View Full Version : Yams Leslie Deans charged with money laundering offences

ano hibby
27-09-2013, 05:50 AM
Story in Scotsman, can't post link...

27-09-2013, 06:01 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/news/scotland/top-stories/leslie-deans-charged-with-money-laundering-offences-1-3114316

marti1875
27-09-2013, 06:01 AM
Story in Scotsman, can't post link...

On my ipad app and no matter what news story i click on all it friggin leads to is a story about independence! :grr:
I see the story/headline but cannae actually read it...or anything else on the banner news....

Cheers BH, can see it through that link :-)

27-09-2013, 06:04 AM
On my ipad app and no matter what news story i click on all it friggin leads to is a story about independence! :grr:
I see the story/headline but cannae actually read it...or anything else on the banner news....

I bet you have your IPad set to Mac mode.

I'll get my coat....

27-09-2013, 06:06 AM
I'm amazed he could reach up to the washing machine

hibbymick
27-09-2013, 06:12 AM
No shock there.

27-09-2013, 06:43 AM
To be fair some of these anti money laundering rules seem a bit extreme. Our solicitor was a pain in the ass when we were buying our house. She wanted proof of my other half's grandpa's pension lump sum from years ago because part of her share of the deposit came from a gift from him. When we queried why this was necessary we were told she could be serious trouble from these rules otherwise. We couldn't provide it and had to persuade her to accept a letter from my OH's gran confirming the situation (her grandpa had since passed away).

Edit: I'm not trying to defend him though if he has been doing wrong like the solicitor mentioned in the article.

27-09-2013, 07:33 AM
I had professional dealings with him about 20 years ago which almost ended in disaster due to the incompetence of him/his firm. His conduct at that time left me far from impressed.

Couldn't happen to a nicer chap.

27-09-2013, 07:48 AM
I gather Leslie Deans has been arrested for money laundering offences. Pleasing. :agree:

Mellow Hibee
27-09-2013, 07:58 AM
Leslie Deans has apparently been done for money laundering.

His arrest is "not thought to be linked to Hearts". Why does that club attract such crooks though?

Anyway, hopefully he was one of the mysterious FOH backers.

http://www.scotsman.com/news/scotland/top-stories/leslie-deans-charged-with-money-laundering-offences-1-3114316

27-09-2013, 08:00 AM

His arrest is "not thought to be linked to Hearts". Why does that club attract such crooks though?

is that the dude that wanted hertz fans to make a will and leave money to that horrible crooked slimey shameless club ?

omfg @ that photo of him...has his heid shrunk into his body :confused: that club has a brass neck but he doesn't appear to have ANY neck

27-09-2013, 08:13 AM
is that the dude that wanted hertz fans to make a will and leave money to that horrible crooked slimey shameless club ?

omfg @ that photo of him...has his heid shrunk into his body :confused: that club has a brass neck but he doesn't appear to have ANY neck

He has a physical condition, the scientific name for which escapes me. Dwarfism is the non-PC term.

27-09-2013, 08:16 AM

Wonder who they're speaking for when they say it's not thought it's related to Hearts? Personally, I do think it's related to Hearts, albeit with absolutely no other reason than that just seems to be the Yams way.

27-09-2013, 08:18 AM
He has a physical condition, the scientific name for which escapes me. Dwarfism is the non-PC term.

oh, right :confused: i notice a few poppies as well, i hope they donated for them and didn't dip their fingers in the poppy can instead

27-09-2013, 08:23 AM
Okay, some context here, before this thread runs away with itself.

By "money laundering offences", we are probably talking about the Proceeds of Crime Act, which came in a few years ago and has particularly difficult provisions for accountants and solicitors.

The main 2 areas that can cause problems are:-

1. where a solicitor or accountant "has suspicion" (not knowledge, or evidence, merely "suspicion") that someone with whom they have had business dealings (not necessarily a client) has profited from crime, they have to make a report to SOCA. Failure to do so can land a prision term of 7 years.

2. having made such a report, they are prohibited from "tipping off" the subject of the report that they have done so. If they do, that can mean a sentence of 2 years.

Thus far, there is little to go on in the Deans case. My guess is that he has been arrested for one of the offences above, rather than actual "money-laundering."

27-09-2013, 08:27 AM
This story has to be a load of pish! Yams don't do laundry, even after pishing their breeks!

27-09-2013, 08:29 AM
He has a physical condition, the scientific name for which escapes me. Dwarfism is the non-PC term.Achondroplasia?

27-09-2013, 08:30 AM
According to an EEN tweet - Leslie Deans has been charged with money laundering.

Not sure if this relates to his time at Tynecastle. if it does, then he won't be the only one involved.

27-09-2013, 08:32 AM

By "money laundering offences", we are probably talking about the Proceeds of Crime Act, which came in a few years ago and has particularly difficult provisions for accountants and solicitors.

1. where a solicitor or accountant "has suspicion" (not knowledge, or evidence, merely "suspicion") that someone with whom they have had business dealings (not necessarily a client) has profited from crime, they have to make a report to SOCA. Failure to do so can land a prision term of 7 years.

2. having made such a report, they are prohibited from "tipping off" the subject of the report that they have done so. If they do, that can mean a sentence of 2 years.

Thus far, there is little to go on in the Deans case. My guess is that he has been arrested for one of the offences above, rather than actual "money-laundering."

Boooooooooooo! Stop talking sense. I much prefer to think he is a crooked ******* just like the rest of them

Suburban Hibby
27-09-2013, 08:48 AM
Funny how alleged cheats and conmen attract ....alleged cheats and conmen

Mr Leslie Deans got a tug for Money Laundering....

I am sure it will all come out in the wash as a big mistake/ misunderstanding/ charity donation...

27-09-2013, 08:52 AM
Hmmm, lawyers in court, defamation, cyber bullying. I'm very proud that nobody on here would say anything that implies Mr Deans has been found guilty of anything.

GraniteCityHibs
27-09-2013, 09:12 AM

I am sure it will all come out in the wash as a big mistake/ misunderstanding/ charity donation...

'That money was just RESTING in my account'

27-09-2013, 09:15 AM
nice picture of honest Les, holding his bookies line and sporting his colours with his paid for poppy on the lapel:cb

27-09-2013, 09:20 AM
The quality of Hearts senior figures shown again. http://www.scotsman.com/news/scotland/top-stories/leslie-deans-charged-with-money-laundering-offences-1-3114316 Nice picture of him in a Hearts tie.

27-09-2013, 09:41 AM
Hmmm, lawyers in court, defamation, cyber bullying. I'm very proud that nobody on here would say anything that implies Mr Deans has been found guilty of anything.

I think people are allowed to discuss the published news article. I don't think anyone's said he's guilty yet, either.

27-09-2013, 10:05 AM

I'm sure the term Dwarfism is acceptable. Midget is offensive.

You may be looking for the term skeletal dysplasia, though?

27-09-2013, 10:08 AM

You may be looking for the term skeletal dysplasia, though?

I'm looking for my glasses to read that properly.... :greengrin

27-09-2013, 10:58 AM

Deans being charged would surely rule out both though ?

27-09-2013, 11:07 AM

Why? - he may have been charged with both.

27-09-2013, 11:17 AM

It does have to be a bit down the road to get yourself arrested though.
Most likely to be to do with renting of properties to people

27-09-2013, 11:17 AM

Don't get you.

27-09-2013, 11:18 AM
Why? - he may have been charged with both.

Don't get you.

I'm speculating that charging a person means they have evidence that would stand up to judicial scrutiny. Number one seems to the casual observer (me!) a readily arguable set of circumstance.

Devonhibs
27-09-2013, 11:20 AM
I see their former Chairmen, Leslie Deans to be charged with money laundering - you couldnt make it up!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-24297069

27-09-2013, 11:27 AM

You may be looking for the term skeletal dysplasia, though?A midget is a proportionately small person. A dwarf has short limbs with a normal sized head and torso.

27-09-2013, 11:36 AM
A midget is a proportionately small person. A dwarf has short limbs with a normal sized head and torso.

What is a goblin then?

27-09-2013, 11:40 AM
What is a goblin then?
A mythical creature.

27-09-2013, 11:56 AM
Leslie Deans - a money launderer???

They really are low-life...

27-09-2013, 12:00 PM

I think you're being very kind CropleyWasGod. Further down the article there's the bit fromvthe Law Society of Scotland.

“We operate a robust programme of inspections aimed at assessing compliance by solicitors with the society’s accounts rules and money-laundering legislation.

“Failures to comply with obligations can result in disciplinary processes or, where appropriate, result in referral to the authorities.”

That suggests to me he's been caught before disregarding the advice and ingnored the Society waggy finger and/or he's up for being a very, very naughty boy, beyond the Law Societys power to keep things in house.

blindsummit
27-09-2013, 01:27 PM
What is a goblin then?

About 25 quid in rose street I believe :angelic:

27-09-2013, 03:20 PM

27-09-2013, 03:33 PM

Lets not jump to conclusions now! :violin:

EuanH78
27-09-2013, 03:42 PM
A midget is a proportionately small person. A dwarf has short limbs with a normal sized head and torso.

