View Full Version : Where did you grow up?

Pages : 1 [2]

06-11-2013, 03:50 PM
first 17 years in Wallyford. I suppose that makes me a grade A Wally. ;-)

Moved away 30 years ago but still a Wally at heart

You can take the man oot o Wally but................................. :greengrin wee local joke, know the area well, nearest I ever lived was Porty but same idea.

telfordhibby
06-11-2013, 04:00 PM
Royston......

GTMRossaK3
06-11-2013, 04:06 PM
Balmacara & Kintail in West Highlands near Skye.

My Dad played a lot of football so my brother and I ( probably 4 at the time ) decided we should choose a team to support. As he was the elder of the two of us my brother got first pick and took the team sitting top of the league - Partick Thistle! ( well it was 1955!! ). I chose the team sitting second top - Hibs! ( it was 1955 after all! ). Once PT started slippng down the league over the next few years my brother jumped ship and switched to Celtic but I'm proud to say I've stuck with the mighty Hibernian ever since!

Bobo
06-11-2013, 04:08 PM
Leith, Toronto, Wester Hailes, Sighthill, The Grange and Abbeyhill ... almost gone full circle :greengrin

06-11-2013, 04:08 PM
9 months in my old dear's belly in a top floor flat in montgomery st., popped out in the eastern general with an immediate transfer to drumbrae. Then over the road to clermiston (or "Parkgrove, Barnton" at my old dear's insistence!)

A number of years elsewhere (not the pokey) as an adult, and now barnton.

howdenthehibby
06-11-2013, 04:10 PM
Brought up in Portobello of a family of Hibbys.I now live in Marionville ,5 mins walk to Easter road.

06-11-2013, 04:10 PM
Meadowbank, Mountcastle then Duddingston.

06-11-2013, 04:15 PM
Cornhill Terrace in Leith until age of 24
Southampton until 30
Tranent since last year.

Quite the multi-cultural chap me, to be fair.

06-11-2013, 04:18 PM
Currently growing up in Aberdeen.

HibeeHendo
06-11-2013, 04:27 PM
Lived in Magdalene for all my 21 and a bit years.

06-11-2013, 04:34 PM
Meant to add lived in a few places whilst in Navy

Torpoint/Plymouth
Peters field just outside Portsmouth
Gosport
Helensburgh

O and after I left forces lived in Broxburn
Was originally Broxburnhibby.

06-11-2013, 04:35 PM
Born Selkirk, moved to Manderston St , Leith 1966 when I was 13, joined army at 19 stationed Germany, back to Leith then moved to Livingston for next 30yrs, now settled in Dunbar. Strange, whenever I am asked where I am from I always reply Leith.[Gods Country]

vercol36
06-11-2013, 04:36 PM
Most of my youth was spent between Porty and the Old Town. My mum moved to Liberton just before I went to uni, but never really felt at home there. Similarly, spent time in Dalry and then Shandon, but something didn't feel right!

SwanseaHibs
06-11-2013, 05:28 PM
First lived in Hyndland in Glasgow's West End, left there at 18 and have lived as follows:

Carlisle for 6 years
Leicester for 2 years
Groningen, Netherlands for 2 years
Connellsville, PA for a year - hated it
Bologna for 3 years
Oxfordshire for 5 years
Saudi for 3 years
Currently live in Swansea

Made all the moves with my job, always been a Hibs fan as my dad was one. Siblings are Celtic fans as Celtic were all-conquering when they were at an impressionable age!

hhibs
06-11-2013, 05:44 PM
Leith,at the Dock gates then Surrey and, god help me ,Lanarkshire/Glasgow, the weedgies kept shifting the border!

hibbydog
06-11-2013, 05:47 PM
Longniddry
Liberton
MacDonald Road
Portobelly
Prestonpans

Jealous yet ? Lol!

06-11-2013, 05:52 PM
Jeezo, has the Provvie man still no caught up with you .............? :wink: Oh, and big T for me.My late Father WAS the provvie man ..:greengrin ...nah, he was a Merchant Seaman & Rigger & a Scaffolder ..lived in Leith & surrounding area's when he was on the ships ..Glenrothes when he was a Rigger in Methil .... Bingham etc when he was a Scaffolder ..:greengrin

winnipeg jets
06-11-2013, 05:59 PM
Archerfield
Gullane
Winnipeg
Gullane
North Berwick
and iv'e still not grown up!!:wink::flag::hibees

edwards
06-11-2013, 06:01 PM
Albion Road used to play football outside the old main stand wi my roller skates and see the playera return, Paddy Stanton, Peter Marinello, John Brownleee, John Blackley, Alec Edwards, Alex Cropley, Jimmy Orourke, Alan Gordon, Eric Stevenson, Pat Quinn, Colin Stein and many more.
Also used to play on the pitch at night and get chased by the groundsmen and his alsation dog but never ever caught us though :wink:
Those were the days :aok:

InchHibby
06-11-2013, 06:11 PM
Born in Pennywell Road, Pilton. Everyone in my street were Hibbies back then. My influence came from my Dad who was a Leither as was my Mum, but it was my eldest sister who took me to the matches as she had the hots for Joe Baker and I was her cover.:wink:

06-11-2013, 06:19 PM
Born Western General

Lived somewhere in Edinburgh then to Kirkliston for about 5 minutes then to Leith until I was 7 when we moved to Innerleithen. Have lived in Guid Auld Gala for most of the last 35 years.

Once heard the Borders described as just a town with a really huge park which I would say is about right .. lots of good Hibbies down here. Though there are a good few Yams and tons of OF glory hunters.

06-11-2013, 06:23 PM
Born in Simpsons. Grew up in Corstorphine. About 50/50 split Hibs and them among my mates.

MM19
06-11-2013, 06:27 PM
Canongate then Craigentinny

06-11-2013, 06:29 PM
Born Corstorphine - moved to Marchmont after Dr Beeching closed the railway so the old man could be closer to work. Aberdeen (uni), Glasgow (postgrad), Kingston ever since.

hibbill2002
06-11-2013, 06:29 PM
Gracemount Avenue.

06-11-2013, 06:40 PM
born in holyrood road but moved to muirhouse in early sixties, had a big hibs stronghold back then in muirhouse as drylaw was mostly hearts. now back this side of town restalrig

06-11-2013, 06:42 PM
Haddington. HYT ya bas :greengrin

WHAM
06-11-2013, 06:47 PM
Haddington. HYT ya bas :greengrin

...with a baseball bat and a snooker cue...

ManBearPig
06-11-2013, 06:50 PM
Colchester, munchengladbach, Longstone and now penicuik

Baba O'riley
06-11-2013, 06:51 PM
From Winchburgh originally,10 years in Falkirk, then recently moved to Pilton...

cheltenhamhibee
06-11-2013, 06:56 PM
Born in Simpsons, brought up in Roxburgh & Kelso, been down south for 26 yrs now

06-11-2013, 06:56 PM
Question does not compute.

I've got a whole lot older than I was, but I haven't grown up. Still as immature as ever.

06-11-2013, 07:00 PM
Born western general. Spent early years in Craig's rd then moved to Broomhall after Old man got made redundant. Then moved to Dalry then briefly Penicuik then back into town at abbey hill. Now living in fife.

