View Full Version : NHC Leyton Orient claiming credit for World War I

16-10-2013, 09:47 PM
That pesky lot from Orient are trying to steal Hearts credit. Not so proud........Wiki says this The 1914–15 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1914-15_in_English_football) season was the last football season before the League was suspended due to the outbreak of the First World War (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_World_War). 41 members of the Clapton Orient team and staff joined up into the 17th Battalion Middlesex Regiment (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/17th_Battalion_Middlesex_Regiment) (the Footballers' Battalion), the highest of any football team in the country and the first to join up en masse.[3] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leyton_Orient_F.C.#cite_note-3) At the final game of the season – Clapton Orient vs Leicester Fosse (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leicester_Fosse), 20,000 people came out to support the team. A farewell parade was also hosted, but not before the O's had won 2–0. The British Film Institute (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_Film_Institute) holds a brief recording of this historic match and parade in their archives.
During the Battle of the Somme (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_the_Somme), three players gave their lives for King and Country: Richard McFadden (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_McFadden), George Scott (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Scott_(footballer_born_1885)) and William Jonas (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Jonas). Though they were the only Orient staff to have died during the First World War, many others sustained wounds, some more than once and were not able to resume their football careers after the war. Prior to the First World War, O's striker Richard McFadden had saved the life of a boy who was drowning in the River Lea (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/River_Lea) as well as rescuing a man from a burning building.
History was made on Saturday 30 April 1921 when the Prince of Wales, later to become King Edward VIII (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/King_Edward_VIII), visited Millfields Road (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Millfields_Road&action=edit&redlink=1) to see the O's play Notts County (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Notts_County). The Orient won 3 – 0 and this was the first time a member of royalty had attended a Football League match. The royal visit was to show gratitude for Clapton Orient's patriotic example during the Great War and there is now a plaque erected on the site of the Millfields Road Stadium to commemorate this historic event.[4] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leyton_Orient_F.C.#cite_note-4)
The story of the club's major involvement in the First World War has been told in a 2005 book entitled They Took The Lead, by Stephen Jenkins (the deputy chairman of Leyton Orient Supporters' Club). In July 2006 Steve Jenkins, assisted by Les Bailey, took a party of 150 Leyton Orient supporters and members of the Leyton and Manor Park Royal British Legion over to the Somme region of northern France, to visit World War I war graves and in particular to pay their respects at the resting places of Richard McFadden, William Jonas and George Scott. This was the first official visit to the Orient war graves for 90 years. The trip was so successful that a second visit to the Somme took place the weekend of 12/13 July 2008, this time 183 O's supporters and members of the RBL made the historic pilgrimage. Media interest is growing concerning this amazing and proud period of the Orient's history. Chris Slegg, a BBC London reporter travelled with the party and footage of the Somme trip was shown on every local news bulletin throughout the day on the Monday following the trip.
It is hoped that a documentary or film will one day be made on Clapton Orient's proud service during the Great War. In August 2009 Steve Jenkins, along with fellow O's supporter Theresa Burns and Orient legend Peter Kitchen, launched the O's Somme Memorial Fund with the objective of erecting a permanent memorial in northern France in honour of the Clapton Orient side that answered the call of King and Country.
A third trip to the Somme took place in July 2011 and the O's Memorial was unveiled in the village of Flers on Sunday 10 July

16-10-2013, 09:58 PM
That pesky lot from Orient are trying to steal Hearts credit. Not so proud........Wiki says this The 1914–15 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1914-15_in_English_football) season was the last football season before the League was suspended due to the outbreak of the First World War (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_World_War). 41 members of the Clapton Orient team and staff joined up into the 17th Battalion Middlesex Regiment (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/17th_Battalion_Middlesex_Regiment) (the Footballers' Battalion), the highest of any football team in the country and the first to join up en masse.[3] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leyton_Orient_F.C.#cite_note-3) At the final game of the season – Clapton Orient vs Leicester Fosse (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leicester_Fosse), 20,000 people came out to support the team. A farewell parade was also hosted, but not before the O's had won 2–0. The British Film Institute (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_Film_Institute) holds a brief recording of this historic match and parade in their archives.
During the Battle of the Somme (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_the_Somme), three players gave their lives for King and Country: Richard McFadden (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_McFadden), George Scott (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Scott_(footballer_born_1885)) and William Jonas (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Jonas). Though they were the only Orient staff to have died during the First World War, many others sustained wounds, some more than once and were not able to resume their football careers after the war. Prior to the First World War, O's striker Richard McFadden had saved the life of a boy who was drowning in the River Lea (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/River_Lea) as well as rescuing a man from a burning building.
History was made on Saturday 30 April 1921 when the Prince of Wales, later to become King Edward VIII (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/King_Edward_VIII), visited Millfields Road (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Millfields_Road&action=edit&redlink=1) to see the O's play Notts County (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Notts_County). The Orient won 3 – 0 and this was the first time a member of royalty had attended a Football League match. The royal visit was to show gratitude for Clapton Orient's patriotic example during the Great War and there is now a plaque erected on the site of the Millfields Road Stadium to commemorate this historic event.[4] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leyton_Orient_F.C.#cite_note-4)
The story of the club's major involvement in the First World War has been told in a 2005 book entitled They Took The Lead, by Stephen Jenkins (the deputy chairman of Leyton Orient Supporters' Club). In July 2006 Steve Jenkins, assisted by Les Bailey, took a party of 150 Leyton Orient supporters and members of the Leyton and Manor Park Royal British Legion over to the Somme region of northern France, to visit World War I war graves and in particular to pay their respects at the resting places of Richard McFadden, William Jonas and George Scott. This was the first official visit to the Orient war graves for 90 years. The trip was so successful that a second visit to the Somme took place the weekend of 12/13 July 2008, this time 183 O's supporters and members of the RBL made the historic pilgrimage. Media interest is growing concerning this amazing and proud period of the Orient's history. Chris Slegg, a BBC London reporter travelled with the party and footage of the Somme trip was shown on every local news bulletin throughout the day on the Monday following the trip.
It is hoped that a documentary or film will one day be made on Clapton Orient's proud service during the Great War. In August 2009 Steve Jenkins, along with fellow O's supporter Theresa Burns and Orient legend Peter Kitchen, launched the O's Somme Memorial Fund with the objective of erecting a permanent memorial in northern France in honour of the Clapton Orient side that answered the call of King and Country.
A third trip to the Somme took place in July 2011 and the O's Memorial was unveiled in the village of Flers on Sunday 10 Julytypical. an English mob, trying to steal the thunder of a brave bunch o' jocks, who happen to be an entire team of gorgie boys, who should have won the league that year.

16-10-2013, 10:03 PM
Im willing to bet that Orient ALWAYS pay for their poppies. Im more proud of Orient than I am of those brave youngsters from down Gorgie way now.

16-10-2013, 10:07 PM
I'm proud.

What with news from the Orient I'm not quite sure what it is I'm proud of but I checked and I'm still proud.

Dunderhall
17-10-2013, 12:43 AM
typical. an English mob, trying to steal the thunder of a brave bunch o' jocks, who happen to be an entire team of gorgie boys, who should have won the league that year.
Don't worry, the Scottish media (OK #allisbarry (http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-unveil-mccrae-s-battalion-plaque-1-3116184)) are trying to rewrite history.

Hearts were leading the Scottish League as their players left for war having won their first eight games of the season. With their team decimated, they could not sustain the challenge and Celtic eventually took the title. Locke was asked whether the Glasgow club could recognise that as the 100th anniversary of World War I approaches.

“That’s a long, long time ago,” he replied. “When you look at the sacrifices they made, possibly but that’s a question you would have to ask someone at Celtic. It’s not as if we have won loads of league titles. Certainly, if they had all these players available, they probably would have won the league that year.”

