View Full Version : Welcome to Hibs, Paul Heffernan! (Confirmed)

AugustaHibs
30-08-2013, 04:21 PM
Until the end of the 14/15 season.

Received by official text updates.

30-08-2013, 04:23 PM
Until the end of the 14/15 season.

Received by official text updates.

Hope this is true !

30-08-2013, 04:24 PM
Hope this is true !

It is. Just had a text alert from them.

30-08-2013, 04:24 PM
Nice one

30-08-2013, 04:25 PM
Great player!

Just recieved the same as well! Excellent news. Hopefully one more winger and we have a squad that should be competing for 2nd place.

Excellent signing. The season just got a whole lot better today:aok:

Bet Jambos are spewing.:greengrin

nribs
That's Barry news well chuffed with that :)

30-08-2013, 04:26 PM
Great player!

Well - he is now.

Benefits of Jimmy Nichol arriving? Defender signed, proven SPL striker signed, creative winger AM (loan confirmed) not bad.

Just logged on to see the 2 signings today, Zoubir and now this one. Myself and my dad both delighted with it, looking a lot more forward to tomorrow now!

30-08-2013, 04:27 PM
Benefits of Jimmy Nichol arriving? Defender signed, proven SPL striker signed, creative winger AM (loan confirmed) not bad.

You have a good point there.

30-08-2013, 04:27 PM
Delighted with this news. Well done Hibs.

30-08-2013, 04:28 PM
http://i40.tinypic.com/hvukyh.png

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BS7flE2CEAAraXn.png

Damn you Fraz.

http://i40.tinypic.com/hvukyh.png

Excellent!!

Welcome to the Hibees Paul Heffernan!

Damn you Fraz.

Literally the exact second. :greengrin

Now he'll get us goals, I'm sure :thumbsup:

Good news, wasn't he still under contract at Killie though, can't imagine their fans will be very happy?

30-08-2013, 04:29 PM
Very good signing. :agree:

Decent :thumbsup: it's all go at Hibs today :flag:

Good signing :agree:

No excuses now, that's a top 4 squad. In terms of spend can only think Aberdeen will have spent more, other than Celtc.

It is. Just had a text alert from them.

Good stuff :aok:

A real good quality spl player..Delighted with that..Also scored a hattrick against the cheats.

30-08-2013, 04:30 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130830/striker-heffernan-joins-hibernian_2262950_3442819

Wonder where this leaves Ross Caldwell? Possible loan out?

WOW, I'm actually in abit of shock with this signing. Very VERY good move by Hibs! He'll score goals for us!!

Good stuff :aok:

A real good quality spl player..Delighted with that..Also scored a hattrick against the cheats.

Makes it all the sweeter. Hopefully he can replicate that performance on New Year.

27 goals in 60 SPL starts. Yes please

Straight out of left field for this signing, fantastic news, a proven goalscorer at this level.

30-08-2013, 04:31 PM
This is good news :top marks

Where will he play and alongside Collins ?

All we need now is a right back...

Another Irishman :greengrin

Interesting. Never seen this coming at all before today.

With him added and the winger, possibley still Carson too we have some real attacking options! Wonder what the strongest team will be.

Who will play up top vine Collins heffernan? You would think signing him we will deffinetly play a 4-4-2??

No excuses now, that's a top 4 squad. In terms of spend can only think Aberdeen will have spent more, other than Celtc.I hope we've no been doing any cheating though :tsk tsk:

1875Hibees
30-08-2013, 04:33 PM

No excuses now, that's a top 4 squad. In terms of spend can only think Aberdeen will have spent more, other than Celtc.
How is that like? They didnt spend any money on transfer fees and we have signed more players on around similar wages. We have spent much more.

Just showed this piece of news to my yam father. His face was absolutely priceless! The jealousy, oh wow!

Good news, wasn't he still under contract at Killie though, can't imagine their fans will be very happy?

Dont think the statement on the website mentions a fee, just that he agreed a contract. Good signing for us. Killie fans arent very happy.

30-08-2013, 04:34 PM

Was thinking this too. Would be good to have a look on their forum but can't get on. Hope they are furious anyway! Should be a cracking signing.

1875Hibees
30-08-2013, 04:34 PM
Very good signing. He will score goals.

wazoo1875
30-08-2013, 04:35 PM
Great news. Very good striker who always looks dangerous in and around the box. This has been a very good day. Well done Pat !

30-08-2013, 04:36 PM
We've signed a proven SPL striker from Killie before :greengrin

30-08-2013, 04:37 PM
Ah well we're gathering all the ingredients let's just hope that someone knows how to bake the cake.

:coffee:

30-08-2013, 04:38 PM
Great signing

Big Sexy Dave
30-08-2013, 04:39 PM
I'll be the first to say well done Pat, I had doubts after we lost at the theatre of debt mainly because he was too defensive but he seems to have fixed that.

30-08-2013, 04:39 PM
Interesting. Never seen this coming at all before today.

With him added and the winger, possibley still Carson too we have some real attacking options! Wonder what the strongest team will be.

Who will play up top vine Collins heffernan? You would think signing him we will deffinetly play a 4-4-2??

Its a good problem for Fenlon to have now, we have great options with these two signings which should strengthen the first team and the bench. Personally I can see Vine dropping to the bench and us playing 442 with Collins and Heffernan up front, and Craig and Zoubir on the wings.

30-08-2013, 04:40 PM
Ah well we're gathering all the ingredients let's just hope that someone knows how to bake the cake.

:coffee:

RP has obviously wanted to take some attention away from himself and back onto the team :agree:

30-08-2013, 04:41 PM
Can he play tomorrow?

30-08-2013, 04:42 PM
Keeping it under wraps until the deal is done = Hibs class

Can he play tomorrow?

Hopefully should do.

Crikey, didn't see this one coming! Terrific news though :flag:

Hank Schrader
30-08-2013, 04:43 PM
Great signing

Very pleased with this. :agree:

I attended a Notts County v Oldham league game in September 2002 whilst down in Nottingham for a wedding. Ended up 1-3 to Oldham. Scorers that day included Chris Killen for Oldham and Paul Heffernan for Notts. He was just a youngster at the time.

Fitz Hall (One Size) played that day too :greengrin

Found the footage http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHO9Uy8oqHM

Can he play tomorrow?

If his international clearance comes through, aye

Kilmarnock is on a different planet is it not? :greengrin

How is that like? They didnt spend any money on transfer fees and we have signed more players on around similar wages. We have spent much more.
Barry Robson*(Sheffield United),*Willo Flood*(Dundee United),*Gregg Wylde(Bolton),*Lawrence Shankland*(Queen's Park),*Calvin Zola*(Burton Albion),*Nicky Weaver*(Sheffield Wednesday), Michael Hector (Reading, six-month loan)

I would be surprised if those signings don't have a higher wage spend than ours.

30-08-2013, 04:44 PM
Experienced and proven goalscorer in this league. Great signing hibs, Carson and thats it.

30-08-2013, 04:46 PM
Excellent stuff .

Iceman1875
30-08-2013, 04:47 PM
Experienced and proven goalscorer in this league. Great signing hibs, Carson and thats it.

Agreed. I'm guessing we have paid a fee for him? Anyone know?

30-08-2013, 04:47 PM

Carson will hopefully be tied up by KO the morn and we can concentrate on getting back to winning 3 points the morn.

GGTTH07
30-08-2013, 04:48 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WyOFr11joLE
More of the same son.

30-08-2013, 04:49 PM
Another Irishman, does Fenlon know there are other country's where you can sign players from?

TheFamous1875
30-08-2013, 04:50 PM
Always read before writing!

TheFamous1875
30-08-2013, 04:52 PM
Always read before writing!

30-08-2013, 04:52 PM
Decent enough signing. Heff might be past his best but can still do the business. Let's hope there's enough outfield play for the boy to keep on scoring. Nice one to Pat for pulling this bunny out of the hat.

30-08-2013, 04:54 PM
Another Irishman, does Fenlon know there are other country's where you can sign players from?

The very thing that crossed my mind when he signed Liam O'Craig and Owain Tudor O'Jones :wink:

30-08-2013, 04:55 PM
Cup tied in League cup unfortunately.

30-08-2013, 04:55 PM
The very thing that crossed my mind when he signed Liam O'Craig and Owain Tudor O'Jones :wink:

Exactly John, its getting daft now. :greengrin

maturehibby
30-08-2013, 04:56 PM
Can he play tomorrow?
Will let you know as you wont be there to see him play as Fenlon will still be the Manager

30-08-2013, 04:56 PM
Where's the resident Killie fan, is it Van Nishtelrooy? Would like to hear his opinion on how good he has and if he's sad to see the back of him.

Iceman1875
30-08-2013, 04:59 PM
Has to be the strongest squad (on paper) we have had since 2007?

Gus Fring
30-08-2013, 05:02 PM
Was thinking this too. Would be good to have a look on their forum but can't get on. Hope they are furious anyway! Should be a cracking signing.

Usual guff from them. "That's his career finished" "They're spending money they don't have" "Fenlon can only sign irish players" etc

Bronson
30-08-2013, 05:10 PM
I'm absolutely delighted with this, proven SPL goalscorer and prone to a wee hat-trick at Tynie:wink:

Seriously think this is one of the best bits of business we've done over the last few seasons. Anyone know what the fee was cause he was definitely under contract, played last week against us

Up The Bracket
30-08-2013, 05:10 PM
Would just like to apologise to him for calling him an "overrated ugly junkie" on Saturday.

Good luck Paul :greengrin

30-08-2013, 05:11 PM
Usual guff from them. "That's his career finished" "They're spending money they don't have" "Fenlon can only sign irish players" etc

Usual racist crap from them re Irish signings, conveniently forgetting that 10 of the current squad signed by Fenlon are not Irish.

Interesting comment on there from a Killie fan (below) think they are going to miss him

Absolute gutted. Apparently bullied out after speaking out about how ridiculous the sacking of Shiels was. At least we still have Mark Stewart... Proper fe cked if we don't sign someone else

30-08-2013, 05:15 PM
Great signing !!! And the french guy looks class

30-08-2013, 05:16 PM
It looks like they've replaced him with Gardyne from United on loan till January. Think Killie could struggle this season after watching them on Saturday and then giving us their main striker :agree:

30-08-2013, 05:17 PM
Usual racist crap from them re Irish signings, conveniently forgetting that 10 of the current squad signed by Fenlon are not Irish.

Interesting comment on there from a Killie fan (below) think they are going to miss him

Absolute gutted. Apparently bullied out after speaking out about how ridiculous the sacking of Shiels was. At least we still have Mark Stewart... Proper fe cked if we don't sign someone else

Got a link mate?

30-08-2013, 05:17 PM
Very good signing in my opinion.

Petrie and Fenlon have swept the rug from under me however and have now rendered a transfer deadline day thread pretty much redundant. Pricks.

30-08-2013, 05:18 PM
Pleased with this.

I'm sure he'll score goals for us.

30-08-2013, 05:23 PM
Got a link mate?

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/132329-another-irishman/

30-08-2013, 05:24 PM
Will fenlon play him at defensive midfield??

Hahahaha.

Great signing. Delighted.

30-08-2013, 05:25 PM
Genuinely delighted, think the guy is a great player.

30-08-2013, 05:30 PM
That's a bit more like it - and a two year contract.

That's cheered me up - a WEE bit. :greengrin

30-08-2013, 05:30 PM

"Monthly losses"

"If I walked past the Methadome smoking a wee red pipe and carrying a pig under my arm I reckon fenlol would offer me a 2 year deal. Incredible. "

Aye a 2 year deal to eat the ***** out of the bogs ya wee rodent.

30-08-2013, 05:33 PM

Bloody hell!!

They do spew a ton of s****. Have their World Cup superstars arrived yet?

green.and.white
30-08-2013, 05:35 PM

Seething with jealousy

30-08-2013, 05:35 PM
Cup tied in League cup unfortunately.

i thought that as soon as i saw he had signed, this must have just came about the last 48 hours otherwise hibs would have asked killie pies not to play him against Hamilton, ah well, it means he cant play in the final for us........welcome Mr Heffernan

is that the right back position covered now :greengrin

30-08-2013, 05:46 PM
Decent :thumbsup: it's all go at Hibs today :flag:
Petrie must be at the office today I guess. :greengrin

30-08-2013, 05:49 PM
Went on twitter and typed in his name. Killie fans genuinely gutted he's gone, Utd and sheep fans saying good signing and Hearts fans with their usual pish. Makes it all the better!

30-08-2013, 05:51 PM

Hearts fans in anti-Irish racism shocker.

30-08-2013, 05:52 PM
When you're not creating many chances (hopefully something that will change) it puts real pressure on your strikers to take them - this guy can finish.

30-08-2013, 05:53 PM
Good SPL signing. It appears Rod and Pat have listen. Anyone doubt that PF is staying and board have backed him?

30-08-2013, 05:55 PM
Cant remember the last time I logged on to this site and let out a whooopppeee !!!

Great signing, utterly chuffed with this ..... If I had my pick of strikers that I would have wanted Hibs to sign from the Premiership PH would have been right up there. Tried & tested and proved many times what a good player he is.

The Tache is like bloody Rocky ..... every time you think he's been landed a knock out blow he comes out swinging :take that

30-08-2013, 05:56 PM

Disagree Matty, second place should now be the aim. :greengrin

30-08-2013, 06:00 PM

Haha...two weeks is a long time in football expectations. :-)

Hibdan12
30-08-2013, 06:03 PM
so what number do we think he'll get?

30-08-2013, 06:03 PM
Wow! I was very happy with the signing of Zouby....now I'm dumbstruck. There's no doubting the intent from the board. Just hope they gel as a team....and soon

Purehibee_MYB
30-08-2013, 06:04 PM
SteveHFC has been awffy quiet today.... :tumble:

Purehibee_MYB
30-08-2013, 06:05 PM
so what number do we think he'll get?

Heff is number 24

30-08-2013, 06:06 PM
Just home.
Whoa.
Fantastic!!!!!

30-08-2013, 06:06 PM
so what number do we think he'll get?You have an awfy fascination wi numbers ..:greengrin

Teapot
30-08-2013, 06:08 PM
Should be a good signing, Another player in with a proven SPL track record.

This signing seems to indicate he's planning on a 4-4-2. Collins and Heffernan should compliment each other well.

If they get the service i can see plenty of goals from Heffernan and Collins.

30-08-2013, 06:08 PM
SteveHFC has been awffy quiet today.... :tumble:Good ..hopefully he remains quiet ..:wink:

1068gary
30-08-2013, 06:09 PM
quality signing, well done Pat and Rod!

30-08-2013, 06:12 PM
Bloody hell!!

They do spew a ton of s****. Have their World Cup superstars arrived yet?

Arriving right after they win the Champions League in May, apparently.

30-08-2013, 06:13 PM
Really pleased to have another option up front. Would still like to get Carson in as I think part of the problem right now is lack of service to the forwards. If we can get that sorted we'll have a quality squad with depth

30-08-2013, 06:15 PM
Strong squad - my view in 1st choice and 2nd choice and in some cases 3rd choice for each position.

Williams / Murdoch

Clancy / Mullen / Maybury
Nelson / McPake / Forster
Hanlon / McGivern
Mcgivern/Stevenson

Harris / Zoubir / Handling
Thomson / Robertson
Tawio / OTJ
Craig / Cairney

Heffernan / Vine
Collins / Caldwell

Hibdan12
30-08-2013, 06:18 PM
You have an awfy fascination wi numbers ..:greengrin

if only i could count! :greengrin

iainm1875
30-08-2013, 06:20 PM
Have we just signed a "fox in the box" ?
Delighted.

Bob Box Fish
30-08-2013, 06:24 PM
Good signing, we have our strongest squad in a while just need a decent manager now to take us forward ;)

30-08-2013, 06:25 PM
superb.

predicting a hefty New Years derby Victory for us now. Collins will soon be up to speed and now we have improved firepower and a wide man. AND wee Alex to return.

all good!

30-08-2013, 06:29 PM

They're just jealous that their summer signings are BDO and Billy Brown.

Niffy
30-08-2013, 06:29 PM
We've an excellent squad now, just hope (like the Jambos are saying - in jealousy) that they don't get ruined, and Pat gets the best out of every one of them.

30-08-2013, 06:30 PM
I'm pretty surprised at the feedback here, I didn't expect everyone to be so positive about this. I'm usually a self confessed happy clapper but I'm underwhelmed by PH's signing. I'd rather see Caldwell progress more although I suppose PH can help him, he's scored a good few goals in fairness but I've never been convinced by him. But then I thought the same of Higdon until last season...

Prove me wrong PH!

And he's certainly not one for the ladies, won't do anything for calendar sales!

30-08-2013, 06:30 PM
superb.

predicting a hefty New Years derby Victory for us now. Collins will soon be up to speed and now we have improved firepower and a wide man. AND wee Alex to return.

all good!

I think I might even be looking forward to tomorrow after reading that :thumbsup:

30-08-2013, 06:35 PM
Killie have signed Michael Gardyne from Dundee Utd on loan until January.

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/8897943/dundee-united-winger-michael-gardyne-has-joined-kilmarnock-on-loan

30-08-2013, 06:40 PM
I'm pretty surprised at the feedback here, I didn't expect everyone to be so positive about this. I'm usually a self confessed happy clapper but I'm underwhelmed by PH's signing. I'd rather see Caldwell progress more although I suppose PH can help him, he's scored a good few goals in fairness but I've never been convinced by him. But then I thought the same of Higdon until last season...

Prove me wrong PH!

And he's certainly not one for the ladies, won't do anything for calendar sales!

I've seen worse :cb :cool2: :greengrin

hibeesjoe
30-08-2013, 06:41 PM
Good signing, hopefully rattles a few in this season. Welcome to Hibs

30-08-2013, 06:44 PM
We've an excellent squad now, just hope (like the Jambos are saying - in jealousy) that they don't get ruined, and Pat gets the best out of every one of them.

Amongst all the nonsense on that Hearts forum (and there are some sensible posters who acknowledge it as a good signing), I think that is a good point, we do have a bit of a habit of not being able to bring the best out of players. I still think we could use a bit more flair in the team, but theres no excuse with the selection of players available that we shouldnt be able to play good football and at least be competitive with some of the better teams in the league.

Sergio sledge
30-08-2013, 06:49 PM
Finally someone to fulfil the Kuqi role. :greengrin:

vanNISHtelroy
30-08-2013, 06:51 PM
Gutted that Heff is away! Although it has been rumoured since he gave an interview criticising the sacking of Kenny.

Was also doing the rounds in last week or so that Sandy Clark doesn't rate him (surely that is a good thing and means we should have kept him?)

Now only 1 player at the club who was involved in final against Celtic

30-08-2013, 06:51 PM
Amongst all the nonsense on that Hearts forum (and there are some sensible posters who acknowledge it as a good signing), I think that is a good point, we do have a bit of a habit of not being able to bring the best out of players. I still think we could use a bit more flair in the team, but theres no excuse with the selection of players available that we shouldnt be able to play good football and at least be competitive with some of the better teams in the league.

:agree: A team with a line up of;

Williams

Clancy
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Thomson
Craig
Robertson
Zoubir (I've never seen him play but, for now, I'll go on the assumption that he'll be a good signing)

Heffernan
Collins

SUBS

Murdoch
McPake
Stevenson
Harris
Taiwo
Vine
Caldwell

Should be, at the very least, challenging for a top four place.

Any lower than that would be unacceptable.

coco22
30-08-2013, 06:52 PM
Welcome aboard! Amazing what a new signing can do for morale. A forwards squad of Collins, heffernan, vine, handling and caldwell seems strong and has depth, options and obvious competition for places. Sweet

30-08-2013, 06:52 PM
GK - Williams
RB - Stevenson
CB - Nelson
CB - Hanlon
LB - McGivern
DM - Thomson
DM - Taiwo/OTJ
ARM - Vine/Handling
ACM - Craig
ALM - Zoubir/Harris
CF - Collins/Heffernan

Or

GK - Williams
RB - Mullen/Stevenson
CB - Nelson
CB - Hanlon
LB - McGivern
RM - Vine
CM - Thomson
CM - Craig
LM - Zoubir
CF - Heffernan
CF - Collins

30-08-2013, 06:56 PM

To be honest i think he is a great signing, his stats speak for themselves, with the squad we now have 2nd should be a possibility, i still have no faith in Fenlon

he obviously has an eye for a player, its how he plays them and the style that still worries me

please please please let him prove me wrong!!

30-08-2013, 07:01 PM
To be honest i think he is a great signing, his stats speak for themselves, with the squad we now have 2nd should be a possibility, i still have no faith in Fenlon

he obviously has an eye for a player, its how he plays them and the style that still worries me

Great signing on his own merit but the experience he can pass on to Collins & Caldwell will be invaluable as well.

Great piece of business by Hibs.

30-08-2013, 07:05 PM
Great signing on his own merit but the experience he can pass on to Collins & Caldwell will be invaluable as well.

I can't agree enough, im seriously chuffed we have signed him

but still have a niggling doubt, tactics and the way we play will hamper where we should be this year

in my eyes there is still no excuse not to finish 2nd, outside of Celtc i wouldn't swap our squad for anyone else's

Pat its over to you

30-08-2013, 07:15 PM
Heffernan interview from Hibs TV

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3jDKiowMcc

30-08-2013, 07:18 PM
I can't agree enough, im seriously chuffed we have signed him

but still have a niggling doubt, tactics and the way we play will hamper where we should be this year

in my eyes there is still no excuse not to finish 2nd, outside of Celtc i wouldn't swap our squad for anyone else

Pat its over to you

Totally agree.

30-08-2013, 07:23 PM
Fantastic bit of business

Slowly putting a very strong squad together

Lets hope they all click soon

I've a feeling we are going to give some team a real doing when they all get used to each other

Lots of possibilities now with different formations

I think we will see same team as last week tmw as we won but I might be inclined to go 433

Williams

Stevenson
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Robertson
Taiwo
Craig

Vine
Collins
Hefferman

Subs

Murdoch
Foster
OTJ
Stanton
Handling
Zoubir
Caldwell

Very strong squad on paper with Thommo still to come back and once the likes of Harris, Clancy, McPake and Cairney get back to full fitness with youngsters Donaldson, Mullen, Horribine all available we SHOULD be up there challenging for a euro spot.

The future is green

30-08-2013, 07:26 PM
We now have a strong squad. There are no excuses now, we have to fulfill the potential.

erskine-hibby
30-08-2013, 07:28 PM
Good signings imho. Well done hibs.
Should put a few bums on seats hopefully.

30-08-2013, 07:30 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3jDKiowMccThat ****ing trainee S43 drummer needs tae get up tae speed !!!!!

30-08-2013, 07:35 PM
Can remember it was just last week I was saying it was good for Kilmarnock that they kept him!

Never thought he'd be signing for us!

MurrayfieldHibs
30-08-2013, 07:37 PM
This is a very good signing and definitely means that we have one of the strongest squads in the SPFL and the best we have had for some time :thumbsup:

Now there are no excuses. We will find out over coming weeks if Pat can get them to play attractive winning football:hmmm:

I really, really hope so :agree:

:hibees:hibees

30-08-2013, 07:39 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3jDKiowMcc

Poor Heff, with all that amateurish banging in the background. He reminded me of the Mark Wahlberg character during the firecracker scene in Boogie Nights.

30-08-2013, 07:40 PM
I've had worse :cb :cool2: :greengrin

:Ummm:

30-08-2013, 07:49 PM
Just home. Great news :thumbsup:

30-08-2013, 08:01 PM
A winger AND a proven striker!

Its like that scene in The Godfather part III. Every time I think I'm out, the Tache pulls me back in!

30-08-2013, 08:04 PM
Poor Heff, with all that amateurish banging in the background. He reminded me of the Mark Wahlberg character during the firecracker scene in Boogie Nights.

Love it! If he scores as often we'll be fine!! :greengrin

30-08-2013, 08:06 PM
A winger AND a proven striker!

Its like that scene in The Godfather part III. Every time I think I'm out, the Tache pulls me back in!

30-08-2013, 08:26 PM
:Ummm:

:tsk tsk: :lips seal :tee hee:

30-08-2013, 08:57 PM
Well done Hibs and welcome the Heff.

30-08-2013, 08:57 PM
I may even post something positive after seeing this signing announced. :D

paul_hfc3
30-08-2013, 08:58 PM
Cheesin! Good signing Hibs, well played.

LeithBoozy
30-08-2013, 09:05 PM
I just turned on the lap top an hour ago to find out the news, to say I'm pleased is a understatement. I have always rated him as a very good player, so I think he will become a firm favourite with us. As some of the lads have already pointed out, for the first in ages we are going to have not only a very good team. But as the injuries clear up a very strong bench. :wink: So chuffed, but we deserve it.

30-08-2013, 09:06 PM
If we were just a winger and a striker away from being potentially a decent side anyone else willing to admit we maybe over reacted after the first two league games? Not saying pats out the woods yet but maybe we do need to wait to see how this new team gels?

30-08-2013, 09:10 PM
"Monthly losses"

"If I walked past the Methadome smoking a wee red pipe and carrying a pig under my arm I reckon fenlol would offer me a 2 year deal. Incredible. "

Aye a 2 year deal to eat the ***** out of the bogs ya wee rodent.

Zero chance of them getting relegated with what is a decent squad compared to the rest of the pish SPL. Slow and little creativity but they have decent SPL experience and well ahead of likes of St Midden and Killie. Fenlon would have to be match fixing if he gets them relegated...

What about them ?

30-08-2013, 09:11 PM
If we were just a winger and a striker away from being potentially a decent side anyone else willing to admit we maybe over reacted after the first two league games? Not saying pats out the woods yet but maybe we do need to wait to see how this new team gels?

Nope! Ultimately its results and the quality of the football that counts. The challenge for Fenlon is now to produce the goods with the strength of the squad that he undoubtedly has.

30-08-2013, 09:17 PM

I'm afraid I'm in the same place as you. Team looks great now on paper, but the manager needs a plan. If he has one, he's doing a great job of keeping it to himself.

I've lost faith in Pat and he needs to pull a huge rabbit out of the hat to restore it.

30-08-2013, 09:25 PM

Steady :greengrin

Persevere80
30-08-2013, 09:30 PM
Happy days. I think we have signed a lot of decent players from other spl clubs that have experience playing in the league. Well done rod and good luck to pat and our newly shaped squad.

30-08-2013, 09:39 PM
John Barnes‏@JohnBarnes0112m (http://www.hibs.net/JohnBarnes01/status/373556764865994753)For those asking , Heffernan moved to Hibs for no fee !
:cb

30-08-2013, 09:47 PM
Chances of playing tomorrow?

MacGruber
Strong squad - my view in 1st choice and 2nd choice and in some cases 3rd choice for each position.

Williams / Murdoch

Hanlon / McGivern
Mcgivern/Stevenson

Thomson / Robertson
Tawio / OTJ
Craig / Cairney

Heffernan / Vine
Collins / Caldwell

Add in Stanton, Horribine & Donaldson having been around the fringes and a very good under 20's team in relation to their peers to call on and things are looking very promising.

It's easily the best squad on paper outwith Celtic IMO though not saying necessarily we will finish second. Certainly however it would be crass not to be aiming to finish best of the rest with the outlay we've seen over the summer.

The board have certainly rolled the dice to turn us around. Let's hope the fans get on board en masse aswell and we'll all get there that bit quicker!

Roll on Saturday!! (a phrase that a week ago seemed unlikely to get an airing anytime soon)

This should be a good signing for us, intelliegent footballer, good striker, liked him at Notts County, hopefully we will use him in a more attack minded set up as we do have the players now. All down to how we arrange them on the pitch and motivate them.

30-08-2013, 09:49 PM
Why do the yams have an obsession with how players look? I thought we were the gay ones?

30-08-2013, 09:51 PM
;3736629']Why do the yams have an obsession with how players look? I thought we were the gay ones?

They get confused because our players all have ten fingers

MADE IN LEITH
30-08-2013, 10:02 PM
Should play tomorrow :cb

30-08-2013, 10:28 PM
Welcome to Easter Road, Paul.:flag:

steino1875
30-08-2013, 10:41 PM
great news welcome paul:flag::thumbsup:

30-08-2013, 10:43 PM
Delighted he has signed but why did Killie let him go on a free transfer?

Shields Hibee
30-08-2013, 10:56 PM
Was pleased when I heard the news, good player at Killie & can hopefully be a success here.

Hopefully we'll see him tomorrow either from the start or coming off the bench.

30-08-2013, 11:02 PM

Rumours of a falling out with the management team and also the chairman.

30-08-2013, 11:04 PM
Was pleased when I heard the news, good player at Killie & can hopefully be a success here.

Hopefully we'll see him tomorrow either from the start or coming off the bench.

Hope he starts, must be fit, played against us last week

Sent from my iPhone at home on crutches

30-08-2013, 11:15 PM
Hearts fans in anti-Irish racism shocker.

And that'll be the same lot who signed 386 Lithuanians in the space of 12 months?

If only I had walked passed the bus shelter wearing a puma shell suit and black slip on shoes at the time I may have been signed.. (ironic racism)

30-08-2013, 11:36 PM

Your no far wrong btw.

30-08-2013, 11:46 PM

You've been crawling sideways too long mate !

30-08-2013, 11:51 PM

Did he not get bullied/forced out after open Criticism of the Killy chairman over Shiels sacking.

30-08-2013, 11:55 PM
You've been crawling sideways too long mate !

Never out ma shell either. :)

30-08-2013, 11:56 PM
Steady :greengrin

:D

gorgie greens
31-08-2013, 12:31 AM
;3736629']Why do the yams have an obsession with how players look? I thought we were the gay ones?

FFS comming from the team that had Steven Fulton

31-08-2013, 05:07 AM

:agree: x 2

vanNISHtelroy
31-08-2013, 07:05 AM
Did he not get bullied/forced out after open Criticism of the Killy chairman over Shiels sacking.

That seems to be the general feeling! Folk who claimed to be in the know had said he wouldn't kick another ball for us not too long after that and most were surprised when he started this season in the team.

Also talk that Sandy Clark doesn't rate him - so you've got a great player then!

31-08-2013, 07:46 AM
That seems to be the general feeling! Folk who claimed to be in the know had said he wouldn't kick another ball for us not too long after that and most were surprised when he started this season in the team.

Also talk that Sandy Clark doesn't rate him - so you've got a great player then!

I've always rated him. Thought him and Dayton were good when they played together.

31-08-2013, 07:52 AM
Welcome to "the Heff" . :agree:

31-08-2013, 08:11 AM
Good to have another Irish fella in the squad. Especially after signing that French boy yesterday.

franco
31-08-2013, 08:17 AM
FFS comming from the team that had Steven Fulton

was he the one that was booked for being ugly :greengrin

WestEndHibee
31-08-2013, 08:17 AM
John Barnes‏@JohnBarnes0112m (http://www.hibs.net/JohnBarnes01/status/373556764865994753)For those asking , Heffernan moved to Hibs for no fee !
:cb

This is where the yacht comes into his own :greengrin

31-08-2013, 08:55 AM
Jeez. Good stuff Hibs!

hibby rae
31-08-2013, 09:10 AM
Welcome to "the Heff" . :agree:

Don't hassle the Heff.

31-08-2013, 09:16 AM
Don't hassle the Heff.

31-08-2013, 09:18 AM
Delighted with Heffernan.

31-08-2013, 09:18 AM

It wasnae just two league games folk were reacting to, but, thats for other threads.

31-08-2013, 10:54 AM
In say two months time would anyone fancy a different score v Malmo?! I'd think so and it's why I don't think it's fair we play teams who have their full squad already signed and well up to match practice and fitness together.

Anyway, hope we see at least one of the new guys today!

31-08-2013, 11:38 AM
In say two months time would anyone fancy a different score v Malmo?! I'd think so and it's why I don't think it's fair we play teams who have their full squad already signed and well up to match practice and fitness together.

Anyway, hope we see at least one of the new guys today!

Maybe, but they were really quality. The way they played was the way I and many other Hibees wished we could play like that. Another argument is, should we consider switching to summer football to ensure we are up to speed with match practice and fitness as well as having a settled squad?

Hibiza
31-08-2013, 01:34 PM
welcome, Paul. Stick in. :flag: :flag: :flag:

31-08-2013, 02:02 PM

Williams / Murdoch

Hanlon / McGivern
Mcgivern/Stevenson

Thomson / Robertson
Tawio / OTJ
Craig / Cairney

Heffernan / Vine
Collins / Caldwell

The defence needs sorting. Obvious weakness at RB - Clancy long-term injury, Mullen not terribly impressive so far, and Maybury solid but slowing up. Also fitness questions about Clancy, McPake and Cairney need to be resolved. And on the left side of defence we have three players covering two positions.

PF should have done more to resolve those issues, but with two long-term injuries to first-choice players ....

Zoubir an unknown quantity, not convinced by Vine or Collins yet. Too early to tell whether this is a strong squad or just the same old.

But getting Heffernan should prove to be a real bonus.

31-08-2013, 02:12 PM
Slightly off topic here but if we played ONLY the players signed this window [with exception of 'keeper] the team would look like ....................................... Williams - Mullen/Nelson/OTJ/McGivern - Vine/Thomson/Craig/new French winger [cannae remember his name] - Heffernan/Collins. Disnae look too bad a side to be honest.

31-08-2013, 02:56 PM
Welcome the heff, team on paper looks great, lets c it on the park!

Big Sexy Dave
01-09-2013, 07:44 PM
I've heard that he wasn't the highest paid player at Kilie, Pascali was, why would Allan Johnstone lie in public?

Big Sexy Dave
13-09-2013, 03:30 PM
NEW Hibernian striker Paul Heffernan insists he did not have to think twice about moving to Easter Road - even after the Leith side's Europa League nightmare.

The 31-year-old Dubliner made a surprise switch from Kilmarnock to the capital the day before the summer transfer window shut.

Despite netting scoring 27 goals in 61 appearances for Killie, he was allowed to leave by boss Allan Johnston and chairman Michael Johnston.

The Rugby Park side have failed to win any of their five Scottish Premiership matches so far but Pat Fenlon's men have done little better, with just one victory to date.

Their season started in the blackest way possible after losing 9-0 on aggregate to Swedes Malmo in the Europa League qualifiers - Scotland's worst ever European result.

But Heffernan claims that scoreline was not enough to dissuade him from moving to Edinburgh and believes there is much more to come from Hibs.

"I saw the 9-0 against Malmo but it wasn't something that put me off coming here," he said.

"It was very early in the season - it was pre-season really. It's hard to judge a team on that because Malmo were a good side who are halfway through their season. It was just one of those nights were everything went for them. That can happen in football.

"But we can definitely get back to challenging for Europe. We have a squad here that is good enough to be in the top six. But there's no use saying that. You need to prove it on a Saturday."

Heffernan's place in the Kilmarnock team came under threat following the arrival of former Scotland international Kris Boyd but his lethal scoring record proves he still had plenty to offer Killie.

So the player himself admits it was quite a surprise when he was told by the two Johnstons he was free to go.

He said: "It all came out of the blue. I was at Kilmarnock and my agent spoke to the chairman, who said he was willing to let me go for free.

"My agent then spoke to Hibs and they were interested in bringing me here and that's how it happened. It was so quick. I was training as a Kilmarnock player on the Thursday and by the Friday I was having a medical at Hibs.

"That's what happens in football. When a new manager comes in, he is looking to freshen the place up a bit and that's fine. I have no problem with that.

"I hand't spoken to Allan about leaving but maybe the chairman wanted to free up some wages to get other players in because the finances are pretty tight. That's what would have happened I would have imagined.

"But it's worked out well for me. I've signed a two-year deal at a bigger club and I'm delighted."

Hibs have struck just three league goals this season but Heffernan believes with him, new £200,000 signing James Collins, Rowan Vine - who returns alongside Liam Craig to take on their old St Johnstone team at McDiarmid Park on Saturday - and young frontman Ross Caldwell, Fenlon has more than enough striking options to see that tally improve.

He said: "We have four good strikers here now and all of us are capable of scoring goals. Whoever is in the team will have to do enough to make sure the manager can't leave them out. It's all good healthy competition.

"Even if you are only getting on for the last half an hour, you have got to impress the manager and make sure it's hard to leave you out." From the Daily Ranjurs.

andrew70
13-09-2013, 03:58 PM
NEW Hibernian striker Paul Heffernan insists he did not have to think twice about moving to Easter Road - even after the Leith side's Europa League nightmare.

The 31-year-old Dubliner made a surprise switch from Kilmarnock to the capital the day before the summer transfer window shut.

Despite netting scoring 27 goals in 61 appearances for Killie, he was allowed to leave by boss Allan Johnston and chairman Michael Johnston.

The Rugby Park side have failed to win any of their five Scottish Premiership matches so far but Pat Fenlon's men have done little better, with just one victory to date.

Their season started in the blackest way possible after losing 9-0 on aggregate to Swedes Malmo in the Europa League qualifiers - Scotland's worst ever European result.

But Heffernan claims that scoreline was not enough to dissuade him from moving to Edinburgh and believes there is much more to come from Hibs.

"I saw the 9-0 against Malmo but it wasn't something that put me off coming here," he said.

"It was very early in the season - it was pre-season really. It's hard to judge a team on that because Malmo were a good side who are halfway through their season. It was just one of those nights were everything went for them. That can happen in football.

"But we can definitely get back to challenging for Europe. We have a squad here that is good enough to be in the top six. But there's no use saying that. You need to prove it on a Saturday."

Heffernan's place in the Kilmarnock team came under threat following the arrival of former Scotland international Kris Boyd but his lethal scoring record proves he still had plenty to offer Killie.

So the player himself admits it was quite a surprise when he was told by the two Johnstons he was free to go.

He said: "It all came out of the blue. I was at Kilmarnock and my agent spoke to the chairman, who said he was willing to let me go for free.

"My agent then spoke to Hibs and they were interested in bringing me here and that's how it happened. It was so quick. I was training as a Kilmarnock player on the Thursday and by the Friday I was having a medical at Hibs.

"That's what happens in football. When a new manager comes in, he is looking to freshen the place up a bit and that's fine. I have no problem with that.

"I hand't spoken to Allan about leaving but maybe the chairman wanted to free up some wages to get other players in because the finances are pretty tight. That's what would have happened I would have imagined.

"But it's worked out well for me. I've signed a two-year deal at a bigger club and I'm delighted."

Hibs have struck just three league goals this season but Heffernan believes with him, new £200,000 signing James Collins, Rowan Vine - who returns alongside Liam Craig to take on their old St Johnstone team at McDiarmid Park on Saturday - and young frontman Ross Caldwell, Fenlon has more than enough striking options to see that tally improve.

He said: "We have four good strikers here now and all of us are capable of scoring goals. Whoever is in the team will have to do enough to make sure the manager can't leave them out. It's all good healthy competition.

"Even if you are only getting on for the last half an hour, you have got to impress the manager and make sure it's hard to leave you out." From the Daily Ranjurs.

We actually have 5 Danny Handling is a striker and despite being played in a wide role he is a very talented forward.

Unless of course the Heff has realised, already, how poor Rowan Vine actually is.

JollyGreenGiant
14-09-2013, 06:06 PM
Thought he was brilliant today! A proper penalty box striker, scored a tap in today, but in the right place a the right time :aok:

Held up play well, and experienced enough to take a wee foul right at the death to run down the clock. Also thought he did well bringing Collins into the game :top marks

14-09-2013, 06:15 PM
Thought he was brilliant today! A proper penalty box striker, scored a tap in today, but in the right place a the right time :aok:

Held up play well, and experienced enough to take a wee foul right at the death to run down the clock. Also thought he did well bringing Collins into the game :top marks

I wasn't there today but he'll score goals for us.

I'd be surprised if he's not in double figures by the end of the season.

14-09-2013, 06:42 PM
well done to him for the first time he's been in a team that have beaten st.johnstone, also worth pointing out this was the saints first defeat at McDiarmid park since last November :cb

14-09-2013, 06:51 PM
Looked very good today, and will clearly be our main striker this season. Has gelled into the team immediately and gives us a lot more optimism regarding our striking options.

14-09-2013, 06:53 PM
Thought he lead the line very well on the second half. He will score at least 15 this season for us. A modern day Ali McLeod with touch and no pace

14-09-2013, 06:54 PM
What was good was that we played with 2 strikers today, if Hefferman plays, we need 2 up

14-09-2013, 07:00 PM
Heff and Collins could be a very good partnership this season.

14-09-2013, 08:06 PM
well done to him for the first time he's been in a team that have beaten st.johnstone, also worth pointing out this was the saints first defeat at McDiarmid park since last November :cb

Which was against Hibs tae!

14-09-2013, 08:08 PM
He reminds me of an old Pat Fenlon.

GlenrothesHibee
14-09-2013, 08:38 PM
I think along with Liam Craig, Heffernan is one of the most shewed signings we have made in recent years. Always rated the player.

beensaidbefore
14-09-2013, 11:21 PM

I think its going to go tits up for St J since Lomas has left. Seems like its not going that well for him at Millwall either. Quite like that they presented a challenge under Lomas but sadly can see them going back to being a yo-yo club between the divisions.

15-09-2013, 12:15 AM
He will prove to be one of the best signings out of all our recent players in the last few years. He will be the player that gets us goals in the 18 yard area no doubt and I'd guess that he will get minimum of 15 goals this season for us being conservative :wink:

Greendub
15-09-2013, 12:20 AM
From watching the highlights he seems very comfortable on the ball, and gets into the right positions.

Should improve on his 12 goals from last season.

15-09-2013, 08:24 AM
I think its going to go tits up for St J since Lomas has left. Seems like its not going that well for him at Millwall either. Quite like that they presented a challenge under Lomas but sadly can see them going back to being a yo-yo club between the divisions.

St Johnstone are one of a number of similarly sized clubs in Scotland (eg Falkirk, St Mirren, Dundee, Inverness) who will do well for a few years when they have the right manager and squad of players together but then struggle as that group breaks up. It's good for Scottish football because the regular changes are refreshing (eg Ross County last year) and good for those clubs as it provides both hope and an incentive.