View Full Version : Shoplifting.........What would you do?
10-09-2013, 12:33 PM
If you see someone shoplifting would you do something about it?
Would you alert the shop assistant/store security, approach the shoplifter yourself or just turn a blind eye and let them get on with it?
Or does it depend on who is doing it, would you be more likely to turn a blind eye to an elderly person or a child as opposed to someone who looks like a drug user or someone who is well dressed and looks organised and is stealing large quantities.
brian6-2
10-09-2013, 01:16 PM
Would you alert the shop assistant/store security, approach the shoplifter yourself or just turn a blind eye and let them get on with it?
Or does it depend on who is doing it, would you be more likely to turn a blind eye to an elderly person or a child as opposed to someone who looks like a drug user or indeed a professional shoplifter?
Absolutely nothing. Its none of my business.
10-09-2013, 01:17 PM
For future reference, what do professional shoplifters look like SH?
brian6-2
10-09-2013, 01:35 PM
joggers and a maroon top with wonga on it.
10-09-2013, 01:44 PM
If they were wearing a yam or OF strips I'd drop them in it otherwise I wouldnae bother.
10-09-2013, 01:58 PM
:agree: A poor choice of words, if you work or have worked in retail or a law enforcement environment you would have been privvy to some shared intelligence which means you will know many of the professional gangs that operate in and around Scotland and indeed the UK. As you probably haven't my advice is just look for Hertz or West Ham attire and you've probably nailed it :greengrin
10-09-2013, 01:59 PM
But it does affect you.
brian6-2
10-09-2013, 02:00 PM
But it does affect you.
why? its no skin off my nose.
10-09-2013, 02:01 PM
Who do you think pays the price for the massive losses suffered by the retailers?
10-09-2013, 02:09 PM
It is your business as it's the paying customers who end up covering the cost of goods that are nicked.
I once pulled up kids (late teens) who were about to pockle stuff from a shelf in my local corner shop. I knew the owner quite well (a sound guy who worked all hours and would sometimes give me tick to save me going to the bank for cash or would often let me pay the following day for my paper to save me waiting in a queue) and reckoned he deserved better.
However, in a supermarket or other 'big' store I'm not sure I'd bother.
10-09-2013, 02:13 PM
There speaks a child of Thatcher. There is no such thing as society then?
brian6-2
10-09-2013, 02:23 PM
can you honestly say you feel the financial strains of this? like when you are maybe charged 0.1p more for your 6 pack of muller rice from tesco due to some jake shoplifting?
and i mean its no skin of my nose because i certainly wouldnt get involved, its one thing being a have a go hero to stop some tramp stealing or end up getting stabbed or worse from them when you do try to get involved.
All this shoplifting stuff was never off the telly a couple of years ago. The thing that's stuck in my mind was that it cost every one of us something like £800 a year in what was chorried plus the cost retailers spent to combat it.
That's a fair bit of skin off everyones nose :÷(
10-09-2013, 02:26 PM
can you honestly say you feel the financial strains of this? like when you are maybe charged 0.1p more for your 6 pack of muller rice from tesco due to some jake shoplifting?
and i mean its no skin of my nose because i certainly wouldnt get involved, its one thing being a have a go hero to stop some tramp stealing or end up getting stabbed or worse from them when you do try to get involved.
LONDON, UK, December, 3, 2012 - Retailers in the United Kingdom are expected to lose £1 billion over Christmas[1] as a result of shoplifting, dishonest employees and vendor or distribution losses, according to a new study released today by the Centre for Retail Research. The report, funded by an independent grant from Checkpoint Systems, suggests that the losses incurred by the retail industry over this period could add an extra £38.09 to each UK family’s shopping bill.
http://www.checkpointsystems.com/en-GB/About/press-releases/2012/Christmas_Study.aspx
brian6-2
10-09-2013, 02:29 PM
http://www.checkpointsystems.com/en-GB/About/press-releases/2012/Christmas_Study.aspx
im not denying thats a terrible figure, but do you personally feel a knock on effect from this? honestly?
10-09-2013, 02:32 PM
I remember getting in a scrap with a wee radge who shoplifting in my local shop a couple of years back.
His pockets were literally bursting with stuff and when the shopkeeper, a guy of at least 70, asked him to empty his pockets the wee prick, about 16/17, went to jump the counter and hit him. A few not so subtle threats from me and order was restored.
Rightly or wrongly, probably wrongly, i'd probably be far less inclined to get involved if it was in somewhere like Tesco or Asda.
10-09-2013, 02:37 PM
im not denying thats a terrible figure, but do you personally feel a knock on effect from this? honestly?
The cost of living is rising, of course individually you can't say you feel the effect from this however collectively with everything else that impacts of course people are feeling it.
brian6-2
10-09-2013, 02:41 PM
The cost of living is rising, of course individually you can't say you feel the effect from this however collectively with everything else that impacts of course people are feeling it.
well thats the point im making.
what were you looking for from this thread? to uncover any potential .net have a go hero's?
10-09-2013, 02:43 PM
I remember getting in a scrap with a wee radge who shoplifting in my local shop a couple of years back.
His pockets were literally bursting with stuff and when the shopkeeper, a guy of at least 70, asked him to empty his pockets the wee prick, about 16/17, went to jump the counter and hit him. A few not so subtle threats from me and order was restored.
Rightly or wrongly, probably wrongly, i'd probably be far less inclined to get involved if it was in somewhere like Tesco or Asda.
I spent several years as a store detective, even now I find myself watching folk's behaviour when I'm shopping and if it's a known face I just can't resist. Thankfully been away from it for that long that the known faces I see are few and far between although it's not surprising that some of the well known gangs are still on the go.
10-09-2013, 02:45 PM
what were you looking for from this thread? to uncover any potential .net have a go hero's?
OK, so if you see kids lobbing bricks at school windows - would that be any of your business?
10-09-2013, 02:47 PM
Of course not, interested in responses as it's a field I used to work in and I thought it would receive some interesting views which to me it has. Is that not what this board is for?
brian6-2
10-09-2013, 03:03 PM
OK, so if you see kids lobbing bricks at school windows - would that be any of your business?
hahaha look, dunno what your beef is mate, thats not what the threads about. im sorry the fact that i choose not to get involved if i see someone shoplifting upsets you, im sure the majority of people you ask would say exactly the same.
why dont you go down to tesco at the bottom of easter road, theres always plenty action there, you can stop the jakes in the act and fire all your facts and figures at them and how it directly has an effect on your bank balance and the way you live your life.
maybe fire into the army and navy store first for a stab proof vest though.......:wink:
10-09-2013, 03:06 PM
hahaha look, dunno what your beef is mate, thats not what the threads about. im sorry the fact that i choose not to get involved if i see someone shoplifting upsets you, im sure the majority of people you ask would say exactly the same.
why dont you go down to tesco at the bottom of easter road, theres always plenty action there, you can stop the jakes in the act and fire all your facts and figures at them and how it directly has an effect on your bank balance and the way you live your life.
maybe fire into the army and navy store first for a stab proof vest though.......:wink:
10-09-2013, 04:23 PM
I thought that was funny too!
I've got to be honest, if it wasnae for these scallys I doubt I'd have a Gillette Sensor razor, shops well overcharge compared to the thieving rodents.
10-09-2013, 04:24 PM
A couple of years back I was on the wrong end of an armed robbery and apart from a phone call from my area manager checking I was okay, seeing if I wanted time off and al that nothing much else happened apart from police checking in a couple of times a day to see if any further info had come up.
Three weeks later we caught someone shoplifting two bottles of coca cola. Four days letter I got a letter saying that if I had been affected by the crime of shoplifting then support groups were available.
A little off topic but I do have to say that I was a bit ****ing disturbed that I had to do with Pepsi Max for a few days :greengrin
10-09-2013, 04:35 PM
I doubt I would even notice.
10-09-2013, 04:37 PM
I've got to be honest, if it wasnae for these scallys I doubt I'd have a Gillette Sensor razor, shops well overcharge compared to the thieving rodents.I used to get offered all sorts of stuff but i'd rather do without.
