View Full Version : Match Updates Q&A With Rod Petrie - 6.30pm Kick Off!

Pages : 1 [2] 3

21-08-2013, 11:32 PM
But what do you think, mate?
Sounds tae me like the latest in a long line of excuses and they're getting worse. Fitba players that dinnae like crowds? Perhaps they've made the wrong career choice. Still soon they winnae have tae worry about it.

WestStandMoaner
21-08-2013, 11:40 PM
But what do you think, mate? Taking into account what JN said about Fenlon I think our manager has lost his confidence. If that is the case the team will pick up on this and you will end up with a team low on confidence as recent results have shown. As for JN seemed genuine and to be honest I think he seemed surprised as to our recent results. He also mentioned how impressed he was with the club as a whole, mentioned the stadium and training facilities and said everything was in place for Hibs to be successful. I tried to push him on his opinion on Petrie but he would not bite. However, he understood the Hibs support has heard this for several years about how everything was in place to be successful but until they put a run of results together no matter what Pat said or anyone else said it would make not a jot of difference to the support.

21-08-2013, 11:49 PM
What awkward questions were asked and how we're they answered? When receiving a politicians answer did you push to get a more definitive answer? A list of the questions, or the main ones asked would be good.

As ths was an opportunity to put rod under a bit of pressure with some of the questions, was this achieved?

22-08-2013, 12:06 AM
What awkward questions were asked and how we're they answered? When receiving a politicians answer did you push to get a more definitive answer? A list of the questions, or the main ones asked would be good.

As ths was an opportunity to put rod under a bit of pressure with some of the questions, was this achieved?

#rodallisbarry

22-08-2013, 12:15 AM
#rodallisbarry

22-08-2013, 12:17 AM
So Hearts had their Russian Tsar and we have a Five Year Plan. Is it a coincidence that Stalin had a similar 'tache?

Are the dissident fans being 'disappeared' from Easter Road?

Sent from a gulag in Siberia, completely underwhelmed by club but grateful to the fans who spoke up.

22-08-2013, 12:20 AM
You'd have to be an idiot if you thought we were actually going to learn anything new from this meeting.

Same old questions worded a little differently, same old answers worded a little differently.

Who was expecting anything different?

22-08-2013, 12:28 AM
You'd have to be an idiot if you thought we were actually going to learn anything new from this meeting.

Same old questions worded a little differently, same old answers worded a little differently.

Who was expecting anything different?

Folk can only doing their best in trying to hold those in charge to account. What would you have asked Petrie?

22-08-2013, 12:32 AM
Folk can only doing their best in trying to hold those in charge to account. What would you have asked Petrie?

Honestly. I wouldn't have wasted my time asking him anything. Rod Petrie's a man with no real answers.

I'm not trying to have a go at those who were there and were trying to force something. But anybody who was expecting anything different were only fooling themselves.

22-08-2013, 01:02 AM
Honestly. I wouldn't have wasted my time asking him anything. Rod Petrie's a man with no real answers.

I'm not trying to have a go at those who were there and were trying to force something. But anybody who was expecting anything different were only fooling themselves.
Sadly I have to agree with you. Those who went should be highly commended for going along of course, but I just don't believe anything new was going to come out of this meeting. If it made them a touch uncomfortable answering questions, that's about all anybody going along could have hoped for.

SurferRosa
22-08-2013, 01:23 AM
but we have players at present who cannot deal with the bigger Hibs support and they are working hard to build the confidence in the team.

Players played in their proper positions and have a positive tactical plan might have some benefits as well. Who knows, that might even help to " build the confidence " if some of the players are capable of performing the roles they are given.

To this end, a manager who appears to know what he is doing, would be a good start.

22-08-2013, 02:50 AM
Sounds tae me like the latest in a long line of excuses and they're getting worse. Fitba players that dinnae like crowds? Perhaps they've made the wrong career choice. Still soon they winnae have tae worry about it.

I love the 'working on their confidence' part.

So a senior member of the management team tells us that 'we have players who don't like playing in front of crowds'. My god, I've heard it all now. Well, it seems the best way we can support the club is not to bother showing up, (we're already doing our bit here) and then to stay away when the results subsequently improve, presumably because of our efforts.

How do they feel about playing when it's raining? Or it's too cold? Or the other team's strips are an off-putting bright yellow?

I really wonder what sort of club we're supporting.

John_the_angus_hibby
22-08-2013, 04:08 AM
I love the 'working on their confidence' part.

So a senior member of the management team tells us that 'we have players who don't like playing in front of crowds'. My god, I've heard it all now. Well, it seems the best way we can support the club is not to bother showing up, (we're already doing our bit here) and then to stay away when the results subsequently improve, presumably because of our efforts.

How do they feel about playing when it's raining? Or it's too cold? Or the other team's strips are an off-putting bright yellow?

I really wonder what sort of club we're supporting.

A team of delicate flowers me thinks. Heard everything now.

22-08-2013, 05:10 AM
I am about to go to work, I will explain to management I do not like my team and if im not given my own room then i am going on the long term sick!.

The room must be green too and have a bed in it.

Football players who do not like crowds, how did you not laugh. :faf:

22-08-2013, 06:18 AM
So Petrie says we need to be patient? We've been absolute crap for about 6 years now. How much more patient can we be?

22-08-2013, 06:26 AM
Players who don't like crowds! Jeezo. So if Man Utd came in for them they would refuse saying the crowds were too big! Strikes me that this shows a complete lack of ambition in a professional football player

22-08-2013, 06:32 AM
Rodders has played a blinder this time.

22-08-2013, 06:36 AM
The Rodfather strikes again.

It's a frustrating read so I can only imagine what it must have been like hearing it 'first hand.

Cannae play in front of big crowds?! Really?! Soft as ***** from the top down.

Am away to get my own forum because I can't post on a big forum like this....

22-08-2013, 06:41 AM
Deary, deary, me, 10 Hibs fans at this meeting tonight according to Lucky. 16,000 at the Malmo game, really reflects the supporters opinion. Can someone tell me why the LWT meeting is not attended by several thousand Hibs fans, because until Hibs fans stop hitting the keyboards and turn up on mass at LWT meetings, nothing will change. As it happens while this meeting was taking place I bumped into Jimmy Nicol in George Street tonight, he was enjoying the festival with his wife. I asked him about the teams performances and why we have not signed a wide player. He indicated a signing was going to happen soon but no names where mentioned. He also said PF was a different person in front of the TV cameras than the one he works with on a daily basis. I asked him about performances and he used KT as an example. He said and this was his words, Kevin Thomson can play in front of 3,000 or 50,000, whether he gets clapped or booed he will put in the same professional performance but we have players at present who cannot deal with the bigger Hibs support and they are working hard to build the confidence in the team. He feels if given time, the present squad of players will challenge in the top half of the premier league with one or two additional signings

Wow, he had quite a detailed discussion with you, must have had plenty of time to spare. Your meeting with JN must have lasted longer than the Q and A with Rodders and co.:greengrin
Not doubting your story but we would be better concentrating on what happened at a documented meeting.

22-08-2013, 06:45 AM
JN comments are fascinating. It is may seem absurd that there are players that are intimidated by a large crowd, but I think it is the fact it is a large demanding crowd that they find difficult. Ive often felt that Hibs and Aberdeen (and Hearts if they weren't doped to the eyeballs) have a tough task. These clubs have some extra cash - but a lot more expectation than the ICTs, ST J etc. Bottom line is we need a management team that is willing and able to work under this expectation with only limited financial advantages over the competition. Identifying players that want to work under that pressure seems key - or training players to rise to the challenge. If JN is aware of this, then it is a start. Ideally this process should start at youth level, where the players should be prepared and 'toughened up'.

22-08-2013, 06:45 AM
"We have players at present who cant deal with the bigger hibs support and we are working hard to build confidence in the team"

You could read a lot into that. I wonder what he really meant by "bigger hibs support"?

It's funny that the same people who are sticking the boot in here are the same ones who cant figure out this long-term problem of why players and managers who were decent elsewhere become terrible when they join us.

Petrie out.

ruthven_raiders
22-08-2013, 06:47 AM
Still big plans for ER and EM rather they had big plans for investment in he team! Can only imagine that stadium expansion isn't on the agenda lol it must mean 5G artificial pitch and giant screens to maximise revenue during the summer with music festivals as gigs etc. EM only can imagine a tie in with Trikity Academy for education of footballers and youth coaches from abroad with experience of putting this into practice??!

22-08-2013, 06:49 AM
"We have players at present who cant deal with the bigger hibs support and we are working hard to build confidence in the team"

You could read a lot into that. I wonder what he really meant by "bigger hibs support"?

It's funny that the same people who are sticking the boot in here are the same ones who cant figure out this long-term problem of why players and managers who were decent elsewhere become terrible when they join us.

Petrie out.

I do think we're worse than many for singling out players. I don't subscribe to the argument that because football is their profession they aren't affected by it, they're human and we're all affected by it.

22-08-2013, 06:50 AM
It is may seem absurd that there are players that are intimidated by a large crowd, but I think it is the fact it is a large demanding crowd that they find difficult.

22-08-2013, 07:01 AM
I do think we're worse than many for singling out players. I don't subscribe to the argument that because football is their profession they aren't affected by it, they're human and we're all affected by it.

Agree. I think we are pretty bad compared to most SPL teams, only exceptions I can think of are Aberdeen, Celtic and newco. We're also worse than every English team I've ever watched live with the exception of Newcastle.

Not a huge sample but I'm convinced we are more vocal against our own players the the average Scottish team.

22-08-2013, 07:03 AM
Well I hope those who couldn't make last week and who went along with their well prepared questions are fully satisfied :rolleyes:

Having read this thread and that comical bit of PR on the official site, it looks like (as baldy foghorn said elsewhere) the board can tick this one off as 'job done' with the same old waffle that was used when SUABC was launched.

Seems like it was an absolute waste of time, but never fear - I read that Rod will be at the next LWT meeting. Hurrah, all is well again. Long live gimmicky, fluffy chat and cosy nights with the chairman.

Meanwhile, we fans have to suffer the dross on the park until Pat finally strikes it lucky or his contract expires.

22-08-2013, 07:05 AM
Are people on here actually believing this about "getting put off by a bigger crowd"? I'm honestly pissing myself at that. I've never met a player who ****s themselves at Hibs and the "Huge" crowds we play in front of!!! What a pile of *****.

We aren't Celtic playing infront of 40 or 50 thousand FFS. We play to 9k most weeks. If a player can't handle that which i 100% think they can then they shouldn't be in the game.

22-08-2013, 07:05 AM
Agree. I think we are pretty bad compared to most SPL teams, only exceptions I can think of are Aberdeen, Celtic and newco. We're also worse than every English team I've ever watched live with the exception of Newcastle.

Not a huge sample but I'm convinced we are more vocal against our own players the the average Scottish team.

Give us some decent football and some hope we are on the right track and we will be positive. Give us year after year of hopless rubbish and your patience begins to wear out after a while.

Gustavo Fring
22-08-2013, 07:12 AM
what a joke . cant say im surprised mind . PETRIE MUST GO

22-08-2013, 07:12 AM

Even if that were true, you could hardly blame us, when you consider what we've put up with for as long as I can remember.

22-08-2013, 07:14 AM
The meeting reports and the subsequent club statement are utterly unsurprising. Even if they were contemplating sacking Fenlon you would know nothing about it until it happened.

Petrie holds all of the the cards here and we hold just one - attendances. Everything else is just cheap talk. All the Hibs.net angst, all the talk of protests, all the unhappiness on playing style, catering, club shop etc - its all just talk that bounces off Petrie's skin.

I would say our position is almost exactly like that of the drug addict. At present we hate what we are taking and yet we have the need to keep mainlining it. So our supplier knows we will - mostly - keep buying.

If attendances drop sufficiently Fenlon will go because the club needs any walk up money it can get and it needs to be showing current and prospective advrtisers and sponsors that the product is set out in front of a decent sized audience. But a dropping audience will only deliver managerial change, overall cultural change at the club is entirely another thing.

22-08-2013, 07:16 AM
Are people on here actually believing this about "getting put off by a bigger crowd"? I'm honestly pissing myself at that. I've never met a player who ****s themselves at Hibs and the "Huge" crowds we play in front of!!! What a pile of *****.

We aren't Celtic playing infront of 40 or 50 thousand FFS. We play to 9k most weeks. If a player can't handle that which i 100% think they can then they shouldn't be in the game.

This. Do the players have group therapy sessions with uncle Rod where weeping footballers who earn thousands of pounds a week get their anxiety about playing in front of large crowds off their chest? I think we now know why our team is soft as putty when the going gets tough.

22-08-2013, 07:19 AM
Of all nights I would have thought at least the management team (JN) and certainly and experienced man like JN would have played all questions out on the street with a "straighter bat" to avoid any potential adding fuel to the fire (how did he now know you were a journo digging?)

hibbymick
22-08-2013, 07:25 AM
Maybe we should have next meeting after the next home game, Petrie on a podium in the centre circle, I doubt he would get off so lightly like last night........wonder how the fluffy doughnuts tasted.

22-08-2013, 07:29 AM

Why do you think they can handle it? Wotherspoon and others seem to suggest otherwise.

hibbymick
22-08-2013, 07:34 AM
Why do you think they can handle it? Wotherspoon and others seem to suggest otherwise.

So if either of the old firm came in for spoony you think he would refuse on the grounds of too much paper rustling in the stands ?

22-08-2013, 07:35 AM

This is what I was thinking, only at Hibs, jeez if we carry on as we are hopefully crowds will descend to the optimum number the various players do feel comfortable with. Nonsense if its going badly players with a winning attitude get stuck in and win the fans over by their efforts. Its been so bad at ER for so long that we probably do get a bit more frustrated than some others but maybe its because we bother more as well?

If the players and the club do the same we will be fine.

Just thinking how players like Shades, to name but one ever managed to put up with all those people watching them.

When the going gets tough.................

22-08-2013, 07:46 AM
The meeting reports and the subsequent club statement are utterly unsurprising. Even if they were contemplating sacking Fenlon you would know nothing about it until it happened.

Petrie holds all of the the cards here and we hold just one - attendances. Everything else is just cheap talk. All the Hibs.net angst, all the talk of protests, all the unhappiness on playing style, catering, club shop etc - its all just talk that bounces off Petrie's skin.

I would say our position is almost exactly like that of the drug addict. At present we hate what we are taking and yet we have the need to keep mainlining it. So our supplier knows we will - mostly - keep buying.

If attendances drop sufficiently Fenlon will go because the club needs any walk up money it can get and it needs to be showing current and prospective advrtisers and sponsors that the product is set out in front of a decent sized audience. But a dropping audience will only deliver managerial change, overall cultural change at the club is entirely another thing.

Here's an alternative; instead of talking down hibs and promoting non-attendance, suggest everyone gets along when they can, thus boosting club income, which will get us through these awkward times.

If you ignore a plant that's dying, it will die.

Stay away if by all means if that's your personal position, but I don't get why you have to try and encourage everyone else to do so.

22-08-2013, 07:52 AM

The crowd was nothing to do with Spoony. The way he played was down to the team around him as well along with how we set up to play. He's getting the freedom to do what he likes at Saints. Spoony best season was his first for us and in that season he wasn't restricted.

22-08-2013, 08:05 AM
First off thanks to the guys who went and for providing us with the updates.

I am not surprised at RP answers/comments tbh. Same old same old.

I am really disappointed ( and not the first time as a Hibs fan) because RP and Hibs have missed a massive opportunity.

After winning the CIS Cup in 2007 we should of kicked on and put measures in place to ensure the structure and playing method of the club/team/ playing staff was the same throughout all levels.

We had a team we should of built on... Yes we lost players but got very good fees for them.
But instead of adding a couple of players to enhance the squad every season we brought in a new team every season.

We also changed managers every season. Rod and the board should of brought a manager to the club that had the same ethos and methods to allow the continuity of the club to flow.

We are a shambles of a club and on the playing front, yes we have done good individual players but not a team. We have no balance or style of play (suppose we have hoofball) and lack leadership. If I can see where we lack, like others on here, then how the hell can PF not see it.

As for the players lacking confidence playing in front if a crowd.... Tell you what if your no happy away and play up the Jack Kane in front of a couple of guys, his dug and the dug *****.

I do not believe this for one minute and its a puss poor excuse.

Where do we go from here.... Unless there are drastic changes and a number of creative players brought to the club.... It's more of the same folks.

Thanks Rod.

22-08-2013, 08:13 AM
I bet Jimmy Nichol wishes he never went to George St last night.

22-08-2013, 08:30 AM
Well i thought i'd heard every excuse about our losers over the last few years, but that a belter, it fairly cheered me up.

I wonder if we will start winning once the crowds drop to St Johnstone or Motherwell's average, but then winning games will attract fans back and hey presto we are back to square one again. :faf::faf:

My bigger worry is that he reckons with one or two more signings we could be in the top half of the league! WTF! I'm now getting very worried for our football team and how our money is being wasted on losers!

stu in nottingham
22-08-2013, 08:36 AM
Well I hope those who couldn't make last week and who went along with their well prepared questions are fully satisfied :rolleyes:

Having read this thread and that comical bit of PR on the official site, it looks like (as baldy foghorn said elsewhere) the board can tick this one off as 'job done' with the same old waffle that was used when SUABC was launched.

Seems like it was an absolute waste of time, but never fear - I read that Rod will be at the next LWT meeting. Hurrah, all is well again. Long live gimmicky, fluffy chat and cosy nights with the chairman.

Meanwhile, we fans have to suffer the dross on the park until Pat finally strikes it lucky or his contract expires.

Seems that's about the size of it, Dave. It's maybe gone past dialogue with the Chairman now...

22-08-2013, 08:40 AM

If that's the case, I can help them out by not going back or spending any of my money on the club. I'm a new breed of supporter, supporting the club by expecting nothing from the players and not going to games so that they aren't scared when I shout at them.

22-08-2013, 08:40 AM
I'm struggling to believe that JN actually made these comments. I think its probably more of the posters interpretation of the conversation

22-08-2013, 08:42 AM
It's maybe gone past dialogue with the Chairman now...

I think you're right Stu.

It's no longer a question of how competent he is at his role. Regardless of how well he may or may not have done, he's lost the faith of the majority of the Hibs support which makes his position untenable IMO.

22-08-2013, 08:45 AM
With hindsight, what did we all expect, we hear this trotted out all the time, but deep down we all knew what was going to happen?

I know i was not expecting anything other than 100% backing of the manager, and the usual we are all working as hard as we can to make Hibs successful.

Just the usual flannel, we are still an awful team with awful tactics who play awful football and are regularly beaten.

So i have to ask the question, what is the point of having another 2 question and answer sessions? :confused:

22-08-2013, 08:46 AM
My bigger worry is that he reckons with one or two more signings we could be in the top half of the league! WTF! I'm now getting very worried for our football team and how our money is being wasted on losers!

The problem is PF doesn't know what to do with them or how to set them up. We don't have really bad players its just they are mismanaged.

Prime example being young Mullen getting subbed in 2 consecutive games. Why play him in the first place Pat???

We have players, on paper anyway, that are on a par or better , outwith other teams in the league, out with Smellic. They all play as a team. That's the difference.

Teams love playing against us cos we play so deep, are one dimensional and have no plan B, let me think sorry it looks like we don't even have a plan A.

That is down to the manager who gets paid to manage to team.

22-08-2013, 08:47 AM
With hindsight, what did we all expect, we hear this trotted out all the time, but deep down we all knew what was going to happen?

I know i was not expecting anything other than 100% backing of the manager, and the usual we are all working as hard as we can to make Hibs successful.

Just the usual flannel, we are still an awful team with awful tactics who play awful football and are regularly beaten.

So i have to ask the question, what is the point of having another 2 question and answer sessions? :confused:None, like there was nae point tae this one or any that have gone before. I could have written that statement for them last week because I knew what would be in it.

22-08-2013, 08:49 AM

So i have to ask the question, what is the point of having another 2 question and answer sessions? :confused:

I think these things are useful to sort out some issues such as comms, matchday experience and all that but they are never going to be able to discuss the football side with fans. When Pat attended one last year he was fairly blunt about what he had inherited and it might be interesting to see if he would talk to fans openly now about the tactics and other issues that are levelled against him. Perhpas if people could hear from him and challenge himdirectly we'd all be a bit clearer on exactly what is his aim and how he wants us to play - and what's stopping it.

Other than that, agree, this is the expected rersponse but I think it's expected not because its largely flannel, but that its what they are doing - trusting the manager they employed to do the job to address the matters in the team just now.

22-08-2013, 08:51 AM

I said that the meetings would be like that, why it's surprised or annoyed folk is beyond me. I really wonder what they were expecting from it.

22-08-2013, 08:52 AM
I think these things are useful to sort out some issues such as comms, matchday experience and all that but they are never going to be able to discuss the football side with fans. When Pat attended one last year he was fairly blunt about what he had inherited and it might be interesting to see if he would talk to fans openly now about the tactics and other issues that are levelled against him. Perhpas if people could hear from him and challenge himdirectly we'd all be a bit clearer on exactly what is his aim and how he wants us to play - and what's stopping it.

Other than that, agree, this is the expected rersponse but I think it's expected not because its largely flannel, but that its what they are doing - trusting the manager they employed to do the job to address the matters in the team just now.They've been threatening that for years, they're still nae better. The only time they seem tae want tae communicate effectively is when they're efter folks dosh.

22-08-2013, 08:53 AM
The problem is PF doesn't know what to do with them or how to set them up. We don't have really bad players its just they are mismanaged.

Prime example being young Mullen getting subbed in 2 consecutive games. Why play him in the first place Pat???

We have players, on paper anyway, that are on a par or better , outwith other teams in the league, out with Smellic. They all play as a team. That's the difference.

Teams love playing against us cos we play so deep, are one dimensional and have no plan B, let me think sorry it looks like we don't even have a plan A.

That is down to the manager who gets paid to manage to team.

But we also now have JN thinking we currently dont have a team good enough to be in the top half?? Thats just ****** mental.

stu in nottingham
22-08-2013, 08:58 AM
I think you're right Stu.

It's no longer a question of how competent he is at his role. Regardless of how well he may or may not have done, he's lost the faith of the majority of the Hibs support which makes his position untenable IMO.

A meeting with Petrie, whilst well-intentioned by supporters (and I have gratitude for them taking the time to do this) seems fatally flawed to me. The Chairman is not going to be a 'turkey voting for Christmas' and admit his own culpability. In addition to this he appears to be completely out of touch with supporters' views from the quotes so far. I don't think it's as simple as that though, I think he knows full well the problems and is trying to talk them down. It's not working for me (and the majority of fans by the sound of things).

Personally I expected nothing, G. See above. The club desperately needs a new man with a different vision, at the top.

22-08-2013, 08:58 AM
Thanks for that.

So, I'll leave my comment that 'it's just all a pointless PR exercise' till tomorrow then.

The only question I wanted to ask was 'why the h*ll is Fenlon still here?'

OK, now I can say it.....

It's all just a pointless PR exercise

22-08-2013, 08:59 AM
A meeting with Petrie, whilst well-intentioned by supporters (and I have gratitude for them taking the time to do this) seems fatally flawed to me. The Chairman is not going to be a 'turkey voting for Christmas' and admit his own culpability. In addition to this he appears to be completely out of touch with supporters' views from the quotes so far. I don't think it's as simple as that though, I think he knows full well the problems and is trying to talk them down. It's not working for me (and the majority of fans by the sound of things).

Personally I expected nothing, G. See above. The club desperately needs a new man with a different vision, at the top.​any vision, would be a start.

stu in nottingham
22-08-2013, 09:00 AM
The only time they seem tae want tae communicate effectively is when they're efter folks dosh.

High time we had a 'Like' button on this site.

22-08-2013, 09:05 AM
None, like there was nae point tae this one or any that have gone before.

I agree Dan, and if it were up to me i'd be telling Petrie to ram his next meeting up his erse. In those words too. He needs to be told in no uncertain terms a section of the support have had enough of him and his bull, or he will still be in charge after 1, 2, 3, 4, 20 meetings, and we will hear the same excuses time after time.

I think pressure should be applied with the aim of his removal.

There are many ways to do this.

1 The ultimate is non attendance.
2 If you can't do that, do not buy anything from the shop and let the club know your reasons why?
3 Protests before during and after games.
4 Go to games but do not go in until 15 minutes has passed.
5 Banners.
6 Media campaign.

There must be more, and i don't necessarily agree with all of the above but if you do decide not to go then an email or letter telling the club why you have decided this would keep the pressure on.

Not buying from the shop, again letting the club know why in an email or letter again is keeping the pressure on.

I also know you can do nothing, and just support the team and thats good too, there's nothing wrong in supporting the team but sometimes in my opinion you have to do something you really don't want to do for the greater good?

Hibstrooper
22-08-2013, 09:06 AM
​any vision, would be a start.

But we've got a 5 year plan!

No one has any idea what it is or when it starts/started but it's a plan!

Maybe at the moment we've been on a 6 year plan to create this 5 year plan; or maybe, just maybe, they are making it up as they go along.

22-08-2013, 09:10 AM
Thanks to the guys who made the effort to go last night.

As already mentioned - although people were wanting blood and answers - there was no chance RP was going to say anything controversial or behind Fenlons back. He was trying to show unity and support. How he really feels ? Who knows! He's not a football man so whether he really understands the fans frustrations - probably not.

What I am glad of is that people are finally waking up to see that our standards at the club have dropped and it's not just the managers fault - he contributes but this problem at Hibs is deeper and while those running the club stay the same we won't get anywhere near our potential for the capital city club.

We saw the support at the cup final with fans singing even at the end - we saw the support for the Malmo game - the fan base is there but it needs something to feel encouraged about to attend ER and support the team. We all know people who aren't coming to ER due to dull football and poor performances. If we all want entertainment / excitement but realistically if we were grinding out 1v0 results we would still be happy. But we aren't and are so inconsistent and poor.

For the JN story on George St - I seriously wouldn't take that too seriously - internet rumours and all that! Hibs.net at it's best!

The questions I want to know are where are we going to go from here ?

I know it's tempting to stay away from ER - as a ST holder I know the feeling but at times like this we as fans need to stick together and not argue or split how we affect change. I do know it's just got too much for many and not using a paid ticket to see your favourite club is terrible times.

I understand those who don't have a ST and don't want to pay - that's another discussion about ticket prices.

We only have to look across the road for the unity currently showed - we can't afford to go down this season and with Newco and Hearts being in such a bad position the pressure to get performing should rightly be higher than ever - otherwise we will miss our opportunity to strengthen and look back on these years.

I want to know how RP plans to keep the club making money? We aren't selling players like we used to - they aren't being produced due to poor management / coaching / no help from experienced players. This is a REAL problem as if ST's drop next year / walk ups drop / merchandise drops then we will really be struggling. How does RP plan to make sure the funding doesn't dry up soon?

Many other clubs would not show the support Hibs fans have shown over the last 6 years with many poor performances we have been subjected to - so I urge us again to stick together as we aren't the problem - change will happen if enough pressure is put on from a UNITED support and not small fractions of support :agree:

22-08-2013, 09:31 AM
Thanks to the guys who made the effort to go last night.

As already mentioned - although people were wanting blood and answers - there was no chance RP was going to say anything controversial or behind Fenlons back. He was trying to show unity and support. How he really feels ? Who knows! He's not a football man so whether he really understands the fans frustrations - probably not.

What I am glad of is that people are finally waking up to see that our standards at the club have dropped and it's not just the managers fault - he contributes but this problem at Hibs is deeper and while those running the club stay the same we won't get anywhere near our potential for the capital city club.

We saw the support at the cup final with fans singing even at the end - we saw the support for the Malmo game - the fan base is there but it needs something to feel encouraged about to attend ER and support the team. We all know people who aren't coming to ER due to dull football and poor performances. If we all want entertainment / excitement but realistically if we were grinding out 1v0 results we would still be happy. But we aren't and are so inconsistent and poor.

For the JN story on George St - I seriously wouldn't take that too seriously - internet rumours and all that! Hibs.net at it's best!

The questions I want to know are where are we going to go from here ?

I know it's tempting to stay away from ER - as a ST holder I know the feeling but at times like this we as fans need to stick together and not argue or split how we affect change. I do know it's just got too much for many and not using a paid ticket to see your favourite club is terrible times.

I understand those who don't have a ST and don't want to pay - that's another discussion about ticket prices.

We only have to look across the road for the unity currently showed - we can't afford to go down this season and with Newco and Hearts being in such a bad position the pressure to get performing should rightly be higher than ever - otherwise we will miss our opportunity to strengthen and look back on these years.

