View Full Version : What was your primary school football team like?
Halifaxhibby
02-12-2015, 09:53 PM
That's mental. Any chance I could buy that autograph - Roxburgh is the coolest dude to walk the planet. :wink:
Really?!?, lol!!!!
Give me a couple of days mate and i'll dig it out for you. You can have it for nowt. Just make a donation to the youth development bud.
Played for Fox Covert primary A,B and C teams 1985-1987, we were unstoppable at league level. Regularly hammered teams 8,9,10-0, semis in inspectors cup twice. Anyone remember the slope at fox covert?, we had a guy who could score from the half way line and regularly did on that pitch. Alan byrne. Sure he went on to play briefly with east fife. Also had scott marshall in the year above us who got signed by arsenal and ryan hegarty played in my year. Great player nephew of paul hegarty. Unbelievable talent at that age. Think he ended up at the pars but retired due to spinal issues. I
played at left back or left midfield as i'm left handed and coach assumed i was left footed. Which i wasn't!!, only ever scored one goal for my primary but it was a lucky half volley straight from a corner against gylemuir(brian hamilton against the tims lol!) Peach!
Got signed for cramond boys club after that. Then captained tartan boys club(top goalscorer and player of the year87-88) went to holland with broughton boys club after that and played in a competition against a german team, pollock juniors( men against boys literally!) and f.c carpentras of portugal where i had to man mark their star player out the game, i mind the coach saying if he goes for a piss at half time i want u to be at the urinal next to him!!, went to craigmount high, played as a lone striker. Scored a few. Sam lynch was our p.e teacher/coach. I remember mikey stewarts big brother rory was a year below us and couldn't get near our team. Remember mikey briefly being a tantrum throwing wee fud. Played for f.c porto(windsor buffet) and currie hertz sunday league level. Then bevvy fags and burdz utd!!!!
Was on the front page of the scotsman with pele when u-16 world cup was in scotland 1989, got to have a wee kickabout with him and andy roxburgh at ***********. Still got his picture and autograph. Happy days!
FTHMFC
I can confirm the slope at fox covert is still the same, used to take my laddies primary team and marvel at the gradient :thumbsup:. A few of us bemoaning the lack of character building these days but playing there and watching the ball rolling doon the slope and just stop in the mud, well, some things never change.
02-12-2015, 10:35 PM
Really?!?, lol!!!!
Give me a couple of days mate and i'll dig it out for you. You can have it for nowt. Just make a donation to the youth development bud.
Was kidding but happy to make a donation anyway 😊
Halifaxhibby
02-12-2015, 10:47 PM
Was kidding but happy to make a donation anyway 😊
Aye i thought so!!!, ha ha!
Just had a thought though, we could start a wee footie memorabilia donation thread and donate all proceeds to the youth set up?
Any thoughts?
Aye i thought so!!!, ha ha!
Just had a thought though, we could start a wee footie memorabilia donation thread and donate all proceeds to the youth set up?
Any thoughts?
What football memorabilia you got?
Halifaxhibby
02-12-2015, 11:13 PM
What football memorabilia you got?
Eeeeh!!! Ha ha!, not that much to be honest. Oops!, lol!, couple of signed hibs strips, 6-2 programme, champions league final programme from hampden(zidane game) mint condition!, happy to donate though.
It was just a thought. Got loads of programmes from the 80's i know some guys collect things like that. Probably got more if i have a good rake about. Might not be worth a lot but hey, every penny counts eh?
Eeeeh!!! Ha ha!, not that much to be honest. Oops!, lol!, couple of signed hibs strips, 6-2 programme, champions league final programme from hampden(zidane game) mint condition!, happy to donate though.
It was just a thought. Got loads of programmes from the 80's i know some guys collect things like that. Probably got more if i have a good rake about. Might not be worth a lot but hey, every penny counts eh?
As your from the same town if your selling any of the signed shirts let me know :aok:
Halifaxhibby
02-12-2015, 11:24 PM
As your from the same town if your selling any of the signed shirts let me know :aok:
Used to stay in sowerby bridge mate. Back in scotland now though but i pop down now and again to catch up with some of the guys i used to work with, saw vardy play for the shaymen back in the day lol!! Next time i'm down i'll get in touch bud. Maybe meet up for a pint?
Defo. Was in Sowerby bridge the other day getting a turkish shave :-)
happiehibbie
03-12-2015, 10:53 PM
Defo. Was in Sowerby bridge the other day getting a turkish shave :-)
Get a room ! [emoji1]
1875STEVE
04-12-2015, 12:41 AM
I played for fernieside. I remember a few meaty games v moredun.
I also played for Fernieside.
We had a good side, won the league (What was it called?) a couple of times and the Craigour Shield, beat Gilmerton in the final at Libby rec.
Got to the EPSA semi finals, but got hosed.
Then the year I left they got to the final and lost.
1875STEVE
04-12-2015, 12:47 AM
boooooooooo ;)
Booooo!?
You lot where like the Hearts of the area.
Had to come up and use our pitch, because your yin was an asbestos ridden, sunken ***** hole. :na na::na na::na na::na na::na na::na na:
04-12-2015, 10:05 AM
Played for Pinkie St Peter for 3 years..I wasn't very good and neither was the team, loved playing though..Grandison cup was class (I think we won couple of games in it, bit hazy!?)...Sammy Stewart was the Janny who took the team & a former East Fife hero in the 50s :agree:
Loved primary school football. For many, it was the first 'real' team they played for. Later, coached both my laddies' school teams and it was fun, much better than club football. Had some good runs in Inspectors and School Board Cups and local leagues/cups.
Any memories?
Year
Edinburgh Primary School
Sciennes
North Merchiston
St Leonards
Regent Road
Dean
Gorgie
Leith Walk
St Leonards
Dalry
Dalry
Bruntsfield
Bruntsfield
Boroughmuir
Dalry
Craiglockhart
South Bridge
London Street
North Merchiston
Dalry
London Street
South Bridge
Gorgie
Gorgie
Not Played WW1 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_War_I)
Not Played WW1
Flora Stevenson
Albion Road
Craiglockhart
Abbeyhill
Abbeyhill
Sciennes
Unknown
Abbeyhill
Cannonmills
Gorgie
Albion Road
North Merchiston
Towerbank (http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/0_g_p/0_groups_and_outings_towerbank_cup-winning_football_team_early-1930s.jpg)
Towerbank
Abbeyhill
St Johns
Dalry
Gorgie
Not played WW2 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_War_II)
Not played WW2
St Francis
Peffermill
Towerbank
Sciennes
Murrayburn
Niddrie
Dalry
Murrayburn
Wester Hailes
Murrayburn
Murrayburn
Fernieside
Fernieside
Stenhouse
Murrayburn
Fernieside
Murrayburn
Drumbrae
Carrick Knowe
Burdiehouse
St John Vianney
St Josephs / St John Vianney
Drumbrae
Brunstane
Drumbrae
Gracemount
Parsons Green
Drumbrae
Gylemuir
Unknown
Greendykes
Greendykes
Riccarton
Peffermill
Gracemount / Sighthill
Stenhouse
Sighthill
Gracemount
Sighthill
Gracemount
Juniper Green
Flora Stevenson
Sighthill
Duddingston
Gylemuir / Royal High
Davidsons Mains
Royston
Royston
Gilmerton
Murrayburn (https://hailesmatters.files.wordpress.com/2012/01/team-2.jpg)
Carrick Knowe
Buckstone / Hermitage Park
Liberton
Carrick Knowe
Liberton
Liberton
Hermitage Park
Balgreen
Duddingston
Gracemount
Unknown
Duddingston / St Johns
St Johns
Buckstone
Fox Covert
Crammond
ESMS Junior School
Bonaly / ESMS Junior School
ESMS Junior School
Flora Stevenson
Murrayburn
Dalry
6 (1 Shared)
ESMS Junior School
Gorgie
Abbeyhill
Drumbrae
North Merchiston
4 (1 Shared)
Gracemount
4 (1 Shared)
Sighthill
Carrick Knowe
Fernieside
Flora Stevenson
Liberton
Sciennes
Towerbank
3 (1 Shared)
Duddingston
3 (1 Shared)
St Johns
Albion Road
Bruntsfield
Craiglockhart
Davidsons Mains
London Street
Peffermill
Royston
South Bridge
Stenhouse
St Leonards
2 (1 Shared)
Buckstone
2 (1 Shared)
Hermitage Park
2 (1 Shared)
St John Vianney
Balgreen
Bonaly
Boroughmuir
Burdiehouse
Brunstane
Cannonmills
Crammond
Dean
Fox Covert
Gilmerton
Juniper Green
Leith Walk
Niddrie
Regent Road
Riccarton
St Francis
Wester Hailes
1 Shared
St Josephs
1 Shared
Royal High
GreenProfessor
30-07-2018, 01:14 PM
Played for Juniper Green Primary School as RB around 1982-1984. We had a superb team...I recall unbeaten, although the memory is getting a bit hazy these days :greengrin
30-07-2018, 02:38 PM
Won the Hamilton Cup with St Peters at Meggatland, must have been around 1985 I reckon. Does the Hamilton Cup still exist I wonder? Was my one and only football medal and I lost it years ago :boo hoo:
Don't know if the Hamilton Cup exists but sadly Meggetland doesn't after our wonderful (spell check has it as woeful which probably isn't far wrong) council sold it for houses!!
john18722
30-07-2018, 02:57 PM
Played in the Flora Stevenson team that done a Hearts by losing the league and cup in a space of a week. Lost the league by drawing 2-2 when a win would have given us the title. 2-1 up and we gave away a penalty.... Gutted as we deserved the league that year! Next week lost the Inspectors Cup final 4-3 when winning 3-1. Pretty sure we lost to Stenhouse..?
What year was that? That sounds very familiar to me and I was at Flora Stevenson too!
30-07-2018, 03:33 PM
Bonnington primary then DK ! not so many good players but one or two stuck out like wee Gibby and John Johnstone who were on the fringes at Falkirk and the likes but the real star was peter Cormack who was a few years older and you know what became of him ?
Flyman
30-07-2018, 03:36 PM
Used to have to carry the goal posts up Arthur seat for Parsons green, the year after I left they moved the home games to Northfield, these youngsters dinnae ken how good they've got it!
On a side note its a sin that nowadays the big clubs like hibs, hearts etc sign up all the good youngsters and make them sign something to say they won't play school football, let kids run about and enjoy the game ffs.
I was at Parsons Green when the pitch was carved out of Arthur’s Seat. John Robertson and Dave Bowman were in the same team. The Janny had played for Celtic in the 60’s and was our guiding light.
Went to West Linton down in the Borders.
All we needed was a draw in the last game to win the north borders league against Kingsland Primary from Peebles, when in the last 5 mins our keeper dived past a terrible effort from the new yam Steven MacLean ! Shame we didnt do 3G pitches back then we might have been league champs!!!
Saint Hibee
30-07-2018, 03:45 PM
My son played for Taobh na Pairce (the Gaelic school housed in the old Bonnington primary). Last year they won the Gaelic schools’ football cup in Inverness thereby becoming the greatest Scottish Gaelic primary school football team not just in Scotland, but in the entire world!
Delboy4
30-07-2018, 03:46 PM
Played for Gilmerton Primary 1975-78
What a team we had. Won the School board cup, EPSA, Craigour A & B shields in the same year. Played Centre Forward. Primary school football was the bollocks.
Also coached Gracemount Primary where my son played in 2005 winning the Inspectors cup.
CLASS OF 72 -73
30-07-2018, 04:44 PM
1970 -St Josephs v Broomhouse was the dirty Derby but Drumbrae were the team.
hibeg
30-07-2018, 05:18 PM
Had to google it but Stewart’s Melville have basically dominated it for the last 7-8 years !!!
I thought they were a Rugby school ?
30-07-2018, 05:27 PM
Don't know if the Hamilton Cup exists but sadly Meggetland doesn't after our wonderful (spell check has it as woeful which probably isn't far wrong) council sold it for houses!!
Meggetland is well and truly still there. Smaller than the vast acreage of yesteryear, but buzzing with football every saturday morning.
St Mary’s Primary in York lane/Albany St, we were pretty decent when I was in the team [emoji16] tough games against Stockbridge and Davidson mains they were always the teams to beat, scored my only goals against Flora Stevenson’s they were my lucky team [emoji106] played our games at Inverleith Park
Brunstane primary 😲 the size o that school, would have been akin tae Edin City winning the Scottish cup 😆
Nae Lismore though 🤔
30-07-2018, 05:58 PM
Brunstane primary [emoji44] the size o that school, would have been akin tae Edin City winning the Scottish cup [emoji38]
Nae Lismore though [emoji848][emoji106][emoji106] 69
I was there. Sadly just watching having rightly failed as a one footed left back[emoji6]
[emoji106][emoji106] 69
I was there. Sadly just watching having rightly failed as a one footed left back[emoji6]
Sent from my SM-J320FN using TapatalkSimilar to me with Lismore, during my trials it was suggested I take up ballet dancing instead 😲 I did actually go on to have quite a successful career in the amateur leagues, my eldest Daughter also played for Brunstane for a while
30-07-2018, 06:10 PM
Similar to me with Lismore, during my trials it was suggested I take up ballet dancing instead [emoji44] I did actually go on to have quite a successful career in the amateur leagues, my eldest Daughter also played for Brunstane for a whileHappy days, remember going round Magdalene on a flat bed lorry after that cup win!
Happy days, remember going round Magdalene on a flat bed lorry after that cup win!