10-09-2013, 04:45 PM
Used to shop a lot at the Co-op in Leith and there were always gadgies in there chorrying stuff. It never occurred to me to tell the security staff.
10-09-2013, 05:42 PM
:agree: A poor choice of words, if you work or have worked in retail or a law enforcement environment you would have been privvy to some shared intelligence which means you will know many of the professional gangs that operate in and around Scotland and indeed the UK. As you probably haven't my advice is just look for Hertz or West Ham attire and you've probably nailed it :greengrin
Drylaw shoplifting gang = yams. :wink:
10-09-2013, 05:48 PM
Thieves are lowlife, no matter how you dress it up. There is no such thing as victimless crime. Someone who steals has made a conscious decision to deprive someone else of something they own.
That said I'd probably ask them to rethink their intentions and base any further action depending on their response.
10-09-2013, 05:50 PM
I've got to be honest, if it wasnae for these scallys I doubt I'd have a Gillette Sensor razor, shops well overcharge compared to the thieving rodents.
:agree: :greengrin
Also handy for dvds and cds at xmas time. :greengrin
10-09-2013, 05:56 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-11571022
theft adds about £180 to the average family's annual shopping bill.
10-09-2013, 05:57 PM
In that case, execute them...
10-09-2013, 06:04 PM
It seems we have more to worry about with thieving staff than anything else.
10-09-2013, 07:04 PM
Or does it depend on who is doing it, would you be more likely to turn a blind eye to an elderly person or a child as opposed to someone who looks like a drug user or someone who is well dressed and looks organised and is stealing large quantities.
Generally I would ignore it for a variety of reasons. Partly because it's hassle I don't need, partly because I've worked in a supermarket and nothing much is done about shoptlifters, and partly because I've been in the situation where a customer told me someone had stolen something and it was difficult to do anything as I hadn't seen it and it would've been one word against another (I can't remember the camera's showed anything being stolen but by then it was gone).
I saw some jakey looking guy steal tartan scarfs from one of those shops on the royal mile, didn't do anything about it. He was clearly a full-time thief as he put them in a carrier bag which was stuffed up his jumper.
Stopped a guy robbing a charity shop of clothes here in London, didn't do more than suggest he leave the shop as he was pretty much on his @rse anyway, no way I would have felt ok about getting him nicked. Maybe wrong but just how I felt at the time
10-09-2013, 09:09 PM
Absolutely hate thieves, regardless of whether it's a little village store or a massive chain.
They should do what everyone else has to do and save up for whatever it is they want.
Going out and getting a job would be a start.
If I saw someone who was obviously shoplifting, I wouldn't challenge the person directly as you never know what these sort of people have on them but I would certainly alert the shopkeeper/security.
HibeeEmma
11-09-2013, 09:04 AM
Ideally I'd like to think that I'd inform security or employee but in reality you don't know someones background or what their personal circumstances are so I would probably just leave it.
This isn't making excuses or saying it's acceptable and the culprit deserves the consequences but I don't feel it's my place to step in.
11-09-2013, 09:51 AM
Depends on the person. If it was Wynona Ryder who was shoplifting I'd certainly "discipline" her :greengrin
What about some sympathy for those poor jakeballs with their affliction http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kleptomania :devil:
11-09-2013, 11:45 AM
As someone has mentioned take a trip to leith tesco, ive seem some belting caught in the act's there.
Not sure if the guy still works there but there was a security boy who was massive, like him that died from the green mile, any way some wee scrote trying to rob some cans of super and this security guy challanged him he tried to kick the baskets at him and bolt but the security guard got hold of him and whist flinging him to the ground nailed the boy off the wall before sitting on him till polica came.
Funniest one was I was sitting in the motor while the missus ran in for some things. I seen a guy pelting out the shop arms full before slipping when trying turn and run and basically KO'd himself. the secuirty guys were pishing themselves as they waitedo n the police :faf:
on topic I dont condone theft...........................but last night I found some very nice HD tv's in the street, PM if interested :greengrin
11-09-2013, 05:20 PM
As someone who works in this area i would step in and confront them but only if they leave the store as its not actually theft until they leave, they could have ten jumpers in a bag and no intention of laying but it isnt theft until they leave, then the fun starts
12-09-2013, 10:44 AM
I saw a guy put two bottles of champagne in his overcoat and then picked up a bottle of wine and off he went to pay for the wine. I was with my 3yr old daughter at the time so never said anything in case he kicked off but as I witnessed a crime felt I had to report it so let the staff know when he walked out the door but they never did anything about it. I do not think I would challenge them personally but would make staff aware.
Woody70x2
12-09-2013, 01:43 PM
I was recently parked outside Greggs at the bottom of Leith Walk having just got a coffee. Then I watched a 'from top to bottom grey jogger junkie' (clearly out his face on downers or methadone) try the door of the car in front. Surprise surprise the door was open and he was in it and rifling through the glove box. 1 minute later he closed the door and put on his newly acquired Rayban aviator sunglasses.
My options were 1) challenge him - which I didn't, 2) call the Police - would have been too late, and 3) if I did I was not prepared to spend a day in court pointing him out.
Moral of the story - make sure you lock your doors!
The car was one of those Chrysler 300's - the ones that look like Bentleys. Apologies if it was someone's on here.
I was recently parked outside Greggs at the bottom of Leith Walk having just got a coffee. Then I watched a 'from top to bottom grey jogger junkie' (clearly out his face on downers or methadone) try the door of the car in front. Surprise surprise the door was open and he was in it and rifling through the glove box. 1 minute later he closed the door and put on his newly acquired Rayban aviator sunglasses.
My options were 1) challenge him - which I didn't, 2) call the Police - would have been too late, and 3) if I did I was not prepared to spend a day in court pointing him out.
The car was one of those Chrysler 300's - the ones that look like Bentleys. Apologies if it was someone's on here.
If option one meant challenge him physically then you might end up taking a blade or syringe out of your body
It's sad but true that life is becoming increasingly worthless in the eyes of some.
13-09-2013, 04:46 PM
If option one meant challenge him physically then you might end up taking a blade or syringe out of your body
It's sad but true that life is becoming increasingly worthless in the eyes of some.
It's civil courage that's losing its value, life has always been worthless to some.
13-09-2013, 07:19 PM
Poor show, you could at least tell the owner. The poor person will be driving themselves nuts wondering where they've put their sunglasses :greengrin
16-09-2013, 05:23 PM
I chased and caught a little scort (20-25)trying to break into my neighbors house. I would not normally get involved but I was incensed by his actions. But I would not intervene in a shoplifting offense. Poverty breeds crime and its that we need to tackle
16-09-2013, 07:00 PM
I chased and caught a little scort (20-25)trying to break into my neighbors house. I would not normally get involved but I was incensed by his actions. But I would not intervene in a shoplifting offense. Poverty breeds crime and its that we need to tackle
Seriously ? I would like to see the figures on who shoplifts. I would bet Junkie welts far outnumber the genuinely poor.
16-09-2013, 08:45 PM
I would tend to agree.
17-09-2013, 04:54 AM
Seriously ? I would like to see the figures on who shoplifts. I would bet Junkie welts far outnumber the genuinely poor.
So junkies aren't poor? It's yet another social problem which needs addressed. Ive no doubt people steal for a variety of reasons but poverty always leads to an increase in crime
21-09-2013, 07:51 AM
Who do you think pays the price for the massive losses suffered by the retailers?
If shop lifting stopped tomorrow would the prices come down
21-09-2013, 10:49 AM
Maybe not, but due to competition they'd be slower to rise.
21-09-2013, 11:32 AM
Absolutely hate thieves, regardless of whether it's a little village store or a massive chain.
They should do what everyone else has to do and save up for whatever it is they want.
Going out and getting a job would be a start.
If I saw someone who was obviously shoplifting, I wouldn't challenge the person directly as you never know what these sort of people have on them but I would certainly alert the shopkeeper/security.
While I empathise with your opinion in general, your suggestion that people without a a job are likely to be shoplifters is something you ought to perhaps reconsider. Think you will find that thievery is not something restricted to people with no or low income ... e.g. during the recent riots in England, people from wealthy backgrounds were also caught stealing in a more aggressive form of shoplifting ... As to the OP, I'd report it to a member of staff myself if I saw something being stolen; not sure I'd confront the person in question for reasons already stated elsewhere ...
22-09-2013, 09:50 AM
I can't see that happening can you?
Unless of course the millions of pounds already spent on trying to deter shoplifters and the millions already incurred in losses were to miraculously reappear in retailers bank accounts!
brian6-2
22-09-2013, 10:58 AM
I can't see that happening can you?
Unless of course the millions of pounds already spent on trying to deter shoplifters and the millions already incurred in losses were to miraculously reappear in retailers bank accounts!
What do you make of folk that stream football matches or say, download music illeagally, Scouse?
And out of curiosity have you ever at anypoint bought any kind of knocked off goods?
Not having a go mate, just wanting your thoughts on that kind of thing as it all falls under the same bracket no?
22-09-2013, 11:25 AM
What do you make of folk that stream football matches or say, download music illeagally, Scouse?
And out of curiosity have you ever at anypoint bought any kind of knocked off goods?
Not having a go mate, just wanting your thoughts on that kind of thing as it all falls under the same bracket no?
Just so you know, my OP wasn't an attempt to to check the morals/honesty of posters on.net far from it!
It was just to create some interest in a topic that I used to be involved in as I have already mentioned in another post. To answer your questions:
I have to my knowledge never bought any knocked off goods, as for illegal streaming or downloading, I personally have never done either though I have watched streamed football and listened to downloaded music :wink:
brian6-2
22-09-2013, 11:29 AM
Just so you know, my OP wasn't an attempt to to check the morals/honesty of posters on.net far from it!
It was just to create some interest in a topic that I used to be involved in as I have already mentioned in another post. To answer your questions:
I have to my knowledge never bought any knocked off goods, as for illegal streaming or downloading, I personally have never done either though I have watched streamed football and listened to downloaded music :wink:
ok mate cool, would be interesting to hear the views of the people on the thread dead against it.
i admire your honesty sir :thumbsup::wink:
22-09-2013, 02:29 PM
I do think there's a difference between taking something from someone (e.g. stealing a physical item) and making an illegal copy of something (e.g. downloading music, streaming etc.) particularly if you wouldn't buy a legitimate copy anyway.
22-09-2013, 03:39 PM
I do think there's a difference between taking something from someone (e.g. stealing a physical item) and making an illegal copy of something (e.g. downloading music, streaming etc.) particularly if you wouldn't buy a legitimate copy anyway.
What's the difference? You're using somebody elses product without paying.
22-09-2013, 04:38 PM
You can't be charged with theft that's the difference :greengrin
22-09-2013, 07:36 PM
While I empathise with your opinion in general, your suggestion that people without a a job are likely to be shoplifters is something you ought to perhaps reconsider. Think you will find that thievery is not something restricted to people with no or low income ... e.g. during the recent riots in England, people from wealthy backgrounds were also caught stealing in a more aggressive form of shoplifting ... As to the OP, I'd report it to a member of staff myself if I saw something being stolen; not sure I'd confront the person in question for reasons already stated elsewhere ...
No need to reconsider.
I have never once said, nor did I even suggest, that people without a job are likely to be shoplifters. I said that shoplifters are often likely to be without a job.
There is a difference there.
I was without a proper job for quite a while until about 18 months ago and I never once considered shoplifting or stealing in any way, shape or form and I'm sure there's many unemployed people today with exactly the same outlook.
You mention that thievery is not restricted to people with no or low income. Whilst I obviously can't dispute that, I think it's fair to say that most people who can afford to pay for things, through the salary that they earn from their job, generally don't go out and steal those items.
Most people who steal things do so because they choose not to earn an honest living and would rather go out and steal from other people, instead of saving up for it like most of us need to do.
HKhibby
23-09-2013, 02:34 AM
Why West Ham?....i would go along the kines of Liverpool far more than west ham!, having lived next door to west ham nothing wrong with them there but Liverpool?...totally different ball game...mostly rubbish from there!, and having been a store detective in London in Oxford Street, could pin point the ones out to you right away!
HKhibby
23-09-2013, 02:37 AM
But it does affect you.
Absolutely right...it affect everyone, thats why prices go up and up together with other reasons
HKhibby
23-09-2013, 02:50 AM
Because they are such big capitalist businesses!...who thieve from the poor etc..etc...oh please come out of that little Scotland socialist mentality!
23-09-2013, 05:46 AM
Because they are such big capitalist businesses!...who thieve from the poor etc..etc...oh please come out of that little Scotland socialist mentality!
Who said anything about that? Maybe it comes more naturally to stick up for someone you know and interact with a few times per week than some faceless entity.
23-09-2013, 06:51 AM
Why West Ham?....i would go along the kines of Liverpool far more than west ham!, having lived next door to west ham nothing wrong with them there but Liverpool?...totally different ball game...mostly rubbish from there!, and having been a store detective in London in Oxford Street, could pin point the ones out to you right away!
23-09-2013, 07:01 AM
No need to reconsider.
I have never once said, nor did I even suggest, that people without a job are likely to be shoplifters. I said that shoplifters are often likely to be without a job.
I was without a proper job for quite a while until about 18 months ago and I never once considered shoplifting or stealing in any way, shape or form and I'm sure there's many unemployed people today with exactly the same outlook.
You mention that thievery is not restricted to people with no or low income. Whilst I obviously can't dispute that, I think it's fair to say that most people who can afford to pay for things, through the salary that they earn from their job, generally don't go out and steal those items.
Most people who steal things do so because they choose not to earn an honest living and would rather go out and steal from other people, instead of saving up for it like most of us need to do.
I think you'll find that for many it's a lifestyle choice. You can't go out on the rob if you've got a 9 to 5 job.
23-09-2013, 11:06 AM
No need to reconsider.
Most people who steal things do so because they choose not to earn an honest living and would rather go out and steal from other people, instead of saving up for it like most of us need to do.So how come the vast majority of stolen goods are taken by staff?
23-09-2013, 11:54 AM
One you are taking something from someone (causing them a loss), the other you are copying something without causing any cost or loss to the entity you've stolen from (assuming you wouldn't buy the product otherwise).
Not saying it makes it right or that it's not theft. Just saying there's a moral difference.
23-09-2013, 12:06 PM
One you are taking something from someone (causing them a loss), the other you are copying something without causing any cost or loss to the entity you've stolen from (assuming you wouldn't buy the product otherwise).
Not saying it makes it right or that it's not theft. Just saying there's a moral difference.In the case of a book or a film it must be the same as going into a shop and lifting a copy, I get that you're not stealing an actual object but actors and authors still have to paid.
23-09-2013, 12:44 PM
I found dealing with shoplifters to be fascinating at times and really decent life experience.
I have spent many hours dealing with people from all walks of life, from homeless, those dependant on substances,to bank managers and people who held responsible positions in many organisations, every one of them with a different story to tell about how and why they turned to shoplifting. During those many hours waiting for Police etc I often felt like a social worker listening to their life stories. The experience gained has been invaluable as I have moved through life.
23-09-2013, 05:05 PM
In the case of a book or a film it must be the same as going into a shop and lifting a copy, I get that you're not stealing an actual object but actors and authors still have to paid.
How?
Say I want to watch Braveheart and have no intention of buying it. If I go into a shop and take it then someone has to pay to replace it, if I watch it online then nobody loses anything.
23-09-2013, 06:07 PM
How?
Say I want to watch Braveheart and have no intention of buying it. If I go into a shop and take it then someone has to pay to replace it, if I watch it online then nobody loses anything.
I suppose it's more like sneaking into the fitba, the club doesn't physically lose anything other than revenue.
23-09-2013, 06:42 PM
How?
Wait until it comes on the telly then it's been paid for and industry keeps going. Film industry, like any other, needs money coming in to survive.
23-09-2013, 06:59 PM
Wait until it comes on the telly then it's been paid for and industry keeps going. Film industry, like any other, needs money coming in to survive.
I think you're missing the point I was making. Do you see why it's different?
(and I don't think watching online or waiting for it on the telly makes any difference as it's paid for regardless)
23-09-2013, 07:27 PM
I think you're missing the point I was making. Do you see why it's different?
(and I don't think watching online or waiting for it on the telly makes any difference as it's paid for regardless)So are these guys robbing banks via computer just the same as those downloading stuff without paying for it? The end result is the same.
23-09-2013, 07:38 PM
So are these guys robbing banks via computer just the same as those downloading stuff without paying for it? The end result is the same.
No. And no it isn't.
23-09-2013, 11:34 PM
You really are beyond parody.
Pathetic.
22-10-2013, 10:13 AM
The channel 5 programme last night on shoplifters :faf: the Stockport "Queen" of shoplifters, what a disgusting mess she was, proud of how prolific she was despite the fact that she had over 300 convictions which meant she is ****** useless at it.
23-10-2013, 09:54 AM
The channel 5 programme last night on shoplifters :faf: the Stockport "Queen" of shoplifters, what a disgusting mess she was, proud of how prolific she was despite the fact that she had over 300 convictions which meant she is ****** useless at it.
It was the old junkie from Sunderland that had nearly 300 convictions combined with her partners total.
23-10-2013, 10:30 AM
The lot of them should have been arrested for crimes against fashion never mind shoplifting, far from organised shoplifting more like some drug addicts that aren't very good at stealing.
23-10-2013, 10:48 AM
The lot of them should have been arrested for crimes against fashion never mind shoplifting, far from organised shoplifting more like some drug addicts that aren't very good at stealing.
I've heard the 'real' shoplifters love the desperado junkie type as they get all the attention leaving them to get on with the serious work.
(((Fergus)))
23-10-2013, 12:19 PM
How?
You are using someone else's work to fulfil your need/desire. Unless they have explicitly placed that work in the public domain, you are in their debt.
23-10-2013, 06:18 PM
I've heard the 'real' shoplifters love the desperado junkie type as they get all the attention leaving them to get on with the serious work.
Yeah, there no daft are the organised shoplifters, some of them don't even have convictions for the lengthy time they have been at it.
And are staying in a nice bought house with flash car, and obviously a car for work, it really is just a job to them that pay's for the bills.
23-10-2013, 06:43 PM
Yeah, there no daft are the organised shoplifters, some of them don't even have convictions for the lengthy time they have been at it.
And are staying in a nice bought house with flash car, and obviously a car for work, it really is just a job to them that pay's for the bills.
Hmmmmmmmmm done well out of it then have you! :wink:
23-10-2013, 10:49 PM
You are using someone else's work to fulfil your need/desire. Unless they have explicitly placed that work in the public domain, you are in their debt.
I just meant there's a difference between taking something and copying something.
One is replacement cost plus potential lost revenue, the other is only potential lost revenue.
24-10-2013, 11:40 AM
It was the old junkie from Sunderland that had nearly 300 convictions combined with her partners total.
They should have had their haunds chapped aff before now!
24-10-2013, 12:11 PM
I just meant there's a difference between taking something and copying something.
One is replacement cost plus potential lost revenue, the other is only potential lost revenue.
There's also a good argument that it isn't lost potential revenue. If you couldn't watch it for nowt you wouldn't bother.
I've heard it mentioned, no idea of the back up, that those who watch/download stuff for free are generally amongst those who have also actually paid more than most for properly downloading.
I think these days when you can consume so much by so many different ways that people who do it most will use a broad range of resources, both free and paid.
I've downloaded free stuff just because I can and there's no danger I would have bothered to pay for it. Often if I've liked it I'll go and pay for something else by them or related. I've also paid for albums I'm not really that interested in just to support their attempts to do something if I like their story.
24-10-2013, 12:27 PM
Hmmmmmmmmm done well out of it then have you! :wink:
Nope.