View Full Version : Goodbye James McPake

30-10-2013, 08:08 PM
And don't bother picking him again...whoever the manager is...

30-10-2013, 08:10 PM
Sold the game. Shambles of a header for their goal. What was he thinking with that challenge? I think he bottled it personally and wanted out.

Get forster in and keep him in.

30-10-2013, 08:12 PM
agreed. captain Mistake, sorry McPake.

season just about ended for hibs now. Don't even think SC. And extremely lucky if we finish top 6 in the weakest Premier league EVER.

Well done Farmer and Petrie. Genius stuff!!!

30-10-2013, 08:13 PM
It was bound to happen one week the way he just recklessly chucks himself into challenges, it's like he does it for show!

30-10-2013, 08:15 PM
Sold the game. Shambles of a header for their goal. What was he thinking with that challenge? I think he bottled it personally and wanted out.

Get forster in and keep him in.

agreed. If hearts can blood youngsters now, so can we. All we have now, realistically, is a hopeful top 6 finish. Get him in. Get Mistake Mcpake out. Totally unreliable and little skill.

30-10-2013, 08:15 PM
Steady with the hatred Ffs.

30-10-2013, 08:16 PM
He has zero pace and zero positional sense, looks like hero stuff but will always get the team into trouble

Apart from 2 critical moments I thought he played well

EH6 Hibby
30-10-2013, 08:19 PM

Did you watch the game? I don't blame any one player, but that display was awful.

30-10-2013, 08:19 PM
Would prefer to see Forster in at centre half

erskine-hibby
30-10-2013, 08:20 PM
Sold us down the the river I'm afraid.

30-10-2013, 08:21 PM
Did you watch the game? I don't blame any one player, but that display was awful.

Is this a serious question ? Did I watch the ***** match ?

30-10-2013, 08:22 PM
He is a slightly less than average footballer at best and he always has been. Hibs would be a better club without him and fenlon - unfortunately that equates to a club without a captain and a manager, a sad reflection of the state we are in.

Greenblood70
30-10-2013, 08:26 PM
He is a slightly less than average footballer at best and he always has been. Hibs would be a better club without him and fenlon - unfortunately that equates to a club without a captain and a manager, a sad reflection of the state we are in.

This 100%.

30-10-2013, 08:29 PM
At fault for the goal then a stupid challenge to get sent off.

Might just about be Sunday league class.

EH6 Hibby
30-10-2013, 08:29 PM
Is this a serious question ? Did I watch the ***** match ?

Of course it's a serious question. We have just thrown yet another game against our biggest rivals and you are questioning why people aren't happy with certain players.

30-10-2013, 08:30 PM
Of course it's a serious question. We have just thrown yet another game against our biggest rivals and you are questioning why people aren't happy with certain players.

Where am I questioning that ? Show me the post .

He's finished. Has been for a long time.

totally agree.

Every time I've heard him speak I don't get any confidence from him whatsoever.

We need a HIBERNIAN captain.

Someone who knows. Who WANTS.

Collins too? Don't get me started. The laddie isn't good enough.

30-10-2013, 08:31 PM

No hatred from me. He's just crap plain and simple. Mouthing off as well on the way off. Keep walking James wouldn't put you in my 7's team never mind a Hibs team.

30-10-2013, 08:32 PM
Just showed how much we missed Nelson tonite

30-10-2013, 08:32 PM

Thats exactly what we need

A NEW manager and captain

He's more like Captain Chaos than a Hibernian captain :rolleyes:

30-10-2013, 08:36 PM

Agreed

McKenzie
30-10-2013, 08:41 PM
Has been living off the good spell he had when on loan here. Since then he has been found out time and again for being the hopeless defender he truly is.

deekster
30-10-2013, 08:42 PM

Agree

30-10-2013, 08:43 PM

Agreed. McPake's not the problem. Even Vine isn't the problem.

EH6 Hibby
30-10-2013, 08:44 PM
Where am I questioning that ? Show me the post .

You said steady with the hatred. What else was that supposed to mean? It's not like the comments were out of order.

mcculloch1875
30-10-2013, 08:44 PM
Fenlon may as well play Forster for experience, this season is already done we're not going to win anything and doubt we'll get relegated lets start building with youth

30-10-2013, 08:56 PM

He spends most of the game on his arse... some people call that defending. Its not. He's a bomb scare.