06-11-2013, 07:10 PM
Just off London Road from birth to 18. Glasgow for Uni, then France, back to Edinburgh for 1 year then Oxford for 2 now been in ZH for just over a year.

Next stop, who knows? :greengrin

Galahibby
06-11-2013, 07:14 PM
Clerrie, Gala & now Selkirk. Getting slightly closer tp England with every passing decade! :eek:

Heedersnvolleys
06-11-2013, 07:15 PM
Albion Terrace for my first few months, still had family there when I was growing up who we visited every Saturday so used to sneak into the Dunbar end at half time! That's how it started for me!!!

Now in East Mains, never saw big Tel the night so I think it no happening ;-)

06-11-2013, 07:21 PM
Eastern General for a few hours, Pitt Street for a few months, Wellington Street for a couple of years and then Trinity for 23 years. Moved a couple of times since before settling here.

semaj64
06-11-2013, 07:27 PM
Corstorphine

superbam
06-11-2013, 07:28 PM
Edina Place off Easter Road for the first 6 years, then Lady Nairne/Meadowfield for the next 12, Glasgow for 5 years, Dublin since 2006.

shades
06-11-2013, 07:32 PM
Born at Eastern General, lived in the Kirkgate for 18 months, moved to clerie in 1961, now in South Gyle

06-11-2013, 07:34 PM
Hyvots, although first 3 years Manderston Street Leith. Dad is a Lochender but class myself as from Gilmerton.

Born in the Eastern General. Lived in Manderston Street until I was two and then our family moved to the Inch

06-11-2013, 07:35 PM
"The Blast" or to give it it's proper name Macmerry.

Me too!

06-11-2013, 07:36 PM
Born in the Eastern General. Lived in Manderston Street until I was two and then our family moved to the Inch

My uncle David grew up in the Inch... Elangowan Terrace. Massive Hibby brought me up in 'The Faith' sort to speak.

06-11-2013, 07:39 PM
Born 1956 in the Inch, Claverhouse Drive (Northfield then) moved twice since then, both times only a 1/4 mile from where I started out, although its now Liberton not the Inch :wink:

I lived there from the age of two until I was seventeen! Went to Glenvarloch Primary and Liberton Secondary

HKHIBS
06-11-2013, 07:41 PM
Hong Kong 0-18
Bruntsfield 18-25
Leith Links 25-33
Melbourne 33 -

hibbymick
06-11-2013, 07:41 PM
Born in Muirhoose, moved to fernieside when I was 6 , stayed their till i was 14 then moved to Restalrig. Now live in Pencaitland.

06-11-2013, 07:43 PM
Born in Leith, but grew up in the Pans (Top Pans)

How you doing buddy? We met at the Essen game. Don't see you posting much these days

06-11-2013, 07:43 PM
I lived there from the age of two until I was seventeen! Went to Glenvarloch Primary and Liberton Secondary

Mum and uncle both went to Liberton with the guy from the Corries who died in the early 90's as their teacher. Think his name was Williamson.

Think they lived on the Corner No1.
He's in his late 60's and live up in Gilmerton.

06-11-2013, 07:46 PM
Born in London, moved up to Leith at the age of 4. Both parents are from Edinburgh and big hibees.

Just moved to Glasgow in September and been making as many matches as I can, got lost on my own in Motherwell on Sunday and didn't end up getting to the match though :greengrin

Roxyhibee
06-11-2013, 07:52 PM
Dad born 1929 was a big Hibby from The Dumbiedykes. I was born in Fernieside 1959 and lived there til 1970. First went to ER in 1963 aged 4 and have literally never stopped. Fernieside Cres was slightly more Hibby, but moved to Moredunvale in 1970 and almost the whole street and surrounding ones were Hibbies. One or two huns, but honestly can't remember any Yams in the vicinity..

Both great streets to grow up in. Great pals. Good families.

Liberton High school was distinctly scant of maroon scarves in the 70's too..But plenty green ones..!

Used to visit my cousin Stuart Grant (RIP Tich) in Muirhouse most Sundays and everyone seemed to be Hibs down there too.

Northern Hibby
06-11-2013, 08:08 PM
West Granton till 16 then all the way to Granton till about 17/18 then various flats around Edinburgh including 22 Leith walk in bedsit with several CCS dudes, but dad from Lochend mum from Newcastle but it was always the mighty hibernian, dad always said mums get everything else dad gets football team :-)

Thanks Dad :-)

06-11-2013, 08:09 PM
Comely Bank, before it became posh and choc a block with parked cars.

Spent a few years in Dalmeny just outside Sth Queensferry and for a small village was full of Hibs supporters.

Moved into Sth Queensferry 10 years ago and although there is a large yam support out here, there is also a large Hibs support.

06-11-2013, 08:19 PM
Bridge of Allan, Dundee, Easter Road, Shandon, Grange and Balerno.

gillythehibby
06-11-2013, 08:22 PM
The Inch - YIC ya bams :greengrin

06-11-2013, 08:25 PM
Hullo Hullo ............... !

Govan :agree:

06-11-2013, 08:36 PM
Alloa born and bred. Absolutely no family connection to Edinburgh but we have been Hibbies since my grandpa in the late 40s. Now onto our 4th generation of Hibs fans who have never lived in or near Edinburgh

06-11-2013, 08:40 PM
Alloa born and bred. Absolutely no family connection to Edinburgh but we have been Hibbies since my grandpa in the late 40s. Now onto our 4th generation of Hibs fans who have never lived in or near Edinburgh

have a friend who stays in alloa, so have been through there to alloa game years ago and there was always a lot off hibs fans from there.

06-11-2013, 08:44 PM
Born Eastern General

Brought up in SELKIRK till I was 16 ( fantastic place to live ) :aok: Hiya all the hibbies in Selkirk

Joined forces hence why still down in Engerland :doh: Hopefully be back home soon for good

06-11-2013, 08:49 PM
Mum and uncle both went to Liberton with the guy from the Corries who died in the early 90's as their teacher. Think his name was Williamson.

Think they lived on the Corner No1.
He's in his late 60's and live up in Gilmerton.

Ronnie Williamson, aye. Before my time believe it or not :greengrin

06-11-2013, 08:52 PM

:-D I'll believe ya!!

06-11-2013, 09:02 PM
have a friend who stays in alloa, so have been through there to alloa game years ago and there was always a lot off hibs fans from there.

Been a supporters bus from Alloa for decades. For an area that is full of OF hangers on there is a surprising amount of us good guys in the area.

eezyrider
06-11-2013, 09:11 PM
Born in Elsie Inglis and brought up in Lady Nairne. Over my back garden fence lived John Robertson and along the road was Davey Bowman (Hearts/ Coventry/ Dundee United).

EZ

06-11-2013, 09:12 PM
Lunik ix

Hedlund12
06-11-2013, 09:13 PM
Nitten by the bing (all my life!).

Family were all pretend hertz fans but I could count on one hand how many times they have set foot in sw*ne castle..... (and they still think it's perfectly acceptable to spout off about that lot!)

Never mind .....I was clearly the (clever) one that broke the mould and my son is fortunately sharing his mums passion for the cabbage!

06-11-2013, 09:18 PM
Elsie Inglis, Colinton Mains, Rose Street, Colinton Mains (thanks mum), Bread Street, Melbourne (Aus), Colinton Mains (thanks mum, again :wink:) and now Colinton Mains once more (in my own place). There were far too many Jambos from this area and at Firrhill in the 80's but that stronghold is now long gone :thumbsup:

son of haggart
06-11-2013, 09:22 PM
Northfield Farm Avenue/ Duddingston/ Porty tho family from Tolcross originally

06-11-2013, 09:24 PM

Ahem, it was Roy Williamson (his singing partner was Ronnie Browne).
Not very often I get the chance to correct a stalwart like you on here.:wink:

Smaragd
06-11-2013, 09:25 PM
How you doing buddy? We met at the Essen game. Don't see you posting much these days

Hi,

I remember. What a brilliant couple of days that was

Read the threads a lot, but don't post. Must be maturing

06-11-2013, 09:27 PM

Ach neither of them played for Hibs :greengrin

06-11-2013, 09:28 PM
Hi,

I remember. What a brilliant couple of days that was

Read the threads a lot, but don't post. Must be maturing

I hope to do that myself one day :greengrin

Minder
06-11-2013, 09:30 PM
Born Simpsons, year 1 Abbeyhill then Wester Drylaw Drive and then Crewe before moving Halifax.

06-11-2013, 09:36 PM
Canongate until I was 6. Then when they had the pogroms and moved out the poor, it was Easter Road on the next block up from the Mine Host, now Tamsons. You could see the top left of the Main Terracing from my Kitchen windae. I still call this part of the world home.

hibb1
06-11-2013, 09:38 PM
Albert street,whiteside bathgate,livi all over:greengrin granda was a hibs one week hearts the next week man,thankfully none of us picked up the hearts side:greengrin,unfortunately some of the family picked up the lesser greens ma auld man included,he tried to get me into them but took me to easter road for first game in the old west when i was a bairn im sure we lost and jackie mc snr scored an og all a bit vague but that was me hooked on Hibs and all my clan been brought up proper:greengrin

sadtom
06-11-2013, 09:41 PM
That's where my dad grew up and my nana lived there for the rest of her days, I used to go there every Saturday before and after home games, easy wee walk to the ground

It was indeed. A 5 minute walk if ye ran. :greengrin
Was yer nan a High Bee or a Low Bee?
As well as being a Hibee I was also a Low Bee. :agree:

06-11-2013, 09:43 PM
Born Merseyside (dad's family from there), mother's family from Cowgate. Lived for first 6 years in Wardlaw Place (Aaargh), then Grove Street, before moving to Jock's Lodge and onto Mountcastle.

Davy Mac
06-11-2013, 09:54 PM
Born a stones throw in Drum Terrace, nae wonder my Dad liked the 4 in hand.

Half of my family are originally from Ayrshire, Wishaw & Govan and the other half of my family originally Ipswich and Guernsey but by and large Craigentinny & Maryfield.

I just love our heritage, our identity and what the Hibs stand for!!

06-11-2013, 10:12 PM
have a friend who stays in alloa, so have been through there to alloa game years ago and there was always a lot off hibs fans from there. I always remember going through that way, a few years ago with the wife. we wanted some garden furniture so I stopped the car and asked a local man......is there a B&Q in Alloa? his reply was....naw, there's 2 As and 2 Ls though. nice wee place though.

06-11-2013, 10:15 PM
I always remember going through that way, a few years ago with the wife. we wanted some garden furniture so I stopped the car and asked a local man......is there a B&Q in Alloa? his reply was....naw, there's 2 As and 2 Ls though. nice wee place though.

Old one's are the best :greengrin

c31
06-11-2013, 10:17 PM

he use to **** my aunty years ago -

Roxyhibee
06-11-2013, 10:19 PM
Appropriately, I stayed in the "Green".
Just looked on Google maps!!!! where is the school? the 5 minute bell..

Aye, the Moredun school was demolished a fairly long time ago. My bedroom in the View used to look right onto the big clock.

The sheds with their big stone goalposts were great for fitba' 'nets' - and you could get a mini game of knockout or shapes inside them if it was raining.

Used to go to see Hibs as a young teenager in the 70's with a few guys who stayed at the bottom end of the Moredunvales like the Green, Loan, Way..

06-11-2013, 10:20 PM
10 mins walk fae the PBS at Viewforth

Been a Hibby all my 60 years though

Well,53 years, was 7 when I went to my first game at ER

OxoHibby
06-11-2013, 10:24 PM
Kelso

My dad was brought up on Easter Road

blaikie
06-11-2013, 10:32 PM
Southside of Glasgow born and bred!

Glesgahibby
06-11-2013, 10:32 PM
Hullo Hullo ............... !

Govan :agree:
Penilee for twenty years :greengrin

Roxyhibee
06-11-2013, 10:37 PM
One of the best fitba players never to have played at a high level was there when I was there, A hibby too. Billy McG

Yes, he was in my year at Libby and was a really skillful player, dribbler. And i used to go to some Hibs games with him. There were a lot of good players around there though.

BurghHibby
06-11-2013, 10:47 PM
Ach neither of them played for Hibs :greengrin

He was my brother's art teacher at Musselburgh Grammar school.

I was born and bred in Musselburgh, "the Burgh that was a Burgh when Edinburgh was nane"
Pinkie school was mostly Hibs fans in my time, no that many ****bos at the Grammar either but plenty Rantics.

HibsNZ
06-11-2013, 10:58 PM
Is there a prize for being born the furthest away from Easter Rd?

Billy McKirdy
06-11-2013, 11:23 PM
I was brought up in Piershill, close enough to hear the roar from the terracing when a goal was scored.
Although there were a few tics, huns and quite a few yams, it was overwhelmingly a Hibby stronghold. YPF YA BASS !!!

WellingtonHibby
06-11-2013, 11:54 PM
Is there a prize for being born the furthest away from Easter Rd?

Can you top Dammam, Saudi Arabia? :na na:

hailhail22
07-11-2013, 12:00 AM
Corstorphine, clermiston area, slightly more of them than hibs but derby day around the oak is usually quite eventful to say the least :p

07-11-2013, 12:04 AM
Born in the Eastern General and lived in Newhaven/Trinity before moving to Berwickshire when I was 18.

My dad is the first in our family to wear the green, having descended from a line of jambos. However my grandad on my mothers side went to see the Hibs when he was young in the 40s and early 50s.

07-11-2013, 12:23 AM
You can take the man oot o Wally but................................. :greengrin wee local joke, know the area well, nearest I ever lived was Porty but same idea.

I was Wallyford from 4 to 14 then 15-18 still regard myself as a Wallyford man.

HibsNZ
07-11-2013, 01:21 AM
Can you top Dammam, Saudi Arabia? :na na:

By about 9 and a half thousand miles apparently :wink:

jamieross
07-11-2013, 01:49 AM
Born in Edinburgh, lived almost all my life in the Borders, namely Eyemouth and now Berwick.

07-11-2013, 03:14 AM
Is there a prize for being born the furthest away from Easter Rd?Depends where in Auckland you are???

Hibee_Dave
07-11-2013, 03:58 AM
Born in the Eastern, very briefly in Kelso for a year or so, Fairmilehead, Dumfries, Juniper Green, Glasgow (for uni), Japan (to get as far away from Glasgow as possible :wink: )

hibbymick
07-11-2013, 04:13 AM
Dad born 1929 was a big Hibby from The Dumbiedykes. I was born in Fernieside 1959 and lived there til 1970. First went to ER in 1963 aged 4 and have literally never stopped. Fernieside Cres was slightly more Hibby, but moved to Moredunvale in 1970 and almost the whole street and surrounding ones were Hibbies. One or two huns, but honestly can't remember any Yams in the vicinity..

Both great streets to grow up in. Great pals. Good families.

Liberton High school was distinctly scant of maroon scarves in the 70's too..But plenty green ones..!

Used to visit my cousin Stuart Grant (RIP Tich) in Muirhouse most Sundays and everyone seemed to be Hibs down there too.

The cres was a great street and as you say good families. We used to play a lot of fitbaw next to the "Tinny" . There used to be a lassie played wi us who was no a bad player, last I heard she was a fitbaw coach in America. Oh and I used to spend ma summer holidays in moredun ...trekking along the burn and hunting for golf baws, nae x boxes in those days ...in fact I think the Atari was still to emerge :greengrin

alhibby
07-11-2013, 06:32 AM

Went to both too, left Libby in '72

07-11-2013, 06:43 AM
Ainslie park god that place brings back the memories ,did you go to the annex 1st 2nd years We used to go fighting with the
snobs fi trinity high in the park between the 2 schools. jees that was 36 years ago.
grew up in west pilton ypd:wink:

Went to Ainslie Park and spent my first year at the annexe, also played in a very good football team that won the league 3 years in a row.

Remember some names from that team like Hughie Stevenson, Bimbo Currie, Tony Doc, Johnny Burrel, Raymond Bungay & Allan Kilpatrick, were you there at that time?

Used to play sweeper in that side, an easy job as Hughie was centre half and was huge for his age, not much got past him. :greengrin

07-11-2013, 07:03 AM
I was brought up in Piershill, close enough to hear the roar from the terracing when a goal was scored.
Although there were a few tics, huns and quite a few yams, it was overwhelmingly a Hibby stronghold. YPF YA BASS !!!
But did you stay in the good Square?

07-11-2013, 07:26 AM
Born in the Eastern. Lived in Tranent, Gorebridge, Bonnyrigg and back to Tranent.

07-11-2013, 07:33 AM
Although there were a few tics, huns and quite a few yams, it was overwhelmingly a Hibby stronghold. YPF YA BASS !!! I had a lot of family from piershill, how long ago did you live there?

WellingtonHibby
07-11-2013, 07:36 AM
By about 9 and a half thousand miles apparently :wink:

Boooooooooo!Auckland does feel further away, ill grant you..

hibby67
07-11-2013, 07:44 AM
best playground in edinburgh before being demolished. :greengrin:

loved it in the winter when the ramps iced over trying to do a wee man all the way down around the corners
happy days

Newcastlehibby
07-11-2013, 07:51 AM
Drylaw till I was 7 then Warriston. My Father's family were all from Leith.

Pat 0-7
07-11-2013, 08:15 AM
Bathgate, started working in Edinburgh in 1979, moved to Bruntsfield a few years later, sharing a flat with mates, one of whom was a Hibby who draggged me along to a few games and I was hooked..... then got my own place in Moncrieff Terrace (Meadows) for a few years, then back west to Livi, then back to Bathgate.......

only one Hibby in my year at St. Marys if I remember correctly, all the rest Celtc..........them and Rangers (RIP) were the only tops you saw hitting about back then.........but these days you see a few Hibs ones........ and Cheating Yams ones as well........

DanHFC1875
07-11-2013, 08:17 AM
I grew up in Clerwood. My old man grew up in Chesser and whole family are all dyed in the wool HFC GGTTH :flag:

hungryhibs
07-11-2013, 08:48 AM
a was born in pilton then moved to the Jewel then Bingham and then got my own house in niddrie where a still currently live with my family where my son also a hibby my old man is from leith and was a celtic man till a told him he had to take me to Easter road to watch hibs and ever since he has followed them since :hibees

cal-d hibs
07-11-2013, 09:11 AM

I had family in all bits of Piershill, I stayed short while in the good West Square, the East square was the 'nixies'

G-Reg
07-11-2013, 09:15 AM
It was indeed. A 5 minute walk if ye ran. :greengrin
Was yer nan a High Bee or a Low Bee?
As well as being a Hibee I was also a Low Bee. :agree:

She lived at the Albert Street end I'm guessing that qualified her as a high bee?

07-11-2013, 09:19 AM
Born in Leith, grew up in Leith, still live in Leith........After having four sons who are all staunch Hibbys too, i've done my bit. :)

CFC1892
07-11-2013, 09:21 AM
Grew up in Melbourne Australia.
Dad was born in Bonnington Rd cnr Bonnington Rd Lane 1945
He went to Hibs games with his dad and sister before coming out here when he was 14

07-11-2013, 09:22 AM
I had family in all bits of Piershill, I stayed short while in the good West Square, the East square was the 'nixies'You were a Nixie but so was my Nana, some of you turned out to be not so bad:greengrin

Newry Hiby
07-11-2013, 09:47 AM
Calders.

07-11-2013, 10:00 AM
Buchanan street just off Leith walk and then North Fort street from late 60's to late 70's

07-11-2013, 10:01 AM
You were a Nixie but so was my Nana, some of you turned out to be not so bad:greengrin

Great wee trip doon memory lane on Piershill here, frequently in the area in the late 70s 80s and early nineties, went to Porters a lot, great place and lots of memories :-)

07-11-2013, 10:05 AM
I was Wallyford from 4 to 14 then 15-18 still regard myself as a Wallyford man.

Know your family fatbloke, your mum and dad were good sorts. Send regards fi the wee trampy fella fae number 10. :greengrin

BTW what's Joe getting up to these days?

Billy McKirdy
07-11-2013, 10:27 AM

If your talking about the West square, aye :thumbsup: all the nexies had tics :greengrin
I was in number 11, I had many sisters, can you figure out who I am (the clue's in my avatar :wink:)

07-11-2013, 10:30 AM
If your talking about the West square, aye :thumbsup: all the nexies had tics :greengrin
I was in number 11, I had many sisters, can you figure out who I am (the clue's in my avatar :wink:)
Initials B Mc?

Niffy
07-11-2013, 10:47 AM
Sydney Terrace.... until 1975

CH-ibbie
07-11-2013, 10:48 AM
In the famous lake district called Confereratia Helvetica......:wink:

Billy McKirdy
07-11-2013, 11:25 AM
Initials B Mc?

That's me! :-D and who am I talking to??

Green Man
07-11-2013, 11:34 AM
Born in the Western General, spent the first few months in Carrick Knowe before moving to Livi (Murieston). Left for Glasgow Uni at 17 and was there until I was 22 (with a 9 month stint back in Livi in the middle). After graduating I moved through to Edinburgh, stayed in Hillside (I could see ER from my bedroom window :greengrin) then up to The Inch. When I was 25 I moved in with the missus in Pilton, I'm still there today.

celthedd1
07-11-2013, 11:44 AM
Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysilio gogogoch
born in the western general, spent the first few months in carrick knowe before moving to livi (murieston). Left for glasgow uni at 17 and was there until i was 22 (with a 9 month stint back in livi in the middle). After graduating i moved through to edinburgh, stayed in hillside (i could see er from my bedroom window :greengrin) then up to the inch. When i was 25 i moved in with the missus in pilton, i'm still there today.

sarfoftheborder
07-11-2013, 11:51 AM
Blackhall

07-11-2013, 11:52 AM
That's me! :-D and who am I talking to??My brother has the same initials as me and works at central.

07-11-2013, 12:44 PM
Penilee for twenty years :greengrin

Still there ? :cb

Monktonhall 7
07-11-2013, 01:11 PM
Me too!

And me. I'm positive there were only 2 Yams from Macmerry. jock McGovern and Perter Morris. Majority of us were Hibbies. Wonder if that's changed?

Billy McKirdy
07-11-2013, 01:30 PM
My brother has the same initials as me and works at central.

I was never good at anagrams haha what's your initials and what number stair did you stay in..wee clue? ;-)

07-11-2013, 01:45 PM
I was never good at anagrams haha what's your initials and what number stair did you stay in..wee clue? ;-)12.

Renfrew_Hibby
07-11-2013, 01:48 PM
Born and raised in Ayr, now reside in Renfrew. No connections to Edinburgh but a near life long Hibby all the same!

Hibby Gav
07-11-2013, 01:50 PM
Happy to say Easter Road from when I was 2 :wink:

Billy McKirdy
07-11-2013, 01:57 PM

Gotcha :thumbsup:

Northern Hibby
07-11-2013, 01:58 PM
Wardieburn then on the ramps of West Granton.

Best playground in Edinburgh before being demolished. :greengrin:

Best thread ever, was talking recently about ramps, bins (shoots), The landings, verandas (oooooooooh Virandas), the yards, pensioners landing, the back shops, divernoes (not sure about spelling) kibbys (again spelling) Burrell’s and Dreeping, as in "a canne jump it but a kin dreep it"

I swear I can hear hovis music :confused:

Roxyhibee
07-11-2013, 02:03 PM
The cres was a great street and as you say good families. We used to play a lot of fitbaw next to the "Tinny" . There used to be a lassie played wi us who was no a bad player, last I heard she was a fitbaw coach in America. Oh and I used to spend ma summer holidays in moredun ...trekking along the burn and hunting for golf baws, nae x boxes in those days ...in fact I think the Atari was still to emerge :greengrin

Yes, spent a lot of time down at Nickys burn too. But seemed a long way from Fernieside and you had to watch out for locals.

House was next door to bookies and Fernieside Inn. We used to play fitba in the lane and wait on the half drunk merry men coming out who all wanted a kick of the ball to show their Denis Law 'skills'. The ball usually ended up in someones garden but we used to get a lot of ha'pennies and pennies from them, so it was usually worth having to get it back.!

The slope in that lane was steeper than Easter Road.!

07-11-2013, 02:03 PM
Calders.

Hung about in Calders a bit due to a couple of birds :)

07-11-2013, 02:06 PM
Just the bast playground mentioned by SH.
Surely the best playground was the Venchie in WesterHailes ...?

Glesgahibby
07-11-2013, 02:36 PM
Still there ? :cb
Moved to cardonald when I got married and then erskine when my daughter was born in 2000.
I was in the argosy for the first time in 15 years last month(happy days):aok:

07-11-2013, 06:17 PM
In the famous lake district called Confereratia Helvetica......:wink:

Bern aye?? Was there a couple of months ago on a roasting hot day. In the river pronto. Lovely place.

How the devil do you become a Hibs fan growing up in Switzerland?

Notahappyhibee
07-11-2013, 06:21 PM
Leith/Penicuik/leith

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

07-11-2013, 07:11 PM
John Watson was in my class at Libby Annexe, funny how things turn out.

As a kid, I used to play football and wee John Watson was one of the lads who joined in. He was indeed wee then but grew quickly after he reached 15 or 16 :greengrin

07-11-2013, 07:13 PM
And me. I'm positive there were only 2 Yams from Macmerry. jock McGovern and Perter Morris. Majority of us were Hibbies. Wonder if that's changed?

I moved here 3 years ago so that's one more Hibby resident :thumbsup:

Adniston Burn
07-11-2013, 07:26 PM

Hi mate. How's it gaun ? I think Peter was the only Yam that went regularly to see them. There must have been about fifteen of us Macmerry Hibbies getting on the Tranent Hibs Supporters Bus at the Miners Club during the Tornado days.:flag:

Wee Scottie Dug
07-11-2013, 07:37 PM
Magdalene (Avenue) from 0 til about 20 !

07-11-2013, 07:46 PM
Buchanan street just off Leith walk and then North Fort street from late 60's to late 70's

Probably kent ma grandad George Mcmillan from Buchanan st

Granton Stanton
07-11-2013, 07:46 PM
Granton 1962-1978 then deepest argyll since. Granton primary had I believe the largest playground in Edinburgh.

07-11-2013, 07:47 PM

My mum had a big hand in running that place.

Stax
07-11-2013, 08:14 PM
Been a lurker on .net for years, but can't help myself on this thread.. Thomas Fraser Court Leith till I was 2, moved to Porty, Towerbank primary / blaze pitch & Jim Mcarthur was our p.e teacher :thumbsup: Moved to Currie then Fountainbridge.

H13BYM
07-11-2013, 08:15 PM
Moredun born & bred. Now york since 2005. Played fitba from dawn til dusk in fernie field as kid, happy days! :thumbsup:

07-11-2013, 08:15 PM
Been a lurker on .net for years, but can't help myself on this thread.. Thomas Fraser Court Leith till I was 2, moved to Porty, Towerbank primary / blaze pitch & Jim Mcarthur was our p.e teacher :thumbsup: Moved to Currie then Fountainbridge.

Welcome aboard Stax :thumbsup:

Bad Habits
07-11-2013, 08:25 PM
Harrogate, North Yorkshire for me :) Dad grew up on Cambridge avenue (just off Leith walk) and moved down from Edinburgh for work purposes. I know there is another hibby down here too, there is a car with a Hibs air freshener in that I keep seeing around.

G-Reg
07-11-2013, 09:42 PM

Thankfully that pitch has been done away with! Lost a few layers of skin on that park

jon paul jones
07-11-2013, 09:47 PM
Two streets from Roseburn - Leith - Polwarth -Inverleith - Polwarth and finally past ER and east to the glorious Musselburgh since 2007

Plenty run ins with the uglies back when wearing shorts

andudare2
07-11-2013, 09:51 PM
Harrogate, North Yorkshire for me :) Dad grew up on Cambridge avenue (just off Leith walk) and moved down from Edinburgh for work purposes. I know there is another hibby down here too, there is a car with a Hibs air freshener in that I keep seeing around.used to be about 10/12 guy,s came up regular from harrogate for hibs games,traveled to away games on the old i.e.c bus! all pals of a guy from leith who moved down there. most were leeds boy,s as well!:flag::flag::flag:

Bad Habits
07-11-2013, 10:00 PM
used to be about 10/12 guy,s came up regular from harrogate for hibs games,traveled to away games on the old i.e.c bus! all pals of a guy from leith who moved down there. most were leeds boy,s as well!:flag::flag::flag:

I don't think that was my dad ha-ha, he doesn't really get up to Scotland that much any more but he does live in Leeds now funnily enough!

07-11-2013, 10:00 PM

Born: Newington

1: Moved to Craigmount, Corstorphine.

21: Lorne Street, Leith

23: South Gyle

25: Dalry

28: London

33: Piershill

34: Roseburn

42: Corstorphine

07-11-2013, 10:01 PM
I had a lot of family from piershill, how long ago did you live there?

My auld man is from a well kent family from square east.

Flanny boy
07-11-2013, 10:06 PM
used to be about 10/12 guy,s came up regular from harrogate for hibs games,traveled to away games on the old i.e.c bus! all pals of a guy from leith who moved down there. most were leeds boy,s as well!:flag::flag::flag:
I remember that mate I was a regular on the iec bus at that time
We even took a bus down to Harrogate on one occasion,maybe you were there?

07-11-2013, 10:10 PM

Used to love going on holiday for the day away from Granton on the 32 to the WHEC swimming then onto the Venchie, quality day out :greengrin

07-11-2013, 10:12 PM
Granton 1962-1978 then deepest argyll since. Granton primary had I believe the largest playground in Edinburgh.

And the best fitba pitch.

sidjames
07-11-2013, 10:20 PM
Craigentinny, magdalene, north fort street, priestfield, london: euston, queens park, east dulwich, west dulwich, sidcup, livingston, broxburn, easter duddingston, wardie, greenend, mortonhall, now hills of mijas for last 7 years.

07-11-2013, 10:26 PM
Craigentinny, magdalene, north fort street, priestfield, london: euston, queens park, east dulwich, west dulwich, sidcup, livingston, broxburn, easter duddingston, wardie, greenend, mortonhall, now hills of mijas for last 7 years.

They can't catch you if you don't stay still! :greengrin

07-11-2013, 10:30 PM
Harrogate, North Yorkshire for me :) Dad grew up on Cambridge avenue (just off Leith walk) and moved down from Edinburgh for work purposes. I know there is another hibby down here too, there is a car with a Hibs air freshener in that I keep seeing around.

just around the corner from Pilrig st, what year/s did he live in Cambridge ave ?

07-11-2013, 10:37 PM
Born in Eastern General. Lived in St Pats schoolhouse for good while, moved to Ilford for a year then lived in Dumbiedykes. Spent next 12 years in Niddrie Mill before beginning a nomadic existence ha ha

Sent from my iphone

Tollhouse Hibee
08-11-2013, 12:25 AM
21 years in Haddington. 10 in Inverurie. 1 in Kinross.

08-11-2013, 12:43 AM
Elgin, then Falkirk then some round the world journeys ending in the last 12 years in Kansas City

08-11-2013, 03:40 AM

Has to be the old Oxgangs surely. Two full size grass football pitches, a full size gravel hockey pitch and large concrete/grassy areas bigger than most primaries had in total.

It's a shame somebody with "behavioural problems" couldn't help but set the place on fire. Ach well, it's a victimless crime. Somebody else had picked up the tab.:rolleyes:

gorgie greens
08-11-2013, 03:59 AM
saughton mains,dalry,easter drylaw,dalkieth,clermiston,south wales (cwmbran) often see some boy walking down here with his two boys all in Hibs strips,also know of an old boy from Great junction street,so theres a few down here

drifter533814
08-11-2013, 04:05 AM
Easter Road, Portobello and now dalry.

hibbill2002
08-11-2013, 05:55 AM
I don't think that was my dad ha-ha, he doesn't really get up to Scotland that much any more but he does live in Leeds now funnily enough!

your dads no called ronnie is he?

08-11-2013, 06:11 AM
Colinton Road, just down from Happy Valley.

humins
08-11-2013, 08:28 AM
Grew up Dunblane, lived Uni years in Albert Street, now southern hemisphere, always a hibee

scotia44
08-11-2013, 08:31 AM
Gilmerton Dykes St (Hyvots primary until it fell in a hole) fitba in the big field behind the library 21 a side first to 35 :thumbsup:
Abbeyhill - Rossie Place fitba on the street at Holland House gates :thumbsup:
Lochend/Loganlea spiritual home (mums family all from the area) :not worth
Restalrig the posh bit :greengrin

BarneyK
08-11-2013, 08:37 AM
Gilmerton Dykes St (Hyvots primary until it fell in a hole) fitba in the big field behind the library 21 a side first to 35 :thumbsup:

We used to play 1 or 2 a side against the Library. Shocking :greengrin

Monktonhall 7
08-11-2013, 09:27 AM
I moved here 3 years ago so that's one more Hibby resident :thumbsup:

Good stuff Jonnyboy. Another Hibby in town. Always been a decent number of Hibbies from East Lothian and the boys who started the East Lothian Bus a good few years ago have done a brilliant job in keeping the tradition going.

Monktonhall 7
08-11-2013, 09:32 AM
Hi mate. How's it gaun ? I think Peter was the only Yam that went regularly to see them. There must have been about fifteen of us Macmerry Hibbies getting on the Tranent Hibs Supporters Bus at the Miners Club during the Tornado days.:flag:

Good mate. Still see a good few of the boys fi the Blast at the games. I started in the late 60s on the Cross Keys bus from Tranent, then Tranent Hibs Supporters bus, then never stopped. No sure if that's been a good thing or bad, but I'm still looking forward to the morn!

08-11-2013, 09:49 AM
Niddrie then Piershill.

08-11-2013, 12:11 PM
Has to be the old Oxgangs surely. Two full size grass football pitches, a full size gravel hockey pitch and large concrete/grassy areas bigger than most primaries had in total.

It's a shame somebody with "behavioural problems" couldn't help but set the place on fire. Ach well, it's a victimless crime. Somebody else had picked up the tab.:rolleyes:

:agree: My old primary :boo hoo: :grr:

Adniston Burn
08-11-2013, 12:20 PM
Good mate. Still see a good few of the boys fi the Blast at the games. I started in the late 60s on the Cross Keys bus from Tranent, then Tranent Hibs Supporters bus, then never stopped. No sure if that's been a good thing or bad, but I'm still looking forward to the morn!

It's good to still see a lot of the die hards going to the matches. Used to be on the bus with you following the Hibs all over the place back then. Didn't get to many matches from the early eighties up to the late nineties as I was playing at that time. Also looking forward to the morn and hey it's never a bad thing to go and see the Hibs.:thumbsup:

Baker9
08-11-2013, 12:21 PM
Prefabs in Pennywell, then Muirhouse. Schooling in West Pilton. Supposedly bad areas, and the bad were really bad, but lots of amazing people and only happy memories for me.

Denverhibby
08-11-2013, 02:07 PM
Craigintinny , British Army know living in Grand Junction , Colorado. Once a hibby allways a hibby going back to my dad , grand dad , great grand dad. :flag:

08-11-2013, 02:54 PM
My auld man is from a well kent family from square east.

So was mine

andudare2
08-11-2013, 02:56 PM
I remember that mate I was a regular on the iec bus at that time
We even took a bus down to Harrogate on one occasion,maybe you were there?was me that run the bus flanny,imbercourt hotel,dyked them for there lot hahahah,young doogie huckled, boy playing the rebel tunes on the piano in breakfast room,folk that owned hotel thought it was a group of eastern gents that had dyked them,who were we to put them str8 eh? ain fault they got bladdered&asked us to run the bar for them hahahahahaha, think auld dickie got caught trying to nip the owners wife as well .***** quality trip :flag::flag::flag:

Flanny boy
08-11-2013, 03:30 PM
was me that run the bus flanny,imbercourt hotel,dyked them for there lot hahahah,young doogie huckled, boy playing the rebel tunes on the piano in breakfast room,folk that owned hotel thought it was a group of eastern gents that had dyked them,who were we to put them str8 eh? ain fault they got bladdered&asked us to run the bar for them hahahahahaha, think auld dickie got caught trying to nip the owners wife as well .***** quality trip :flag::flag::flag:hows it goin mate.that trip I will never forget you have mentioned most of
the Craic already I thot 2p was cheap for a double voddy and coke but hey who was I to argue eh.thanks for the memories troops.glory glory :flag:

08-11-2013, 03:57 PM
Brought up in polwarth before moving to balgreen in my teenage years ( Tynecastle nursery then bruntsfield primary then moved to balgreen so went to Tynecastle high school.

davieh
08-11-2013, 05:48 PM
Aldershot....Married into Hibs

08-11-2013, 06:03 PM
My mum had a big hand in running that place.
Was she married to Jack or Alex ?
Was she about when they started ..club 85 ?

hibbill2002
08-11-2013, 07:26 PM

We used to play 1 or 2 a side against the Library. Shocking :greengrin

Where I live now, its no a library now though.

08-11-2013, 07:32 PM
So was mine

You first :greengrin

Nuitdelune
08-11-2013, 07:51 PM
Brought up in polwarth before moving to balgreen in my teenage years ( Tynecastle nursery then bruntsfield primary then moved to balgreen so went to Tynecastle high school.
Is Balgreen, Balgreen Rd. I ask as I wonder if anyone knows Rab Heinermeiar though that spelling may be wrong

andudare2
08-11-2013, 09:25 PM
hows it goin mate.that trip I will never forget you have mentioned most of
the Craic already I thot 2p was cheap for a double voddy and coke but hey who was I to argue eh.thanks for the memories troops.glory glory :flag: mathew the insane pakistani driver !!!!!!!!!! boy was top class,luved taking us on our sojurns ,never bothered that he had a mobile pub !hahahahaha:flag:

08-11-2013, 10:29 PM

He now lives in Newcastle and still has a season ticket

08-11-2013, 11:34 PM
Grew up in bathgate but been all over the place for the last 8 years, now in falkirk

Miguel
08-11-2013, 11:47 PM
Thanks to all who have taken part in this very interesting thread: Me? Born Niddrie Mains Terrace, 1961, Bingham Place, 1965-70, Niddrie House Square 1970-79, Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow 1979-80, Magdalene Avenue 1980-81, Warrender Park Crescent 1981-82, Bryson Road 1982, Magdalene Avenue 1982-83, West Savile Terrace 1983, Tanfield 1983-84, St Stephen Street 1984-85, South Parks Road 1986, Julian Road 1985-86, Balbirnie Rise 1992, all Glenrothes, Meadowbank Crescent 1992-97, Northfield Park Grove 1997-present...phew, where did the years go?

09-11-2013, 01:44 AM
From the inch in Edinburgh, moved to Kaiserslautern, Germany for around a week lol. Came back to Edinburgh then moved to Ayr, been here two years now. Bloody hate the flute bands walking past my house at balls AM.

Flanny boy
09-11-2013, 02:25 AM
mathew the insane pakistani driver !!!!!!!!!! boy was top class,luved taking us on our sojurns ,never bothered that he had a mobile pub !hahahahaha:flag:
Aye top guy for sure,bring back the iec eh :wink:

Flanny boy
09-11-2013, 02:28 AM
He now lives in Newcastle and still has a season ticket
That's good to hear the boys still travelling to the holyground like :thumbsup:

09-11-2013, 03:33 AM
Edina street for me directly across from Jason Gardner funnily enough until I was around 18-19 then moved to sighthill road before going to Gothenburg Sweden for around a year. Returned to the parents at sighthill then moved to Smithfield street in gorgie before I moved out to rullion road penicuik just a couple of months ago.

09-11-2013, 06:27 AM

Didn't you know there is a macmerry hearts these days.....they take week about driving the car

Lang Toun Hibs
09-11-2013, 07:02 AM
Doune, between Stirling and Callander although to be honest, I still don't consider myself to be 'grown up'!

Bunter
09-11-2013, 07:05 AM
Southhouse/Burdiehouse. Memories of the barrio still burn brightly. :thumbsup:

Black Kyle
09-11-2013, 07:39 AM
George St, Leith which then became North Fort St.

Staunch Hibee called Michael Hansen lived over the road in the new flats which were built after a German bomb hit.

09-11-2013, 08:46 AM
i was born in the Eastern General hospital, lived off the heart of Leith, the old Kirkgate till i was 9 yrs old.

Then when they pulled down the heart of Leith i was decanted out to some foreign place called Gorgie (Stenhouse really)

Only Hibs supporter around in those days in a Jambo infested area.

No parental guidance on my choice of team it just seemed as if i was born to be a Hibbie?

My mum used to say that my son was born with a Hibs strip on and had no choice other than to be a Hibs Supporter!

Well you've got to bring them up properly haven't you?

manx hibee
09-11-2013, 08:49 AM
southhouse till I was 10 then moved to marchmont
now living as my name suggests GGTTH

nellio
09-11-2013, 09:22 AM
Small town in South Wales called Cwmbran. Moved up here and the missus family are all Hibees. I was a Cardiff season ticket holder but I missed going to the footie so started going to the Hibs games after I moved up. Season ticket holder now at ER. Swapped Premier league for the Scottish premier league. Definitely not a glory hunter !!!!

Adniston Burn
09-11-2013, 09:54 AM
Didn't you know there is a macmerry hearts these days.....they take week about driving the car

Looks live they've doubled their fan base there.:greengrin

09-11-2013, 10:00 AM
You first :greengrin

His family was 40s-70s in the square east. Big family - 8 offspring, one set of twins.

Monktonhall 7
09-11-2013, 10:04 AM
what? The Yams can afford a car!

Jay
09-11-2013, 10:08 AM

I went to Tynie too. Hell hole that it was.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

MichelleHibs
09-11-2013, 10:44 AM
lived in midcalder the first 18mths then moved to corstorphine...been living in perth now for 11yrs :flag:

09-11-2013, 10:59 AM
Penicuik born and bred.

Place is full of deluded Hearts B******s.

09-11-2013, 11:02 AM
Penicuik born and bred.

I've noticed that mate since I moved here!

09-11-2013, 12:54 PM
His family was 40s-70s in the square east. Big family - 8 offspring, one set of twins.George and Davie 2 of your uncles?

09-11-2013, 01:24 PM
Penicuik born and bred.

Apart fae me Wullie :greengrin

09-11-2013, 02:13 PM
Penicuik born and bred.

In Penicuik too.

Not such a bad place apart from the above.

You missed out the words, 'brain dead', in between, 'deluded' and 'Hearts'..........,

:yw:

09-11-2013, 07:47 PM
George and Davie 2 of your uncles?

Davie, yes, but no George ... in saying that, on my mum's side I only found out in recent years that my mum's brother I knew as Ian grew up being called John.

09-11-2013, 07:55 PM
findochty......ye can google it :greengrin

09-11-2013, 08:01 PM
what? The Yams can afford a car!

They are still filthy tho!

Never said the car wasn't stolen lol

Renfrew_Hibby
10-11-2013, 01:53 PM
From the inch in Edinburgh, moved to Kaiserslautern, Germany for around a week lol. Came back to Edinburgh then moved to Ayr, been here two years now. Bloody hate the flute bands walking past my house at balls AM.

Where abouts in Ayr are you, the north side? I grew up in Ayr and never saw a flute band in all my 27 years there, but then I was down towards seafield/Rozelle way (bit posh, but we weren't!) It's a shame that's the impression of Ayrshire that people have but I don't think I even knew of flute bands till I was in my teens and that was off the telly.

10-11-2013, 03:06 PM
As a kid, I used to play football and wee John Watson was one of the lads who joined in. He was indeed wee then but grew quickly after he reached 15 or 16 :greengrin

Did you know John's dad? Great singer at family parties. In fact you could not shut him up once he got started! Great guy though and was very proud of Young John.

10-11-2013, 03:20 PM
They can but they still have to pronounce it correctly ...:greengrin

10-11-2013, 05:51 PM
They can but they still have to pronounce it correctly ...:greengrin

:greengrin.......finechtie it is then :aok:

10-11-2013, 05:56 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kb0kiiB3O-o&feature=youtube_gdata_player

10-11-2013, 06:38 PM
Did you know John's dad? Great singer at family parties. In fact you could not shut him up once he got started! Great guy though and was very proud of Young John.

I did but was never lucky enough to hear him sing :greengrin

Salisbury Hibby
10-11-2013, 06:46 PM
Niddrie. Lovely place to come from. Wouldn't want to go back, though :greengrin

10-11-2013, 06:51 PM
Hiberlin, I love your avatar!!!!

10-11-2013, 07:03 PM

Cheers, I loved Ally. Had a real man crush on the podgy fella.

10-11-2013, 07:41 PM

it may be oor allly,but his "findochty" link dinae work......uberfans :rolleyes:

Jonny1875
10-11-2013, 07:49 PM
West Belfast, surrounded by Celtic fans.

10-11-2013, 07:57 PM
it may be oor allly,but his "findochty" link dinae work......uberfans :rolleyes:

Wiznae a link ya dafty, cannae dae that oan ma mobile. Copy and paste ya lazy bugger.

10-11-2013, 08:04 PM
Wiznae a link ya dafty, cannae dae that oan ma mobile. Copy and paste ya lazy bugger.

the "greatest fan" sadly is bereft of the nous to do that :confused:

get yer act together :greengrin

10-11-2013, 08:25 PM
:agree: My old primary :boo hoo: :grr:

I played a lot of games there as a kid.

It was right at the end of our street (Firrhill Loan).

07hibee
10-11-2013, 08:25 PM
Just interested to see what parts of the city and beyond we all came from. Are we mainly Leithers and East Enders, or is that a myth nowadays?

Bonnyrigg

10-11-2013, 08:27 PM
I played a lot of games there as a kid.

It was right at the end of our street (Firrhill Loan).

I lived right at the St Mark's end of Colinton Mains Road so I went home every lunchtime :greengrin It's a sin what happened :agree: :bitchy:

10-11-2013, 08:33 PM
I lived right at the St Mark's end of Colinton Mains Road so I went home every lunchtime :greengrin It's a sin what happened :agree: :bitchy:

I didn't go to school there, being a pape.

Got sent to Holy Cross. :rolleyes:

10-11-2013, 08:40 PM
Gorgie, Stockbridge, East Kilbride, Saughtonhall, Corstorphine

10-11-2013, 08:45 PM
Duddingston, aberdeen, christchurch nz,abbeyhill, duddingston. like a salmon.

10-11-2013, 08:54 PM
the "greatest fan" sadly is bereft of the nous to do that :confused:

get yer act together :greengrin

Auld bugger.

10-11-2013, 08:58 PM
I didn't go to school there, being a pape.

Got sent to Holy Cross. :rolleyes:

One of my neighbours told me the corner of Firrhill Loan and Oxgangs Road North was called the 'catholic corridor'! Mind you, when I was at school, there was quite a few St Mark's/St Tam's pupils who lived there :agree: :greengrin When did you stay there WM? My parents bought the house in 1967! My mum is still there.

richard_pitts
10-11-2013, 09:00 PM
Baljaffray on the outskirts of Glasgow. Graeme and Gregg Miller were at my school. Alex Miller coached the school team as well as managing St Mirren. My brother went to primary school with David Moyes who lived on the same estate.

10-11-2013, 09:02 PM
Baljaffray on the outskirts of Glasgow. Graeme and Gregg Miller were at my school. Alex Miller coached the school team as well as managing St Mirren. My brother went to primary school with David Moyes who lived on the same estate.

Six at the back and play for a draw by any chance Richard? :greengrin

10-11-2013, 09:06 PM

Remember that gravel hockey pitch well with the plastic ball with dimples on it, lost half a tooth there 35yr ago, was there 3yr with good memories.
Gilmerton, Niddrie, Oxgangs, Inch, Moredun, Gilmerton.

richard_pitts
10-11-2013, 09:24 PM

Hoofball merchants from memory. Won quite a lot though.

Mon1875
10-11-2013, 09:30 PM
Musselburgh :flag:

tetley
10-11-2013, 09:33 PM
Warwickshire, but now living in Cramond

10-11-2013, 10:09 PM

Unfair! Wright, Weir, McAllister, McGinlay, Jackson ...

11-11-2013, 03:55 PM
One of my neighbours told me the corner of Firrhill Loan and Oxgangs Road North was called the 'catholic corridor'! Mind you, when I was at school, there was quite a few St Mark's/St Tam's pupils who lived there :agree: :greengrin When did you stay there WM? My parents bought the house in 1967! My mum is still there.

Moved there, as a 2 year old, in 1955 and left for Leith at 19.
I've been in 6 houses since, but none of them hold such fond memories.

Then again it wasn't me paying the bills at Firrhill. :greengrin

11-11-2013, 03:57 PM
Unfair! Wright, Weir, McAllister, McGinlay, Jackson ...

Ah ken :greengrin

Those mentioned were great players but be honest, sometimes it was hard watching Miller's Hibs sides, especially against that mob from Gorgie

11-11-2013, 04:46 PM
Moved there, as a 2 year old, in 1955 and left for Leith at 19.
I've been in 6 houses since, but none of them hold such fond memories.

Then again it wasn't me paying the bills at Firrhill. :greengrin

:greengrin Yup, it's a good area. I've stayed here most of my life, bar a couple of years and wouldn't leave the area now. Leith is my spiritual home :agree: