View Full Version : Scottish Tories Call to Change the Alcohol at Football Rules

WestEndHibee
07-09-2013, 09:59 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-23993362

Not usually a fan of Tory policy but this might have legs. If managed well then this could help the match day experience.

Sanger
07-09-2013, 10:02 AM

Not usually a fan of Tory policy but this might have legs. If managed well then this could help the match day experience.
Yes allow a half pint of non-alcoholic beer per person! Lavazza coffee would be nice as well!

hibby rae
07-09-2013, 10:04 AM
I think this is the desperate Scottish tories saying anything to try and win votes here.

yeezus.
07-09-2013, 10:06 AM
I think this is the desperate Scottish tories saying anything to try and win votes here.

:agree: I'm against it. Scots don't do sensible drinking at football.

07-09-2013, 10:07 AM
It works ok in England. Why wouldn't it work here? Are we really that much worse when it comes to alcohol and behaviour?

07-09-2013, 10:10 AM
There's no reason why it wouldn't work here, it works fine in England.

07-09-2013, 10:12 AM
It works ok in England. Why wouldn't it work here? Are we really that much worse when it comes to alcohol and behaviour?

Tend to agree. I think the German-style 'take a beer to your seat' would probably be a bad idea (in Scotland or England) with British drinking habits, but the rule that you can't take alcohol within sight of the pitch means that if you want to get leathered, you won't see the game.

Actually, I imagine that option would prove popular at ER just now.

07-09-2013, 10:15 AM
Tend to agree. I think the German-style 'take a beer to your seat' would probably be a bad idea (in Scotland or England) with British drinking habits, but the rule that you can't take alcohol within sight of the pitch means that if you want to get leathered, you won't see the game.

Actually, I imagine that option would prove popular at ER just now.

Can you imagine the queues at the bars at Easter Road?

Actually, I've just worked out what Rod's Five Year Plan is. He's a genius!

hibby rae
07-09-2013, 10:16 AM

It's been discussed on here before ( especially after the Falkirk semi) and I agree that going 90mins without a pint shouldn't be a struggle. Personally I don't really bother going to the pub before the match but did have a beer or two at a German game but you're right, it's different in Scotland.

07-09-2013, 10:21 AM
It's been discussed on here before ( especially after the Falkirk semi) and I agree that going 90mins without a pint shouldn't be a struggle. Personally I don't really bother going to the pub before the match but did have a beer or two at a German game but you're right, it's different in Scotland.

I tend to agree. For a lot of football fans in Scotland, it's almost as if the football is secondary to the drinking.

Witness how many people turn up at the turnstyles at the last minute, mostly so they can get a few more beers before the game. In Germany and Austria, for instance, the fans are ALL in the ground before the game has started. The football is the thing, not the boozing.

I once turned up a bit late for an Austria v Netherlands match in Vienna and thought I was going to have a nightmare of a time getting in. I arrived exactly at kick off time and, to my surprise, there were exactly two people 'queueing' to get in, including myself. The crowd was over 40,000 and the rest were long since in their seats.

Corstorphine Hibby
07-09-2013, 10:22 AM

A political party trying to win votes ? What a shocker.

07-09-2013, 10:24 AM
From going to Everton games, I know they serve beer in the concourse from 2pm-3pm, and at half time, and you can't take it to your seat. You can't get a drink while the match is on. Works just fine. We arrive at the stadium around 2.45 to have a beer, then another one at half time.
We're normally in a group so is a bonus for the socialising part.
One thing I will say tho, is its well organised. Beers poured in time for half time, plenty staff on that actually try and serve you quickly and efficiently. Couldn't see that catching on at ER

07-09-2013, 10:33 AM
It's a great idea and I don't see why certain sections of the ground can't have a beer at their seats.

07-09-2013, 10:33 AM

No one's saying it's a struggle, they're saying it's unfair and unnecessary. If it can be done in England then to say it's not possible here is not convincing at all, it's also insulting.

The games here are largely not very good, they're also expensive, if there's a way of making football more attractive then it should be done, treating grown ups like grown ups is a good start.

07-09-2013, 10:43 AM
No one's saying it's a struggle, they're saying it's unfair and unnecessary. If it can be done in England then to say it's not possible here is not convincing at all, it's also insulting.

The games here are largely not very good, they're also expensive, if there's a way of making football more attractive then it should be done, treating grown ups like grown ups is a good start.

Just out of interest, how does serving Beer inside the stadium make football more attractive?

It's not that I'm diametrically opposed to doing so, just intrigued by your statement.

WestEndHibee
07-09-2013, 10:49 AM
Just out of interest, how does serving Beer inside the stadium make football more attractive?

It's not that I'm diametrically opposed to doing so, just intrigued by your statement.

Beer goggles, works for the opposite sex as it does for football :greengrin.

seriously though I think it'll make the idea of going to the game more attractive rather than the football itself

07-09-2013, 10:52 AM

Most people enjoy drinking, if they can have a drink at half time with the people they go to the game with then they're going to be pleased about it. I'm not saying that it will, in itself, make people want to go to games. What I'm saying is the overall experience will be improved and improving the experience of games here should definitely be welcomed.

07-09-2013, 10:54 AM
From going to Everton games, I know they serve beer in the concourse from 2pm-3pm, and at half time, and you can't take it to your seat. You can't get a drink while the match is on. Works just fine. We arrive at the stadium around 2.45 to have a beer, then another one at half time.
One thing I will say tho, is its well organised. Beers poured in time for half time, plenty staff on that actually try and serve you quickly and efficiently. Couldn't see that catching on at ER

I go to Goodison now and again and though drink is served I cant say I've seen anybody blootered, though I dare say it happens.

hibby rae
07-09-2013, 10:55 AM

I think you'd agree not all grown ups can behave as such once they've had a drink. Only takes a small number to create a lot of trouble and ruin it for the majority.

On another note I imagine any beer on offer would be overpriced p!ss water.

07-09-2013, 11:01 AM
Most people enjoy drinking, if they can have a drink at half time with the people they go to the game with then they're going to be pleased about it. I'm not saying that it will, in itself, make people want to go to games. What I'm saying is the overall experience will be improved and improving the experience of games here should definitely be welcomed.

Tend to agree.

A lot of small individual thing, in isolation, may not attract people back.

However there may well be a cumulative effect of keeping people there if several elements are right. The football, atmosphere, proper family section, decent catering, a pint or 2 if you want it etc.

Looking at that list i'm not sure how many Hibs are suceeding in at the moment.

07-09-2013, 11:07 AM
As usual, the article is misleading. The ban on alcohol in grounds in Scotland was NEVER to do with the sale of alcohol, it was the consuming of alcohol. When the ban was brought in it was because the fans of ugly sisters of weegie disgraced themselves at a Scottish Cup Final. Up to that point alcohol was not sold in football grounds, but there was a culture of taking booze into grounds.

07-09-2013, 11:09 AM
German teams can decide to sell alcohol free beer to some visiting teams. Unfortunately for Frankfurt they are often on that list due to the number of "risikospiel" that they have.

That'd be a given for Rolf Harris FC and when the Gruesome twosome from the weedge come to the capital.

07-09-2013, 11:19 AM
:agree: I'm against it. Scots don't do sensible drinking at football.Anybody who is pished at the fitba must have gotten themselves in tae that state before the game, the amount able tae be consumed in the time spent inside the ground would make little difference tae that. If you can get pished on what you can consume during time spent at a game you'd maybe be better off no drinking at all.

Personally it disnae bother me, I can last 90 mins without a drink. I'd rather watch the game than spend time in a queue for beer (though queuing might be better than watching what's on offer at the moment :rolleyes: ) . The reason I'd like tae see it lifted is because I'd like tae see fitba supporters treated as others are instead of like criminals before they have done anything. Why should the majority be treated like that because of the behaviour of a minority. People who are that drunk shouldnae even get in tae the ground and that's the job of the police and stewards.

07-09-2013, 11:43 AM
Anybody who is pished at the fitba must have gotten themselves in tae that state before the game, the amount able tae be consumed in the time spent inside the ground would make little difference tae that. If you can get pished on what you can consume during time spent at a game you'd maybe be better off no drinking at all.

Personally it disnae bother me, I can last 90 mins without a drink. I'd rather watch the game than spend time in a queue for beer (though queuing might be better than watching what's on offer at the moment :rolleyes: ) . The reason I'd like tae see it lifted is because I'd like tae see fitba supporters treated as others are instead of like criminals before they have done anything. Why should the majority be treated like that because of the behaviour of a minority. People who are that drunk shouldnae even get in tae the ground and that's the job of the police and stewards.

I agree with this 100% but I was to lazy to type that much. Thanks.

07-09-2013, 11:54 AM
About time, we're adults and if the toffs at the rugby can be trusted with a pint (and they're no better than us) then so should we. Why should we be punished these days for actions of those 30-odd years ago?

Police Scotland will more than likely have the last word so I'm no getting my hopes up. Their selective policing in this country is a joke and it's one rule for football fans and another rule for the rest of the population and I'm not just talking about drinking at games either.

07-09-2013, 12:12 PM
About time, we're adults and if the toffs at the rugby can be trusted with a pint (and they're no better than us) then so should we. Why should we be punished these days for actions of those 30-odd years ago?

Police Scotland will more than likely have the last word so I'm no getting my hopes up. Their selective policing in this country is a joke and it's one rule for football fans and another rule for the rest of the population and I'm not just talking about drinking at games either.

Police Scotland are there to enforce the law not write it.

07-09-2013, 12:29 PM

Not usually a fan of Tory policy but this might have legs. If managed well then this could help the match day experience. ah, the Scottish tory party, friend of the common man. not read it yet but assume the polis would shout it down for a start.

hibbeedavid
07-09-2013, 12:59 PM
The police are totally against it but I really don't see why, as a previous poster stated anyone likely to be totally bladdered will have got themselves into that state well before they got into the stadium,

Discussed this issue with a mate of mine who is a policeman and he used the increased likelihood of violence argument but I argued back that there are plenty of games which are considered so low risk that there is no police present in the stadium and I don't see how a couple of (overpriced no doubt) pints in a football ground would cause major riots between 2 clubs with no issues/rivalry

07-09-2013, 01:01 PM

:na na::rolleyes:

07-09-2013, 01:04 PM

" if the toffs at the rugby"
In case you didn't know it is 2013
COME into the real world . I am off to watch my g'son play this afternoon and only three of the twenty players went to fee paying schools

07-09-2013, 01:05 PM

Not just at the football. The night out experience up town grips my ****. You're treated like a piece of **** from the off. First you have to navigate your way round some huddy at the door, then you're expected to pay for every individual drink you order after standing in a queue and only being served at the bar staff's discretion whilst having your every move recorded by CCTV. Not my idea of fun but hey ho each to his own.

07-09-2013, 01:12 PM
It shouldn't be a problem at all, lets be honest how many of us would buy a drink at easter road? The bloody pies are over priced, imagine what a pint would cost?

07-09-2013, 02:47 PM
The police are totally against it but I really don't see why, as a previous poster stated anyone likely to be totally bladdered will have got themselves into that state well before they got into the stadium

In which case they should be refused entry. There is no harm in having a couple of drinks at the stadium, and if (OK, I know .... ) the quality and price were reasonable then it would encourage fans to arrive at the grounds earlier instead of everyone piling out of the pubs with five minutes to kick off.

Biggest losers would be the local pubs.

07-09-2013, 03:19 PM

Nah, I'm not having that. I'm sure it's more the Beer Googles effect :wink:

07-09-2013, 03:28 PM
I think it's a great idea.

Another reason to leave the game early at half time. :aok:

07-09-2013, 04:23 PM
Anybody who is pished at the fitba must have gotten themselves in tae that state before the game, the amount able tae be consumed in the time spent inside the ground would make little difference tae that. If you can get pished on what you can consume during time spent at a game you'd maybe be better off no drinking at all.

I'd like to see it introduced although I'm not sure I would personally be bothered about paying £6 for a pint a watered down Tennets or whatever would be on offer. I think the first bit in bold is key for me. Although I've not seen it often at ER, the last couple of trips to Hampden I've been near big groups of young lads who've all had one too many and not spoilt the game exactly, but made it a bit more uncomfortable for the folk around them.

If we're going to serve booze at any game there needs to be a bit more careful screening of the folk trying to get into the ground to make sure their not already in a bad state.

07-09-2013, 05:50 PM
At the Reebok you can buy drink from when the turnstiles open at 2 until the end of half time, including during the first half. I know a good few who never actually go their seats and just watch the game on the TV's downstairs with their beer. Wouldn't go that far myself but a pint at half time at ER would be good, and might also do a good job of limiting the rush to the turnstiles at 2.55pm.

Forthview
07-09-2013, 06:24 PM
In Old Trafford you can buy beer and cider in a plastic bottle and drink it on the concorse, along with one of their chicken balti pies it's the dogs. They have stewards hanging around keeping an eye on the area. It must be easy to organise up here.

yeezus.
07-09-2013, 07:43 PM
Not just at the football. The night out experience up town grips my ****. You're treated like a piece of **** from the off. First you have to navigate your way round some huddy at the door, then you're expected to pay for every individual drink you order after standing in a queue and only being served at the bar staff's discretion whilst having your every move recorded by CCTV. Not my idea of fun but hey ho each to his own.

:agree: Nights out are awful in cities - I used to get refused entry all the time in Aberdeen. Must have been because of my ***** patter.

07-09-2013, 10:34 PM
As usual, the article is misleading. The ban on alcohol in grounds in Scotland was NEVER to do with the sale of alcohol, it was the consuming of alcohol. When the ban was brought in it was because the fans of ugly sisters of weegie disgraced themselves at a Scottish Cup Final. Up to that point alcohol was not sold in football grounds, but there was a culture of taking booze into grounds.correct. but slightly off track, is it not a local bye-law in Edin. to prevent street drinking? I pass by the abbeyhill area on my way to ER, a lot. anytime the OF were through, the steps of the colonies areas are littered wi' weegies, and bucky bottles by the score. never seen the polis hounding them, like their Strathclyde counterparts hound us!

07-09-2013, 10:38 PM
correct. but slightly off track, is it not a local bye-law in Edin. to prevent street drinking? I pass by the abbeyhill area on my way to ER, a lot. anytime the OF were through, the steps of the colonies areas are littered wi' weegies, and bucky bottles by the score. never seen the polis hounding them, like their Strathclyde counterparts hound us!
I'm sure I won't be the only one to admit this, but on more than one occasion I've been drinking bottles of beer (from the shop opposite the Nip) on Easter Road on a derby day with the pubs too packed to get in to.

07-09-2013, 10:55 PM
correct. but slightly off track, is it not a local bye-law in Edin. to prevent street drinking? I pass by the abbeyhill area on my way to ER, a lot. anytime the OF were through, the steps of the colonies areas are littered wi' weegies, and bucky bottles by the score. never seen the polis hounding them, like their Strathclyde counterparts hound us!

Pretty sure there's no Edinburgh by-law prohibiting public drinking, unlike in Glasgow where there is. Hence the hounding...

Russ
08-09-2013, 12:09 AM
yes

08-09-2013, 12:20 AM
The way Hibs are playing right now they should have bars open throughout the 90 minutes - it might make the football on display more palatable.

On the other side of things, I quite like the idea of a break in the drinking on a Saturday. A couple before the game is good, but some people like to get really slammed and go into the ground shouting the odds, only to slump like big, fat, stuffed, soft toys at half-time, as the alcohol leaves their system. I can see why they might want a top up, but it's great for the rest of us that they remain silent, then wander off grumbling and growling to the pub with about twenty minutes to go.

08-09-2013, 07:27 AM

:top marksI go to English footy a lot, usually have one or 2 before the game. If I'm at Brighton have a couple after to let queues for trains go down but that's it. It's not the most pleasurable drinking but it should be our choice. Can't believe people on here saying we, Scots, can't be trusted re sensible drinking. Seems Scots rugby fans can, Scots attending concerts can, even Scots going to the cinema can. The discrimination re football is ridiculous.
Also glad to see the myth demolished that somehow there were bars in grounds pre 1980. IIRC only Clydebank had a bar & that was built into their stand/social club. The problem was with people taking drink into the ground though I remember a certain game in early 1973 when our extensive carry out had happily been demolished long before h/t!

08-09-2013, 08:16 AM
Just read the article in SOS. It appears to me that there has been no thought put into this proposal.

I think before altering the law, you need to look at why it was introduced in the first place, and what has changed in the last 30 years.

If you can show that there is no need for the law now, then you can propose change.

What we have is lightweight comment from people who seem to think that alcohol was on sale at grounds before 1981. It wasn't, people took carry outs.

Then we have the comparisons with Rugby. Alcohol was never banned there, because there was no history of crowd trouble.

Personally, I feel that selling booze at the game would not be an issue. The time it would take to buy it would surely limit the amount that people could consume?

Football is on in the pub every day, and even the most passionate of fixtures, such as the derby go off without problem in most boozers.

I think this proposal is an ill thought out headline grabber. I don't think there is a groundswell of pressure to sell booze at grounds, and there are probably better things for politicians to be worrying about.

By all means being a debate, but at least: bring one to address a problem; and bring one about something you have researched.

08-09-2013, 08:21 AM
It's just a vote-grabbing idea, as posted earlier, but it's what political parties do. I just wish they'd focus on the bigger wrongs in the world.

I have a beer or two before the game, sometimes after, but not bothered about the current inability to have one during. A couple of hours isn't the end of the world to stay drink free, although conversely, I can't watch telly football without beer.

But at the game? Plastic jars, huge queues (it's very difficult to visit catering at ER and not miss some action), and the struggle to get a squishy plastic glass back to my seat? I'll skip.

AndyM_1875
08-09-2013, 08:42 AM
I'm just about old enough to remember boozing at grounds and as some of the more experienced contributors say it was entirely different from what is being proposed. Guys would take carry out bags of cans and half bottles to games in the 70s. They would get horribly pissed and it was a very raw atmosphere.

What is on offer is an extension of the somewhat sanitised system in England where you can buy low/medium strength lager (provided by a club sponsor brewer) in plastic glasses or in plastic bottles. I've attended Spurs (COYS) a few times recently and it's plastic bottles of Carlsberg costing £5 or £6.
It's not a particularly enjoyable experience drinking from a plastic bottle in a cold concourse area tbh.

I can see why they want to bring it in but I think fans will quickly lose interest as its both expensive and a bit rubbish. And as I use my car it's no use to me anyway.

08-09-2013, 08:47 AM
I think we should merge with the 'safe standing' poll....and have a 'German' convertible stand complete with beer and bratwurst......

It could be ST only stand if concerns persisted about letting grown adults stand / eat & drink (I realise that's 3 things at once and women may have concerns that this level of multi tasking may be too much for mere men :wink:)

08-09-2013, 08:58 AM
Heard the radio interview with the Scottish Conservative leader and can't believe some of the comments she made about the standard of policing at football matches. She has obviously never been an away fan in Glasgow.

08-09-2013, 11:19 AM

:agree: A more populist policy has never been seen in the history of Scottish politics - utterly shameless!

(Not that I'm against the idea - could work fine if done correctly).

08-09-2013, 11:27 AM
yes

You've never lived in the north east of England then :rolleyes: No reason why beer shouldn't be served on the concourses at ER. I've enjoyed a pint at Sunderland before the game. Very civilised although the concourse is far better than ER, the staff are actually trained and the TV's work. I assume staff would have to be over 18.

Not likely to happen as football fans are pretty low in the priority list of politicians.

08-09-2013, 12:13 PM
A political party trying to win votes ? What a shocker.

Tory supporter defends his party's stance, regardless of logic or evidence. No shock at all.

Owain_1987
08-09-2013, 12:24 PM
There's no reason why it wouldn't work here, it works fine in England.

It does not work fine at all in England there are many examples of trouble because of the sale of alcohol inside football grounds.

08-09-2013, 12:32 PM
It does not work fine at all in England there are many examples of trouble because of the sale of alcohol inside football grounds.

I don't think it's fair to blame the trouble on the alcohol sold in the ground. As a few posters have pointed out, given the amount of alcohol that supporters actually have time to consume during the match, they're not going to be getting hammered from it. It's the fault of the police/stewards who allow people in shocking states into the ground.

08-09-2013, 01:33 PM

Care to provide a few?

08-09-2013, 06:23 PM
After giving this much thought, I've decided I'm in favour. Hibs should force every fan to have at least ten units of alcohol before a match. Might help us to cope with what's on display :wink:

Emerald
08-09-2013, 07:24 PM
:top marksI go to English footy a lot, usually have one or 2 before the game. If I'm at Brighton have a couple after to let queues for trains go down but that's it. It's not the most pleasurable drinking but it should be our choice. Can't believe people on here saying we, Scots, can't be trusted re sensible drinking. Seems Scots rugby fans can, Scots attending concerts can, even Scots going to the cinema can. The discrimination re football is ridiculous.
Also glad to see the myth demolished that somehow there were bars in grounds pre 1980. IIRC only Clydebank had a bar & that was built into their stand/social club. The problem was with people taking drink into the ground though I remember a certain game in early 1973 when our extensive carry out had happily been demolished long before h/t!

I agree with your comments but not about concerts. The amount of folk out their heads is massive. Its also mostly the females that are worse. Just an observation mind.

08-09-2013, 07:35 PM
Just read the article in SOS. It appears to me that there has been no thought put into this proposal.

I think before altering the law, you need to look at why it was introduced in the first place, and what has changed in the last 30 years.

If you can show that there is no need for the law now, then you can propose change.

What we have is lightweight comment from people who seem to think that alcohol was on sale at grounds before 1981. It wasn't, people took carry outs.

Then we have the comparisons with Rugby. Alcohol was never banned there, because there was no history of crowd trouble.

Personally, I feel that selling booze at the game would not be an issue. The time it would take to buy it would surely limit the amount that people could consume?

Football is on in the pub every day, and even the most passionate of fixtures, such as the derby go off without problem in most boozers.

I think this proposal is an ill thought out headline grabber. I don't think there is a groundswell of pressure to sell booze at grounds, and there are probably better things for politicians to be worrying about.

By all means being a debate, but at least: bring one to address a problem; and bring one about something you have researched.

I'm afraid you're wrong about the rugby FR, the Criminal Justice Act of 1980 actually barred the sale of alcohol at all sports grounds. There was no alcohol sold at Murrayfield until 2007 when it was realised Scotland was losing out on hosting sporting occasions, in particular rugby, as a result. The original act of 1980 was a knee jerk response to a riot by the OF. A causative link between drinking in stadia & violence has never been demonstrated, in fact the worst violence of the 80's was caused by casuals, most of who avoided alcohol. As you say there may not be a great groundswell to sell alcohol at football but IMO it's an affront to every person in Scotland to deny us the opportunity. It makes no more sense than when the pubs had to close in the afternoons, remember those enlightened days? That idiocy, where it was ok to drink at 2.29 but not at 2.31 actually contributed to the practice of taking drink to the match.
ps, it may not seem it but I do agree many of your points, just not the conclusion!

08-09-2013, 08:41 PM
I'm afraid you're wrong about the rugby FR, the Criminal Justice Act of 1980 actually barred the sale of alcohol at all sports grounds. There was no alcohol sold at Murrayfield until 2007 when it was realised Scotland was losing out on hosting sporting occasions, in particular rugby, as a result. The original act of 1980 was a knee jerk response to a riot by the OF. A causative link between drinking in stadia & violence has never been demonstrated, in fact the worst violence of the 80's was caused by casuals, most of who avoided alcohol. As you say there may not be a great groundswell to sell alcohol at football but IMO it's an affront to every person in Scotland to deny us the opportunity. It makes no more sense than when the pubs had to close in the afternoons, remember those enlightened days? That idiocy, where it was ok to drink at 2.29 but not at 2.31 actually contributed to the practice of taking drink to the match.
ps, it may not seem it but I do agree many of your points, just not the conclusion!

I wasn't going for a conclusion (or so I thought!). Really just a criticism of the lack of attention to detail in the proposal.

Sorry about the rugby, I thought they were allowed carry outs. Maybe the police turned a blind eye to it?

09-09-2013, 07:18 AM
Drinking at football isn't all it's cracked up to be. From my experience, you pay £4 for a small bottle of warm/crap lager and then force it down quickly so you can get back to your seat for the second half.

Just my opinion though and I still think we should have the option of paying for the above if we want to, and down south plenty do. I agree with the poster that said we need to do all we can to improve the match day experience.

09-09-2013, 07:42 AM
The way Hibs are playing right now they should have bars open throughout the 90 minutes - it might make the football on display more palatable.

On the other side of things, I quite like the idea of a break in the drinking on a Saturday. A couple before the game is good, but some people like to get really slammed and go into the ground shouting the odds, only to slump like big, fat, stuffed, soft toys at half-time, as the alcohol leaves their system. I can see why they might want a top up, but it's great for the rest of us that they remain silent, then wander off grumbling and growling to the pub with about twenty minutes to go.

I'd go a bit further than that and make the players partake in a pre match and half time tipple. May give them some Dutch courage to actually try to win a game. :wink:

09-09-2013, 07:44 AM
it would also be a nightmare in licensing rules as sections of the stadium would have to sell food and drink if children where to be allowed in or if not you would need to have much more security. Edinburgh licensing is a joke however and I can't see them helping out with this.

09-09-2013, 10:11 AM
I wasn't going for a conclusion (or so I thought!). Really just a criticism of the lack of attention to detail in the proposal.

Sorry about the rugby, I thought they were allowed carry outs. Maybe the police turned a blind eye to it?

You're probably correct re the blind eye, after all rugby players commit mayhem on the park most weekends & it's laughed off. Footballers do the same & they end up in court.
I had a separate thought, drink is of course served at most Scottish grounds before & after games but in hospitality only. I've never been in BTG so don't know process there. This again is discrimination in that it's ok to drink if you can afford hospitality but not if you only want, or can afford a pint!

09-09-2013, 10:18 AM
[/B]You're probably correct re the blind eye, after all rugby players commit mayhem on the park most weekends & it's laughed off. Footballers do the same & they end up in court.
I had a separate thought, drink is of course served at most Scottish grounds before & after games but in hospitality only. I've never been in BTG so don't know process there. This again is discrimination in that it's ok to drink if you can afford hospitality but not if you only want, or can afford a pint!

BTG is for season ticket holders and is just like a pub but has a child friendly area on one floor and a child unfriendly area up stairs. I use it as the money I spend there helps the club. (although what they spend it on I have no idea, obviously not the team :greengrin)

Leishy1995
09-09-2013, 11:26 AM
They served beer in wembley for the England game and I saw thousands of fans drinking and having fun. Was there any problems there? No. Scotland fans were behaving brilliantly, even cheering for every one off Ronnie Young's half time goals.

Times have changed

09-09-2013, 11:41 AM
IMO, alcohol should be sold in football stadiums, many guys who like to have a drink before the game have now and again a tendency to rush beer down their necks, due to rounds being bought (me included) then rush off just before the game starts, I think that may well be quashed to a certain extent if we knew we would get a beer in the stadium.
Who is to say how much alcohol in stadiums would cost, I can get decently priced beer inside ADO stadium before and during the game, infact if my memory serves me right we actually sold beer at the ADO v Hibs game which has not been done by my Dutch club for decades. We have had one of the worst hooligan supports in Holland for years, we have moved to a new stadium and we now sell alcohol, from what I know of there has been no drink related trouble at ADO since they have started selling alcohol for almost 3 years now, mibbe longer. But I must add, for high risk games the bar outside the stadium is shut earlier before a high risk game and there is no alcohol sold in the stadium.

hibby rae
09-09-2013, 12:57 PM
it would also be a nightmare in licensing rules as sections of the stadium would have to sell food and drink if children where to be allowed in or if not you would need to have much more security. Edinburgh licensing is a joke however and I can't see them helping out with this.

Would the people serving alcohol not also have to be over 18? This would be a problem considering the vast majority of the staff are under age.

09-09-2013, 08:12 PM
Would the people serving alcohol not also have to be over 18? This would be a problem considering the vast majority of the staff are under age.

Yip they also need to be trained by a personal license holder however they will have one from btg.

JIm
08-10-2013, 03:30 PM
According to the attached link the SFA are looking to allow alcohol at football matches again, i would imagine a similar model to down south:

http://sport.stv.tv/football/242352-football-talk-return-of-booze-at-games-celtic-urged-to-deal-in-strikers/

Who doesn’t love a good “smash and grab”? A “daylight robbery”? A “lucky escape”?

Usually the team that loses.

But never fear, frustrated Jags fans. The SFA is looking to curb the agony of shaky home form by reintroducing alcohol sales at matches.

You’ll never have to see world class displays from opposition goalkeepers through sober eyes again.

Over in Germany (we all love Germany, right?) the Bayern Munich team are not hanging around for game days to fired in about the lager, as they paid their traditional visit to Oktoberfest.

Good news IMHO, now bring on the PYRO :na na:

08-10-2013, 03:42 PM
Alcohol at football =

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d2-nSqN-8wM

Gus Fring
08-10-2013, 03:50 PM
If this happens I hope it's confined to 1 stand so me and my 9 year old laddie can avoid it. There's already enough tipsy idiots shouting dogs abuse at players and ref's without allowing them to get even more drunk during the match. It's getting harder and harder to keep taking him to matches, especially category A matches and away games. I've already had to stop taking him to derbies. Some people don't know how to behave and ruin it for the ones who do.

08-10-2013, 04:12 PM
Peaches and cream
Bonnie and Clyde
Hearts and cheating
Scotland in the summer and rain
Pint and a fight

Somethings just go together.

08-10-2013, 04:15 PM
Top 3 things wrong with this country:

1. Alcohol
2. Alcohol
3. Alcohol

Great idea.

08-10-2013, 04:17 PM
If this happens I hope it's confined to 1 stand so me and my 9 year old laddie can avoid it. There's already enough tipsy idiots shouting dogs abuse at players and ref's without allowing them to get even more drunk during the match. It's getting harder and harder to keep taking him to matches, especially category A matches and away games. I've already had to stop taking him to derbies. Some people don't know how to behave and ruin it for the ones who do.
Would hope they wouldn't serve alcohol in the FF Stand for that reason, but I can't say I've ever seen too much evidence down here of there being an increase in trouble because of being able to have a couple of pints during the game.

08-10-2013, 04:18 PM
Top 3 things wrong with this country:

1. Alcohol
2. Alcohol
3. Alcohol

Great idea.

Alcohol isn't the problem.

Anti social idiots with no self control are the problem. The vast majority of people can enjoy a few drinks without turning into ****ing morons.

08-10-2013, 04:24 PM
If this comes off wait till everyone finds out how crap alcohol tastes at football.

08-10-2013, 04:29 PM
Alcohol isn't the problem.

Anti social idiots with no self control are the problem. The vast majority of people can enjoy a few drinks without turning into ****ing morons.

I completely agree. I'd love a beer at the game, but I would consider myself a responsible drinker, therefore the root must be eliminated (ie the booze) to stop the jakey reprobates spoiling the game.

So within that context alcohol is very much "the problem", and one I'm more than happy to sacrifice. :agree:

08-10-2013, 04:48 PM
I have a season ticket at Wigan, who like most(all?) English clubs, sell beer before the games and at HT. It can be really good to have a pint before the game, and Ive never seen any trouble at the games. Its also a good revenue for the club and can be a really good atmosphere, especially as they have other games on the TVs before each game.

I do think if it was introduced in Scotland it needs to be carefully controlled to start with. I know their fans would go mad, but personally I think any game involving the OF should have an alcohol ban, and similar with derbys. Particularly with the OF fans, until they can prove they can behave at games (which admittedly will never happen), alcohol shouldnt be available to them in the grounds.

08-10-2013, 05:06 PM
its a wee bit like the question of Guns ie guns don't kill people, people kill people. then if you take the gun away then no problem apart from knives garrotting etc. but if you don't sell alcohol in stadia then it's no bother but people are still going to drink before and if anything even more before a game as they know they won't be able to get a drink in the stadium. so perhaps being able to have a drink in the stadium will mean that people don't see 2.55pm on a Saturday as a time to neck 2 pints and 5 nips before the game starts.

08-10-2013, 05:13 PM
£6 a pint

08-10-2013, 05:24 PM
£6 a pint

Hiya Rod, hiya pal.

08-10-2013, 05:27 PM
its a wee bit like the question of Guns ie guns don't kill people, people kill people. then if you take the gun away then no problem apart from knives garrotting etc. but if you don't sell alcohol in stadia then it's no bother but people are still going to drink before and if anything even more before a game as they know they won't be able to get a drink in the stadium. so perhaps being able to have a drink in the stadium will mean that people don't see 2.55pm on a Saturday as a time to neck 2 pints and 5 nips before the game starts.

If we are talking about a drink in the concourse before the game kicks off then fine. As long as it's kept away from the seated areas I have no problem with it.

08-10-2013, 05:34 PM
Hiya Rod, hiya pal.

£6.50.

Anyone else want to they their luck? :greengrin

08-10-2013, 07:27 PM
People saying it would cause supporters to be drunk(er) or lead to violence-is there any evidence whatsoever that those things have happened in England? It's hardly like England is the T-total capital of the world! There are plenty football fans down in England more than capable of getting drunk and acting like a tit. I think it's ridiculous that they are trusted to have a beer and we aren't. In fact it really pisses me off.
If people want to get drunk at the football then they will get drunk before the game(as they currently do). Being able to buy a warm pint of beer before the game(when such people would be in a pub on Easter Rd anyway) isn't going to suddenly cause a problem. Nor is queuing for 15 minutes at half time to get one more pint. It's so slow at ER, you'd be lucky to even get served at ER.
The last thing I want is more drunk idiots at the game but getting one watered down pint at HT is not gonna make much difference IMO.
I also don't think alcohol should be served at any derbies. Do folk honestly think being able to buy one pint at a Hibs v Ross County game is going to lead to any trouble whatsoever?! You're not even allowed the beer anywhere near your seat!! Don't see how buying a beer in the concourse before a game is any different to buying one BTG's?!?
I can easily go 90 minutes without a beer, I just think its completely wrong that rugby fans in this country are allowed, football fans in England are allowed yet we are not.

08-10-2013, 07:30 PM
I'd like to see a trial of this in the same way they tested the water with Friday night football to see if it caused any problems. If all top flight clubs are allowed to sell beer and cider, in the concourse only, for an hour before kickoff and at halftime for say, all games between January and the split unless the police object to certain matches- derbies etc. This could provide some data and evidence of the effects, such as any noticeable increase in arrests etc to see if it has any potential to be introduced full time.

08-10-2013, 07:44 PM
A trial sounds fair. Would be nice to at least be given a chance before being treated like second class citizens. My worry with that would be that any sign of trouble and it would be blamed on the alcohol available. For example, that tube that ran on at Tynecastle and went for Lennon. If that had been a game where alcohol was available then it would instantly be suggested that there was a link-when obviously there wasn't.

08-10-2013, 07:51 PM
A trial sounds fair. Would be nice to at least be given a chance before being treated like second class citizens. My worry with that would be that any sign of trouble and it would be blamed on the alcohol available. For example, that tube that ran on at Tynecastle and went for Lennon. If that had been a game where alcohol was available then it would instantly be suggested that there was a link-when obviously there wasn't.
true, but Celtic at the pbs would never be allowed a licence realistically, just as it would never be allowed to be played on a Friday night.

08-10-2013, 07:57 PM
I hope the glasses are heated in winter