View Full Version : Worlds Worst Football Transfers

Chump
02-11-2013, 02:47 PM
A bit of fun to take the focus away from ER.....

I can think of a few to start;

Andy Carroll £35m to Liverpool
Massimo Taibi £4.5m to Man Utd
Juan Veron £28m to Man Utd
Rafael Sheidt £5m to Celtic

.....fire away!!

hibby rae
02-11-2013, 02:49 PM

.....fire away!!

Tore Andre Flo £12.5m to the Huns.
Beslija 850k to Them.

02-11-2013, 02:51 PM
Bebe to Man Utd

02-11-2013, 02:53 PM
Bale to Real Madrid

HibeeLR
02-11-2013, 03:03 PM
Chamakh to arsenal

02-11-2013, 03:21 PM
Vine to Hibs

green.and.white
02-11-2013, 03:25 PM
Vine to Hibs

Beat me to it :greengrin

02-11-2013, 03:28 PM
Ba to Chelsea, worst possible move he could have made.

02-11-2013, 03:57 PM
A guy walks into a Chippie in Glasgow and orders a single Black Puddin. The owner duly serves it and says, "that'll be £2,700,000 please". The customer, in disbelief, replies "who in their right mind would pay that much for a Black Puddin?", to which the owner replies, "well, Rangers just did".

And that was the joke doing the rounds after Basile Boli signed for Rangers.

:duck:

02-11-2013, 04:05 PM
A guy walks into a Chippie in Glasgow and orders a single Black Puddin. The owner duly serves it and says, "that'll be £2,700,000 please". The customer, in disbelief, replies "who in their right mind would pay that much for a Black Puddin?", to which the owner replies, "well, Rangers just did".

And that was the joke doing the rounds after Basile Boli signed for Rangers.

:duck:

Ahh. Bless the Glaswegians and the gentle racial undertones of their humour.

Back on topic, can we not reprise the heroically rubbish business done to Hearts by dear Vlad? How about Nade - £500k transfer fee, £500k a year wages... 10 goals. That's £200k a goal.

Scònaldò
02-11-2013, 04:07 PM
Ba to Chelsea, worst possible move he could have made.

Aye because moving to a team like chelsea and probably doubling your money and testing yourself (fair enough it's not worked out for him) is a bad career move...

02-11-2013, 04:18 PM
Shelvey 6M Liverpool to Swansea he is absolute *****.

02-11-2013, 04:25 PM
How much has Stewart Downing had spent on him? Must be a few quid.

He's not a bad player but seems to have a lot spent on him for relatively modest returns.

02-11-2013, 04:33 PM
Sebastian Rosenthal for Rangers
Padilla (sp?) for them
AOB to us.
Keane didn't really work out for Smeltic.

02-11-2013, 04:34 PM
Beat me to it :greengrin

And me :)

02-11-2013, 04:36 PM
Zibi .......... and worse still the extension deal

02-11-2013, 04:36 PM
Aye because moving to a team like chelsea and probably doubling your money and testing yourself (fair enough it's not worked out for him) is a bad career move...

Sitting on the bench is really working out for him aye? He could've stayed at Newcastle as their talisman striker but goes to a club knowing that he's competing with Torres and can be replaced in the blink of an eye

Scònaldò
02-11-2013, 04:41 PM
Sitting on the bench is really working out for him aye? He could've stayed at Newcastle as their talisman striker but goes to a club knowing that he's competing with Torres and can be replaced in the blink of an eye

I quite clearly stated it hasn't worked out for him.

He could have yeah, but he was banging the goals in for Newcastle and confidence was high. Can you blame him for thinking about playing at a higher level and testing himself at a bigger club?

02-11-2013, 04:43 PM
Ally Scott to Hibs, We brought in BIG Kuqi in an attempt to fill the Ally Scott role but he proved to be irreplaceable.

Chump
02-11-2013, 04:47 PM
Sebastian Rosenthal for Rangers
Padilla (sp?) for them
AOB to us.
Keane didn't really work out for Smeltic.

good shout but makes me think £20m for Keane to Liverpool seems worse to me:rolleyes:

Scònaldò
02-11-2013, 04:49 PM
Shevchenko £30m to chelsea.

