View Full Version : NHC Scotland v Croatia Tuesday 15th October

08-10-2013, 07:27 PM
Church of Maradona
bus leaves Standing Order in George Street 15:30 booked into a pub near Hampden
Straight back to Edinburgh after the game, message for details

SEATS AVAILABLE £10 adults £5 kids :thumbsup:

:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag:s altireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag

10-10-2013, 09:38 PM
Still seats available :aok:

Krisstof
11-10-2013, 10:34 AM
Hi looking for 2 defo possibly another 1-3 spaces on bus if you can message me to cfm or reply on thread cheers

12-10-2013, 09:58 AM
Hi looking for 2 defo possibly another 1-3 spaces on bus if you can message me to cfm or reply on thread cheers

2 seats are yours, give me a shout as soon as you can if you need extra cheers :aok:

15-10-2013, 12:13 PM
I was wondering if Scotland were worth a bet tonight given that Croatia have 9 players a booking away from missing the play off first leg. No idea what the odds are however will be interesting to see what the Croatian manager does. Most of their best players are in the 9 such as Modric, Mandzukic, Corluka, Krankjar.

15-10-2013, 01:00 PM
I was wondering if Scotland were worth a bet tonight given that Croatia have 9 players a booking away from missing the play off first leg. No idea what the odds are however will be interesting to see what the Croatian manager does. Most of their best players are in the 9 such as Modric, Mandzukic, Corluka, Krankjar.

12/5 seems to be the best odds your getting for a Scotland win.

15-10-2013, 01:57 PM
12/5 seems to be the best odds your getting for a Scotland win.

Looks a good price given the above.

15-10-2013, 02:21 PM

Are Croatia already guaranteed a play off place?

15-10-2013, 02:25 PM
Are Croatia already guaranteed a play off place?

Yes. I am now qualifying this given this wiki page seems to indicate they are not however given Stimac the Croatian coach seems positive they are guaranteed then am assuming only a truly bizarre set of results tonight would stop them being so.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(UEFA)#First_rou nd

15-10-2013, 02:34 PM
What channel is the Poland game on.

andrew70
15-10-2013, 02:42 PM

ITV1 London, 973 I believe

15-10-2013, 03:11 PM
Think I'm gonnae watch that along with the 18,000 poles at the game.

15-10-2013, 03:14 PM

it's got 0-0 written all over it for me.

15-10-2013, 03:31 PM
it's got 0-0 written all over it for me.

Agreed - ive done the England n Scotland draw double for 23/1.

15-10-2013, 03:37 PM

103 :wink:

15-10-2013, 03:47 PM
ITV1 London, 973 I believe

It's the game to watch tonight.

15-10-2013, 03:49 PM
103 :wink:

You having a few pops tonight mate. :greengrin

15-10-2013, 03:56 PM
You having a few pops tonight mate. :greengrin

Orange and water as im walking in morning :greengrin

15-10-2013, 04:15 PM
Orange and water as im walking in morning :greengrin

Enjoy your walk. :aok:

15-10-2013, 05:34 PM
McGregor

Hutton Hanley Martin Mulgrew

Brown Bannan

Snoddgrass Morrison Anya

Naismith

15-10-2013, 06:07 PM
COME ON SCOTLAND!!!

:party:

15-10-2013, 06:16 PM
McGregor

Brown Bannan

Snoddgrass Morrison Anya

Naismith

Naismith,oh dear,not confident with him up front

15-10-2013, 06:24 PM
Time do Ecosse kick off??

Mikeystewart
15-10-2013, 06:25 PM
Sorry if it has already been asked, has any got the radio link working, or know where I can find one? BBC one seems to be down.

Mikeystewart
15-10-2013, 06:25 PM
time do ecosse kick off??

8pm gmt

15-10-2013, 06:26 PM

If I was a Scotland striker I'd rather be the one that comes on for last 20-30 mins than the poor sod who has to run aboot like a daftie up front on my ain for an hour.

15-10-2013, 06:31 PM
McGregor

Brown Bannan

Snoddgrass Morrison Anya

Naismith

Has Billy Stark approved the eligibility of that line up.

15-10-2013, 06:33 PM
McGregor

Brown Bannan

Snoddgrass Morrison Anya

Naismith

15-10-2013, 07:09 PM
1-0 France v Finland

Ribery screamer from 20 yds.

15-10-2013, 07:23 PM
mon the bonnie scots

SJNB Hibby
15-10-2013, 07:24 PM
Poland looking very good against Ingerlund--hope they can keep it up for 90

15-10-2013, 07:29 PM
snodgrass 1-0 get in ya dancer :thumbsup::thumbsup:

15-10-2013, 07:30 PM
Yas :)

15-10-2013, 07:31 PM
27:07 Goal!Goal! Scotland 1, Croatia 0. Robert Snodgrass (Scotland) header from very close range to the bottom right corner. Assisted by Charlie Mulgrew with a cross.

kdhibees1
15-10-2013, 07:32 PM
Great stuff!!

15-10-2013, 07:33 PM
oooooooooooohh keeper saved from snodgrass and onto the post :(

15-10-2013, 07:35 PM
Did croatia kill someone in the snodgrass family?

15-10-2013, 07:45 PM

Ha ha. Like this.

15-10-2013, 07:46 PM
Its like night and day watching Scotland with Strachan in charge instead of Levein.

David_D
15-10-2013, 07:47 PM

This is one of the best comments I have seen on here in ages. :thumbsup:

15-10-2013, 07:49 PM
Its like night and day watching Scotland with Strachan in charge instead of Levein.

Thing is it's not a massively different set up he's playing.

He just seems to have the players interested and wanting to play for him.

SJNB Hibby
15-10-2013, 07:50 PM
Yes. I am now qualifying this given this wiki page seems to indicate they are not however given Stimac the Croatian coach seems positive they are guaranteed then am assuming only a truly bizarre set of results tonight would stop them being so.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(UEFA)#First_rou nd
If we beat Croatia they have 17--but they lose their 6 Macedonia points. If Denmark win(Up 4-0) THEY Have 16, but they lost to Malta, so their adjusted points are 13. I dont see any other group where any team has less than 12, Everybody was assuming Bulgaria would end up 2nd in their group but theyre losing 1-0 at home with 15 minutes to go. Thats why he's not playing a weakened side, and a win for us will be even more important

15-10-2013, 07:50 PM
This is one of the best comments I have seen on here in ages. :thumbsup:

I missed it, what happened?

15-10-2013, 07:51 PM

I'm stealing that :faf:

15-10-2013, 07:52 PM
Thing is it's not a massively different set up he's playing.

He just seems to have the players interested and wanting to play for him.

They seem to have a wee bit more belief in themselves, plus actually attacking helps :greengrin

15-10-2013, 07:52 PM
Strachan is giving me my Scotland mojo back, always thought we had better players than we are given credit for but he has them playing some nice stuff, plenty of players to come back from injury too, its looking so much better

must refrain from finding similarities........

15-10-2013, 07:54 PM
Strachan is giving me my Scotland mojo back, always thought we had better players than we are given credit for but he has them playing some nice stuff, plenty of players to come back from injury too, its looking so much better

must refrain from finding similarities........

I was thinking the same but lets not spoil the night.

15-10-2013, 08:28 PM
Belgium 1 wales 0

sweden 3 germany 5

pen scotland :greengrin

15-10-2013, 08:31 PM
bannan misses penalty...naismith scores from rebound get in :greengrin 2-0

15-10-2013, 08:32 PM

David_D
15-10-2013, 08:32 PM
good finish from Naismith there. Not a great penalty though

15-10-2013, 08:33 PM

Bloody typical !

pontius pilate
15-10-2013, 08:34 PM
Just shows you what could've been if we had got rid of that specky yam tramp earlier

Bloody typical !

Who else do you not like in the squad ;)

Get in!! \O/ \O/

could we do the double over the 10th ranked team in the FifA world rankings :cb gawn wee gogs

15-10-2013, 08:35 PM

If only Strachan had been in charge from the very start of the campaign instead of that balloon.

Scotland games are actually watchable these days.

France 2-0 given as an OG

Just shows you what could've been if we had got rid of that specky yam tramp earlier

i do hope he was watching again tonight :agree:

15-10-2013, 08:36 PM
If only the SFA had listened to hibs.net and got rid off that ugly, unshaven, specky, fat hearts ******* we could be looking forward to the play-offs and then on to Brazil................

SJNB Hibby
15-10-2013, 08:37 PM
2134:
Scotland are rampant at the moment and an outstretched leg prevents an Alan Hutton cross finding Steven Naismith in front of goal.

Who ARE these guys???

15-10-2013, 08:37 PM
good finish from Naismith there. Not a great penalty though

TBF Goalie was well off his line

David_D
15-10-2013, 08:43 PM
TBF Goalie was well off his line

Still took it well. could have easily got under it and put it in the stand.

15-10-2013, 08:45 PM
looking forward to the world cup finals

in Russia 2018 :)

15-10-2013, 08:46 PM
3-0 les frogs - Benzema

15-10-2013, 08:50 PM
i'l start enjoying the world cup next year after engerlund have been emptied oot on penalties by (enter country name)

15-10-2013, 08:50 PM
Belgium 1 wales 1

15-10-2013, 08:55 PM
Great performance and a million miles away from what we had to endure under Le Vain. Well done Gordon and the boys

15-10-2013, 09:00 PM
just watched a Scotland match with players actually performing to their club standards.... and we don't look half bad...add all the players to come in who are injured and we have some strength in depth at last :greengrin

15-10-2013, 09:03 PM
Belgium 1 wales 1

Impressive result.

15-10-2013, 09:04 PM
If only that bar steward Harry Potter had been emptied earlier , or even better never appointed at all .

15-10-2013, 09:07 PM

This. Should have been punted after the Macedonia draw at home.

15-10-2013, 09:08 PM
Still took it well. could have easily got under it and put it in the stand.

Sorry was meaning when the goalie saved the penalty rather than Naismith

OsloHibs
15-10-2013, 09:17 PM
Just heard Scotland are playing Norway in a friendly over here :applause:

15-10-2013, 09:21 PM
In other news:

Iceland in the play-offs :top marks

15-10-2013, 09:22 PM
This. Should have been punted after the Macedonia draw at home.

Should maybe never have been there to start with but there were few doubters at the start. I could be wrong but the 6 points dropped to Wales cost us the play off place. The head to head with Croatia being in our favour.....?

15-10-2013, 09:25 PM
In other news:

Just shows how ludicrous the seeding system was! Even a Levein led Scotland would have qualified for the play-offs from that weak group!

15-10-2013, 09:28 PM
Just shows how ludicrous the seeding system was! Even a Levein led Scotland would have qualified for the play-offs from that weak group!

Posssht of the week (hic)

15-10-2013, 09:30 PM

Yeah I could just see Levein's Scotland going to Switzerland and Iceland and doing both of them 2 or 3-0. :rolleyes:

15-10-2013, 09:34 PM
Yeah I could just see Levein's Scotland going to Switzerland and Iceland and doing both of them 2 or 3-0. :rolleyes:

They'll get absolutely horsed by whoever they get in the play-offs.:agree:

15-10-2013, 09:38 PM
Amazing what can happen when you get rid of a dull, negative, boring manager who was a dull, negative, boring player and who is a dull, negative, boring person and replace him with the total opposite. Oh aye, and ones a jambo and ones a Hibby. Guess which is which?!?!?!

15-10-2013, 09:44 PM
Huge credit to Strachan, brought Scotland out of some horrible dark times under Potter. His negative tactics ruined Scotland. So fingers crossed we make the Euros now under a manager who knows how to attack.

15-10-2013, 09:45 PM
If only that bar steward Harry Potter had been emptied earlier , or even better never appointed at all .

Yup. Full credit to WGS :agree:

15-10-2013, 09:48 PM
In other news:

Are there any of the former U20s who horsed us in a play off at Easter Road a few years ago. These players looked really promising at the time.

15-10-2013, 10:29 PM
Interesting to hear Pat Nevin say he reckons Naismith and Fletcher are our future up front. Where does that put Griffiths. Is he in the right place at the wrong time?

15-10-2013, 10:34 PM
Huge credit to Strachan, brought Scotland out of some horrible dark times under Potter. His negative tactics ruined Scotland. So fingers crossed we make the Euros now under a manager who knows how to attack.

The words "Breath of Fresh Air" spring to mind when thinking of how we've performed under Strachan. What a find with Anya though, he looks to be a great player for Scotland. Actually looking forward to the next qualifying campaign.

15-10-2013, 10:38 PM
Interesting to hear Pat Nevin say he reckons Naismith and Fletcher are our future up front. Where does that put Griffiths. Is he in the right place at the wrong time?

I think him being in L1 may be what is holding him back from earning more caps, despite the fact that the standard of play there is probably on a par with what you get in the SPL these days.

InterviewLoI
15-10-2013, 10:45 PM
I think him being in L1 may be what is holding him back from earning more caps, despite the fact that the standard of play there is probably on a par with what you get in the SPL these days.

yes but the fact is in the spl you play a team who are Champions League regulars 3/4 times a season and there is always a chance of europa league qualifiers. That makes you instantly more recognisable

15-10-2013, 10:47 PM

Fletcher and Naismith are in the EPL. Leigh is third tier.
Wrong place.

16-10-2013, 07:14 AM
Fletcher and Naismith are in the EPL. Leigh is third tier.
Wrong place.

Both players provide more options than LG does. LG will be used in the future but not in the formation they played last night. LG is a great player but both those boys are EPL standard.

16-10-2013, 07:30 AM
Great result, but how many other 4th pot teams can beat the top seeds home and away, but lose to the bottom seeds home and away , if only HP was no where near the job in the first place, he should have been emptied after the Prague debacle :saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag:s altireflag

16-10-2013, 07:43 AM
Croation Manager Stimac offers to resigns after us beating them..... tough game management....

Come on the wee Ginger Ninja :greengrin

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/8974552/world-cup-qualifiers-croatia-boss-igor-stimac-offers-to-resign-after-loss-to-scotland

16-10-2013, 08:18 AM
game highlights

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/24439813

16-10-2013, 08:22 AM
Well done Strachan.

Shows you what a decent manager can do with a average group of players. And confirms once and for all just how bad a job Levein did. He single-handedly killed our chance of getting to Rio, yet still treated like football royalty by the media:confused:

16-10-2013, 08:37 AM
I'm confused, I thought when a new manager comes in it's unrealistic to expect a quick turn around in fortunes. This is especially the case when you consider what the manager has inherited.

It's surely much more realistic to be still watching the gradual development to a half decent side around two years later. After all, that's how it happened with Alex Ferguson :wink:

16-10-2013, 09:21 AM
Great result, but how many other 4th pot teams can beat the top seeds home and away, but lose to the bottom seeds home and away , if only HP was no where near the job in the first place, he should have been emptied after the Prague debacle :saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag:s altireflag

To be fair Wales are much better than a bottom pot team. We got very unlucky drawing them as compared to San Marino etc.

16-10-2013, 10:06 AM
I'm confused, I thought when a new manager comes in it's unrealistic to expect a quick turn around in fortunes. This is especially the case when you consider what the manager has inherited.

It's surely much more realistic to be still watching the gradual development to a half decent side around two years later. After all, that's how it happened with Alex Ferguson :wink:

Aye, funny that eh? :agree:

Posh Swanny
16-10-2013, 10:14 AM
To be fair Wales are much better than a bottom pot team. We got very unlucky drawing them as compared to San Marino etc.

No easy games in International football - tough place to go is San Marino and with a bit more luck in front of goal, they would have conceded less than 5 goals a game.