View Full Version : Why don't you go and watch another club then?

21-08-2013, 01:47 PM
Why do you go to watch a football match, any football match?
Is it out of a sense of duty, because you’ve always done it, because my Dad and his Dad before him did it or because you enjoy watching football, any football despite the standard?
Some folk call it entertainment, yet strangely enough most of the time it doesn’t entertain you one bit, in fact it frustrates you, makes you angry even depresses you.
So why do we mostly stick with the same club, why don’t we move around seeking the best football, the best entertainment that is on offer..................is it a tribal thing?

21-08-2013, 02:06 PM
If you manage to tough it out for a couple of years it becomes part of your identity, no escape after that!

GREEN WARLORD
21-08-2013, 02:11 PM
Outwith Septic, know one is offering entertaining football in Scotland and i refuse to support a team from the west coast. I'll leave that to the weak minded. You know what your getting by being a Hibby, although we don't like it, being able to accept a defeat is what makes us a strong family.

21-08-2013, 02:14 PM
Tradition, it's part of my family, my upbringing and it's home.

21-08-2013, 02:15 PM
There is no logic that can be applied to spending hundreds of pounds for ten months of every year to do something that is usually a million miles away from being entertaining, and often quite depressing - but I shall continue to do so.

It's been in the family for years, and is too far engrained now. Plus, Hibs are like an extension of the family in that I'll always stick by them, and when things go right for them it feels amazing - my family has never let me down though, can't say the same for The Cabbage!

21-08-2013, 02:17 PM
If you manage to tough it out for a couple of years it becomes part of your identity, no escape after that!

I think you have described my problem perfectly.

21-08-2013, 02:18 PM
Outwith Septic, know one is offering entertaining football in Scotland and i refuse to support a team from the west coast. I'll leave that to the weak minded. You know what your getting by being a Hibby, although we don't like it, being able to accept a defeat is what makes us a strong family.

Couldnt disagree with that more. Think teams like Motherwell, St Mirren, Dundee United, Kilmarnock and even Partick Thistle all try and play a decent passing game which is better to watch than what we play.

21-08-2013, 02:20 PM
I was brought up to support hibs, I couldn't support another team. Its more than just being a supporter, its meeting up with friends and family and enjoying the whole day.
When on the few occasions we do have some success we appreciate much more because it doesn't come around very often.

21-08-2013, 02:21 PM
Loyalty.

People who jump around to find the next best thing never feel any attachment to whatever club they're currently "following".

As a club, we have so many up and down moments (all down at the moment). But it's these down moments that are a test of our loyalty to the club.

You could easily switch to some other club, but it just wouldn't feel the same.

21-08-2013, 02:24 PM
I was forced to go as a kid, if i'd only known about childline.

21-08-2013, 02:26 PM

Despite the frustration and cost could never give up. Don't know what i'd do without Hibs! If visiting family down South it is nice to get in a game though, usually a decent match and don't care who wins so nice and relaxing!

McSwanky
21-08-2013, 02:34 PM
I gave it up last season. I go and watch Hearts now, much more fun.

21-08-2013, 03:09 PM
I just go, to be honest I don't understand at all why people only go if we are winning or entertaining. It's better of course when its like that, but I don't really follow why a football fan would choose to do something else when their team is playing.

21-08-2013, 03:17 PM
i gave it up last season. I go and watch hearts now, much more fun.

ltyf

21-08-2013, 03:17 PM
Social reasons most of the time...

21-08-2013, 03:20 PM
Couldnt disagree with that more. Think teams like Motherwell, St Mirren, Dundee United, Kilmarnock and even Partick Thistle all try and play a decent passing game which is better to watch than what we play.

And Inverness.

21-08-2013, 03:21 PM
Social reasons most of the time...

Didn't read it properly; the only other team in Scotland I'd go and see would be PTFC with my dad, as it happens though I live in London op do sometimes go and see Cardiff City, Man United and West Ham at times

21-08-2013, 03:30 PM
You're football club is like a member of the family. Lots of us are brought up supporting a team rather than choosing one. Its was either the Hibs way or the highway for me and my kids got the same message. If you want to support a team it is Hibs.

Strange really because I am very liberal otherwise. I am anti religion and would be very disappointed if my kids ended up believing in god and going to church. I would however feel it was their choice. If they ended up supporting Hearts though I would completely disown them! Football supporting gets very deep into your soul and can make you completely irrrational. Might explain some of the posts on here.As a non believer I would speculate that religion is similar. You certainly need faith to follow Hibs!

21-08-2013, 03:35 PM
Is it out of a sense of duty, because you’ve always done it, because my Dad and his Dad before him did it or because you enjoy watching football, any football despite the standard?
Some folk call it entertainment, yet strangely enough most of the time it doesn’t entertain you one bit, in fact it frustrates you, makes you angry even depresses you.
So why do we mostly stick with the same club, why don’t we move around seeking the best football, the best entertainment that is on offer..................is it a tribal thing?
PeoPle do,man utd,rangers,celtic etc for the glory seekers

21-08-2013, 03:52 PM
Why don't you go and watch another club then?

Is this, by any chance, the club's official response to those complaining about the current fare on show?

21-08-2013, 03:54 PM
I blame my parents, if they lived in Spain when I was born, I could be a Barcelona s/t holder. :wink:

wheniwas5
21-08-2013, 03:59 PM
When hibs are away too st Johnstone I'm going with my son to the Sunderland v arsenal game. Hopefully be a good game and a good day out but not too good or I,ll have a job getting him back to easter road. !!! GGTTH

Hedlund12
21-08-2013, 04:00 PM

Hilarious just choked on my dinner...

21-08-2013, 04:18 PM
Hibs are the only team i'm bothered about. I've been to other games and saw some good football but it just doesn't excite me.

Hibby Gav
21-08-2013, 04:33 PM
There are no other clubs !

21-08-2013, 04:36 PM
PeoPle do,man utd,rangers,celtic etc for the glory seekers

People are also entitled to support those clubs for the same reasons we support ours.

21-08-2013, 04:40 PM
Once Hibernian is in your blood , its there for life !

21-08-2013, 04:46 PM
I used to pretend I was Pat Stanton or Alex Edwards when kicking the leather about even before I'd seen my first Hibs game at ER. Hibs are as much a part of my childhood as my family and hitherto part of me. The thought of supporting another club is simply inconceivable.

21-08-2013, 05:08 PM
When hibs are away too st Johnstone I'm going with my son to the Sunderland v arsenal game. Hopefully be a good game and a good day out but not too good or I,ll have a job getting him back to easter road. !!! GGTTH

Domt think that'll be too hard.

Without cazorla arsenal almost have less creativity than us :greengrin

21-08-2013, 05:12 PM

Ach, but Ester Rantzen wisnae born when you were a kid.

Mind you, I had to wait until rationing was finished before being allowed to go to ER.

I blame Lord Kitchener.

21-08-2013, 05:39 PM
In my poverty stricken childhood there was no chance of going to watch football. Widowed mum & three brothers. There was no history of supporting Hibs in my family that I am or was aware of.

From 0 - 6 I am sure I was a Hibby ( can remember singing anti Yam songs and I lived in Leith ) and from 7 - 14 I supported celtic ... note that I turned 7 in 1967 nuff said. I wasnt the only one so no judging please :greengrin

During the 1975 Scottish cup final as I watched celtic beat Airdrie on the telly ( I was 15 ) it dawned on me that I had no right to support a Glasgow team and that the proper thing to do was to support a club from my home town and Hibs seemed the obvious choice. My mate's dad took us to Easter Road a few months later ( my first ever professional football match ) and from then till now I have been Hibs daft and the idea of ever supporting another team has never entered my head and now never will.

Possibly because when I was 5 my daddy never took me down to Easter Road and lifted me up high upon his shoulders I appreciate more the fact that I can go to ER ( even now ) because I had to wait until I started working at age 18 before I could watch Hibs on a regular basis. No matter how crap Hibs play I will go to watch them and support them .... entertainment doesnt come into it, though it would be nice.

21-08-2013, 05:43 PM
Cause your too strong, like the rest of us. GG

21-08-2013, 07:04 PM
You can change your house, your job, your car, even your wife, but you can't change your team.

Hibs have been frustrating me for over forty years, and gods willing I'll have another forty-plus years of frustration ahead of me.

GREEN WARLORD
21-08-2013, 08:48 PM

So does that make them entertaining or just more entertaining than us?

