View Full Version : Greatest Covers

Godsahibby
12-09-2013, 09:08 PM
After a few jars tonight it got me thinking, what is the best cover?

my vote...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HcYT8TzUarI

12-09-2013, 09:10 PM
All Along the Watchtower - Hendrix/Dylan

12-09-2013, 09:15 PM
Lennon - Stand By Me.

Godsahibby
12-09-2013, 09:19 PM
All Along the Watchtower - Hendrix/Dylan

Hendrix had a few legendary covers, All along the watchtower was one and up there with that was Hey Joe!

12-09-2013, 09:33 PM
I love the Nine Inch Nails cover of Hurt by Johnny Cash...:duck: :fishin:

12-09-2013, 10:22 PM
I had a Star Wars duvet cover when I was a bairn. Loved it!

Godsahibby
12-09-2013, 10:39 PM
Another favorite!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcMAM9B7yAA

Purple & Green
12-09-2013, 10:47 PM
Lennon - Stand By Me.

Knocks spots off the original. In my top 3, but Soft Cell Tainted Love is awesome.

13-09-2013, 01:46 AM
Knocks spots off the original. In my top 3, but Soft Cell Tainted Love is awesome.

Think there's two kinds of covers.

With the likes of Soft Cell it was really only Northern fans who knew the Gloria Jones original, and Almond and Ball took something good, made it great and more accessible, or beyond great really because of the extent to which it still stands out today.

On the other hand there's the taking of something well-known and doing something different with it - not listened to Radio 1 Live Lounge for years (do they still even do it?) but they exemplified the indie/guitar act doing the pop/dance track and vice versa, best-illustrated early on by the otherwise-dreary Travis showing why Britney's "...Baby One More Time" was a fantastically-written pop song when it was stripped down to its basics.

But when it comes down to it, would have to agree with the shout for "All Along The Watchtower", one of the genuine all-time greats, but then the original songwriter also penned "Mr Tambourine Man" and "My Back Pages" which were made into classics by the Byrds........

"Hounds of Love" is a personal favourite too, and just reinforces how good Kate Bush was and how talented the Futureheads are/were.

To introduce one that's not been mentioned, Tricky "Black Steel" was a ****ing classic that was a cover of a ****ing classic :greengrin

Or Sinead O'Connor covering Prince :agree:

13-09-2013, 06:05 AM

With the likes of Soft Cell it was really only Northern fans who knew the Gloria Jones original, and Almond and Ball took something good, made it great and more accessible, or beyond great really because of the extent to which it still stands out today.

On the other hand there's the taking of something well-known and doing something different with it - not listened to Radio 1 Live Lounge for years (do they still even do it?) but they exemplified the indie/guitar act doing the pop/dance track and vice versa, best-illustrated early on by the otherwise-dreary Travis showing why Britney's "...Baby One More Time" was a fantastically-written pop song when it was stripped down to its basics.

But when it comes down to it, would have to agree with the shout for "All Along The Watchtower", one of the genuine all-time greats, but then the original songwriter also penned "Mr Tambourine Man" and "My Back Pages" which were made into classics by the Byrds........

"Hounds of Love" is a personal favourite too, and just reinforces how good Kate Bush was and how talented the Futureheads are/were.

To introduce one that's not been mentioned, Tricky "Black Steel" was a ****ing classic that was a cover of a ****ing classic :greengrin

That's the one for me. Love the original, but this is just incredible:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h80l4XIPJC4

13-09-2013, 06:10 AM

That was the track that initially got me in to one of my all time favourite albums. :thumbsup:

13-09-2013, 06:19 AM
Step On by Happy Mondays. Also Arab Straps version of Whole Again by Atomic Kitten- similar to Travis version of Britney Spears tune mentioned above, but with more comedy value. The Bluetones also did a good version of call the shots by girls aloud.

13-09-2013, 06:41 AM
SAHB. Next. They did a few covers but this one is quite simply superb.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sowmTkayJMM

13-09-2013, 07:32 AM
The Jam David Watts

13-09-2013, 09:49 AM
Raspberry Beret - Hindu Love Gods

kdhibees1
13-09-2013, 09:57 AM
Lemonheads - Mrs Robinson
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zvMFm5nKeUc

13-09-2013, 10:18 AM
http://youtu.be/XkfXGLqIB0M

13-09-2013, 10:24 AM

I much prefer this version

http://youtu.be/9R-vfScMKM0

13-09-2013, 10:50 AM
I much prefer this version

http://youtu.be/9R-vfScMKM0

Singer ruins it. As poor as I've heard in a long time.

deeks01
13-09-2013, 12:12 PM
The two that spring to mind have already been mentioned. Lennon's Stand By Me & Johnny Cash's Hurt. Both excellent. Think Johnny Cash just shades it for me though. The Jams David Watts is not quite in that league for me but still a class shout. The Strypes version of Got Love If You Want It is another one worth a mention.

Going to go off on a tangent here but at wickerman festival this year I witnessed The Tyneside Steel Band covering David Gueta (I think?) Titanium. By far the most interesting and unique cover I have ever heard.

EDIT - As far as live cover versions go Ocean Colour Scene do an utterly magical version of The Beatles Day Tripper which I felt needed a mention here.

13-09-2013, 12:29 PM
Idlewilds cover of Teenage Fanclub's Everything Flows, Dinosaur Jrs cover of Just Like Heaven and King Creosote covering Nothing Compares 2 U are all ace.

kdhibees1
13-09-2013, 01:42 PM
Also this Chuck Woods Cover.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9yfZMEFt4j4

13-09-2013, 04:02 PM
Love Vigilantes by Iron and Wine. Not a big new order fan and prefer this to the original. He does a few good covers actually-Such Great Heights by Postal Service too. Reckon Ryan Adams version of Wonderwall beats liams whining vocals on the original also.

13-09-2013, 04:17 PM
I believe I can fly - Me first and the Gimme Gimmes.

13-09-2013, 04:20 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wQPlU5q1CBI

13-09-2013, 05:18 PM
Cannae believe that nobody has mentioned Celine Dion's version of the ACDC classic You Shook Me All Night Long....... It's absolutely breathtaking ;)
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1niTEkP-6eo

*an extra special mention must be made of the 'interpretation'(murdering) of my favourite guitar solo.

13-09-2013, 05:26 PM
Cannae believe that nobody has mentioned Celine Dion's version of the ACDC classic You Shook Me All Night Long....... It's absolutely breathtaking ;)
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1niTEkP-6eo

*an extra special mention must be made of the 'interpretation'(murdering) of my favourite guitar solo.

Love one of the top comments on Youtube. I take its pertaining to her antics at the beginning.

TheRuptineer (http://www.youtube.com/user/TheRuptineer) 2 weeks ago (http://www.youtube.com/comment?lc=f_tyt0S0JwvftR9mjwDIe1TOGYekQ9aAJJAOf3R tlEs)
does she know how a guitar works?

Reply · 24 http://s.ytimg.com/yts/img/pixel-vfl3z5WfW.gifhttp://s.ytimg.com/yts/img/pixel-vfl3z5WfW.gif

13-09-2013, 05:40 PM
Love Vigilantes by Iron and Wine. Not a big new order fan and prefer this to the original. He does a few good covers actually-Such Great Heights by Postal Service too. Reckon Ryan Adams version of Wonderwall beats liams whining vocals on the original also.

Ryan Adams Wonderwall is great. Noel Gallagher effectively ended up covering a cover of his own song with the version he's done in recent years.

Oasis had a few good covers - Cum On Feel the Noize, Heroes and of course I Am the Walrus which started the whole thing.

Personally love some of the Beatles early covers too.

Off the bar
13-09-2013, 06:56 PM
The clash's version of the Bobby Fuller fours I fought the law is a great example of a cover being better known and better performed than the original, also love the Nirvana cover of the man who sold the world on the MTV unplugged record

13-09-2013, 07:30 PM
Ryan Adams Wonderwall is great. Noel Gallagher effectively ended up covering a cover of his own song with the version he's done in recent years.

Oasis had a few good covers - Cum On Feel the Noize, Heroes and of course I Am the Walrus which started the whole thing.

agree with all of that :agree: noels version of wonderwall on the 95 glastonbury coverage is the first and best version I ever heard of it :aok:

RoslinInstHibby
13-09-2013, 07:32 PM
Placebo....running up that hill

13-09-2013, 10:11 PM
Step On by Happy Mondays. Also Arab Straps version of Whole Again by Atomic Kitten- similar to Travis version of Britney Spears tune mentioned above, but with more comedy value. The Bluetones also did a good version of call the shots by girls aloud.

It was Aidan Moffat from Arab Strap and Stuart Braithwaite from Mogwai who released "Whole Again" under the name of Sick Anchors in a sort of side project/arse about. Great stuff.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EACdIQeOTaY

13-09-2013, 10:26 PM
A few have mentioned Johnny Cash`s haunting cover of "Hurt". Cash recorded so many wonderful covers, and my favourite is his take on Jimmy Webb`s "Wichita Lineman". Glenn Campbell recorded the version that is most commonly known, but Cash recorded (in his final days) the best version in my view.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oum_g4yKsz0

14-09-2013, 01:31 AM

I was going to mention these very two bands. They are similar in that they took songs and performed them in their own unique style very early on in their careers. Mixing this with their own work resulted in a strong set of songs.

Listening to the Beatles songs and the originals they covered is interesting. It's clear that what they lacked in "soul" they made up for with their up-tempo style and great harmonies. Surprising preferences for me are the Beatles version of "boys" and the original "baby it's you" by the shirelles.

Oasis could have covered the rainbow theme tune back in the nineties and it would have been awesome...and all their covers sounded great and infinitely better than the originals. They all still sound great but as the fog cleared I realised that some of the songs they attempted, like helter skelter, sound like karaoke attempts. I accused the Beatles of lacking soul but McCartney on the original sang like he meant whatever is was he meant. Cum on feel the noise, heroes and others were great covers though and oasis made them their own.

I can't help thinking about the mike flowers pops version when it comes to wonderwall covers. Noel wrote that song about his then girlfriend Meg Matthews and wasn't shy about telling everyone so. He was relaxing in his house one night when she appeared from another room ranting and raving calling him a lying *******, saying that she had seen the original 1960's wonderwall video on the TV. It took him hours and several phone calls to persuade her he was telling the truth.

14-09-2013, 04:13 AM
Another favorite!

Plus one. And I also agree with mibbes ayes assessment of how good the futureheads are. One of the greatest covers.

Edit: I'd still choose "decent days and nights" as their top single off the album though.

14-09-2013, 05:20 AM
A few have mentioned Johnny Cash`s haunting cover of "Hurt". Cash recorded so many wonderful covers, and my favourite is his take on Jimmy Webb`s "Wichita Lineman". Glenn Campbell recorded the version that is most commonly known, but Cash recorded (in his final days) the best version in my view.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oum_g4yKsz0

His Personal Jesus is awesome.

14-09-2013, 06:12 AM
It was Aidan Moffat from Arab Strap and Stuart Braithwaite from Mogwai who released "Whole Again" under the name of Sick Anchors in a sort of side project/arse about. Great stuff.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EACdIQeOTaY

Didn't realise that! :aok: haven't heard anything from Mr Moffat for a while, he still releasing stuff?

14-09-2013, 05:45 PM
Didn't realise that! :aok: haven't heard anything from Mr Moffat for a while, he still releasing stuff?

His album with Bill Wells (Everything's Getting Older) from a couple years ago is utterly superb...

...which brings us neatly to another great (and unexpected) cover:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MwQgMRxOYGQ

Off the bar
14-09-2013, 05:51 PM
the white stripes Jolene is another unexpected but strangely brilliant cover

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gE3-q-aoFZI

Bunter
14-09-2013, 07:42 PM
This is IMO a belter.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDl9ZMfj6aE

Bunter
14-09-2013, 07:46 PM
This song live is brilliant....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-p-B5ofYLdI

14-09-2013, 07:50 PM

His album with Bill Wells (Everything's Getting Older) from a couple years ago is utterly superb...

...which brings us neatly to another great (and unexpected) cover:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MwQgMRxOYGQ

Agree wholeheartedly with nonshinyfinish, Bill and Aidan`s album is quite magnificent, and well deserving of last years Scottish Album of the Year :agree:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-18517097

Bunter
14-09-2013, 07:51 PM
Well, everybody's heard.......

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uE-_PB3zOBM

Bunter
14-09-2013, 07:53 PM
Class.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y6k3tNNRS_I

Bunter
14-09-2013, 07:55 PM
Last, but not least for tonight.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nTLSa7r_tks

hibbybob
15-09-2013, 05:33 AM
Rezillos - Somebody's gonna get their head kicked in tonight!

Quite a contrast to Fleetwood Mac!

15-09-2013, 07:34 AM
Lennon's Stand By Me is the guvnor.

I loved the Damned's versions of Eloise and Alone Again Or.

Earlimart's version of Road To Nowhere is worth a mention in a sort of light hearted uplifting way..

Joe Cocker's With A Little Help From My Friends still sounds great.

hibby rae
15-09-2013, 08:46 AM

He's playing Electric Circus on the 26th with RM Hubbard.

15-09-2013, 11:18 AM
Pennywise - stand by me is awesome.

15-09-2013, 09:10 PM
James Morrison - Man In The Mirror
Paolo Nutini - I'd Rather Go Blind

16-09-2013, 12:36 AM
I used to love this crowd (who only did covers IIRC) when I was a nipper

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9h8TxjQkESc

Den Hegarty - what a man!

16-09-2013, 10:00 AM
Oasis - Street Fighting Man. So good, they could've wrote it. More ballsy than the stones ever done it.

Fanclub - Ballad Of John and Yoko. Quality. Seen them do it live at the old Jaffa Cake, **** it up then start again! Braw.

Lennon - Stand By Me. As others have said, brilliant cover.

Beatles - Please Mr Postman. The original was simply ****. This was braw, as was ringo doing act naturally.

U2 - Dancing Queen. Just Bono, the edge and a 12 string acoustic. Amazing.

Honourable mentions to Oasis cum on feel the noize..possibly their loudest ever song sonically and dB wise. Heroes was good too. Noel doing all you need is love is always good.

Some phonics Beatles covers are good and Guns N Roses doing knockin on heavens door is ****ing brilliant. Especially live.

The whole point of covers is to be different. This is when works. If you repeat the original faithfully, it's pointless. Better with the original...

16-09-2013, 01:16 PM
http://youtu.be/N1Eq5TR5Fk8

16-09-2013, 11:05 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNtDCcBpMaE

Anything this man sings sounds like gold.

17-09-2013, 05:38 PM
3) "Famous Blue Raincoat" - Jennifer Warnes (Leonard Cohen)
2) "You Keep Me Hanging On" - Vanilla Fudge (Supremes)
1) "Somewhere Over The Rainbow" - Eva Cassidy (Judy Garland)

19-09-2013, 05:55 PM
1) Rod with a great version of Dylan's "Mama You Been on My Mind" back in the 70s

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=mHoqds0OgnQ

2) Miles Davis and "Time After Time" from Cindi Lauper

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=L5q***XuqkI

19-09-2013, 08:16 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rkHF-XBCrMo

Another Rod one, much better than the original by Chris Farlowe, judge for yourself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3yN0JvG5co

19-09-2013, 08:20 PM
The Jukes doing Aretha :0)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xCxc-Mg-rtI

Bunter
20-09-2013, 06:55 AM
2 for the price of 1 :aok:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_N_Vj5ISWo

21-09-2013, 02:47 AM
This is IMO a belter.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDl9ZMfj6aE

Great cover and fantastic video. There was something I liked about that era as there were so many bands who didn't take themselves seriously.

Some of their live performances were something else.

21-09-2013, 03:04 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lE-zUIJ86nk

A nineties twist on a stones classic. It wasn't only Oasis who could pay the ultimate respect to their 60's heroes.

21-09-2013, 06:30 AM

A nineties twist on a stones classic. It wasn't only Oasis who could pay the ultimate respect to their 60's heroes.

21-09-2013, 07:48 AM
I'm not sure his Korean is very good but ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyxFOM3jGs4

21-09-2013, 09:23 AM
Knew the cover before the original but both amazing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcv3v6XfEvM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s4_4abCWw-w

21-09-2013, 11:37 AM

The Sheds are so under-rated. A couple of dodgy gigs in their early days and suddenly they were branded britpop hangers on who couldn't play.

Going to see them again in December at Barrowlands :thumbsup:

22-09-2013, 09:17 AM

Surely Oasis were giving most respect to a seventies band? The Rutles didn't emerge until '74.

23-09-2013, 09:01 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Go8evJYJOZY

23-09-2013, 10:14 PM
Yes!

24-09-2013, 05:12 AM
Yes!

ffs, Rick Wakeman is a fanny

McLeod1875
24-09-2013, 01:43 PM
Happy Mondays - Step On

Shed Seven doing Jack Flash is quality! They also played a class cover of Stone Roses - Going Down... can't mind where I saw it, was a while back.

The Clash - I Fought The Law

Lennon - Stand By Me

McLeod1875
24-09-2013, 01:44 PM
Sexy Biffy...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XreR6NV5OY0

McLeod1875
24-09-2013, 01:45 PM
This is also sheer class

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=-ooVjgS4AFY

McLeod1875
24-09-2013, 01:46 PM
I'm spamming now eh?

This is definitely in my top 3 though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CtudLBWECk

blindsummit
24-09-2013, 02:03 PM
China Drum - Wuthering heights

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bqoh-QOOSYw&feature=player_detailpage

blindsummit
24-09-2013, 05:11 PM
Rezillos - Somebody's gonna get their head kicked in tonight!

Quite a contrast to Fleetwood Mac!

Oh I dunno, the Mac original was pretty mental, with Jeremy Spencer doing his best Elvis impersonation :rockin:

24-09-2013, 09:59 PM
I'm spamming now eh?

Jeez, that is as bad as it gets...all-time classic absolutely murdered...IMHO of course :wink:

25-09-2013, 11:10 AM
Jeez, that is as bad as it gets...all-time classic absolutely murdered...IMHO of course :wink:

:agree: Very poor.

25-09-2013, 06:32 PM
http://www.thebirthdaysuit.co.uk/

Rod from Idlewild's band have a cracking wee covers album for download - got Echo & The Bunnymen, The Cure, David Bowie, Taylor Swift covers and more - well worthwhile seeing as how a dodgy member of their staff ran off with proceeds from a tour.

Paperboy
27-09-2013, 11:21 PM
Two besr covers

Stevie Wonder 'We Can Work It Out'

Happt Mondays 'Tokolshe Man' If memory serves me correct it was this and Step On that the band covered as part of the deal when they signed to Decca Records?!

28-09-2013, 11:39 AM
Mad World by Gary Jules - thought this was a decent cover of a great track by Tears for Fears
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=4N3N1MlvVc4

29-09-2013, 03:50 AM
I'm spamming now eh?

I like this one as the view have simply played it in their own style. A style that produced one of the finest albums of that mid-naughties guitar revival (I'm sure there's a proper name for that era but it escapes me).

They actually started life as a squeeze cover band and played that song regularly at gigs before they were old enough to vote. Not a patch on the original but at least it's sincere.

29-09-2013, 04:05 AM
The Sheds are so under-rated. A couple of dodgy gigs in their early days and suddenly they were branded britpop hangers on who couldn't play.

Going to see them again in December at Barrowlands :thumbsup:

Regretted not seeing them originally and then when they initially reformed. I didn't even realise they were touring again to be honest but glad they are and I amn't missing out this time.

Sold out in Glasgow. Looks like its a trip to Newcastle.:jmcp:

29-09-2013, 07:45 AM
The Sheds are so under-rated. A couple of dodgy gigs in their early days and suddenly they were branded britpop hangers on who couldn't play. Going to see them again in December at Barrowlands :thumbsup:

Saw them ant the queens hall in the early 90's and got hooked. They also supported Black Grape on their 95 tour and saw them playing at Livi Forum. They were head and shoulders above BG that nite. Very very under rated band

29-09-2013, 07:51 AM
Saw them ant the queens hall in the early 90's and got hooked. They also supported Black Grape on their 95 tour and saw them playing at Livi Forum. They were head and shoulders above BG that nite. Very very under rated band

:agree: saw them supporting the Mondays at SECC in 99 and they did the same. They also used to do a good cover of cliff Richards wired for sound.

29-09-2013, 07:53 AM
:agree: saw them supporting the Mondays at SECC in 99 and they did the same. They also used to do a good cover of cliff Richards wired for sound. Was also at that gig. Mental totally mental

Pills Thrills and Bellyache tour was brilliant

29-09-2013, 07:54 AM
Sorry back on subject - as covers go I think the Strummer/Cash cover of Bob Marleys Redemption song is excellent.

29-09-2013, 08:31 AM
Sheeeeite cover version of Passenger - Let Her Go.

By me. On holiday. Drunk, 40 fags a day, blootered.

http://youtu.be/B7lqHSEzOlU

29-09-2013, 09:28 AM
Sheeeeite cover version of Passenger - Let Her Go.

By me. On holiday. Drunk, 40 fags a day, blootered.

http://youtu.be/B7lqHSEzOlU

Thread closed - nothing's going to top that.

29-09-2013, 09:41 AM
Thread closed - nothing's going to top that.

I'm naturally rough and husky but that performance took the p1ss. Sounded like I'd been chewing gravel. Fags and Spanish lager have a lot to answer for :fenlon

BarneyK
29-09-2013, 11:17 AM
Anything from Mark Lanegan's "I'll take care of you" album

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=MwQgMRxOYGQ

yeezus.
03-10-2013, 06:27 PM
A Day to Remember - Since you been gone

03-10-2013, 08:52 PM
A Day to Remember - Since you been gone

Are we talking Rainbow or Kelly Clarkson here?

yeezus.
03-10-2013, 09:53 PM
Are we talking Rainbow or Kelly Clarkson here?

Kelly Clarkson

03-10-2013, 10:38 PM
Kelly Clarkson

Good.

04-10-2013, 07:11 PM
That's easy......

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BlKIH3sp0X4

11-10-2013, 09:22 AM
Some good shouts in here and some terrible ones :greengrin

I've been listening to a band called Our Last Night quite a bit lately and they have some stellar covers of Skyfall (Adele), Radioactive (Imagine Dragons), Mirrors (Justin Timberlake).

There are so many outstanding covers out there, it's hard to know where to start! Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals version of The Verve's 'Drugs Don't Work' is beautiful and I loved Ray LaMontagne's version of Crazy (Gnarls Barkley).

A Day To Remember's Since You've Been Gone is a good shout. I also love The Ataris' version of Boys of Summer (Don Henley) but I wouldn't put it up there as one of the best.

25-01-2022, 06:22 PM
Some good shouts in here and some terrible ones :greengrin

I've been listening to a band called Our Last Night quite a bit lately and they have some stellar covers of Skyfall (Adele), Radioactive (Imagine Dragons), Mirrors (Justin Timberlake).

There are so many outstanding covers out there, it's hard to know where to start! Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals version of The Verve's 'Drugs Don't Work' is beautiful and I loved Ray LaMontagne's version of Crazy (Gnarls Barkley).

A Day To Remember's Since You've Been Gone is a good shout. I also love The Ataris' version of Boys of Summer (Don Henley) but I wouldn't put it up there as one of the best.

I only just heard this the other day and I vaguely recall someone mentioning it on here....turns out my memory's not that bad after all! Can't believe how good it is, miles better than the original.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qt6Lkgs0kiU

25-01-2022, 07:19 PM
Also this Chuck Woods Cover.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9yfZMEFt4j4

Tune

As is...

Kevin Rowland (Dexys Midnight Runners) - "Rag Doll" ...epic arrangement

https://youtu.be/2sIF2GC8S1M

patch1875
25-01-2022, 07:25 PM
Nirvana - MTV Unplugged

Jesus Doesn’t Want Me For A Sunbeam.

The Man Who Sold The World.

SON OF PADDY
25-01-2022, 08:50 PM
Sam & Dave's, I can't stand up for falling down.
Elvis Costello cover is fantastic. 👏🏻👏🏻

25-01-2022, 09:16 PM
Metallica "whisky in the jar" fantastic song given a heavier edge. Superb

MKHIBEE
25-01-2022, 09:53 PM
Stone the Crows covering Dylan’s Hollis Brown and Don’t think twice it’s alright are 2 excellent cover versions

27-01-2022, 02:06 PM
Jerry Garcia's live version of Dylan's Tangled up in Blue.

MagicSwirlingShip
27-01-2022, 03:02 PM
There’s a video on YouTube of John Cruz covering Dylan’s Jokerman.

Truly spellbinding

31-01-2022, 11:37 PM
https://youtu.be/OURvzB_ziiI
I’m not even sure it counts as a cover given the original artist is involved, but it’s ****in pretty good .

03-02-2022, 07:03 PM
Jack Savoretti does some great covers:

I Heard It On The Grapevine
Human
When You’re Gone

https://youtu.be/Bwmi44679iM

https://youtu.be/jFstTTtBnQw

https://youtu.be/wSfIiePpog0

Babyshamble
03-02-2022, 08:02 PM
https://youtu.be/FaG5a-2I6IY
Drew McConnell. Ex babyshambles.plays with Liam Gallagher now.excellent cover.

Babyshamble
03-02-2022, 08:04 PM
https://youtu.be/YZEpx_A-H7s
Noel gallagher to be someone the jam cover

MKHIBEE
20-02-2022, 06:55 PM
A cover of James Ray’s “If you gotta make a fool of somebody” by Joanne Shaw Taylor
I seen Freddie and the Dreamers perform this in Blackpool circa 1968. Still a great song

https://youtu.be/ApRRDia5PyU

24-02-2022, 10:15 AM
https://youtu.be/5YPAnDP-xQ8

Toxic by Local H

02-03-2022, 02:03 PM
Johnny Cash "Hurt"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AHCfZTRGiI

02-03-2022, 04:50 PM
The Lathums have a cover of Up The Junction on Spotify. Pretty good.

03-03-2022, 03:06 PM
Johnny Cash "Hurt"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AHCfZTRGiI

His version of U2's One is also a cracker.

03-03-2022, 05:29 PM
Johnny Cash "Hurt"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AHCfZTRGiIThat's the first time I've listened to that, totally brilliant and emotional.

03-03-2022, 06:14 PM
That's the first time I've listened to that, totally brilliant and emotional.Not usually a fan of "reaction videos" but the Trybals channel is well worth a watch. They have a post on The Man In Black's version of Hurt.

https://youtu.be/O-qlUBLKt_4

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

03-03-2022, 08:45 PM
https://youtu.be/YZEpx_A-H7s
Noel gallagher to be someone the jam cover

Always loved that one 👍

Ryan Adams covered the whole of Taylor Swift’s 1989 album and the difference is unreal. I tried to listen to the original out of some sort of duty and didn’t manage to complete it. Adams’ version is brilliant.

Kings of Leon - dancing on my own

Catfish and the bottlemen - read my mind

Green Man
04-03-2022, 04:42 PM
Always loved that one 👍

Ryan Adams covered the whole of Taylor Swift’s 1989 album and the difference is unreal. I tried to listen to the original out of some sort of duty and didn’t manage to complete it. Adams’ version is brilliant.

Kings of Leon - dancing on my own

Catfish and the bottlemen - read my mind

I remember hearing about Ryan Adams doing that but I’ve never listened to it. I’m a big fan of the original 1989 so it’ll be interesting to hear the difference.

04-03-2022, 05:00 PM
I remember hearing about Ryan Adams doing that but I’ve never listened to it. I’m a big fan of the original 1989 so it’ll be interesting to hear the difference.

It’s terrific mate. Although you may not be as keen if you’re already very into the original. Be interested to hear what you think.. very different sound, but Adams was clearly keen on her songwriting.