30-10-2013, 08:56 PM
Right from the first time I saw him play after he signed I have said he is NOT A PREMIERSHIP C/H
Yet again he has shown that he is out of his depth

For every decent tackle he makes he commits two errors

As someone has already posted the header he made to set up the goal was straight out of an Edinburgh Amateurs Fifth Division game ( no disrespect to them by the way ) at Inverleith Park :rolleyes:

bebop64
30-10-2013, 09:07 PM
Gotta say after tonight's performance. He not fit to be our captain. He's an embarrassment. :ggr:

30-10-2013, 09:09 PM
James MiStake. Only a matter of time til he makes a howler. Master of the pass back to the Keeper.

bebop64
30-10-2013, 09:13 PM
If he was honest with himself he'd hang up,his shirt. Doesn't even look fit to wear the Green. Taxi for mcpake.

30-10-2013, 09:29 PM
Bomb. Scare.

gorgie greens
30-10-2013, 09:46 PM
our defence has been rock solid till captain calamity comes back,dives in to many times and causes our team more problems than the other teams forwards do

gussyboy
30-10-2013, 09:50 PM
Get him to f#ck, not good enough. Cost us too many goals, gave away most in the cup final

30-10-2013, 09:55 PM
He needs to go just not good enough. He sold the game with a poor header then beat Thompson to get sent off.

GoldenMeerkat
30-10-2013, 10:01 PM
That knob Jamie Hamill made a similar challenge after the Hanlon header which hits the post.

30-10-2013, 10:03 PM
McPake is the Jambo's bitch. The space he gave them in the 5-1 game and tonight takes him above Zibi in the Jambo hero stakes. New manager has to get rid.

EastCalderHibby
30-10-2013, 10:10 PM

thought BEN was captian

gaz1875
30-10-2013, 10:11 PM
That knob Jamie Hamill made a similar challenge after the Hanlon header which hits the post.

Spot on if McPakes was a straight red so should Hamils and a penalty to boot!!

30-10-2013, 10:14 PM

Robertson went in hard with the shot on that, he should have just nudged it past Hamill and taken the penalty instead of trying to rattle it. Convinced if Robertson hadn't battled him for it we would have had a pen.

paul_hfc3
30-10-2013, 10:16 PM
McPake is the Jambo's bitch. The space he gave them in the 5-1 game and tonight takes him above Zibi in the Jambo hero stakes. New manager has to get rid.

That's ridiculous. Above Zibi? Surely no. Your overreacting big time.

30-10-2013, 10:22 PM

yeah they are both great there is no problem all is barry :confused:

THEY ARE ALL PART OF THE PROBLEM

30-10-2013, 10:31 PM
That's ridiculous. Above Zibi? Surely no. Your overreacting big time.

You think? Check kickback.

ForeverHibs93
30-10-2013, 10:37 PM
Vine is mos definitely one of the key problems. Absolute p!sh

BH Hibs
30-10-2013, 10:40 PM

Agree mate but how many times does he go to ground with a last ditch tackle

BH Hibs
30-10-2013, 10:42 PM
You think? Check kickback.

**** kickback and **** the hearts

30-10-2013, 10:45 PM
I said to my mate on the train (pars fan) that mcpake spends half the game on his arse and the other half getting up off it after sliding into tackles when there's no need. Idiot!! He's what we needed in a relegation baby's but we don't need that anymore.

Dunderhall
Nothing like the same IMO.
never launched himself into a two footed lunge, both McPake'a feet were off the ground.

Some would say commited, others would say over the top. Until he sold the jersey I (and most others around me in the West) thought he was playing well.

30-10-2013, 10:52 PM
And don't bother picking him again...whoever the manager is...bye Jamsie

30-10-2013, 11:03 PM
Some would say commited, others would say over the top. Until he sold the jersey I (and most others around me in the West) thought he was playing well.

serious question was there free drink in the west ?

30-10-2013, 11:05 PM

At times he looked composed but he cost us tonight.

30-10-2013, 11:08 PM
Terrible tackle and chucked the game for us.