17-10-2013, 05:07 AM
... and if a certain Albert Kidd had stayed in bed on a certain day in 1986 they'd probably have won the league as well.

... and if my auntie had baws...

17-10-2013, 06:37 AM
So it was actually Orient that saved professional football as we all know it?! Who'd have thought it

17-10-2013, 06:42 AM
So it was actually Orient that saved professional football as we all know it?! Who'd have thought it

Watch it! Jack will be along in a minute to defend his team of cheats, liars and thieves.

17-10-2013, 07:03 AM
Once they realise there is nothing there except clumsiness the impact dissappears in a poof of smoke.

Thats homophobic! :-)

17-10-2013, 07:22 AM
I doubt its just me that feels like this, but, I think its time to put a stop to The WW1 posts now.

17-10-2013, 07:32 AM
I doubt its just me that feels like this, but, I think its time to put a stop to The WW1 posts now.

Kinda agree with you but with 4 weeks or so til rememberance Sunday I can't see it stopping

17-10-2013, 07:34 AM

Kickbackers would never buy into that

17-10-2013, 07:37 AM
Kickbackers would never buy into that

Couldnae give a donald duck what they say tbh.

Theres an oft used phrase on here re "Hibs Class", if they are getting their jollies over there re-writing history it just shows that they're running out of straws to clutch at.

17-10-2013, 07:44 AM

They started it! Well the boy that shot that other boy started it but you know what i mean.

wpj
17-10-2013, 07:56 AM
A third trip to the Somme took place in July 2011 and the O's Memorial was unveiled in the village of Flers on Sunday 10 July

The O's pitch has several balconies facing the park http://www.fussballinlondon.de/index2_eng.php?pgid=111 where one can burst with pride in full view of the opposition fans!! You'd struggle to get more pleasing than that!!
Very proud to say they are my local team.

17-10-2013, 08:02 AM
They started it! Well the boy that shot that other boy started it but you know what i mean.

Do you mean the Serbian bloke that shot the Austrian guy?

(in depth history lessons now available on hibs.net :wink:)

Bill Milne
17-10-2013, 08:16 AM
What were the Orient guys doing on the Western Front when Hertz had already finished off the entire German army?

17-10-2013, 08:18 AM
What were the Orient guys doing on the Western Front when Hertz had already finished off the entire German army?

As Orient means East, maybe they were on the Eastern front and hadn't heard the news?

17-10-2013, 08:23 AM
I hate to come across as proud, but I'm really proud right now.

17-10-2013, 11:21 AM

You think it's bad now? I don't know how you're going to survive the next four years. The Famous may not even exist as a football club by next year, but they're going to be on the tellybox pretty much every night. Bound to be continuing comment/mockery on here if the producers/presenters get any significant aspects of their history wrong.

17-10-2013, 11:30 AM
Thats a lot different from the knobs on JKB making things up to suit themselves.

17-10-2013, 11:30 AM
Don't worry, the Scottish media (OK #allisbarry (http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-unveil-mccrae-s-battalion-plaque-1-3116184)) are trying to rewrite history.

Is Barry Anderson campaigning for Celtc to give up their 1915 title?

Perhaps Hearts should do the same with their two most recent Scottish Cups? After all, if they hadn't been propped up with fraudulent funds via a Lithuanian-based Russian scam artist, I'm "certain" that another team would have won them. They can't feel proud about that.

17-10-2013, 11:44 AM
Is Barry Anderson campaigning for Celtc to give up their 1915 title?

If he's not, he should be. Might like to chuck in 1986 as well, since at one point in that season also it looked as if The Famous might possibly win the league.

17-10-2013, 12:38 PM

Fwiw, I agree with you.

Edit: it's happening more and more on various threads. For me, Hibs class would be to not joke about it, and to not stoop to their level to integrate it into the "banter" or whatever, but that's just imho.

17-10-2013, 12:41 PM
Time for FIFA to intervene here, surely. The only way to settle this in my opinion, is a two-legged play-off.

