View Full Version : Carl Froch v George Groves...

31-10-2013, 01:33 PM
I take it that Froch will batter him early doors?

Is it worth buying on Box Office?!

31-10-2013, 06:01 PM
Nearly battered him on Ringside tonight!

chinaman
01-11-2013, 08:31 PM
Nearly battered him on Ringside tonight!

doesn't count on ringside. degale tried the bull**** he failed with it and lost in the ring to groves. froch is getting old and he`s, had really hard fights during his career, fights that can make a boxer go old overnight. groves hardest night was against our own Kenny Anderson but groves showed his nuts to get off the deck to win a tough scrap. groves is also very fast and a clever boxer with a good dig in each hand. should be good

02-11-2013, 04:25 PM
Is this fight on tonight, and if so what channel, or is it sky box office, would like to watch it, any idea time it starts. :aok:

02-11-2013, 04:28 PM
Is this fight on tonight, and if so what channel, or is it sky box office, would like to watch it, any idea time it starts. :aok:

3 weeks today.

02-11-2013, 08:45 PM
3 weeks today.

Ah well. :greengrin

03-11-2013, 02:14 PM
Froch on points for me.

After the Ward fight i thought Froch was done at elite level but he's come back better than i've ever seen him.

Groves will be a tough test though. Good boxer who will get another chance at a world title, this is just too soon for him imo.

03-11-2013, 08:43 PM
So it's worth getting PB?

04-11-2013, 03:26 PM
I think froch will win this one quite easily, i like groves but think its far to early for him to be taking on someone as good as this

04-11-2013, 04:17 PM
So it's worth getting PB?

I'll be buying it.

Froch is rarely in a bad fight.

10-11-2013, 10:34 AM
Surely Froch will win easily. If Groves was going up against some of the guys Froch has fought recently he wouldnt be given a snowballs!!!

Its just because its a domestic fight folks are trying to drum up interest and sales!!

In my eyes its akin to the david haye fights against Harrison, Chisora and probably Fury too. Sky or the pundits are trying to talk up the underdog to generate interest.

13-11-2013, 10:18 PM
I can't see Froch lose this, and expect him to win in 7 or 8.

14-11-2013, 01:15 PM
I can't see Froch lose this, and expect him to win in 7 or 8.

:agree: or earlier. Isn't there doubts about Groves' chin??

David_D
21-11-2013, 01:06 PM
Does anybody know somewhere good in Edinburgh city center that will be showing the fight this Saturday?

21-11-2013, 01:52 PM
I'm putting a bet on groves, he's got a tenacity about him that I quite like in a fighter.

21-11-2013, 11:57 PM
ive never took to frock so ill be cheering on Perry Groves :take that

22-11-2013, 12:26 AM
Whilst i still think Froch will win, Groves is definitely a far more live challenger than many seem to be giving him credit for. Certainly more worthy of fighting for a world title than the likes of Harrison or Chisora.

He's relatively inexperienced but had an outstanding amateur career and has been spoken about as a future world champion pretty much since his pro debut. The only opponent the 2 have both faced recently is Glen Johnson and Groves was arguably more convincing against him than Froch was. 2 fights and 18 months later is maybe a bit of apples and oranges though.

Groves is solid, he punches from unorthodox angles, has 2 very heavy hands and is pretty quick. He'll give Froch a bit to think about imo.

The fights too soon for him, it's a massive step up in class for a guy who has boxed less than 100 rounds as a pro but i'm pretty certain he'll give Froch a decent test and will fight for a world title again in the future, and win.

22-11-2013, 08:33 AM
Really hope Groves wins but can't see it. It is a fight though and anything can happen so hopefllly Froch will be sprawled out on the canvas before to long.

22-11-2013, 11:49 AM
Can any of our Glasgow posters tell me where in the city centre I'll be able to see this. What time is it due to start?

bobbyhibs1983
22-11-2013, 02:22 PM
Can any of our Glasgow posters tell me where in the city centre I'll be able to see this. What time is it due to start?

Unsure when the froch vs groves will start but the sky box office programme seems to be starting at 6pm, which i take it will be the build up to the "main event" plus some other fights as well though im unsure who else is fighting

As far as a *guess* i would either take 9 or 10pm for the froch fight to start

22-11-2013, 03:40 PM

Froch v Groves wills be just after 10 i'd guess.

Decent undercard too:

Scott Quigg v Diego Silva (WBA super bantamweight)

Anthony Crolla v Martin Gethin (British lightweight)

Also Martin Murray, Scotty Cardle and Callim Smith (very exciting prospect).

22-11-2013, 05:18 PM

Will be on in Walkabout. Think the action starts about 8 :take that.

22-11-2013, 06:59 PM
Walkabout is very handy for the bus station, that'll do nicely, Cheers!

23-11-2013, 05:13 PM
What a start.

Absolutely stunning KO by Rocky Fielding in the opener.

23-11-2013, 05:15 PM
On now. First fight 12 rounds.

Knockout first round. :greengrin

23-11-2013, 05:50 PM
Jamie McDonnell labouring a bit here. Getting picked off on the counter too often as well.

23-11-2013, 05:56 PM
Jamie McDonnell labouring a bit here. Getting picked off on the counter too often as well.

Done better at the end of that round, the 40 year old legs are going.

23-11-2013, 05:59 PM
Ref stops it in the last round.

McDonald win.

23-11-2013, 06:07 PM
Ref stops it in the last round.

McDonald win.

He was never going to lose and it was a hard fight to look good in.

Finished it well in the end.

23-11-2013, 08:47 PM
Another cracking KO by Scott Quigg.

The uppercut was a real beauty.

23-11-2013, 09:41 PM
Groves looks massively confident.

Normally you can see the fear in a fighter but Groves looks totally in the zone.

23-11-2013, 09:46 PM
Groves looks massively confident.

Normally you can see the fear in a fighter but Groves looks totally in the zone.

I just can't take to Groves. Hope Froch wins this.

23-11-2013, 09:48 PM
I just can't take to Groves. Hope Froch wins this.

I like them both tbh.

Rooting for Froch though because he's an old fashioned type who wants to fight anyone.

23-11-2013, 09:51 PM
game on.

23-11-2013, 09:51 PM
What a round for Groves.

Huge 10-8.

Told you all this was a live challenger.

23-11-2013, 09:55 PM
Froch is in big, big trouble here. That low left hand has always been dodgy and Groves is exploiting it again and again.

10-9 Groves.

20-17 overall.

23-11-2013, 09:59 PM
Cant see Groves keeping this up to be honest, pure adrenaline

23-11-2013, 09:59 PM
See saw round that one. Groves made Froxh look old early doors but Froch landed a few and backed him against the ropes. Groves a bit too slick at the moment and his power has Froch nervy.

10-9 Groves again for me.

30-26.

23-11-2013, 10:00 PM
9-10 pb?!

23-11-2013, 10:00 PM
I'm not a normal boxing fan but I've been intrigued by the build up to this.

Don't understand the scoring etc but Groves seems to be on top right now :agree:

23-11-2013, 10:03 PM
39-36.

23-11-2013, 10:03 PM
Groves jab, especially when he doubles it is killing Froch here. So quick and it's solid as well so stops Froch in his tracks. Huge right hand by Groves near the end. Quieter round but Groves again. Froch needs to start backing Groves up. Great fight.

10-9 Groves.

40-35.

23-11-2013, 10:07 PM
48-46.

23-11-2013, 10:07 PM
Frochs problem is he is having to take shots to land them. Bit more aggressive from Froch though and he takes the round imo. He's got a big job from here.

10-9 Froch.

49-45.

23-11-2013, 10:08 PM
Froch looks slow and his persistent efforts to use the left jab looks lazy so far. Groves countering everything he's had thrown at him so far.

23-11-2013, 10:11 PM
58-55.

23-11-2013, 10:11 PM
how good is this!

23-11-2013, 10:12 PM
Some huge shots by Groves. The right hand is like a sledgehammer. This could be stopped, Froch is taking too many clean shots. Groves backed up towards the end and dropped the gloves which was silly.

10-9 Groves.

59-54.

23-11-2013, 10:12 PM
I need to learn the scoring evidently - it's clear who's having the better rounds and who's on top but I'll be buggered if I understand your numbers up above :greengrin

Enjoying this!

23-11-2013, 10:15 PM
Groves is so fast, the double jab is like lightning. Couple of silly mistakes creeping in though. He keeps picking his punches he will win, Froch looks like a worn out fighter suddenly. Another huge right by Groves landed clean and hurt.

10-9 Groves.

69-63.

23-11-2013, 10:16 PM
68-64.

23-11-2013, 10:16 PM
PB, am pissing about here and guessing!

23-11-2013, 10:20 PM
78-74.

23-11-2013, 10:20 PM
Huge start from Froch and landed a big right. Groves in trouble for a few seconds and half turned the back. Groves maybe tiring a bit. Froch being a bit naughty hitting after break called . Maybe turning this into a bar brawl will suit him.

10-9 Froch.

78-73.

23-11-2013, 10:23 PM
Wow - that seems hasty!

23-11-2013, 10:23 PM
Pace has slowed noticeably. Groves was on too then a counter saw Froch land a few huge punches thag wobbled Groves.

Stopped TKO by Froch, Groves was in trouble but stoppage was early imo.

23-11-2013, 10:25 PM
Should have let him fight on. As Halling says, screams rematch, All a bit showbiz.

23-11-2013, 10:25 PM
Groves should be furious. He was in bother but was still trying to throw back. It was a slugfest so deserved to go a bit longer. Groves getting a great ovation.

Great warriors, get a rematch sorted. Suspect Froch may see that as a sign to retire though.

23-11-2013, 10:28 PM
Can't believe 2 judges had Groves only 1 round up. Farcical.

23-11-2013, 10:36 PM
Is Groves greetin?

23-11-2013, 10:40 PM
Is Groves greetin?

I'd be crying too after that joke.

Froch offering the rematch but bet it doesn't happen. Froch has come over as a total bellend post fight. Groves comes across quite well.

23-11-2013, 10:42 PM
He is now. Ironic after his chat pre-fight.....

Hibstrooper
23-11-2013, 10:42 PM
Cracking fight despite the controversy at the end.

Don't think Froch is coming over to well after the fight.

23-11-2013, 10:44 PM

Froch offering the rematch but bet it doesn't happen. Froch has come over as a total bellend post fight. Groves comes across quite well.

I was having a wee bit fun after his trash talking on the Sky Sports show a few weeks ago. Was impressed by how prepared he was tonight, but still think he's a wee fud.

'mon the beers
23-11-2013, 10:46 PM
Wasn't impressed with Groves pre-fight but he deserved more from that fight. Fair enough Froch was hurting him but it's never a stoppage! The score cards were a worry as well!!!

Hope there is another fight between them but I don't see Froch being up for that.

23-11-2013, 10:48 PM

Made a idiot of himself.

23-11-2013, 11:16 PM
Im a bit pished having watched that in the pub... How was that stopped? I had Groves on points by a long way yet one bad round and it was stopped?

I said before the fight that Froch had the experience, George had the youth yet Forch got one good round and won. Groves looked like he could have fought on and recovered.

My opinion but that was a disgrace.

23-11-2013, 11:22 PM
What did froch say to appear a bit of a bellend?

24-11-2013, 02:50 AM
It wasn't even one bad round, it was a bad 5 seconds. Froch went on to say the ref was right to stop it because he'd had a free shot. This after he'd been knocked down cleanly in the first round. Poor poor decision.

24-11-2013, 02:56 AM
Very close to a stitch up.

24-11-2013, 12:02 PM
very poor decision, has rematch written allover it, groves is on the way up while froch is fighting on borrowed time.

24-11-2013, 12:19 PM
Should have let him fight on. As Halling says, screams rematch, All a bit showbiz.

I was watching it in The Horseshoe in Glasgow, that was the first thing I said to my old man when the ref stopped the fight.

24-11-2013, 12:20 PM
very poor decision, has rematch written allover it, groves is on the way up while froch is fighting on borrowed time.

Might that be the very reason a rematch is unlikely?

Froch probably got a bit of a fright last night and I don't think he'd want to give Groves a shot to beat him.

24-11-2013, 01:44 PM
Just watched it back and still stunned by the stoppage.

Groves was in trouble no doubt, he took 3 very big shots quickly. He was still trying to fight back though (probably the wrong thing to do as grabbing hold, covering up or even taking a knee might have been better options). When Foster actually stopped the fight Groves had actually got himself off the ropes and was moving away from Froch, the idea that Froch had a chance to throw a punch that 'could have killed him' is ridiculous. Groves may have gone down but it's a world title fight and he deserved another 30 seconds to try and regain composure. It's worth looking at how hurt Froch was in round 1, the camera angle where you can see his eyes is scary as he was close to being out on his feet. He got knowcked down near the centre of the ring and ended up in the corner when he stood up, not because he was told to go there but because he stumbled badly and the ropes held him up. I've seen fights stopped for far less and Froch was way more hurt than Groves was later on.

How 2 judges had that at only 1 point up for Groves screams fix to me. Froch was starting to come on strong, he always does, but he should have had a mountain to climb.

The post fight interviews made Froch seem a bit of a dick as well. Groves showed plenty respect whilst making it clear he was unhappy. Froch defended the indefensible, claimed he was the better fighter (last night) and bitched and moaner about Groves lack of respect in the build up. Of course Groves showed a lack if respect in the build up, sometimes a young challenger has to so they are noticed and given chances. Froch is a ****ing hypocrite anyway because he chased Joe Calzaghe all over the world goading and taunting him and said things far worse than Groves ever said. He was a hell of a lot older than Groves when he was doing that as well.

I liked Froch but after last night i hope he does fight Andre Ward again because getting his erse handed to him again might teach him a bit humility.

24-11-2013, 06:21 PM
I think all these dodgy decisions in boxing are starting to affect its credibility, if its not silly stoppages it's bad judging. I had groves at 11/4 and I was counting my money before that clown stopped it.