Sent from my SM-J320FN using TapatalkNowadays it would lose its wheels 😆
30-07-2018, 06:19 PM
Nowadays it would lose its wheels [emoji38]Sadly you might be right.
30-07-2018, 07:21 PM
St Marys york place lane, took some tankings from stockbridge but gave some to flora stevensons :greengrin scored my only goal against them by pushing my teammate out the way :tsk tsk::cb
What years were you there,, I was there 1962 to 1969 played a few games at warriston
30-07-2018, 07:27 PM
Year
Edinburgh Primary School
Sciennes
North Merchiston
St Leonards
Regent Road
Dean
Gorgie
Leith Walk
St Leonards
Dalry
Dalry
Bruntsfield
Bruntsfield
Boroughmuir
Dalry
Craiglockhart
South Bridge
London Street
North Merchiston
Dalry
London Street
South Bridge
Gorgie
Gorgie
Not Played WW1
Flora Stevenson
Albion Road
Craiglockhart
Abbeyhill
Abbeyhill
Sciennes
Unknown
Abbeyhill
Cannonmills
Gorgie
Albion Road
North Merchiston
Towerbank (http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/0_g_p/0_groups_and_outings_towerbank_cup-winning_football_team_early-1930s.jpg)
Towerbank
Abbeyhill
St Johns
Dalry
Gorgie
Not played WW2
St Francis
Peffermill
Towerbank
Sciennes
Murrayburn
Niddrie
Dalry
Murrayburn
Wester Hailes
Murrayburn
Murrayburn
Fernieside
Fernieside
Stenhouse
Murrayburn
Fernieside
Murrayburn
Drumbrae
Carrick Knowe
Burdiehouse
St John Vianney
Drumbrae
Brunstane
Drumbrae
Gracemount
Parsons Green
Drumbrae
Gylemuir
Unknown
Greendykes
Greendykes
Riccarton
Peffermill
Gracemount / Sighthill
Stenhouse
Sighthill
Gracemount
Sighthill
Gracemount
Juniper Green
Flora Stevenson
Sighthill
Duddingston
Gylemuir / Royal High
Davidsons Mains
Royston
Royston
Gilmerton
Carrick Knowe
Liberton
Carrick Knowe
Liberton
Liberton
Hermitage Park
Balgreen
Duddingston
Gracemount
Unknown
Duddingston / St Johns
St Johns
Buckstone
Fox Covert
Crammond
ESMS Junior School
Flora Stevenson
Murrayburn
Dalry
6 (1 Shared)
ESMS Junior School
Gorgie
Abbeyhill
Drumbrae
North Merchiston
4 (1 Shared)
Gracemount
4 (1 Shared)
Sighthill
Carrick Knowe
Fernieside
Flora Stevenson
Liberton
Sciennes
Towerbank
3 (1 Shared)
Duddingston
3 (1 Shared)
St Johns
Albion Road
Bruntsfield
Craiglockhart
Davidsons Mains
London Street
Peffermill
Royston
South Bridge
Stenhouse
St Leonards
2 (1 Shared)
Buckstone
2 (1 Shared)
Hermitage Park
2 (1 Shared)
St John Vianney
Balgreen
Bonaly
Boroughmuir
Burdiehouse
Brunstane
Cannonmills
Crammond
Dean
Fox Covert
Gilmerton
Juniper Green
Leith Walk
Niddrie
Regent Road
Riccarton
St Francis
Wester Hailes
1 Shared
St Josephs
1 Shared
Royal High
I take it you got expelled a lot?
30-07-2018, 07:35 PM
I played in a School Board cup final (1980 I think, lost :-() and an EPSA cup final (1981, cup shared after 3-3 draw aet with everyone beeling cos they wouldn’t let us have pens) but I don’t think we played in the Inspector’s cup or maybe I’ve just blanked it. Anyone remember what the difference was?
30-07-2018, 07:37 PM
What year was that? That sounds very familiar to me and I was at Flora Stevenson too!
looking at post #264, 1981.
Flora's had a good team in those days, also noticed that they managed to win it in 1987 and this year :thumbsup:
Ozymandias
30-07-2018, 07:41 PM
Played for Juniper Green Primary School as RB around 1982-1984. We had a superb team...I recall unbeaten, although the memory is getting a bit hazy these days :greengrin
Better than the 1977 team at Juni.
P10 W0 D0 L10 F6 A86 Pts0
I was the keeper, but to be fair to me 3 of the back 4 wore glasses during the game.
30-07-2018, 07:43 PM
Played for Holy Cross in 81-82. Seemed to win most weeks but I don't remember any cups etc.
Current Inspectors Cup champs are Stewart Melvilles who smashed St.Marys in the final 9-0.
Ozy
Did you play alongside cousins Michael (my son) and Jamie O'Rourke (Jimmy's son) ?
Or maybe you are the year above.
They would have been 10 yrs old then
Both played in the Leith Schools team.
They also played at The Holy Ground for Leith versus Edinburgh Schools before a game against the team formerly know as Rangers.
The school game finished 3-3.
The "big" game was a goalless draw
I sat in the dugout during the schools game with Jimmy,who sat in that dug out quite a lot ;-)
Steviep73
30-07-2018, 09:34 PM
Ozy
Did you play alongside cousins Michael (my son) and Jamie O'Rourke (Jimmy's son) ?
They also played at The Holy Ground for Leith versus Edinburgh Schools before a game against the team formerly know as Rangers.
I sat in the dugout during the schools game with Jimmy,who sat in that dug out quite a lot ;-)I played in the same salveson team as Jamie under 13s and 14s
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
I take it you got expelled a lot?
I couldn’t possibly comment.
30-07-2018, 09:50 PM
Ozy
I sat in the dugout during the schools game with Jimmy,who sat in that dug out quite a lot ;-)
I was the year above Jamie but Jamie often played in our team. Jimmy coached us at the time but not on match days as he was Hibs assistant and then caretaker manager at the time.
30-07-2018, 09:53 PM
Had to google it but Stewart’s Melville have basically dominated it for the last 7-8 years !!!
I thought they were a Rugby school ?
They very much are but they have 104 boys to pick from in each year group, so have a slight advantage over most schools.
Lost final this year to a great Flora’s team, 9 of whom are coached by me. [emoji6]
30-07-2018, 10:13 PM
Went to St Cuthberts 1961-1969 - yes I was kept back a year coz I started at 4 - remember the Janny Mr Stewart ran the team team picked by Miss Laidlaw English teacher. Remember she picked the team on a Friday got to take your strip home with you which was like a throw back to the pre war rugby tops. Most famous pupil Kevin Hegarty Jambo brother of Paul (Arab) I remember their old man used to run the Scouts. I remember games starting what seemed like crack of dawn Meggatland on frozen pitches. You would kick a Mouldmaster it would go about three foot but if one hit you on the leg you definitely knew about it.
30-07-2018, 10:17 PM
Year
Edinburgh Primary School
Sciennes
North Merchiston
St Leonards
Regent Road
Dean
Gorgie
Leith Walk
St Leonards
Dalry
Dalry
Bruntsfield
Bruntsfield
Boroughmuir
Dalry
Craiglockhart
South Bridge
London Street
North Merchiston
Dalry
London Street
South Bridge
Gorgie
Gorgie
Not Played WW1
Flora Stevenson
Albion Road
Craiglockhart
Abbeyhill
Abbeyhill
Sciennes
Unknown
Abbeyhill
Cannonmills
Gorgie
Albion Road
North Merchiston
Towerbank
Abbeyhill
St Johns
Dalry
Gorgie
Not played WW2
St Francis
Peffermill
Towerbank
Sciennes
Murrayburn
Niddrie
Dalry
Murrayburn
Wester Hailes
Murrayburn
Murrayburn
Fernieside
Fernieside
Stenhouse
Murrayburn
Fernieside
Murrayburn
Drumbrae
Carrick Knowe
Burdiehouse
St John Vianney
Drumbrae
Brunstane
Drumbrae
Gracemount
Parsons Green
Drumbrae
Gylemuir
Unknown
Greendykes
Greendykes
Riccarton
Peffermill
Gracemount / Sighthill
Stenhouse
Sighthill
Gracemount
Sighthill
Gracemount
Juniper Green
Flora Stevenson
Sighthill
Duddingston
Gylemuir / Royal High
Davidsons Mains
Royston
Royston
Gilmerton
Carrick Knowe
Liberton
Carrick Knowe
Liberton
Liberton
Hermitage Park
Balgreen
Duddingston
Gracemount
Unknown
Duddingston / St Johns
St Johns
Buckstone
Fox Covert
Crammond
ESMS Junior School
Flora Stevenson
Murrayburn
Dalry
6 (1 Shared)
ESMS Junior School
Gorgie
Abbeyhill
Drumbrae
North Merchiston
4 (1 Shared)
Gracemount
4 (1 Shared)
Sighthill
Carrick Knowe
Fernieside
Flora Stevenson
Liberton
Sciennes
Towerbank
3 (1 Shared)
Duddingston
3 (1 Shared)
St Johns
Albion Road
Bruntsfield
Craiglockhart
Davidsons Mains
London Street
Peffermill
Royston
South Bridge
Stenhouse
St Leonards
2 (1 Shared)
Buckstone
2 (1 Shared)
Hermitage Park
2 (1 Shared)
St John Vianney
Balgreen
Bonaly
Boroughmuir
Burdiehouse
Brunstane
Cannonmills
Crammond
Dean
Fox Covert
Gilmerton
Juniper Green
Leith Walk
Niddrie
Regent Road
Riccarton
St Francis
Wester Hailes
1 Shared
St Josephs
1 Shared
Royal High
Great piece of info 👌
TelaStella
30-07-2018, 10:37 PM
We were honking but was great fun to look back on, cheers to whoever resurrected this thread. Mostly all scheme boys from leith the best arguably being one who played for the hearts youth team (a Hibee may I add) but never amounted to anything. I played RB mostly, occasionally a bit more forward. I Mind one time we played what I think were Forth View, away. My first time in Pilton as a young laddie, was s****** it on the bus there! Got absolutely slaughtered on the pitch that day as well.
