View Full Version : Songs that mention Scottish teams

hibby rae
06-09-2013, 11:52 AM
BBC 6 Music are asking for suggestions for songs that mention top flight Scottish teams. Off the top of my head I can think of:

Cap In Hand- The Proclaimers

Sunshine on Leith- The Proclaimers

and

Killing an Arab- The Cure

Any others folk can think of?

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=652145014809712&set=a.133411500016402.19497.107909022566650&type=1&theater

06-09-2013, 11:54 AM
You're in my heart by Rod Stewart. Mentions sellick.

06-09-2013, 11:54 AM
BBC 6 Music are asking for suggestions for songs that mention top flight Scottish teams. Off the top of my head I can think of:

and

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=652145014809712&set=a.133411500016402.19497.107909022566650&type=1&theater

and the best ever...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jheDyV-4RN0

06-09-2013, 11:56 AM

and

What's the team in Killing an Arab? :confused:

and

Sunshine on Leith? :confused:

Joyful Kilmarnock Blues on the other hand ....

Sweet Left Peg
You're in My Heart - Rod Stewart (Celtic & West Ham)

Too slow.....

06-09-2013, 11:57 AM

This too. :confused:

The Joyful Kilmarnock Blues Lyrics - Proclaimers too though.

06-09-2013, 11:58 AM
You're in My Heart - Rod Stewart (Celtic & West Ham)

Too slow.....

I thought it was Man United?

06-09-2013, 12:00 PM

It is. Rod is a bit of a glory hunter. :greengrin

06-09-2013, 12:09 PM

:agree: Yep defo Man Utd

06-09-2013, 12:12 PM
Queen of the South by the Divine Comedy.

hibby rae
06-09-2013, 12:12 PM
What's the team in Killing an Arab? :confused:

Joyful Kilmarnock Blues on the other hand ....

Fair enough they are a bit tenous. But it's really difficult otherwise!

Sweet Left Peg
06-09-2013, 12:13 PM
Not West Ham? Sure? Always thought he was a West Ham fan.

hibby rae
06-09-2013, 12:14 PM
If Rangers still existed and were in the top flight then "The Sash My Father Wore" by Ballboy could have been included.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqSY3iQM56g

06-09-2013, 12:17 PM
Ballboy - Rangers & Man Utd

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqSY3iQM56g#t=18

If Rangers still existed and were in the top flight then "The Sash My Father Wore" by Ballboy could have been included.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqSY3iQM56g

Well remembered. :aok:

Highlands by Bob Dylan (Aberdeen)

06-09-2013, 12:27 PM
No Partickular place to go by Chuck Berry

IFONLY
06-09-2013, 12:28 PM
I am sure that Marillion (Fish) has a song that includes a so called football teams name ....but I cant for the life of me remember the title!!!!!!

Dunderhall
06-09-2013, 12:29 PM
Straight in at number 1.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yDJ2RI6P7xo&feature=youtube_gdata_player

malcky
06-09-2013, 12:32 PM
I am sure that Marillion (Fish) has a song that includes a so called football teams name ....but I cant for the life of me remember the title!!!!!!

im sure Fish mentioned Hibs on attack on a solo album cant remember the name though

06-09-2013, 12:34 PM
I always thought Rod Stewart was singing about Celtic and Dundee United and I never really understood why...

This was a deduction I made as a young Scottish bairn and I've never really thought more if since, till now

1068gary
06-09-2013, 12:38 PM
world cup 1974, I bought the LP! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kvxziVzAZsk

06-09-2013, 12:45 PM

and

Cap In Hand mentions both Hibs and Stranraer. No football team mentioned in SOL though. Arabs is a reference more to the fans than the team as my Dundee Hibernian supporting son keeps reminding me.

Big Sexy Dave
06-09-2013, 12:52 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zMajPPh6D04

Big Sexy Dave
06-09-2013, 12:54 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qitn6FRc0oc

wazoo1875
06-09-2013, 01:05 PM
No Partickular place to go by Chuck Berry

This made me lol :-)

06-09-2013, 01:14 PM
doesnt mention them by name and is a bit ***** but anything that has a dig at the zombies is worthwhile

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o-tUgDprqlM

sadtom
06-09-2013, 01:21 PM
Not sure what the youtube posts are, so may already be mentioned.
Dundee from Panic by the Smiths.
Ayr on a g string! (any song with air or h**rts for that matter).

06-09-2013, 01:44 PM
The late,great Joe Strummer, whilst playing with the Mescaleros had a song "arms aloft in Aberdeen". On the same cd is Joe playing with Johnny Cash doing Bob Marley's Redemtion Song. That is amazing !!!

VivaHiberña
06-09-2013, 01:48 PM
Great sevco choon:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vYeajoizdm0

06-09-2013, 01:52 PM
Ayr Dry (Airdrie) by Teddy Geiger

06-09-2013, 02:01 PM
This too. :confused:

The Joyful Kilmarnock Blues Lyrics - Proclaimers too though.

Can't remember the name of it but there is another Proclaimers song with the line 'you can save a lot of points by signing Hibs goalie'.

06-09-2013, 02:03 PM
What A Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong

"ICTrees of green...red roses too."

06-09-2013, 02:05 PM
Can't remember the name of it but there is another Proclaimers song with the line 'you can save a lot of points by signing Hibs goalie'.

I think it's Cap in Hand. It was Stranraer who could save a lot points if they signed the Hibs goalie so add Stranraer to the list!

06-09-2013, 02:13 PM
I think it's Cap in Hand. It was Stranraer who could save a lot points if they signed the Hibs goalie so add Stranraer to the list!

Andy Goram at the time.

06-09-2013, 02:33 PM
Aberdeen by Cage the Elephant.

06-09-2013, 02:47 PM
What A Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong

"ICTrees of green...red roses too."

:not worth:faf:

06-09-2013, 05:09 PM
The Northern Lights of old Aberdeen. Load of tartan twaddle but there you go.:wink:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SNODgG0Fd4

Or Worse still - Bonnie Dundee

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Av2-A-igOJk

Prof. Shaggy
06-09-2013, 05:50 PM

Inverness Kayleigh Thistle, maybe?

There's a reference to 'old Aberdeen' in one of the Doors' songs, probably LA Woman.
(but maybe not...)

In fact, the more I think of it, the more certain I get that it's not LA Woman.
Give me half an hour to think.

In classic Dylan mis-heard lyrics mode, I always imagine the chorus to "Ain't Talkin" making reference to "Hibernian, still yearnin" (Classic dodgy rhyme too)

hibbydog
06-09-2013, 05:57 PM
Hamish the goalie by Michael Marra is a gid yin. It's about the legendary Hamish McAlpine. Braw tune.

06-09-2013, 06:35 PM
The late,great Joe Strummer, whilst playing with the Mescaleros had a song "arms aloft in Aberdeen". On the same cd is Joe playing with Johnny Cash doing Bob Marley's Redemtion Song. That is amazing !!!

Not quite true. The version of Redemption song on Streetcore is just Joe. He did do a duet with Johnny Cash though and it's on a box set somewhere.
Pearl Jam have covered Arms Aloft , it's on YouTube and its pretty damn good .

06-09-2013, 07:02 PM
Close - it was "Heart of Lothian" on "Misplaced Childhood".

im sure Fish mentioned Hibs on attack on a solo album cant remember the name though
"Lucky" on "Internal Exile" has a line about being at Easter Road.

06-09-2013, 07:19 PM
Hamish the goalie by Michael Marra is a gid yin. It's about the legendary Hamish McAlpine. Braw tune.

Great song ("...there's Grace Kelly by Taylor Brothers Coal" :greengrin)
Hamish played for the Arabs. Oddly enough Michael was a Dundee FC fan.

06-09-2013, 07:23 PM
The old standard These Are My Mountains has the line:-

Forfar have I wandered.

And then there's the Nick Lowe classic,

I Love The Sound of Brechin Glass.

Ewen McColl:-

Killie Me Softly.

06-09-2013, 07:25 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Av2-A-igOJk[/url]

It's actually about Edinburgh and the Earl of Dundee whom Dundee St is named after.

06-09-2013, 07:28 PM
"ICTrees of green...red roses too." :greengrin:thumbsup:
"No Partickular place to go by Chuck Berry" :greengrin:thumbsup:
VG!

"Hibee-n A Wild Rover for many's a year"

06-09-2013, 07:52 PM
Whit about the Feargal Sharkey classic "A good heart is hard to find". Very true Feargal very true

Miguel
06-09-2013, 08:07 PM
Elvis: Alloa from Hawaii...

06-09-2013, 08:29 PM
It's actually about Edinburgh and the Earl of Dundee whom Dundee St is named after.

Got Dundee in it though :greengrin

06-09-2013, 08:29 PM
The Celtic Symphony mentions, well, Celtic!

