View Full Version : New Hibs Manager

Pages : 1 [2]

oramhibee
02-11-2013, 09:25 AM
Ian Holloway? Won play offs with Blackpool AND Crystal Palace, I recon he could give us a top 4 finish. (Just an idea)

Auckland Hibs
02-11-2013, 09:33 AM
Ian Holloway? Won play offs with Blackpool AND Crystal Palace, I recon he could give us a top 4 finish. (Just an idea)

10/10 :not worth

Black Kyle
02-11-2013, 09:42 AM
Appointment to:

Steady the ship - Mowbray, McLeish, Levein, Shiels, Irvine, Weir
Be controversial - Di Canio
Save the ££ - Murray, Hartley
Take the club forward - Holloway, Burley

02-11-2013, 09:51 AM
Marty, I think we should go for the Malmo manager. Had them playing fast, wide and they looked to pass forward run with the ball and interested. Imagine the players / contacts he would have.

Not only that but I think the crowds would come back to Easter Road to watch this style of play. GGTTH

You seriously think Rikard Norling would leave Malmo to manage us?

We have to be realistic with the targets.

02-11-2013, 10:06 AM
Butcher being linked on the daily record

norwayhibs
02-11-2013, 10:10 AM
You seriously think Rikard Norling would leave Malmo to manage us?

We have to be realistic with the targets.

I think Malmų have said that his contract is not getting renewed, so he will be available, that said , would he come to Easter road. I very much doubt it.

02-11-2013, 10:13 AM
Definitely time for General Zod Petrie to come down from the boardroom to the dugout.

londonhibby
02-11-2013, 10:17 AM
I know I've posted this on other threads, but I think Paulo Sergio would be worth a punt. Plays a good open style of attacking football, knows the Scottish scene from his time with the Yams, is a free agent, and is not out of our league as far as finance is concerned. It would piss them off no end too :na na:

02-11-2013, 10:23 AM
List of current Scottish league managers - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Scottish_Professional_Football_League_mana gers

List of current English league managers - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_English_Football_League_managers

02-11-2013, 10:24 AM

Yes, took bunches of underachievers, played the loan market well and got them promoted with his 'we'll score more than you' football. Great to watch:thumbsup: Did better in the prem with Blackpool than with Palace, he seemed to have lost a bit of his passion this season?
Don't think he would come to Scotland/Hibs, he'll be looking for a Championship job and more money than we will be offering, but you don't know unless you ask!!

seven nowt
02-11-2013, 10:24 AM
Tony Mowbray got my vote.

Other than that, I would take McLeish, Kenny Sheils or Butcher. Would be delighted with any of these.

02-11-2013, 10:29 AM
Could we give Mjallby his first head role within a club plenty knowledge of the scottish game, worked under some good management excluding present company. might not want to leave Celtic however

02-11-2013, 10:33 AM

Folk are living in La-La Land if they think that, having just left an EPL club and having a record of getting unlikely clubs promoted to the EPL, there's even the remotest chance of Holloway coming to a mid-table SPL club with a dictatorial chairman.

02-11-2013, 10:35 AM
Yes, took bunches of underachievers, played the loan market well and got them promoted with his 'we'll score more than you' football. Great to watch:thumbsup: Did better in the prem with Blackpool than with Palace, he seemed to have lost a bit of his passion this season?
Don't think he would come to Scotland/Hibs, he'll be looking for a Championship job and more money than we will be offering, but you don't know unless you ask!!

I wonder if Hibs will headhunt someone or just select from the applications received.

I can't see Holloway / Paulo Sergio / Malmo coach / Di Canio / Terry Butcher / Mowbray coming to ER.

londonhibby
02-11-2013, 10:36 AM
Terry Butcher down to 6/4 on Skybet now and the Caley fans a getting a little squeaky on their forums ...

02-11-2013, 10:41 AM
While we all want stability and a long term solution - if a manager comes in - improves our results / gets better results against the yams / makes us finish higher up table etc then moves onto bigger things then fine. While not ideal at least we will see quality hopefully on the pitch.

Similar to a loan of a player - if they are decent like LG and add to the team then why not.

The key is to get a structure in place - like Swansea have - doesn't matter the manager - they keep to same club philosophy and when change is made the effect is minor.

02-11-2013, 10:46 AM
Although he loves Inverness and living up there, one of the things Butcher HAS expressed frustration with in the past about his time at Inverness, is the fact that he has achieved great things with the team but still can't persuade enough fans to come and fill the stadium. I'm sure that woyldn't be a frustration at ER if he got us playing football again. I think he would be good for us, but I'd be wary of him jumping ship to the huns though.

02-11-2013, 11:01 AM

He will get one at hertz

Gordy M
02-11-2013, 11:02 AM
Butcher previously lived in the central belt, stirling, and had other businesses down here so i dont think the geography would be an issue. I also think hibs are a much bigger and better job than ict albeit he will be held to a much higher standard. My only niggling worry with him is that apart from the last two years with ict, he has been v v poor at other clubs. I think he has been sacked from pretty much every other job. I hope its not the usual he is doing well at the moment, lets get him in. Ive seen it before with folk wanting old pa broon when he had a good start with aberdeen!! As someone said before he may just suit ict, his history would tend to suggest that.

Id rather we went for someone from scandanavia/germany/spain who is up and coming, maybe from lower divisions, and isnt part of the usual names etc.

02-11-2013, 11:11 AM
Its a funny thing about managers and clubs - if you listen to the media, you would think that Aberdeen, St Johnstone and Inverness are regularly competing in the top echelons of European fitba, as well as winning trophy after trophy - neither of which is remotely true (although I hope one of them wins the league cup this season !).

But this is where the whole 'managerial / fans expectation' thing kicks in. I reckon that after so many *****y managers / teams, we are perhaps more demanding than most - as noted above, these clubs keep getting told they are magic, but win hee haw - whereas we keep getting told by the media we are crap (which we are) and equally win hee haw.

But we have managed to win a trophy in the last 10 years, and have reached a lot of semis and finals - that must tell prospective candidates something surely?

Any manager looking in must think that with the right staff, setup and backing - he could really take hibs somewhere special while (crucially for most of us) playing attractive football.

So, I am slightly unsure who this person is - but I suspect it is someone reasonably intelligent, and not one of the run of the mill SPFL managers we have heard about in the last 24 hours.

I really hope Petrie doesnt go 'Safe' on this appointment.

Gordy M
02-11-2013, 11:14 AM
Its a funny thing about managers and clubs - if you listen to the media, you would think that Aberdeen, St Johnstone and Inverness are regularly competing in the top echelons of European fitba, as well as winning trophy after trophy - neither of which is remotely true (although I hope one of them wins the league cup this season !).

But this is where the whole 'managerial / fans expectation' thing kicks in. I reckon that after so many *****y managers / teams, we are perhaps more demanding than most - as noted above, these clubs keep getting told they are magic, but win hee haw - whereas we keep getting told by the media we are crap (which we are) and equally win hee haw.

But we have managed to win a trophy in the last 10 years, and have reached a lot of semis and finals - that must tell prospective candidates something surely?

Any manager looking in must think that with the right staff, setup and backing - he could really take hibs somewhere special while (crucially for most of us) playing attractive football.

So, I am slightly unsure who this person is - but I suspect it is someone reasonably intelligent, and not one of the run of the mill SPFL managers we have heard about in the last 24 hours.

I really hope Petrie doesnt go 'Safe' on this appointment.

100% mate, agree with that. I think the foundations are there, just need the right manager to take us forward. Simple!!

oramhibee
02-11-2013, 11:46 AM
Folk are living in La-La Land if they think that, having just left an EPL club and having a record of getting unlikely clubs promoted to the EPL, there's even the remotest chance of Holloway coming to a mid-table SPL club with a dictatorial chairman.

Yeah maybe you're right- tbh I can't even see him managing Celtic (if Lennon was to quit/get the sack)

02-11-2013, 12:12 PM

From the info I get from Palace I don't think IH will be looking to manage another club for some time yet. I don't want to say too much but he's not in a great place at the moment.

02-11-2013, 12:15 PM

Ha ha you've never met the Blackpool chairman then Beefy, makes Petrie look like Santa! Holloway went to Blackpool when they were relegation favourites to League 1 on very little money. Admittedly his stock was a lot lower than it is now having made a pigs ear of the Leicester job.

02-11-2013, 12:17 PM
From the info I get from Palace I don't think IH will be looking to manage another club for some time yet. I don't want to say too much but he's not in a great place at the moment.

Yes so it might seem, as I said I'm my previous post seemed to have lost his enthusiasm at Palace?

hibseleven
02-11-2013, 12:27 PM
This next appointment is crucial but there is no rush. We have a more than capable caretaker manager. Lets take our time and get it 100% bang on Hibs!!!

02-11-2013, 12:46 PM
wee gogs strachan :)

02-11-2013, 12:51 PM
If we were to get Butcher (or McCall), I'd hope we give them a long term (I'm talking in the region of 4 years) contract, to protect ourselves against hunnish advances in a year or two.

02-11-2013, 12:52 PM
If we were to get Butcher (or McCall), I'd hope we give them a long term (I'm talking in the region of 4 years) contract, to protect ourselves against hunnish advances in a year or two.

or, harder to get rid off

02-11-2013, 01:18 PM
Sportsound throwing they're speculation into the mix. Richard Gordon saying Peter Grant personal situation would mean he'd jump at the chance, MON's contract up shortly.

Chick understands Butcher fav and would jump at the chance.

02-11-2013, 01:22 PM
Sportsound throwing they're speculation into the mix. Richard Gordon saying Peter Grant personal situation would mean he'd jump at the chance, MON's contract up shortly.

Chick understands Butcher fav and would jump at the chance.

As I said on the thread I started last week about Peter Grant. Apparently he's defo wanting the Hibs job when it's free. Now that it is he's going for it! He thinks the same as Mowbray in the football is played on the floor.

I'm not saying I personally want him as I don't know how it would work but he's defo in for it.

02-11-2013, 01:25 PM
As I said on the thread I started last week about Peter Grant. Apparently he's defo wanting the Hibs job when it's free. Now that it is he's going for it! He thinks the same as Mowbray in the football is played on the floor.

I'm not saying I personally want him as I don't know how it would work but he's defo in for it.

The board seemingly meeting tomorrow.

02-11-2013, 01:50 PM
The epitaph to Pats' time in charge seems to be that he has sorted out all the background noise and off the field bad practices that were deemed to be holding us back. The benefit of that may take a while to drip through and so isn't as easily measured as success on the pitch and perhaps dismissed. Does that mean that Pat was spread too thin? Who will make sure it doesn't spiral out of control again? Should the new manager make sure that this is not in his remit but make sure that it is in someone's?

02-11-2013, 01:52 PM
Would rather a double act of riordan and oconnor to be manager over some of the names being said!

cad
02-11-2013, 02:02 PM
I cringe when I hear Peter Grant, and Jimmy Calderwood touted for the Hibs job ,Butcher and Malpas not Butcher himself ,McInnes ,McCall ,Macnamara are enjoying themselves why would they come the guy who comes next better have a bit of self belief a plan A, B, and C, have a gun and shoot any ****er thinking of playing hoofball if he can get the hoodoo that the Yams seem to have over us gone all the better ,the only guy I can think off anywhere near the standards I require is Jesus so seeing hes not available Im getting ready for more dross ,I don't think the board have a clue about the football side investment finance property sure , as for motivation entertainment dare I say it excitement Easter Roads is not the place.
As a few have posted places like Malmo , Moribor and such is where we should be looking

02-11-2013, 02:04 PM
I didn't like Peter Grant as a player but he has plenty experience in coaching at the top level.

His main managerial post was at Norwich and I don't think his signings really worked out there.

02-11-2013, 02:05 PM
Yes so it might seem, as I said I'm my previous post seemed to have lost his enthusiasm at Palace?

Theres a bit more than that to it but that's close enough for now. I have a good contact inside Palace so his departure wasn't a surprise but I haven't spoken since he went.

02-11-2013, 02:09 PM
Someone from outside the usual scottish goldfish bowl please. Someone 'forrun' with a penchant for smart suits, passing football and maybe extravagant facial hair :agree:

02-11-2013, 02:10 PM
latest skybet odds, obviously just picking random names out the air

Next Permanent Manager
Kenny Shiels 5/4
Terry Butcher 7/4
Peter Grant 10/1
Billy Reid 33/2
Alex McLeish 33/2
Jim Duffy 20/1
Jim Jefferies 20/1
Jimmy Nicholl 20/1
Michael O'Neill 20/1
Nigel Spackman 20/1
Derek Adams 20/1
Neil Warnock 20/1
Stuart McCall 20/1
Roy Keane 50/1
Alan Maybury 50/1
Steven Pressley 50/1
Steve Lomas 50/1
Walter Smith 50/1
Steve Cotterill 50/1
Owen Coyle 50/1
Paolo Di Canio 50/1
Alex Ferguson 100/1

02-11-2013, 02:11 PM
Di Canio would be amusing :agree:

02-11-2013, 02:14 PM
Di Canio would be amusing :agree:

Aye, for everyone else in the SPL.

I wouldn't want that trumpet anywhere near us. Absolute bombscare.

02-11-2013, 02:17 PM
latest skybet odds, obviously just picking random names out the air

Next Permanent Manager
Kenny Shiels 5/4
Terry Butcher 7/4
Peter Grant 10/1
Billy Reid 33/2
Alex McLeish 33/2
Jim Duffy 20/1
Jim Jefferies 20/1
Jimmy Nicholl 20/1
Michael O'Neill 20/1
Nigel Spackman 20/1
Derek Adams 20/1
Neil Warnock 20/1
Stuart McCall 20/1
Roy Keane 50/1
Alan Maybury 50/1
Steven Pressley 50/1
Steve Lomas 50/1
Walter Smith 50/1
Steve Cotterill 50/1
Owen Coyle 50/1
Paolo Di Canio 50/1
Alex Ferguson 100/1

Duff Jimmy the same price as Stuart McCall.....speechless!

02-11-2013, 02:17 PM

While the rangers are winning why would they replace sally????

K-Zazu
02-11-2013, 02:40 PM
AA has impressed

02-11-2013, 02:51 PM
AA has impressed

Who?

K-Zazu
02-11-2013, 03:01 PM
Partick manager . His to lose

02-11-2013, 03:25 PM
Partick manager . His to lose

His to lose? The guy who has only been a manager for 10 months and inherited a fairly decent team? Even Colin Calderwood would have struggled to **** that situation up in 10 months.

Purple & Green
02-11-2013, 03:33 PM

There's some articles on what supposedly happened, it sounds like carnage and a lot of unmanageable prima donnas. The Hibs job probably isn't for him, then.

02-11-2013, 05:10 PM
I see Ian McParland (youth coach at Notts Forrest) gets a mention again in the Evening News. Hewas rumoured several managers ago...

A possibility?

02-11-2013, 05:33 PM
Hope it's not Butcher. He's failed at everywhere he's gone, till he found a niche for himself at ICT. He's had them punching above their weight, and it's a good fit there, but the expectations are low. He'd be crazy to leave his life in the Highlands to come here, where I suspect he'd fail big time.

02-11-2013, 05:49 PM
Hope it's not Butcher. He's failed at everywhere he's gone, till he found a niche for himself at ICT. He's had them punching above their weight, and it's a good fit there, but the expectations are low. He'd be crazy to leave his life in the Highlands to come here, where I suspect he'd fail big time.

they have finished well above us since the came back into the spl, so I would probably settle for three + years of punching above our weight. Albeit I do think he would be taking a risk leaving ICT given how well they are doing, and how safe his job is to come to hibs. That said, he is in a pretty strong position to be negotiating quite a reasonable length contract and the security that comes with it. Biggest factor will be whether or not he fancies a shoot at a league down south.

02-11-2013, 06:01 PM

Ah, DBS, probably 1st time I've ever disagreed with you but I've wanted TB in since 2004. At that time he was commenting on C5 & he covered both our LC wins against the ugly sisters. I was hugely impressed not just with his analysis but also his knowledge of all things Hibs. For the game against Celtc I put some of that down to his Oldco history but he was equally insightful & almost spoke of Hibs with affection in the semi vs his old team. I agree his prior track record was chequered, but realistically, who's isn't? Apart from his stunning record with ICT he brings us his status as a hugely respected international footballer but mostly I want him to bring back passion to our club. I'm fed up with tramps like Lennon & smug plums like Levein & the media denigrating our club. I want to see our manager promoting Hibs & snarling at those who attack us. I can think of no one better than TB to do that, oh & we won't have any disciplinary problems either!

02-11-2013, 06:03 PM
Ah, DBS, probably 1st time I've ever disagreed with you but I've wanted TB in since 2004. At that time he was commenting on C5 & he covered both our LC wins against the ugly sisters. I was hugely impressed not just with his analysis but also his knowledge of all things Hibs. For the game against Celtc I put some of that down to his Oldco history but he was equally insightful & almost spoke of Hibs with affection in the semi vs his old team. I agree his prior track record was chequered, but realistically, who's isn't? Apart from his stunning record with ICT he brings us his status as a hugely respected international footballer but mostly I want him to bring back passion to our club. I'm fed up with tramps like Lennon & smug plums like Levein & the media denigrating our club. I want to see our manager promoting Hibs & snarling at those who attack us. I can think of no one better than TB to do that, oh & we won't have any disciplinary problems either!

PS, I was told at least 3 years ago that he was extremely keen on the job at ER, I can't imagine that's changed.

02-11-2013, 06:22 PM

Unfortunately he wouldnt get away with getting relegated at Hibs as he has at ICT.

02-11-2013, 06:48 PM
Butcher distances himself from the job-but not to much, i think the important words are "at this moment in time" make your own minds up.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24791652

02-11-2013, 06:57 PM
Butcher distances himself from the job-but not to much, i think the important words are "at this moment in time" make your own minds up.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24791652

Ah but has he mentioned bags of sweeties yet?

JustSimplyHibs
02-11-2013, 09:59 PM
Been thinking about out the box managers...

how about Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, currently managing Norway side Molde.

02-11-2013, 10:06 PM
Unfortunately he wouldnt get away with getting relegated at Hibs as he has at ICT.

Yes he would, the circumstances with TB at ICT were almost identical to McLeish at ER when he got relegated. He was only in charge for last 4 months when they were relegated, with highest points total for a bottom team. He brought them straight back up & we all know what's happened since.
His record at ICT is outstanding.

Purple & Green
03-11-2013, 12:12 AM
Yes he would, the circumstances with TB at ICT were almost identical to McLeish at ER when he got relegated. He was only in charge for last 4 months when they were relegated, with highest points total for a bottom team. He brought them straight back up & we all know what's happened since.
His record at ICT is outstanding.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Inverness_Caledonian_Thistle_F.C._seasons

I wouldn't say his record is outstanding - relegated, promoted, 10th, 7th, 4th. He simply wouldn't get that time at ER to achieve a top 6th finish

03-11-2013, 01:47 AM
Butcher. But it won't happen. He has too much common sense.

Just heard Butcher has turned down a new contract at ICT ...... Get in there Rod !!!!

Don't shoot the messenger but apparently we approached and spoke to Butcher last time around and a deal was in place until we moved the goal posts and went for Fenlon instead. If true, which I'm led to believe it is he might not like being messed about and will tell us to go jump this time around.

Out of all those named, the only realistic option is Shiels

But it won't be because Petrie does not have the bottle to go for someone who will stand up to him.

:no way:

Don't know why folk think the two couldn't work together as they both actually have a great relationship with each other from Deano's time at ER.

03-11-2013, 06:28 AM
Was Phil Brown not touting himself around Scotland recently. Not really who I would fancy but would be something different. Him and Allardyce were one of the first to really utilise stats etc.

Paperboy
03-11-2013, 07:54 AM
What about Fergies old assistant Rene Meulensteen?

03-11-2013, 03:40 PM

I wouldn't say his record is outstanding - relegated, promoted, 10th, 7th, 4th. He simply wouldn't get that time at ER to achieve a top 6th finish

You don't think that's outstanding? His 1st season was only 4 months, just like McLeish with us, he couldn't prevent relegation. He then gained promotion in his 1st full season & they've improved every season since, currently 2nd in league. Remember this is ICT, a Highland League team not that long ago, a small support & no money & he takes players we've never heard of & turns them into internationalists & top scorers in the league! If at ER he can punch above his weight only 50% of what he did at ICT we'll be competing at the top end of the table at last.

03-11-2013, 03:45 PM
You don't think that's outstanding? His 1st season was only 4 months, just like McLeish with us, he couldn't prevent relegation. He then gained promotion in his 1st full season & they've improved every season since, currently 2nd in league. Remember this is ICT, a Highland League team not that long ago, a small support & no money & he takes players we've never heard of & turns them into internationalists & top scorers in the league! If at ER he can punch above his weight only 50% of what he did at ICT we'll be competing at the top end of the table at last.

Massive factor in his favour would be his internatinal reputation and contacts which would undoubtedly give us the chance to sign a better standard of player from a wider network.

03-11-2013, 03:48 PM

He's saving all his love for Renata

03-11-2013, 03:55 PM
He's saving all his love for Renata

He's that fast young Brazilian at West Brom right?

03-11-2013, 03:58 PM
Was Phil Brown not touting himself around Scotland recently. Not really who I would fancy but would be something different. Him and Allardyce were one of the first to really utilise stats etc.

He's at Southend

patch1875
03-11-2013, 04:04 PM

I will say this only once, don't think he will come

03-11-2013, 04:06 PM
I will say this only once, don't think he will come

Quality. Especially since we've just done with the Fenlon Madonna with the big b00bies.

03-11-2013, 04:13 PM

No, Andy was first. :wink:

03-11-2013, 04:13 PM
Didn't Verry Butchun destroy Hibs property when he was trying to relegate Motherwell?

03-11-2013, 04:38 PM
Didn't Verry Butchun destroy Hibs property when he was trying to relegate Motherwell?

Yep kicked a door off its hinges

03-11-2013, 04:44 PM
That's the kind of passion we want to see from a Hibs Manager. Might be worth splashing out on metal door guards though...

03-11-2013, 04:53 PM

Really? Alex McLeish fared pretty well in similar circumstances IIRC.

ie Hibs were in a relegation battle when McLeish took over at ER and he was allowed to rebuild in the first Division after failing to beat the drop - exactly the same situ when Butcher took over at ICT I think you'll find.

I've been amazed by the amount of naysayers on here BTW (sometimes I feel there are no ends to my capacity to be amazed by .netters). Not only about Butcher himself (former international captain with 77 caps who was at 3 WC finals FFS - as a manager currently has his relatively tiny club ripping us for erse paper - still not good enough for many Hibees though :rolleyes:) but also about our own club and our chances of landing him. We are playing host to some potential world champions at talking our club down on here - thank ****** none of them have the task of selling the club to potential managers.

03-11-2013, 04:59 PM

You wouldn't?!? I think certain clubs with arguably bigger supports than ICT such as Dunfermline, Falkirk and Dundee would all eagerly swap that record - not to mention a certain Hibernian FC for the last few seasons anyway!

03-11-2013, 05:01 PM
Canny vote but i want kenny shiels

03-11-2013, 05:22 PM
On paper Butcher seems the obvious choice and he has worked wonders at ICT but I just wonder if he would have the same success faced with the higher expectation levels at Hibs. He is obviously settled in Inverness and the club suits him . I am concerned that if he is asked he may turn it down which puts added pressure on the eventual 2nd choice.
Just as Butcher is comfortable at Inverness I wonder if Mowbray is the man for us. I know he has struggled on his travels but this might be his natural home. How about a more active role for Boozy in some new management team.

Purple & Green
03-11-2013, 05:43 PM
On paper Butcher seems the obvious choice and he has worked wonders at ICT

No one has ever left Inverness and been a success elsewhere. That has me wondering, because it makes no sense.

Purple & Green
03-11-2013, 05:57 PM

ICT were an established SPL team when he took over, and my recollection is Dundee imploded to help ICT get promoted. Inverness is bigger than Kilmarnock or Motherwell - you could argue its reasonable to expect them to be in the SPL.

I'm not averse to butcher, but I think our collective perception of butcher is coloured by our appalling record against Inverness. They have been impressive this season so far, but lets not forget that on this day last season we were top of the league www.statto.com/football/teams/hibernian/2012-2013/table/2012-11-03

It's funny how quickly these things turn round.

03-11-2013, 07:05 PM
ICT were an established SPL team when he took over, and my recollection is Dundee imploded to help ICT get promoted. Inverness is bigger than Kilmarnock or Motherwell - you could argue its reasonable to expect them to be in the SPL.

I'm not averse to butcher, but I think our collective perception of butcher is coloured by our appalling record against Inverness. They have been impressive this season so far, but lets not forget that on this day last season we were top of the league www.statto.com/football/teams/hibernian/2012-2013/table/2012-11-03 (http://www.statto.com/football/teams/hibernian/2012-2013/table/2012-11-03)

Birmingham is bigger than Manchester.

03-11-2013, 08:49 PM

I'm not averse to butcher, but I think our collective perception of butcher is coloured by our appalling record against Inverness. They have been impressive this season so far, but lets not forget that on this day last season we were top of the league www.statto.com/football/teams/hibernian/2012-2013/table/2012-11-03 (http://www.statto.com/football/teams/hibernian/2012-2013/table/2012-11-03)

I agree things can change quickly & hopefully they will. I believe you're rather carping about TB's record at ICT though. You say ICT were an established SPL club. They had been there for 5 years in their history, in none of which they made the top 6 when TB took over. We can only guess at how he'll fare if he does come to ER but it's churlish to deny his success at ICT.

03-11-2013, 09:02 PM
No one has ever left Inverness and been a success elsewhere. That has me wondering, because it makes no sense.

It seems to be a place that helps team spirit. Good luck taking the Hibs squad fishing or to the chippy!

E10 Rifle
03-11-2013, 10:05 PM
Alan Archibald would be worth a shout. 50%+ win rate as a manager, decent football, might be little bit undercooked in terms of experience but if many people are seriously considering Shiels or Calderwood then this guy is a better choice for the future than either of them. One year rolling contract could be bought out relatively easily I would think.

03-11-2013, 11:02 PM
The epitaph to Pats' time in charge seems to be that he has sorted out all the background noise and off the field bad practices that were deemed to be holding us back. The benefit of that may take a while to drip through and so isn't as easily measured as success on the pitch and perhaps dismissed. Does that mean that Pat was spread too thin? Who will make sure it doesn't spiral out of control again? Should the new manager make sure that this is not in his remit but make sure that it is in someone's?

I'm in total agreement with you on that - Fenlon, Imho, deserves credit for the transformation with Leigh's 1st season with us (silly gestures/Twitter etc) and his fantastic 2nd season. The last thing we need is this 'Player-power' thing (that's haunted us since 'Collinsgate') coming back !!

Leishy1995
03-11-2013, 11:27 PM
http://m.scotsman.com/sport/football/latest/stuart-bathgate-hibs-job-is-an-alluring-prospect-1-3172104?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=dlvr.it

04-11-2013, 05:35 AM
Heard Peter Houstons name come up surprised he's never made the betting. Not saying he's my choice just somebody mentioned him to me this morning.