View Full Version : Alex McLeish on Sky Sports news 6pm

JustSimplyHibs
01-11-2013, 05:09 PM
Just on Sky Sports News just the now, McLeish in the studio at 6pm.

One of the topic for discussion is the Hibs job.

Bombard the studio with emails and twitter messages and see what he says. :wink:

01-11-2013, 05:10 PM
Dear Eck....just say AYE to the job :flag:

01-11-2013, 05:11 PM
So Alec, d'ya fancy the Hibs joab?

Eeehhhh, naw.

Palace?

Eeeehhhh, aye.

Thank you Alex McLeish.

01-11-2013, 05:13 PM

Really?

01-11-2013, 05:15 PM
Really?

Absolutely :agree: don't worry though...it wont happen :(

01-11-2013, 05:32 PM

good.

01-11-2013, 05:33 PM
Would take McLeish or Mowbray back in a heartbeat, sadly don't think it will happen. Think Kenny Shiels will get the gig 'till end of season and if he does a good enough job will be offered a longer deal.

01-11-2013, 05:34 PM
good.

well if he says AYE i hope everyone gets behind him :)

01-11-2013, 05:34 PM
Would take McLeish or Mowbray back in a heartbeat, sadly don't think it will happen. Think Kenny Shiels will get the gig 'till end of season and if he does a good enough job will be offered a longer deal.

We can't do short term.

01-11-2013, 05:35 PM
Is big eck without a club at present

01-11-2013, 05:38 PM

Decent shout

01-11-2013, 05:39 PM
We can't do short term.

Strange comment, haven't our last 4 managers been "Short term" in that I mean less than 2 yrs in the job ?

01-11-2013, 05:46 PM
Strange comment, haven't our last 4 managers been "Short term" in that I mean less than 2 yrs in the job ?

I mean not something to the end of the season. We need continuity and planning across the whole club.

01-11-2013, 05:55 PM
In Mcleish's last 17 league matches in charge at Hibs (July-December 2001) his record was W5 D4 L8.

The second half of the previous season wasn't much better from what I recall.

We did well under McLeish when he had a huge budget and before the advent of the transfer window. When things weren't going right he could simply bring somebody in to freshen things up. When this was no longer an option he didn't seem to know what to do.

No for me to GJP.

01-11-2013, 05:57 PM
After the way he left NO. Wont be interested as has dosh and lives down south. His career is on downward spiral.

SuperAllyMcleod
01-11-2013, 06:02 PM
He did have a great record against Hearts though.

01-11-2013, 06:07 PM
I mean not something to the end of the season. We need continuity and planning across the whole club.

Agree wholeheartedly, We are crying out for stability on the managerial front, and I in no way suggested that giving Sheils the gig 'till end of season was my preferred option, but think it will be the one taken by our penny-pinching directors. Me ? I would advocate bringing back either Mowbray or McLeish.

01-11-2013, 06:11 PM
The only time I have ever felt confident going into derbies in my lifetime was when McLeish was manager.

01-11-2013, 06:13 PM

We owned them back then, but we did have Sauzee and latapy.
Oh for these days again

01-11-2013, 06:15 PM
The only time I have ever felt confident going into derbies in my lifetime was when McLeish was manager.

I always confident with Mogga at home!

I always remember an interview with McLeish prior to our first game in the SPL post promotion. Said 'Getting beat off Hearts is unthinkable'.

01-11-2013, 06:15 PM
We woned them back then, but we did have Sauzee and latapy.
Oh for these days again

And they had all the SMG money.

01-11-2013, 06:18 PM
We woned them back then, but we did have Sauzee and latapy.
Oh for these days again

Indeed the only time we lost to them under AM was without Latapy and Sauzee.

Benny Brazil
01-11-2013, 06:28 PM
No thanks for me - his recent clubs played worse football than Pats.

Are we just going to go through a list of former Managers and see if they are interested?

01-11-2013, 06:28 PM
Indeed the only time we lost to them under AM was without Latapy and Sauzee.

Remember the 3-0 thrashing at Tynie as if it was yesterday

01-11-2013, 06:32 PM
Has it been mentioned yet?

01-11-2013, 06:33 PM
Not got sky sports news in the flat can someone tell me what's been said

01-11-2013, 06:35 PM

He'll have a hard job bettering it when they are bust. Besides, he had ten minutes and two subs to get to 8, or 9 - 1. Not good enough.

01-11-2013, 06:43 PM
GJP could definitely do with a bigger shirt. Looks like he's been on the Nade diet :agree:

01-11-2013, 06:46 PM
GJP could definitely do with a bigger shirt. Looks like he's been on the Nade diet :agree:

He's banged on some timber, looks like someone has pumped his head up!

01-11-2013, 06:47 PM
Touting himself for Palace job so clearly out with our level.

Coming up soon, once they've spoken about The Rangers............

His thoughts coming up now.

TheFamous1875
01-11-2013, 06:49 PM
Apparently going to talk about Hibs and Fenlon after the break now.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

01-11-2013, 06:54 PM
once a rusty always a rusty

01-11-2013, 06:56 PM
Pish.

blaikie
.... Interesting stuff!

looks a bit rough!

01-11-2013, 06:57 PM
Well that wasn't worth the wait!

JMac
01-11-2013, 07:09 PM
What happened???

01-11-2013, 07:12 PM
You mean someone actually talked about football on SSN and not england rugby or cricket team?

Wow!

01-11-2013, 07:30 PM
GJP said very little and in a disinterested tone that made it clear that Fenlon's departure was just another situation he'd been asked to comment on. No insight into Hibs whatsoever.

01-11-2013, 07:33 PM
GJP said very little and in a disinterested tone that made it clear that Fenlon's departure was just another situation he'd been asked to comment on. No insight into Hibs whatsoever.

He is yesterday's man. Hasn't a scooby about fitba these days and all he did with Villa was play negative long ball pish that made PF's tactics look Barca-esque

01-11-2013, 07:58 PM
He is yesterday's man. Hasn't a scooby about fitba these days and all he did with Villa was play negative long ball pish that made PF's tactics look Barca-esque

Agreed. And he wouldnt have the huge budget he enjoyed first time around. Nae cash - nae guid McLeish.

Newcastlehibby
01-11-2013, 08:04 PM
I wonder if Ian Holloway might fance a change of scenery. He would be more fun than Shiels and Blackpool played some great football with him in charge.

01-11-2013, 08:04 PM

sadly hibs.net,(BG,for eg),don't do that :blah:

Bobo
01-11-2013, 08:15 PM
I wonder if Ian Holloway might fance a change of scenery. He would be more fun than Shiels and Blackpool played some great football with him in charge.

Think Holloway would be a great appointment, sadly won't happen though as the Hibs board aren't that forward thinking or willing to invest in the most important position at the club!

BH Hibs
01-11-2013, 08:52 PM
Think Holloway would be a great appointment, sadly won't happen though as the Hibs board aren't that forward thinking or willing to invest in the most important position at the club!

We wish don't think there's a snowball's chance. Probably see him leading someone like Bolton or Leeds back to the Prem

PapillonVert
01-11-2013, 09:05 PM

Indeed. Both McLeish and Mowbray have moved on from Hibs.

Well below their expectations now.

HappyHibby93
01-11-2013, 09:12 PM

Would love more, absolutely no danger he is going to make that big a step down though. Mowbary would be my first choice, however, I'd be surprised if Kenny Shiels doesn't get the gig.

01-11-2013, 09:19 PM
Holloway. Lol. That's just funny.

01-11-2013, 09:25 PM
Mcleish worked in a different era of scottish football and more importantly a different era of hibs, he had plenty of money, something that is not going to happen now.

01-11-2013, 09:34 PM

01-11-2013, 09:55 PM

They also probably could not afford a likely wage of 10k per week!!

01-11-2013, 09:59 PM

Lord elpus :-)

01-11-2013, 10:03 PM
They also probably could not afford a likely wage of 10k per week!!

The point is still valid though. £10k, £5k, whatever, it is the most important position at the club. No more cheap options.

Gordy M
01-11-2013, 10:07 PM
The point is still valid though. £10k, £5k, whatever, it is the most important position at the club. No more cheap options.
I agree that they should pay decent cash for the manager...however when unrealistic names are mentioned, when there is no chance they would come to us, it gets used as another way to critisize hibs for penny pinching and not being ambitious.

01-11-2013, 10:12 PM
Jesus gives a pint of the Holloway dreamers, you have to admire them. He's just left a club who if relegated will receive £93m in parachute against the £92m that Man U received for lifting the trophy last year.
Sign sparkys manager IMO :-)

01-11-2013, 10:45 PM
Haha Holloway is sadly extremely unlikely. In a dream world he would defo be my no.1 tho. Loved the guy for years-he'd get the Jambos riled big time

01-11-2013, 11:08 PM
Mcleish coming back is about as likely as Fenlon getting his job back.

01-11-2013, 11:17 PM
I hope everybody realises that if McLeish came back he wouldn't get to sign players of the calibre of Sauzee, Latapy, Zitelli and Jack. He might get to sign players of the calibre of Guggi, Deitrich, Marinkov, Hosgrove and Hurtado though!

02-11-2013, 12:12 AM

How much do you think Hibs pay their manager(s)?

02-11-2013, 12:27 AM
Think Holloway would be a great appointment, sadly won't happen though as the Hibs board aren't that forward thinking or willing to invest in the most important position at the club!Pretty sure Guardiola would be good too, shame it wont happen due to the board bla bla bla :rolleyes:

02-11-2013, 12:51 AM
Holloway's a twat.

02-11-2013, 12:57 AM
I hope everybody realises that if McLeish came back he wouldn't get to sign players of the calibre of Sauzee, Latapy, Zitelli and Jack. He might get to sign players of the calibre of Guggi, Deitrich, Marinkov, Hosgrove and Hurtado though!
Did you see any of those last group of players? What was wrong with Alex Marinkov?

02-11-2013, 12:59 AM
Holloway's a twat.comes across as that sometimes. he is English though and some of it can be lost in translation. seems to ken a bit aboot fitba' though.

02-11-2013, 01:00 AM
Did you see any of those last group of players? What was wrong with Alex Marinkov?he never played on the left side for Hibs?