06-09-2013, 09:05 PM
Rangers in the Sh*te by Frank Sinatra.

06-09-2013, 09:26 PM
From the film Bonnie and Clyde, erm Bonnie and Clyde :greengrin

06-09-2013, 09:28 PM
Gypsies Tramps and Thieves wiz that no Sellick:greengrin

06-09-2013, 09:29 PM
Wiz Beg Steal or Borrow no' a Gorgie anthem?
or wiz it From Russia with Love?

hibby rae
06-09-2013, 09:32 PM
Not quite true. The version of Redemption song on Streetcore is just Joe. He did do a duet with Johnny Cash though and it's on a box set somewhere.
Pearl Jam have covered Arms Aloft , it's on YouTube and its pretty damn good .

It's on a Johnny Cash box set called Unearthed. I believe it happened as Joe visited the studio one day so they decided to jam and record something for fun. I love little stories like that.

hibbymick
07-09-2013, 06:58 AM
The old classic........."love is in the Ayr"

07-09-2013, 07:45 AM
Surely there will be Housemartins/Beautiful South songs that mention Hull.

07-09-2013, 07:51 AM
Surely there will be Housemartins/Beautiful South songs that mention Hull.

Geography was never my strongest subject at school, but despite that I'm pretty confident that Hull isn't in Scotland :wink:

07-09-2013, 08:09 AM
Living ston a Prayer by Bon Jovi

07-09-2013, 12:08 PM
Geography was never my strongest subject at school, but despite that I'm pretty confident that Hull isn't in Scotland :wink:

:faf: all the talk about West Ham and ManU confused me!

Crazyhorse
07-09-2013, 02:05 PM
Clyde played electric bass (RIP JJ)

Crazyhorse
07-09-2013, 02:13 PM
Albion - Babyshambles

Crazyhorse
07-09-2013, 02:50 PM
Coward of the (Ross) County - Kenny Rogers

07-09-2013, 04:14 PM
Annan Water - The Decemberists :not worth

07-09-2013, 04:16 PM
Smoke On the Water....We all came out to Montrose :wink:

07-09-2013, 04:19 PM
Smoke On the Water....We all came out to Montrose :wink:

07-09-2013, 04:32 PM
Elvis: Alloa from Hawaii...

07-09-2013, 04:36 PM
Pretty Sure Plaistow Patricia by Ian Dury and the Blockheads mentions the Yam, celtc and the club formerly known as Rangers right at the beginning but you'd have to listen carefully to hear them.

07-09-2013, 04:44 PM
"The Real Mcoy" by The Silencers mentions "down to Paradise way" in a reference to darkheid. Spoils an otherwise no-bad song.

08-09-2013, 02:01 AM
You cheatin' Hearts.

Hank Williams Knew.

08-09-2013, 02:49 AM
You cheatin' Hearts.

Hank Williams Knew.

:agree::faf:

08-09-2013, 07:41 AM
The origins of the song are a bit lost in time but Bonnie Dundee was initially about the city & IIRC in the opening lines, St Johnstone, Perth, was also mentioned. Sir Walter Scott took the old tune & the old title & wrote a ditty commemorating Viscount Dundee's Jacobite uprising in about 1689/90. Don't suppose there can be many songs sung at footy re a battle in 1690! :wink:

08-09-2013, 07:55 AM
Panic - The Smiths (Dundee)

Yuillsy
08-09-2013, 08:31 AM

Lucky on The Internal Exile album. I don't it mentions Hibs directly but he sings a line about the guy being at Easter Road on Saturday watching football.

08-09-2013, 08:51 AM
Lucky on The Internal Exile album. I don't it mentions Hibs directly but he sings a line about the guy being at Easter Road on Saturday watching football.

Definitely not about us then. :wink:

Hexham Hibee
08-09-2013, 08:54 AM
May your Hearts be troubled by Deacon Blue. Rickie Ross got his wish there then!

08-09-2013, 09:04 AM
The origins of the song are a bit lost in time but Bonnie Dundee was initially about the city & IIRC in the opening lines, St Johnstone, Perth, was also mentioned. Sir Walter Scott took the old tune & the old title & wrote a ditty commemorating Viscount Dundee's Jacobite uprising in about 1689/90. Don't suppose there can be many songs sung at footy re a battle in 1690! :wink:

Think one line was " open the West Port and let me gan freefor I'm off to join the bunnets of Bonnie Dundee" West Port in Edinburgh?

