View Full Version : **Match Updates** St Johnstone 1 v 2 Hibernian (Heffernan, Collins)
14-09-2013, 03:46 PM
Hanlon has been very, very good this half.
14-09-2013, 03:47 PM
90 minutes up :paranoid:Stanton on 3 minutes addedWho for??
hibbybrian
No wanting to tempt fate here but I predicted 5 away wins today in the SPFL in the prediction league, this could be my best week EVER, only one score right though (had yams to get pumped 0-6:greengrin)
never mind, 0-7 would be fine :greengrin
shamo9
Who for??
Craig
14-09-2013, 03:48 PM
Solid from Maybury again today.
2-1 FT YEESSSSSS!!!!
:hibees:pfgwa:flag:
hibbybrian
Who for??
Craig I think - time up :thumbsup:
FT 1-2 and by all means a decent performance.
Four games undefeated.
Sounded like we controlled 2nd half. Well done Hibs.
14-09-2013, 03:49 PM
Great win.
GET IN :thumbsup::thumbsup:
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::top marks:top marks:top marks Superb laddies. :flag:
steviehibsleith
Yes fulltime ya beauty :flag:
Get in!!!!
Well done the cabbage....happy days.....
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees
Sent from my iPhone at home on crutches
never mind, 0-7 would be fine :greengrin
Its only us that get to do that to them :flag:
14-09-2013, 03:50 PM
I'd forgotten what it was like to get a wee bit of happiness from hibs :thumbsup:
Get in Hibs :thumbsup:
Great result, now to transfer our away for to ER :flag::greengrin
hibbybrian
Well done to the team and the fans - still singing :hibees
BarneyHibby
Well done Hibs!!! :hibees:pfgwa
Well done the cabbage. :flag:
Off the bar
14-09-2013, 03:51 PM
nice
Purehibee_MYB
Fantastic stuff! looking forward to the game against st mirren next week!
We're in the top six. Woohoo!!
I had a feeling we would win today. Now for a home win next week I hope. We seldom get something at McDiarmid and so I am very happy tonight.
14-09-2013, 03:52 PM
Great result! :thumbsup:
Glesgahibby
:thumbsup::pfgwa:thumbsup:
:flag::flag:
Yeaasss !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
PF guides his team over the finish line............... :aok:
Pat will need to rewrite his post match interview......"We never really got going......We were a bit unlucky............We didn't do a lot wrong...........Now what the hell I am supposed to say...(ah yes where are rods notes).....The state of the art training facilities were responsible for this win today and the AGM has been moved till next Monday..:greengrin
Sanger
Extend Fenlob's contract!
14-09-2013, 03:53 PM
Seemed to click today. Good stuff.
Fantastic team selection from PF, always trusted him.
14-09-2013, 03:54 PM
Excellent result.
Into the top 6 and now four games unbeaten.
16 points ahead of Poppy Fund Thieves FC. Cheats shall never prosper.
shamo9
A good win over St Mirren next week and our season will be fully back on track:flag:
http://www.scancrit.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/excellent-4689_preview.png
14-09-2013, 03:55 PM
Seemed to click today. Good stuff.
Fantastic team selection from PF, always trusted him.
:wink: Same here! Yu've gorra laff! :flag:
green.and.white
That's St Johnsone lost 2 home games in the last 10 months... Both to Hibs :D brilliant win today and by all accounts a great performance. Great stuff and St mirren at home next week lets keep building!!
YAAAASSS, well done Hibs and well done Pat. Keep proving us wrong and we'll all be happy
Good result and delighted the two strikers are off the mark. Sounds like we played well the second half, so credit to Fenlon and the players.
MartinfaePorty
14-09-2013, 03:56 PM
Best I've seen us in ages. Heffernan ran his backside off and we dominated midfield. Nelson excellent after I slagged him off after 10 minutes.
Silversand
14-09-2013, 03:57 PM
Fenlon out Fenlon in.
14-09-2013, 03:57 PM
Just leaving to head home. I thought we were worth the win today and what a difference five weeks makes. Look forward to reading the whole thread when I get home in about an hour and a half. See who was getting all excited after May's goal. I can probably guess though. Well done to the fans who made it here on good numbers and gave the team good backing,I actually prefer away games these days.
Stewboy
14-09-2013, 03:58 PM
Said it a few weeks back. Team will do well away from home
Hopefully we can turn it around at home
Great result and good to see the 2 strikers on the score sheet
14-09-2013, 03:59 PM
Just leaving to head home. I thought we were worth the win today and what a difference five weeks makes. Look forward to reading the whole thread when I get home in about an hour and a half. See who was getting all excited after May's goal. I can probably guess though. Well done to the fans who made it here on good numbers and gave the team good backing,I actually prefer away games these days. Is that you Pat?
Just leaving to head home. I thought we were worth the win today and what a difference five weeks makes. Look forward to reading the whole thread when I get home in about an hour and a half. See who was getting all excited after May's goal. I can probably guess though. Well done to the fans who made it here on good numbers and gave the team good backing,I actually prefer away games these days.
Good stuff onwards and upwards. :thumbsup:
Great result and great to see goals from both strikers.
I guess Nelson must have had a good game, the live text updates on the BBC went ... Nelson clears, Nelson blocks, Nelson clears, Nelson heads wide, Nelson clears .. etc etc.
Go on Pat ....... make me look stupid :greengrin
Yassssssss
14-09-2013, 04:01 PM
Just leaving to head home. I thought we were worth the win today and what a difference five weeks makes. Look forward to reading the whole thread when I get home in about an hour and a half. See who was getting all excited after May's goal. I can probably guess though. Well done to the fans who made it here on good numbers and gave the team good backing,I actually prefer away games these days. Seems the players do as well :wink:
14-09-2013, 04:01 PM
How did we play?
Did we keep it on the deck?
14-09-2013, 04:02 PM
Hibernian hibernian ra ra ra
That us in the top 6? This jambo twat in having a pint with claims were 7th think maybe he has some weird fixation with his opponents getting 7.
Great support too without needing clubs to give us cash for it too. We're great.
14-09-2013, 04:03 PM
Can anyone who was there confirm what the formation was like?
Was Robertson playing wide right or was it more of a 4-3-1-2 with Craig in behind?
14-09-2013, 04:08 PM
Great win Hibs. Seems like Collins and the Hed have a decent partnership already? So is Zoubir the pacey silky winger we have been crying out for then? GGTTH:greengrin
We really do have a severe lack of pace in our team and squad as a whole.
Today's team just underlines that !
I think St J will comfortably beat that Hibs team.
the voice of reason :na na:
GlenrothesHibee
A good win over St Mirren next week and our season will be fully back on track:flag:
Should we let them win? ;-)
14-09-2013, 04:10 PM
http://oi42.tinypic.com/2dh8oox.jpg
14-09-2013, 04:10 PM
That's St Johnsone lost 2 home games in the last 10 months... Both to Hibs :D brilliant win today and by all accounts a great performance. Great stuff and St mirren at home next week lets keep building!!
If thats the case about st j only losing two games in ten months then that makes this result all the better
Well done hibs.
Its great to have a smile on the face again
14-09-2013, 04:15 PM
How did Spoony play?
14-09-2013, 04:16 PM
Its so important that we win next week, St Mirren are absolutely rotten and would be bottom if it wasnt for Hearts. Theyve lost every game this season bar a draw against Killie (who are almost as bad), and have only scored a couple of goals.
We are coming off the back of a good win, both strikers have scored, and its a chance to finally get a win at home!
14-09-2013, 04:17 PM
Can anyone who was there confirm what the formation was like?
Was Robertson playing wide right or was it more of a 4-3-1-2 with Craig in behind?
4-4-2 I'd say. Robertson out right and Craig out left.
14-09-2013, 04:19 PM
How did Spoony play?
I forgot he was even playing. Waste of a jersey for them.
DAVE1875
14-09-2013, 04:19 PM
Mannus' face :tee hee:
http://nfs.stvfiles.com/imagebase/198/623x349/198335-hibernians-james-collins-centre-scores-his-sides-second-goal-of-the-game.jpg
14-09-2013, 04:20 PM
Great result against a decent team who always give us a hard game. Looks as if all the players played to their full potential and ability today and we leave Perth with the 3 points in the bag. Great to see both our strikers score their first Hibs goals and here's hoping they smash even more into the back of the net. Our captain making his return from a lengthy spell out and Zoubir coming off the bench and causing St J problems in only 10 mins. Also don't forget, we still have McGivern, Clancy, Harris, Cairney and Handling to return and we have ourselves a good side. Overall a great day and here's hoping for the same this time next Saturday.
14-09-2013, 04:21 PM
..daffy..
I'll see your Daffy and raise you (no pun intended)......
14-09-2013, 04:22 PM
nice tae come in tae some good news :flag: anybody ken how we played?
14-09-2013, 04:23 PM
Great result Hibs. :pfgwa
14-09-2013, 04:24 PM
Good result. Great to see Collins finally break the duck. He's going to be a great player for us.
Juice-Terry
http://nfs.stvfiles.com/imagebase/198/623x349/198335-hibernians-james-collins-centre-scores-his-sides-second-goal-of-the-game.jpg
Is that Mixu in goal for them?
4-4-2 I'd say. Robertson out right and Craig out left.
How was Robertson as right mid?
did he look out of position or was he comfortable?
14-09-2013, 04:26 PM
That St J defender looks like Tim Clancy :)
14-09-2013, 04:29 PM
Keepers done well to get the head to that!
14-09-2013, 04:31 PM
Ach ..... once the FF standing section is up and running home games will be a lot better :greengrin
Jdawg
14-09-2013, 04:32 PM
Great to see 2 proper strikers playing and both score. Good win today, onwards and upwards from this result. St Mirren has to be a win they are very poor.
14-09-2013, 04:33 PM
BBC Report (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23999508)
Hibernian produced a morale-boosting comeback victory to further ease the pressure on boss Pat Fenlon.
Stevie May had St Johnstone in the lead after he executed a fantastic drive from outside the box.
However, Hibs debutant Paul Heffernan restored parity after Scott Robertson's effort hit the post.
James Collins snatched a winner and the striker's first goal for the club to stretch Hibs' unbeaten record to four Scottish Premiership games.
The Saints had not lost at McDiarmid Park since last November. It was Fenlon's men who inflicted a 1-0 defeat back then and they once again prevented the hosts from taking the three points here.
The Leith side's problem this season has been their profligacy up front but there was no sign of this on Saturday as Heffernan and Collins both scored to give the visitors an important victory.
Fenlon captured Kilmarnock striker Heffernan before the transfer window closed and, in his first start, he provided more impetus up front for the visitors - linking-up well with Collins - and could have added to the strike he grabbed here.
Collins also opened his account from a tight angle which would have given him a boost following a barren spell in front of goal since his move from Swindon Town.
But it was the opposition's striker May who had the hosts ahead with a stunning effort from outside the box.
St Johnstone manager Tommy Wright would have been delighted to hold on to his star man despite advances from Peterborough during the transfer window, with the 20-year-old showing his importance as he grabbed his fourth goal of the season.
Hibs responded well though, as former Saint Liam Craig saw his free-kick cannon off the wall, but the 26-year-old hit an audacious volley on the rebound which was wonderfully saved by Alan Mannus in goal.
Heffernan was mystified about his departure from Rugby Park, but there was no uncertainty about his equaliser as he slotted home from a tight angle.
Robertson had initially done well to get the shot away but his effort cannoned off the post, allowing Heffernan to show his striking instincts as he nipped in and scored.
The Irish attacker had never been on the winning side against St Johnstone in six attempts but the signs were looking good when Collins, from an acute angle, put his side in front.
May had a couple of chances to equalise, with Hibs' shot-stopper Ben Williams denying him.
Steven MacLean was fortunate to stay on the park when he unceremoniously took the legs from Craig later in the second half while Heffernan could have put the result beyond doubt when he had an excellent opportunity to extend the lead, but it was not to matter as Hibs held on for a valuable victory.
14-09-2013, 04:33 PM
How was Robertson as right mid?
did he look out of position or was he comfortable?
I thought he had a good game, his flick through for Collins's goal was phenomenal. Still don't think he looks particularly comfortable there, however.
14-09-2013, 04:40 PM
Good away win and comeback.
Didn't make the game - how did we do 1st half ? Was it another slow start or did we play well but just unlucky to be 1v0 down ?
Stringer
14-09-2013, 04:44 PM
Pleasing result. Dominated possession and created good chances.
shamo9
14-09-2013, 04:46 PM
Its so important that we win next week, St Mirren are absolutely rotten and would be bottom if it wasnt for Hearts. Theyve lost every game this season bar a draw against Killie (who are almost as bad), and have only scored a couple of goals.
We are coming off the back of a good win, both strikers have scored, and its a chance to finally get a win at home!
Even more important when you consider our next five games after ST Mirren are:
ICT away
Partick away
Celtic home
Aberdeen home
Motherwell away
ICT home
We're playing the top 4 teams in the league in 5 out of the 6 games :shocked:
14-09-2013, 05:10 PM
ICT away
Partick away
Celtic home
Aberdeen home
Motherwell away
ICT home
Shurely shome mishtake?
hibbybrian
14-09-2013, 05:13 PM
ICT away
Partick away
Celtic home
Aberdeen home
Motherwell away
ICT home
Shurely shome mishtake?
Aye - Where's the big team fae Edinburgh? :greengrin
14-09-2013, 05:15 PM
Nope, because we have ICT twice in those 6 games :wink: :greengrin
**** me!
bongo'd
14-09-2013, 05:18 PM
Good away win and comeback.
Didn't make the game - how did we do 1st half ? Was it another slow start or did we play well but just unlucky to be 1v0 down ?
Very poor in the 1st half. Fair play to Paddy though, moved the midfield 5/10 yards further forward and gave them more of a chance to get up with play resulting in a much better 2nd half performance. Special mention to wee Lewis, thought he was tremendous today, always willing to bomb forward and support. My MoM :-)
14-09-2013, 05:30 PM
Poor first half but second half was best performance of the season. Robertson and The Heff were our top players but to be fair everyone was decent bar Collins who was crap except his winner :greengrin.
14-09-2013, 05:37 PM
Very poor in the 1st half. Fair play to Paddy though, moved the midfield 5/10 yards further forward and gave them more of a chance to get up with play resulting in a much better 2nd half performance. Special mention to wee Lewis, thought he was tremendous today, always willing to bomb forward and support. My MoM :-)
Thanks - it seems to be a reoccurring theme being poor in 1st half then playing better 2nd.
This really needs to change as it's happened too often and whether it's preparation or tactics I can't remember the last good first half performance ?
Anyone ?:confused:
14-09-2013, 05:39 PM
Well done Hibs, good result :flag:
bongo'd
14-09-2013, 05:42 PM
Poor first half but second half was best performance of the season. Robertson and The Heff were our top players but to be fair everyone was decent bar Collins who was crap except his winner :greengrin.
Agree that he was poor and his second touch was usually a tackle, however, he works his baws off and never stopped chasing, always looking for the ball. I can forgive that a lot easier than say Vine two weeks ago ;-)
14-09-2013, 06:03 PM
Great result - well done to the players and management (and to all the fans who went up).
Hibs Till We Die.
14-09-2013, 07:46 PM
That's not fair. Collins didn't hide, worked hard and you could see how much it meant to him (and the rest of the team) to get his first goal for us.
There were a few guys around where I was sittinggiving him a lot of grief. I know we are probably one of the worst supports for picking on our own players at home but normally our away fans are great so that was a shame today. It was getting so bad I was about to tell them to shut up but he got in first with his goal That sure shut them up!
14-09-2013, 07:54 PM
nice tae come in tae some good news :flag: anybody ken how we played?
Second half and particularly after 2nd went in you would have been pleasantly surprised :agree:
14-09-2013, 08:18 PM
Cracking result. Just about the only thing to raise a smile amidst another 90 minutes of misery at the Reebok!
Up The Bracket
14-09-2013, 08:26 PM
Absolutely fantastic today, fantastic performance, fantastic support, up there with one of the best away days.
Stand outs were Robertson, Heffernan and Stevenson.
No poor performances really although Collins struggled up until the goal.
Fantastic performance and great result.
:pfgwa
14-09-2013, 10:55 PM
2 bottles of pear schnapps, half a pig and 45 beer later. Did I miss anything?
portycabbage
14-09-2013, 11:05 PM
Fenlon out Fenlon in.
The Fenlon Sex Tapes (audio description).
14-09-2013, 11:18 PM
Second half and particularly after 2nd went in you would have been pleasantly surprised :agree:Cheers, hopefully will be next week :flag: