View Full Version : Peter Grant.

30-10-2013, 09:07 PM
Text tonight saying very strong rumour Peter Grant will defo be Hibs next manager.

Was from an agent down south. Don't shoot the messenger but I'm sticking a few bob on it.

30-10-2013, 09:08 PM
I'd rather we went for Cary Grant.

Stewboy
30-10-2013, 09:09 PM
Would rather keep Fenlon

30-10-2013, 09:09 PM
Grant Bebner?

30-10-2013, 09:10 PM
Grant Bebner?

Absolutely!! :love ya!::greengrin

Would rather have Russell Grant

Right now, I'd take Eddy Grant.

Edit: beaten to the mildly witty 'x Grant' gag. Another humiliation to end the evening in the same general theme as it started.

Hahaha, that cheered me up.

Humo
30-10-2013, 09:11 PM
Would rather keep Fenlon

I'll have what you're smoking

30-10-2013, 09:12 PM
Would rather have Grant Mitchell.

On another note does anyone follow Ian Beale on twitter. Absolutely hilarious!!!

He'd look after Uranus for you.

Rather have Grant Mitchell from Eastenders

Peter Grant ANOTHER FAILED manager

Text tonight saying very strong rumour Peter Grant will defo be Hibs next manager.

Was from an agent down south. Don't shoot the messenger but I'm sticking a few bob on it.

Please no.

30-10-2013, 09:13 PM

So unlike you to have a punt!!

You'd never have lasted till full time tonight!!

Heard you didn't get your op yesterday, hope the flu goes soon and you get another date fixed up for the op soon!!

30-10-2013, 09:13 PM
Give it to Hugh Grant.

30-10-2013, 09:16 PM
Michael Stewart was touting him for the job during one of his rants about Hibs a few weeks back.

30-10-2013, 09:16 PM
Heard Michael Stewart and Pat Nevin talking up Peter Grant in recent times

He could not be worse

30-10-2013, 09:18 PM
Another cheap option? Hardly inspiring but what do we expect?

Stewboy
I'll have what you're smoking

I think it sums it how little I would trust Grant in the gig than my desire to keep Pat

So unlike you to have a punt!!

You'd never have lasted till full time tonight!!

Heard you didn't get your op yesterday, hope the flu goes soon and you get another date fixed up for the op soon!!

Haha, I know. Hopefully I'm in soon think 4 weeks max so not to bad.

30-10-2013, 09:20 PM
Right now, I'd take Eddy Grant.

Edit: beaten to the mildly witty 'x Grant' gag. Another humiliation to end the evening in the same general theme as it started.

Eddie Murphy

30-10-2013, 09:21 PM
Leigh Griffiths as player manager

30-10-2013, 09:23 PM
Eddie Murphy

Humpty Dumpty

30-10-2013, 09:24 PM
Eddie Murphy

The punchline to Eddie Grant was the "Grant" bit.

I think you are losing the plot somewhat.

30-10-2013, 09:25 PM

Speedster thank you for my only lol moment of the evening - I applaud your indefatigability ;)

30-10-2013, 09:26 PM

God i hated him as a player

30-10-2013, 09:27 PM

You'll hate him more as Hibs manager!

30-10-2013, 09:28 PM
Grant Bebner?

Wouldnae bet on it...

30-10-2013, 09:28 PM

Why not go with an Eddie? I'll stand Eddie the Eagle.

Crossgates Hibs
30-10-2013, 09:29 PM
Would rather keep Fenlon

Hope your kidding anyone but him

30-10-2013, 09:30 PM
Just curious, what makes a rumour a very strong rumour?
I only heard about it because you said you got a text but it was already strong by that point.

Just sayin

Good question, I'm just passing on what he says in the text. Strong I'd say either he's been mouthing off thinking he's in with a chance. Or his agent has!

H13BYM
30-10-2013, 09:31 PM
Barry Grant from brookside :confused:

30-10-2013, 09:32 PM
Couldn't stand him as a player, can't stand him as a pundit and he's done nothing as a manager. No thanks

30-10-2013, 09:33 PM
Student Grant might as well get a go, cheap option though.

30-10-2013, 09:37 PM

Was it :doh:

30-10-2013, 09:55 PM

30-10-2013, 09:58 PM
I'm hoping it's his agent trying to get a gig for his boy, for PG to think he has a chance must mean there is the same chance of PF going.
Do you think the board will have been sounding out candidates already?

Seem a bit previous to be inviting interest.

It wasn't Grants agent that I got the text from just to clear that one up. I'd be surprised if the board have approached anyone to be honest. I'd think they would have an idea of guys the would interview if Pat walks or they have to fire him.

30-10-2013, 10:25 PM

Eddie Izzard should get the job.

30-10-2013, 10:25 PM

No thanks

30-10-2013, 10:30 PM
http://www.grantsplants.com

Hibby 2005
30-10-2013, 10:34 PM
I'm taking it for granted that Pat is happy taking the money and Petrie is happy to let him do so until such time there is an almighty uprising and the peoples choice comes along.

30-10-2013, 10:37 PM
Sorry, who's the peoples choice?

Leslie Grantham :agree:

Dunderhall
30-10-2013, 10:39 PM
Sorry, who's the peoples choice?
Foster Grant, just you wait and see.

30-10-2013, 10:41 PM

leithsansiro
Heard Michael Stewart and Pat Nevin talking up Peter Grant in recent times

He could not be worse

Not in a managerial capacity (as i don't think that's his bag anyway), but I'd love to have Pat Nevin at the club in some "overseeing" type role - the man talks a load of sense.

GreenOnions
I'd rather we went for Cary Grant.

Sorry but no way! It's Peter Griffin I'd take in a heartbeat

30-10-2013, 11:27 PM
Better wi PC Plum fi Balamory

30-10-2013, 11:47 PM

Edward scissorhands... Plenty of cuts to be made..... Oh dear

31-10-2013, 12:03 AM
Peter Grant dearie me, a modern bertie auld, nae thanks. Plus he's a dick.

31-10-2013, 12:08 AM
i would not like to see this man anywhere near my club, if you don't mind.

BH Hibs
31-10-2013, 12:09 AM
Grant Stott

31-10-2013, 12:10 AM
Wouldnae bet on it...

31-10-2013, 12:45 AM
It wasn't Grants agent that I got the text from just to clear that one up. I'd be surprised if the board have approached anyone to be honest. I'd think they would have an idea of guys the would interview if Pat walks or they have to fire him.
you did ........sort of, Imply, that you got this info straight from an agent's mooth so to speak. however, I have had a wee think about it and if it happens soon, my choice would be Sergey the Meerkat. I'm at the stage now that it would hardly matter who comes in.:rolleyes:

31-10-2013, 12:55 AM
Peter Grant? The guy who appointed Jim Duffy as his assistant manager when he was at Norwich City?

Really hope you're winding us up mate. :faf:

31-10-2013, 12:58 AM
My money is on Kenny Shiels as next Hibs manager, hopefully by this weekend before the well game.

31-10-2013, 01:14 AM
My money is on Kenny Shiels as next Hibs manager, hopefully by this weekend before the well game.your just hoping, so that you can go to the next home game............aye, you are, admit it:wink:

Skol
02-11-2013, 05:21 PM
Hated him as a player...if he is appointed I will have a decision to make

I would find it very hard to get behind him. Very hard

02-11-2013, 05:24 PM
Hated him as a player...if he is appointed I will have a decision to make

I would find it very hard to get behind him. Very hard

So if he gets the job you might choose not to support your team? I really don't get that. I also despised him as a player but if he is the new man, I hope he is a HUGE success!

02-11-2013, 05:25 PM
We need to get past who people played for or what they were like as a player. It's how he performs as Hibs Manager that's important. The new man will need to be given time...

Mind you, if It was Hartley, all the above goes out the window.

02-11-2013, 05:36 PM
The amount of people who have said "If x gets the job then that's it" is staggering.
It's not even as if the managers in question have really done anything wrong.

I've heard some crazy excuses for not going to games but this relatively new one takes the biscuit. I don't understand the mentality at all.

02-11-2013, 05:40 PM
I hope he does not get the job but it can't be any worse than the last 5 years

The amount of people who have said "If x gets the job then that's it" is staggering.
It's not even as if the managers in question have really done anything wrong.

I've heard some crazy excuses for not going to games but this relatively new one takes the biscuit. I don't understand the mentality at all.

I agree.

The only certainty is that whoever is subsequently appointed will not satisfy 100% of the Hibs support.

So if he gets the job you might choose not to support your team? I really don't get that. I also despised him as a player but if he is the new man, I hope he is a HUGE success! Where did he say he might not support the team? He only said it might be hard.

02-11-2013, 05:46 PM
Where did he say he might not support the team? He only said it might be hard.

"if he is appointed I will have a decision to make. I would find it very hard to get behind him. Very hard"

What decision is he going to make then?

02-11-2013, 05:49 PM
"if he is appointed I will have a decision to make. I would find it very hard to get behind him. Very hard"

What decision is he going to make then? Fair do's

02-11-2013, 05:53 PM
We need to get past who people played for or what they were like as a player. It's how he performs as Hibs Manager that's important. The new man will need to be given time...

Mind you, if It was Hartley, all the above goes out the window.or Potter :greengrin he might reccommend himself this time.

The Tubs
02-11-2013, 05:53 PM
I hope he does not get the job but it can't be any worse than the last 5 years

Be careful with what you say. If I've learnt anything from supporting Hibs, it is that we have a habit of finding depths we didn't think possible to reach.

02-11-2013, 05:59 PM
I wouldn't mind Hartley who has done well with Alloa.. He'd have a bit of explaining to do! I'm old enough to remember a cracking goal he scored for Hibs at ER v Dunf.

02-11-2013, 06:50 PM
or Potter :greengrin he might reccommend himself this time.

I think if Levein got the job he would certainly unite the fans!

02-11-2013, 06:51 PM
or Potter :greengrin he might reccommend himself this time.

Yes, him too!

:-)

02-11-2013, 06:53 PM
What price is he?

03-11-2013, 12:45 AM
Peter Grant :confused:. He can folk right off as far as I'm concerned :no way:.

ManBearPig
03-11-2013, 06:26 AM
He worked with venus and Mowbray at west brom and hardly a failure as a manager. He will see hibs as a springboard. I say it could be worse.

03-11-2013, 07:01 AM
Wouldn't have been my first choice but the fact he was a prick as a player is neither here nor there.

I imagine petrie would consult Mowbray if we were interested and I'm sure he wouldn't recommend or work with some hoofball merchant.

03-11-2013, 07:02 AM
God no.

03-11-2013, 07:12 AM
God no.

Why?

03-11-2013, 07:13 AM
Why?

Because i believe that there are much better candidates out there.Let him cut his teeth somewhere else

03-11-2013, 07:19 AM
Because i believe that there are much better candidates out there.Let him cut his teeth somewhere else

Fair do's.

I've no idea if he's any good or not but Im pretty open minded about getting someone like him with limited experience as a manager.

JollyGreenGiant
03-11-2013, 07:25 AM
The thing is, we watch football and usually have dislikes for opposition players and teams. we can't just forget how they treated our club/fans as a player.

For me if any of these people get the job, then they start off with a percentage of the support ready to give them abuse if results are poor.

Paul Hartley
Craig Levein
Peter Grant
Steven Pressley

I still think Maybury is unnecessary identified as the scapegoat because of his Yam past.

However, no matter who the board appoint, they will get my full backing, at least for a couple of weeks:wink:

03-11-2013, 07:47 AM
Just read Peter Grants Wiki page, entitled 'Management and Coaching career'. Totally uninspiring :yawn:

03-11-2013, 09:06 AM
No thanks, there are plenty options who aren't Peter Grant.

03-11-2013, 09:26 AM
For me, Grant is a managerial coattail Charlie living off the crumbs of others. He rarely gets a seat at the table but on the occasion he DID get one, he could'nt hack it. I accept that you've got to start somewhere on the managerial ladder but there are some who are destined to stay on the bottom rung.

jakeshibs
03-11-2013, 09:58 AM

WTF, why would we want him? I hope this is not true!

03-11-2013, 10:49 AM
The thing is, we watch football and usually have dislikes for opposition players and teams. we can't just forget how they treated our club/fans as a player.

For me if any of these people get the job, then they start off with a percentage of the support ready to give them abuse if results are poor.

Paul Hartley
Craig Levein
Peter Grant
Steven Pressley

I still think Maybury is unnecessary identified as the scapegoat because of his Yam past.

However, no matter who the board appoint, they will get my full backing, at least for a couple of weeks:wink:

If the board appoint levein, I'll happily take up the gowf and never darken a turnstile at ER again.

I don't like the man, his football 'ethos', nor his allegiances.

03-11-2013, 10:57 AM
There is no danger Levein will be anywhere near that job. Even if we did approach him (which we never will) he'd never accept the job.

03-11-2013, 11:06 AM
There is no danger Levein will be anywhere near that job. Even if we did approach him (which we never will) he'd never accept the job.Still he might be able tae hand out some good advice though on who the next manager should be. :agree:

03-11-2013, 12:09 PM
Still he might be able tae hand out some good advice though on who the next manager should be. :agree:

Aye, whoever he recommends, we take off the list!

:-)

03-11-2013, 12:31 PM
BT Sport firing him into the frame again. When I first posted it the odds were 30/1 he's now at 5's. If Butcher doesn't get it I think Grant will.

03-11-2013, 12:33 PM
BT Sport firing him into the frame again. When I first posted it the odds were 30/1 he's now at 5's. If Butcher doesn't get it I think Grant will.

Would seem a section of fans wouldn't be happy with him, but nothing to do with his football philosophy (which I don't know what it is). If he's a 'football was meant roll' type, I'd be happy!

03-11-2013, 12:42 PM
Peter Grant could be a Mowbray or a disaster, for me the time is now to bring in a manager/leader with a proven CV so its all on him for failure a CV that suggests he will do well, who that is I do not know but I want to say yeah this guy fails its 100% on him as not a risk on paper.

03-11-2013, 12:50 PM
Would seem a section of fans wouldn't be happy with him, but nothing to do with his football philosophy (which I don't know what it is). If he's a 'football was meant roll' type, I'd be happy!

He thinks like Mowbray in that the ball should be on the deck. No idea if he'd be any good but if he got us playing well and getting results I wouldn't mind.

03-11-2013, 04:00 PM
Would be an utterly woeful appointment. IMO