View Full Version : Gordon Hunter

Hibs History
10-10-2013, 03:28 PM
The Hibernian Historical Trust has profiled the career of Hibs legend Gordon Hunter

http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/player-profiles/item/173-gordon-hunter

Please leave your favourite stories and memories of Gordon below

10-10-2013, 03:33 PM
THAT goal.

Think i was 8 and when it went in it was mayhem. Remember being in the ground for ages after full time.

Tom Hart RIP
10-10-2013, 03:56 PM
I was in the Hearts end. Section N. When game started loads of Hibs fans were attacked and escorted down to the away end or chucked out. I just kept quiet. I had been night shift and hadn't been to bed and was night shift that night as well but the high of seeing Hibs beat them kept me going. After the game I ran round to Gorgie Road and joined in the celebrations.
Huge weight off the shoulders. Looking back Miller had some very good players but for some reason we couldn't beat them. His derby record was terrible .

Miguel
10-10-2013, 04:01 PM
Yes, that goal as witnessed from the even then crumbling main stand nearest the posts.
Game I wish he had played: the one against them when Foster scored. Would never have happened if Gordon had been playing.

10-10-2013, 04:01 PM
Our end was packed that day, when Gordon put the ball in the net all hell was let loose! It was F...ING MAGIC !!!!!

10-10-2013, 04:05 PM
I was at every one of the 22 in a row and then missed this one!!

10-10-2013, 04:14 PM

Sorry, but :faf:

10-10-2013, 04:20 PM
I used to deliver his rolls and papers. Nice fella but far too much hairspray.

Hibi
10-10-2013, 04:21 PM

Me too, our whole family decided we were jinxes and gave it a miss.

10-10-2013, 04:21 PM

So.......are you going to the game at the end of the month?:cb

10-10-2013, 04:36 PM
I was in the Hearts end. Section N. When game started loads of Hibs fans were attacked and escorted down to the away end or chucked out. I just kept quiet. I had been night shift and hadn't been to bed and was night shift that night as well but the high of seeing Hibs beat them kept me going. After the game I ran round to Gorgie Road and joined in the celebrations.
Huge weight off the shoulders. Looking back Miller had some very good players but for some reason we couldn't beat them. His derby record was terrible .

To be fair to Miller, we repeatedly battered them and drew or lost! It was incredible just how lucky they were.

Met Geebsie (with wee Mickey and Joe T) at that game - top bloke!

"He's one of our own!
He's one of our own!
Gordon Hunter, he's one of our own!"

coco22
10-10-2013, 04:38 PM
Was he as good a headerer of a the ball as I remember? Memories of him leaping with well-timed jumps, clearing the ball and opposition strikers in his way as well. Always wanted to head the ball like him when I was a boy and inspired me to play CH! Cheers G

10-10-2013, 04:40 PM
So much adulation for a player that grew up supporting the Huns!

10-10-2013, 04:41 PM
Was he as good a headerer of a the ball as I remember? Memories of him leaping with well-timed jumps, clearing the ball and opposition strikers in his way as well. Always wanted to head the ball like him when I was a boy and inspired me to play CH! Cheers G

1991 Semi - Absolute masterclass from Geebsy.

10-10-2013, 04:48 PM
Spoke to him in Bonnyrigg Roses social club about a year ago. Got to chat to him for an hour, nice guy.

10-10-2013, 05:13 PM
So.......are you going to the game at the end of the month?:cb

I'm afraid so!

10-10-2013, 05:37 PM
I remember being persuaded by my son to go a mid week game at Love Street the highlight of which was Geebsy dribbling the ball the length of the park only to run out of steam when he reached the by line, tripping over the ball and knocking it out for a goal kick.
I'll not tell you what I said to him as we started the long journey home.

10-10-2013, 05:56 PM
Always liked Geesbie. I remember when he broke in to the team as a marauding right full back all speed and ELBOWS great stuff :greengrin
I battered my leg off the chair in front when he scored at Tynie what a massive swollen bruised leg i had well worth it.

10-10-2013, 06:38 PM
In that 22 game run for hearts we gave them some batterings but just couldnt beat them!...Easter rd 0-0 When Brian Hamilton missed a penalty sticks out..Absolute molested them that day but just couldnt beat them .. It got in the players mind we just couldnt beat them..THEN Geebsie broke the trend..AIIRC We beat then the very next derby at easter rd 2-1.. Jackson & Oneil scoring munutes after each other...Battered them that day anaw.

