View Full Version : Quinn's (Piano Bar) for Partick Match - 7th October - KO 19:45

05-10-2013, 11:12 AM
Will Quinn's in Camden be showing the game on Monday?

London Hibs Supporters Club
06-10-2013, 06:41 PM
London must have more places to eat than any other comparable city. There are stretches of Camden Town where every shop front has a neon pictogram indicating simple Day-Glo sustenance; a green coffee cup of the sort you never get offered now because it doesn’t hold enough, a ghoulish Chinese duck winking, saying “Duck” for the benefit of us round eyes who don’t read pictogram. There are bowls with chopsticks and sombreros and pigs in chef’s hats and aprons. Burgers and pizzas shine like beacons for the peckish. There’s even a lurid flashing cheesecake over one café.

Though the dining rooms promise the fabled comestibles of the exotic corners of the globe, each emits a waft of thick smell that invisibly dovetails with its neighbours’ into half a dozen notes of sweat, oil, fat, onions, MSG and stewed tomatoes. Looking down the half mile of Camden High Street, the little, breezily bright, illuminated eateries in the appropriately named “Camden Passage”, one quickly understands that this defies taste, hunger and nutrition - the eateries' sole existence is for the cheesy, sugared, unctuous, grazing, greed of the thousands of huddled tourists who don't know what's around the corner at the top of the road. It’s Pierre at Quinn’s!

Firstly: the bad news. As it’s another pesky evening kick-off, subsequently, both the restaurant and brassiere are fully booked from 6pm onwards, so we’ve once again been allocated the Piano Bar. IMPORTANT : For those willing to eat before kick-off, please try and get there as soon as possible as no food orders will be taken after 6.30pm. Food will then be served after the match.

This week’s starter will be a simple Catalan classic; Salt Cod Fritters with Aioli. Our main course is a Pork Belly & Clam Stew with Wine and Garlic. While more Portuguese than French, Pierre assures that his homemade baguette will be the perfect accompaniment. As always, coffee will be served after the meal.

This week’s house wine is 2011 Domaine de la Réaltière Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence Pastel Rosé at £18.99 a bottle. Head Sommelier, Jean-Claude, describes this as a lovely, classic Provence rosé. Nice palate with good concentration with a creamy finish. Let’s hope we can say the same about the match and result!

See you all on Monday.

06-10-2013, 07:04 PM
London must have more places to eat than any other comparable city. There are stretches of Camden Town where every shop front has a neon pictogram indicating simple Day-Glo sustenance; a green coffee cup of the sort you never get offered now because it doesn’t hold enough, a ghoulish Chinese duck winking, saying “Duck” for the benefit of us round eyes who don’t read pictogram. There are bowls with chopsticks and sombreros and pigs in chef’s hats and aprons. Burgers and pizzas shine like beacons for the peckish. There’s even a lurid flashing cheesecake over one café.

Though the dining rooms promise the fabled comestibles of the exotic corners of the globe, each emits a waft of thick smell that invisibly dovetails with its neighbours’ into half a dozen notes of sweat, oil, fat, onions, MSG and stewed tomatoes. Looking down the half mile of Camden High Street, the little, breezily bright, illuminated eateries in the appropriately named “Camden Passage”, one quickly understands that this defies taste, hunger and nutrition - the eateries' sole existence is for the cheesy, sugared, unctuous, grazing, greed of the thousands of huddled tourists who don't know what's around the corner at the top of the road. It’s Pierre at Quinn’s!

Firstly: the bad news. As it’s another pesky evening kick-off, subsequently, both the restaurant and brassiere are fully booked from 6pm onwards, so we’ve once again been allocated the Piano Bar. IMPORTANT : For those willing to eat before kick-off, please try and get there as soon as possible as no food orders will be taken after 6.30pm. Food will then be served after the match.

This week’s starter will be a simple Catalan classic; Salt Cod Fritters with Aioli. Our main course is a Pork Belly & Clam Stew with Wine and Garlic. While more Portuguese than French, Pierre assures that his homemade baguette will be the perfect accompaniment. As always, coffee will be served after the meal.

This week’s house wine is 2011 Domaine de la Réaltière Coteaux d'Aix-en-Provence Pastel Rosé at £18.99 a bottle. Head Sommelier, Jean-Claude, describes this as a lovely, classic Provence rosé. Nice palate with good concentration with a creamy finish. Let’s hope we can say the same about the match and result!

See you all on Monday.Jeezo ..think I would just settle for a bag o chips ...:faint: ...sod meeting you before a game ..you would cost me ma mortgage !! :greengrin

06-10-2013, 07:06 PM
Piano bar and football, only in London

Mon the Hibs

06-10-2013, 07:15 PM
They wouldnae let me in the last time cos I was wearing trainers. The doorman directed me to a nice wee boozer on Inverness Street to watch the game!

CyberSauzee
06-10-2013, 07:41 PM
Pierre's menus never cease to amaze me. I feel priviliged to have savoured such delights.

In fact, I'm getting emotional thinking of the flavour explosion on my pallette. It's Pierre versus the gastronomic world and I feel so proud that Pierre that has chosen to cook for us. I just hope my tears do not impair the flavour of his salt cod. #ProudOfPierre

06-10-2013, 09:03 PM

See you all on Monday.

Have they got their Michelen star yet?

06-10-2013, 09:10 PM
Have they got their Michelen star yet?

Indeed it has - and it was damn unlucky not to be awarded two.

Pop along tomorrow if you're in the area and sample the food first hand.

06-10-2013, 09:10 PM
Nae riff raff ya bass

06-10-2013, 09:26 PM

See you all on Monday.

Sounds braw!

CyberSauzee
07-10-2013, 05:46 PM
Excellent hor'deurves being served by Pierre and Jean Claude at the moment.

Escargots on oatcakes no less with generous amounts of truffle shavings. And to complement this Jean Claude has gone new world and given us a superb Pinot Noir from Oregon. Viva la France and God Bless America!

08-10-2013, 08:47 AM
Fantastic evening and the food once again excelled (which is more than can be said about the match).

I'm at a loss as to how this establishment only has one Michelin star, as you'll struggle to eat and drink anything better on any night of the week, let alone a dull Monday in October.