View Full Version : Greggs Antonio Tapia (the Spanish Jocky Scott)

03-11-2013, 05:51 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/378800000673450243/b00bf580f4c7d51482184ba3353b2626_normal.pngGuillem Balague ‏@GuillemBalague (https://twitter.com/GuillemBalague)1m (https://twitter.com/GuillemBalague/status/397073036211286016)
and yes, I believe Antonio Tapia has applied for the Hibs job. I might ask him for an assistant job as translator "a la Mourinho"

Expand (https://twitter.com/GuillemBalague/status/397073036211286016)

https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/378800000673450243/b00bf580f4c7d51482184ba3353b2626_normal.pngGuillem Balague ‏@GuillemBalague (https://twitter.com/GuillemBalague)14m (https://twitter.com/GuillemBalague/status/397069832383770624)
Interesting one: Antonio Tapia, candidate to the Hibernians job. A clever veteran former Betis and Malaga coach. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antonio_Tapia … (http://t.co/7xOVjBC5cF)

03-11-2013, 05:52 PM
@GuillemBalague: and yes, I believe Antonio Tapia has applied for the Hibs job. I might ask him for an assistant job as translator "a la Mourinho"

@GuillemBalague: Interesting one: Antonio Tapia, candidate to the Hibernians job. A clever veteran former Betis and Malaga coach. http://t.co/7xOVjBC5cF

Bronson
03-11-2013, 05:52 PM
Former Real Betis and Malaga manager applied for the managers job according to Buillem Balague on twitter, interesting:hmmm:

03-11-2013, 05:54 PM
@GuillemBalague: and yes, I believe Antonio Tapia has applied for the Hibs job. I might ask him for an assistant job as translator "a la Mourinho"

@GuillemBalague: Interesting one: Antonio Tapia, candidate to the Hibernians job. A clever veteran former Betis and Malaga coach. http://t.co/7xOVjBC5cF

Is he confusing us with Hibernians of Malta?

03-11-2013, 05:56 PM
Is he confusing us with Hibernians of Malta?

Yep:agree:

03-11-2013, 05:58 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/378800000673450243/b00bf580f4c7d51482184ba3353b2626_normal.pngGuillem Balague ‏@GuillemBalague (https://twitter.com/GuillemBalague)1m (https://twitter.com/GuillemBalague/status/397073036211286016)
and yes, I believe Antonio Tapia has applied for the Hibs job. I might ask him for an assistant job as translator "a la Mourinho"

Expand (https://twitter.com/GuillemBalague/status/397073036211286016)

https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/378800000673450243/b00bf580f4c7d51482184ba3353b2626_normal.pngGuillem Balague ‏@GuillemBalague (https://twitter.com/GuillemBalague)14m (https://twitter.com/GuillemBalague/status/397069832383770624)
Interesting one: Antonio Tapia, candidate to the Hibernians job. A clever veteran former Betis and Malaga coach. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antonio_Tapia … (http://t.co/7xOVjBC5cF)

It's The Hibernians of Malta i think.

03-11-2013, 05:59 PM

They have a manage, Branko Nisevic who was appointed in May

BarneyK
03-11-2013, 06:00 PM
They still have a manager though as far as I can tell...Branko Nisevic

They have a manage, Branko Nisevic who was appointed in May

Apologies then, i stand corrected.

It's The Hibernians of Malta i think.

Why would it be? Hibernians of Malta appointed a new manager in May and are top of the league. Doubt they've sacked their manager too.

Rossco1875
03-11-2013, 06:01 PM
record doesn't speak volumes.

ionahibby

Shame that's the sort of appointment we should be going for!

That's the sort of guy I'm after, even if he's ***** at least it'd be exciting for a while.

Why would it be? Hibernians of Malta appointed a new manager in May and are top of the league. Doubt they've sacked their manager too.

Just realised, sorry.

03-11-2013, 06:02 PM
His wiki has already been updated. Lol

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antonio_Tapia

03-11-2013, 06:02 PM
Shame that's the sort of appointment we should be going for!

I think i was wrong, i think it actually is us.

03-11-2013, 06:03 PM
Quite a random guy to have applying for the job.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antonio_Tapia

That's the sort of guy I'm after, even if he's ***** at least it'd be exciting for a while.

My thoughts exactly, why not have a bit of fun?

record doesn't speak volumes.

Neither does butchers but folk are salivating at the prospect of him getting the job.

Far too many year long stints in jobs for me

03-11-2013, 06:04 PM
Dinnae waste your time 'Toni son. Along with Baxter,Scala and the other Euro crackpots, you've nae chance.

Some Dobber's updated his wiki page already mind saying he's got the job.

This'll kick things off nicely among the facebook and twitter helmets.

Next.

MotherSuperior
03-11-2013, 06:08 PM
Someone has edited his wiki already! "On 4 November 2013, Tapia agreed to join Scottish side Hibernian as manager"

can't see this being true somehow

Makaveli
03-11-2013, 06:25 PM
Just googled him. Antonio Tapia is apparently Spanish for Jocky Scott.

http://as01.epimg.net/futbol/imagenes/2011/01/24/mas_futbol/1295823616_740215_0000000001_noticia_normal.jpg http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_fVsfRGa16wA/S-yKoCyY-6I/AAAAAAAAFNk/hbSveLWVlM4/s1600/Jocky+Scott.jpg

03-11-2013, 06:27 PM

http://as01.epimg.net/futbol/imagenes/2011/01/24/mas_futbol/1295823616_740215_0000000001_noticia_normal.jpg http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_fVsfRGa16wA/S-yKoCyY-6I/AAAAAAAAFNk/hbSveLWVlM4/s1600/Jocky+Scott.jpg

Someone's at the lash.

03-11-2013, 06:30 PM

Absolutely. Any appointment is a gamble, I'd love to see something genuinely leftfield. Plus it'll f*** the Sportsound fannies right off that their pals were overlooked.

03-11-2013, 06:33 PM
Maybe Petrie will only interview candidates with a tasche? Movember after all.

03-11-2013, 06:36 PM

Which one speaks English the best

03-11-2013, 06:42 PM

Maybe got a chance, Rod will love his tache :confused:

03-11-2013, 06:45 PM
Far too many year long stints in jobs for me

Par for the course in Spain where managers seem to get changed on a regular basis at a number of clubs

portycabbage
03-11-2013, 07:03 PM

Teckle pura.

03-11-2013, 07:09 PM

You would need to be mental to sack a manager when your top of the league...

03-11-2013, 07:16 PM
As an aside, Real Betis play in green & white stripes
THIS should be our away strip, IMO.
http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?sa=X&rlz=1T4SUNC_enGB361GB361&biw=1168&bih=605&tbm=isch&tbnid=K022Jsy0SEMYnM:&imgrefurl=http://www.subsidesports.com/uk/league-teams/europe/spain/primera/real-betis/real-betis-sevilla-home-shirt-2013-2014.html&docid=CU5ctHpVro6AIM&imgurl=http://www.subsidesports.com/uk/media/catalog/product/cache/1/large_image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/xlarge/RealBetisHSS1314a.jpg&w=450&h=450&ei=x652UsiEGsWc0AX6koDgBg&zoom=1&ved=1t:3588,r:96,s:0,i:386&iact=rc&page=7&tbnh=179&tbnw=174&start=92&ndsp=18&tx=99&ty=97

03-11-2013, 07:26 PM
When everyone was up in arms about Adkins being sacked, GB said that his replacement would be a massive success at Southampton - also stated that Laudrup would be a perfect fit for Swansea. He was bang on with both, and neither of them did that well in Spain.

Interesting one, this.

03-11-2013, 07:47 PM
http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?sa=X&rlz=1T4SUNC_enGB361GB361&biw=1168&bih=605&tbm=isch&tbnid=K022Jsy0SEMYnM:&imgrefurl=http://www.subsidesports.com/uk/league-teams/europe/spain/primera/real-betis/real-betis-sevilla-home-shirt-2013-2014.html&docid=CU5ctHpVro6AIM&imgurl=http://www.subsidesports.com/uk/media/catalog/product/cache/1/large_image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/xlarge/RealBetisHSS1314a.jpg&w=450&h=450&ei=x652UsiEGsWc0AX6koDgBg&zoom=1&ved=1t:3588,r:96,s:0,i:386&iact=rc&page=7&tbnh=179&tbnw=174&start=92&ndsp=18&tx=99&ty=97

Yep-that would be very helpful if our green and white strip clashed with our opponents colours :na na:

Leishy1995
03-11-2013, 07:50 PM
No point not considering him I guess, wonder if we have any Spanish enthusiasts to help us with him

BarneyK
03-11-2013, 07:51 PM

Just watching them v Malaga the noo. Juankar's playing a blinder...:tee hee:

03-11-2013, 07:53 PM
Just watching them v Malaga the noo. Juankar's playing a blinder...:tee hee:

Who's the Juankar in the .....

03-11-2013, 08:08 PM
This guy`s managed at all levels in Spain and did well at Málaga even at a time when there were a lot of financial and institutional problems - can`t remember all the details but think he was at Málaga ( first and second teams ) at time club was relegated for financial reasons and still did a great job . Was/Is considered a bit of a Mr Malaga and has experience of how a club runs as well as a manager . Would imagine he`d have lots of contacts for recruiting young players and in Spain there are hundreds who could do a job in Scotland . Hoping we don`t appoint anyone for at least 2 weeks since it`d mean Petrie had been negociating before Pat`s departure and had decided not to have a good look for manager . IF Tapia really is genuine about interest I`d hope we`d at least interview him . I`d certainly be happier about having him tan Butcher or others mentioned IF he was given time to get to know Scottish football ( he has managed at all levels so will be used to industrial football we`re used to too ) .

03-11-2013, 08:19 PM
Quite a random guy to have applying for the job.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antonio_Tapia

There will be dozens of 'random guys' (or their agents) bombarding the Boards in box with applications...just because one makes this public does not in any shape or form make them in the running......

03-11-2013, 08:28 PM
There will be dozens of 'random guys' (or their agents) bombarding the Boards in box with applications...just because one makes this public does not in any shape or form make them in the running......

how many of them will have managed in la liga?

03-11-2013, 09:41 PM
Someone's at the lash.

Got a Petrie style mowser as well, cannae see it working out as I thought Tony (Antonio) Tapia was a mafia hit man?

03-11-2013, 09:47 PM
His wiki has already been updated. Lol

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antonio_TapiaSpanish versión has him 10 years older . His record was good at a difficult time for Malaga and Granada 74 was a special case with new club created ( by man who owns / owned Watford I think ) .

03-11-2013, 09:48 PM
He is represented by Glasgow based agents Viola FC, most likely them putting his name about.

04-11-2013, 08:12 AM
I would love for Hibs to break the cycle of the SPL Jobs for the Boys merry go round.

Someone new, possibly exciting and ideally unaware of the "poisoned chalice" mantle that the Hibs role has take on over the past 6 years.

Wouldn't it be great to have a manager that just went "Celtc - que?" or "Jambos - puta madre!" as opposed to battening down the hatches and playing a painfully slow 4-5-1 all the time.

Not saying that The Spanish Jocky Scott is necessarily that man, but I'd love to see someone with a cool name in the role at least.

bob12345
04-11-2013, 08:29 AM
I'm not advocating an influx of foreign imports, but a few Spaniards cleverly plucked from the second tier could just be enough to change the footballing style of this team. You saw how it worked for Livi a decade back.

Also makes you wonder who has applied for our job over the years.

04-11-2013, 07:00 PM
I read a thread somewhere yesterday that a Spanish manager had applied, ex-Malaga manager. Don't know if it's true or not though.

04-11-2013, 07:33 PM
I read a thread somewhere yesterday that a Spanish manager had applied, ex-Malaga manager. Don't know if it's true or not though.

I can see it now:

Its the end of his first training session. He has taken no part coz he wants to see how training is usually conducted.

Spanish guy: The jogging exercise was interesting.

Jimmy Nicholl: Eh that was the sprint training boss.

Spanish guy: I enjoyed the short passing exercise though.

Jimmy Nicholl: Erm .. sorry gaffer, that was a trapping the ball exercise.

Spanish guy: The guy with the beard has great movement.

Jimmy Nicholl: I know boss, for a second I thought that wasp was gonna get him.

Spanish guy: Hmmm .... I'll perhaps start with some basic stuff with the squad in the afternoon session.

Jimmy Nicholl: Afternoon session boss?

04-11-2013, 07:37 PM

Theres a story in todays Evening news, Antonia Tapia.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/spaniard-antonio-tapia-applies-for-hibs-boss-job-1-3172636

Lots of experience, did OK with Malaga, got sacked from a couple others. Not exactly set the heather alight, but would be very interesting to see the kind of player he would sign.

According to Wikipedia he has signed a 2 year contract with us today ?:greengrin:dunno:?

EH54
04-11-2013, 07:42 PM

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/spaniard-antonio-tapia-applies-for-hibs-boss-job-1-3172636

Lots of experience, did OK with Malaga, got sacked from a couple others. Not exactly set the heather alight, but would be very interesting to see the kind of player he would sign.

According to Wikipedia he has signed a 2 year contract with us today ?:greengrin:dunno:?

According to Wikki he has just been sacked. :yw:

04-11-2013, 07:46 PM
According to Wikki he has just been sacked. :yw:

That was quick!? :dizzy:

04-11-2013, 07:47 PM
That was quick!? :dizzy:

That's the game. Sack him before the boo boys can do any damage :greengrin

04-11-2013, 07:52 PM

If this isn't some ploy to get his name noticed by bigger clubs than I'd definitely like Petrie to have a decent look at this guy. Even if he's crap, at least he's interesting unlike half the other guys mentioned :greengrin

04-11-2013, 07:53 PM
That's the game. Sack him before the boo boys can do any damage :greengrin

What did he do? Ask Petrie for a transfer budget? :tee hee:

04-11-2013, 07:57 PM
What did he do? Ask Petrie for a transfer budget? :tee hee:

Rod didn't like having competition in the 'best moustache in the Leith area' category.

04-11-2013, 08:10 PM
Rod didn't like having competition in the 'best moustache in the Leith area' category.

Should have seen that coming.. Why did he appoint him in the first place!? :greengrin

04-11-2013, 08:12 PM
I can see it now:

Its the end of his first training session. He has taken no part coz he wants to see how training is usually conducted.

Spanish guy: The jogging exercise was interesting.

Jimmy Nicholl: Eh that was the sprint training boss.

Spanish guy: I enjoyed the short passing exercise though.

Jimmy Nicholl: Erm .. sorry gaffer, that was a trapping the ball exercise.

Spanish guy: The guy with the beard has great movement.

Jimmy Nicholl: I know boss, for a second I thought that wasp was gonna get him.

Spanish guy: Hmmm .... I'll perhaps start with some basic stuff with the squad in the afternoon session.

Jimmy Nicholl: Afternoon session boss?

This is the funniest thing I've read on here in ages. Prob because there's a lot of truth in it

04-11-2013, 08:25 PM
This Spanish guy really in for it?

04-11-2013, 08:30 PM

Look at the bottom of his football career. Own up who was it?

04-11-2013, 08:34 PM

:top marks:greengrin:greengrin

EH54
04-11-2013, 08:37 PM

A spokesman off Hibernian F.C. Hermit Crab has responded by stating "The pies must return."

Are you saying Wikki is wrong?

04-11-2013, 08:43 PM
A spokesman off Hibernian F.C. Hermit Crab has responded by stating "The pies must return."

Are you saying Wikki is wrong?

It appears a new story has emerged. Bbc understands. ;)

04-11-2013, 08:45 PM

Well Hermit Crab, aren't you the spokesman on that piece? brilliant, you got to love Wiki

04-11-2013, 08:47 PM
It appears a new story has emerged. Bbc understands. ;)

Someone's now edited out the, eh, additions, but left the line saying that he's joined Hibs. Could this be Rod's way of tipping us the wink? :hyper:

Of course, being Wikipedia, the truth is preserved for posterity in the page history: http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Antonio_Tapia&oldid=580214655

04-11-2013, 08:52 PM
Well Hermit Crab, aren't you the spokesman on that piece? brilliant, you got to love Wiki

Hehe. Wiki is great for a laugh.

04-11-2013, 08:52 PM
Someone's now edited out the, eh, additions, but left the line saying that he's joined Hibs. Could this be Rod's way of tipping us the wink? :hyper:

Of course, being Wikipedia, the truth is preserved for posterity in the page history: http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Antonio_Tapia&oldid=580214655

Baws. Found oot