View Full Version : Fenlon Leaves Hibs

Last Minute
01-11-2013, 02:49 PM
Petrie is at east mains now as we speak, why would that be? something going down you thinks

01-11-2013, 02:50 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub)24s (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/396303080012009472)
BREAKING NEWS: Hibernian can confirm that manager Pat Fenlon has left the club. More to follow

01-11-2013, 02:51 PM
Hibs Twitter.

Eilidh Barbour ‏@EilidhBarbour (https://twitter.com/EilidhBarbour)1m (https://twitter.com/EilidhBarbour/status/396303134550941697)
Pat Fenlon has left his position as #Hibs (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Hibs&src=hash) manager

Reply (https://twitter.com/#)
Retweet (https://twitter.com/#)
Favorite (https://twitter.com/#)
More

Expand (https://twitter.com/EilidhBarbour/status/396303134550941697)

https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/3736772392/34168d947a5ea5546185a7349ba213a8_normal.jpegMoira Gordon ‏@moira_gordon (https://twitter.com/moira_gordon)1m (https://twitter.com/moira_gordon/status/396303110085541888)
Pat Fenlon resigns.

Reply (https://twitter.com/#)
Retweet (https://twitter.com/#)
Favorite (https://twitter.com/#)
More

Expand (https://twitter.com/moira_gordon/status/396303110085541888)

Is this real?

Is this for real?

01-11-2013, 02:52 PM
Damn you. 30 seconds before my thread.

Admins, do your thang.

01-11-2013, 02:53 PM
Now for the man who employed yet another failure tae follow him out the door.

Good news! Shame it went this way but that is 100% the right decision.

kentao
Thank **** took you long enough petrie.

This better no be a wind up

Gus Fring
Is this for real?

100% real.

good stuff :flag:

01-11-2013, 02:54 PM
I really hope this isn't a wind-up.

The sacking would tie in with a text I received last night saying he would be relieved of his duties on Friday.

Just announced on SSN

sadly we all know the chances of that

01-11-2013, 02:55 PM

DD - and your replacement for Chairman is ?

STF will leave before RP - get over it.

01-11-2013, 02:55 PM
100% real.

Thanks. On ma birthday as well...

GGTTH07
01-11-2013, 02:56 PM
Ya beauty. Change was needed, badly!

Just been mentioned on SSN, was playing FM14 and had to save game asap :greengrin

The lovely Natalie Sawyer just announced on SSN Fenlon has been givin his good looks...God i love you even more Nats!!

Thank ****

01-11-2013, 02:57 PM
woop woop

Relieved he's gone as he was at the point of no return, but the cycle begins again....

Fenlon: "It is a difficult decision for me, but it is the right decision."

Quite surprised actually!

Gus Fring
I'm reliably told no compensation is due either. Which can only help the search for a new guy.

merritthibees
01-11-2013, 02:58 PM
Lets just hope we don't go asking another Jambo for a recommendation for his replacement!

uncle Tony to the rescue is my bet

Nevi_SOL
Woo hoo

DJ HIBBY

Can see Kenny Shiels being appointed fairly swiftly until end of the season

Leishy1995
My prayers answered

01-11-2013, 02:59 PM
Yassssssssss :D

merritthibees

Hope not mans a clown!

I'm reliably told no compensation is due either. Which can only help the search for a new guy.Depends on whos doing the searching, maybe he can get some mair advice from harry '****in' potter

01-11-2013, 03:00 PM
Who's the cheapest manager available? welcome to the club whoever you are.

yerauldda
Thanks for your efforts Pat. A genuine guy who really tried to do what was best for the club. He could see what was missing in terms of the club and personnel but unfortunately he oversaw 4, in particular, of the most embarrassing results on our history and it was time to go. All the best Pat.

TAHibby
Wow, don't know what to say... Absolutely the correct decision but still brings sadness that he couldn't have achieved more. Wish him well in the future.

01-11-2013, 03:01 PM
No one can survive being recommended by Levein.

01-11-2013, 03:02 PM
Wow, don't know what to say... Absolutely the correct decision but still brings sadness that he couldn't have achieved more. Wish him well in the future.

:agree: All the best to Pat in his future endeavors.

Thanks for your efforts Pat. A genuine guy who really tried to do what was best for the club. He could see what was missing in terms of the club and personnel but unfortunately he oversaw 4, in particular, of the most embarrassing results on our history and it was time to go. All the best Pat.

Agree 100%. Undoubtedly worked hard but didn't really have it.

yeezus.
I wish Fenlon all the best, despite some awful memories he gave us some good ones as well.

steviehibsleith
01-11-2013, 03:04 PM

Agreed he was at the game for more than just a passing interest

Can anyone who knows Andy74 check he's ok? ;D

Fenlon said: "Jimmy (Nicholl) will take the team on Sunday." (Obviously, but just putting the quote out there :wink:)

NeilOrrSquareBa
01-11-2013, 03:05 PM
Craig Levein our next manager

Ha ha! I'll live. Good luck Pat.

Resign or sacked?

Good luck to Fenlon whatever happens next for him.

DarrenSQH
Great news

reidy
@HibernianFCClub: Fenlon said: "I've been privileged to manage this fantastic football club and I really hopes it does kick on now."

Hibby_CR14
Delighted, great start to the weekend :)

Hopefully our next manager can move away from the eye bleeding football and play players in there actual position!

:flag::flag:

:greengrin:aok:

reidy
01-11-2013, 03:06 PM
@HibernianFCClub: Fenlon: "It is a difficult decision for me, but it is the right decision."

PapillonVert
01-11-2013, 03:06 PM
Relieved he's gone as he was at the point of no return, but the cycle begins again....

Yes, the much vaunted manager recruitment format has to do something different. Forget abut the cheapest option for a start and the inexperienced manager looking for the next step up the ladder.

If I hear Rodders saying, "we were all impressed by X's passion, vision and commitment" when the announcement is eventually made, I'll know Groundhog Day has just begun again.

BTW: not a nice feeling when someone is sacked but a necessary decision, I suppose. Good luck, Pat, in whatever you do next.

01-11-2013, 03:07 PM
Resign or sacked?

Good luck to Fenlon whatever happens next for him.

Looks like resigned going by some of the comments coming out.

I wish Fenlon all the best, despite some awful memories he gave us some good ones as well.

Yes, I wish him all the best too.

A Hibs manager getting sacked is never good news, it means he has failed in his job and the fans have had to suffer some awful results.

Who's next???????

Depends on whos doing the searching, maybe he can get some mair advice from harry '****in' potter

As long as he doesnt recommend himself DD :paranoid:

I'd go with that, unless we got Mowbray.

Last Minute
sacked

HibeeHendo
Kinda sounds like this was planned even before Wednesday's disaster. Good luck to him anyway.

Thanks for your efforts pat but not good enough. The next manager HAS to be a success, I'm sure we've been here before though :rolleyes:

GavinHarris 10
01-11-2013, 03:08 PM
Wish pat the best of luck but things just weren't meant to be at hibs!

#BelieveInLewisStevenson

Not ONE of these appeals to me as a longterm / top class manager :rolleyes:

Jimmy Nicholl
Terry Butcher
Michael O'Neil
General Zod
Peter Grant
Kenny Shiels
Jackie McNamara Jnr
Tony Mowbray
John Collins
Alex McLeish

Hope RP takes his time and gets it right this time

Good luck to PF wherever he goes On the couple of times I met him he was a perfect gentleman pity it didn't work out :flag:

yeezus.

A Hibs manager getting sacked is never good news, it means he has failed in his job and the fans have had to suffer some awful results.

Who's next???????

Kenny Shiels? He is a character and as someone else pointed out, he did well at Killie with limited resources.

01-11-2013, 03:09 PM
Never celebrate someone losing their job and of course I'm sorry it didn't work out for Pat as I would be sorry about it not working for any Hibs manager.

Maybe some folk on here will have a wee bit more respect for the opinions of others in future. I was one of the few who queried his credentials on appointment (didn't slate him and didn't say he would be crap but just questioned whether he should get the job based on his CV) and got shot down by those who had proclaimed him as the new Sir Alex Ferguson when he was appointed and continued to talk him up.

Would love to have been "delighted to be proved wrong" but instead I'm gutted to have been proved right.

Joe
01-11-2013, 03:10 PM
I'd like to thank Pat Fenlon for saving the club from relegation two seasons ago and it's undeniable that Hibs are in a much better place now than they were when he took over but all things considered it just hasn't been good enough. Poor quality, negative football, some results that will live in infamy in the history of our great club and a general lack of direction have taken us to this day.

The result on Wednesday was simply a disgrace too far.

Thank you for saving us from relegation and thank you for doing the right thing by stepping aside.

Best wishes in the future Pat.

always sad to see someone sacked esp fenlon as he seemed a decent bloke and was trying to change things. right decision though as too many embarrassing results

Who's next???????

He has resigned.

01-11-2013, 03:11 PM
I'd like to thank Pat Fenlon for saving the club from relegation two seasons ago and it's undeniable that Hibs are in a much better place now than they were when he took over but all things considered it just hasn't been good enough. Poor quality, negative football, some results that will live in infamy in the history of our great club and a general lack of direction have taken us to this day.

Thank you for saving us from relegation and thank you for doing the right thing by stepping aside.

Best wishes in the future Pat.

Was that 2011/2012 when he took less points per game than Calderwood ?

Thank **** for that

McLeish or Mowbary for me

wearethehibs
Good luck to him in the future.

Who's next???????

I'd accept Stevie's pantomime horse for the moment.! as long as NONE that have previous Gorgie connections are even considered.

01-11-2013, 03:13 PM

I also wish him well, he's installed some good things at Hibs.

Never celebrate someone losing their job and of course I'm sorry it didn't work out for Pat as I would be sorry about it not working for any Hibs manager.

Maybe some folk on here will have a wee bit more respect for the opinions of others in future. I was one of the few who queried his credentials on appointment (didn't slate him and didn't say he would be crap but just questioned whether he should get the job based on his CV) and got shot down by those who had proclaimed him as the new Sir Alex Ferguson when he was appointed and continued to talk him up.

Would love to have been "delighted to be proved wrong" but instead I'm gutted to have been proved right.

OK - who do you recommend as the next manager ?!?!? :aok:

Gustavo Fring
wish him all the best but also wish it had happened alot sooner

Kenny Shiels? He is a character and as someone else pointed out, he did well at Killie with limited resources.

Dont care who they appoint as long as they can do a job. An imaginative appointment would bring the crowds back, but Petrie is still the problem with all of this.

01-11-2013, 03:14 PM
Really don't understand this Kenny shiels love in

Either a experienced manager such as Mowbray or someone similar, or a young manager like Murray for me.

None of your standard job every 2 years managers for me

No chance McNamara, butcher etc would come to us imo

...this

Care to elaborate on what please ? (Not trying to be funny, just genuinely interested on what you mean).

Resign or sacked?

Resigned in the same way that Mixu and Hughes 'resigned', I would imagine.

01-11-2013, 03:15 PM

Best wishes in the future Pat.he will go into the history books, as a manager that took Hibernian fc into SC Finals ,back to back. that;s better I suppose, than the rest who took us there,singularly and failed:rolleyes:

Shame it didn't work out for him. I did love his enthusiasm for the job and th club.

Unfortunately his style was never going to win many fans over. Add that to some poor displays and losses in important games and the correct decision has come to pass.

Good luck, Pat.

And the Hibs go marching on.

TheMentalHibees
Comes across as a nice friendly guy, and he took the club as far as he could. Unfortunately he lost too many big games and that's what he'll be remembered for.

khib70
Good luck to him in the future.
Respect to him for doing the right thing. And indeed, good luck for the future.

01-11-2013, 03:16 PM
I would seriously like to thank him for the work he has done for this club. I do truly believe had has brought the club on massively. But unfortunately everywhere other than on the park.

So thanks pat and I wish you all the very best for the future

HibbySpurs
01-11-2013, 03:16 PM
Pleased he's left now....

He did do some very good things in changing the culture of the club and getting rid of some of the wasters hangain around ER/EM.

However his style of football and tactical awareness has been very poor at times and his failings were evident for all to see after we went 0-1 down on Wednesday.

A likeable bloke to be fair and I genuienly wish him all the best in his next appointement which I suspect will be back in the LoI....

Now for the board to show some ****ing balls and appoint a proven manager who can take the squad forward and put this club back where it belongs at the top end of the SPFL and preferably pumping Hearts everytime we play them.....

GGTTH.....

01-11-2013, 03:17 PM
The king is dead.............long live the king !

01-11-2013, 03:18 PM

:rotflmao:

Off the bar
01-11-2013, 03:18 PM
nicked off twitter but apparently Pat Fenlon is the fifth Hibs manager in succession to remain in the post for less than two years.

01-11-2013, 03:19 PM
Always sad when someone loses their job but his time had come. The back to back cup finals are an achievement just a shame we got humiliated in 1 and gubbed in the other. But he did turn the club round slightly but every time he took a step forward we went 3 back. good luck Pat but I doubt you'll manage in the UK again.

01-11-2013, 03:19 PM
So sorry to hear this, good luck Pat.

01-11-2013, 03:20 PM
Really don't understand this Kenny shiels love in

Either a experienced manager such as Mowbray or someone similar, or a young manager like Murray for me.

None of your standard job every 2 years managers for me

No chance McNamara, butcher etc would come to us imo much as I like him, and most Hfc fans will too, Ian Murray is not the next big thing for us. not at this stage of his new career, and if it happens we are back to square one, and we need a rope for Petrie. I've got a big strong one in ma hut, if reqd.

01-11-2013, 03:21 PM
It's a shame it came to this but best for everyone

01-11-2013, 03:21 PM
The sacking would tie in with a text I received last night saying he would be relieved of his duties on Friday.

Just announced on SSN

Yeah, I got that text too!

01-11-2013, 03:22 PM
OK - who do you recommend as the next manager ?!?!? :aok:

Ha ha. If only it was that simple.

Don't think it is outrageous to suggest that someone who has a track record of success in the SPL would have more chance of succeeding than someone who has only ever managed in the League of Ireland.

Who that is has me stumped though.

kentao
Thank **** took you long enough petrie.

This better no be a wind up

Weststandwanab

Best wishes in the future Pat. I agree whole heartedly with the above.

01-11-2013, 03:23 PM
His style of football should never be accepted at Hibernian Football Club, he wont be missed by me.

stevejordan
01-11-2013, 03:24 PM
This had to be done however how is it that after 4 failures at appointing Managers Petrie can still hold his position the man seems untouchable lets put the Fenlon years behind us and move on and appoint the right man this time please.

His style of football should never be accepted at Hibernian Football Club, he wont be missed by me.

amen to that !...

JJP
Don't think this is what we needed. Always got the impression the players were all behind Fenlon too. Think we will be in turmoil for the rest of the season now. Watch us plummet in the league. These endless manager searches are doing us no favours. All the best Pat.

01-11-2013, 03:25 PM
Respect to him for doing the right thing. And indeed, good luck for the future.

01-11-2013, 03:26 PM
Care to elaborate on what please ? (Not trying to be funny, just genuinely interested on what you mean).

Behind the scenes he stopped a lot of bad **** that was left when CC went. The drinking, the lying about etc.. He wasn't the man for Hibs and football was poor but other things he done well.

Comes across as a nice friendly guy, and he took the club as far as he could. Unfortunately he lost too many big games and that's what he'll be remembered for.

He'll be remembered for eye bleeding football where in MOST games we scored either nil or one. Probably the most boring hibs team in the 35 years I have watched them. And for ending a 20 year period where I have had a season ticket as a result.

He might be a nice guy but his teams and style of play was absolutely brutal.

Oh that and the 0-7.

Good news for me.

Tried his best, deserves our thanks for that but time for someone new to have a go.

Great guy, did a lot of good off the park for us. All the best Patrick.

In regard to Fenlon saving Hibs from relegation in his first season, what position were Hibs in the table when he took over?

EDIT: This is a genuine question

01-11-2013, 03:27 PM
Don't think this is what we needed. Always got the impression the players were all behind Fenlon too. Think we will be in turmoil for the rest of the season now. Watch us plummet in the league. These endless manager searches are doing us no favours. All the best Pat.

So you're one of the very few who voted in the poll for him to stay.

Gus Fring
01-11-2013, 03:27 PM
Just been told Fenlon asked to meet Petrie and that he resigned. This would explain why no compensation is due. This info is 3rd hand though and annoyingly my sources at Hearts are much better than the ones at East Mains

01-11-2013, 03:28 PM

01-11-2013, 03:29 PM
Obviously results speak for themselves but i actually liked pat as a person and gutted he has been given the boot but it needed to happen

01-11-2013, 03:29 PM

How's about a round of applause for Rod Petrire for not "sitting on his arse and watching this club die"

01-11-2013, 03:30 PM
BBC just saying that he will speak to the radio within the hour.

This really is a golden opportunity now. Get the right manager in and the immediate future could be quite rosy.

That squad isn't the worst - it needs shape and the playing style needs coherence. Add some key elements in January and with the state of the other clubs in that league you could see a big turnaround. And we likely wont see The Rangers or The Yams in the SPL next year either so it is a longish window of opportunity.

Rod/Club/Board whatever - you've (finally) got the first part of the puzzle right. The second part is getting the right manager, not getting the cheap manager.

How's about a round of applause for Rod Petrire for not "sitting on his arse and watching this club die"

He will get that when he ****s off too.

In regard to Fenlon saving Hibs from relegation in his first season, what position were Hibs in the table when he took over?

EDIT: This is a genuine question

9th.

How's about asking Rod why Fenlon wasn't shown the door after Malmo and the 1st defeat by them at PBS. :confused:

SonOfDavidFrancey
01-11-2013, 03:31 PM
He might have got away with this week if
It hasn't been for malmo. He might have got away with malmo if hadn't been for 5-1. He might have for away with all of it of it hadn't been for the negativity and the cautiousness. As it is je was a dead duck because of the accumulation.

He has built a decent enough squad; needs a better manager to get the best out of them.

01-11-2013, 03:31 PM
A very likeable bloke who obviously gave the job his all - too much of a step up though as recent results and performances have proven and I'm glad he's gone although his legacy to Hibs is certainly not all negative.

Terry Butcher would be my choice for next manager - we are a big club in terms of expectations and media exposure and Butcher has the background as a player to ensure that pressure is used in a positive way in the dressing room. He has also shown at ICT that he can put together good footballing sides on relatively shoestring budgets. I'd want to play for Butcher if I was a player - he has an international renown which will help attract talent to the club and Hibs would represent good progression in his managerial career.

Tacheman - make it so.....please?!?

JJP
01-11-2013, 03:32 PM
So you're one of the very few who voted in the poll for him to stay.

Never voted. If we were going to bring in someone new would
have been better to do it at the end of the season when we
could turn over some players too. We are now going to have a
new man in for the rest of the season with someone else's players. Anyone remember when Fenlon came in and had to work with Calderwood's players?

hughio

He did do the right thing and deserves respect for that.So many duds hang on till theyre sacked and then get compensation. He leaves honourably.

Weststandwanab
How's about a round of applause for Rod Petrire for not "sitting on his arse and watching this club die" Not sure you will get many takers for that.

Northern Hibby

As above, I don't take any joy from anybody losing their job but we needed a change.

01-11-2013, 03:33 PM
How's about asking Rod why Fenlon wasn't shown the door after Malmo and the 1st defeat by them at PBS. :confused:

How long into the descent of death were we at that point?

01-11-2013, 03:33 PM
9th.

Thanks, I had thought something like that but wasn't sure.

It's just that I'm a bit confused that some say he saved us from relegation when in fact we finished lower in the league than when he arrived. That logic just doesn't make much sense to me.

01-11-2013, 03:34 PM

Fact remains his employers actually thought it was acceptable :roll eyes:

Yet again, it is left to the Hibs fans to tell the Board when enough is enough - long before they find the guts to do the right thing.

01-11-2013, 03:34 PM
new man in for the rest of the season with someone else's players. Anyone remember when Fenlon came in and had to work with Calderwood's players?

Difference being is this is a far better bunch of players than Fenlon was left with, decent bloke but way out of his depth, I said when he was appointed I was totally underwhelmed but still gave him my support till the Malmo debacle.

01-11-2013, 03:36 PM
How long into the descent of death were we at that point?

It was there for all to see, many on this board have not been back since these games and could see exactly where we were going.

01-11-2013, 03:37 PM
It was there for all to see, many on this board have not been back since these games and could see exactly where we were going.

I think you're misunderstanding the tongue-in-cheek element in my posts here...

01-11-2013, 03:38 PM

It's just that I'm a bit confused that some say he saved us from relegation when in fact we finished lower in the league than when he arrived. That logic just doesn't make much sense to me.

It doesn't tell close to the while story though. It's the right time now to go but let's not pretend we were anything other than genuine relegation material.

01-11-2013, 03:38 PM
we had the clown then the nice guy time for the tactician please

01-11-2013, 03:39 PM

Calderwood had a better points per game ratio than Fenlon in 2011/2012. We would likely have avoided relegation with Calderclown in charge as well, by virtue of Dunfermline being so poor.

Do not read this as a defence of Calderwood. It isn't.

Leishy1995
01-11-2013, 03:40 PM
It's time to name Lewis Stevenson as player manager. We all know he'll never leave.

Amen to that! :agree:

I think you're misunderstanding the tongue-in-cheek element in my posts here...

Sorry bud :greengrin

01-11-2013, 03:41 PM
Calderwood had a better points per game ratio than Fenlon in 2011/2012. We would likely have avoided relegation with Calderclown in charge as well, by virtue of Dunfermline being so poor.

Do not read this as a defence of Calderwood. It isn't.

The Dunfermline who had just beaten us at home?

This talk is bizarre.

01-11-2013, 03:41 PM
It's time to name Lewis Stevenson as player manager. We all know he'll never leave.

Really think it's ****ing poor having a go at Lewis here, get a grip :confused:

01-11-2013, 03:42 PM
To his credit he also started to drag the pish poor scouting system into the 21st century.

01-11-2013, 03:42 PM
This is the happiest I've felt about Hibs since.....Calderwood went.

It is a sad state of affairs when most of our most joyous moments over Petrie's reign have been when we've parted company with another of his useless appointments.

Now if only Petrie would step aside and just deal quietly with the accounts, rather than appoint managers, maybe we will finally get a decent manager again.

hihohibby
01-11-2013, 03:44 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub)24s (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/396303080012009472)
BREAKING NEWS: Hibernian can confirm that manager Pat Fenlon has left the club. More to follow

A sad day. I really wanted Pat to succeed. He is such a decent guy. However, his team played eye-bleeding, frustrating, ineffective football, and he presided over some of the the most shocking football capitulations in our proud clubs history. He is such a genuine guy that I am truly hurt for him, but in the end even I wanted him to go for everyone's sake, including his. Good luck Pat.

01-11-2013, 03:46 PM
A sad day. I really wanted Pat to succeed. He is such a decent guy. However, his team played eye-bleeding, frustrating, ineffective football, and he presided over some of the the most shocking football capitulations in our proud clubs history. He is such a genuine guy that I am truly hurt for him, but in the end even I wanted him to go for everyone's sake, including his. Good luck Pat.

Agreed and it looks like he's resigned not been sacked.

Now Rodders, appoint Fenlon as head of scouting and with the money saved, buy some covers for those seats in the dug-out. Even Partick have got branded upholstery on theirs.

01-11-2013, 03:46 PM

Its yet another bit of .net revisionism that over time has become FACT. Never understood it myself either! :confused:

01-11-2013, 03:47 PM
lovely guy..he drinks in my local and always has the time of day for anyone wanting a blether...i have seen him putting up with all sorts of attention from drunken fans but he always remains open and honest....he leaves with his dignity and my best wishes...wish it had worked out for him and i was convinced it would up until wednesday but a manager lives and dies by his signings and we all seen against hearts that a few of his recent buys aren't hibs quality...whatever that is.

good luck in the future pat.

01-11-2013, 03:48 PM

Well said , good luck Pat!

As for hibs, no ex-managers and no Kenny Shiels please

Leishy1995
Really think it's ****ing poor having a go at Lewis here, get a grip :confused:

I really think it's ****ing poor thinking I was having a go at Lewis Stevenson here, get a grip :confused:

I can only wish Pat all the best. He put all he had into it and it wasn't enough. That is all you can ask of anyone. Hopefully he has laid some foundations that will help us in the future.

RSS Bot
01-11-2013, 03:50 PM
Official Club Statement

More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20131101/pat-fenlon-leaves-hibernian_2262950_3520034)

01-11-2013, 03:50 PM

Pat looked a broken man at the final whistle on Wednesday. I'm gutted the guy didn't succeed. Reaching 2 consecutive Scottish Cup Finals was a good achievement but sadly the players didn't turn up for either Final.

All the best Pat, and hope you are back at Easter Road in future as an adopted Hibee.

01-11-2013, 03:51 PM
Rodders speaks: http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20131101/pat-fenlon-leaves-hibernian_2262950_3520034

To his credit he also started to drag the pish poor scouting system into the 21st century.

What has he done in this area exactly?

much as I like him, and most Hfc fans will too, Ian Murray is not the next big thing for us. not at this stage of his new career, and if it happens we are back to square one, and we need a rope for Petrie. I've got a big strong one in ma hut, if reqd.

Most succesful managers for us in recent times have been inexperienced young guys with fresh ideas. Think most would rather that than another journeyman

01-11-2013, 03:52 PM
Pat's even done an interview about his resignation for Hibs TV. That must be a first.

01-11-2013, 03:53 PM
This really is a golden opportunity now. Get the right manager in and the immediate future could be quite rosy.

That squad isn't the worst - it needs shape and the playing style needs coherence. Add some key elements in January and with the state of the other clubs in that league you could see a big turnaround. And we likely wont see The Rangers or The Yams in the SPL next year either so it is a longish window of opportunity.

Rod/Club/Board whatever - you've (finally) got the first part of the puzzle right. The second part is getting the right manager, not getting the cheap manager.

That's the optimistic outlook, could well happen and I hope it does. I reckon people are underestimating how far Hibs have changed under Fenlon. Before we were crap because of the underlying "holiday camp" feel other managers allowed to happen, giving the players too much slack. We were crap under Fenlon because this season, when we are supposed to be kicking on, his tactics just don't cut it in this League. A new guy has a relatively easier job as a lot of the components of a good team are in place with the potential to develop some decent prospects. We need someone to maintain unity among the players and add a bit canniness going forward.

Wish Fenlon all the best.

01-11-2013, 03:53 PM
The Dunfermline who had just beaten us at home?

This talk is bizarre.

But who had got a 0-0 at Celtic Park a week previously. Calderwood 0.92 points per game in season 2011/2012, Fenlon 0.82 ppg.

Again not a defence of Calderwood, Fenlon showed more appetite and passion for the club than him. Just didn't measure up results wise.

01-11-2013, 03:54 PM
What has he done in this area exactly?

Hibs have three, that I know of, scouts out watching games. Before we had none.

GreenPJ
01-11-2013, 03:56 PM

Which one spotted Vine.

01-11-2013, 03:57 PM

Bloody hell, none? What a joke.

Weststandwanab
01-11-2013, 03:58 PM
Which one spotted Vine. The same one that spotted Dick.

01-11-2013, 03:59 PM

Pat looked a broken man at the final whistle on Wednesday. I'm gutted the guy didn't succeed. Reaching 2 consecutive Scottish Cup Finals was a good achievement but sadly the players didn't turn up for either Final.

All the best Pat, and hope you are back at Easter Road in future as an adopted Hibee.

He certainly looked devastated in his post-match interview. Credit to him - he said he'd walk away if it wasn't working.

01-11-2013, 03:59 PM
Very disappointed it didn't work for Fenlon but he had to go. Tactics were too negative and not enough of his signings improved the team.

Positives are his behind the scenes work from what I read on here and his genuine liking for the club, his dignified exit and that he detests the yams. He's welcome in Leith for the Hertz relegation party.

01-11-2013, 04:00 PM
Nice guy , blah blah blah . his football was murder .

Best news since Calderwood got punted .
Its a must that the new manager puts a entertaining team on the park .

inglisavhibs
01-11-2013, 04:02 PM
Not ONE of these appeals to me as a longterm / top class manager :rolleyes:

Jimmy Nicholl
Terry Butcher
Michael O'Neil
General Zod
Peter Grant
Kenny Shiels
Jackie McNamara Jnr
Tony Mowbray
John Collins
Alex McLeish

Hope RP takes his time and gets it right this time

Good luck to PF wherever he goes On the couple of times I met him he was a perfect gentleman pity it didn't work out :flag:
Would take Terry Butcher. Don't really want Kenny Shiels.

Bighoose
01-11-2013, 04:04 PM
Dignified exit from a decent man. All the best Pat and thanks for your efforts.

Have no idea who I want next...

01-11-2013, 04:06 PM

Fenlon was appointed in November. The window is open for January. He brought in something like 8 players that January.

I've been reliably informed that the fact that we were 9th when Fenlon took over and the fact that, subsequently, Fenlon's points average that season was lower than Calderwood's doesn't tell the full story and that Fenlon definitely saved us for certain relegation. It became one of those myths that I lost the will to argue against.

01-11-2013, 04:08 PM
Fenlon on BBC scotland at 5-20, saying he resigned.

01-11-2013, 04:08 PM
I've been reliably informed that the fact that we were 9th when Fenlon took over and the fact that, subsequently, Fenlon's points average that season was lower than Calderwood's doesn't tell the full story and that Fenlon definitely saved us for certain relegation. It became one of those myths that I lost the will to argue against.

Amen brother.

subcom mixu
01-11-2013, 04:10 PM
Liked Pat a lot. He did good things for us off the field, but he was a mediocre on-field tactician at this level. Good luck to the man elsewhere - here's hoping the reins are handed to a Mowbray or McLeish - dreeeeeam, dream, dream, dream...

01-11-2013, 04:10 PM
Fenlon was appointed in November. The window is open for January. He brought in something like 8 players that January.

Not from certain relegation but we were in the mix as genuine candidates.

The club was a total state with a shocking dressing room. McPake said this week when he arrived first and seen what was happening he thought we could go down.

I think denying that now is churlish to say the least.

01-11-2013, 04:11 PM
If he resigned I assume the board were never going to sack him then? Shows they were happy to carry on with mediocre results. Fenlon leaving is only part of the problem if you ask me.

hibbymick
01-11-2013, 04:13 PM
Good luck in the future pat and a few words of advice in your next venture..........attack attack attack.

01-11-2013, 04:16 PM
Correct decision made for the benefit of the club. Time to move forwards.

Kenny Shiels for me. His whole character is much livlier, he talks positively and with passion. Always said nice things about us and his players seemed to enjoy playing for him.

I think he could really lift the spirits which is sorely needed.

01-11-2013, 04:16 PM

The club was a total state with a shocking dressing room. McPake said this week when he arrived first and seen what was happening he thought we could go down.

Yes we could have gone down but suggesting Fenlon deserved any great credit for keeping us up is a step too far. It took him until the penultimate game of the season FFS.

Where I do think he deserves some credit is the squad he leaves behind. Yes there are a few duds but on the whole it's as good as most outwith Celtic. Interested to see how much Nicholl changes things on Sunday.

01-11-2013, 04:17 PM
Which one spotted Vine.

I spotted him in Sainsbury's the other night.

Bob Box Fish
01-11-2013, 04:19 PM
Fantastic news

Bukta#8
01-11-2013, 04:20 PM
Good luck in the future pat and a few words of advice in your next venture..........attack attack attack.
Our new man has to address the right back situation and lack of speed as prioriaty,but on the plus side Fenlon has built a solid squad over his 5 transfer windows so a top 6 place and sc cup run are very much doable, good luck for the future Pat

01-11-2013, 04:27 PM
bye pat!

you seamed like a good guy but sadly, not good enough for the cabbage

01-11-2013, 04:31 PM
Nice guy , blah blah blah . his football was murder .

Best news since Calderwood got punted .
Its a must that the new manager puts a entertaining team on the park .

I'm glad that Fenlon has gone. The guy tried his hardest, but I think the jump from LOI was too much for him and he was being out thought by managers with more experience of playing and working with teams in the SPL / SPship. He just didnt seem to appreciate that his negative outlook was losing us games we should have been doing a lot better in.

I never want to see anybody lose their job, these are folk with families. The only thing that you can say of any comfort is that getting sacked or having to quit is part of a football managers life, it happens to 99% of them. The advantage they have is that in no other walk of life would an employer take you on if he knew your last 3 had sacked you. It happens all the time in football though.

I wish Pat all the very best and hope he finds another club quickly.

But heres the reason why I have posted this under a quote of what you said erin go bragh.

It is an utter insult to a decent man who did his best and failed to mention him in the same breath as bloody Calderwood who was given a good job by Hibs and then insulted us and the club by making no secret of the fact that he looked on being a number 2 ( how apt ) at some run of the mill English Championship club as a step up from being manager of the best club in the world. He should have had his arse booted out the door the second that became clear. The guy was an utter utter tool and not fit to shine Pat Fenlon's shoes.

01-11-2013, 04:32 PM

We remained in the mix as genuine candidates until the final few weeks of the season.

01-11-2013, 04:38 PM
We remained in the mix as genuine candidates until the final few weeks of the season.

We did indeed.

01-11-2013, 04:42 PM

If THAT goal stood we would have been top 6

01-11-2013, 04:43 PM

Remaining in the mix was an achievement. Under Caldercock we would have plummeted over the winter games. Under a "softer touch" manager we might well have gone down. Fenlon kicked ass when he came in and stitched some points together from a demotivated and improvised squad.

01-11-2013, 04:45 PM
If THAT goal stood we would have been top 6

Not that year!

01-11-2013, 04:45 PM
Seems like quite a few are fancying Butcher. It he really going to leave a successful club by Scottish standards to take over the reins at a club which is at best underachieving and more bluntly, failing? He could have had a good move down last year but chose to stay up north. I don't think he would accept it if he was offered the job. I think we will end up with someone who is presently out of a job.

01-11-2013, 04:48 PM
Seems like quite a few are fancying Butcher. It he really going to leave a successful club by Scottish standards to take over the reins at a club which is at best underachieving and more bluntly, failing? He could have had a good move down last year but chose to stay up north. I don't think he would accept it if he was offered the job. I think we will end up with someone who is presently out of a job.

Butcher also doesn't add up in terms of what most say they want to see from now on in terms of style.

I can't tell you a name who would though.

01-11-2013, 04:50 PM
Unquestionably better than Calderwood, improved us and game us some good times. Sadly it didn't work out in the end and he has to take the blame for that.

Good luck Pat, I do believe you done your best and I personally appreciate that.

01-11-2013, 04:51 PM
Not that year!

Eh ?

01-11-2013, 04:52 PM
Butcher also doesn't add up in terms of what most say they want to see from now on in terms of style.

That's a real surprise Andy, i thought you knew everything? :devil:

01-11-2013, 04:54 PM
This is the happiest I've felt about Hibs since.....Calderwood went.

It is a sad state of affairs when most of our most joyous moments over Petrie's reign have been when we've parted company with another of his useless appointments.

Now if only Petrie would step aside and just deal quietly with the accounts, rather than appoint managers, maybe we will finally get a decent manager again.Im pretty sure Petrie didn't appoint Pat for a start, so this is rubbish.

As for the first part, if this really is one of your most enjoyable moments as a Hibs fan in the last 15 years you need help, we have won a cup in that time and I personally had had a lot of great moments as a Hibs supporter in that time, including 5? Semi final wins and numerous victories over Hearts, Celtic, Rangers as well as some great away days.

01-11-2013, 04:55 PM
uncle Tony to the rescue is my bet

Yes please

01-11-2013, 04:56 PM
Dignified exit from a decent man. All the best Pat and thanks for your efforts.

Have no idea who I want next...

01-11-2013, 04:57 PM

Your subtle veiled insinuation that most have unrealistic expectations in terms of style is getting tiresome. Mowbray is a genuine example of a style bought into by most, Collins for a period as well (but also admittedly a very poor period).

Most agree that what we don't want is the style that Fenlon gave us.

01-11-2013, 05:00 PM
Your subtle veiled insinuation that most have unrealistic expectations in terms of style is getting tiresome. Mowbray is a genuine example of a style bought into by most, Collins for a period as well (but also admittedly a very poor period).

Most agree that what we don't want is the style that Fenlon gave us.

It's not subtle. I fully respect that most want an attacking entertaining style that is also successful and I hope that we get that wish.

I just can't think of anyone who delivers all that.

01-11-2013, 05:01 PM

Halle - ******g - lujah! Is no74 ok? :greengrin

Agree re Shiels - but frankly anyone who sets the team out to try and WIN will do me!

01-11-2013, 05:01 PM
It's not subtle. I fully respect that most want an attacking entertaining style that is also successful and I hope that we get that wish.

Well it sure to god wasnt fenlon!!

01-11-2013, 05:05 PM

Successful doesn't necessarily have to mean trophies. Mowbray (and I'm not sure I'd want him back so by no means am I meaning to keep harp on about him) didn't win a trophy (he probably should have). Successful can also be relative, I.E playing an attractive style of football and challenging at the right end of the table.

Fenlon had us playing a style of football hated by most and challenging in the bottom half.

jane_says
01-11-2013, 05:06 PM

A scouting system that looks to the scottish lower leagues, and players that were prepared to work hard, instead of coming in drunk on monday mornings (oconnor, stack, ohanlon etc) however unfortunately he couldn't get them playing anything that remotely resembled attractive attacking football.

Wish him all the best and truly respect him for resigning rather than holding out for a payday

01-11-2013, 05:30 PM
" I hope I have contributed to the Club's rich history" Oh don't worry Pat, you've ensured there's a few results that we'll never forget!

Dreadful football manager and if he gets another job in the UK i would be stunned.

Fair play to him for walking though and not taking the compo.

01-11-2013, 05:37 PM
" I hope I have contributed to the Club's rich history" Oh don't worry Pat, you've ensured there's a few results that we'll never forget!

Dreadful football manager and if he gets another job in the UK i would be stunned.

Fair play to him for walking though and not taking the compo.

He has won numerous honors as a manager so he cant really be called dreadful, especially by someone on the internet.

tamsonsbairn
01-11-2013, 05:51 PM
what the f*$k, that clown on the bbc reckons craig levein is in the running for the Hibs managers job, where does he get his info from.

01-11-2013, 05:53 PM
Thank god for that, change was needed. Nonetheless i wish him well in the future.

01-11-2013, 06:39 PM
Genuinely feel bad for Pat tonight :-( One of the good guys who I think we would all have liked it to work for. Gave me a bit of passion back for the club after Calderwood had drained it out of me. Done a lot of good for us, ultimately results were not good enough though. Leaves with my best wishes. This next appointment is **** or bust now! The second best squad in the league is sitting there waiting for whoever comes in. Would love Mowbray to come in and do the same job as last time but I seriously have my doubts without Brown, Whitty et al.
There's fans that have never forgiven Fenlon for 1-5, yet Mowbray regularly shipped 4 goals to them with a far, far stronger squad

01-11-2013, 09:44 PM
An honourable decision from a decent man. Thanks for the efforts Pat and good luck wherever you go next. I haven't read all this thread but I hope we as a support show some class and Pat doesn't get unnecessary ott abuse, he tried his best but unfortunately that wasn't good enough

01-11-2013, 09:45 PM
Genuinely feel bad for Pat tonight :-( One of the good guys who I think we would all have liked it to work for. Gave me a bit of passion back for the club after Calderwood had drained it out of me. Done a lot of good for us, ultimately results were not good enough though. Leaves with my best wishes. This next appointment is **** or bust now! The second best squad in the league is sitting there waiting for whoever comes in. Would love Mowbray to come in and do the same job as last time but I seriously have my doubts without Brown, Whitty et al.
There's fans that have never forgiven Fenlon for 1-5, yet Mowbray regularly shipped 4 goals to them with a far, far stronger squad

Unbelievable. :confused:

01-11-2013, 10:17 PM
I haven't posted on the forum for a number of weeks, due to my disillusionment with Hibs. I didn't want to be a Victor Meldrew on here, constantly being negative and cynical. After Wednesday's result, I'd started to think I'd be away a long time yet, but perhaps now we'll finally get the club moving in the direction the fans deserve. Yes, I know we've said this countless times before, but could this finally be the occasion the club gets it right.....PLEASE? Nothing personal against Pat, who did his best and was always honest, but who proved ultimately to lack what was needed. Sadly, he'll probably be remembered for the 1-5 and 0-7 most of all. I wish him well and hope against hope we can finally find a manager who can stick around for a good while and really build something.

01-11-2013, 11:38 PM
Unquestionably better than Calderwood, improved us and game us some good times. Sadly it didn't work out in the end and he has to take the blame for that.

Good luck Pat, I do believe you done your best and I personally appreciate that.

That is exactly the problem he was better than Calderwood and thats about it, being better than Calderwood isnt a target, his name is only ever compared to being better than one of the worst managers we have had and hardly compared to more successful ones.

I would have fancied any SPL manager to have done better than Calderwood.

RIP Bestie
02-11-2013, 12:13 AM
That is exactly the problem he was better than Calderwood and thats about it, being better than Calderwood isnt a target, his name is only ever compared to being better than one of the worst managers we have had and hardly compared to more successful ones.

I would have fancied anybody to have done better than Calderwood.
:top marksBut. . . Fixed that for you

02-11-2013, 10:51 AM

I would have fancied any SPL manager to have done better than Calderwood.Pat also had to take over in probably the worst situation of any Hibs manager ever, people seem to forget this.

02-11-2013, 10:54 AM
Pat also had to take over in probably the worst situation of any Hibs manager ever, people seem to forget this.

Worse than McLeish? It wasn't even the worst situation of the past 15 years, never mind "ever".

02-11-2013, 10:59 AM
Worse than McLeish? It wasn't even the worst situation of the past 15 years, never mind "ever".Fair enough but McLeish had the money to bring in guys like Sauzee, Latapy and David Zitelli, players we could only dream of getting now.

02-11-2013, 11:06 AM
Fair enough but McLeish had the money to bring in guys like Sauzee, Latapy and David Zitelli, players we could only dream of getting now.

While Fenlon didn't have 'McLeish-esque' resources, he was in place during the demise of Rangers and Hearts and had wages/budgets that most SPL managers can only dream of. We're one of two Scottish teams who paid a transfer fee in 2013.

McLeish also made a marked difference upon arrival IIRC with a far worse team than Fenlon inherited.

02-11-2013, 11:11 AM
While Fenlon didn't have 'McLeish-esque' resources, he was in place during the demise of Rangers and Hearts and had wages/budgets that most SPL managers can only dream of. We're one of two Scottish teams who paid a transfer fee in 2013.

McLeish also made a marked difference upon arrival IIRC with a far worse team than Fenlon inherited.Fair enough, you are probably right but I still feel people are underestimating how bad a position we were in when Pat took over.

Caversham Green
02-11-2013, 11:21 AM

Putting some context on that, we were ahead of Dunfermline on goal difference and a single point ahead of Aberdeen and ICT when Calderwood left, and two of those three teams had a game in hand. Billy Broon got us to two points off bottom spot in his single game in charge before Fenlon was appointed, but in terms of points we were effectively second bottom.

Persevere80
02-11-2013, 02:11 PM
Had a wee drink last night and only found out the news this afternoon. It took a minute to sink in but was always on the cards after Wednesday night.

03-11-2013, 12:37 AM

OK I've not read the whole forum but can you remind me of the could memories your on about :confused:.

Craig Levein our next manager

I'm sure it must have been a wined up but his name was being touted on the radio today :jamboak::soapbox::no way:

ManBearPig
03-11-2013, 06:29 AM
OK I've not read the whole forum but can you remind me of the could memories your on about :confused:.

I'm sure it must have been a wined up but his name was being touted on the radio today :jamboak::soapbox::no way:

SurEly the the semi final final against aberdeen second half against Falkirk. The derby at er in scottish cup. The The quarter against killlie away. All good good memories on their own merit.