I always thought it was midgets that couldn't do handstands but seems its actually dwarfs.

EuanH78
27-09-2013, 04:17 PM

I always thought it was midgets that couldn't do handstands but seems its actually dwarfs.

27-09-2013, 04:41 PM
I think you're being very kind CropleyWasGod. Further down the article there's the bit fromvthe Law Society of Scotland.

“We operate a robust programme of inspections aimed at assessing compliance by solicitors with the society’s accounts rules and money-laundering legislation.

“Failures to comply with obligations can result in disciplinary processes or, where appropriate, result in referral to the authorities.”

That suggests to me he's been caught before disregarding the advice and ingnored the Society waggy finger and/or he's up for being a very, very naughty boy, beyond the Law Societys power to keep things in house.

Not sure what you mean by "being kind". What I have suggested is that LD may have been charged with a serious offence (7 years, remember). However, I am trying to show the distinction between "money-laundering" itself and "money-laundering offences", the latter of which he has, apparently, been charged with.

27-09-2013, 05:25 PM
http://m.scotsman.com/news/scotland/top-stories/leslie-deans-charged-with-money-laundering-offences-1-3114316

Doesnt surprise me. His firm tried to cheat me out of £2,000 when I was selling my house.

27-09-2013, 05:38 PM
Doesn't surprise me. He's a Hertz fud.

27-09-2013, 05:41 PM
He hasn't been charged with fraud, though.

27-09-2013, 08:14 PM
I'm sure there was a thread about this guy here this morning. Where has it been moved to?

27-09-2013, 08:21 PM
Dug out

27-09-2013, 08:22 PM
all 8 of them went to the holy ground :greengrin

Paperboy
27-09-2013, 08:41 PM
Pass his maroon shop quite a lot in the southside. On that basis don't like him!

27-09-2013, 08:58 PM

Irvine Welsh must surely see an opening for such a character to score a sequel to Babylon Heights.....

http://www.irvinewelsh.net/theatre/item.asp?id=1&t=Babylon-Heights

:devil:

27-09-2013, 09:15 PM

I saw what you did there.

You're a very naughty boy! :greengrin

28-09-2013, 07:17 AM

Seems like a strange post CWG. As you say, there is little to go on at the moment, but "money laundering offences" covers a wide range of potentially criminal behaviour in the context of the work of a solicitor and estate agent. I don't see anything to suggest this is related to PCA specifically.

28-09-2013, 08:00 AM
Seems like a strange post CWG. As you say, there is little to go on at the moment, but "money laundering offences" covers a wide range of potentially criminal behaviour in the context of the work of a solicitor and estate agent. I don't see anything to suggest this is related to PCA specifically.

By not doing the proper checks on folks deposits when buying a property surely solicitors would be leaving themselves wide open for those deposits to be the proceeds of crime. Once word gets round that they are willing to skip those checks they would become a magnet for such transactions I would imagine.

aljo7-0
28-09-2013, 08:53 AM
By not doing the proper checks on folks deposits when buying a property surely solicitors would be leaving themselves wide open for those deposits to be the proceeds of crime. Once word gets round that they are willing to skip those checks they would become a magnet for such transactions I would imagine.
:agree: Exactly right. A solicitor must fully identify his client and the source of funds from the client which is usually a mortgage loan with a deposit. If the client's explanation for having £50k in their account is at all suspicious the solicitor must report it to SOCA - failure to do so opens the solicitor up to prosecution. The police apparently have a list of solicitor firms that the rumour mill has suggested may not be carrying out the checks fully and are keeping an eye on them. The Law Society carries out inspections in all legal firms every few years to check procedures on accounting and Money Laundering checks and has the power to report deficiencies to the police if it is serious but equally can simply advice the solicitors on any shortfalls in their procedures. If a house is purchased using funds that were not correctly reported or a mortgage obtained by fraud then there has been a crime committed and the police/fiscals are very much now looking to recover properties and sale proceeds under the Proceeds of Crime Act - they seem on occasion to go after the crooks that way rather than to try and prosecute them for the actual crime. The solicitor may get in trouble if the view is tat a reasonable solicitor would have viewed it as suspicious.

28-09-2013, 10:46 AM

My reason for posting as I did was to head off the inevitable Deans=Hearts=money-laundering speculation. Hence why I suggested that it "may" have been peripheral rather than actual.

However, I'm going to back-track a bit. The later reports I read yesterday mentioned an "ongoing fraud enquiry". Had it been a "completed" enquiry, with convictions, then my scenario would have been likely. Proven fraud, which LD failed to report, etc etc. I don't think such charges could be brought whilst a case was still unproven.

This, though, is "ongoing", which might suggest a deeper involvement by LD.

aljo7-0
28-09-2013, 12:23 PM
CWG - I think that there would almost certainly need to be some sort of fraud enquiry by the police for a solicitor to stand accused (and here charged) with Money Laundering offences. For the solicitor to be "found out" or accused of not complying with the AML regulations then I imagine either it will have become obvious on one of the Law Society inspections (with them have a remit to report to the Police) or an ongoing investigation by the Police into Money Laundering or mortgage fraud. In the case of the later the Police would routinely take the solicitor's files on the transaction and interview the solicitor about his file. If they then took the view that the solicitor should have been suspicious and reported the matter or that he was complicit then they would consider charging him. In the event of the former if the Law Society were to report it to the police they would almost certainly not only look at the solicitor but at the transaction(s) and client involved in the case(s). Money Laundering regulations (at least as they affect solicitors) have tightened up hugely in the last few years and frankly quite scare me. We have pretty strict rules in my new firm but when I read the news yesterday and discussed it with my colleagues there was a degree of "but for the grace of God ....."

28-09-2013, 04:00 PM
CWG - I think that there would almost certainly need to be some sort of fraud enquiry by the police for a solicitor to stand accused (and here charged) with Money Laundering offences. For the solicitor to be "found out" or accused of not complying with the AML regulations then I imagine either it will have become obvious on one of the Law Society inspections (with them have a remit to report to the Police) or an ongoing investigation by the Police into Money Laundering or mortgage fraud. In the case of the later the Police would routinely take the solicitor's files on the transaction and interview the solicitor about his file. If they then took the view that the solicitor should have been suspicious and reported the matter or that he was complicit then they would consider charging him. In the event of the former if the Law Society were to report it to the police they would almost certainly not only look at the solicitor but at the transaction(s) and client involved in the case(s). Money Laundering regulations (at least as they affect solicitors) have tightened up hugely in the last few years and frankly quite scare me. We have pretty strict rules in my new firm but when I read the news yesterday and discussed it with my colleagues there was a degree of "but for the grace of God ....."

Oh I hear you on that :greengrin

You guys are exposed to a much greater degree, since you handle clients' money. I break out in a sweat every time I have to do that.

I heard of one accountant who decided that he would report ALL of his clients to SOCA, on the grounds that he couldn't possibly know everything about their dealings and that, by doing so, he was satisfying his obligations under the POCA. A tad extreme, one might say :rolleyes: but you can understand the thought processes.

aljo7-0
28-09-2013, 05:05 PM
Oh I hear you on that :greengrin

You guys are exposed to a much greater degree, since you handle clients' money. I break out in a sweat every time I have to do that.

I heard of one accountant who decided that he would report ALL of his clients to SOCA, on the grounds that he couldn't possibly know everything about their dealings and that, by doing so, he was satisfying his obligations under the POCA. A tad extreme, one might say :rolleyes: but you can understand the thought processes.
Yes but in theory the only safe way to deal with clients' money and not risk a 7 year stint. I did hear of a Borders solicitor who was in the habit of reporting as a matter of course and who got told off for "being silly and potentially wasting police time". I recall being at a CPD lecture with 2 SOCA officers giving talks. At the end a question was asked off them what they were expecting to be notified on and they advised - anything suspicious. A second question was asked - What is suspicious? and they declined to answer and passed the question onto the Law Society rep who advised that if you felt the need to question if the matter/client was suspicious, go on the basis it is and report. The 2 SOCA guys didn't comment but raised their eyebrows and gave off the "Great - he's just opened the floodgates" impression. Strikes me you can't win but I guess it would be better to be told to calm down than to go down!

28-09-2013, 05:10 PM
Yes but in theory the only safe way to deal with clients' money and not risk a 7 year stint. I did hear of a Borders solicitor who was in the habit of reporting as a matter of course and who got told off for "being silly and potentially wasting police time". I recall being at a CPD lecture with 2 SOCA officers giving talks. At the end a question was asked off them what they were expecting to be notified on and they advised - anything suspicious. A second question was asked - What is suspicious? and they declined to answer and passed the question onto the Law Society rep who advised that if you felt the need to question if the matter/client was suspicious, go on the basis it is and report. The 2 SOCA guys didn't comment but raised their eyebrows and gave off the "Great - he's just opened the floodgates" impression. Strikes me you can't win but I guess it would be better to be told to calm down than to go down!

Yeah.... the "suspicious" question. :rolleyes:

An ICAS seminar raised the same question. The accepted definition was "where a reasonable person would have suspicion".

Incredibly helpful. Not.

I suspect that there are thousands of SARS reports gathering dust somewhere.