30-07-2018, 10:56 PM
Played with Leith Walk primary in the late sixties but we weren't up to much. Having said that we got to a cup final which was played at Warriston and got beat 3 - 2. Brilliant times apart from trying to kick what seemed like 3 tons of orange plastic the length of yourself. Seem to remember half the team lined up on the 18 yard line when it was a bye kick as no one could clear the box with it - mental.21073
Cauld Bovril
30-07-2018, 11:26 PM
I played in a School Board cup final (1980 I think, lost :-() and an EPSA cup final (1981, cup shared after 3-3 draw aet with everyone beeling cos they wouldn’t let us have pens) but I don’t think we played in the Inspector’s cup or maybe I’ve just blanked it. Anyone remember what the difference was?
I think the difference had something to do with the amount of pupils at the school. The bigger schools couldn't play in one of them, could be wrong though.
I also played in that 3-3 EPSA Cup game so I've got to ask what school you played for?
30-07-2018, 11:43 PM
I got to Gylemuir Primary with just a month left of the term so missed out on their one win! What is ESMS??
Austinho
31-07-2018, 01:56 AM
I went to a very small school in a very small borders town. The town had a fairly decent u12s team that I played in, but that was made up of boys from surrounding areas. The school itself didn’t have enough footballers in primary 7 to make up a full XI, so ended up including kids 1 or 2 years younger than the teams we were facing. In our very first game, we lost 11-1 and I scored the consolation. In fact, we disbanded a few games later, and I ended up as the all time top goal scorer, as well as the only ever goal scorer with about 3.
31-07-2018, 07:23 AM
Stockbridge primary, woolly jumpers and hippies= crap team. But still loved playing even though we got hammered all the time
Sorry dredged this up probably already asked but which era? I was there until 83 iirc. I agree Never won a game. Drew one game. Progressed in the cup tho - courtesy of a by ;) mr Findlay took the wee team. Mr Hand the seniors with a yorkie for the best player :) I didn’t seem to mind the losing just as well I suppose. Folks from Stockie just a wee bit alternative.
cocteautwin
31-07-2018, 07:35 AM
Mitre mould masters and full size goals without nets.
Our home pitch was actually in our playground which was an advantage and we were quite good. St.Cuthberts used to sneak a win once or twice but that was about it. We won the league in 1986 and Gary Mackay was supposed to present us with our medals but he didn't turn up. I don't actually remember ever receiving a medal so the **** probably knicked them.
PMSL. I so want this story to be true. The only way medals Mackay got near to some silverware in 1986. :faf::faf::faf:
My primary school was Towerbank and I got on as a sub once for about 5 minutes at the end of a game probably back in about 1978 when there was a chickenpox epidemic and half the team were out. All I remember was the cheap black and orange moulded boots and the length of the pitch seeming as long as Porty promenade.
I got to Gylemuir Primary with just a month left of the term so missed out on their one win! What is ESMS??
Stuarts Melville
Or 'Erskine Stewarts's Melville Schools' to give it it's full title............
Brummie_Hibs
31-07-2018, 08:56 AM
Roseburn Primary School - Can't remember the years, but would be around 77-82.
We were terrible. I was keeper, and we regularly got humped by double figures. If we scored a goal, it was a big deal!!
I think our coach was called Mr Dick (there is a pun there somewhere!?), and also a couple of brothers - one who went to play in Hong Kong I think.
31-07-2018, 09:23 AM
I think the difference had something to do with the amount of pupils at the school. The bigger schools couldn't play in one of them, could be wrong though.
I also played in that 3-3 EPSA Cup game so I've got to ask what school you played for?
Nether Currie. We were a pretty wee school of about 200.
Stuarts Melville
From Entry form for Cups......
INSPECTORS' CUP - No age restriction, so please note that most teams will be in the P7 category.
SCHOOL BOARD CUP - Players must be P6 age or under at start of current session.
EPSSA CUP - Schools entering this cup may also take part in the School Board Cup but not the Inspectors' Cup. This cup competition is for schools with a roll of less than 240, excluding nursery, on 1st September 2017.
Bill Milne
31-07-2018, 09:33 AM
I played for Craigmillar until 1967. Only ever won 1 game - 11-2 against Craigentinny away, it was our last game too!!
31-07-2018, 09:38 AM
From Entry form for Cups......
INSPECTORS' CUP - No age restriction, so please note that most teams will be in the P7 category.
SCHOOL BOARD CUP - Players must be P6 age or under at start of current session.
EPSSA CUP - Schools entering this cup may also take part in the School Board Cup but not the Inspectors' Cup. This cup competition is for schools with a roll of less than 240, excluding nursery, on 1st September 2017.
Thanks, that clears that up. :aok:
Cauld Bovril
31-07-2018, 10:36 AM
Nether Currie. We were a pretty wee school of about 200.
I was playing against you then. I remember there was a toss of the coin to see who got the winners medals and we won. It was my second medal so I got a wee wooden shield made to display them and all my future medals. 30 odd years later and it still only has two medals on it :-)
31-07-2018, 10:58 AM
I was playing against you then. I remember there was a toss of the coin to see who got the winners medals and we won. It was my second medal so I got a wee wooden shield made to display them and all my future medals. 30 odd years later and it still only has two medals on it :-)
:agree: yep, we got the silver medals :boo hoo: ... but we did get to take the cup home. I think you got it halfway through the year?
tanfield
31-07-2018, 11:01 AM
Wardie Primary around 1979 - 81.
Won the Mackie Shield in 1980 v Fort Primary which I seem to recall was the P5/6 version of the Inspectors Cup.
Unbeaten that season and wore all green strips.
Cauld Bovril
31-07-2018, 11:09 AM
:agree: yep, we got the silver medals :boo hoo: ... but we did get to take the cup home. I think you got it halfway through the year?
Yeah six months each with cup. Terrible way to end a cup final, we all wanted a bit of glory with penalties :-)
31-07-2018, 11:25 AM
Craigentinny primary and I mind playing one game in the semi final of the Fun City Cup circa 1962.
It was played on a pitch in Portobello that was surrounded by lemonade bottles in crates.
We lost 5-0, I think to St John Vianney or similar, but making the semi meant we all got invited to a dinner in what was the Seaview Hotel on the promenade, with two special guests who were unfortunately Jambo players.
Billy Higgins was one, and I think Gordon Marshall the other.
The cup was filled with lemonade and refilled and the intention was to pass it round the four teams invited and everybody have a drink out of it.
However the primary school pupils over the table were seen gobbing into the cup as it went along their row, so that plan was thankfully abandoned pretty early.
31-07-2018, 11:30 AM
Another reason esms do well is more kids get held back a year at private schools so there can be a few older kids playing in their sports teams.
31-07-2018, 11:36 AM
Yeah six months each with cup. Terrible way to end a cup final, we all wanted a bit of glory with penalties :-)
Yep, total anti-climax. We all just assumed there would be pens. We did beat Dean Park (our much bigger Balerno neighbours) on pens in the West cup the same year though. :aok:
inglisavhibs
31-07-2018, 08:42 PM
[QUOTE=Pedantic_Hibee;3743016]Hermitage Park. Whipping boys.[/QUOTE
Was it long enough ago that Neil Steele helped run the team?
31-07-2018, 10:01 PM
Two wins 74 and a joint win in 90. I actually remember the 74 win.......I feel old !
Could't copy and paste original for some reason, but below is a report in the Scotsman from 1922 Final.
Edinburgh Schools Cup Finals
The final ties in the Inspectors and School Board Cups of Edinburgh Education Authority were played at Easter Road last night before 6000 spectators.
St Bernards 2 : South Bridge 0 – St Bernards were worthy winners of the School Board Cup. Except for occassionl pressure by South Bridge in the second half of the game, te winners did all the attacking. Within a few minutes of the start, two goals were scored for St Bernards by Smith and Gibson. Though the South Bridge forwards showed great pluck after the interval, they never looked like saving the game.
Craiglockhart 2 : Abbeyhill 0 – Craiglockhart’s victory of two clear goals in the Inspectors Cup was narrower than the score indicates. Their superiority in the first half was undoubted but on crossing over play ran, if anything, in favour of Abbeyhill. The game was fast and the two goals were due more than anything else to the alertness of the scorers McLuckie and Parnington. Both were scored in the first half. Abbeyhill’s pressure after the interval led to numerous corners but a strong defence prevailed.
01-08-2018, 09:33 AM
Played for Pinkie St Peters primary 5-7.....We were pretty poor in those years (had a great team before I started playing for them)...One final of the Grandison Cup is all I remember & I think we got humped by Loretto.
KerPlunk
01-08-2018, 12:09 PM
[QUOTE=Pedantic_Hibee;3743016]Hermitage Park. Whipping boys.[/QUOTE
Was it long enough ago that Neil Steele helped run the team?
That'll be the same Neil Steele that used to run Salvesen U-16's with Kenny Brown back in mid-70's.
Anyhoo, I was at Fernieside from 65 - 71 and we won the EPSAA Cup in season 70-71. Still got my medal which came from Sydney Latimer's in George St. and the box is signed by Ian Thomson who presented our medals to us. He was ex-Fernie and played for East Fife.
Can't remember who we beat in the final at Warriston though.......
Curriehill PS - very good so I never got in. Got to final of soemthing or other. Had one stand out player who ended up on Hearts books but didn’t amount to anything as he was pretty well off and had plenty of gilrs interest which took up all of his time.
subcom mixu
18-05-2024, 04:43 AM
81-82 Davidsons Mains. Jim Goodwillie and Bob Cockburn as coaches. Warriston League Champions and St Bernards Cup runners up I think. Still have medals somewhere :). Great memories of playing at Warriston and Inverleith. Getting the bus on Saturday mornings. I was keeper. We were pretty good!
18-05-2024, 07:49 AM
Burdhiehouse primary won everything between 86-89 we were simply miles better than any other school team
18-05-2024, 08:09 AM
81-82 Davidsons Mains. Jim Goodwillie and Bob Cockburn as coaches. Warriston League Champions and St Bernards Cup runners up I think. Still have medals somewhere :). Great memories of playing at Warriston and Inverleith. Getting the bus on Saturday mornings. I was keeper. We were pretty good!
I played for Leith Walk Primary, I'm sure you pumped us in a final around about then.
Greensunshine
18-05-2024, 01:57 PM
Played football since I dropped out the womb.
Mostly street fitba but played for my primary and secondary schools. Both were pretty pish tbf. Teachers strike during my secondary didn’t help, that meant no football.
I blame the teachers strike for the reason I didn’t get spotted and make it as a professional 😜
Played for the BB’s and my work team also as well as several decent Saturday and Sunday teams but my most enjoyable times were……playing as kid in the street and fives down Portobello!
Great times!
StirlingHibee
18-05-2024, 02:12 PM
Gylemuir School. We had a decent team. We had a great strip if I remember correctly - it was a kind of mustard/orange colour with a black stripe down one side. Good times.
18-05-2024, 02:21 PM
Sciennes when it was a working class area
We all played in “the meedays 7 days a week
The school team was ok but never won anything
Was lucky enough to play for Edinburgh PS
richard_pitts
18-05-2024, 03:54 PM
Baljaffray Primary in Bearsden, north of Glasgow. Coach for a while was Alex Miller as he was at St Mirren and Graeme and Gregg Miller went to our school. Aside from them, Gary Bendoris signed pro forms with Celtic and never played a game for them. He was outstanding and it's conclusive proof the Old Firm waste talent.
My kids are at Watsons and the Rugby teams are something else.
subcom mixu
18-05-2024, 10:15 PM
I played for Leith Walk Primary, I'm sure you pumped us in a final around about then.
Ha, we might of done. The only team I remember really pumping was Blackhall. I think everyone in our team scored a goal against them, even me as keeper, totally egged on by my team mates. I got well scolded by the ref for doing it :).
biggie1875
18-05-2024, 10:21 PM
Played for mayfield primary school think it was 1993/94 won the police 5 asides I was the keeper ,wore my yellow adidas hibs keeper top never really played again after that .
chippy
19-05-2024, 05:42 AM
St Joseph’s , Broomhouse.
1966-67 Inspectors Cup Jt winners ( with St John Vianney)
1966-67 EPSAA Cup Winners
1965-66 School Board Cup Runner Up ( cuffed 8-0 by St John Vianney- thanks to Gerry Adair and co)
I was goalie , though played left back in Inspectors Cup final re hand injury,
19-05-2024, 06:23 AM
Abbeyhill Primary School 86-89. We were a decent team.