Only one bunch of Throwbacks remember 1690, they are so good at historical fact maybe they could tell us.

neilmartinrocks
08-09-2013, 02:04 PM
Think one line was " open the West Port and let me gan freefor I'm off to join the bunnets of Bonnie Dundee" West Port in Edinburgh?

Only one bunch of Throwbacks remember 1690, they are so good at historical fact maybe they could tell us."
"for it's up wi' the bonnets of bonnie Dundee"
1689 battle of killiekrankie. the song is about John Graham not Screymgour( who quartered mackays troops when they reached Edinburgh.)

leithsansiro
08-09-2013, 03:16 PM
The song "Subbuteo" by Scottish band Admiral Fallow doesn't name Hibs as such, but they are the team referenced by the line "a red Subbuteo team painted green". :agree:

08-09-2013, 03:33 PM
... and there's the one about the Hun who bought a season ticket at Darkheid

"ST Ranger in Paradise" - Tony Bennett

hibby rae
09-09-2013, 09:46 AM
The song "Subbuteo" by Scottish band Admiral Fallow doesn't name Hibs as such, but they are the team referenced by the line "a red Subbuteo team painted green". :agree:

I'm led to believe that Louis is a Hibby.

09-09-2013, 11:19 AM
Not West Ham? Sure? Always thought he was a West Ham fan.

Nope, he's a gooner. Grew up a stones throw away from Highbury. His auld man was a Hibby from Edinburgh.

hibby rae
27-09-2013, 04:06 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b0072l8y

CHAMPIONSHIP

BARNSLEY - John Shuttleworth - She Lives In Hope

BIRMINGHAM - Electric Light Orchestra - Birmingham Blues

BLACKBURN - Seven - Blackburn

BLACKPOOL -

SCOTTISH PREMIERSHIP

ABERDEEN - Joe Strummer And The Mescaleros - Arms Aloft

CELTIC - Rod Stewart - You're In My Heart

DUNDEE UNITED - The Dubliners - Dundee Weaver / Sham 69 - If The Kids Are United

HEARTS - Candi Staton - Young Hearts Run Free

HIBERNIAN - The Proclaimers - Joyful Kilmarnock Blues

INVERNESS - The Shirehorses - (Now) I Know (Where I'm Going) Our Kid

KILMARNOCK - Johnny Flynn - The Mountain Is Burning

MOTHERWELL - The Fiery Furnaces - Sullivan's Social Slub

PARTICK THISTLE - Carter The Unstoppable Sex Machine - Do Re Me, So Far So Good

ROSS COUNTY - The Fall - Hurricane Edward

ST JOHNSTONE - Richard Thompson - Bonnie St Johnstone

ST MIRREN - The Beat - Mirror In The Bathroom (Shaun Keaveny Version) 1st FAIL

PREMIER LEAGUE

ARSENAL – Winter Of ’79 by the Tom Robinson Band

ASTON VILLA – The Sun Never Sets On Aston Villa by Spizzenergi

CARDIFF – Cardiff In The Sun by the Super Furry Animals

CHELSEA – Chelsea Morning by Judy Collins

CRYSTAL PALACE – Winter by Tori Amos

EVERTON – People Ghetto Song - Everton Blender

FULHAM FC - Ian Dury - What A Waste

HULL CITY - Chumbawumba - Hull or Hell

LIVERPOOL - The Mighty Wah - Heart As Big As Liverpool

MAN CITY - The Jam - In The City

MAN UTD - Fun Boy Three - We're Having All The Fun

NEWCASTLE - It's Immaterial - Driving Away from Home

NORWICH - Tears For Fears - Schrodinger's Cat

SOUTHAMPTON - The Beatles - The Ballad Of John & Yoko

STOKE - Public Service Broadcasting - Night Mail

SUNDERLAND - The Streets - Trust Me

SWANSEA - John Cale - Ship Of Fools

TOTTENHAM - Chas And Dave - Gertcha

WEST BROM - Go Kart Mozart - West Brom Blues

WEST HAM - The Cockney Rejects - Police Car

I particularly like "St Mirren in the bathroom" by Shaun Keaveny.

itslegaltender
27-09-2013, 04:22 PM
Canny believe no one has suggested Zombie by the Cranberries.

27-09-2013, 04:26 PM
Hibernia Song by the Wolfetones

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yj-2VYeUHxs

hibby rae
27-09-2013, 04:27 PM

Or 'your cheating heart' by Hank Williams.

27-09-2013, 05:38 PM

Or 'your cheating heart' by Hank Williams.

I can't believe that either. :wink: