View Full Version : What's the bookies odds on next Hibs manager?

TheFamous1875
01-11-2013, 04:10 PM
???

HibbySpurs
01-11-2013, 04:39 PM
All of the below courtesy of Stan James

Kenny Shiels 4/7
Jimmy Nicholl 7/1
Alex McLeish 8/1
Craig Levein 10/1 WTF!!!!!
Terry Butcher 10/1
Tony MOwbray 10/1
Jimmy Calderwood 10/1
John Collins 10/1
David Weir 12/1
Ian Murray 12/1
Tommy Wright 16/1
Paul Hartley 16/1
Mark Venus 16/1
Jackie McNamara 16/1
Yogi 20/1
Grant Murray 20/1
Andy Irvine 20/1
Stuart McCall 20/1
Gordon Chilsolm 25/1
Gareth Evans 25/1

01-11-2013, 04:43 PM

Kenny Shiels 4/7
Jimmy Nicholl 7/1
Alex McLeish 8/1
Terry Butcher 10/1
Tony MOwbray 10/1
Jimmy Calderwood 10/1
John Collins 10/1
David Weir 12/1
Ian Murray 12/1
Tommy Wright 16/1
Paul Hartley 16/1
Mark Venus 16/1
Jackie McNamara 16/1
Yogi 20/1
Grant Murray 20/1
Andy Irvine 20/1
Stuart McCall 20/1
Gordon Chilsolm 25/1
Gareth Evans 25/1

ones in bold, total waste of a £1

01-11-2013, 04:44 PM
YOGI

:shocked:

hibs4thecup1988
01-11-2013, 04:44 PM
Ian Murray or Tony Mowbray for me

DarrenSQH
01-11-2013, 04:45 PM
Mowbray if he would come back would be excellent.

01-11-2013, 04:46 PM
McLeish or Mowbray for me :flag:

01-11-2013, 04:48 PM
Ian Murray is a good young manager and I can see him definatly managing hibs one day but for now I think he just lacks managerial experience and has not really proved himself as a top manager at this level yet. He's a hibs fan so passion and desire to win wouldn't be in short supply with him but atm I just think he's a bit too new to the managerial role.

01-11-2013, 04:49 PM
None of the above please! I think Jimmy Nichol has the best chance tho

01-11-2013, 04:49 PM
There are no decent managers out there, other than the very few at the top end of thegame in world fitba and the very few undiscovered gems.

The huge majority of them just muddle along for a couple of years until binned, and move on to their next 2 year stint.

So, guess what we can expect ...

Titch
01-11-2013, 05:04 PM
sheils is 14/1 on sky bet

Titch
01-11-2013, 05:05 PM
just changed to 4/1

01-11-2013, 05:07 PM
I'm odds on, just bought FM 2014

01-11-2013, 05:08 PM
what price jimmy calderwood

i must read the list

01-11-2013, 05:09 PM
I'm for McNamara or Jimmy Calderwood (because he looks like Bernie Winters).

But why no price for greetin' faced Jim Jefferies? He could bring in Billy Brown as assistant!

killie-hibby
01-11-2013, 05:10 PM

Kenny Shiels 4/7
Jimmy Nicholl 7/1
Alex McLeish 8/1
Terry Butcher 10/1
Tony MOwbray 10/1
Jimmy Calderwood 10/1
John Collins 10/1
David Weir 12/1
Ian Murray 12/1
Tommy Wright 16/1
Paul Hartley 16/1
Mark Venus 16/1
Jackie McNamara 16/1
Yogi 20/1
Grant Murray 20/1
Andy Irvine 20/1
Stuart McCall 20/1
Gordon Chilsolm 25/1
Gareth Evans 25/1

If Hibs were a genuinely ambitious club, Darren Ferguson would be listed.

Potty78
01-11-2013, 05:12 PM
Mowbray is a no from me. Great at the time but in my opinion we had young talent coming through at the time. He made a few decent signings but awful ones too. Murray I feel would be to soon. Experience of the spl and someone who motivates players. Not the best but I think Kenny shiels is a dead cert. Whoever comes in needs a right back and some pace going forward. Still think we have the makings of a good side. Onwards and upwards.

01-11-2013, 05:15 PM
At the price I'd go for Mark Venus out of that lot, but it ain't going to happen.

Sergy Pie
01-11-2013, 05:17 PM

I'm not sure that Hibs have given that list to Stan James.

hibeeleicester

No chance whatsoever.

Hibs didn't make that list up...

SneakersO'Toole
01-11-2013, 05:19 PM
That is an absolutely honking list of managers. Wouldn't want any of them.

Johnny Foreigner all the way for me.

01-11-2013, 05:20 PM
Below in bold wont be interested. Any manager in a decent gig we wont pay compo for

Kenny Shiels 4/7
Jimmy Nicholl 7/1
Alex McLeish 8/1
Terry Butcher 10/1
Tony MOwbray 10/1
Jimmy Calderwood 10/1
John Collins 10/1
David Weir 12/1
Ian Murray 12/1
Tommy Wright 16/1
Paul Hartley 16/1
Mark Venus 16/1
Jackie McNamara 16/1
Yogi 20/1
Grant Murray 20/1
Andy Irvine 20/1
Stuart McCall 20/1
Gordon Chilsolm 25/1
Gareth Evans 25/1[/QUOTE]

Weststandwanab
01-11-2013, 05:23 PM
If Hibs were a genuinely ambitious club, Darren Ferguson would be listed. I agree that would be ambitious !

TowerHibs
01-11-2013, 05:24 PM
tinhat well and truely on but i would take jimmy Calderwood

lobster
01-11-2013, 05:25 PM
Ian Murray please.

01-11-2013, 05:26 PM
What price Stewart Baxter?

01-11-2013, 05:26 PM
jimmy calderwood certainly wouldn't be the worst candidate(imo)

killie-hibby
01-11-2013, 05:27 PM
Hibs didn't make that list up...

Im well aware of that.

hibeeleicester
01-11-2013, 05:27 PM
Jimmy Calderwood, oh dear. May aswell get Pat back in.

01-11-2013, 05:28 PM

Yip I'm with you!

01-11-2013, 05:28 PM

Agree with this. Really don't fancy any of those guys.

01-11-2013, 05:29 PM
Jimmy Calderwood, oh dear. May aswell get Pat back in.

Fenlon out, Fenlon in.

TheFamous1875
01-11-2013, 05:30 PM
jimmy calderwood certainly wouldn't be the worst candidate(imo)

I have to admit, there's a feeling of trepidation in me when I see a merry-go-round managers name. I just have the feeling that with the squad we have, we have a lot of potential to really press on and be at the top of Scottish football, and I'm afraid managers of Jimmy's ilk would keep us as 'another' Scottish team, rather than one of the best teams in Scotland which is where we feel we can and need to be.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

scuttle
01-11-2013, 05:32 PM
Paulo Di Canio anyone?

01-11-2013, 05:33 PM
Paulo Di Canio anyone?

The supporters buses would run on time. :agree:

01-11-2013, 05:33 PM
I agree that would be ambitious !

Good shout but football changed scottish managerial roles not a stepping stone. If his dad was Aberdeen manager now if he did well he might get the Peterborough job. Sad but true

TowerHibs
01-11-2013, 05:36 PM
Good shout but football changed scottish managerial roles not a stepping stone. If his dad was Aberdeen manager now if he did well he might get the Peterborough job. Sad but true

this is a funny post.....confused.com

01-11-2013, 05:36 PM
seem to remember Jimmy calderwood slating RP when we signed fenlon. don't know what it was about maybe his nose was out of joint about being overlooked for the job. he was a no then from me and still is now

01-11-2013, 05:37 PM
Where's Stuart Baxter on the list? He's always on lists, its the law

01-11-2013, 05:37 PM
Grant Murray at 20/1 :hilarious.

Spoke with him seconds ago and he laughed.

01-11-2013, 05:38 PM
Paulo Di Canio anyone?

That fascist ******* would scuttle us.

Mowbray would be acceptable. A foreign coach would be my first choice although I wonder if our current board have the contacts to source a decent one.

01-11-2013, 05:40 PM
Ian murray???....no chance is he ready for a job as big as this

01-11-2013, 05:45 PM
Not sure of his name but I for one would interview the Malmo coach, GGTTH

01-11-2013, 05:45 PM
Will folk stop mentioning Jimmy Calderwood? Rodders might be looking in and getting ideas.

01-11-2013, 05:46 PM
this is a funny post.....confused.com

ok a little what I meant is he is in a better job now and would have no reason to come to Hibs. If Fergie senior was a manager today he wouldnt go from Aberdeen to Man.Utd he might if lucky get the job his son currently has.

hibeeleicester
01-11-2013, 05:56 PM
I can tell you now, Darren Ferguson will not be going anywhere.

Allan45
01-11-2013, 06:08 PM
Alex for me..someone who has credentials.
I hope whatever happens, it won't be rash.
we have a good squad, but know who should go, get behind the team against the Well..:thumbsup:

SuperAllyMcleod
01-11-2013, 06:09 PM
Terry Butcher for me - he can motivate and get the best out of the players that we have now.

He will also know that Ten Pole Tudor ( one for the teenagers there) is useless.

01-11-2013, 06:14 PM
Terry Butcher for me - he can motivate and get the best out of the players that we have now.

He will also know that Ten Pole Tudor ( one for the teenagers there) is useless.

That will the player he signed and wanted to re-sign for this season ? And I feel bad pointing that out to someone with your username - my favourite ever Hibs player.

AngusHibby
01-11-2013, 06:27 PM
David Weir?! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umDr0mPuyQc

Hibstrooper
01-11-2013, 06:35 PM
Tony Mowbray
or Mark Venus
Craig Levein's a ****in' *****

No but seriously, from that list McLeish or Shiels for me.

I don't believe the board have the vision or confidence to pick someone we couldn't guess at which is why I think it will be Shiels or Nicholl until the end of the season

01-11-2013, 06:38 PM
ok a little what I meant is he is in a better job now and would have no reason to come to Hibs. If Fergie senior was a manager today he wouldnt go from Aberdeen to Man.Utd he might if lucky get the job his son currently has.

Off topic, but if a Scottish club had just won two of Europe's major trophies, he wouldn't end up in Championship that's for sure. Scotland had several excellent European club sides up until the late eighties.

blaikie
01-11-2013, 06:40 PM
I put a fiver on KS on Wednesday night got 8/1 with betvictor! Looks set for the job with the shortend odds

01-11-2013, 06:40 PM
Ian Holloway - wonder if he could do a job?

SuperAllyMcleod
01-11-2013, 06:41 PM
That will the player he signed and wanted to re-sign for this season ? And I feel bad pointing that out to someone with your username - my favourite ever Hibs player.

Aye, you're probably right - perhaps it was Fenlons tactics that don't suit Jones. So, going for Butcher may give us a new manager and effectively a new player too. That would be my ideal outcome.

sadtom
01-11-2013, 06:42 PM
What is it wi folk and Calderwood.
He may have scrapped a few results against us but his dons team could barely get out their own half against Moggas Hibs team.
Sticking 5 forwards on for the last 5 mins if yer 1 down doesnae make JC a tactical genious...just desperate.
Damn sure i'd want to watch a team with TM's philosophy over JC's 'ideas' every day of the week.

01-11-2013, 06:45 PM
Mowbray every time for me.

01-11-2013, 06:50 PM
Unfortunately that list seems to be full of the usual suspects. Don't see any reason why we can't attract better but in amongst all this it is The Chairman's decision making process that seems to be flawed.

01-11-2013, 06:53 PM
Off topic, but if a Scottish club had just won two of Europe's major trophies, he wouldn't end up in Championship that's for sure. Scotland had several excellent European club sides up until the late eighties.

yes but the gap between leagues north and south is huge.

01-11-2013, 06:58 PM
Martin Allen.

SuperAllyMcleod
01-11-2013, 06:58 PM
I may be wrong but I have to say that I feel Petrie is unfairly getting a bit of a rough time here.

When Fenlons was appointed he wasn't part of that process having recognised that the previous poor appointments were down to him.

Also, he has fully backed the manager - £200k to buy Collins and repeated attempts to keep Griffiths - albeit they may have started too late.

I honestly don't know what else the fans expect of him. He's keeping the clubs finances under control in order to avoid a repeat of 1990, or worse, get into the state Hertz find themselves in.

I think it's time to lay off him and get behind the team and the new manager when he is appointed.

LeithBoozy
01-11-2013, 07:01 PM
Why don't we go and ask a football genius like Craig Levein who to get in. I still cant f"£%^&* believe we did that. :rolleyes:

01-11-2013, 07:23 PM
I may be wrong but I have to say that I feel Petrie is unfairly getting a bit of a rough time here.

When Fenlons was appointed he wasn't part of that process having recognised that the previous poor appointments were down to him.

Also, he has fully backed the manager - £200k to buy Collins and repeated attempts to keep Griffiths - albeit they may have started too late.

I honestly don't know what else the fans expect of him. He's keeping the clubs finances under control in order to avoid a repeat of 1990, or worse, get into the state Hertz find themselves in.

I think it's time to lay off him and get behind the team and the new manager when he is appointed.

01-11-2013, 07:29 PM

I agree with that :agree:

TowerHibs
01-11-2013, 07:30 PM

i just thought you were geting Darren & Duncan Ferguson mixed up

andy1875
01-11-2013, 07:33 PM
What about Billy Brown?

01-11-2013, 07:36 PM
I would suggest that several of the unemployed on that list might do till the end of the season but I still feel that appointing a panel of experienced football people ( Pat Stanton , Pat Nevin and 1 or 2 others) too search out , headhunt and interview a new manager for next season with only the budget set by Rod would be the ultimate way forward.

1987kev
01-11-2013, 07:37 PM

Heard his named mentioned anyone got price?

duffers
01-11-2013, 07:42 PM
I'm not saying he's my choice, but quite surprised James McDonaugh hasn't been mentioned? He's doing well with the 20s and has them playing decent football. Would be cheap and also keen on bringing youth through.

01-11-2013, 07:48 PM
I'm not sure either McCall or Butcher would want to tarnish their reputations taking this poisoned chalice!

I would give Kenny Sheils the job until the end of the season and see how he does.

01-11-2013, 07:55 PM

Totally agree. But some fans wont like the facts getting in the way of fantasy.

01-11-2013, 07:58 PM

manx hibee
01-11-2013, 08:04 PM
McLeish or Mowbray for me :flag:

^^^ this

Scònaldò
01-11-2013, 08:19 PM

Plenty good points.

We have put up with utter dross football for the best part of 6 or 7 years.

Whether a change/freshening up at the top will change that I don't know but it does seem like we have been stuck at a level of mediocrity for a while now.

01-11-2013, 08:20 PM
What price on Peter Grant

01-11-2013, 08:27 PM
Why dont we approach some of the biggest managers on the continent and ask them whos hot and cheap ?

shankssaysno
01-11-2013, 08:31 PM
I like that,never even occurred to me,Holloway would be brilliant for Hibs

01-11-2013, 08:39 PM
Pauli Sergio is out of work?

Gustavo Fring
01-11-2013, 08:42 PM

not a bad shout id rather see him than mcleish/mowbray or any of our other former managers that have been mentioned

01-11-2013, 09:14 PM
Why don't we go and ask a football genius like Craig Levein who to get in. I still cant f"£%^&* believe we did that. :rolleyes:

Do you honestly think we phoned Levein and asked him who he thought should be Hibs manager - he says Fenlon - we say great thanks we'll get him ?

Fenlon was on the shortlist ( he may have applied not sure) . He was in the frame for Dundee Utd job previously and it was known that he and Levein knew each other. We phoned Levein and asked for his opinion on the guy to see what sort of character he was. Levein was probably still Scotland boss at the time and his stock a bit higher than it is now !

telfordhibby
01-11-2013, 09:52 PM
Ian Holloway.....

01-11-2013, 10:01 PM
Totally agree. But some fans wont like the facts getting in the way of fantasy.

Would help if some of the 'facts' were, well facts

01-11-2013, 10:04 PM
Said it before and to me I would go for the Malmo manager. Their team had speed width could pass a ball and imagine the players he could bring to Easter Road from the continent.

The way they played is the way I would love Hibs to play. Not sure if he would come or be interested but if he did I really think there would be crowds flooding back to Easter Road as his team would definitely entertain GGTTH

01-11-2013, 10:06 PM
Said it before and to me I would go for the Malmo manager. Their team had speed width could pass a ball and imagine the players he could bring to Easter Road from the continent.

The way they played is the way I would love Hibs to play. Not sure if he would come or be interested but if he did I really think there would be crowds flooding back to Easter Road as his team would definitely entertain GGTTH

Did Malmo not just win the league? Why the **** would he come to us.

01-11-2013, 10:07 PM

I was speaking with a Malmo fan after the game. He says the majority of their players come up through the ranks, are nurtured into the Malmo way of playing and play that way from an early age.

Their gaffer might or might not be the man but their philosophy is certainly the way we should be going.

01-11-2013, 10:13 PM

Good manager and I would take him...but i would think the vast majority would not accept him

01-11-2013, 10:19 PM

You may or may not be right but i think the attraction would be to get his foot into the door into British football.

I think most managers and players want to strive to get into either the English, German, Spanish or Italian football. By joining a Scottish club he'd have a better chance of working his way down to England.

I don't know the first thing about the Malmo manager but that's the sort of route we should be going down IMO. Either that or a young up and coming coach down south that wants to break into management and has new fresh ideas.

01-11-2013, 10:22 PM

Kenny Shiels 4/7
Jimmy Nicholl 7/1
Alex McLeish 8/1
Terry Butcher 10/1
Tony MOwbray 10/1
Jimmy Calderwood 10/1
John Collins 10/1
David Weir 12/1
Ian Murray 12/1
Tommy Wright 16/1
Paul Hartley 16/1
Mark Venus 16/1
Jackie McNamara 16/1
Yogi 20/1
Grant Murray 20/1
Andy Irvine 20/1
Stuart McCall 20/1
Gordon Chilsolm 25/1
Gareth Evans 25/1

Jimmy calderwood!! Wtf!

01-11-2013, 10:24 PM
Pavarotti on McCall please

01-11-2013, 10:25 PM

You may or may not be right but i think the attraction would be to get his foot into the door into British football.

I think most managers and players want to strive to get into either the English, German, Spanish or Italian football. By joining a Scottish club he'd have a better chance of working his way down to England.

I don't know the first thing about the Malmo manager but that's the sort of route we should be going down IMO. Either that or a young up and coming coach down south that wants to break into management and has new fresh ideas.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rikard_Norling

Going by Wiki he might not have the best of relationships with the Malmo board and could be looking for a new gig shortly.

01-11-2013, 10:27 PM
Hope Powell , time for a woman's touch

Hibee Ryan
01-11-2013, 10:32 PM
The thing about Scottish football is if a young up and coming manager does do well then they're off down south at the first hint of a job and obviously everyone wants someone to come in and be successful first of all but second to remain at the club for a long time.

My problem with Pat was how bad the football is, I mean you can't complain too much about the table and I'd be happy with it if we were actually playing some nice attractive football and scoring some goals but we weren't and that's why I got frustrated and eventually just wanted him gone

Now onto his replacement.... It's hard to build a style of football unless you get a style and manager that's willing to stay to see it out and that's why I'd go for Kenny Sheils. Now I know people don't like the guy but he got Killie playing some really good stuff and to me if it was up to him he'd still be there now and nobody will mind him being a tool as long as we're winning! IF he can get us playing attractive football and get some results he will have a bigger budget than he did at Killie and he looks like he has an eye for a player. That's why I'd pick Kenny!

And it would be nice to have Deano back as well :wink:

01-11-2013, 10:43 PM
I was speaking with a Malmo fan after the game. He says the majority of their players come up through the ranks, are nurtured into the Malmo way of playing and play that way from an early age.

Their gaffer might or might not be the man but their philosophy is certainly the way we should be going.

I posted something similar after the slaughtering they gave us. I know it wont happen, but i'd be happy if we went foreign, someone from Scandinavia or even the Baltics, someone who wants to play the game properly and has a few contacts in those regions.

It would not bother me if we never bought another Scottish or British player for years, and the new man concentrated on foreign talent.

They all seem stronger more physical and technically better than anything we have produced recently.

Niffy
01-11-2013, 10:43 PM
Has anyone mentioned Souness yet so we can get the board split in 2 again.

I forget which side I was on... no ****** chance or aye he's just what we need.

02-11-2013, 03:13 AM

Not saying he would but if he did and it was for say 3 years it would be a stepping stone to Engerland. We might only get him for 3 years but I think it would be 3 good years.

Also if we could proove we actually had ambition then maybe he would want to come. GGTTH

Amit
02-11-2013, 08:39 AM
Terry Butcher.

Has yet to sign an extension at ICT and out of contract at the end of this season.

02-11-2013, 08:54 AM
Get alex ferguson out of retirement and be our manager! :-)

02-11-2013, 08:58 AM
Ian holloway

Gustavo Fring
02-11-2013, 09:09 AM
am gonnae stick a tenner on butcher......

rod hired kenny shiels to sit taking notes to throw us off

02-11-2013, 09:23 AM
Surprised Peter Grant is not on that list. He'll be sniffing around and may get a good reference from Mowbray unless big Mogga wants the job himself...

1875er
02-11-2013, 09:26 AM
Would anyone consider Steven Pressley? Doing a good job at Cov in very difficult circumstances. And the Yams hate him now!!

02-11-2013, 09:28 AM
According to #allisbarry Butcher is the favourite?

@BarryAnderson_8: Terry Butcher would be a coup for #Hibs & is favourite to replace Fenlon. Another thought: Csaba Laszlo is back in #Edinburgh & seeking work

02-11-2013, 09:29 AM
Get alex ferguson out of retirement and be our manager! :-)

He's earning more from just the interest on his current account than we could afford to pay him ...

Leishy1995
02-11-2013, 09:43 AM
According to #allisbarry Butcher is the favourite?

@BarryAnderson_8: Terry Butcher would be a coup for #Hibs & is favourite to replace Fenlon. Another thought: Csaba Laszlo is back in #Edinburgh & seeking work

So I shall rule out butcher and laszlo

02-11-2013, 09:52 AM
I posted something similar after the slaughtering they gave us. I know it wont happen, but i'd be happy if we went foreign, someone from Scandinavia or even the Baltics, someone who wants to play the game properly and has a few contacts in those regions.

It would not bother me if we never bought another Scottish or British player for years, and the new man concentrated on foreign talent.

They all seem stronger more physical and technically better than anything we have produced recently.

Unfortunately this seems so true. If we were to incorporate this kind of approach into our youth set up as well it should allow us to assess and develop our homegrown youngsters better.

02-11-2013, 10:03 AM
I have discounted Butcher as i didnt think he would come. Would be happy with him, Malpas and Nicoll. Cant see it but no doubt Butcher is a leader of men and has ability to source lower leagur gems.

02-11-2013, 10:09 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/terry-butcher-is-frontrunner-to-be-new-hibs-boss-1-3169787

02-11-2013, 10:11 AM
I have discounted Butcher as i didnt think he would come. Would be happy with him, Malpas and Nicoll. Cant see it but no doubt Butcher is a leader of men and has ability to source lower leagur gems.

Think its down to his chief scout at ICT that they've found so many gems. Getting him as part of any deal would be fantastic.

02-11-2013, 11:33 AM
http://www.oddschecker.com/football/football-specials/hibernian/next-permanent-manager

Butcher's odds slashed by SkyBet, but still 5/1 with Stan James.

02-11-2013, 11:35 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/terry-butcher-is-frontrunner-to-be-new-hibs-boss-1-3169787

The Evening News won't have a clue who Rodders fancies next.

02-11-2013, 11:37 AM
I'm putting my house on the Alan Maybury / Lewis Stevenson dream team with Boozy taking Tam McCourt's role.

Paperboy
02-11-2013, 12:27 PM
Think its down to his chief scout at ICT that they've found so many gems. Getting him as part of any deal would be fantastic.

I read an article on the guy. Spends all his time going around the country spying on players sometimes sleeping in his car. Buther rates him really highly.

02-11-2013, 12:33 PM

In any business that i've ever come across, repeated failures eventually land at the door of those at the very top. We've tried replacing the team manager on several occasions (this will be our 7th managerial appointment in under 10 years which is utterly pathetic). Appointing a manager is one of the most important roles of a chairman of a football club. Our failure to get that right on so many occasions tells me that we urgently require change.

02-11-2013, 12:46 PM
http://www.oddschecker.com/football/football-specials/hibernian/next-permanent-manager

Butcher's odds slashed by SkyBet, but still 5/1 with Stan James.

Inverness are powerful and direct with a guy up front who can fishing things off.

Not sure that will count as the Hibs way?

02-11-2013, 12:50 PM
I read an article on the guy. Spends all his time going around the country spying on players sometimes sleeping in his car. Buther rates him really highly.

Why would players want to sleep in his car? ;)

02-11-2013, 01:11 PM
Kenny 5/4 and Terry 7/4

Anyone know how you get odds on someone who isnt listed there ?

eezyrider
02-11-2013, 01:34 PM
Odds for Hibs Manager from Paddy Power earlier:

Kenny Shiels 7/4
Terry Butcher 7/4 down from 5
Peter Grant 14 earlier now down to 8
Ian Murray 6
David Weir 16
Jackie McNamara 16
Jimmy Calderwood 16
John Collins 16
Mark Venus 16
Paul Hartley 16
Tommy Wright 16
Tony Mowbray 16

EZ

HibbySpurs
02-11-2013, 01:37 PM
Kenny 5/4 and Terry 7/4

Anyone know how you get odds on someone who isnt listed there ?

Phone William hill and ask them to give you a price.

03-11-2013, 02:00 AM
Inverness are powerful and direct with a guy up front who can fishing things off.

Not sure that will count as the Hibs way?

Well fenlon way wasn't the ****in hibs way was it andy? :rolleyes:

03-11-2013, 09:29 AM
Well fenlon way wasn't the ****in hibs way was it andy? :rolleyes:

That's what I'm saying. Ultimately that's what people didn't like so why would we want to bring in someone who doesn't fit into what the fans have been saying they want?

03-11-2013, 09:36 AM
That's what I'm saying. Ultimately that's what people didn't like so why would we want to bring in someone who doesn't fit into what the fans have been saying they want?

I agree.

We need to get someone with strong views on how football should be played. I know people will say as long as we're winning we won't care but in this league there will always be spells we don't win regularly, a manager who has us playing good football will be given a lot more leeway.

03-11-2013, 10:12 AM

I dont know how good Inverness play the game, apart from highlights on the tv and games against us, i never really see them play.

A winning side MUST play some decent football just to score more than the opposition. Now i'm not saying they are good at it or not, but his side has to be better than what Hibs play?

If we are to get more fans through the gates, drivel like we had under Fenlon was not the way to do it. A winning side will always bring some back, but a winning side with a little style will have them through the doors in bigger numbers and looking forward to each week.

Can Butcher produce both, i dont know. You seem to have dismissed it already though?

Hibby_G
03-11-2013, 10:15 AM

Kenny Shiels 4/7
Jimmy Nicholl 7/1
Alex McLeish 8/1
Terry Butcher 10/1
Tony MOwbray 10/1
Jimmy Calderwood 10/1
John Collins 10/1
David Weir 12/1
Ian Murray 12/1
Tommy Wright 16/1
Paul Hartley 16/1
Mark Venus 16/1
Jackie McNamara 16/1
Yogi 20/1
Grant Murray 20/1
Andy Irvine 20/1
Stuart McCall 20/1
Gordon Chilsolm 25/1
Gareth Evans 25/1

It's now terry butcher favourite

03-11-2013, 10:19 AM
Price is Micheal O'Neill ?

03-11-2013, 10:59 AM
I would have thought Derek Adams would have been on that list

03-11-2013, 11:01 AM

You watch Hibs and Inverness every week?

03-11-2013, 11:12 AM
Price is Micheal O'Neill ?

20/1 on skybet.

03-11-2013, 11:25 AM
20/1 on skybet.

Thanks Heisenberg.

03-11-2013, 11:38 AM

From what I have seen of ICT as the have continually taken us apart over the years is that they have pace where you need pace, bruisers where you need bruisers and footballers where you need footballers. So I think you are stretching things a good bit there. Where I think there may be grumbling would be where Butcher takes players from leagues that don't even get mentioned in the Sunday papers and chucks them into his teams.

eezyrider
03-11-2013, 12:02 PM
Latest prices from Paddy Power.

Kenny Shiels____7/4___6/5
Terry Butcher___7/4___5/4
Michael O'Neill_______10
Jimmy Nicholl_________12
Paul Hartley____16____14
Alex McLeish__________14
Tony Mowbray____16____14
John Collins____16____14
Ian Murray______6_____16
Craig Levein__________16
John Hughes___________20
Stuart McCall_________40
Jackie McNamara_16____40
J. Calderwood___16____40

These aren't the best prices but I like to follow betting trends as they can sometimes be very revealing.

EZ

thefifer1959
03-11-2013, 01:31 PM
List of all managers out of work

lets pick or favs

Alan Knill
Gerard Houllier
Mark McGhee
Paul Simpson
Alan Shearer
Mark Robson
Paul Sturrock
Alex McLeish
Martin O'Neill
Peter Jackson
Andy Thorn
Henning Berg
Michael Appleton
Peter Reid
Avram Grant
Iain Dowie
Mick Wadsworth
Richard O'Kelly
Brian Horton
Jamie Pitman
Micky Mellon
Roberto Di Matteo
Jim Magilton
Neale Cooper
Roy Keane
Carl Fletcher
John Barnes
Neil Warnock
Sammy McIlroy
Dave Penney
John Coleman
Nick Barmby
Simon Davey
Dean Holdsworth
John Still
Owen Coyle
Ståle Solbakken
Gary Megson
Keith Curle
Paul Dickov
Steve Cotterill - coach at qpr
Gary Mills
Keith Millen
Paul Groves
Steve Kean
Gary Simpson
Lawrie Sanchez
Paul Hart
Sven-G. Eriksson
Gary Smith
Lee Bradbury
Paul Jewell
Terry Brown
Gary Waddock
Les Parry
Paul Peschisolido
Terry Connor
Geraint Williams
Mark Hughes
Steve McClaren
Gareth Southgate

03-11-2013, 06:32 PM

lets pick or favs

Alan Knill
Gerard Houllier
Mark McGhee
Paul Simpson

Alan Shearer
Mark Robson
Paul Sturrock
Alex McLeish
Martin O'Neill??
Peter Jackson
Andy Thorn
Henning Berg
Michael Appleton
Peter Reid
Avram Grant
Iain Dowie
Mick Wadsworth
Richard O'Kelly
Brian Horton
Jamie Pitman
Micky Mellon
Roberto Di Matteo
Jim Magilton
Neale Cooper
Roy Keane??
Carl Fletcher
John Barnes
Neil Warnock
Sammy McIlroy
Dave Penney
John Coleman
Nick Barmby
Simon Davey
Dean Holdsworth
John Still
Owen Coyle
Ståle Solbakken
Gary Megson
Keith Curle
Paul Dickov
Gary Mills
Keith Millen
Paul Groves
Steve Kean
Gary Simpson
Lawrie Sanchez
Paul Hart
Sven-G. Eriksson
Gary Smith
Lee Bradbury
Paul Jewell
Terry Brown
Gary Waddock
Les Parry
Paul Peschisolido
Terry Connor
Geraint Williams
Mark Hughes
Steve McClaren
Gareth Southgate

M Oneil and R keane .new Irish dream team

pontius pilate
03-11-2013, 07:49 PM
RDM,Dickov,houllier,Shearer

03-11-2013, 07:59 PM
hope to get my old mate shearer so he can kick Lennon in the head again!:duck:(disclaimer I've never met Alan Shearer)

03-11-2013, 08:01 PM
Sven? He wouldn't want much?!

03-11-2013, 08:06 PM
RDM,Dickov,houllier,Shearer

Dickov is the Doncaster Rovers manager

03-11-2013, 08:07 PM
Dickov is the Doncaster Rovers manager

Probably for not too much longer though

03-11-2013, 08:07 PM
Sven? He wouldn't want much?!

What ... To buy players or for wages.... Or both??? ;-)

03-11-2013, 08:08 PM
Probably for not too much longer though

Didn't know that. They must of beaten again this weekend then.

pontius pilate
03-11-2013, 08:09 PM
What ... To buy players or for wages.... Or both??? ;-)

Just ulrika a a a a

03-11-2013, 08:11 PM
Just ulrika a a a a

Ha ha ha. Good one

pontius pilate
03-11-2013, 08:21 PM
Ha ha ha. Good one

If we can afford her the Sven will come literally

03-11-2013, 08:24 PM
If we can afford her the Sven will come literally

What would her capacity be at the club?? Tea lady. Annoying boot??

nribs
03-11-2013, 08:26 PM

lets pick or favs

Alan Knill
Gerard Houllier
Mark McGhee
Paul Simpson
Alan Shearer
Mark Robson
Paul Sturrock
Alex McLeish
Martin O'Neill
Peter Jackson
Andy Thorn
Henning Berg
Michael Appleton
Peter Reid
Avram Grant
Iain Dowie
Mick Wadsworth
Richard O'Kelly
Brian Horton
Jamie Pitman
Micky Mellon
Roberto Di Matteo
Jim Magilton
Neale Cooper
Roy Keane
Carl Fletcher
John Barnes
Neil Warnock
Sammy McIlroy
Dave Penney
John Coleman
Nick Barmby
Simon Davey
Dean Holdsworth
John Still
Owen Coyle
Ståle Solbakken
Gary Megson
Keith Curle
Paul Dickov
Gary Mills
Keith Millen
Paul Groves
Steve Kean
Gary Simpson
Lawrie Sanchez
Paul Hart
Sven-G. Eriksson
Gary Smith
Lee Bradbury
Paul Jewell
Terry Brown
Gary Waddock
Les Parry
Paul Peschisolido
Terry Connor
Geraint Williams
Mark Hughes
Steve McClaren
Gareth Southgate
I thought Owen Coyle had a gig?

03-11-2013, 08:32 PM

lets pick or favs

Alan Knill
Gerard Houllier
Mark McGhee
Paul Simpson
Alan Shearer
Mark Robson
Paul Sturrock
Alex McLeish
Martin O'Neill
Peter Jackson
Andy Thorn
Henning Berg :aok:
Michael Appleton
Peter Reid
Avram Grant
Iain Dowie :aok:
Mick Wadsworth
Richard O'Kelly
Brian Horton
Jamie Pitman
Micky Mellon
Roberto Di Matteo :aok:
Jim Magilton :aok:
Neale Cooper
Roy Keane
Carl Fletcher
John Barnes
Neil Warnock
Sammy McIlroy
Dave Penney
John Coleman
Nick Barmby
Simon Davey
Dean Holdsworth
John Still
Owen Coyle
Ståle Solbakken
Gary Megson
Keith Curle
Paul Dickov :aok:
Gary Mills
Keith Millen
Paul Groves
Steve Kean :aok:
Gary Simpson
Lawrie Sanchez
Paul Hart
Sven-G. Eriksson
Gary Smith
Lee Bradbury
Paul Jewell :aok:
Terry Brown
Gary Waddock
Les Parry
Paul Peschisolido
Terry Connor
Geraint Williams
Mark Hughes
Steve McClaren :aok:
Gareth Southgate :aok:

03-11-2013, 09:20 PM
List of all managers out of work lets pick or favs Alan Knill Gerard Houllier Mark McGhee Paul Simpson Alan Shearer Mark Robson Paul Sturrock Alex McLeish Martin O'Neill Peter Jackson Andy Thorn Henning Berg Michael Appleton Peter Reid Avram Grant Iain Dowie Mick Wadsworth Richard O'Kelly Brian Horton Jamie Pitman Micky Mellon Roberto Di Matteo Jim Magilton Neale Cooper Roy Keane Carl Fletcher John Barnes Neil Warnock Sammy McIlroy Dave Penney John Coleman Nick Barmby Simon Davey Dean Holdsworth John Still Owen Coyle Ståle Solbakken Gary Megson Keith Curle Paul Dickov Steve Cotterill - coach at qpr Gary Mills Keith Millen Paul Groves Steve Kean Gary Simpson Lawrie Sanchez Paul Hart Sven-G. Eriksson Gary Smith Lee Bradbury Paul Jewell Terry Brown Gary Waddock Les Parry Paul Peschisolido Terry Connor Geraint Williams Mark Hughes Steve McClaren Gareth Southgate

Dunno where you got your list

Coyle, Hughes, McLaren, Southgate and Dickov all currently managers

03-11-2013, 09:22 PM
Dunno where you got your list

Coyle, Hughes, McLaren, Southgate and Dickov all currently managers

And no mention of Antonio Tapia. :grr:

03-11-2013, 10:10 PM
Odds have shortened considerably for Tony Mowbray with some bookies.

03-11-2013, 10:13 PM

I would imagine that in what is a fairly niche betting market, it doesn't take a great deal of cash to move someone's odds.

Or PaddyPower have heard something. Who knows.

03-11-2013, 10:18 PM

I'd be happy with Tony. As long as he keeps Williams as goalie, or let someone else find a replacement!

David_D
03-11-2013, 11:22 PM
Butcher is now 1/5 on with Sky Bet. Think someone must have put some decent money on him tonight.

erskine-hibby
03-11-2013, 11:28 PM
Butcher is now 1/5 on with Sky Bet. Think someone must have put some decent money on him tonight.

Northern hibby by the sound of it.

03-11-2013, 11:28 PM
I'd be happy with Tony. As long as he keeps Williams as goalie, or let someone else find a replacement!

Agreed !!!!! :greengrin

erskine-hibby
03-11-2013, 11:32 PM

He could get some expert advice from Zibi.

04-11-2013, 08:50 AM
Butcher is now 1/5 on Skybet and 1/6 at bet victor

Shiels out to 4/1 and 9/2, still 2nd favorite

04-11-2013, 09:03 AM
Butcher is now 1/5 on with Sky Bet. Think someone must have put some decent money on him tonight.Bookies will cut prices on these markets without taking a penny, the latest rumour dictates the price more than weight of money.

cat1875
04-11-2013, 10:36 AM
butcher is now 1/4 favourite with paddy power
quite a cert now he will be joining us or do 1/4 shots in the bookies ever get beat ?

04-11-2013, 10:38 AM
quite a cert now he will be joining us or do 1/4 shots in the bookies ever get beat ?

I'm sure Steve Clarke was odds on to be hibs manager

04-11-2013, 10:38 AM

http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/02541/steve-clarke_2541712b.jpg

04-11-2013, 10:42 AM

Why is it a cert, it's not the first time i've lost money on an odds on. Rod saying we will not hurry to make an appointment.

04-11-2013, 11:00 AM

I've just asked William Hill for a price for Gary McAllister. They're getting back to me.

If enough people ask the same question of different bookies, he'll soon be odds on too, and that's without a bet being placed.

04-11-2013, 11:05 AM

I had Sweden to win at 66-1 on against San Marino a few years ago , they drew and done my coupen .

04-11-2013, 12:13 PM
There you go. Just by asking the question, I've installed Gary McAllister as joint 4th favourite with Victor Chandler.

If anyone backs him, his odds will shorten very quickly and it wouldn't take much to make him favourite.

Butcher being 1/6 means nothing in concrete terms.

If the bookies knew anything, other people would know too, so the market would close immediately.

http://www.betvictor.com/sports/en/football-specials/manager-specials/coupons/982100/126456098/417027800/0/0/PE/0/0/0/0/0

04-11-2013, 12:23 PM
There you go. Just by asking the question, I've installed Gary McAllister as joint 4th favourite with Victor Chandler.

If anyone backs him, his odds will shorten very quickly and it wouldn't take much to make him favourite.

If the bookies knew anything, other people would know too, so the market would close immediately.

http://www.betvictor.com/sports/en/football-specials/manager-specials/coupons/982100/126456098/417027800/0/0/PE/0/0/0/0/0

Correct. And as it's a market that won't attract much money it will be prone to strange fluctuations

04-11-2013, 12:30 PM
If those odds are a true reflection there's a 20% chance of it being somebody else, add up the rest of the book and see if the combined odds are less than 4/1.

04-11-2013, 12:40 PM
If those odds are a true reflection there's a 20% chance of it being somebody else, add up the rest of the book and see if the combined odds are less than 4/1.

The odds do not reflect the chance at all.

Give Chandlers a call and ask for a price on Csaba Laszlo.

You'll get 20/1 almost immediately.

Put a fiver on him and he'll shorten, probably to second favourite.

04-11-2013, 12:41 PM

Sounds fun. Who else can we get in that list?

Gary Locke?? :greengrin

04-11-2013, 12:42 PM
Sounds fun. Who else can we get in that list?

Gary Locke?? :greengrin

Go for it. :aok:

Someone else should ask for Rudi Scatchel! :greengrin

04-11-2013, 12:47 PM
The odds do not reflect the chance at all.

Give Chandlers a call and ask for a price on Csaba Laszlo.

You'll get 20/1 almost immediately.

Put a fiver on him and he'll shorten, probably to second favourite.Paddy Power even quote a price on the pope being next Celtic manager. They price these markets up as a bit of fun and are not meant to be taken seriously, I would've thought a 170% book gave that away.
I remember, just before it was officially announced, somebody asking for a price on Roy Evans being next Liverpool manager and the bookie went no offer but would take a bet on anybody else you cared to waste your money on.

04-11-2013, 12:49 PM
What are the odds on Deek becoming the new manager?

Leishy1995
04-11-2013, 12:51 PM
Go for it. :aok:

Someone else should ask for Rudi Scatchel! :greengrin

I asked paddy power on Derek Riordan.. Now we wait.

04-11-2013, 12:51 PM
Wouldn't pay too much attention to the odds bookies are giving. Plenty of times they've been wrong when it comes to new manager bets.

Wouldn't mind Butcher though, we could do and have done a lot worse. He's worked wonders with Caley Thistle in the last wee while probably got them as good as a team of their size is ever going to be. Don't think he will turn us around immediately though, but he'll get a year to prove himself :wink:

hibeeleicester
04-11-2013, 04:58 PM
I asked paddy power on Derek Riordan.. Now we wait.

I just asked WH :agree:

Leishy1995
04-11-2013, 06:17 PM
https://twitter.com/askpaddypower/status/397392306372104192

04-11-2013, 06:22 PM

Now saying event is now closed ! Interesting :-)

04-11-2013, 07:34 PM
Are these Jambo bookmakers that are offering 1/5?

seanshow
04-11-2013, 07:52 PM
There is still 3 Bookmakers offering short odds but the others have closed.

cat1875
04-11-2013, 08:52 PM
[QUOTE=Hibbyradge;3794717]There you go. Just by asking the question, I've installed Gary McAllister as joint 4th favourite with Victor Chandler.

for starters you've not put Gary Mcallister anywhere in the betting

second terry butcher is the next hibs manager 99.9% unless he dies during the night please believe me ( from someone so close in the know you wouldn't understand) ?????

04-11-2013, 09:00 PM

second terry butcher is the next hibs manager 99.9% unless he dies during the night please believe me ( from someone so close in the know you wouldn't understand) ?????

This cat's got claws.

04-11-2013, 09:45 PM

eezyrider
04-11-2013, 09:55 PM
Latest odds from Paddy Power -

Terry Butcher___7/4___5/4___1/5
Kenny Shiels____7/4___6/5___7/2
Peter Grant 14____np____14
Michael O'Neill_______10____16
Jimmy Nicholl_________12____16
Paul Hartley____16____14____20
Alex McLeish__________14____16
Tony Mowbray____16____14____16
John Collins____16____14____16
Craig Levein__________16____16
Ian Murray______6_____16____20
John Hughes___________20____20
J. Calderwood___16____40____25
Stuart McCall_________40____33
Jackie McNamara_16____40____33

EZ

cat1875
04-11-2013, 10:02 PM
This cat's got claws.

meeeooooow !!!!! watch this space 100% butcher signed already !

nribs
04-11-2013, 10:07 PM
meeeooooow !!!!! watch this space 100% butcher signed already ! Can we expect it to be officialy announced tomorrow? Will he be in charge on Saturday? Will Maurice Passback be his assistant? All genuine questions

cat1875
04-11-2013, 10:15 PM
Can we expect it to be officialy announced tomorrow? Will he be in charge on Saturday? Will Maurice Passback be his assistant? All genuine questions

1pm tomorrow is the call barring any hitches definitely in the dug out Saturday

cat1875
04-11-2013, 10:16 PM
free hand to background staff already agreed up to him !

04-11-2013, 10:21 PM
Unless he dies during the night :faf::faf::faf: Genuinely burst out laughing there.

Out of morbid curiosity, what are the odds on this happening??

05-11-2013, 06:12 AM
Butcher has a touchline ban so wont be in any dugout

05-11-2013, 06:22 AM
"

second terry butcher is the next hibs manager 99.9% unless he dies during the night please believe me ( from someone so close in the know you wouldn't understand) ?????[/QUOTE]"

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh my sides :rotflmao:

E10 Rifle
05-11-2013, 06:40 AM
There's only one way to truly know and that's to send some .net agents to Greggs

05-11-2013, 08:02 AM
second terry butcher is the next hibs manager 99.9% unless he dies during the night please believe me ( from someone so close in the know you wouldn't understand) ?????[/QUOTE]

try me

05-11-2013, 08:10 AM
So do we know if Terry made it through the night?

We need eyes and ears on this, people.

05-11-2013, 08:37 AM
Still think it'll be Kenny Shiels.

nribs
05-11-2013, 08:44 AM
Still think it'll be Kenny Shiels.The chances of it being Kenny Shiels can only be 0.1% :)

05-11-2013, 08:48 AM
Still think it'll be Kenny Shiels.

There's a chance I suppose. All hinges on whether or not he survived last night.

HibbySpurs
05-11-2013, 08:56 AM
The chances of it being Kenny Shiels can only be 0.1% :)

No your wrong there... it's 0.05% the other 0.05% is for Craig Levein :offski: