12 and now over at Corstorphine.

06-11-2013, 12:32 PM
Grew up mainly in Tollcross then moved into Blackford. Just had the good fortune to be from a family of Hibs fans because my school was packed full of Watery Farts fans.

Mark79
06-11-2013, 12:32 PM
Mean streets of Joppa. Hope to return.

Expensive place to stay these days.

I lived in joppa 79-89 then bingham,musselburgh,the inch, duddingston, fountainbridge,haymarket, gorgie,restalrig then currently lasswade.

06-11-2013, 12:44 PM
Born in Christiemillar, then Durhams, Milton Road, Willowbrae Rd (left home), Dalkeith and almost 20yrs in Pathhead. Makes you feel awfy old.

Taz_hibee
06-11-2013, 12:47 PM
Born in West Pilton then moved to Muirhouse then Silverknowes, now reside in Broxburn.

06-11-2013, 12:53 PM
Liverpool until the age of 6 then Oxgangs farm Avenue until 16, now live in West Lothian for my sins.

06-11-2013, 01:07 PM
Lived in the same house in Leigh for all my life. I've led a sheltered existence.

Stonewall
06-11-2013, 01:10 PM
Colinton 0-14
Morningside 14-19
Bruntsfield/ Tollcross 19-29
Glasgow 29-38
Linlithgow 38-date

dhmf
06-11-2013, 01:16 PM
Dunblane, a good gathering of Hibees there.

06-11-2013, 01:30 PM
Lived in the same house in Leigh for all my life. I've led a sheltered existence.
Bet your parents can't wait to see the back of you!

06-11-2013, 01:34 PM

Is it sheltered housing?

Green Reaper
06-11-2013, 01:42 PM
Born on top floor of Inchgarvie Court then moved to Crewe Rd Gdns when 8, then Luton, London, Dundee, Miami and back to Auld Reekie in 96, now at Drummond Street.
Ashamed to say I was a Hun at primary (muirhouse) due to friend but seen the light when taken to ER when 8 by the Duffs fae' the Inch and spent many years going to games on the mad Liberton bus

gegs70
06-11-2013, 01:51 PM
Restalrig Road then we moved just up the road to Cornhill Terrace. After moving down to Norfolk for a couple years moved to Carrick knowe.....the Queensferry and now Kirkliston..
Slowly moving further out....

sadtom
06-11-2013, 01:53 PM
Leith (Buchanan Street) til i wiz 8, then southside (Prestonfield), then various addresses in the city.

G-Reg
06-11-2013, 01:55 PM
Leith (Buchanan Street) til i wiz 8, then southside (Prestonfield), then various addresses in the city.

That's where my dad grew up and my nana lived there for the rest of her days, I used to go there every Saturday before and after home games, easy wee walk to the ground

06-11-2013, 02:00 PM
ferry road over the road from playing fields, dad was from Dundee and a Dundee fan granddad was an Irish immigrant and supported Hibs then moved to The Grange south side of the city, then up to marchmont with mother then morning side first away from home, then the new town (closest I've lived to leith since ferry road) so grew up at school and pals mostly of a horrible yam persuasion. now live in sweden and trying to influence them to support the hibs however Malmö has not helped

06-11-2013, 02:11 PM
Cockenzie, Prestonpans, Wallyford, Kilmarnock for 15 months, Wallyford, Musselburgh, Whitecraig, Musselburgh, Port Seton. Grew up in a staunch Hibernian family - all Hibbies except one brother who follows Killie - our maw wiz born there. I am 4th generation Hibbie my grandchildren are 6th generation Hibbies. In my house if you are non Hibbie then you sleep in the garden shed wi the spiders - never had to invoke this yet. As years go on I get worried that my grandchildren might report me to Social Services for making them attend ER .

Also while on here my grandson says we are Hibbys not Hibbies is he correct?:greengrin

06-11-2013, 02:12 PM
I was about 100 yds away in Kingsknowe Place - you would have been about 10 when I moved away.

I used to go to the matches with a couple of guys who stayed in Kingsknowe Drive (both long since moved away) - we had quite a Hibee stronghold in the land of the enemy!

Niemi stayed up that way when he was with them . :agree:

G-Reg
06-11-2013, 02:19 PM

That's where my dad grew up and my nana lived there for the rest of her days, I used to go there every Saturday before and after home games, easy wee walk to the ground

06-11-2013, 02:22 PM
Niemi stayed up that way when he was with them . :agree:

Tha late Willie Woodburn lived in a house overlooking Kingsknowe Park (known locally as the quarry pitches) and ran Thimblehall Garage at Slateford. Despite being banned for life for violent consuct, he was a really good bloke.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Willie_Woodburn

Falkirk Hibby
06-11-2013, 02:23 PM
Crewe Terrace aka Posh Pilton

Also Crewe Terrace until I was 11, then up the road to Inverleith. Since then I've lived in Easter Road, New Zealand, Dundee, Falkirk and been down in England for 6 years.

FifeHibernian
06-11-2013, 02:37 PM
Born in the Eastern General. As a young kid I lived in Leith Links, Elie in Fife and Polbeth near Bathgate. When I was about three we lived at Craigleith before moving to Barnton when I was about 5. I've lived in Dalgety Bay as well, hence the username. All over the place really.

LeithBoozy
06-11-2013, 02:47 PM
Leith ( West bowling green St ) Muirhouse, Granton, now Great Junction St. All of them Hibby hotspots funny enough. :wink:

06-11-2013, 03:00 PM
Expensive place to stay these days.

I lived in joppa 79-89 then bingham,musselburgh,the inch, duddingston, fountainbridge,haymarket, gorgie,restalrig then currently lasswade.

It isnt what it was, lots of snobs knocking about and not many local faces but I like it and I'll hopefully settle back there some day in next few years.

06-11-2013, 03:03 PM
Burdiehouse till 18.. Loanhead till 22 ..Penicuik till present.

06-11-2013, 03:05 PM
lived on joppa road until i was 3 then folks moved to barnton, stayed there for 10 years then moved to clerwood until 2003 when the move out to newtongrange and i moved out :greengrin

since then been in falkirk, leith, granton waterfront, gorgie, bonnyrigg and now barnton again where i bought my flat.

Mikeystewart
06-11-2013, 03:08 PM
Like others I wouldn't consider myself grown up, but spent the first 21 years of life on North Fort Street the Ferry Road end.

cal-d hibs
06-11-2013, 03:09 PM
Born in Branfield Street(Fountainbridge), lived in Piershill for a couple of years then from 1974-2001 in Dalry before 10 years in Dunfermline and then the last couple of years in Cowdenbeath.

Not very exotic at all :greengrin

WHAM
06-11-2013, 03:19 PM
Grew up in the 'Hidden Toun' before moving to Glasgow for Uni 9 years ago.

Lots of glory hunters but always a decent amount of Hibbies also. We were always the most vocal....wasn't (isn't) uncommon for us to get barred from the Railway or Mercat for a night or asked to leave for belting out Hibs songs :na na:

hibeeron
06-11-2013, 03:19 PM

Aintree, then West Derby and been in Formby last 25 years +
Had shares in the club since they were originally issued
Used to be in Glasgow branch of Hibs supporters club, my other club is Liverpool

06-11-2013, 03:20 PM
Born Simpsons Memorial, Dalkeith, Bingham, Niddrie, Porty, Craigmillar, Niddrie, Macmerry?!?, til I was 16 then above Alan Brecks (Laurie St), Easter Road, Haymarket (this is the furthest west I have stayed in Edinburgh and way to close to that manky mobs ground), Manchester (Strepford Road), then about 10 different houses in and around north east edinburgh until 13 years ago when I moved to restalrig, where I am happy and used to have a view of the stadium. Once I grow up I will let you know where I'm at at that point :greengrin

EastCalderHibby
06-11-2013, 03:21 PM
I was a Niddron for most of my childhood until we moved to Clerie. When I went to secondary, I was sent to Porty where it was mostly Jambos. One saving grace was I was in the same year as 2 future Hibs players in Laurie Dunn and Ralph Callachan. When we moved to Clerie, my dad made sure I went to Ainslie Park, where a Jambo was a rare thing indeed. My year also included another future Hibby in Alex (Dingus) McGhee.

Ainslie park god that place brings back the memories ,did you go to the annex 1st 2nd years We used to go fighting with the
snobs fi trinity high in the park between the 2 schools. jees that was 36 years ago.
grew up in west pilton ypd:wink:

pontius pilate
06-11-2013, 03:25 PM
Born in Drumbrae, Moved to Muirhouse when my Mother died, then to Restalrig Road... Never a chance of being a yam, my family are Hibby's through and through. Live in Willowbrae now, Iraq is where I spend most of my time...working. :( :thumbsup: :flag:

Are you anywhere near Basra at the mo? I spent time there in 2001- 2002 at camp Cherokee. Always wanted to try and get a civvy job out there for the money

06-11-2013, 03:29 PM
Westerhailes.

Me too. Murrayburn Gdns. Then moved to Clermiston when I was 15.

How auld are you BH if that's not too personal a question.

pontius pilate
06-11-2013, 03:35 PM
Ainslie park god that place brings back the memories ,did you go to the annex 1st 2nd years We used to go fighting with the
snobs fi trinity high in the park between the 2 schools. jees that was 36 years ago.
grew up in west pilton ypd:wink:

I went to craigroyston we used to have a good old roll about with ainslie park on the feilds next to inch view primary until my old boy caught me there he used to be the janny at inch view

06-11-2013, 03:35 PM
Birkenside/Gorebridge.

blindsummit
06-11-2013, 03:36 PM
As my wife and kids would testify, I never really grew up :greengrin

SON OF PADDY
06-11-2013, 03:37 PM
Gilmerton, Leith, Inch, One of Five boys 2nd youngest (54) and ONLY Football fan between us " Don't ask "
Made sure all the of the Family became Hibernian supporters ever since !

06-11-2013, 03:46 PM
first 17 years in Wallyford. I suppose that makes me a grade A Wally. ;-)

Moved away 30 years ago but still a Wally at heart

homielang
06-11-2013, 03:49 PM
Toronto Canada. My family have been Hibs supporters for generations.