View Full Version : Match Updates Inverness v Hibs
28-09-2013, 03:40 PM
The truth is, we're not as good as some people though the six game unbeaten run made us look...
....and we're not as bad as others think.
We're still a mid-table side.
DISCLAIMER: I reserve the right to totally irrationally change my views and be much less reasonable if we lose another couple of goals :wink:
I'm pretty sure I agree with this? The last few performances were pretty promising, I don't think this is the start of another slump.
I don't think anyway. :confused:
Stop it Hibs :boo hoo:
28-09-2013, 03:40 PM
The negativity on here is embarrassing. Inverness are very good at home and on a great run of form. Positives from this game is we know where the weaknesses are and can work on them for the Patrick game next week! Hope this sees mcpake making his way back in to the side, we also need a right footed right back!
agree to some extent but how long are we going to ignore the bleedin obvious on hte weakness front? one of my favourite players is Lewis, but the weakness is when we play him in the wrong position, every other team has spotted it , plenty say it on here, but Fenlon swops him about and plants him at RB far too often for my liking. Maybury for me until we can fill the position permanently.
28-09-2013, 03:41 PM
They don't really have a big turnover of the first team. I think only 2 of their starting 11 are new players. They've also played the exact same line up every week so far. Not sure that continued to today.
Andy are you just not a tad fed up with the same excuses year after year?
28-09-2013, 03:42 PM
Andy are you just not a tad fed up with the same excuses year after year?
I'd like to get to a stage where they aren't required.
It's all well and good saying that ICT are currently a better side than we are all round and beating them was always going to be a tough task, especially up there.
But have we even made them work for their win today? Have they had an easier game this season?
Dunno, am not at the game and haven't seen ICT this year but they haven't conceded a goal at home this season.
Redemption for Jonah I guess :rolleyes:
We didn't seem very negative against St J, or St Mirren. The stats will show you that.
Stats mean hee haw, watching the games we were fortunate, more so against st j, st Mirren were awful and Stranraer embarrassed our defence
28-09-2013, 03:43 PM
Wouldn't we all.
hibbymick
Player for player do we have a worse squad than ICT?
How come they have a big turnover of players every year yet have still consistently finished in a decent position in the league?
The manager? Mentality? Luck?
I wonder how many times Fenlon will mention the LUCK word after the game. :rolleyes:
Despite the fact we are crap and should be 7 or 8 down, can anyone believe the savaging Hibs and Hibs players are getting from the BBC Sportsound guys. Willie Miller's comments are a downright disgrace. There is simply NO excuse for the severity of his comments.
I can only assume that they were hoping their beloved Celtic would be top of the league tonight, and are just disgusted at how little Hibs have done.
That will never happen. We could go half a season unbeaten but as soon as we get beat it will be the same ****.
Can't wait to see everyone change their tune if we beat Patrick next week!
I think we are still assessing the team against the competition we face. We may well beat Partick, and thats great, but today is the first example of being well and truly gubbed in the league. It is informative.
28-09-2013, 03:44 PM
Stats mean hee haw, watching the games we were fortunate, more so against st j, st Mirren were awful and Stranraer embarrassed our defence
Aww the stats don't matter, I see.
What's the point.
That will never happen. We could go half a season unbeaten but as soon as we get beat it will be the same ****.
A tad OTT eh?
The fact some people, myself included to an extent, seem ok at writing this loss off because 'ICT are a good team' pretty much sums up how far standards have been allowed to fall.
There was nothing fortunate about those last 3 games. All well deserved results at the time with good entertaining performances. Yes some of the defending was dire in the cup game though.
28-09-2013, 03:45 PM
A tad OTT eh?
Oh, I'm ott?! That's rich :faf:
All the signs were there during the week against a part time team. We were stuttering a lot in that game and defence was poor. ICT was always going to be tough but from what has been said we haven't even turned up which is a worry.
Pat still has a huge job on his hands, we really need to start looking more organised against these teams.
I wonder how many times Fenlon will mention the LUCK word after the game. :rolleyes:
Maybe as often as some on here use when we win!
hibbymick
28-09-2013, 03:46 PM
Despite the fact we are crap and should be 7 or 8 down, can anyone believe the savaging Hibs and Hibs players are getting from the BBC Sportsound guys. Willie Miller's comments are a downright disgrace. There is simply NO excuse for the severity of his comments.
I can only assume that they were hoping their beloved Celtic would be top of the league tonight, and are just disgusted at how little Hibs have done.
Savaging ??? hardly a savaging. I think hes just being honest.
The fact some people, myself included to an extent, seem ok at writing this loss off because 'ICT are a good team' pretty much sums up how far standards have been allowed to fall.
I don't get excited when we win or angry if we lose. Those emotions have long gone watching hibs
davhibby
explain to me how we were fortunate against st j?
28-09-2013, 03:47 PM
What exactly have they said?
I would suggest that a Hibs squad probably paid double of what their opponents earn deserve to be slated for again meekly accepting a hammering in Inverness.
28-09-2013, 03:47 PM
Well, I didn't get carried away after winning our last two league games and I will certainly not be getting carried away after a defeat today.
28-09-2013, 03:48 PM
meh
28-09-2013, 03:48 PM
Well, I didn't get carried away after winning our last two league games and I will certainly not be getting carried away after a defeat today.
28-09-2013, 03:49 PM
meh
It's actually a capital M, thanks.
Shock, .net in turmoil after our first defeat in a while against a team who are playing great and haven't dropped a point at home all season. Funniest thing is, half the doom and gloomers don't even go to the games!!!! Pathetic.
Are the fans home yet to hear from them.
The negativity on here is embarrassing. Inverness are very good at home and on a great run of form. Positives from this game is we know where the weaknesses are and can work on them for the Patrick game next week! Hope this sees mcpake making his way back in to the side, we also need a right footed right back!
To be fair a lot of the regulars have been pretty quiet for the past few weeks.
28-09-2013, 03:50 PM
woohoo just heard collins name mentioned..i think we're really going for it now
Shock, .net in turmoil after our first defeat in a while against a team who are playing great and haven't dropped a point at home all season. Funniest thing is, half the doom and gloomers don't even go to the games!!!! Pathetic.
And do you ever wonder why? :rolleyes:
28-09-2013, 03:51 PM
Hanlon makes a goal line clearance to stop a 4th
Savaging ??? hardly a savaging. I think hes just being honest.
That is how i heard it.
Lucky it was only 3 in the end according to Miller.
We beat a horrendously poor St Mirren side but lost to a very good ICT team. We're neither great nor awful, just a hum drum, mid-table team
28-09-2013, 03:52 PM
#allisbarry
The Tubs
Bouncebackability now required next week then.
Ditto.
It's actually a capital M, thanks.
Oops sorry Meh.
Meh :greengrin
28-09-2013, 03:53 PM
We beat a horrendously poor St Mirren side but lost to a very good ICT team. We're neither great nor awful, just a hum drum, mid-table team
And given the state of the league being a mid table side is pretty pish really.
It's hardly going to get the lost fans rushing back to spend their money.
28-09-2013, 03:54 PM
Is the game finished yet?
Hanlon makes a goal line clearance to stop a 4th
I'd imagine that should be enough for you to make him man of the match.
Oops sorry Meh.
Meh :greengrin
Much better :wink:
The same people who are happy to come along to cup finals or european matches, but avoid run of the mill games because we're garbage? People should support their team through the rough and the smooth. Again, it's the same people that go quiet when we're unbeaten. No coincidence.
And given the state of the league being a mid table side is pretty pish really.
It's hardly going to get the lost fans rushing back to spend their money.
You can't say that, Andy will start slating you as being too negative :wink:
28-09-2013, 03:55 PM
Back to square one.
Caley are good but we shouldnt be out played by them
Ditto.
It's not. I'm negative and I'm at every game, the reason I'm negative is I watch this p^^h every week and can't help spu&k my money on it.
Fen-fail has done this countless times, his tactics are a farse. He gets a result then will not change the team thereafter, must be a dream for other managers!!
"Kommen sie bitte und listen to Kraftwerk!"
I dont. But I also dont get the level of angst when we get beat by folk who dont go because we are so poor. You would think that would be kind of self explanatory.
28-09-2013, 03:56 PM
Our record in the highlands is nothing short of disgraceful...it was an issue long before fenlon...even under saint Mowbray. ...
28-09-2013, 03:57 PM
Give it a rest, eh, big bunch of bairns.
28-09-2013, 03:57 PM
Back to square one.
Caley are good but we shouldnt be out played by them
Why not? Squad playing really well, gelled. TB got them playing some fantastic football. His long-term project beginning to take shape. As a club, we should be outperforming them every season; however I had no doubt their team would outplay us today.
28-09-2013, 03:58 PM
Disappointing to lose 3-0 but wasnt expecting much today. Playing a very good team, by far the most organised in the SPL imo. Dunno how we played but hopefully we can get back to winning ways next week!
28-09-2013, 03:59 PM
The same people who are happy to come along to cup finals or european matches, but avoid run of the mill games because we're garbage? People should support their team through the rough and the smooth. Again, it's the same people that go quiet when we're unbeaten. No coincidence.
Which other club does not take more fans to cup finals or European games? You are living in the 50s if you think people are going to support their team through thick and thin :faf: these day. As for folk being quiet when we are unbeaten, do you not think they are happy when we win or go unbeaten?
The only coincidence is just how we capitulate when we cross the forth road bridge, and if you think i'm going to keep quiet just because it annoys you you better not hold your breath.:rolleyes:
Stringer
28-09-2013, 03:59 PM
Abject performances against the top 6 teams have been a staple in Pat's Hibs career.
28-09-2013, 04:00 PM
Inverness the best of the rest this season and they've built a very good team with a tiny budget. Not even conceded a goal at home yet either.
Butcher in...:greengrin
Well for me, I'm really proud of our young boys traveling all the way up to Inverness and no coming away gubbed! Well done our young team.
I missed about ten games in ten seasons. Now I rarely travel to away games. Why? Because there are far too many gutless performances like today.
When you get a bit older you realise how little the players care compared to fans like yourself. It's one thing losing but Hibs have specialised in performances like today, spineless and lacking in application, for far too long.
Why not? Squad playing really well, gelled. TB got them playing some fantastic football. His long-term project beginning to take shape. As a club, we should be outperforming them every season; however I had no doubt their team would outplay us today.
Bingo, a sensible post!
But this is .net, so fenlon out, let's have a takeover, we are bottom of the league material, etc etc :-)
28-09-2013, 04:01 PM
They don't really have a big turnover of the first team.
That's guff, by the way. Inverness had six players in the squad who weren't there last season - none of whom came from SPL clubs. We had seven - five of whom came from rival SPL clubs and one we paid a relatively big transfer fee from.
As someone said, the fact that we're pretty accepting of a humping from ICT where we didn't even get a shot on target says it all.
We were crap and should have been beaten by 7 or 8 but got a 'savaging' on the radio that we didn't deserve? How does that work?
28-09-2013, 04:01 PM
As for folk being quiet when we are unbeaten, do you not think they are happy when we win or go unbeaten?
I have my doubts, seriously.
28-09-2013, 04:02 PM
We won't challenge for europe and we won't get relegated. Fun times ahead.
davhibby
Still got a big run of games, we need to bounce back next Monday and then three home games in a row(celtic,aberdeen and hearts) I'd take 4 league points and a cup win out of that
I dont. But I also dont get the level of angst when we get beat by folk who dont go because we are so poor. You would think that would be kind of self explanatory.
Those who don't go are still angry at how we continually underperform, are you saying those who don't go shouldn't be bothered about how the club do? :confused:
28-09-2013, 04:03 PM
Based on what? :confused:
We won't challenge for europe and we won't get relegated. Fun times ahead.
You would rather we were in a relegation battle for excitement? Christ.
This kind of pish is just **** stirring at it's worst.
28-09-2013, 04:04 PM
We won't challenge for europe and we won't get relegated.
Fenlon in a sentence.
28-09-2013, 04:05 PM
Its.
If you boys are going to argue, at least keep the apostrophes under control.
28-09-2013, 04:05 PM
He asked a question so I answered it. Forums are for opinions, as BH is rightly sharing his.
28-09-2013, 04:06 PM
Which other club does not take more fans to cup finals or European games? You are living in the 50s if you think people are going to support their team through thick and thin :faf: these day. As for folk being quiet when we are unbeaten, do you not think they are happy when we win or go unbeaten?
The only coincidence is just how we capitulate when we cross the forth road bridge, and if you think i'm going to keep quiet just because it annoys you you better not hold your breath.:rolleyes:
You were quiet in last weeks match thread :wink:
Cannot wait to read this thread later on tonight when I get home ;)
Battery on my phone is nearly dead :(
:(
Fenlon in a sentence.
Plus a wee cup run for the money, doesnae matter if we lose.
Petrie's ambition in 2 sentences?
28-09-2013, 04:07 PM
He asked a question so I answered it. Forums are for opinions, as BH is rightly sharing his.
And your answer is **** stirring.
To suggest fans don't like it when Hibs win is absolute nonsense and fine well you know it.
Sore one today - particularly after decent gubbings of the two Saints.
Its.
If you boys are going to argue, at least keep the apostrophes under control.
Moron's :agree:
28-09-2013, 04:08 PM
You were quiet in last weeks match thread :wink:
Was i?
28-09-2013, 04:08 PM
And your answer is **** stirring.
To suggest fans don't like it when Hibs win is absolute nonsense and fine well you know it.
Based on what some posters post on here I get the feeling they want us to lose so PF gets sacked, not lose for no reason.
28-09-2013, 04:09 PM
Poor result against a much better team and we need to bounce back with a win next weekend. Fixtures dont look kind in the weeks ahead.
K-Zazu
28-09-2013, 04:09 PM
bouncebackability . crap result, keep the heads up boys :aok:
28-09-2013, 04:10 PM
Was i?
Yip
28-09-2013, 04:11 PM
I wasn't surprised at the scoreline as myself and any other Hibee I spoke to agreed we'd be delighted with a draw. Thankfully other teams in the Premiership will lose more games than we will. Is Fenlon's contract up at the end of the season? If so he'll have to get us in the top 6 to have any chance of a new one.
28-09-2013, 04:13 PM
I wasn't surprised at the scoreline as myself and any other Hibee I spoke to agreed we'd be delighted with a draw. Thankfully other teams in the Premiership will lose more games than we will. Is Fenlon's contract up at the end of the season? If so he'll have to get us in the top 6 to have any chance of a new one.
He has to get us into the top 3/4 for any chance of a new deal IMO. If he gets a new deal after finishing 6th I'd be raging.
28-09-2013, 04:15 PM
I made the point in last weeks match thread that one point we only had three pages of comments even though we were winning. Here we are beaten and the thread is alive with posters who get more excited when we lose than we when we win. Cue all the "it's only because I care crap........."
28-09-2013, 04:16 PM
Based on what some posters post on here I get the feeling they want us to lose so PF gets sacked, not lose for no reason.
So basically you just have a feeling. :rolleyes: I have a feeling we'd all like to see a Hibs team that attack, a Hibs team that take the initiative and go and win games. A Hibs team not frightened and punches its weight, a Hibs team thats in a European place not ONLY 4 points or 5 points or insert here how many points ( ) we are from that place?
If we had that, you'd not have A FEELING, crowds would be up, folk would be happier and nobody would be moaning on here.
As usual though we don't have any of this, and you wonder why folk are a wee bit unhappy? :rolleyes:
28-09-2013, 04:16 PM
He has to get us into the top 3/4 for any chance of a new deal IMO. If he gets a new deal after finishing 6th I'd be raging.
He has next to no chance of a new contract imo.
Only a top 3 finish and/or a cup will change that.
He won't be sacked either as there is no real danger on the field, apathy in the stands is another matter of course. Unfortunately it looks like 5 and a half months of playing for 6th or 7th with the potential of a few exciting cup ties thrown in. Exciting stuff.
Most predictable result of the weekend :rolleyes:
Keeping the same defence as 2nd half v Stranraer is criminal.
Despite Hanlon being dominated in almost every game and being continually thrown around like an empty tracksuit, he keeps his place in the side while our best central defender, IMO, Forster never gets a kick of the ball? Likewise, Stevenson ..... why? He's never a fullback but gets the nod over Maybury who has been our best defender?
I've voiced my opinion of Fenlon many times since his arrival and it won't change, he's too negative and tactically inept and so far he's brought more embarrassment than success to Easter Road, says it all really.
28-09-2013, 04:22 PM
That's guff, by the way. Inverness had six players in the squad who weren't there last season - none of whom came from SPL clubs. We had seven - five of whom came from rival SPL clubs and one we paid a relatively big transfer fee from.
As someone said, the fact that we're pretty accepting of a humping from ICT where we didn't even get a shot on target says it all.
We were crap and should have been beaten by 7 or 8 but got a 'savaging' on the radio that we didn't deserve? How does that work?
It's the starting team I'm talking about.
Emerald
28-09-2013, 04:22 PM
Didn't expect a win today but to have no shots on target is a disgrace for a Hibs team. Look at the money that people forked out today to travel a long way along with their ticket cost. What sort of entertainment is that for fans. 90 minutes and no shots on target. :rolleyes:
28-09-2013, 04:23 PM
I made the point in last weeks match thread that one point we only had three pages of comments even though we were winning. Here we are beaten and the thread is alive with posters who get more excited when we lose than we when we win. Cue all the "it's only because I care crap........."
Last week was a home game. Many more of us would have been at the game.
28-09-2013, 04:23 PM
Frankly that's utter nonsense.
It took me 14 months to come to the conclusion that PF is not the man to take Hibs forward and it will take a lot more than a sporadic victory to convince me otherwise. However I'll always be delighted with a win and sick to the back teeth when we get beat - that's what being a fan is about.
28-09-2013, 04:24 PM
PF said there was a lack of desire in our play today......why ? do the players have a problem earning their salaries on a game for game basis :confused: do they prefer to pick and choose what games to have a desire to earn a salary for
28-09-2013, 04:26 PM
So basically you just have a feeling. :rolleyes: I have a feeling we'd all like to see a Hibs team that attack, a Hibs team that take the initiative and go and win games. A Hibs team not frightened and punches its weight, a Hibs team thats in a European place not ONLY 4 points or 5 points or insert here how many points ( ) we are from that place?
If we had that, you'd not have A FEELING, crowds would be up, folk would be happier and nobody would be moaning on here.
As usual though we don't have any of this, and you wonder why folk are a wee bit unhappy? :rolleyes:
I'm sick of hearing all this "work in progress" nonsense. I don't want to see a "work in progress". I want to see a team that "works".
The same things been getting said season after season and if will continue to be trouted out season after season while we continue to be mediocre at the best of times.
28-09-2013, 04:26 PM
Last week was a home game. Many more of us would have been at the game.
Nonsense.
This place is full of people who desperately want Hibs to lose to support their own agenda.
It must be true because i read it on here.
7Hero
28-09-2013, 04:27 PM
We've all got this feeling, shame so many people are quick to shout down anybody who is not happy with the last few years..criticise the manger or (god forbid) the board or even worse SIR tom and you're lauded as not a supporter of the club.
The only victories recent have been small ones, we're papering over the cracks and until there is serious change at the club we will be also rans to teams with far smaller budgets / support / potential...yet they have FAR larger aspirations than this so called football club of ours..
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
28-09-2013, 04:27 PM
Fenlon in a sentence.
In his one full season we qualified for Europe though.
28-09-2013, 04:28 PM
We've all got this feeling, shame so many people are quick to shout down anybody who is not happy with the last few years..criticise the manger or (god forbid) the board or even worse SIR tom and you're lauded as not a supporter of the club.
The only victories recent have been small ones, we're papering over the cracks and until there is serious change at the club we will be also rans to teams with far smaller budgets / support / potential...yet they have FAR larger aspirations than this so called football club of ours..
Are the odd defeats not really small cracks amongst big bits of paper ?
28-09-2013, 04:29 PM
I'm sick of hearing all this "work in progress" nonsense. I don't want to see a "work in progress". I want to see a team that "works".
The same things been getting said season after season and if will continue to be trouted out season after season while we continue to be mediocre at the best of times.
Yep. Work in progress is just an easy excuse to hide behind.
Plenty other teams change manager and players and hit the ground running. We have been a 'work in progress' for 2 years under Fenlon and about 6 seasons altogether.
Maybe the builders aren't cut out for the job.
28-09-2013, 04:30 PM
It was only a matter of weeks ago you were telling us that we'd be so much better once we got the new players into the team. Now you're telling us that it's the turnover of players that is the problem.
You're tenacious, I'll give you that.
28-09-2013, 04:31 PM
att: 4,261
interesting the attendance for the caley v hertz game was 4,034
i thought all 400,000 yamboids were following them for the cash-incentives from some home clubs
28-09-2013, 04:32 PM
Yep. Work in progress is just an easy excuse to hide behind.
Plenty other teams change manager and players and hit the ground running. We have been a 'work in progress' for 2 years under Fenlon and about 6 seasons altogether.
Maybe the builders aren't cut out for the job.
How many times is the upturn sustained though? Statistically not often. We have had a recognisable upturn since he arrived. At one stage we were top of the league. That's the sort of thing you are taking about with other manager changes.
Which ones have had a big immediate impact and kept going?
28-09-2013, 04:33 PM
It was only a matter of weeks ago you were telling us that we'd be so much better once we got the new players into the team. Now you're telling us that it's the turnover of players that is the problem.
You're tenacious, I'll give you that.
Same point isn't it. Turnover means you need to bed them in. If we only had 2 new first team players that wouldn't be an issue.
28-09-2013, 04:35 PM
Same point isn't it. Turnover means you need to bed them in. If we only had 2 new first team players that wouldn't be an issue.
If he signed good enough players last season then maybe he wouldn't have needed so many new signings?
28-09-2013, 04:40 PM
Great, but look what happened?
A European tie relegated to the status of a preseason kick about.
I'm not on here knocking Fenlon all the time, but come the end of his contract, I think we should be offering him his references and arranging a taxi.
I have no faith that the next man will bring is success because our club is satisfied with mediocrity.
Crossgates Hibs
Inverness the best of the rest this season and they've built a very good team with a tiny budget. Not even conceded a goal at home yet either.
Butcher in...:greengrin
Have to agree there why can't we do this on a far bigger budget. We shouldn't be playing them as underdogs or accepting a draw but sadly the likes of Motherwell ICT seem to be able to build a team and thrive whilst we struggle year after year regardless who is in charge.
Andy, come on. We had four 'new' players in the first team today, none of whom had any problem bedding in last week. Three of them came from SPL clubs (or almost in Nelson's case) and one was bought for a fee. We're not talking about frees from the Conference (unlike ICT).
There are a few reasons why we're better on paper than on the pitch but new players needing to 'bed in' isn't one of them.
GreenOnions
28-09-2013, 04:41 PM
Most predictable result of the weekend :rolleyes:
Keeping the same defence as 2nd half v Stranraer is criminal.
Despite Hanlon being dominated in almost every game and being continually thrown around like an empty tracksuit, he keeps his place in the side while our best central defender, IMO, Forster never gets a kick of the ball? Likewise, Stevenson ..... why? He's never a fullback but gets the nod over Maybury who has been our best defender?
I've voiced my opinion of Fenlon many times since his arrival and it won't change, he's too negative and tactically inept and so far he's brought more embarrassment than success to Easter Road, says it all really.
It's all about opinions they say!
From what I've seen so far this season Hanlon and Stevenson have been easily our best defenders ( plus Maybury lately).
I agree with you about Jordan Forster by the way.
Our biggest liabilities have been Nelson in particular but also I have to.say McGivern.
I do not understand why Hanlon can receive so much stick while Nelson.seems to avoid any kind of criticism at all. I haven't seen today's goals but IMO Nelson has been directly involved in every goal we've lost in the league so far this season.
Based on what I've seen so far this season our best back fourwould be Maybury, Hanlon, Stevenson plus either McPake or Forster.
[QUOTE=cabbageandribs1875;3759714]att: 4,261 [\QUOTE]
Well done to the 715 Hibs fans who made the trip today, pity our side couldn't be @rsed trying to give you value for your time & money.
28-09-2013, 04:42 PM
Zouby Zouby Zou...
28-09-2013, 04:42 PM
Okay, I'll caveat it with 'unless we get to a cup final and get pumped by the league champions'.
MotherSuperior
28-09-2013, 04:43 PM
I totally dread this fixture, and feel actually far more optimistic about playing celtic at parkhead and getting a performance and maybe even a result from it!
Why is this the case? Celtic obviously usually have far better sides than Caley.
How many times is the upturn sustained though? Statistically not often. We have had a recognisable upturn since he arrived. At one stage we were top of the league. That's the sort of thing you are taking about with other manager changes.
Stuart McCall at Motherwell
Tony Mowbray at Hibs
Derek McIness at St Johnstone
Steve Lomas continued that by guiding them to top 6 for the 1st time in over 10 years and followed it up by doing the same the next year.
Derek Adams went back to Ross County a season after they were almost relegated and won the league comfortably, took them to top 6 in the SPL the next season and will almost certainly stay up this year again. Even if they don't he has had them punching well above their weight.
Really?
HibeeHutch
28-09-2013, 04:49 PM
Regardless of opinions this is FACT: we do not have a defence...
Stevenson and Hanlon should be playing in the Championship (league below us). But definitely not with Hibs.
McGivern is probably the most over rated 'footballer' in the team - going by the praise he often receives from some fans.
Clancy - when I can remember seeing him play - is also just 'ok'.
I'm not sure about McPake or Nelson (since he's just arrived - it won't help that he has to play with Stevenson and Hanlon).
Forster has looked the most 'steady' of the lot!
28-09-2013, 04:50 PM
Andy please don't use that in his defence. That's embarrassing! I don't mind you trying to defend him btw some points are valid. I think it's back to the fact we didn't have a shot on target that most folk get pissed at. Makes no odds to me anyway, he'll be gone soon enough no way in hell will he get a contract. Crowds are pish and Petrie can't handle a drop in income so I'll bide my time and let everyone defend him. He will have the odd good game but over all Hibs are just to big a club for the man... simples.
28-09-2013, 04:53 PM
Andy please don't use that in his defence. That's embarrassing! I don't mind you trying to defend him btw some points are valid. I think it's back to the fact we didn't have a shot on target that most folk get pissed at. Makes no odds to me anyway, he'll be gone soon enough no way in hell will he get a contract. Crowds are pish and Petrie can't handle a drop in income so I'll bide my time and let everyone defend him. He will have the odd good game but over all Hibs are just to big a club for the man... simples.
Getting to a cup final and qualifying for Europe is a fact. The post I was responding to was saying we wouldn't qualify for Europe under Fenlon. We already did.
28-09-2013, 04:55 PM
Getting to a cup final and qualifying for Europe is a fact. The post I was responding to was saying we wouldn't qualify for Europe under Fenlon. We already did.
I'm sure he meant in the league
28-09-2013, 04:56 PM
3-0 game over and zouby sits on the bench...:confused:
Zouby was waiting to come on at 1-0, not sure what the delay was to get him on after second but Hibs were trying to get him on.
Stupid first goal killed our confidence, just as we started to get it back in 2nd half Forans goal killed the game as a contest. Lack of urgency lost it for Hibs today I would say.
28-09-2013, 04:57 PM
our record up there is bad never thought we'd win would have taken a draw before it,though 1 defeat in 7 isn't bad
28-09-2013, 05:00 PM
our record up there is bad never thought we'd win would have taken a draw before it,though 1 defeat in 7 isn't bad
Yeah gutted we couldn't take something but overall we have been decent the last few weeks so let's see where we go from here. I just think wheeling out the abuse after 1 defeat in 7 is pretty shoddy.
28-09-2013, 05:00 PM
Not through league position though.
Players only treat European games as pre season friendlies so what is the point of getting in to Europe.
28-09-2013, 05:02 PM
So does this mean Fenlon out again?
28-09-2013, 05:04 PM
Yeah gutted we couldn't take something but overall we have been decent the last few weeks so let's see where we go from here. I just think wheeling out the abuse after 1 defeat in 7 is pretty shoddy.
they are a good side who haven't lost a goal at home I think,and terry Bucher doing the biz,so its how we react from here on to the cup game we need to doo they scuum in that one
28-09-2013, 05:04 PM
Theres a lot of moaning about moaning on here. What surprises me is the number of folk who seem to be surprised that football fans are fickle.
Whats happened here is disappointment, its as simple as that.
We have put together a decent unbeaten run, the major part of which was a very good away win against St Johnstone. Today's game was the acid test, the question being was this run ( St Johnstone aside ) due to the fact that the opposition wasnt the best, or was it down to an improved Hibs side and a manager who had finally realised that being more attacking was the answer to our poor start to the season?
A win or a spirited draw at Inverness today would have given us the answer we were all looking for. Instead what we got was a manager reverting to type, with a defensive midset, no width and playing Stevenson at right back, when every time he has played there this season he has been ripped a new one. Not to mention that fact that the one player we had in the squad who could have provided the width we needed was left on the bench until we were 3 - 0 down.
As for the knee jerk reaction scenario applied by some to the comments on here after defeats this season .... Lets forget about the folk on H.Net for a minute ....... Time and time again this season I have heard folk who presumably know what they are talking about say that they can see no improvement in Hibs as a team, either attitude wise or tactically. Yes one was Michael Stewart, but nob or not as far as I can see he called it as he saw it.
The latest to slate us was Willie Miller during todays Radio broadcast. He has a hatfull of league and cup winners medals .. not to mention a European winners medal ..... I presume he has a fair idea of what he's on about.
From what I heard on the radio today ICT had a pretty bog standard win and were never at any point in danger of seeing even a point heading south.
Somebody else said on here that the biggest problem is that we seem to have reached a point as a support that the natural reaction to results like this are to shrug your shoulders and think 'ho hum' we were away to ICT and they are a lot better than us and we never do well there anyway.
Well sod that ......... when I get to that stage I'm giving up football ...... we have to do better than this and if we cant under the present manager then we need to get somebody in who can make it happen. I'm fed up of pathetic capitulation whenever we come up against a team who can string more than a few passes together.
28-09-2013, 05:05 PM
they are a good side who haven't lost a goal at home I think,and terry Bucher doing the biz,so its how we react from here on to the cup game we need to zoo they **** in that one
I think the question is, how do we become a team like Inverness
28-09-2013, 05:08 PM
Have we really been that decent though?
We beat a St Mirren side that's impossible not to beat at the moment and a club that's in the bottom half of league 1, that still managed to stick 3 past us and have us worried on our own patch.
It would have been a complete catastrophe if we hadn't beaten both of those sides.
28-09-2013, 05:08 PM
I'm sure he meant in the league
Yeah I was mate. I'll be very, very surprised if Fenlon got us into Europe he's simply not good enough. I'm not getting on at him to be sacked as there's no point. Give him a few weeks to see how this team does but I honestly don't think we will do well. Be great if we did though. As a Hibs supporter I'm fully behind them as a team. I do however think Fenlon is miles away from a SPFL manager that can move us forward. Really don't see why folk have an issue with that?
Dissatisfied customers from 2013 out. 1950's in.
28-09-2013, 05:09 PM
I think the question is, how do we become a team like Inverness
butcher was a real hard man he has a strong team with pace up front which our defence couldn't handle the quicker we get a consistent settled back 4 the better we will be
28-09-2013, 05:09 PM
Zouby was waiting to come on at 1-0, not sure what the delay was to get him on after second but Hibs were trying to get him on.
Stupid first goal killed our confidence, just as we started to get it back in 2nd half Forans goal killed the game as a contest. Lack of urgency lost it for Hibs today I would say.
It took almost 10mins to make the substitution last Saturday. Seems to be the way we do things.
28-09-2013, 05:17 PM
It took almost 10mins to make the substitution last Saturday. Seems to be the way we do things.
Never mind, we're booked into the supporters bus for the away game against Hibs East of Scotland team at East Mains on the 2nd November.
28-09-2013, 05:18 PM
Strange how we all seem so accepting of getting regularly humped in Inverness. Why is it we don't travel well to Invernesss but it isn't reciprocated, we don't regularly hump ICT at Easter Road?
28-09-2013, 05:24 PM
Strange how we all seem so accepting of getting regularly humped in Inverness. Why is it we don't travel well to Invernesss but it isn't reciprocated, we don't regularly hump ICT at Easter Road?
We haven't been humping anyone regularly at Easter Road. Too many spectators..
28-09-2013, 05:26 PM
We haven't been humping anyone regularly at Easter Road. Too many spectators..
but we are going to hump them in the cup going by what was said after the cup draw im sure seen that.:confused:
Sergio sledge
28-09-2013, 05:28 PM
Grim.
McGivern and Stevenson were continually done for pace by the Caley players and Nelson and Hanlon were all at sea. Was Maybury injured? If he was then Pat can be excused but if not, Fenlon made a huge mistake changing it.
We never looked remotely close to winning.
K-Zazu
28-09-2013, 05:36 PM
Where is Forster? Him over hanlon for me
28-09-2013, 05:41 PM
Try telling that to the 700+. On the A9
Woeful players & manager.
28-09-2013, 05:42 PM
but we are going to hump them in the cup going by what was said after the cup draw im sure seen that.:confused:
Yes, but they will bring enough of an away support to even things out..
Anyway, ICT are a class above either of us or Hearts, so Im staying optimistic for the derby.
28-09-2013, 05:43 PM
Hanlon has been best defender this and last season. The biggest problem today is 0 ZERO shots on target. We created nothing and got nothing in return. If you have zero shots on target you deserved to get humped tbh.
coco22
28-09-2013, 05:46 PM
So does this mean Fenlon out again?
:worms:Cannae bring this up after every defeat (no matter how disappointing or expected). Obviously a really bad run of results or another total capitulation will have people calling for his head (including me) but I think we have what we have until the end of the season.
28-09-2013, 05:49 PM
Grim.
McGivern and Stevenson were continually done for pace by the Caley players and Nelson and Hanlon were all at sea. Was Maybury injured? If he was then Pat can be excused but if not, Fenlon made a huge mistake changing it.
For me this is why ICT, Celtic and Aberdeen will give us real big problems. Motherwell caught us out for pace towards the end of our game with them and it paid off hansomely. Alan is a decent player but would probably have struggled today as well. That said we are still a side with some good players. If we use the January transfer window to get one pacy defender, and one pacy midfielder/attacker, things could brighten up considerably. Dont think we are really too far away from challenging at the top end.
28-09-2013, 06:09 PM
so are we relegation candidates again?
3/4s of our team is completely pish and Fenlon is our worst manager ever.
until next week where the situation may change again.
28-09-2013, 06:14 PM
Before every post, can you tell us whether you have been drinking or not. That way when you change your mind a day or two later we can understand why? :wink:
28-09-2013, 06:40 PM
Before every post, can you tell us whether you have been drinking or not. That way when you change your mind a day or two later we can understand why? :wink:
Not yet but working on it. Anything after about 10 tonight please disregard.
28-09-2013, 06:41 PM
Not yet but working on it. Anything after about 10 tonight please disregard.
Up The Bracket
28-09-2013, 07:33 PM
Team was awful, Nelson, Williams, McGivern, Craig, Taiwo and Heffernan were especially poor. The only player who could even pass as "adequate" was Robertson.
Fans were brilliant, sang all game, had a great wee laugh.
We always get pumped in the Highlands and unsurprisingly, tonight was no different.
Roll on Partick Thistle.
28-09-2013, 07:40 PM
Hanlon has been best defender this and last season. The biggest problem today is 0 ZERO shots on target. We created nothing and got nothing in return. If you have zero shots on target you deserved to get humped tbh.
if Hanlon is the best we have were ******
28-09-2013, 07:44 PM
if Hanlon is the best we have were ******
Who do you think has been better?
28-09-2013, 07:46 PM
Who do you think has been better?
nobody has stuck out we just need a consistent back 4 to settle in,to many silly mistakes but maybe get Forster back in
We have had a settled (ish) back 4 with Maybury, Nelson, Hanlon and McGivern and until today our goals against were quite good.
Again we should defend from the front and yes we cannot rule out individual errors but agree re Hanlon having been our best CH.
As for Forster, still a young lad tbh. His time will come.
It doesn't matter who plays in there at the moment... Defeat = he's too old, too young, not fast enough, to slow blah blah blah.
Beaten by a better, more organised team that's on their game.
A manager with an eye for a player.
Mind you no excuses for not trying hard enough or having a desire to try.
28-09-2013, 07:51 PM
Grim.
It wouldn't have altered the result today but I've said before we are a better team with Maybury in defence. He organises things, plays to his strengths and knows his limitations.
I think AM is an excellent pro and a very good player and for me has never let the team or club down.
28-09-2013, 08:13 PM
Team was awful, Nelson, Williams, McGivern, Craig, Taiwo and Heffernan were especially poor. The only player who could even pass as "adequate" was Robertson.
We always get pumped in the Highlands and unsurprisingly, tonight was no different.
Roll on Partick Thistle.
Some fans may have had a great wee laugh, I was not finding anything about that performance funny.....
...WentToMowAnSPL
28-09-2013, 08:24 PM
Some fans may have had a great wee laugh, I was not finding anything about that performance funny.....
Remind me not to start a match thread again that was ****ing awful and I'm staying overnight in Inverness at the same time as Loch Ness marathon so basically the only night anyone wants to stay in this ****ing dive and it's ****ing expensive !
28-09-2013, 08:33 PM
Remind me not to start a match thread again that was ****ing awful and I'm staying overnight in Inverness at the same time as Loch Ness marathon so basically the only night anyone wants to stay in this ****ing dive and it's ****ing expensive !
So can we blame you for Today then?:cb
RSS Bot
28-09-2013, 08:40 PM
Disappointment in the Highlands
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130928/inverness-3-hibernian-0_2262950_3473448)
...WentToMowAnSPL
28-09-2013, 08:50 PM
So can we blame you for Today then?:cb
Absolutely !! Stupid ****ing me for starting this ****ing thread and condemning our **** awful team to a pathetic ****ing defeat ! Only positive point was the fans I met after the match to drown our ****ng sorrows !
S.sct
28-09-2013, 08:57 PM
Not read any of the thread but certainly have a few questions after travelling up to the game today. Firstly i have no idea what shape we were supposed to be playing, who was supposed to be on the left side of midfield? How far apart can two strikers play? When is Fenlon going to give up with a left footed right back? The whole team was so disjointed, lacking in pace, guile and bereft of any obvious game plan. Oh aye and Big Ben has a mare.
Another backward step today....:confused:
28-09-2013, 10:16 PM
Have i missed anything:greengrin
Up The Bracket
28-09-2013, 10:21 PM
The laugh was not in any way related to the performance
28-09-2013, 10:47 PM
Roll on Partick Thistle.
Today was the first away game I went to, Hibs were pretty poor, we had a spell where we had a lot of the ball but never looked threatening, however I did appreciate the efforts of the fans sat right next to my right who sang and drummed there way through the whole game. It was great to here them and in the main was good natured and relevant to the game being played. A lot of support for the players on the pitch so they can't complain about fans being on their back. You were right when you were singing you don't deserve us. I thought the singing support were a credit to the club. P.S. That's not to say other fans weren't, we had a great support today considering Inverness is a pain to get to.
29-09-2013, 06:52 AM
For those putting all the blame on the defence, go away and watch the Man U game from yesterday. Evans and Ferdinand making blunder after blunder. As a defender every single slight mistake can become a goal. How many times will Tawio, Thomson, Craig, Robertson lose the ball in midfield but the defence save them. Yet that will never get mentioned. We are not creating enough..thats the problem. We cannot go out and ocntinue to try and soak up pressure in our own half. Caley are doing well because the go out and attack teams. We have scored 7 goals in the league. ROSS COUNTY have scored 10! We have the players now to attack teams its Fenlon that needs to change.
Up The Bracket
29-09-2013, 09:13 AM
For those putting all the blame on the defence, go away and watch the Man U game from yesterday. Evans and Ferdinand making blunder after blunder. As a defender every single slight mistake can become a goal. How many times will Tawio, Thomson, Craig, Robertson lose the ball in midfield but the defence save them. Yet that will never get mentioned. We are not creating enough..thats the problem. We cannot go out and ocntinue to try and soak up pressure in our own half. Caley are doing well because the go out and attack teams. We have scored 7 goals in the league. ROSS COUNTY have scored 10! We have the players now to attack teams its Fenlon that needs to change.
Couldn't agree more Nelson was by far our worst defender today, really unsure as to why Hanlon is being singled out when he is far more consistent.
That's easy Jorge cos if it's not Hanlon it's Lewis.
29-09-2013, 06:00 PM
Seen a few posts giving Hanlon it tight about yesterday, just watched the highlights and for me it was Nelson that was horrendous? Was that the case or did the highlights paint a different picture?
29-09-2013, 06:12 PM
Seen a few posts giving Hanlon it tight about yesterday, just watched the highlights and for me it was Nelson that was horrendous? Was that the case or did the highlights paint a different picture?
Me too. Just watched 15 mins or so highlights on Hibernian TV. Don't know if Williams called for the ball at the 1st goal, but reckon Nelson should have cleared it out the park. What was evident from the highlights was that Inverness played quick football in the last 3rd, and we struggled to deal with this sort of football.
We had 2 decent chances and Heffernan and Craig should have done better
Spoke to someone today who said Inverness were top of the League and what did I expect! We need to be doing far better than today. When is the last time we beat a decent SPL side 3-0 at ER in the league
29-09-2013, 09:43 PM
Just watched the highlights.
What the hell was up with Williams? Not just the goals, he seemed all over the place everytime ICT got forwars.
Defence was poor but had zero protection from the midfield for the goals and i'd guess that was a pattern throughout.
McGivern looked hopeless. Barely saw our forwards during the highlights so guess that says it all.
TheFamous1875
29-09-2013, 09:54 PM
Just watched Sportscene and after the highlights, they spoke for a few minutes about Billy McKay, and then not one word about Hibs! Not one! That says it all really... ***** show! I think we can bounce back from this, but the highlights showed just how diabolical we were at the back! I think it was a bad day at the office, but there should not be bad days at the office!
There's being bet, and then there's self-sabotage and not even trying!
3 goals against Stranraer, LS at RB? Baffling! I'm assuming Maybury is injured? Coz McGivern may as well be!
29-09-2013, 09:56 PM
James McPake had a few dodgy games but nothing to compare with Nelson yesterday.
An absolute car crash.
TheFamous1875
29-09-2013, 09:56 PM
James McPake had a few dodgy games but nothing to compare with Nelson yesterday.
An absolute car crash.
Is James got his fitness back yet? Been waiting over a year!
29-09-2013, 10:08 PM
Is James got his fitness back yet? Been waiting over a year!
He's fit enough for the bench but unless he can play right back I wouldn't play him
EVENTUALLY
30-09-2013, 11:02 AM
I think AM is an excellent pro and a very good player and for me has never let the team or club down.
Woeful passback on his debut leading to Hearts Goal. His pathetic attemped clearance and subsequent non existant efforts to close down Stokes which lead to Celtic's 1st goal in the SCF. Crucial mistakes from a seasoned pro who was signed for his experience. The SCF bloomer was amateurish and he let everyone down on that occasion.
30-09-2013, 11:11 AM
Woeful passback on his debut leading to Hearts Goal. His pathetic attemped clearance and subsequent non existant efforts to close down Stokes which lead to Celtic's 1st goal in the SCF. Crucial mistakes from a seasoned pro who was signed for his experience. The SCF bloomer was amateurish and he let everyone down on that occasion.
People have short memories. He was culpable for a few goals and penalties and always looked like half decent cover for the squad at best. Now he seems to be looked upon as first pick which shows lack of progress and lack of depth in the team.
TheFamous1875
30-09-2013, 11:14 AM
I think Fenlon has assumed that Clancy would've been back by now and that's the only conclusion I can reach with regards to why this hasn't been sorted. Give Taiwo a go at RB, he's quick, tenacious and has a great engine, don't know if he has a cross in him, but that would be a welcomed bonus IMO.
30-09-2013, 09:31 PM
I think Fenlon has assumed that Clancy would've been back by now and that's the only conclusion I can reach with regards to why this hasn't been sorted. Give Taiwo a go at RB, he's quick, tenacious and has a great engine, don't know if he has a cross in him, but that would be a welcomed bonus IMO.
Creative thinking, I like it. :agree:
30-09-2013, 10:02 PM
Yeah so Pat gets grief for playing a full back at full back but a centre midfield player who has never played in the back line in his puff would be fine ? ?
30-09-2013, 10:09 PM
Yeah so Pat gets grief for playing a full back at full back but a centre midfield player who has never played in the back line in his puff would be fine ? ?
Its happened before. If it works out well, then you've improved the team without needing to get another bod. Of course it could go the other way. Taiwo is defensive type of chap, and seems pretty adaptable so its not the craziest idea.
TheFamous1875
30-09-2013, 10:52 PM
He very well may be. That's the thing about looking at footballers and players, people seem to think they specifically play this or that position; that is simply not true. Players end up in positions which they are advised by coaches they are best suited to. Every player is different - you can't go "well, he's a '____' so there's no way he could play at '_____' in a million years!" Some players are more attacking, more defensive, have bigger engines, have pace, have no pace, have that extra bit of quality that forgives them for any shortcomings - Derek "too skinny" Riordan, or Lionel "5'7"" Messi, for example.
My point is, good coaches can get the result out of a player as long as he plays him in a position where he is capable of succeeding - Lewis Stevenson is a one-footed, left-sided, defensive-minded central midfielder at 5'7" tall. He is tenacious, good in the tackle, can mark a man, and is positionally very good. His weak point is he has no real threat at goal at all, or any specific talent with regards to crossing, or passing - he is adequate at these things, but he is very good at defending. He can play in the middle of the park, on the left of midfield, or at left-back. He can't play in central defence as he is too short, he can't play at centre-forward as he has no real goal scoring ability. He also can't play on the right side of the park as he is too left-footed and this leaves him exposed and limited and unbalances the team and makes him an easy target for the opposition to exploit.
I think Taiwo is a similar player to Lewis in a lot of these ways, and I think he could also be utilised in the right-back area - as he's a right sided, defensive-minded central midfielder.
You can attempt to use players in different positions than their main one, but as long as it actually makes sense. Players aren't black and white; you can make educated changes.
Had a funny feeling that would come up, I will say this , point the finger at AM but Williams and McGivern were as much to blame, stuck to line and ball watching respectively, so are they amateurish and did they let everyone down.
So it was AM fault we lost the SCF. If you watched it you would of seen a few players that were a lot more culpable than AM.
People have short memories. He was culpable for a few goals and penalties and always looked like half decent cover for the squad at best. Now he seems to be looked upon as first pick which shows lack of progress and lack of depth in the team.
Spike I will agree with some of this.
Lack of depth and progress I can agree with and I am sure if Clancy had been fit and Mullen was good enough them there would be no need to play Maybury. A few mistakes and the guys a liability. I just posted re the SCF, there were others as responsible not just AM.
I have to say that at the moment he is looking more than cover and team seems more balanced when he plays. I would rather Clancy was fit and playing but what can we do.
01-10-2013, 07:26 AM
Full Back is one of the more straight forward positions to play at (I know cause i ended up there when i played). So you would think we can find a right footed player to cover RB when we have injuries. I'm a big fan of Lewis but we all know that he ends up moving the ball onto his left all the time and that can cause problems. He would be my first choice LB as i dont think McGivern can tackle for toffee. We have about a dozen CM players...are we really saying not one of them can do a job at RB? Our defence for the next 5 years should be <RB> <Forster> <Hanlon> <Lewis>