30-10-2013, 11:09 PM
I like him but his back injury has robbed him of movement & pace.
Not his fault but unless his back is sorted, & that's pretty unlikely, we need to look elsewhere.

30-10-2013, 11:21 PM
Not his fault but unless his back is sorted, & that's pretty unlikely, we need to look elsewhere.

Shouldnae be in the team if he is ****ed.

31-10-2013, 03:24 AM
100% finished, his distribution is terrible but his decision making is worse when going for a tackle

31-10-2013, 04:52 AM

He looked like he's in pain in the latter stages of recent matches. Worrying, but I'm hoping its because he's been called into action a bit too soon.

I think he's being picked on a bit as 99 times out of 100 that shot would have went into row z. He's also made some great tackles and blocks since he's come back from a lengthy injury lay-off and sharpness comes with games. How did Hanlon get on blocking the shot?

He's definitely an asset and maybe a combination of Nelson and McPake would be something to consider in the future. Ryan McGivern formed one half of our best central defensive partnership last year so who knows?

31-10-2013, 05:49 AM
Terrible tackle and chucked the game for us.

We could have kept McPake on, played for another hour and a half and we wouldn't have scored.

31-10-2013, 05:57 AM
Worth a read

http://www.hibs.net/archive/index.php/t-232759.html

http://www.hibs.net/archive/index.php/t-235645.html

http://www.hibs.net/archive/index.php/t-243063.html

Late Edit http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?240156-James-McPake-signs-2-year-deal-with-Hibs-(merged)

31-10-2013, 06:03 AM
Worth a read

Not a single post from me on that thread. He was never good enough then and now he's even worse. Disaster of a footballer.

Thomson
31-10-2013, 07:04 AM
It was bound to happen one week the way he just recklessly chucks himself into challenges, it's like he does it for show!

Yes. I have been saying this for a while now. He never, just makes a tackle, it always seems to be dramatic. I compared him to Alan mcgregor with his superman saves for Scotland, it's like they try to make themselves look cool, even when there seems to be an easier/less spectacular option.

31-10-2013, 07:58 AM
Agree

Indeed. Apart from the 2 moments when he completely ****ed it up, McPake was a genius.

He's a liability. These gung-ho sliding tackles (well, sort of all 4 limbs to all 4 points of the compass lunges) are great every 1 in 3 occasions. It's the other 2 that are the issue.

Should never wear the jersey again. But will, of course.

31-10-2013, 08:25 AM
Worth a read

http://www.hibs.net/archive/index.php/t-232759.html

http://www.hibs.net/archive/index.php/t-243063.html

Late Edit http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?240156-James-McPake-signs-2-year-deal-with-Hibs-(merged)

The point in posting these is?

31-10-2013, 08:31 AM

He chucks himself around because he does not read the game to know where to be to not chuck himself around.

People love sliding challenges, however a good defender rarely has to make them.

31-10-2013, 08:35 AM
He chucks himself around because he does not read the game to know where to be to not chuck himself around.

Brooke love sliding challenges, however a good defender rarely has to make them.

If you are on the floor you are out the game. Its basic stuff. But the amount of fans around me whos till think thats whats defenders should be doing is astonishing. The only reason he plays is due to his pay packet. Same goes for Vine.

31-10-2013, 10:50 AM
Personally i prefer my centre half to be bullied every week and get booked about once a season cos he never goes through anybody regardless of the situation. Now who does that remind you of?

31-10-2013, 11:04 AM
Personally i prefer my centre half to be bullied every week and get booked about once a season cos he never goes through anybody regardless of the situation. Now who does that remind you of?

Emmmmmm Hanlon?

Leishy1995
31-10-2013, 11:06 AM

Pique?

31-10-2013, 11:18 AM

I would have said that about Hanlon last season but this season he has been a lot stronger and more consistent.
McPake is just crap.

31-10-2013, 11:25 AM
I would have said that about Hanlon last season but this season he has been a lot stronger and more consistent.
McPake is just crap.

He wasn't crap when he almost singlehandedly lifted the team after he signed. As for your first sentence that must have passed me by.

31-10-2013, 11:26 AM

Of course! What's a Prawn sandwich without a glass of Prosecco?!

Hibiza
31-10-2013, 11:27 AM

spot on.

31-10-2013, 11:30 AM
McPake is just crap.