I want to know how RP plans to keep the club making money? We aren't selling players like we used to - they aren't being produced due to poor management / coaching / no help from experienced players. This is a REAL problem as if ST's drop next year / walk ups drop / merchandise drops then we will really be struggling. How does RP plan to make sure the funding doesn't dry up soon?

Many other clubs would not show the support Hibs fans have shown over the last 6 years with many poor performances we have been subjected to - so I urge us again to stick together as we aren't the problem - change will happen if enough pressure is put on from a UNITED support and not small fractions of support :agree:

I think its too late for that, the support is split.

22-08-2013, 09:34 AM

I tend to agree, I remember Butcher saying in an interview it actually gave them an edge over Hibs when they came down to ER

22-08-2013, 09:36 AM
Deary, deary, me, 10 Hibs fans at this meeting tonight according to Lucky. 16,000 at the Malmo game, really reflects the supporters opinion. Can someone tell me why the LWT meeting is not attended by several thousand Hibs fans, because until Hibs fans stop hitting the keyboards and turn up on mass at LWT meetings, nothing will change. As it happens while this meeting was taking place I bumped into Jimmy Nicol in George Street tonight, he was enjoying the festival with his wife. I asked him about the teams performances and why we have not signed a wide player. He indicated a signing was going to happen soon but no names where mentioned. He also said PF was a different person in front of the TV cameras than the one he works with on a daily basis. I asked him about performances and he used KT as an example. He said and this was his words, Kevin Thomson can play in front of 3,000 or 50,000, whether he gets clapped or booed he will put in the same professional performance but we have players at present who cannot deal with the bigger Hibs support and they are working hard to build the confidence in the team. He feels if given time, the present squad of players will challenge in the top half of the premier league with one or two additional signings

Nice of JN to spend so much time with you while he was out enjoying the festival with his wife.

I bet she was pleased.

22-08-2013, 09:37 AM
If the story from JN re fans playing in front of big crowds is true it doesnae do the Dressing Room any favours and just gives us another stick to beat them with. I'd be surprised if someone like JN were to say that to a man on the street if I'm being honest.

davym7062
22-08-2013, 09:44 AM

Maybe at the moment we've been on a 6 year plan to create this 5 year plan; or maybe, just maybe, they are making it up as they go along.

weve had a 5 year plan for about 30 years

22-08-2013, 09:45 AM
I said that the meetings would be like that, why it's surprised or annoyed folk is beyond me. I really wonder what they were expecting from it.

The club called it. I think it was fair enough to expect that it possibly signalled an intent to meaningfully engage (I didn't, mind you).

As for last night, here are my thoughts FWIW:

- The failure to have a full-time CEO and not planning to have one will be something that will be regretted and rectified at some point in the future. Unbelievably naive to think that a part-time Rodders and a couple of middling execs who can't make a decision without Rodders' say-so are going to be able to run the club effectively.

- The statement on the official website was, almost certainly, written before the meeting. Which makes me question the purpose of the meeting when Rodders and David Forsyth knew what they were going to spin the outcome as.

- Rodders thinks that we're all idiots who will forget all the issues when we win a couple of games.

- The club needs a new PR guy because the current incumbent is about as out of touch as Rodders it would appear.

- Fenlon is here until this season is goosed. Without a Scottish Cup final this season, ST sales will plummet if the season goes as most of us expect.

- Interaction with the support will be on Rodders' terms. It's basically tinkering around the edges, unless it's something that he wanted to do anyway.

22-08-2013, 09:46 AM
I think its too late for that, the support is split.

Well this thread everyone seems to be agreeing.

Strength in numbers is the way forward if change is to happen.

The pressure is mounting more than ever :agree:

22-08-2013, 09:50 AM
[FONT=Arial][COLOR=#444444]
Apparently the group agreed that Hibs had "assembled a talented group of players this season". Really.

Completely agree IMO the squad while containing some talented players is hopelessly imbalanced with too many similar slow central midfielders and not enough pace or creativity in other areas.

22-08-2013, 09:52 AM
Football fans are fickle.

All throughout the summer with the imminent demise of Hearts, it was all sweetness and light on this message board, with Rod Petrie held up as the shining light of financial wisdom and prudent nous, taking our club forward to great things.

It was all 'Rodders' this, and the 'Tache' that - quite frankly it gave me the boak.

And in the (very) unlikely event that we string a few results together, I expect normal service will soon be resumed.

:brickwall

22-08-2013, 10:04 AM

Other than that, agree, this is the expected rersponse but I think it's expected not because its largely flannel, but that its what they are doing - trusting the manager they employed to do the job to address the matters in the team just now.

We tried that before at LWT, remember? He was asked right at the beginning, in a supportive environment, what style of football he was looking to play, and he couldnt answer. He didnt even seem to have prepared an answer in his own head. Hoofball? Dunno, Just Win?, Expansive passing? I think he muttered something about a 442 but thats it. he just couldnt come up with anything. When Mowbray was asked, he loved nothing more than monologueing about his footballing philosophy. Fenlon hasnt got one so theres no point asking the question.

gegs70
22-08-2013, 10:04 AM
People should really just vote with your feet, I just dont enjoy what Im watching it has become more of an embarresment to me. Other than 2 cup finals and surviving the drop first season that is it.

Mixu and Hughes got fired for less so whats different with Pat....is it just the fact he got us to the finals? I think being massacred in europe should have been enough for him to be sacked.....and he has no real forwards bar collins and caldwell....we are really unprepared with only a few days left of the transfer window!!

22-08-2013, 10:07 AM
If anyone was in any doubt beforehand, surely last nights bull**** cant have left you in any doubt now, that nothing will change with the current incumbents in charge, management and board?

22-08-2013, 10:08 AM
All throughout the summer with the imminent demise of Hearts, it was all sweetness and light on this message board, with Rod Petrie held up as the shining light of financial wisdom and prudent nous, taking our club forward to great things.

The odd person may have been saying these things with regards the non playing side of the club, I dont think many have seen him as the man to help the on the pitch fortunes of the club for a long time now. He should've been considering his position after the Calderwood bags of sweets debacle.

22-08-2013, 10:10 AM

Thanks for sharing that.

22-08-2013, 10:13 AM
The odd person may have been saying these things with regards the non playing side of the club, I dont think many have seen him as the man to help the on the pitch fortunes of the club for a long time now. He should've been considering his position after the Calderwood bags of sweets debacle.

That is not how I remember it, but I drink too much so maybe my memory is playing tricks with me. :greengrin

[
Agree completely about the Calderwood debacle, but would go a bit further in that Petrie's arse should have been kicked out the door and all the way up Leith Walk.

:cb

22-08-2013, 10:19 AM
If anyone was in any doubt beforehand, surely last nights bull**** cant have left you in any doubt now, that nothing will change with the current incumbents in charge, management and board?

I think you wrote that before the meeting :wink:

22-08-2013, 10:23 AM
Agree completely about the Calderwood debacle, but would go a bit further in that Petrie's arse should have been kicked out the door and all the way up Leith Walk.

And here lies the crux of the problem, both us and Petrie know that Rod is STF's main man so there'll never be any pressure from on high for as Del Boy would say to "Have it away on 'is toes"!

22-08-2013, 10:32 AM

Yeah but the 5 year plan should of been in place already and after the 2007 CIS Cup win but instead of kicking on we've went from 1 disastrous season to another.

I agree with you on the making it up as they go along. In a word Bollox

22-08-2013, 10:33 AM
Anyone ask if there was any new players coming in?

22-08-2013, 10:38 AM
So to sum everything up, nothings changed, every answer could have been written and put up on here at 6.35pm.

In all honesty what did you expect to change mate, never going to be anything other than this.

LeithBoozy
22-08-2013, 10:57 AM
I feel it should have been videoed by HI, we could all have seen the questions and the answers, plus how the questions were asked and how they were answered.

It can be misconstrued just reading what's been said, and videoing this would have given us the whole story.

Also have a couple of hot lights in Petries face, with someone slapping his face now and then, screaming we have ways of making you talk!

Expecting Rain
22-08-2013, 11:00 AM
If the players are scared to play in front of big crowds we should have no trouble in dispatching teams like Queen Of The South away from home in the cups.

aunty joyce
22-08-2013, 11:05 AM

I agree with your comments and feel that by hurling continual abuse at OUR players we not only hand our opponents an advantage but sap what little confidence our players may have right out of them.

Whatever you or I think of Rod Petrie, he has met with this group of supporters (all be it a small group) from various forums/action groups and has answered the questions put to him as best as he can at this moment in time. You will never please everyone and someone will always have another question they wanted asked that wasn't.

I know the majority on this post will not agree with me but if the players are low on confidence they we must surely accept some of the responsibility for that?!?
Anyway I will no doubt be bombarded by abuse for voicing my opinion but it's something I personally witness at every game and feel very strongly about. GGTTH

22-08-2013, 11:19 AM
I agree with your comments and feel that by hurling continual abuse at OUR players we not only hand our opponents an advantage but sap what little confidence our players may have right out of them.

Whatever you or I think of Rod Petrie, he has met with this group of supporters (all be it a small group) from various forums/action groups and has answered the questions put to him as best as he can at this moment in time. You will never please everyone and someone will always have another question they wanted asked that wasn't.

I know the majority on this post will not agree with me but if the players are low on confidence they we must surely accept some of the responsibility for that?!?
Anyway I will no doubt be bombarded by abuse for voicing my opinion but it's something I personally witness at every game and feel very strongly about. GGTTH

Agree that supporter treatment of players (at any club) has an effect on performances. This goes two ways. The support can choose how they react to their teams performances. Whether individuals take responsibility for their choice is again an individual choice, hopefully some see it as a responsibility to encourage, but some may see it as their responsibility to criticize.

However, the club is paid for by the supporters, and have a responsibility to understand their crowd - and prepare players accordingly.

Id start with the youngest and slowly introduce them to the tough love approach they will face from the stands. Encourage them to not only accept it, but to embrace it as a motivating factor..

22-08-2013, 11:56 AM
"Hibs know communication is poor with media and fans"

So after some 138 years, we still haven't mastered the art of 'How to run a football club' properly ??. The question has to be - WHY - why have communications been allowed to deteriorate to the absolutely abysmal levels they're currently at ??. For example - James Collins - how underwhelmed must he be at the way he was introduced to the club - personally, I don't recollect any press-conference or announcement from Hibs regarding his signing (though I will put my hands-up if this event - if it took place - passed me by) and how much will it affect the way he personally views playing for Hibs ??. Current communications are frighteningly similar to the late 80's'/early 90's - and we all know what happened then. After we were safe, our public relations improved 1000-fold but over the years have gradually been withering away.

'No plans for a Director of Football'

So Rod and the board are quite happy to stick with their current method of choosing managers ?? - THAT is frightening as it says no appetite for change.

(P.s - just as an after-thought, anyone think it'd be a good idea for (any) future meetings with Rod & Co to be recorded ?? - notes are great but an actual recording (video/audio) would help give an idea of the overall tone and also help clear up any possible misunderstandings ??)

22-08-2013, 12:03 PM
I've been a Tache supporter up until now but it's evident that he's now totally out of touch with the football side of the Club and it's time for a change.

Unfortunately there's not a snawba's chance in hell of that happening in the foreseeable future.

22-08-2013, 12:16 PM
Even if that were true, you could hardly blame us, when you consider what we've put up with for as long as I can remember.

That's a fair point and I'm not suggesting we should all be positive regardless of the state of the club. Clearly things just now are a mess and I wouldn't blame any Hibs fan about a lack of optimism for the current team, that's how I feel at the moment.

My last post was just an observation that, IMO, we are quicker to moan than most other football fans. It certainly wasn't a criticism of anyone who thinks we're a bit **** at the moment, would be hard to argue with that.

22-08-2013, 12:21 PM
I've been a Tache supporter up until now but it's evident that he's now totally out of touch with the football side of the Club and it's time for a change.
Unfortunately there's not a snawba's chance in hell of that happening in the foreseeable future.

Welcome to the dark side my child :devil:

Greenblood70
22-08-2013, 12:21 PM
If fans are not happy with the responses tonight, and I would hazard a guess that is the majority of us. Drastic action is required. I would say the time has come for a complete boycott of ER until change is forced upon Petrie.

He is taking us all for mugs, the time to wipe the grin of the smug *******s face is now!

I made a last minute decision to use my season ticket last Staurday (and regretted it after about 15 mins) but the fact the Board came with nothing tangible to this meeting and seem to have complete faith in a manager the support has no confidence in has tipped the balance for me. I wont be at the next home game.

22-08-2013, 12:37 PM
Most interesting revelation for me was that Rod Petrie works for us part time now. We have gone from having a senior management structure of Rod Petrie, Fyfe Hyland and Scott Lindsay to one guy part time?

With an absent owner, part time chairman, incompetent manager and permanently injured club captain is our shambolic state any surprise?

22-08-2013, 12:38 PM
My last post was just an observation that, IMO, we are quicker to moan than most other football fans. It certainly wasn't a criticism of anyone who thinks we're a bit **** at the moment, would be hard to argue with that.

I think peoples frustration/criticism is more to do with the club telling us to have a bit of patience whilst the infrastructure of the club was put in place at which point we'd be perfectly placed to kick on, its not working out that way so far and people are beginning to get hacked off. We've been amazingly patient until now IMHO.

22-08-2013, 12:43 PM
Most interesting revelation for me was that Rod Petrie works for us part time now. We have gone from having a senior management structure of Rod Petrie, Fyfe Hyland and Scott Lindsay to one guy part time?

With an absent owner, part time chairman, incompetent manager and permanently injured club captain is our shambolic state any surprise?

Fair points.

22-08-2013, 12:49 PM
If the players are scared to play in front of big crowds we should have no trouble in dispatching teams like Queen Of The South away from home in the cups.

Aye, and the Malmo thumping must have been due to the 16,000 crowd at ER. Perhaps that's why our derby record is poor too. If we play every game behind closed doors, we could win the league.

Weir7
22-08-2013, 12:53 PM

I thought that was common knowledge. If you dig about Rod is a director of many many of Farmer's companies. Also, he's no 2 at the SFA. Eventhually he will give up Hibs when he gets no 1 job.

Currently, doing both jobs is unconpatible.

We have Jamie Marwick Finace Director and if anybody witnessed his performance at the AGM, where he pooped his Y fronts. And Garry O'Hagan a glorified Jannie. Peope wonder why the club is rudderless.

Would Farmer every have done that at any of his Kwick Fit branches. Not on your nellie. My Uncle managed a branch. Standrads were high or you were shown a red card.

22-08-2013, 01:03 PM
I agree Dan, and if it were up to me i'd be telling Petrie to ram his next meeting up his erse. In those words too. He needs to be told in no uncertain terms a section of the support have had enough of him and his bull, or he will still be in charge after 1, 2, 3, 4, 20 meetings, and we will hear the same excuses time after time.

I think pressure should be applied with the aim of his removal.

There are many ways to do this.

1 The ultimate is non attendance.
2 If you can't do that, do not buy anything from the shop and let the club know your reasons why?
3 Protests before during and after games.
4 Go to games but do not go in until 15 minutes has passed.
5 Banners.
6 Media campaign.

There must be more, and i don't necessarily agree with all of the above but if you do decide not to go then an email or letter telling the club why you have decided this would keep the pressure on.

Not buying from the shop, again letting the club know why in an email or letter again is keeping the pressure on.

I also know you can do nothing, and just support the team and thats good too, there's nothing wrong in supporting the team but sometimes in my opinion you have to do something you really don't want to do for the greater good?

I think one option you missed out is to find an alternative.

I've not got the brains, experience or time to come up with any other options but maybe its time for those that do start to look into other possibilities, whether It's fan ownership or finding someone who's been interested before, stf isn't going to be around forever and just now seems as good a time as any to start to plan for life after farmer and petrie.

22-08-2013, 01:11 PM
"STF still has no involvement in the running of the club. Hibs are not reliant on STF cash. Accounts will be published on the 29/0/813 will prove this. Hibs have not had an overdraft for 5 years. Hibs are still up for sale if someone can take the club forward."

Surely Farmer is checking in on RP that he is doing his job - or does he trust him to take care of it in his part time position ? (Basically he's not doing his job and he needs help!)

I would like to know how the club are making people aware they are up for sale ? Have they had any offers ? What's the price ?

What is this 5 year plan mentioned? When did it start ? Are we meant to wait 5 years till we actually win a game ? Will Fenlon be in charge in 5 years?

The questions about life afer 73 year old Farmer are serious ones...what is the plan for the future? I've heard his son will get involved but would love to hear that confirmed.

22-08-2013, 01:18 PM
I thought that was common knowledge. If you dig about Rod is a director of many many of Farmer's companies. Also, he's no 2 at the SFA. Eventhually he will give up Hibs when he gets no 1 job.

Currently, doing both jobs is unconpatible.

We have Jamie Marwick Finace Director and if anybody witnessed his performance at the AGM, where he pooped his Y fronts. And Garry O'Hagan a glorified Jannie. Peope wonder why the club is rudderless.

Would Farmer every have done that at any of his Kwick Fit branches. Not on your nellie. My Uncle managed a branch. Standrads were high or you were shown a red card.

Quality over quality? And perhaps Rods role in the SFA is of good benifit to Hibs (does he have a casting vote? Quite handy politically if so). Seems we can't have it both ways Rod either delegates or does everything himself. Surely with less time at the club gives more time for others?

I think you're being a little harsh on calling Garry a jannie if you look at his experience and the roles he fulfils. A couple of other non-execs bolstered the board - Bruce Langham (he probably dug up your pavement ;) and Brian Houston (who's also saving NHS Lothian and has a consultancy background in organisational change I understand). Surprised noones come up with "Houston we have a problem" - maybe folks saving it for the AGM ;)

gegs70
22-08-2013, 01:31 PM
I wanted to ask what issues do we havr in signing players? It was unnacceptable that with 1 wk to go before playing malmo that we only had 2 strikers both with limited experience...then we sign Vine...still no striker....that filled me with very little optimism!

Did they go into any more detail on the 5 yr plan like when it started and what is included in this plan?

Gerard
22-08-2013, 01:33 PM
Also have a couple of hot lights in Petries face, with someone slapping his face now and then, screaming we have ways of making you talk!

Yes , yes, we could have placed him in a dentist chair and taken teeth out unless certain things took place. PF was fired with immediate effect. Hibs hired a manager who would guarantee exciting football and that we would finish in the top six and win some cups and get into Europe again.:wink:
The point is that the management know that Hibs fans are not content with the football that is being played at OUR CLUB.
We all want Hibs to play exciting football and to win games.
I genuinely believe that all the people who work at OUR CLUB share this view.
At the meeting we had a very frank discussion. Nothing was held back
I am sure that there will be further meetings where fans will have a chance to Grill the board.
The Hibs management are custodians of our club and we as fans can work with the board. We all want Hibs to be successful.
I will soon be going on holiday and will watch future developments with interest.

22-08-2013, 01:38 PM
Yes , yes, we could have placed him in a dentist chair and taken teeth out unless certain things took place. PF was fired with immediate effect. Hibs hired a manager who would guarantee exciting football and that we would finish in the top six and win some cups and get into Europe again.:wink:
The point is that the management know that Hibs fans are not content with the football that is being played at OUR CLUB.
We all want Hibs to play exciting football and to win games.
I genuinely believe that all the people who work at OUR CLUB share this view.
At the meeting we had a very frank discussion. Nothing was held back
I am sure that there will be further meetings where fans will have a chance to Grill the board.
The Hibs management are custodians of our club and we as fans can work with the board. We all want Hibs to be successful.
I will soon be going on holiday and will watch future developments with interest.

You say work with the board, in what way Gerard? :confused:

22-08-2013, 01:47 PM
Has anyone else reported back on last night or is it just the .net guys?

Gerard
22-08-2013, 01:47 PM
You say work with the board, in what way Gerard? :confused:

There is the LWT with Hibernian group that has a dialogue with the Hibs board. At the moment as you are aware there are a number of discussions that are taken place with the board. The LWT group has posted these discussions at length on the various websites.
The LWT group is preparing a very long report regarding these discussions. This report will soon be finished and will then form the basis of further discussions with the board.
If any fan wants to participate in the LWT meetings please contact me or Gogs.
We are Hibs fans and LWT is a way in which we can discuss proposals with the Hibs board.
We will soon see what action the Hibs board takes as a result of reading our report.

22-08-2013, 01:53 PM
In conclusion......................we are all mushrooms!

22-08-2013, 02:02 PM
A five year plan !, better with one of Baldrick's" cunning plans. You can just imagine the huddle in the boardroom when they concocted this idea-Rod, we will tell them we have a five year plan, it will take that gullible lot five years to work out we have no plan , they must think our heads button up the back to come out with something like that. The worst thing is the fans are powerless at the moment as the ST's are all bought so the board has a years grace in which they will hope PF can turn things around. Maybe truly awful results will bring things to a head even sooner and with RP nailing his colours to PF's mast then he must surely consider his position if this were to happen.

22-08-2013, 02:03 PM
In conclusion......................we are all mushrooms!

Maybe someone can shine a light for us ;)

22-08-2013, 02:11 PM
Has anyone else reported back on last night or is it just the .net guys?

The bounce guys have posted a few things but they are going to collate all their notes and reply probably this evening as they were all shattered when they eventually got in last night.

No email from anyone from LWT with any news

22-08-2013, 02:17 PM
There is the LWT with Hibernian group that has a dialogue with the Hibs board. At the moment as you are aware there are a number of discussions that are taken place with the board. The LWT group has posted these discussions at length on the various websites.
The LWT group is preparing a very long report regarding these discussions. This report will soon be finished and will then form the basis of further discussions with the board.
If any fan wants to participate in the LWT meetings please contact me or Gogs.
We are Hibs fans and LWT is a way in which we can discuss proposals with the Hibs board.
We will soon see what action the Hibs board takes as a result of reading our report.

Are they a secret Gerard, can't you just come out and tell us? And with all this working with the board, just what difference will it make to what we see on a Saturday?

h1bs4life
22-08-2013, 02:47 PM
Bit on the bbc website from one of the fans who attended. http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23799513 . got to agree with everything said.

22-08-2013, 02:52 PM
http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by One Day Soon http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=3728599#post3728599)

Here's an alternative; instead of talking down hibs and promoting non-attendance, suggest everyone gets along when they can, thus boosting club income, which will get us through these awkward times.

Stay away if by all means if that's your personal position, but I don't get why you have to try and encourage everyone else to do so.

It's possible to talk down Hibs? I thought we we were already about as low as you can go.

I think you are misreading my post. I'm not promoting non-attendance, I'm simply pointing out that the only thing that will have any effect on Rod's actions is the attendance level. Everything else is just ephemeral.

Boosting club income is not going to change anything BTW if you accept that the problem is the manager in particular and the culture at the club more generally.

As I said I'm not encouraging anyone to do anything, just observing that we are all addicted to the club and therefore can't easily walk away and can't easily tolerate or cope with what is happening. Its pain/pain either way unless things somehow dramatically and unexpectedly just turn around.

One more thing, sometimes a dying plant needs radical pruning.

22-08-2013, 03:26 PM
The bounce guys have posted a few things but they are going to collate all their notes and reply probably this evening as they were all shattered when they eventually got in last night.

No email from anyone from LWT with any news

Think the meeting invites just went out to St Pat's, Erin Trust, Hibs.Net and Bounce Nikki. A couple of LWT activists were approached last week to help organise it but after a wee email round robin over the weekend it was felt that with only nine supporters talking informally with Rod in a room, David could probably organise it himself. It went fine

22-08-2013, 04:35 PM
A question to those guys and girls who went last night.

What did you think last night's get together achieved, and was it worth your time and effort?

22-08-2013, 05:04 PM
A question to those guys and girls who went last night.

What did you think last night's get together achieved, and was it worth your time and effort?

I think it let the majority of us sound off and get our points over. Was it worth my time and effort, probably not.

I genuinely don't believe they are being honest with us, and the Board has a different view from me of all things Hibernian. It was a PR exercise pure and simple, and will it change anything going forward, not in my opinion. Shame that there was an opportunity to listen to the fans last night, but that the Board still think they are doing well, and working hard to turn things around......Seems to be a malaise, and imo a number of people within the Club are too comfortable, which is unhealthy

22-08-2013, 05:15 PM
I think it let the majority of us sound off and get our points over. Was it worth my time and effort, probably not.

I genuinely don't believe they are being honest with us, and the Board has a different view from me of all things Hibernian. It was a PR exercise pure and simple, and will it change anything going forward, not in my opinion. Shame that there was an opportunity to listen to the fans last night, but that the Board still think they are doing well, and working hard to turn things around......Seems to be a malaise, and imo a number of people within the Club are too comfortable, which is unhealthy

22-08-2013, 05:24 PM
Bit on the bbc website from one of the fans who attended. http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23799513 . got to agree with everything said.

I heard this at lunchtime. He even sounded intelligent. It's a good job it wasn't television.

22-08-2013, 05:24 PM

Personally I expected nothing, G. See above. The club desperately needs a new man with a different vision, at the top.

These points I would agree with, Stu. I'm grateful to those who took the time and trouble to go along, but I had absolutely no expectations that the meeting would change or solve anything. And I remain convinced that it will not change or solve anything.

In my opinion, no matter how good the manager or chairman has been for a club, the time comes when all but the very very few have to move on to allow another man with new ideas and a new vision for the club to take over and take things forward.

That time is now past for RP. It may also be past for STF, though THAT's a hugely more complex and troubling can of worms to open in the present economic climate.

It's a great shame that RP didn't step down after the completion of the East Stand to allow a new man (or woman) to take over, but right now I see a club bankrupt of ideas drifting from one crisis to another, and I am so utterly pissed-off with the situation that I WILL NOT return to ER until the present state of things changes radically for the better.

I simply no longer believe in the people who're running my football team, and I will not support them.

22-08-2013, 05:26 PM

All sounds fairly typical of Hibs/Petrie.

It just feels to me like the arrogance and stubbornness of one man is completely hindering us.

22-08-2013, 05:45 PM

Thats a real p1554r BF esp since you amongst others after that first May debacle had spelled things out in no uncertain terms for management. Obviously not being there in person means you rely on the perceptions of others but we can't keep having these meetings with the same spiel. I'm all for dialogue with purpose but when we see a recurring pattern in terms of calamitous results and a crisis management meeting you do have to ask yourself what can we as fans do that's not already been said and done?

God knows we've been patient, management should share their vision and timetble with target milestones for turning things around and do the decent thing if they fall short again.

22-08-2013, 05:47 PM
I heard this at lunchtime. He even sounded intelligent. It's a good job it wasn't television.

:greengrin:greengrin

Thanks Lex

22-08-2013, 06:04 PM

That's something I tend to agree with. Little doubt Petrie and others have worked hard in difficult times gone by but now they think the work is done when its far from complete - It's never complete and if they can't do it anymore then they should be actively looking to move on.

22-08-2013, 06:05 PM
:greengrin:greengrin

Thanks Lex

Just heard it and thought it was you. Well done!
You are now the undisputed Hibs fans chief😇

22-08-2013, 06:10 PM
Didn't Liam Craig play left midfield for St Johnstone?

22-08-2013, 06:11 PM
You are now the undisputed Hibs fans chief

I dispute that...

22-08-2013, 06:14 PM

Up until last season IIRC, when he was shifted into playing as one of three in midfield.

22-08-2013, 06:15 PM
I dispute that...

Sorry, there can only be one!

Gustavo Fring
22-08-2013, 06:24 PM
im starting to think petrie is a jambo trojan horse sent to the eastside to destroy hibernian F.C

he has to go and NOW . i have cash waiting if anyone wants to come together to try and buy him out

22-08-2013, 06:28 PM
You are now the undisputed Hibs fans chief

Cheers Billy......

22-08-2013, 06:31 PM

And that is your observation to the interview:faf:

LeithBoozy
22-08-2013, 06:38 PM
im starting to think petrie is a jambo trojan horse sent to the eastside to destroy hibernian F.C

he has to go and NOW . i have cash waiting if anyone wants to come together to try and buy him out

Or alternatively, knows a decent hired gun. :rolleyes:

22-08-2013, 06:41 PM

They probably are all working very hard in the background to improve things. Problem is they just do not have the ability or skills to do it. Hard work doesn't cut it. We need people who have the will and the ability to make significant changes at the club. Last night sounds like a PR exercise and a further insult to those fans who feel change is needed within the club. Manager, players and Petrie have talked the talk for too long and we should no longer give them a platform to spout their hollow words.

SneakersO'Toole
22-08-2013, 06:44 PM
Seems to be a malaise, and imo a number of people within the Club are too comfortable, which is unhealthy

Couldnt agree more with this part. Petrie and Forsythe are top of that list IMO.

There's too much of a pals act at ER which inevitably leads to a lack of accountability and people knowing deep down that their job is safe regardless of their performance. As BF says, this is not healthy.

Yet it filters down from the very top - our absent owner STF.

22-08-2013, 06:45 PM

Petrie out.

Clearly it must be the fault of us supporters, paying hundreds of pounds every year for the privilege.

So obviously the answer is just for everyone to get behind the team and we will go from strength to strength? Thanks for figuring this out for me.

22-08-2013, 06:48 PM

For the same reason that you encourage everyone to attend - is that really difficult to fathom?

Also not sure why you suggest that "boosting club income" will "get us through these awkward times"? How is that working out so far?

22-08-2013, 06:50 PM
http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by One Day Soon http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=3728599#post3728599)

It's possible to talk down Hibs? I thought we we were already about as low as you can go.

I think you are misreading my post. I'm not promoting non-attendance, I'm simply pointing out that the only thing that will have any effect on Rod's actions is the attendance level. Everything else is just ephemeral.

Boosting club income is not going to change anything BTW if you accept that the problem is the manager in particular and the culture at the club more generally.

As I said I'm not encouraging anyone to do anything, just observing that we are all addicted to the club and therefore can't easily walk away and can't easily tolerate or cope with what is happening. Its pain/pain either way unless things somehow dramatically and unexpectedly just turn around.

One more thing, sometimes a dying plant needs radical pruning.

Its always best to stay clear of gardening analogies when discussing Hibs. Its only a matter of time before someone points out that heaping more manure on a poor specimen can work wonders. The next thing you know some ****wit has bought Joe Keenan.

22-08-2013, 06:51 PM

BF, I've long thought Rod's attitude is 'just stay in the league' and only really acts if a place in the SPL is seriously at risk - I'd go beyond 'too comfortable' and say Hibs and Rod have lost touch with the support and now are a club that 'accept mediocrity' and 'are in no rush to raise standards'.

Sir Tom's lack of input and silence astounds me - still, he is another one who I think just wants an easy life. He's earned it right enough, but if he bought a club for the community, and the community ain't happy campers, you'd think he'd start making noises and asking why, demanding better standards and demanding they strive for success - that includes everybody at the club. What was his company's tagline....'you can't get quicker than a kwik fit fitter'.................well ours is 'you can't get any slower than a Hibs midfielder'.

Zero entertainment, no entertainers, players that do their playing on Twitter and in the media and not on the pitch, zero leadership from top to toe, unprofessional and lacking ambition - WELCOME TO 7,000 CROWDS ROD :agree:

22-08-2013, 07:00 PM
I think they listened. Think they were surprised by the strength of feeling. It's whether they decide to take action on the points raised is the issue. It was worth it from my perspective. It's clear all present care about the club. But clearly RP is going nowhere and PF is being given more time unfortunately

22-08-2013, 07:05 PM
So, Where do we go from here?

22-08-2013, 07:11 PM
I think they listened. Think they were surprised by the strength of feeling. It's whether they decide to take action on the points raised is the issue. It was worth it from my perspective. It's clear all present care about the club. But clearly RP is going nowhere and PF is being given more time unfortunately

And you wonder why we all think Petrie is too comfortable in his role. Wow.

22-08-2013, 07:11 PM
So, Where do we go from here?Where did we go the last time? Naewhere while he's here!

22-08-2013, 07:15 PM
I think they listened. Think they were surprised by the strength of feeling. It's whether they decide to take action on the points raised is the issue. It was worth it from my perspective. It's clear all present care about the club. But clearly RP is going nowhere and PF is being given more time unfortunatelyDid they before?

http://mychinaconnection.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/InOneEarAndOutTheOther.jpg

22-08-2013, 07:15 PM
And you wonder why we all think Petrie is too comfortable in his role. Wow.

A bit like Romanov over Hearts, without the big financial swindle

22-08-2013, 07:38 PM
Starting with the quote attributed to Jimmy Nicol ............ This must be a joke right. I mean seriously he was taking the peesh ..... I mean seriously he was ..... right?

As far as the meeting with RP goes, it was good that he acknowledged the fans anger at the Malmo and derby match results and agreed that like us the board want to see the team do better. I am now feeling much better hearing that I have to say.

But .... as if that wasnt enough .... I now hear that we have a 5 year plan.

The people moaning and complaining on this board make me bloody sick. I mean to say 'A 5 YEAR PLAN' and still thats not enough for you lot.

Seriously ... Thanks to the guys who attended the meeting and posted back on here. I'm sure it was worth it to be able to get stuff off your chest on a personal level ........... but I cant help thinking that other than that you were wasting your time. As far as I can see there is little or no real anger at the utter on field failure of Hibs starting from STF down to the players. No information appears to have been given to the supporters of what the vision was for this 5 year plan, what its goals were or how during the 5 years these goals were to be acheived.

Its just utter drivel, cheap talk and platitudes emanating from Easter Road at the moment, which lets face it is no different from the last 5 years ... was there a plan during these years too?

Its just too sad for words !!!

Dunderhall
22-08-2013, 07:40 PM
RP... PR, easily interchanged.

22-08-2013, 08:24 PM
How the hell can Petrie say that they have a five year plan in place... What the hell has the plan been for the past 6 years? Im sorry but that is absolute rubbish and sticks out the most from all the other points to emerge from the meeting.. Either its an admission to having had no real plan in the past, or its an admission of failure.. Enough is enough how much of this are we going to have to stomach? Time for pointless meetings are have passed, we need to become more vocal as a support against petrie and his running of the club, Fenlon deserves the sack but is just a pawn in a far bigger mess.

22-08-2013, 08:39 PM
BBC sportsound tonight, podcast available, I am on at around 16 minutes in, talking about last night's meeting, and the current situation.....

22-08-2013, 10:38 PM
I've read every post on this threat and I've got a question for the guys who were there because I can't see an answer for it on here, or I'm too blind.

When rod spoke about this five year plan did he say what it involved?

If not was he asked?

The reasons for me asking these questions are, that in five years time are we going to hear the same nonsense from him? How do we know how he is performing if he won't tell us what the plan is?

22-08-2013, 10:42 PM
I've read every post on this threat and I've got a question for the guys who were there because I can't see an answer for it on here, or I'm too blind.

If not was he asked?

The reasons for me asking these questions are, that in five years time are we going to hear the same nonsense from him? How do we know how he is performing if he won't tell us what the plan is?Look at the last 6 years for that. What has the plan been there?

23-08-2013, 12:07 AM
5 year plan eh? When was this implemented 7yrs ago? I accept new owners coming in saying we have 3yr-5yr plan etc but for somebody who has been at club for over 5yrs then that just simply isnt acceptable, Did RP say on day one we have a 15yr plan?

The summer of 2011 should have seen end of this man, gross incompetance and stubborn loyalty cost Hibs dearly, are we seeing the same again? It appears so.

23-08-2013, 12:09 AM

If not was he asked?

The reasons for me asking these questions are, that in five years time are we going to hear the same nonsense from him? How do we know how he is performing if he won't tell us what the plan is?

Yes the five years are not consecutive it is 5 yrs over 20yrs, as long as we have one good seaon every 4/5 yrs its all fantastic.

23-08-2013, 05:47 AM
The Five Year Plan is on a rolling one year contract.

23-08-2013, 05:59 AM

If not was he asked?

A plan isnt a plan if no one knows what it is.

23-08-2013, 06:12 AM
Maybe part of the next q&a can be about the 5 year plan.
The timeline
The objectives and milestones
The current status
The constraints, issues and risks

published in advance so we can ask targetted questions based on some level of understanding.

oregonhibby
23-08-2013, 06:17 AM
5 year plan eh? When was this implemented 7yrs ago? I accept new owners coming in saying we have 3yr-5yr plan etc but for somebody who has been at club for over 5yrs then that just simply isnt acceptable, Did RP say on day one we have a 15yr plan?

The summer of 2011 should have seen end of this man, gross incompetance and stubborn loyalty cost Hibs dearly, are we seeing the same again? It appears so.

A strategic plan should always be updated as elements are achieved. So as the East stand went up that would be knocked off and the next element added. I wasn't there but heard big plans for ER and EM, so that must be the new elements and probably up to 5 years off. Good practice.

The issue is what the 5 year plan says, what its objectives are and what financially is required to achieve those plans. To me electronic tv's in the corners - if that is actually in the plan and I don't know - is a nice to have but is secondary to building a squad and having success on the park. As they say it is better to have a plan and fail to have no plan and fail. The former you can be judged on and the latter means you shouldn't be there in the first place.

23-08-2013, 06:26 AM
Maybe part of the next q&a can be about the 5 year plan.
The timeline
The objectives and milestones
The current status
The constraints, issues and risks

published in advance so we can ask targetted questions based on some level of understanding.

Part of the problem is that, after a year of LWT and several other Q&As with selected supporters, we shouldn't having to be asking for the '5 Year Plan' now.

23-08-2013, 06:35 AM
Part of the problem is that, after a year of LWT and several other Q&As with selected supporters, we shouldn't having to be asking for the '5 Year Plan' now.

Is it only me, but does anyone else find this 5 year plan a little convenient?

I mean is this the first time they have thought about having a plan, what have they been doing for the last 6 years since our cup win?

Why no mention of any plan before, surely to god they had one?

Do they really think we are that gullible? :rolleyes:

23-08-2013, 07:08 AM

I mean is this the first time they have thought about having a plan, what have they been doing for the last 6 years since our cup win?

Agree 100%

So can anyone who was there answer my question? Did we ask rod what was in his plan? If not, why not?

23-08-2013, 07:11 AM

Do they really think we are that gullible? :rolleyes:so cynical :wink:

WHUHibs
23-08-2013, 07:21 AM

Having worked for many corporates with strategic plans they are clearly laid out and adapted due to business conditions. It is not plausible to suggest a new 5 year plan unless there has been a change in owners therefore it has little or no credibility. If the board want to show the plan they should have done so to its customers I.e us to show direction. It's too convenient to make this statement.

Unfortunately unless STF agrees to a change at the top it's going to be difficult to ask Rod to step aside. Only people power will affect the change in whatever format it can be done.

First dialogue, review options on what is credible then co-ordinated action. Unfortunately as just paying members of the public and not shareholders to bring a group together is difficult.

23-08-2013, 07:46 AM

Yes perhaps some day you'll join one of the groups and the world will be as one ;)

23-08-2013, 07:54 AM

It makes no sense to me at all to now be mentioning 5yr plans. What has been going on the last few years then? I do not want to hear about big plans for EM or ER that involve anything more than 1p spent on them.

All the plans should be having a decent team and structure put together so we don't need to have such meetings and 5ys isnt on at all.

23-08-2013, 08:03 AM
A strategic plan should always be updated as elements are achieved. So as the East stand went up that would be knocked off and the next element added. I wasn't there but heard big plans for ER and EM, so that must be the new elements and probably up to 5 years off. Good practice.

The issue is what the 5 year plan says, what its objectives are and what financially is required to achieve those plans. To me electronic tv's in the corners - if that is actually in the plan and I don't know - is a nice to have but is secondary to building a squad and having success on the park. As they say it is better to have a plan and fail to have no plan and fail. The former you can be judged on and the latter means you shouldn't be there in the first place.Just what we need right enough, 5 million spent on it already and how ever many hundreds of thousands every year tae run it with nae tangible results. Further development of ER, just what is needed, I would have thought it over developed already for the ever dwindling number of people who can actually be bothered turning up anymair. Big TV screens for adverts and messages, woo hoo. If I wanted tae watch TV I could stay in the hoose without paying an extra 400 quid a year tae watch it.

Everything being addressed except what really matters. Action on the park is what is needed, it's been needed for years and is needed NOW! No anymair of that pish.

Baker9
23-08-2013, 08:16 AM
The Five Year Plan is on a rolling one year contract.

:greengrin Sums it up perfectly. The thing about 5 year plans is:

1. They are not worth the paper they are written on unless the day-to-day operational decision-making of senior management is first class to deliver the plan
2. Five years is a lifetime in today's fast moving-markets. What we need is a brilliant one-year plan every year! Never likely with the present board.

23-08-2013, 08:37 AM
Just what we need right enough, 5 million spent on it already and how ever many hundreds of thousands every year tae run it with nae tangible results. Further development of ER, just what is needed, I would have thought it over developed already for the ever dwindling number of people who can actually be bothered turning up anymair. Big TV screens for adverts and messages, woo hoo. If I wanted tae watch TV I could stay in the hoose without paying an extra 400 quid a year tae watch it.

Everything being addressed except what really matters. Action on the park is what is needed, it's been needed for years and is needed NOW! No anymair of that pish.

Finally we know what Farmer and Petrie are aiming at - the biggest and best stadium in the Third Division, superb corporate facilities, TV screens in all corners, massive advertising revenue, and 200 hardy souls in the stadium watching a team about the same standard as East Stirlingshire. And every now and again we get to watch some OTHER team playing in a Cup semi that's been 'awarded' to ER.

Maybe the helipad isn't a joke after all?

Is it too hard for that pair to understand that a football club is about the FANS and the TEAM?

:greengrin Sums it up perfectly. The thing about 5 year plans is:

1. They are not worth the paper they are written on unless the day-to-day operational decision-making of senior management is first class to deliver the plan
2. Five years is a lifetime in today's fast moving-markets. What we need is a brilliant one-year plan every year! Never likely with the present board.

Stalin was great for Five-Year Plans. A lot of dictators are. Stale bread and water today, but hey. guys, there'll be jam in 5 years time.

Note to Petrie - the stadium is just the frame for the picture. In an art gallery, nobody looks at the frames - they're only interested in the pictures.

The picture here is the TEAM. Give us a decent team to watch, and the stadium really doesn't matter all that much. So long as the toilets are clean and I can see the pitch, I'm happy - IF the team's playing decent football.

This isn't rocket science - most football fans in Scotland understand this from Day One of following their team.

I'm beginning to think that our team has been taken over by aliens from the planet Zog where points are awarded for pretty grandstands regardless of the crap being served up on the pitch.

Next time there's a fans' meeting with Mr Petrie, could someone have a wee look? Does his head actually button up the back?

Baker9
23-08-2013, 08:45 AM
Stalin was great for Five-Year Plans. A lot of dictators are.

A lot of them had moustaches too. :rolleyes:

23-08-2013, 08:54 AM
BBC sportsound tonight, podcast available, I am on at around 16 minutes in, talking about last night's meeting, and the current situation.....

Listened to the podcast this morning and you spoke very well, putting across concerns about the situation at Easter Road that are shared by large numbers of the Hibs support. :aok:

23-08-2013, 08:57 AM
So i file a motion of no confidence in Petrie at the forthcoming AGM, urging him to stick to the bean counting and get a football guy to run the football side of things. Transfers, head coach, ageed ???

23-08-2013, 09:01 AM
Yes perhaps some day you'll join one of the groups and the world will be as one ;)

I know lots of folk on LWT are a bit tender at the moment but my comment wasn't intended as a criticism of LWT or any supporter. It was a comment on the openness of the club in the dialogue.

If you disagree, bash on and let me know why.

GreenPJ
23-08-2013, 10:08 AM
Having worked for many corporates with strategic plans they are clearly laid out and adapted due to business conditions. It is not plausible to suggest a new 5 year plan unless there has been a change in owners therefore it has little or no credibility. If the board want to show the plan they should have done so to its customers I.e us to show direction. It's too convenient to make this statement.

Unfortunately unless STF agrees to a change at the top it's going to be difficult to ask Rod to step aside. Only people power will affect the change in whatever format it can be done.

First dialogue, review options on what is credible then co-ordinated action. Unfortunately as just paying members of the public and not shareholders to bring a group together is difficult.

Do you not believe that what has happened with Scottish Football over the last 2 years would justify a review of the plans and objectives of the club? The structure and economics of Scottish Football have changed significantly and there has been a huge amount of uncertainty (still is sadly). Even with our manageable debt position there are numerous clubs out there in the SPL, our competition, who have a very uncertain futures and whilst that is a positive in a way in football you need to know that competition is going to be around as ultimately it does effect finances.

23-08-2013, 11:11 AM

Whatever the issues, most fans would identify a lack of leadership from the club. In the wake of the 2012 SC Final, there was a senior level restructure with Hyland and Lindsay leaving but it's not enough. We need a full time senior exec in charge of the business, with the experience and ideas to make things better and the authority to implement change.

23-08-2013, 12:53 PM
Stalin was great for Five-Year Plans. A lot of dictators are.

A lot of them had moustaches too. :rolleyes:

They come in all shapes and sizes.

http://resources2.news.com.au/images/2008/12/05/1111120/618262-world-039-s-10-worst-dictators.jpg

http://prafulla.net/wp-content/sharenreadfiles/2011/02/dictators1.jpg

http://tantus.in/downloads/photos/When%20great%20dictators%20fall/011%20when-great-dictators-fall-Saddam%20Hussein,%20Iraq%20%20(011).jpg

http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2006/12/11/pinochet_wideweb__470x322,0.jpg

http://www.bubblews.com/assets/images/news/367021824_1369488123.jpg

23-08-2013, 12:55 PM
This should be renamed, Question and Waffle with Rod Petrie - 6.30 kick off!

23-08-2013, 12:57 PM
This should be renamed, Question and Waffle with Rod Petrie - 6.30 kick off!

The waffle would just leave crumbs on the tache tho' ;)

23-08-2013, 01:04 PM
So, Where do we go from here?

Is it down to the lake I fear?

23-08-2013, 01:06 PM
Is it down to the lake I fear?

Ay ah ah ah ah ah

Antrim Hibee
23-08-2013, 01:07 PM
Has anyone explored the possibility of Hibs having a supporter owned structure?

23-08-2013, 01:08 PM
Owners and Chairmen that know anything about football know that you build a plan around a strong squad of players, not in reverse.

This "5 year plan" is just another way of saying "we don't have a clue how to put a strong squad of players together".

23-08-2013, 01:09 PM
Has anyone explored the possibility of Hibs having a supporter owned structure?

Well, there is an Edinburgh MP with loads of time on his hands apparently for such things.

Maybe he could set it up?

WHUHibs
23-08-2013, 01:16 PM
Do you not believe that what has happened with Scottish Football over the last 2 years would justify a review of the plans and objectives of the club? The structure and economics of Scottish Football have changed significantly and there has been a huge amount of uncertainty (still is sadly). Even with our manageable debt position there are numerous clubs out there in the SPL, our competition, who have a very uncertain futures and whilst that is a positive in a way in football you need to know that competition is going to be around as ultimately it does effect finances.

Hibs are hardly a large company and with what you have said Rod being involved with the SFA (knowledge of issues affecting the game) he would have tweaked his plan. To say they have a new 5 year plan is ludicrous. Compare it to the recession, do you think companies would write a new 5 year plan,,no they would adjust an existing plan! Then again maybe they don't have a robust plan for fear the next 5 years as things might change !

GreenPJ
23-08-2013, 01:48 PM
Hibs are hardly a large company and with what you have said Rod being involved with the SFA (knowledge of issues affecting the game) he would have tweaked his plan. To say they have a new 5 year plan is ludicrous. Compare it to the recession, do you think companies would write a new 5 year plan,,no they would adjust an existing plan! Then again maybe they don't have a robust plan for fear the next 5 years as things might change !

Size of Company has nothing to do with it and as for inside knowledge, how many times did the plans change for a new structure because consensus couldn't be met. I think the banks, insurance companies, builders, supermarkets and many others will have definitely reviewed their 5 year plans as part of the recession, not all will have changed tact significantly but some will have to ensure they are still around and relatively strong when the recession finally turns.

Whether we like it or not a 5 year plan might be to manage down the debt and minimise expenditure, focus on youth players coming through until we see who is left in Scottish football in 2-3 years time. Am not saying that is the plan and am not saying that if there is one it should have been communicated before now but I don't see how we can just dismiss the fact that the Club should not be considering one just because there hasn't been a change in ownership.

23-08-2013, 01:52 PM
Size of Company has nothing to do with it and as for inside knowledge, how many times did the plans change for a new structure because consensus couldn't be met. I think the banks, insurance companies, builders, supermarkets and many others will have definitely reviewed their 5 year plans as part of the recession, not all will have changed tact significantly but some will have to ensure they are still around and relatively strong when the recession finally turns.

Whether we like it or not a 5 year plan might be to manage down the debt and minimise expenditure, focus on youth players coming through until we see who is left in Scottish football in 2-3 years time. Am not saying that is the plan and am not saying that if there is one it should have been communicated before now but I don't see how we can just dismiss the fact that the Club should not be considering one just because there hasn't been a change in ownership.

Beacuse there's always a "plan".

But I don't believe that our plan actually has any targets, because we certainly don't seem to meet any targets.

In 5 years time, we'll still be in this position and they'll be talks of another "5 year plan".

GreenPJ
23-08-2013, 02:05 PM
Beacuse there's always a "plan".

But I don't believe that our plan actually has any targets, because we certainly don't seem to meet any targets.

In 5 years time, we'll still be in this position and they'll be talks of another "5 year plan".

Is that the Plan though.

23-08-2013, 02:11 PM
Smoke and Mirrors with Rod Petrie at 6:30.

GORDONSMITH7
23-08-2013, 02:14 PM
Bit of a waste of keyboard hours amigos. It was not said that there was a 5 year plan, a 10 years plan or whatever. That is one of the real problems in my opinion, there does not seem to be one. I was there and you have been spun a misquoted 'fact' unfortunately. You may also perhaps like to know, the comments on here and the BBC were a bit simplistic 'Fenlon is gash, playing folk out of position, we are all pissed of, the solution therefore is.............' There were serious questions asked directly to Mr Petrie about Tom Farmer and Rod Petrie's roles, record and sustainability in those positions on several occasions by the Chairman of St. Patrick's Branch, which clearly are important and perhaps go some way to address this for folk on here who think that should have happened, yet were not informed that it had.

BIG G

Secretary St. Pat's Branch.

By the way Blackpool get yer arse back we need you to hold a corner of our flag. See you shortly mate.

23-08-2013, 02:19 PM
Petrie gets plenty of praise on here and generally amongst the masses for two things, While i acknowledge that finishing our stadium and creating East Mains were petries success stories, it has to be said that even these were done to the detriment of the football team. Both his achievements were only made possible on the back of him selling our best squad of players in recent times, and not replacing them with realistic replacements.

In a nutshell Petrie couldnt give a toss about the fans and what we expect on the playing field, everything seems to be bricks and mortar, whose interests are being protected? The fans?? Or petrie and farmers???

Seems quite obvious to me.

23-08-2013, 02:24 PM
Petrie gets plenty of praise on here and generally amongst the masses for two things, While i acknowledge that finishing our stadium and creating East Mains were petries success stories, it has to be said that even these were done to the detriment of the football team. Both his achievements were only made possible on the back of him selling our best squad of players in recent times, and not replacing them with realistic replacements.

In a nutshell Petrie couldnt give a toss about the fans and what we expect on the playing field, everything seems to be bricks and mortar, whose interests are being protected? The fans?? Or petrie and farmers???

Seems quite obvious to me.

Do you not think Petrie wants a successful Hibs side? What do you think was behind the building of East Mains and completing Easter Road?

Petrie would, I'm sure, rather Hibs were at the top of the table with satisfied fans flooding through the gates than be where he finds himself right now.

23-08-2013, 02:43 PM
Owners and Chairmen that know anything about football know that you build a plan around a strong squad of players, not in reverse.

This "5 year plan" is just another way of saying "we don't have a clue how to put a strong squad of players together".

Spot on there, way back when Hibs were first started fans did not turn up to see what kind of stadium the football would be played in, the football comes first-this is like no other business.

23-08-2013, 02:43 PM
Do you not think Petrie wants a successful Hibs side? What do you think was behind the building of East Mains and completing Easter Road?

Petrie would, I'm sure, rather Hibs were at the top of the table with satisfied fans flooding through the gates than be where he finds himself right now.

To be fair Matty, with all the NEW plans for more infrastructure, we might need to be patient a bit longer.

And there was me thinking we'd done everything that needed done, and we'd now be concentrating on the playing side of things.

That's another reason i'm out.

23-08-2013, 02:44 PM
Ok, just in. The meeting lasted 2 1/2 hours. 10 fans there along with Rod and David Forsyth. A full and frank discussion took place in a orderly manner. Here are the main points I took from the meeting.

Hibs know communication is poor with media and fans both will improve going forward. Hibs will release a statement on tonight's meeting. A further 2 Q&As in the next 2 weeks. These meetings were not triggered by the planned protest. Hibs reviewing policy on responding to emails.

PF has 100% support of the board and never had 2 games to save his job. He is the hardest working manager we have had in a while and is very keen on youth development and takes a big interest in the academy.

LoB has left but Hibs could not make a comment due to contractual issues. JN has been a breath of fresh air. Both these decisions were PF.

No plans to have a DoF or CEO

PF remains first team coach/ manager he has a contract based on sucess but its a contact with many clauses. Hibs have a squad to compete at the top of the table, but its very early in the season.
Managerial appointments are made by taking soundings from senior football people in the game. PF was highly regarded. Hibs don't have a policy of managers living in Edinburgh or Scotland. Previously lost out on highly regarded manager because wanting him to live in Edinburgh.

Smaller clubs only have short term sucess before falling short again money talks in football long term.

Hibs are working to a 5 year plan, still big plans for East Mains and ER.

Hibs have more ST holders this year than last.

Malmo game was painful for everyone at the club and not good enough. RP choose not release a statement to press because he wanted to discuss it directly with supporters. RP works virtually full time on Hibs during transfers windows but generally works half his working week on Hibs.

STF still has no involvement in the running of the club. Hibs are not reliant on STF cash. Accounts will be published on the 29/0/813 will prove this. Hibs have not had an overdraft for 5 years. Hibs are still up for sale if someone can take the club forward.

Hibs board will consider suggestion of ST holders electing a Non Executive Director.

James Collins was not £200k and signed before the Malmo game. JC tweeted he was a Hibs player before we had an agreement with Swindon.

Lots of discussion about tactics with most fans having their say on this and PF. Rod only commented that we all want to pick a team but PF knows his players and they support him.

I'm sure others that were there will post there take on the evening.

Bit of a waste of keyboard hours amigos. It was not said that there was a 5 year plan, a 10 years plan or whatever. That is one of the real problems in my opinion, there does not seem to be one. I was there and you have been spun a misquoted 'fact' unfortunately. You may also perhaps like to know, the comments on here and the BBC were a bit simplistic 'Fenlon is gash, playing folk out of position, we are all pissed of, the solution therefore is.............' There were serious questions asked directly to Mr Petrie about Tom Farmer and Rod Petrie's roles, record and sustainability in those positions on several occasions by the Chairman of St. Patrick's Branch, which clearly are important and perhaps go some way to address this for folk on here who think that should have happened, yet were not informed that it had.

BIG G

By the way Blackpool get yer arse back we need you to hold a corner of our flag. See you shortly mate.

What was said that caused it to be raised then? You were both there :greengrin

23-08-2013, 03:10 PM
Surely there is only one question that needs an answer?

When the stadium was being developed we were told that once that was done the club would focus on the playing side in terms of finances

When East Mains came along we were told that once it was finished the club would focus on the playing side in terms of finances

Now that both are completed the question must surely be, when will the club focus on the playing side in terms of finances?

TBH talk of electronic screens in the corners at ER merely deflects attention away from the real problem.

23-08-2013, 03:13 PM

I know lots of folk on LWT are a bit tender at the moment but my comment wasn't intended as a criticism of LWT or any supporter. It was a comment on the openness of the club in the dialogue.

If you disagree, bash on and let me know why.

Just a wee note here Beefster.

While this weeks meeting was with selected representatives from groups, and I'm sure there have been others, I have no issue with that.

Have to say though that there have been dozens of occasions, even pre LWT, where the club has opened it's doors to any supporter to come along for dialogue, leaving that aside we all know where Rod Petrie will be before home matches.

For all the things we can legitimately have a go at the club for I don't think that's one of them :-)

23-08-2013, 03:14 PM

When the stadium was being developed we were told that once that was done the club would focus on the playing side in terms of finances

When East Mains came along we were told that once it was finished the club would focus on the playing side in terms of finances

Now that both are completed the question must surely be, when will the club focus on the playing side in terms of finances?

TBH talk of electronic screens in the corners at ER merely deflects attention away from the real problem.

It seems that we've not finished the infrastructure though John, and we need more? You are just another impatient fan who cant see the bigger picture.

Planning permission is in for the Helipad. :rolleyes:

23-08-2013, 03:14 PM

Of course petrie would want that. Wanting something, and actually setting about getting something are two completley different things though.

Surely petrie should be judged on what he achieves and not what he wants to achieve.

You must surely agree with that?

23-08-2013, 03:27 PM

Supporters forums have been held for years. There was a Rod Q&A last year at the Hibs Club. LET monthly meetings have been held, some with Rod, most not but with other directors always present. LWT isn't a group, merely a gateway for supporters to come through, meet with management and if they have the time, to join a project team and take an initiative forward

If the guys on Wednesday asked a question and the answer was a 5 year plan I'm guessing either no-one came forward to ask the question in the previous 6 years, or the answer wasn't written down, or the 5 year plan is a new thing :dunno:

23-08-2013, 03:27 PM
Of course petrie would want that. Wanting something, and actually setting about getting something are two completley different things though.

Surely petrie should be judged on what he achieves and not what he wants to achieve.

You must surely agree with that?

100% agree with that, the post I replied to implied that Petrie didn't want that.

23-08-2013, 03:35 PM
100% agree with that, the post I replied to implied that Petrie didn't want that.

No, the post you replied to was implying that he doesnt give a toss about what the fans think or want. It also suggested that his and Farmers business interests come before what the fans want..

WHUHibs
23-08-2013, 03:49 PM

So a 5 year plan is??

As jonny boy said earlier...stadium finished,,east mains finished,,,ermmmmm playing side could be part of a plan? Not sure what a 5 year plan could entail apart from reducing the debt,,,,but hang on you need supporters for that and that means a better playing squad,,no 5 year plan if there is one can be one could be more important than putting a good team on the pitch. So here's my 5 year plan,,,get a winning team,, I'm sure that would get votes!:wink:

23-08-2013, 03:58 PM

BIG G

By the way Blackpool get yer arse back we need you to hold a corner of our flag. See you shortly mate. Never thought there was, if what we have been doing is tae any kind of plan then the person who came up with it should be in a straight jacket.

23-08-2013, 04:50 PM
Never thought there was, if what we have been doing is tae any kind of plan then the person who came up with it should be in a straight jacket.
Well worth putting in bold. :agree:

23-08-2013, 05:04 PM
Just a wee note here Beefster.

While this weeks meeting was with selected representatives from groups, and I'm sure there have been others, I have no issue with that.

Have to say though that there have been dozens of occasions, even pre LWT, where the club has opened it's doors to any supporter to come along for dialogue, leaving that aside we all know where Rod Petrie will be before home matches.

For all the things we can legitimately have a go at the club for I don't think that's one of them :-)

I honestly thought I was fairly clear.

Are the club not telling us anything until we ask? If major stuff like plans and strategy aren't being offered to the supporters during 'dialogue' without a specific question being asked, it makes a mockery of any noises from the club about working with the fans etc etc etc IMHO.

"We'll work with you but you had better ask the right questions because we're no' telling you otherwise"

23-08-2013, 05:22 PM
Is there a summary of the Q&A on the thread outwith the pre-written pish on the official Hibs site without me having to troll through hunners of posts?

23-08-2013, 06:37 PM
Well worth putting in bold. :agree:Glad you think so, maybe next time I'll put it capitals too just for you. :aok:

23-08-2013, 07:17 PM
What was said that caused it to be raised then? You were both there :greengrin

Rod definitely stated they had a 5 year plan. But did not go into detail. This was in response to be being told that he and the board had run out of steam and ideas. Rod stated they were working to 5 year plan. He then went onto mention about LED screens at ER in the corners and covering a pitch at EM. I don't recall anyone from Bounce or St Pats taking notes, Gerard did, but then again I might have missed that.

23-08-2013, 07:25 PM
I honestly thought I was fairly clear.

Are the club not telling us anything until we ask? If major stuff like plans and strategy aren't being offered to the supporters during 'dialogue' without a specific question being asked, it makes a mockery of any noises from the club about working with the fans etc etc etc IMHO.

"We'll work with you but you had better ask the right questions because we're no' telling you otherwise"

That's because there is no plan or strategy. If there genuinely was one, they would have told us about it without us having to push them for the information.

We've been going backwards on and off the pitch over the last couple of years. Not because the board are occupied with putting together some grand master plan, but because they don't have a clue what they're doing or what they're going to do to turn this around.

LED screen TVs? My arse.

23-08-2013, 07:26 PM
Rod definitely stated they had a 5 year plan. But did not go into detail. This was in response to be being told that he and the board had run out of steam and ideas. Rod stated they were working to 5 year plan. He then went onto mention about LED screens at ER in the corners and covering a pitch at ER. I don't recall anyone from Bounce or St Pats taking notes, Gerard did, but then again I might have missed that.

Cheers.

It's certainly worth putting some meat on the bones at any follow up meeting.

23-08-2013, 08:30 PM

BIG G

If the meeting had been filmed by Hibs TV, there would be no misunderstandings about what was said and we could all have seen what was really said. Maybe this could be considered for future meetings? Just a thought.

23-08-2013, 09:04 PM
If the meeting had been filmed by Hibs TV, there would be no misunderstandings about what was said and we could all have seen what was really said. Maybe this could be considered for future meetings? Just a thought.

Good idea. A sort of "hibs big brother " the rest of us can vote one person out every 15 minutes. If we dinny like the question or the answer the masses can vote and the evictee has to be interviewed by davina outside Scorpio leisure

23-08-2013, 09:12 PM

This was actually considered by Hibs but they thought it would intimidate the fans!!!!!!!!

23-08-2013, 09:16 PM
This was actually considered by Hibs but they thought it would intimidate the fans!!!!!!!!The meeting was delayed for a week, surely that was enough time for them tae communicate this idea tae those attending tae ask them if it was ok before They decided no tae bother. They managed tae communicate with me the other day via e-mail trying tae try and flog me a pint and a curry for 50 quid. Why in the space of a week could that no have been done? The manage quite well tae pump out junk mail trying tae flog folk stuff.

lEXO
23-08-2013, 09:28 PM
If the meeting had been filmed by Hibs TV, there would be no misunderstandings about what was said and we could all have seen what was really said. Maybe this could be considered for future meetings? Just a thought. I was at the meeting and David Forsyth said at the start that they had considered recording it, then decided against it. I wouldn't have had a problem with that but if you turn up and get it sprung on you without knowing it might unsettle some folk. Also you just need to see some of the posts and criticism that folk get on all message boards, imagine being at that meeting and folk who just moan all the time ripping you to bits? As I say it wouldn't have bothered me but some folk aren't comfortable with that. Good point bye the way, it would take the what did he really say stuff out.

23-08-2013, 11:23 PM
I was at the meeting and David Forsyth said at the start that they had considered recording it, then decided against it. I wouldn't have had a problem with that but if you turn up and get it sprung on you without knowing it might unsettle some folk. Also you just need to see some of the posts and criticism that folk get on all message boards, imagine being at that meeting and folk who just moan all the time ripping you to bits? As I say it wouldn't have bothered me but some folk aren't comfortable with that. Good point bye the way, it would take the what did he really say stuff out.

Thanks for the reply. I know there's no perfect answer. Having a camera there does change things, I know. After reading your post, I wondered about getting someone to type up a transcript at the meeting, then I thought 'what on earth are you thinking about'? I'll settle down now. :greengrin

23-08-2013, 11:26 PM
This was actually considered by Hibs but they thought it would intimidate the fans!!!!!!!!

A camera can change the way people speak, or the extent to which they are prepared to open up. You could argue that it was an important meeting and that what was said was for all fans. It would also be in more of a spirit of openness and transparency, but as I said in my other post to IEXO, there's no perfect answer. Cheers

24-08-2013, 12:04 AM

You're very hard to please, John - electronic screens in the corners of the stadium would allow us to see all the goals scored at ER over and over again.

And if they keep playing the one or two we DO score often enough, we might actually think that we're not too bad after all. We just have to hope that once in a while, the goal they're replaying was actually scored by the home team ...

We were sold the idea of the stadium rebuild and the training ground as means to the end of producing a quality football team playing in a modern stadium. The stadium looks to me to be more than fit for purpose; the training-ground has been in operation since John Collins was manager (which seems to me to be a VERY long time ago now) and can't really be said to have produced a conveyor-belt of young talent forcing their way into the first team and then moving on for big fees thus enabling the club to invest farther in improving the quality of the team, thus filling the 21,500 or so seats thoughtfully provided for us by Messrs Farmer and Petrie.

Like you, I'm beginning to wonder if Farmer and Petrie are EVER going to turn their attention away from beautifying the stadium to putting a decent team on the pitch.

IMO it's long past time they started.

No, the post you replied to was implying that he doesnt give a toss about what the fans think or want. It also suggested that his and Farmers business interests come before what the fans want.

Oh come on now - that can't be right, can it?

Surely some mistake there. :rolleyes:

24-08-2013, 12:09 AM
You're very hard to please, John - electronic screens in the corners of the stadium would allow us to see all the goals scored at ER over and over again.

And if they keep playing the one or two we DO score often enough, we might actually think that we're not too bad after all. We just have to hope that once in a while, the goal they're replaying was actually scored by the home team ...

We were sold the idea of the stadium rebuild and the training ground as means to the end of producing a quality football team playing in a modern stadium. The stadium looks to me to be more than fit for purpose; the training-ground has been in operation since John Collins was manager (which seems to me to be a VERY long time ago now) and can't really be said to have produced a conveyor-belt of young talent forcing their way into the first team and then moving on for big fees thus enabling the club to invest farther in improving the quality of the team, thus filling the 21,500 or so seats thoughtfully provided for us by Messrs Farmer and Petrie.

Like you, I'm beginning to wonder if Farmer and Petrie are EVER going to turn their attention away from beautifying the stadium to putting a decent team on the pitch.

Maybe the finishing touches before it is put up for sale, maybe need to paint the steps too and hey presto it adds another million to the selling price.

24-08-2013, 12:25 AM
Maybe the finishing touches before it is put up for sale, maybe need to paint the steps too and hey presto it adds another million to the selling price.

Time to stop laughing at the Jambos, I think. We're in as big a mess as they are. Right now I wouldn't be surprised to see them finish above us in the League. I'm really not sure if there are any teams so bad as to finish below us.

Petrie hasn't gone been investing in dysentery-coloured plastic seats and large quantities of maroon paint, by any chance?

Bailing out the nasty neighbours? :devil:

GORDONSMITH7
24-08-2013, 12:59 AM
Rod definitely stated they had a 5 year plan. But did not go into detail. This was in response to be being told that he and the board had run out of steam and ideas. Rod stated they were working to 5 year plan. He then went onto mention about LED screens at ER in the corners and covering a pitch at EM. I don't recall anyone from Bounce or St Pats taking notes, Gerard did, but then again I might have missed that.

You certainly did amigo. There were several St. Pat's members there in different capacities from different groups.On the Bounce there is a very comprehensive analysis,question by question posed by them and responses received.To be honest that is neither here nor there as one of the Bounce guys reported back to their constituents..........

Q. What is the Board’s vision for our football club? (I'd like to know where you sees Hibs in ten years time). What strategy is being followed to deliver this vision? What are realistic targets for the Football Club in terms of success and are targets part of the discussion in Manager recruitment?

I know it has been suggested elsewhere that it was confirmed that the Board do have a vision for the Club. Whilst much was said about looking forward, we feel that there is in fact nothing in place, no five - ten year plan, not obvious targets, and no real meetings to drive these. Targets are given to the Manager; he is rewarded for achieving them. He is not if he doesn’t.

Spot on and were you taking notes? Thank god several St. Pat's guys were there as the question of Rod Petrie's role and culpability in our teams downward spiral over several seasons would not in a snowballs chance in hell have been raised by anyone.

BIG G

24-08-2013, 07:16 AM
So we've now got some real disagreement about what was actually said at the meeting?

Awesome.

24-08-2013, 08:16 AM
You know, smart phones are perfectly capable of recording conversations...............

24-08-2013, 08:33 AM
You certainly did amigo. There were several St. Pat's members there in different capacities from different groups.On the Bounce there is a very comprehensive analysis,question by question posed by them and responses received.To be honest that is neither here nor there as one of the Bounce guys reported back to their constituents..........

Q. What is the Board’s vision for our football club? (I'd like to know where you sees Hibs in ten years time). What strategy is being followed to deliver this vision? What are realistic targets for the Football Club in terms of success and are targets part of the discussion in Manager recruitment?

I know it has been suggested elsewhere that it was confirmed that the Board do have a vision for the Club. Whilst much was said about looking forward, we feel that there is in fact nothing in place, no five - ten year plan, not obvious targets, and no real meetings to drive these. Targets are given to the Manager; he is rewarded for achieving them. He is not if he doesn’t.

Spot on and were you taking notes? Thank god several St. Pat's guys were there as the question of Rod Petrie's role and culpability in our teams downward spiral over several seasons would not in a snowballs chance in hell have been raised by anyone.

BIG G

G, I assume the words in bold are your own. Apologies if that isn't the case.
I don't think it has been suggested 'elsewhere' that the club had a vision for the club, rather it was reported that the club said they had a vision for the club which it a totally different thing. Whether or not that 5 year plan statement was made or not is something that those who were actually in the room to debate, footy fans can argue about anything at length so no shock there. :greengrin
However the general incredulity it has been met with on here suggests that many of us will also feel that there is no such plan in existence and if there is it is failing. In other words....we agree.
I said before the meeting took place that I felt it would produce nothing more than a smokescreen of platitudes for the board to hide behind. However I do trust that each and every person who attended that meeting, no matter which group they were representing, went with a willingness to fully challenge the board with the questions we have all been asking. I am sure you will agree that the only thing that would result from one group of fans claiming to be the only ones capable of asking the awkward questions is a split amongst us all when more than ever we need to be united to ensure the mess we are faced with at the moment is sorted out.

WEE J

24-08-2013, 08:35 AM

BIG G

I never saw anyone write down notes in that detail, as for the question you mention above there is no doubt a question along that line was asked, but Amigo the response you have posted is nowhere near verbatim.

But you have your views on what took place and I have mine.

The St Pats Chair read a prepared statement, and asked some prepared questions, but i never saw you or your 2 colleagues write down responses. The 2 Hibbies from Bounce never wrote down anything. In fact one never even spoke but Lexo spoke with heart and passion. Gogs who is also a member of St Pats never wrote anything down. You take from the meeting what you wish, I'm sure if I had got this wrong either Baldy or Baldy Foghorn would have mentioned it before now.

As for the questions asked, I along with the others asked questions but did not repeat questions that had been asked. But let's not kid .net on that there was no Paxman style grilling of Rod by the St Pats branch members.

In my opinion your trying make out without your branch being there no questions would have been asked. This quite frankly is tosh. You did on 3 occasions try and tell others to be quiet so that your mate could ask a question. But others did have there say and question Rod about the club, the team and the future.

But it's all about opinions, you have yours and I have mine.

24-08-2013, 08:44 AM
So we've now got some real disagreement about what was actually said at the meeting?

Awesome.A banal statement from the board full of the usual wind and pish and now the people who were there cannae agree on what was said, add some point scoring in tae the mix. What a worthwhile exercise. :Ummm:

24-08-2013, 08:49 AM

BIG G

All hail St Pat's...... That final sentence is utter tosh by the way, as few of us raised questions, and I was the one that asked RP how often he is at ER during week..............Let's not pretend St Pats were the only ones asking challenging questions or were the driving force.....

24-08-2013, 09:00 AM

Unfortunately not! How much longer they will continue to get away with it is anybody's guess.

Just read the snippets regarding putting tv screens in the corners & tinkering with layout at East Mains. Cannot believe what is currently occupying the boards minds regarding improving the club, surely they have got to be joking? Right?? :confused:

This cannot be allowed to continue, they have clearly lost the plot here. 5 year plans & plasma tellys?? WTF?

24-08-2013, 09:08 AM
A banal statement from the board full of the usual wind and pish and now the people who were there cannae agree on what was said, add some point scoring in tae the mix. What a worthwhile exercise. :Ummm:

Indeed. 3 days later and we've still only heard from 3 or 4 of the people who were in attendance.

24-08-2013, 09:14 AM
Unfortunately not! How much longer they will continue to get away with it is anybody's guess.

Just read the snippets regarding putting tv screens in the corners & tinkering with layout at East Mains. Cannot believe what is currently occupying the boards minds regarding improving the club, surely they have got to be joking? Right?? :confused:

This cannot be allowed to continue, they have clearly lost the plot here. 5 year plans & plasma tellys?? WTF?

:agree: This is what presently puts me in the indifferent camp, we have taken the property end of the club as far as we need to for the time being and we have been doing it for far too long at the expense of the team, our facilities are streets ahead of teams that are knocking an erse out of us regularly and I actually find it irritating that the guys running the club even thought it was okay to talk about TV screens or anything else that deflects from the on field issues.

Recruiting and keeping good players on our terms has to be the number one priority and if there is cash earmarked for crap that adds nothing on the pitch then it should be switched to the playing side. If any more rubbish like big screens magically appear whilst things are as they are on the pitch then my spending on the club on all fronts will be reluctantly deliberately witheld and as Blackpool suggests I will tell them why.

24-08-2013, 09:18 AM
:agree: This is what presently puts me in the indifferent camp, we have taken the property end of the club as far as we need to for the time being and we have been doing it for far too long at the expense of the team, our facilities are streets ahead of teams that are knocking an erse out of us regularly and I actually find it irritating that the guys running the club even thought it was okay to talk about TV screens or anything else that deflects from the on field issues.

Recruiting and keeping good players on our terms has to be the number one priority and if there is cash earmarked for crap that adds nothing on the pitch then it should be switched to the playing side. If any more rubbish like big screens magically appear whilst things are as they are on the pitch then my spending on the club on all fronts will be reluctantly deliberately witheld and as Blackpool suggests I will tell them why.

There's absolutely no need to build anything at the moment, or probably for the next 10 years!

24-08-2013, 09:21 AM
There's absolutely no need to build anything at the moment, or probably for the next 10 years!They prefer tae concentrate on infrastructure because they clearly havnae got a clue about fitba. By the time they're finished building there'll be very few left watching the fitba or mair accurately what they're trying tae pass off as fitba.

Baldy
24-08-2013, 09:28 AM
Ok, here goes.

Rod was asked if there was a vision of where Hibs would be in 5 or 10 years time .. he replied saying there was a plan for the next 5 years but at the moment that plan has not been finalised by the board and it would be foolish to announce anything yet as there were other factors involved.
To me that was just a dodging answer, to the fact he had been asked if the current board were stale in their ideas.

As for the St Pats representative being the only one to ask Rod if he was stale, I would have certainly asked that but I wasn't going to ask until later in the process as I felt Rod would have put the barriers up and been defensive if that had been asked right at the beginning.

24-08-2013, 09:29 AM

Id imagine that the screens would be looked at as another stream of income through advertising etc, which when taken out of context isn't a bad idea. But when you look at the bigger picture this isnt the time to be going down that road. The main source of income our owners & board should be looking to maintain & build upon, are surely the paying customer. We are losing fans at quite some rate, these guys are not going to be easily enticed back & definitely not on the promise of watching adverts on a big telly.

What is required is a board with a vision for the football club, and subsequently for that board to put the right people into the relevant roles.

This board does not seem capable of achieving that.

24-08-2013, 09:29 AM

BIG G

Re Bounce info G. I'd like to have read that but it seems to be on their PM board only

24-08-2013, 09:32 AM
Ok, here goes.

Rod was asked if there was a vision of where Hibs would be in 5 or 10 years time .. he replied saying there was a plan for the next 5 years but at the moment that plan has not been finalised by the board and it would be foolish to announce anything yet as there were other factors involved.
To me that was just a dodging answer, to the fact he had been asked if the current board were stale in their ideas.

As for the St Pats representative being the only one to ask Rod if he was stale, I would have certainly asked that but I wasn't going to ask until later in the process as I felt Rod would have put the barriers up and been defensive if that had been asked right at the beginning.It's pity that in conjunction with that question it wisnae asked what the plan has/had been for the last 6 years. Like you I dinnae believe there is a plan, just seems like a line spun tae give them time tae make something up and no answer the question.

24-08-2013, 09:35 AM
It's pity that in conjunction with that question it wisnae asked what the plan has/had been for the last 6 years. Like you I dinnae believe there is a plan, just seems like a line spun tae give them time tae make something up and no answer the question.

Dan, I agree with your view it was probably made up on the hoof, but. They certainly said it.

24-08-2013, 09:40 AM
Dan, I agree with your view it was probably made up on the hoof, but. They certainly said it.I believe that :aok:

24-08-2013, 09:44 AM
When the next Q&A takes place maybe someone with shorthand skills can go and report verbatim on what is asked and replied too. I posted from the notes I took and have given my view on the evening.

I'm not out to score points or make one group of fans look better than others. The fact is RP got asked lots of questions by 9 out of the 10 fans there. I've posted my notes. I don't belive anyone had time to note down the full questions or answers. A lot of the questions were contained in statements/ points of views that were being made.

Ultimately we all want the club to do well and the results on the pitch must improve or more fans will drift away.

24-08-2013, 09:46 AM
All hail St Pat's....

Indeed. Let's replace the HFC board with the St Pats committee and problem solved :greengrin

Baldy
24-08-2013, 09:49 AM
Lexo asked if there should be something in the managers contracts regarding targets, Rod reply was "there are financial incentives", when I put it to Rod that his words were chosen very wisely and did that mean the manager is rewarded for getting good results then surely there should be a clause if he doesn't reach a certain level, he replied that he couldn't discuss a persons contract.

Which lead to me saying should we not have a minimum target of top 6 and if you don't get it then the club can release the manager without any compensation, Rod made a comment regarding Kenny Sheils situation at Killie and asked if we thought him being sacked for coming 8th was fair ... I said yes if his target was top 6 and he failed then fine, we all have targets in our jobs.

Lexo also brought up that if during recruitment a potential manager is not prepared to have a target clause in his contract then he shouldn't be offered the job, anyone who would not want that clause is not ambitious enough nor confident enough in their own abilities should not be anywhere near the Hibs job (something I whole heartedly agree with)

I think over all the recruitment and retention of managers is horrific at Easter Rd and we need a new manager now and we need a new way of appointing one, with new contracts in place to cover Hibs if the manager is not a success.

24-08-2013, 09:54 AM
I believe that :aok:

And me.

24-08-2013, 09:59 AM
When the next Q&A takes place maybe someone with shorthand skills can go and report verbatim on what is asked and replied too. I posted from the notes I took and have given my view on the evening.

I'm not out to score points or make one group of fans look better than others. The fact is RP got asked lots of questions by 9 out of the 10 fans there. I've posted my notes. I don't belive anyone had time to note down the full questions or answers. A lot of the questions were contained in statements/ points of views that were being made.

Ultimately we all want the club to do well and the results on the pitch must improve or more fans will drift away.

Firstly thanks is due to those in attendance.
At this time it would be a good thing for all to keep in mind I'd suggest that kind of behaviour make many want to spew and gives ammo for a few.
Whilst the extra time allowed to gather a mandate and list of questions to be noted another key part was the note taking challenging to take verbatim.
Perhaps an audio recording to aid note taking would be a decent compromise? Cameras could offer too much of a distraction and detract from the real issue - which is not how people look - although I accept folks maybe interested in body language (which I think can be overanalysed).
Getting a timely communication out was important but this meant that notes could not be circulated and agreed prior to posting perhaps the "kinks" can be ironed out via PM?

24-08-2013, 10:00 AM
Lexo asked if there should be something in the managers contracts regarding targets, Rod reply was "there are financial incentives", when I put it to Rod that his words were chosen very wisely and did that mean the manager is rewarded for getting good results then surely there should be a clause if he doesn't reach a certain level, he replied that he couldn't discuss a persons contract.

A prime example of Rodders hiding behind non-answers and bluster. Happy to discuss someone else's contract on his terms but as soon as you ask for detail that he doesn't want to discuss, he contradicts himself and hides behind the "oh, we can't discuss that".

He could have easily have answered your question in general terms.

24-08-2013, 10:43 AM

Hibs have made a move for the big screen on Lothian Rd. :cb

24-08-2013, 10:48 AM

Fenlon would probably play it wide left :greengrin

24-08-2013, 11:03 AM
Fenlon would probably play it wide left :greengrin

My thinking was Ben would be deployed in the wide left role and the big screen would go in goals. :greengrin

24-08-2013, 11:06 AM
My thinking was Ben would be deployed in the wide left role and the big screen would go in goals. :greengrin

There was me thinking it'd start wide left, then be deployed at right back for the last hour or so. :greengrin

24-08-2013, 11:07 AM
Boltonhibs said over a week ago, divide and conquer. And hey presto we now have Hibs fans arguing about what was said or not said at the meeting.

It will make no difference to what we see on the park, but the next meeting must be recorded in some format either film or audio.

24-08-2013, 11:13 AM
Personalities do seem to be getting in the way of the issues at hand right enough, pity.

24-08-2013, 11:20 AM

Considering the size of the big screen, that's not a bad shout.

GORDONSMITH7
24-08-2013, 11:23 AM
I never saw anyone write down notes in that detail, as for the question you mention above there is no doubt a question along that line was asked, but Amigo the response you have posted is nowhere near verbatim.

But you have your views on what took place and I have mine.

The St Pats Chair read a prepared statement, and asked some prepared questions, but i never saw you or your 2 colleagues write down responses. The 2 Hibbies from Bounce never wrote down anything. In fact one never even spoke but Lexo spoke with heart and passion. Gogs who is also a member of St Pats never wrote anything down. You take from the meeting what you wish, I'm sure if I had got this wrong either Baldy or Baldy Foghorn would have mentioned it before now.

As for the questions asked, I along with the others asked questions but did not repeat questions that had been asked. But let's not kid .net on that there was no Paxman style grilling of Rod by the St Pats branch members.

In my opinion your trying make out without your branch being there no questions would have been asked. This quite frankly is tosh. You did on 3 occasions try and tell others to be quiet so that your mate could ask a question. But others did have there say and question Rod about the club, the team and the future.

But it's all about opinions, you have yours and I have mine.

I am not trying to make that out at all. 7 of the 10 fans present at the meeting were in fact St. Pat's Branch members, though representing their own constituents, as did the other 3 including your good self and did a good job of it in my opinion . If St. Pat's members were not there I guess it would have limited contributions somewhat. For what it's worth I think that the list of invitees, you may or not agree, was too narrow with no Hibernian Supporters Association,The Hibernians, Erin Trust etc. You're right lucky it is all about opinions.

BIG G

24-08-2013, 11:33 AM

No doubt in my mind it's a defensive midfielder or we wouldn't be linked.

24-08-2013, 11:38 AM
The last thing we need to do now as a support is to start falling out amongst each other. We should be united in trying to achieve the change required at our club to drive us forward. All supporters branches need to work together, along with various supporters groups in fathoming what change is needed & how best to deliver it. Wouldnt it be a good idea for the groups present to have a meeting with each other prior to meeting Petrie next time? Also a meeting after, where the points raised & answers could be discussed and findings announced after this?

24-08-2013, 11:42 AM
The last thing we need to do now as a support is to start falling out amongst each other. We should be united in trying to achieve the change required at our club to drive us forward. All supporters branches need to work together, along with various supporters groups in fathoming what change is needed & how best to deliver it. Wouldnt it be a good idea for the groups present to have a meeting with each other prior to meeting Petrie next time? Also a meeting after, where the points raised & answers could be discussed and findings announced after this?

I agree, but seriously what can we do while we have an absent owner and Petrie doing what he wants?

24-08-2013, 11:52 AM
I am not trying to make that out at all. 7 of the 10 fans present at the meeting were in fact St. Pat's Branch members, though representing their own constituents, as did the other 3 including your good self and did a good job of it in my opinion . If St. Pat's members were not there I guess it would have limited contributions somewhat. For what it's worth I think that the list of invitees, you may or not agree, was too narrow with no Hibernian Supporters Association,The Hibernians, Erin Trust etc. You're right lucky it is all about opinions.

BIG G

I agree that HSA and the others should have been there, lets just agree to disagree on the 5 year plan point. We all want Hibs to be successful on and off the park.

Right I'm off to support my crappy team

GGTH

24-08-2013, 11:59 AM
I agree, but seriously what can we do while we have an absent owner and Petrie doing what he wants?

Cross our fingers and think happy thoughts?