17-10-2013, 01:00 PM
Fwiw, I agree with you.

Edit: it's happening more and more on various threads. For me, Hibs class would be to not joke about it, and to not stoop to their level to integrate it into the "banter" or whatever, but that's just imho.

I can see your point. My view on it is that there is a distinction between disrespecting the dead, and slagging the Jambos (recent) sanctimonious sloganising.

I think people need to consider the attitudes of many who returned, and whose families suffered. Many considered the whole Remembrance Day commemorations inappropriate, and even insulting.

Wilfred Owen and Siegfried Sassoons poems reflect what lots of people thought. They not only mocked the officers, and ruling class, but the actual slaughter itself.

Lewis Grassick Gibbon, spoke about the hideous war memorials that were erected. Remembrance was by no means universal, many believed it was as much about people easing their consciences as anything else.

Personally, I remember attending sparsely attended services in the 70s, as a member of the BB. this was a time when many of the survivors, and the children of the dead were still alive.

I think there should be scope for people to be cynical about the recent glorification of the Great War. By all means people are allowed to reflect. That should involve historical accuracy, and self questioning as to why they feel the need to remember.

I think the greatest disrespect we can do is to talk about it without really understanding what happened. People that don't learn from history are doomed to repeat their mistakes.

17-10-2013, 01:12 PM
I've tried to reason with Yams that their hijacking of such a great tragedy as the slaughter of WWI, to glorify their little football club, is both sick and insulting to the dead. Each and every one has become indignant and argumentative with one even threatening me physically to my face.

Also, I've yet to meet one that sees the 'irony' of a football club that resorts to such 'glory by association' being the same club that laid a wreath to those dead last year and didn't even pay for it.

There is no reasoning with these people so I can understand why a lot decide to mock their ridiculous hyperbole instead.

17-10-2013, 01:18 PM

Thats a lot different from the knobs on JKB making things up to suit themselves.

I'm quite sure people wouldn't make a joke of it if Hearts fans didn't do exactly that.

Anything else we should ban people from saying? :wink:

17-10-2013, 01:54 PM
I'm unrepentant and free of guilt for slating Hearts for their poppy-pinching and McCraes stealing.

I can respect the sacrifice of thousands and be relentless in heaping shame on them equally.

17-10-2013, 03:06 PM
I think the current Hearts team and the current O's team should meet and have a game of paintball. Winner takes all and that decides who won the war.

17-10-2013, 03:35 PM
Re earlier posts about this thread being in bad taste. To me it is okay to rip the urine out of Hearts for claiming to win the war, save football, have a special relationship with the wars etc. That is totally different to making a mockery of November 11th. I would never mock anyone for respecting Armistice Day and remembering anyone who made the ultimate sacrifice. This applies to not only WW1 and WW2 casualties but right up to the current day. It sickens me that any club whether it be The Rangers or Hearts try to make out that they are special in this regard. Personally I lost 2 great grandfathers at Arras and remember seeing my Grandmother visit her father's grave for the first time and seeing her crumple. Recently I was talking to a sad Jambo ******* who was going on about Hearts and the war. He hadn't lost anyone from his family but still claimed to have lost more though Hearts sacrifice at the time. It is these really sad *******s that get on my tits and why I have no issue in ripping them a new one.

17-10-2013, 03:54 PM
Re earlier posts about this thread being in bad taste. To me it is okay to rip the urine out of Hearts for claiming to win the war, save football, have a special relationship with the wars etc. That is totally different to making a mockery of November 11th. I would never mock anyone for respecting Armistice Day and remembering anyone who made the ultimate sacrifice. This applies to not only WW1 and WW2 casualties but right up to the current day. It sickens me that any club whether it be The Rangers or Hearts try to make out that they are special in this regard. Personally I lost 2 great grandfathers at Arras and remember seeing my Grandmother visit her father's grave for the first time and seeing her crumple. Recently I was talking to a sad Jambo ******* who was going on about Hearts and the war. He hadn't lost anyone from his family but still claimed to have lost more though Hearts sacrifice at the time. It is these really sad *******s that get on my tits and why I have no issue in ripping them a new one.

Hearts have sacrificed more though.

They've sacrificed their club for two big cups and a CL qualifier.

17-10-2013, 03:55 PM
In the interests of balance - Shinty players also made sacrifices and lost the equivalent on two teams... I find it distasteful that anyone group should value their sacrifice over any other. Every single life lost is a tragedy no matter who it may be.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/show-will-commemorate-shinty-players-killed-in-first-world-war.21249871

The show will remember the teams of Skye Camanachd and Kyles Athletic from Tighnabruaich who lost the equivalent of two teams each, devastating their communities, with Beauly losing 25 players. It will also highlight the 'missing five' of Kingussie, who never received their commemorative Camanachd Cup winning caps from 1914 because they were killed in battle in France.

There was the loss to Scottish sport of Dr Johnnie Cattanach of Newtonmore Camanachd, a Lieutenant in the Royal Army Medical Corps, at Gallipoli.

The best shinty player of his era and the only player from the ancient sport inducted into Scottish Sport's Hall of Fame, Cattanach enlisted shortly after the outbreak but died of wounds suffered in the Dardannelles in July 1915, aged 30.

Speaking at the draw for the quarter final of this year's Camanachd Cup at The Commando Memorial, Spean Bridge, yesterday, show director Hugh Dan MacLennan, shinty's historian, said such a tribute was overdue.

He said: "Many shinty-playing communities lost generations of men; soldiers who took their sport with them proudly to the frontline. I have a letter from the 5th Cameron Highlanders from the Earl of Seafield, a commander of one of the companies, to stick supplier John MacPherson in Inverness, requesting three dozen camans and balls to be sent to France.

"There is a letter of thanks from the 'French Camanachd Club', made up of soldiers from different Highland Shinty teams."

He said one of the Beauly team that won the Camanachd Cup in 1913, Donald Paterson, became corporal piper in the 4th Cameron Highlanders and died at Festubert in 1915. "His blood-stained pipes were returned home to his family. They found a pipe tune written by Donald called 'The Beauly Shinty Club' and that song will be played as part of the show," he added.

The show will be will be in Fort William on the eve of Scottish Hydro Camanachd Cup final.

17-10-2013, 04:36 PM
Who is asking for people to be banned? I just feel the lines have become blurred on here for some folk re ripping the pish out of Hearts re-writing of history and trivialising what went on in WW1, I'm sure I'll cope though.

(Mikey's last post should've been quoted here, cannae be bothered typing out my post again on my phone).

17-10-2013, 07:14 PM
I'm quite sure people wouldn't make a joke of it if Hearts fans didn't do exactly that.

How about "just spat a cup of coffee over my monitor"?

legends of 73
17-10-2013, 07:35 PM

How about banning"oh I've just jizzed over my keyboard"

Oops sorry wrong website lol

17-10-2013, 07:37 PM
The way things are going in EH11 it is inevitable that Hibs will be the only Edinburgh footballing institution who will meet the following 3 criteria:

1) we respect the sacrifices that were made (and they were huge on all sides)
2) we are still around in late 2014 to pay our respects
3) we are the only footballing institution who actually pays for our wreaths, as one small token of our genuine respect

17-10-2013, 07:58 PM

well, seeing as you ask :greengrin

'Teckle'

'i spilt/spat my coffee over the monitor', or 'i laughed so much when i read that i nearly spilt my coffee' etc etc etc

:bsod: i despair sometimes :)

17-10-2013, 08:34 PM
The O's pitch has several balconies facing the park http://www.fussballinlondon.de/index2_eng.php?pgid=111 where one can burst with pride in full view of the opposition fans!! You'd struggle to get more pleasing than that!!
Very proud to say they are my local team.

What a horrendous looking stand.

hibby rae
17-10-2013, 09:43 PM
Do you mean the Serbian bloke that shot the Austrian guy?

(in depth history lessons now available on hibs.net :wink:)

Archie Duke shot an ostrich cause he was hungry.

17-10-2013, 09:51 PM

A lot of hertz fans gave a great service to the country during both world wars. Who do you think drove the trams and delivered telegrams.

17-10-2013, 09:51 PM
The annual Service of Remembrance in Leith will be held at Leith Community Treatment Centre (Outpatient Department), 12 Junction Place on Sunday 10th November at 3.00p.m.

The war memorial in Leith was the Children's Ward of the old Leith Hospital paid for by public subscription after the war. The plaques and book of remembrance have been transferred to the treatment centre.

17-10-2013, 10:18 PM
I can see your point. My view on it is that there is a distinction between disrespecting the dead, and slagging the Jambos (recent) sanctimonious sloganising.

I think people need to consider the attitudes of many who returned, and whose families suffered. Many considered the whole Remembrance Day commemorations inappropriate, and even insulting.

Wilfred Owen and Siegfried Sassoons poems reflect what lots of people thought. They not only mocked the officers, and ruling class, but the actual slaughter itself.

Lewis Grassick Gibbon, spoke about the hideous war memorials that were erected. Remembrance was by no means universal, many believed it was as much about people easing their consciences as anything else.

Personally, I remember attending sparsely attended services in the 70s, as a member of the BB. this was a time when many of the survivors, and the children of the dead were still alive.

I think there should be scope for people to be cynical about the recent glorification of the Great War. By all means people are allowed to reflect. That should involve historical accuracy, and self questioning as to why they feel the need to remember.

I think the greatest disrespect we can do is to talk about it without really understanding what happened. People that don't learn from history are doomed to repeat their mistakes.

Fair dos FR. I'm not suggesting the subject should be taboo, or that we shouldn't take the yams to task over their often point-scoring outlook. As Hutchy said, nobody has said anything about not mentioning it. I just think we should be careful about how we do it, that's all.

Interesting points in your post too. Grassic Gibbon's treatment of the subject in the Scots Quair Trilogy points to the disconnection between those who were there and the way it was not understood by those who never experienced it.

In 1923, my great-great-aunt sent her son's medals to the war office in London along with a letter saying they could keep them, as she thought them a poor exchange for the life of her son who, to this day, lies somewhere unknown in France. So I think she would agree with you.

18-10-2013, 04:21 PM
Fair dos FR. I'm not suggesting the subject should be taboo, or that we shouldn't take the yams to task over their often point-scoring outlook. As Hutchy said, nobody has said anything about not mentioning it. I just think we should be careful about how we do it, that's all.

Interesting points in your post too. Grassic Gibbon's treatment of the subject in the Scots Quair Trilogy points to the disconnection between those who were there and the way it was not understood by those who never experienced it.

In 1923, my great-great-aunt sent her son's medals to the war office in London along with a letter saying they could keep them, as she thought them a poor exchange for the life of her son who, to this day, lies somewhere unknown in France. So I think she would agree with you.

Thanks mate. I wear a poppy, always have done. What has been getting my goat is how it has become a fashion accessory. I am also troubled by how it has also become almost compulsory to wear it as a show of support for soldiers in current wars.

There were a lot of people who objected to WW1, on the grounds that the objectives of the war were never stated. Sassoon, got sent to Craiglockhart Hospital, rather than be tried for treason. I'd recommend Pat Barker's Regeneration trilogy as a good insight into what many were thinking at the time.

It's the lack of knowledge about what an evil, money making exercise that war was that troubles me more than anything. Somebody posted about a Jambo going on about the sacrifices that were made, yet his own family didn't lose anyone.

An element at Hearts Football Club are as guilty of perpetuating the Dulce et Decorum Est attitude, as the women who sent white feathers to young men who didn't want to die in a senseless conflict.

I say all this after much soul searching, because I always had great respect for the dignified way Hearts observed the remembrance. My question to a lot of them would be, "where were you when it was a couple of dozen showing up at Haymarket?"