02-11-2013, 04:55 PM
Shevchenko £30m to chelsea.

:agree: he was no Ally Scott

02-11-2013, 05:01 PM

The thread should end with this.

02-11-2013, 05:19 PM
The romanian guy that rangers signed who never kicked a ball, I can't remember his name.

02-11-2013, 05:21 PM

.....fire away!!

Veron to Chelsea was worse than Veron to Man Utd.

02-11-2013, 05:24 PM
The romanian guy that rangers signed who never kicked a ball, I can't remember his name.

prodan I think?

Hanny
02-11-2013, 05:25 PM

Daniel Prodan?

02-11-2013, 05:40 PM
Depends if we are talking about rubbish players in general or guys that where not suited to a certain country. I mean Veron won two serie A titles, 2 Uefa cups and two Coppa Italia's. He also won South American player of the year twice.

02-11-2013, 05:49 PM
the guy souness signed after seeing a video. however wasn't actually a footballer think he lasted 11 mins

this guy http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ali_Dia

02-11-2013, 07:10 PM
I'll save Doddie the trouble: joe harper 100k everton to hibs :greengrin:

erskine-hibby
02-11-2013, 07:14 PM

My thoughts exactly.
The reason I don't want TM back as manager.

02-11-2013, 07:19 PM
Just watched Arsenal- Liverpool & Jordan Henderson at £20m has to be a contender!!

02-11-2013, 07:28 PM
Torres to Chelsea. £50m & take 3 years to start showing a wee bit of form

brian6-2
02-11-2013, 07:31 PM
any of the hugely inflated fee's involving christian vieri.

surely torres to chelsea gets a mention?

hhibs
02-11-2013, 07:50 PM
I'll save Doddie the trouble: joe harper 100k everton to hibs :greengrin:

It was far more than 100 k, if I recollect it was at least 200 k.........grrrr!

02-11-2013, 07:55 PM
Mike Galloway, half a million from them to the smellies.

02-11-2013, 08:02 PM

.....fire away!!

Veron wasnt a success at Man Yoo but he was a genius at times with the Argentina national team, in Serie A and by all accounts back in Argentina. So the fee was probably fair.

02-11-2013, 08:12 PM
Duncan Ferguson from DUFC to the old Gers.

02-11-2013, 08:19 PM
Mike Galloway, half a million from them to the smellies.

Woh.....S***ey S***ey
S***ey S***ey S***ey S***ey Galloway!

...and what about Oleg Kuznetzov?

pontius pilate
02-11-2013, 08:19 PM
Bentley every club after Blackburn rovers complete waste of money.

02-11-2013, 08:21 PM
Daniel Prozac?

Fixed that for you :greengrin

Bronson
02-11-2013, 08:31 PM
Jonathan Woodgate to Madrid is hilariously bad, sure he cost the best part of £15million.

Ali Dia to southampton steals the show for me though, couldn't make it up.

02-11-2013, 08:32 PM
Mark Caughey to Hibs

Don't know what he cost but the chairman flew to the states and back when securing Caughey's signature

02-11-2013, 08:33 PM
It was far more than 100 k, if I recollect it was at least 200 k.........grrrr!

It was £120k, he scored 49 goals in 99 games including our first SPL goal, a 25 yard left foot screamer vs Yams & was capped for Scotland while at ER. In fact it was the Copenhagen fiasco in which Tom Hart was heavily involved that saw Harper go back to Dons where he was again capped. I wish we had someone as bad as him now!

02-11-2013, 08:40 PM
It was £120k, he scored 49 goals in 99 games including our first SPL goal, a 25 yard left foot screamer vs Yams & was capped for Scotland while at ER. In fact it was the Copenhagen fiasco in which Tom Hart was heavily involved that saw Harper go back to Dons where he was again capped. I wish we had someone as bad as him now!

All true, but I still couldn't stand him :greengrin

hibby rae
02-11-2013, 08:41 PM

Copenhagen fiasco?

02-11-2013, 08:56 PM
Copenhagen fiasco?

5 Scottish players were banned for life after incidents following an international in Copenhagen in 1975. IIRC we won 4-1 & I think Harper scored. The 5 were Billy Bremner, Willie Young, Arthur Graham & Fat Pat McLuskey & Harper. Harper's was later rescinded & he played in 1978 WC in Argentina.

brian6-2
02-11-2013, 08:59 PM
eskillson for the yams. or ian baird. mind seeing bairdy crocking himself in the warm up before they played us at tynie, comical.

hibby rae
02-11-2013, 09:06 PM
5 Scottish players were banned for life after incidents following an international in Copenhagen in 1975. IIRC we won 4-1 & I think Harper scored. The 5 were Billy Bremner, Willie Young, Arthur Graham & Fat Pat McLuskey & Harper. Harper's was later rescinded & he played in 1978 WC in Argentina.

Oh aye, before my time. Was Jimmy Johnstone not involved as well? Or is that another incident?

02-11-2013, 09:09 PM
Remember Real Betis bought a Brazilian called Denilson for an awful lot of money. Don't think he was ever top notch though

02-11-2013, 09:12 PM
Souness signed Ali Dia for Southampton :faf:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PyI-OfT7zYM

02-11-2013, 09:12 PM
Oh aye, before my time. Was Jimmy Johnstone not involved as well? Or is that another incident?

:agree: Drunken night-time trip in a rowing boat in Largs.

brian6-2
02-11-2013, 09:17 PM
surely kaka deserves a mention. 70mil for real and he was p1sh.

02-11-2013, 09:21 PM
Remember Real Betis bought a Brazilian called Denilson for an awful lot of money. Don't think he was ever top notch though

World record at the time 30 odd million. There is an interview with him in 4-4-2 this month and he basically admits he couldn't hack the pressure.

Jonathan woodgate was a cracker 15 million, out for 18 months then scores an og and gets sent off on his debut.

02-11-2013, 09:23 PM
Diego Forlan to Man Utd.

TomoHFC
02-11-2013, 09:41 PM
Didn't Real Madrid no pay £36 million on a player no one has ever heard of?

02-11-2013, 10:10 PM
Didn't Real Madrid no pay £36 million on a player no one has ever heard of?

this guy http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asier_Illarramendi
no idea how he is getting on?

02-11-2013, 10:13 PM
this guy http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asier_Illarramendi
no idea how he is getting on?

Think he's only just joined them TBH. He was outstanding in the midfield for the Spanish U21's.

02-11-2013, 10:23 PM
Brian Hamilton to Hertz. Bad for them, great for us,

02-11-2013, 10:33 PM
prodan I think?

Don't forget Seb Rozenthal for Rangers? Mind the media kept hyping him up but he ended up being injured for about 3 years! £4 million I think!

02-11-2013, 11:09 PM

Yes, another separate incident. Incidentally in 1975 game Scotland won 1-0 & Harper scored. He also scored in 1972 when we won 4-1 n Copenhagen.

02-11-2013, 11:19 PM
What about that bratback boy celtic had. He was jobby

Nuno capucho (sp) played for Huns. He was hash too

03-11-2013, 02:26 AM
What about that bratback boy celtic had. He was jobby

Nuno capucho (sp) played for Huns. He was hash too

Don't think Bratback was that bad to be honest. Carrol has to be up there but what about Ibrahimovic to Barca :confused:, Aquilani to Liverpool or Robinho to city :rotflmao:.

Blackburn Hibee
03-11-2013, 08:55 AM
David Goodwillie to Blackburn

oramhibee
03-11-2013, 10:50 AM
Fernando Torres to Chelsea-£50 Million
Craig "i support every team I sign for" Beattie- Celtic

03-11-2013, 10:56 AM
http://www.express.co.uk/sport/football/440798/Joe-Kinnear-in-Newcastle-gaffe-as-he-tries-to-sign-one-of-his-own-players