10-10-2013, 06:55 PM
"That" goal....but legend?

cal-d hibs
10-10-2013, 07:11 PM
I may have dreamt this but an abiding memory of Gordon Hunter was in a friendly match at Easter Road vs Feyenoord, Roughie has ball in hands ready for a kickoot, boots it and hits Geebsie on the back of his head as he runs out the box and ball heads back over Roughies head for a Feyenoord goal, still won 4-2.

1985 mid season?

I may have dreamt this:thumbsup:

10-10-2013, 07:12 PM
You dreamt it.

Hibstrooper
10-10-2013, 07:19 PM

Over 400 games, club captain for a good spell and part of a cup winning team. Aye, legend.

7Hero
10-10-2013, 07:32 PM
Over 400 games, club captain for a good spell and part of a cup winning team. Aye, legend.

defnitely a legend..

and rolled my birthday cake out on my 21st, thank you gordon...

David_D
10-10-2013, 07:47 PM
I met him outside the pub just before the Cup Final in may. Was such a nice guy. Got a photo with him and Latapy. Both happy to pose for the photo and nice guys.

10-10-2013, 07:52 PM
22 in a row - Luck and Neil effin Berry knobbling Paul Wright.
I was at all of them since 87 and missed this one as I had just moved down to London...

10-10-2013, 08:18 PM
Bit of an unsung hero who played for the club be loved.

Looking back delighted for Geebsy on 2 occasions; winning the league cup and scoring that goal.

10-10-2013, 08:20 PM
One of the guys from Oz will be able to tell the story better than me but when Geebsy moved over there to play, some of the Hibees met him at the airport, much to his delight and surprise :greengrin IIRC, the first words one of them said to him were "thanks for THAT goal." :not worth

Rocky
10-10-2013, 08:24 PM
I was a bit the worse for wear when he scored 'that' goal and I was meeting some jambo mates after. Ended up in the Caley Sample Rooms with them where the maroon hordes were drowning their sorrows with a karaoke. Had an epic rush of blood to the head and dedicated a song to Geebsie when it was my go on the karaoke.

My word, but the place went bananas. I just remember one of my pals waving a hearts keyring around trying to convince them not to fill me in. Got out unscathed in the end but it was touch and go for a while.

10-10-2013, 08:30 PM

Looking back delighted for Geebsy on 2 occasions; winning the league cup and scoring that goal.

Reminds me of Paul Hanlon. Come on Paul, grab a medal at Hibs

Tom Hart RIP
10-10-2013, 08:32 PM
Saw him recently with Mickey Weir and Keith Wright at the festival of football at Princes Street Gardens.
His first touch was a back pass which Henry Smith misjudged and the Hibs/hearts select went one nil down in 10 seconds.

10-10-2013, 08:34 PM
We shouldn't overlook his firm but fair tackling

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lsDR2tNftvo around 9m20s in

Get in Geebsie :agree:

10-10-2013, 08:36 PM
When I was a ballboy I remember he walked into to the (very small) old gym inside the stadium and basically asked me randomnly to help him warm-up.. Some basic passing the ball to each other etc, but think he had a pre match fitness test ahead that day...he was very friendly and his goal at Tynie brings back wonderful and sad memories for me, as I sat in the home end with a jambo friend who died young, just a few years later.
Not sure nowadays sitting with mates in th other end would be safe tbh!

Anyway, good memories of him being a reliable, solid CH and knew how to connect with fans which is an important part of football IMO. Sadly appears its a thing of the past.

10-10-2013, 08:37 PM
Remember nutmegging him in a kickabout between Wallyford and Wimpey late 70's. He wasn't pleased.

Dunderhall
10-10-2013, 08:37 PM
I seem to remember him scoring a peach of a volley from a corner going down the slope.
Something says St Mirren during a 4-3 win but vague on that.

10-10-2013, 08:40 PM
I seem to remember him scoring a peach of a volley from a corner going down the slope.

3-1 down and won 4-3.Evans got 2.

10-10-2013, 08:40 PM

funnily enough, I was in the old stand lower standing and all the hibs boys were in there too. wild afternoon and wild afterwards :-)

Auckland Hibs
10-10-2013, 08:51 PM
3-1 down and won 4-3.Evans got 2.

Was this the game when St Mirren scored a complete peach - IIRC from about 40 yards top right hand corner?

Seem to recall something about the video from the game accidently being taped over by someone at the BBC with an "adult" movie.

10-10-2013, 08:51 PM

That was a quite tremendous goal and game. I'm sure Torfasson scored a very similar goal at the other end.

HKHIBS
10-10-2013, 11:54 PM
4-3 game was my first time at Easter Road - 3-1 down....on my way out (hadn't scored more than 1 in a game for ages so couldn't see a comeback)....Hunter got the goal within a minute or so of going 3-1 down so didn't have time to leave thankfully......

Remember the game like it was yesterday:

Paul Wright Penalty 1-0
Paul Kinnaird 1-1
Brian Martin 1-2 (30 yarder)
Gunni Torfasen 1-3
Gordon Hunter 2-3
Paul Wright 3-3
Gareth Evans 4-3(last kick of the game)

For scoring the goal that ended the Derby run he'll always be a hero to me.

s2hart
11-10-2013, 12:45 AM

I remember being at the game sitting in the old Cow Shed, one of my most memorable goals at Easter Road. I met both him and Keith Wright recently at the London Hibs Burns night both gentlemen, Geebsie seemed to appreciate that I remembered and mentioned his volley rather than his goal at Tynecastle, as everyone Hibs fan he meets they always mention his goal against them and rightly so.

11-10-2013, 12:49 AM
I was in the Hearts end of the Geebsy game in one of the boxes at the back as my godparent who was a Jambo was giving the commentary to a partially sighted veteran. I ran about like a fud.

11-10-2013, 01:12 AM
I remember being at the game sitting in the old Cow Shed, one of my most memorable goals at Easter Road. I met both him and Keith Wright recently at the London Hibs Burns night both gentlemen, Geebsie seemed to appreciate that I remembered and mentioned his volley rather than his goal at Tynecastle, as everyone Hibs fan he meets they always mention his goal against them and rightly so.

That London trip was indeed a fine w-end as far as I can remember!

11-10-2013, 05:55 AM

Yes remember that one too. If memory serves me right we were three nil down at half time and won. That goal was a peach caught it perfect and I remember thinking saints manager would be lucky to keep his job after that result. He was sacked too. As for the goal against them pure carlsberg weekend.

11-10-2013, 06:13 AM
4-3 game was my first time at Easter Road - 3-1 down....on my way out (hadn't scored more than 1 in a game for ages so couldn't see a comeback)....Hunter got the goal within a minute or so of going 3-1 down so didn't have time to leave thankfully......

Remember the game like it was yesterday:

Paul Wright Penalty 1-0
Paul Kinnaird 1-1
Brian Martin 1-2 (30 yarder)
Gunni Torfasen 1-3
Gordon Hunter 2-3
Paul Wright 3-3
Gareth Evans 4-3(last kick of the game)

For scoring the goal that ended the Derby run he'll always be a hero to me.

Remember this game as well! There was about 5000 folk, it was supposed to be a relegation battle, but that got scrapped. Evans had been off with injury or something and came on late in the game I think. Remember Martins goal was so good we all clapped! A few scarves thrown at 3-1, which must have been embarrassing when Evans got the winner. Place went mental! But for people not happy with PF and Hibs right now, that season was far worse in general.

Just seen we scored 24 goals in 36 league matches. :shocked:

11-10-2013, 08:06 AM
Remember this game as well! There was about 5000 folk, it was supposed to be a relegation battle, but that got scrapped. Evans had been off with injury or something and came on late in the game I think. Remember Martins goal was so good we all clapped! A few scarves thrown at 3-1, which must have been embarrassing when Evans got the winner. Place went mental! But for people not happy with PF and Hibs right now, that season was far worse in general.

Just seen we scored 24 goals in 36 league matches. :shocked:

Ah those were the days great times :greengrin

11-10-2013, 11:16 AM

He never played for Rangers.

Incidentally, he nearly did but broke his leg shortly before having a trial with them aged 15.

11-10-2013, 11:19 AM
So much adulation for a player that grew up supporting the Huns!

Why does this matter ?

11-10-2013, 12:29 PM

And then Miller gets booked :rotflmao:

Absolutely vile tackle, but given the opposition I'll allow it :greengrin

cal-d hibs
11-10-2013, 12:58 PM
You dreamt it.

I'm no sure I did lol About the same time as we played Dunfermline in Tom Hart Memorial Trophy and humped them 5-3:thumbsup:

johnnywaspsting
11-10-2013, 01:50 PM
A Scotland under 21 game at Brockville against (?) with a few Hibs players playing when he crunched somebody minutes after they had crunched John Collins.

I saw it coming.

11-10-2013, 03:53 PM

this is why he was my hero in the 80s along with judicious use of the forearm on the likes of McAvennie and McCoist...LEGEND!

11-10-2013, 03:58 PM
Why does this matter ?

It doesn't to me. A lot of people talk about him as a Hibby who grew up to play for the club he'd always supported. I've no idea where this fallacy started but it's now become one of these hibs.net 'facts'.

EDIT: p.s. I thought the smiley was a bit of a giveaway that I wasn't being serious.

11-10-2013, 04:26 PM
It doesn't to me. A lot of people talk about him as a Hibby who grew up to play for the club he'd always supported. I've no idea where this fallacy started but it's now become one of these hibs.net 'facts'.

Yupp, definitely a current. Not your typical cliche hun though, the whole family were pleasant enough.

11-10-2013, 04:41 PM
Yupp, definitely a current. Not your typical cliche hun though, the whole family were pleasant enough.

They were a really nice family (in spite of being Huns). They used to be really generous when I went out Guising :greengrin

Can you remember Gordon and his mates were called 'The Prize Guys', after a yoghurt advert (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FGrI_z1vuKI) that was out at the time?

Dunderhall
11-10-2013, 05:19 PM
A Scotland under 21 game at Brockville against (?) with a few Hibs players playing when he crunched somebody minutes after they had crunched John Collins.

I saw it coming.
Twas Belgium.

BS44
11-10-2013, 05:49 PM
He never played for Rangers.

Incidentally, he nearly did but broke his leg shortly before having a trial with them aged 15.

Didn't he break a leg while at Hibs?

11-10-2013, 07:31 PM
I may have dreamt this but an abiding memory of Gordon Hunter was in a friendly match at Easter Road vs Feyenoord, Roughie has ball in hands ready for a kickoot, boots it and hits Geebsie on the back of his head as he runs out the box and ball heads back over Roughies head for a Feyenoord goal, still won 4-2.

1985 mid season?

I may have dreamt this:thumbsup:

You dreamt it.

Don't remember that chain of events exactly but we definitely beat Feyenoord at Easter Road round about then, late in the year, so you never dreamt that.

cal-d hibs
11-10-2013, 07:35 PM
Don't remember that chain of events exactly but we definitely beat Feyenoord at Easter Road round about then, late in the year, so you never dreamt that.

A friend in Canada sent me a pic of the match programme along with the Dunfermline game so I'm happy it did happen and no just old age playing tricks:thumbsup:

He remembered Eddie May got a double that day:flag:

11-10-2013, 07:43 PM
A friend in Canada sent me a pic of the match programme along with the Dunfermline game so I'm happy it did happen and no just old age playing tricks:thumbsup:

Here it is here, but I cant get details or scorers.
Shows it was a while ago if H***z could beat us in the East of Scotland Shield............

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/team_friendly_list.php?from=27&to=27&venue=0&update=Update

Sherlock Jones
11-10-2013, 08:05 PM

You 'may' have to nudge his memory a bit because, according to the next home programme, it was Cowan who scored twice. Kane netted a penalty and May got the other in the 4-2 win.

11-10-2013, 09:29 PM
Here it is here, but I cant get details or scorers.
Shows it was a while ago if H***z could beat us in the East of Scotland Shield............

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/team_friendly_list.php?from=27&to=27&venue=0&update=Update

Kano scored for Hibs and some gadgie named Billy McKay scored twice for them

11-10-2013, 09:36 PM
Kano scored for Hibs and some gadgie named Billy McKay scored twice for them

I meant the Feyenoord game..............................................

11-10-2013, 09:39 PM
I meant the Feyenoord game..............................................

Ooops :greengrin

Cowan 2, Kano and Eddie May

Feyenoord were the reigning Dutch champions

Less than 5,000 fans at the game

11-10-2013, 09:43 PM
Ooops :greengrin

Cowan 2, Kano and Eddie May

Feyenoord were the reigning Dutch champions

Less than 5,000 fans at the game

I was one of them, so ta for that wee jog.
Imagine the froth on here if we had Ajax at ER now and got a crowd that size.

11-10-2013, 09:52 PM
I was one of them, so ta for that wee jog.
Imagine the froth on here if we had Ajax at ER now and got a crowd that size.

12-10-2013, 07:04 AM
"Most, if not all were allowed to join their 'colleagues' behind Alan Rough's goal."

Now I was young at the time (7or8) but I was at the game. I'm fairly certain Alan Rough was 'before my time'. Should that not be Jim Leighton?

12-10-2013, 08:09 AM
"Most, if not all were allowed to join their 'colleagues' behind Alan Rough's goal."

Now I was young at the time (7or8) but I was at the game. I'm fairly certain Alan Rough was 'before my time'. Should that not be Jim Leighton?

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=6289

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=6351

12-10-2013, 08:35 AM
http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=6289

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=6351

So I'm right?

EVENTUALLY
12-10-2013, 09:03 AM

:hmmm: Exactly. If GH had been a bit more effective in dealing with John Robertson it would never have been 22 in a row. GH was a wholehearted defender but not very consistent and occasionally extremely rash.

12-10-2013, 09:41 AM
Exactly. If GH had been a bit more effective in dealing with John Robertson it would never have been 22 in a row. GH was a wholehearted defender but not very consistent and occasionally extremely rash.

Always gave 100% and loved his aggressive attitude but he wasn't the quickest and was Nelsonesque in his passing.

A great due to his service to Hibs but not a legend.

I remember going along to Scotland V Ireland under 19 at Tynie when Geebsie was playing. The sectarian abuse Ireland got was an outrage. Hunter slated too even though he played quite well. It got interesting when some of the Baby Crew entered the ground near the end with green and white scarfs!

cal-d hibs
12-10-2013, 02:24 PM
You 'may' have to nudge his memory a bit because, according to the next home programme, it was Cowan who scored twice. Kane netted a penalty and May got the other in the 4-2 win.

Good news for me as my memory ain't what it was and he is a bit of a statto so I'll point this out to him lol

I was sure the own goal happened but it may have been another evening game maybe the Pars game in Tom Hart Memorial game which was around the same time?

Still, back in the day when we could get Feyenoord over for a game....and put 4 past them:flag:

12-10-2013, 02:57 PM

Very much so,if only we had a player like him now.
That goal,something else breaking the run and does anyone remember the fanzine with the title "hunters got crabs",which i think had a picture of him with scott crabbes testicles in his hand !!!!

12-10-2013, 08:08 PM
Geebsie features and scores here as does the old Easter Road and one of the two Andy Goram's :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hB1uf6exUOo

Stevo1875
12-10-2013, 08:29 PM
I was one of them, so ta for that wee jog.Imagine the froth on here if we had Ajax at ER now and got a crowd that size.I was shocked at attendance stats on that site for games I went to back then. It only just struck me that the attendance was never accurate in the days of the terracing. Not sure by how much though. I can't imagine it would have been far out though. .???

13-10-2013, 06:42 PM

Great bio from the trust there

http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/player-profiles/item/173-gordon-hunter

I met Gordon at the hall of fame dinner last year - top bloke and couldn't have been nicer

Had time to speak to everyone and get photos taken.

Exactly what you want from a hibs legend and club representative :not worth

13-10-2013, 07:13 PM
Hunter was a magnificent servant to Hibs

Ma best story about him was when he was 17 and had not long been signed by Hibs. He played as a guest for a team I was playing with against Danderhall amateurs as we were a man short

He was absolutely magnificent and totally ran the show as you would expect. He swore us all to secrecy that we wouldn't reveal that he was on Hibs books as Paddy Stanton would have gone mental.

The Danderhall coaches came in after the game and wanted him to sign for them !!

He told them he wasn't interested in playing football on a regular basis as he'd broken his leg a year before and that was the only game he'd played since.

One of the coaches obviously recognised him and said he'd seen him playing for Hibs reserves

He just sat there nonchantly and said 'nah wisnae me' but the boy was insistent.

Geebsy then said the boy was getting mixed up with his twin brother!!

Priceless but cool as ****** fae the man

Great guy and great player and servant for the cabbage

14-10-2013, 08:42 AM
One of the guys from Oz will be able to tell the story better than me but when Geebsy moved over there to play, some of the Hibees met him at the airport, much to his delight and surprise :greengrin IIRC, the first words one of them said to him were "thanks for THAT goal." :not worth

Cannot tell a lie.....t'wasme who ducked off from work to meet him at Sydney airport

I had a hand in him coming out here to play with the now defunct Canberra Cosmos

14-10-2013, 08:56 AM
Cannot tell a lie.....t'wasme who ducked off from work to meet him at Sydney airport

I had a hand in him coming out here to play with the now defunct Canberra Cosmos

Good lad :)

14-10-2013, 10:03 AM
Yes, that goal as witnessed from the even then crumbling main stand nearest the posts.
Game I wish he had played: the one against them when Foster scored. Would never have happened if Gordon had been playing.

Aint that the truth. :agree: