View Full Version : Vine

26-10-2013, 05:10 PM
Please stop getting on his back and looking for excuses to criticise him. He has potential but won't realise it with fans on his case all the time.

wearethehibs
26-10-2013, 05:12 PM
We always have a player like this. That the fans just seem to abuse or pounce on if they make any slight mistake. Its so frustrating!

dmc1875
26-10-2013, 05:15 PM
Yup he can't do a thing at the moment without being criticised regardless of whether its good or bad. Need to get off his back unless people are just desperate for him to fail?

The sooner we get off his back, the sooner he scores a goal, the sooner we get rid of that awful beard :wink:

Please stop getting on his back and looking for excuses to criticise him. He has potential but won't realise it with fans on his case all the time.

Who needs excuses - a dreadful player who should never have been signed. Next stop, the lower leagues.

Zoubir was getting more abuse from the folk around me than Vine got.

26-10-2013, 05:16 PM
Yup he can't do a thing at the moment without being criticised regardless of whether its good or bad. Need to get off his back unless people are just desperate for him to fail?

The sooner we get off his back, the sooner he scores a goal, the sooner we get rid of that awful beard :wink:

This :rolleyes:

26-10-2013, 05:23 PM
Who needs excuses - a dreadful player who should never have been signed. Next stop, the lower leagues.

Magic cheers. Take it you weren't at Killie where he was excellent. Even if he is pish what do you achieve by slating him all the time.

26-10-2013, 05:28 PM
I dont slate any of our players from the stand. But he must be the laziest player we've had in years. I really cant see anything he brings to the team.

26-10-2013, 05:28 PM
Magic cheers. Take it you weren't at Killie where he was excellent. Even if he is pish what do you achieve by slating him all the time.

:agree: He came from a better team that would take him back in a heartbeat , no lower leagues for this guy

26-10-2013, 05:30 PM

Any abuse Zoubir got was well deserved today.

Absolutely dreadful with the heart of a mouse and zero work ethic.

MotherSuperior
26-10-2013, 05:36 PM
I never vocalised my frustration for Vine today, because I agree it is counter productive. However he WAS rubbish today when he came on, and it looked like he couldnae Trap a bag of sand. As for Collins... I just don't see the justification of transfer fee for this type of player. He looks half the player Heffernan does.

26-10-2013, 05:36 PM
Looks like he's lost a bit of weight, I'm still hopeful he'll have something to offer. Wednesday would be a good way to start.

Bronson
26-10-2013, 05:39 PM
He's a wage thief and nothing more, anyone who says otherwise is ridiculously optimistic or delirious.

Not a hibs quality player.

green.and.white
26-10-2013, 05:41 PM
Maybe fans would get off his back if he was any good?

26-10-2013, 05:42 PM
He's a wage thief and nothing more, anyone who says otherwise is ridiculously optimistic or delirious.

You should work in the media with those sound-bytes and cliches.

26-10-2013, 05:45 PM
:agree: He came from a better team that would take him back in a heartbeat , no lower leagues for this guy

Then, maybe he's yet another Hibs signing who doesn't have the balls or confidence to play for a "bigger club" with higher expectations. Whatever it is, the guy hasn't cut it at ER and isn't showing any signs of trying his arse off to sort it out. Poor.

26-10-2013, 05:50 PM
He is trying. Don't mistake someone's gait for their attitude.

andy1875
26-10-2013, 05:52 PM
He seems to be like a rabbit caught in headlights when he plays.

The quicker he gets a goal the better as that will hopefully calm his nerves a bit.

Wednesday would be nice for that goal Rowan.

26-10-2013, 05:57 PM
At fault for the second goal in my opinion, I felt he had promise after Malmo but has had one decent game since, can't help feeling he has been awful

26-10-2013, 06:04 PM
For those who defend Vine. Have you actually ever taken the time to look at his career record? It's abysmal to say the least. He's scored 18 goals in the last 5 years... (3.6 goals a year)

26-10-2013, 06:06 PM
He doesn't help himself though by being so lazy. At one point today Robertson had to run past him to close down an Aberdeen defender. Needs to give himself a shake.

wearethehibs
26-10-2013, 06:13 PM
We could just change this thread title to Nish. Its always the same ***** some Hibs fans spout

26-10-2013, 06:21 PM
He doesn't help himself though by being so lazy. At one point today Robertson had to run past him to close down an Aberdeen defender. Needs to give himself a shake.

Aha but hes not alone though eh

26-10-2013, 06:33 PM

:bitchy: No need and I'm neither 'ridiculously optimistic' or 'delirious.'

SheriffLobo
26-10-2013, 06:35 PM
https://twitter.com/not_the_golfer/status/394131474255208448

May not work as a link as dunno how to do on my phone....

26-10-2013, 06:40 PM

Spot on put yourself about a bit and the fans will back you.

26-10-2013, 06:41 PM
https://twitter.com/not_the_golfer/status/394131474255208448

May not work as a link as dunno how to do on my phone....

Hahaha fisher says it how it is

26-10-2013, 06:44 PM
Some of the crowd reaction was ridiculous but I have to admit he has been absolutely abysmal since joining us.

26-10-2013, 07:00 PM
I try hard not to get on players backs but I really struggle with Vine. He does look like he has some skill but his attitude for most of the games I have seen him in has been poor. For me he looks more of a player than Collins but you can't fault James' attitude. Rowan hasn't had a lot of game time so he deserves a bit of a break but the easiest way for him to endear himself would be to break sweat

26-10-2013, 07:11 PM
At least he tried a shot from outside the box. A few centimetres to the right, and he would have scored with his shot.

Players struggle when the fans get on their back because their first touch of the ball/pass was as wayward as plenty balls played by their team-mates before they even got on the park. Fact (of the real, not .net, variety).

26-10-2013, 07:18 PM
At least he tried a shot from outside the box. A few centimetres to the right, and he would have scored with his shot.

Players struggle when the fans get on their back because their first touch of the ball/pass was as wayward as plenty balls played by their team-mates before they even got on the park. Fact (of the real, not .net, variety).
A wee bit further left and it was well wide and a poor effort

26-10-2013, 07:22 PM
A wee bit further left and it was well wide and a poor effort

The one that battered in to Collins and - I think - ended up with a handball against us? Looked in from where I was.

Whatever, folk getting on his back just is not going to help.

26-10-2013, 07:38 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXSEk-g1JcM&feature=player_detailpage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Av-tjoZMobA&feature=player_detailpage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h7rfTRuUwRc&feature=player_detailpage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=G6VuKqiJ3W0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6TlXPWPv-j0&feature=player_detailpage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxo57LH15xY&feature=player_detailpage

Its either us or the beard :dunno:

26-10-2013, 08:21 PM
The one that battered in to Collins and - I think - ended up with a handball against us? Looked in from where I was.

Wouldn't have counted as the offside flag was already up

26-10-2013, 08:27 PM
He is trying. Don't mistake someone's gait for their attitude.

I'd hate to see him not try. Sorry, but he looks (and is) slow, and lacking in any ability to take on a man. Maybe that's the PF effect or maybe he just can't be arsed but if he had form at Saint's he certainly didn't bring it with him.

26-10-2013, 08:30 PM
I'd hate to see him not try. Sorry, but he looks (and is) slow, and lacking in any ability to take on a man. Maybe that's the PF effect or maybe he just can't be arsed but if he had form at Saint's he certainly didn't bring it with him.

Neil Warnock once said of RV - I was glad to be able to get rid of that fool Vine

Warnock's a tube likes :greengrin

26-10-2013, 08:32 PM

He hit it well (that one) was it a goal ? Did he even compete with Anderson at the 2nd goal ? Is that the second great hit from him that has counted for nothing ?

andy1875
26-10-2013, 08:32 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXSEk-g1JcM&feature=player_detailpage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Av-tjoZMobA&feature=player_detailpage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h7rfTRuUwRc&feature=player_detailpage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=G6VuKqiJ3W0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6TlXPWPv-j0&feature=player_detailpage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxo57LH15xY&feature=player_detailpage

Its either us or the beard :dunno:

Some crackers in there, particularly the second against us.

The beard has to go it would seem :rolleyes:

26-10-2013, 08:45 PM
Some crackers in there, particularly the second against us.

The beard has to go it would seem :rolleyes:

Must be but as long as he wears my teams colours ill support him :clapper:

andy1875
26-10-2013, 08:59 PM
Must be but as long as he wears my teams colours ill support him :clapper:

Quite right mate.

Ps I see your in Perth, is your name Rowan by any chance? :greengrin

EastCalderHibby
26-10-2013, 09:03 PM

though we went down to ten men when he came on

26-10-2013, 10:27 PM
Any abuse Zoubir got was well deserved today.

Absolutely dreadful with the heart of a mouse and zero work ethic.:agree:give me Vine, anyday

26-10-2013, 10:30 PM
No one in the pub could name me a worse number 9 in a Hibs shirt ever than Vine. A sad sign our standards have fallen. He's mince. The ultimate example of Fenlon's signing failures.

26-10-2013, 10:34 PM
If the beard goes he will score:wink:

26-10-2013, 10:35 PM
Seems like most of the fans have made their minds up about him including myself. He's absolute birthday caird p**h. If Fenlon signed him cause he had a good game then we'd end up signing half the league!

He's probably div 1 standard but doubt he'd drop down a level.

26-10-2013, 10:40 PM
Vine is pish.

26-10-2013, 11:28 PM
Vine has shown in flashes that he has obvious ability, which shows why he's had millions spent on him in the past, for his potential.

Unfortunately he is one of the laziest players I've ever seen play for us. Chases nothing down ever.

jane_says
27-10-2013, 12:08 AM
Some of the crowd reaction was ridiculous but I have to admit he has been absolutely abysmal since joining us.

I'll support him as long as he plays for Hibs and I really want the guy to do well, but I struggled today. He's been really poor and doesn't help himself, especially when Robbo runs past him to shut down the centre halfs. So frustrating because he was excellent against us last year

27-10-2013, 07:38 AM
Vine is pish.

Correct. Nothing more needs to be added. His 'involvement' in the second goal was an embarrassment. He's a non trying sub standard player who should never be near the first team squad.

27-10-2013, 07:51 AM
He is pish but his beard is quality haha ho ho

27-10-2013, 08:26 AM
Did Vine not get into bother with St Johnstone re his twitter saying he's best player there and they don't realise what a great player they have, hence the reason they were happy to get shot of him.

Bronson
27-10-2013, 11:44 AM
Some of you may think the comments about Vine are harsh but they're not unjust. I personally expect a hell of a lot more from a hibs player.

It's the zero work ethic that gets me the most, he was a sub for f*** sake!

Magnificent beard tho:greengrin

merritthibees
27-10-2013, 05:57 PM

From the folk that were crying for Fenlon to start him the other week no doubt! These fans are always the same... When a player plays good they are world beaters and the best player Scottish football has ever seen!... When a player has an off game it the worlds end and we are getting relegated! Give these guys a chance!

29-10-2013, 07:44 PM
It's now clear why Vine's form has suffered - he's been moonlighting and playing for The Redsox in the "World Series"... game 4 on BT Sport now ...

29-10-2013, 08:01 PM
A goal tomorrow in a win will ensure his name will go down in history. Even Amadou who only hit the post when easier to score gets a positive ride even though he was tom kite. Good luck Rowan the Beard.

29-10-2013, 08:07 PM
The only thing that stands out about Rowan Vine is the beard. I just fail to see what he is supposed to offer, we would be a lot better off sticking Caldwell up front coz at least he runs about.

Personal preference but I have always hated players in beards .... OK if you want to join the Taliban or ZZ Top ... but not a professional football team :bitchy:

http://metaltalk.net/images3/zztop.jpg

http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2009/2/18/1234922038000/Taliban-fighter-in-the-Sw-004.jpg