They are both poor central defenders, and add a right back who contributes nothing other than effort and its no surprise we are poor defensively.

When your keeper gets as many plaudits as ours does, it does sort of tell you something.

31-10-2013, 11:30 AM

Which is exactly what I said would happen last week, only to be told by a few that a fit Mistake is a far better player anyway!

31-10-2013, 11:31 AM
He wasn't crap when he almost singlehandedly lifted the team after he signed. As for your first sentence that must have passed me by.

But is he now so what's your point?

31-10-2013, 11:32 AM

Like he lifted us for the 2012 cup final, when he said we'd no longer be push overs to them?

The mans full of talk.

31-10-2013, 11:33 AM

He didn't single handedly lift the team when he signed. We were 11th when he signed and we finished 11th. He then had an absolute howler in the cup final against Hearts. He is crap.

31-10-2013, 11:36 AM
Like he lifted us for the 2012 cup final, when he said we'd no longer be push overs to them?

The mans full of talk.

To be fair to McPake, he's been right with that quote. We have rolled over since then rather than having to be pushed.

31-10-2013, 11:46 AM
No hatred from me. He's just crap plain and simple. Mouthing off as well on the way off. Keep walking James wouldn't put you in my 7's team never mind a Hibs team.

But yet sneaked out the back out the back door of ER last night, big tough James couldn't even face the fans, imposter GTF.

31-10-2013, 11:47 AM
His headed "clearance" that led to the goal was a shocker, why not just let it run through to the keeper?

green.and.white
31-10-2013, 11:48 AM
@SPLstats: Since the start of last season, Hibs have won 25.7% of matches when James McPake has started compared to 47.8% when he hasn't.

31-10-2013, 11:52 AM

Behave ya radge.

31-10-2013, 11:53 AM
We could have kept McPake on, played for another hour and a half and we wouldn't have scored.

he never chucked the game it was already chucked before that

31-10-2013, 11:54 AM
At fault for the goal then a stupid challenge to get sent off.

Might just about be Sunday league class.

That tackle was right out of the Sunday league. Shocker. Deserved red card. Prick

31-10-2013, 11:55 AM

Also shoes how much we miss heffernan too.

31-10-2013, 12:00 PM

yes exactly,we were shot shy always trying to walk it in as if we're barca,they defended well enough although if Liam squared that chance half the threads would not be on here

31-10-2013, 12:03 PM
McPake is just crap.

Paulo Maldini used to get about 2 or 3 yellow cards all season. A quality defender. This crazy idea that some fans have that defenders should be "going through players", or "right on their erse", or "get the ball in row z" - says plenty about the fans tbh.

31-10-2013, 12:06 PM
Before his diving header straight to the tattoed freak I was saying to myself "hmm McPake is playing like his old self". Typical :rolleyes:

The lunge at the end was stupid but I think we all know he is trying too hard and is desperate to prove the doubters wrong and prove his injury isn't career threatning.

It's hard to assess his performance as, let's be honest, Hearts rarely threatened in the game.He is bound to be a little rusty on game time but I don't think he is quite ready for the scrap heap yet.

31-10-2013, 12:08 PM
I think we got the best out of McPake when he first arrived. A serious back injury picked up at Coventry City and not diagnosed till he'd played 6 more games has caught up with him big time. My view is he is trying to compensate for his loss of form and fitness with ever increasing rashness. That hasnt done the team any good and certainly didnt do us any good last night... altho im not convinced the result would have been different if the game had finished 1 vs 11.

Its time for James to move on and he has become a liability. But what I dont get is some of the OTT hostility on here. After that Cup Final, when some of the so called Hibs supporting players went out partying he took the result as bad as any born and bred Hibbie, going straight home to a darkened room. He might not be the player he was but he deserves a lot more respect than he is getting in some quarters.

31-10-2013, 12:09 PM
Before his diving header straight to the tattoed freak I was saying to myself "hmm McPake is playing like his old self". Typical :rolleyes:

The lunge at the end was stupid but I think we all know he is trying too hard and is desperate to prove the doubters wrong and prove his injury isn't career threatning.

It's hard to assess his performance as, let's be honest, Hearts rarely threatened in the game.He is bound to be a little rusty on game time but I don't think he is quite ready for the scrap heap yet.

Every single tackle was a slide tackle. All modern coaches will tell you that you must stay on your feet and a slide tackle is a last resort. Its all he has in his locker.

31-10-2013, 12:15 PM
He's been crap since day one but said the right things on Twitter so everyone on here thought he was a hero.

Arse of the highest order.

31-10-2013, 12:15 PM
Paulo Maldini used to get about 2 or 3 yellow cards all season. A quality defender. This crazy idea that some fans have that defenders should be "going through players", or "right on their erse", or "get the ball in row z" - says plenty about the fans tbh.

I agree, I'm not having a go at Hanlon.

31-10-2013, 12:25 PM

Wrong, ball fell to another Hertz phud who played it to Stevenson, unchallenged may I add then Hanlon turned his back on the shot...

Don't see Hanlon being ripped on here for turning his back, if he put his body on the line like McPake does he might've blocked the shot..

Some utter plsh being posted on here and twitter etc about McPake

Have a ****ing word

31-10-2013, 12:29 PM
Interesting stat from Twitter that McPake reacted to (truth must hurt):

Since the start of last season we have won 25.7% of games McPake has started, we have won 47.8% of games that he hasn't.

31-10-2013, 12:32 PM
He's also saying Forster is less match fit than him right now.

As well as arguing with some fans.

31-10-2013, 12:32 PM
Good player, but injuries have not just undermined him physically with a loss of pace and strength, but have wrecked his confidence and his timing and judgement is way off. Sad to say it, but he's possibly finished as a footballer due to this.

But I don't agree with some of the abuse he's receiving on this thread, he's proved to be a warrior for the cause, and has perhaps damaged his long-term health prospects by pulling on the jersey when he shouldn't. The fault isn't his, but lies with the club and management for picking him.

31-10-2013, 12:34 PM
Wrong, ball fell to another Hertz phud who played it to Stevenson, unchallenged may I add then Hanlon turned his back on the shot...

Don't see Hanlon being ripped on here for turning his back, if he put his body on the line like McPake does he might've blocked the shot..

Have a ****ing word

I agree poor header from McPake and equally poor lack of block from Hanlon.

31-10-2013, 12:36 PM

Have a ****ing word

He wouldn't be getting so much stick, if it wasn't for his daft tackle with 10 minutes to go.

He's supposed to be club captain. He's supposed to be setting an example (the right example!)

To do that against our rivals when we're 1-0 down with 10 minutes to go, completely takes the mick.

He lost the plot and it was game set and match.

31-10-2013, 12:40 PM
Also from twitter and James...."Come and c my back scan after that game, i would still b on a sick line from work" So why on earth would Fenlon have him anywhere near the playing squad. The manager picks the squad for games.

31-10-2013, 02:25 PM
Also from twitter and James...."Come and c my back scan after that game, i would still b on a sick line from work" So why on earth would Fenlon have him anywhere near the playing squad. The manager picks the squad for games.

Also says he is not match fit.

31-10-2013, 02:29 PM

Jeezo he really needs to get off twitter. He apologised and should have left it at that. To get into arguments with fans really is a nonsense especially when folk are obviously sore after last night.

31-10-2013, 02:36 PM
To claim he's not match fit after weeks of telling anyone who would listen how he was fit and raring to go shows a complete lack of professionalism.

31-10-2013, 02:38 PM
Manager and captain.
Two utter failures.

31-10-2013, 02:38 PM
To claim he's not match fit after weeks of telling anyone who would listen how he was fit and raring to go shows a complete lack of professionalism.

There is a difference between fit and match fit though. As it is the IMO the abuse he is getting on here and twitter is pretty shameful.

itslegaltender
31-10-2013, 02:40 PM
why is he is getting involved in slanging matches with dafties? He's gone loopy on twitter.

31-10-2013, 02:41 PM
I am more ashamed of some of the abuse dished out to James on twitter and on here than I was about last night. Have a ****ing word with yourselves.

31-10-2013, 02:42 PM
I am more ashamed of some of the abuse dished out to James on twitter and on here than I was about last night. Have a ****ing word with yourselves.

Completely agree.

31-10-2013, 02:59 PM
I agree. Abusing the players on twitter is wrong but discussing whether a player is any good on here is perfectly acceptable.
McPake should never play for us again. Not as a form of punishment or anything but just because it's better to play Foster who has never let us down in the way McPake has.

31-10-2013, 03:03 PM

Aye every time I see Hanlon get caught out of position or shrugged off I think "Wow! Paolo Maldini used to do that."

31-10-2013, 03:04 PM
Aye every time I see Hanlon get caught out of position or shrugged off I think "Wow! Paolo Maldini used to do that."

:faf::faf:

Gala Foxes
31-10-2013, 04:45 PM
McPake is an imposter - shameful "challenge" & embarassing performance after he was sent off

Never mind the diving header under no pressure that led to the goal

31-10-2013, 05:01 PM
The point in posting these is?

I thought that was fairly obvious......

31-10-2013, 05:02 PM
Aye every time I see Hanlon get caught out of position or shrugged off I think "Wow! Paolo Maldini used to do that.":faf::faf::faf::faf:

31-10-2013, 05:15 PM
People need to settle down with the comments suggesting he purposefully got himself sent off. He looked absolutely gutted walking off the pitch.

31-10-2013, 07:52 PM
I agree. Abusing the players on twitter is wrong but discussing whether a player is any good on here is perfectly acceptable.
McPake should never play for us again. Not as a form of punishment or anything but just because it's better to play Foster who has never let us down in the way McPake has.

Very true. There's a load of sentimental clap-trap based on a few half decent performances that kept us up.

31-10-2013, 07:54 PM

Hibs fans eh. Whaes like us ?

RIP Bestie
01-11-2013, 11:01 PM
Got ripped on here for having to have the audacity to criticise McPake when it was rumoured his career could be over. Said at the time when it was suggested that he should be given a coaching role that I would prefer a coach who wouldn't be teaching the likes of Forster how to take up poor positions and dive into tackles.
That's the player he is, it's all he knows, makes it look like he's hard as **** and sweating blood for the jersey. Actually he's just a poor poor player. I'm glad other people on here are starting to recognise it.

02-11-2013, 10:27 AM
Hibs fans eh. Whaes like us ?

Its disgraceful and nae need for it whatsoever. Tho I wonder how many are yams at the wind up?? Also cant believe the no of hibs players arguing with fans on twitter. ..I hope the new manager bans them all from social media!!

02-11-2013, 11:19 AM
McPake is far from finished. Too much stick going his way. He's been out injured for a long time and played what, 2 games?

02-11-2013, 11:51 AM
when he signed for us there were some people on here comparing him to suazee, and i said at the time get a grip, he is a bomb scare at least one cock up a game. doesnt mean he is finished he just aint good enough. gives plenty effort so cant fault him for that

02-11-2013, 11:59 AM
Is he allowed to play tomorrow after getting the red card on Wednesday.

02-11-2013, 12:01 PM
when he signed for us there were some people on here comparing him to suazee, and i said at the time get a grip, he is a bomb scare at least one cock up a game. doesnt mean he is finished he just aint good enough. gives plenty effort so cant fault him for that

There were folk wanting a team built around him and not going back (sound familiar?) unless McPake was signed. Suggestion at the time was that we should push the boat out to get him.

02-11-2013, 01:11 PM
There were folk wanting a team built around him and not going back (sound familiar?) unless McPake was signed. Suggestion at the time was that we should push the boat out to get him.
yes mind that, wonder if they still want to build the team around him now, doubt it

02-11-2013, 01:17 PM

Spot on. Have just been reading through this thread and it's a disgrace imho.

Johnny Clash
02-11-2013, 01:20 PM
He's just back from injury and has already made some outstanding tackles as well as a few errors.

I distinctly remember us all singing his name during the first half on Wednesday in recognition of his efforts so some people have very short memories.

Sure he got sent off for a bad tackle but he was desperate to win back the ball. Too many Hibs players do not make an effort during games so I'm hardly gonna slate a player who does.

I'd like to see James McPake become more of a force if anything. As captain he needs to be a giant at the back and motivate the team around him. He's got the potential that hopefully a new manager can build on. He deserves a chance.

02-11-2013, 01:25 PM
There has been a lot of knee jerk reaction on here. I'm glad I recorded the game and have watched it over a few times now. Watching the game live I thought we were poor in a few positions despite pushing them back some of our passing was well wayward. James McPake nearly scored twice and considering he hasn't had much match practice this season he did well to get in to at least two good goal scoring positions. When he is match fit he will stick those kind of chances away. I can understand netters blowing of steam and as I said I have had the benefit of watching it over and over. If I had posted immediately on the night I might have been going ballistic too, as were the players by the way.

02-11-2013, 01:29 PM
Is he allowed to play tomorrow after getting the red card on Wednesday.

no

02-11-2013, 01:34 PM

What do you mean 'there were 'folk' who wanted us to push the boat out?' Everyone did! He was outstanding when he first arrived, and deniers either werent paying attention to how good he was, or are using hindsight to appear clever.

02-11-2013, 01:40 PM

i remember a poster on the PM board insisting if McPake wanted 10K/week(yep, i kid you not...per WEEK) to sign permanently after he went back to coventry, then we should pay it :agree: he knows who he is

02-11-2013, 07:22 PM
There has been a lot of knee jerk reaction on here. I'm glad I recorded the game and have watched it over a few times now. Watching the game live I thought we were poor in a few positions despite pushing them back some of our passing was well wayward. James McPake nearly scored twice and considering he hasn't had much match practice this season he did well to get in to at least two good goal scoring positions. When he is match fit he will stick those kind of chances away. I can understand netters blowing of steam and as I said I have had the benefit of watching it over and over. If I had posted immediately on the night I might have been going ballistic too, as were the players by the way.
This .. Some folk need to get a grip .

pontius pilate
02-11-2013, 07:33 PM
I'll agree I wanted him to stay after his loan spell. It seems to me though that he knew he was in his way out from Coventry play well up here get the contract for x amount of years then the back injury gets worse and his performance levels have slipped. Like a lot of players they like to do the talking in the MSM and social network sites for me as club captain he should have got them fired up for every game and gold them how much it's an honour to play for our team that's the least I'd expect from a club captain. I'd say get rid at seasons end and bring through young guys with some experience around them. Hanlon for me is a better defender that mcpake

02-11-2013, 08:06 PM
I like Mcpake, he plays for the badge and always gives his all. He's not the complete article by any means, however for too long our defence lacked any sort of backbone and James has helped provide that, in fact I would say our defence is one of our strongest assets now, albeit we struggle to have a settled back four.

It's too easy to pick on Mcpake, I reckon with a new manager and a fresh start we will then get to see if James is up to the task going forward or not, if he is not then he will have my best wishes as he leaves for his excellent work helping us avoid relegation and unite the dressing room post calderwood.

I sincerely hope however that James regains his fitness, form and is a solid part of the hibs team for many years to come.

The personal abuse on twitter was really embarrassing.

02-11-2013, 08:27 PM
Having rewatched the game I think he is getting very harsh criticism. Other than the poor header for their goal thought he looked good

02-11-2013, 08:34 PM
What do you mean 'there were 'folk' who wanted us to push the boat out?' Everyone did! He was outstanding when he first arrived, and deniers either werent paying attention to how good he was, or are using hindsight to appear clever.

i will ill disagree with that.

Having rewatched the game I think he is getting very harsh criticism. Other than the poor header for their goal thought he looked good

That was pretty much all he had to do!

he is not a good footballer, but regardless I don't think he deserves to be harassed via twitter.

02-11-2013, 08:38 PM

This! He get an unfair amount of flack. I thought he played well against hearts and a few last ditch challenges which were crucial. It was the same against malmo, he started that game very well and gets injured, then everyone gives him a hard time

pontius pilate
02-11-2013, 08:42 PM
Surely he shouldn't have to make last ditch tackles if his positional sense was better? I realise that most defenders make last ditch tackles but I'd say 90% of than have had to happen through a lapse from a team mate. I just don't think he is anywhere near good enough at the moment his positional sense is poor. The jumping into tackles like Bambi on ice is not good defending it shows a lack of awareness both on his own position and those of his team mates.

02-11-2013, 08:47 PM
Surely he shouldn't have to make last ditch tackles if his positional sense was better? I realise that most defenders make last ditch tackles but I'd say 90% of than have had to happen through a lapse from a team mate. I just don't think he is anywhere near good enough at the moment his positional sense is poor. The jumping into tackles like Bambi on ice is not good defending it shows a lack of awareness both on his own position and those of his team mates.

Thanks for a considered post !
Just need to look back on virtually all his games and for every decent tackle he makes he makes and equal number if not more mistakes .

Forster is the future

02-11-2013, 08:47 PM

The only reason McPake's poor header has been noticed is because Stevenson smacked in a stunning strike 25 yards at an angle, which 99 times out of 100 wouldn't have resulted in a goal.

McPake was outstanding when he first came to Hibs but has struggled with his fitness in the last 12 months. The abuse he has received on Twitter and on here is well out of order.

pontius pilate
02-11-2013, 08:49 PM
Thanks for a considered post !
Just need to look back on virtually all his games and for every decent tackle he makes he makes and equal number if not more mistakes .

Forster is the future

Not too sure if it's a dig at me or not? What I will say is I agree wholeheartedly on Forster being the future I'd probably be inclined to putting Mcgivern at C/H as well and brining in 2 new full backs or given Callum booth a run out at L/B and Mullen at R/B maybe they need the confidence in their own abilities and having clear direction on what the team requires and what the manager requires which always wasn't there under paddy

HibsNZ
02-11-2013, 08:51 PM
Apart from that poor header that led to the goal, thought he had a pretty decent game. He's not the first and won't be the last centrehalf to mistime a tackle but at least he plays with a commitment that is sadly lacking in a number of others in a Hibs shirt!

02-11-2013, 08:53 PM
Not too sure if it's a dig at me or not? What I will say is I agree wholeheartedly on Forster being the future I'd probably be inclined to putting Mcgivern at C/H as well and brining in 2 new full backs or given Callum booth a run out at L/B and Mullen at R/B maybe they need the confidence in their own abilities and having clear direction on what the team requires and what the manager requires which always wasn't there under paddy

No:top marks dig at you my man !!
Agree :top marks , with all you wrote

pontius pilate
02-11-2013, 08:58 PM
No:top marks dig at you my man !!
Agree :top marks , with all you wrote

Cheers fella it's that champ manager on my iphone given me illusions of grandeur makes me sound like I know what I'm talking about lol

02-11-2013, 10:02 PM
You have to laugh at some of the comments on this thread. ... is not long ago folk were kissing his ass and declaring that they had a man crush on him. .. football's a funny old game

02-11-2013, 10:21 PM

Have a ****ing word

I thought McPake was strolling the derby. Wasn't quite sure at the game about their goal but overall thought McPake was pretty classy.

gegs70
02-11-2013, 11:40 PM
James is a decent player and remember he has been out for a while. Really shouldnt be geting that kibd of abuse. He seems to switch of at times then needs to dive into the tackle to rectify things. I think nelson would normally be 1st choice seems to work better with hanlon too. Does Forster look a better prispect than hanlon tho???

02-11-2013, 11:49 PM
You have to laugh at some of the comments on this thread. ... is not long ago folk were kissing his ass and declaring that they had a man crush on him. .. football's a funny old game

03-11-2013, 12:26 AM
[QUOTE=Andy74;3792304]I thought McPake was strolling the derby. Wasn't quite sure at the game about their goal but overall thought McPake was pretty classy.[/

Any half decent defender would have looked fine on Wednesday because they had absolutely heehaw to deal with. Terrible header at the goal which he should have allowed to go to Williams. In fairness he maybe didn't get a shout. Then there was the red card. Bad defending between him and Hanlon to allow the situation to develop. Then the tackle was horrendous.

Nothing classy unless I've missed the sarcasm?

03-11-2013, 07:57 AM

Not everyone wanted him to sign at any cost, but most did want him him to sign.

The post was intended to highlight the change in some peoples opinions in little over a season and not as a pop at James.

When James came here he was better than what we had but his best asset was his leadership and attitude. As a CH he is not the quickest or biggest but has the heart of a lion which could not be said of all his colleagues, particulary when Pat came here, and I think it was this that the fans related to. James has had a number of serious injuries and his signing was always going to be a risk but I didnt think he was the disaster on Wednesday that some are making out and the goal we did concede was a very good strike from 20+ yards.

Some of the comments aimed at JM are disgraceful and I would not be getting rid of him just yet.