GlenrothesHibee
21-08-2013, 08:58 PM
Im only in it until we win the Scottish cup then im off to support Raith Rovers ;-)

21-08-2013, 09:43 PM
In no particular order;

Socialising
Habit
Duty
What else would I do?
Tribalism
If I didn't go I'd be constantly wondering what I'm missing.
To release some tension.
Enjoyment
**** the hearts

Miguel
21-08-2013, 10:33 PM
'If you want entertainment, go to the cinema.': 'Blobby' Williamson.
'I was born a Hibbie and I'll die a Hibbies.' Lawrie Reilly.
But...I've got an 'out ball' to escape the frequent gloom: Have family and friends connections to Manchester United, so go down there too: love it, but it doesn't match the emotional pull of the Cabbage.

FifeHibernian
22-08-2013, 01:40 AM
Identity and the emotional roller coaster... That will be completed one day with an absolutely epic win ;)

22-08-2013, 11:48 AM
I've decided to take heed of Scouse's advice and go and watch another team. So, I'll be at the match between TSV 1860 München and SC Paderborn this weekend.

It might be a good idea to report back on the standard of play compared to that of a typical Hibs match. Are players played out of position? Do the team just lump the ball forward and hope for the best? Do the fans moan at any players in particular?

I'll let you know how it goes :wink:

22-08-2013, 11:58 AM

Disagree, I would say just about any fans of a team visiting easter road this season will be entertained.

22-08-2013, 08:19 PM
You can change your house, your job, your car, even your wife, but you can't change your team.

Hibs have been frustrating me for over forty years, and gods willing I'll have another forty-plus years of frustration ahead of me.

FFS - you can do this - why didnt someone tell me earlier!!!!!!

22-08-2013, 08:27 PM
In my poverty stricken childhood there was no chance of going to watch football. Widowed mum & three brothers. There was no history of supporting Hibs in my family that I am or was aware of.

From 0 - 6 I am sure I was a Hibby ( can remember singing anti Yam songs and I lived in Leith ) and from 7 - 14 I supported celtic ... note that I turned 7 in 1967 nuff said. I wasnt the only one so no judging please :greengrin

During the 1975 Scottish cup final as I watched celtic beat Airdrie on the telly ( I was 15 ) it dawned on me that I had no right to support a Glasgow team and that the proper thing to do was to support a club from my home town and Hibs seemed the obvious choice. My mate's dad took us to Easter Road a few months later ( my first ever professional football match ) and from then till now I have been Hibs daft and the idea of ever supporting another team has never entered my head and now never will.

Possibly because when I was 5 my daddy never took me down to Easter Road and lifted me up high upon his shoulders I appreciate more the fact that I can go to ER ( even now ) because I had to wait until I started working at age 18 before I could watch Hibs on a regular basis. No matter how crap Hibs play I will go to watch them and support them .... entertainment doesnt come into it, though it would be nice.

In the maelstrom of conjecture and finger pointing that we do on here (guilty of this myself), that, my friend, is a post which should touch all of us. Glory and indeed, Glory.

22-08-2013, 11:28 PM
I go because Hibs are a massive part of who I am as a person and a huge part of my identity. I know we're not going to win any major honours any time soon but that's not what motivates me. The club is in my blood.

I could not get the same feeling that I get from Hibs, from any other football club and I would never be able to support any other team.

If Hibs were ever to go out of business, I would still watch games on TV but I would be done with going to live football matches.

gegs70
23-08-2013, 12:31 AM
When I started watching hibs it was because it was my local club, now I live a little further away but take my kids along. Since the mowbray years its been pretty bleak. Most of my friend who I started going to games with hve stopped for financial reasons but they havent really missed much. Hope they find a pulse!

TrickyNicky
23-08-2013, 04:14 AM
I have seen Hibs play 4 times in my life!

I was brought up in Niddrie and moved to Sydney when I was 10 and no-one had ever taken me to a game. My real Dad wasn't into football and my step-Dad was a jambo.My mum's side were all Hibbies - so that's what I wanted to be.
My Grandad or my uncles never took me as they thought it would be disrespectful to my new Dad - he never took me for the same reasons.

I always checked Hibs scores, never wore a top or talked about them in front of my auld man but I've always loved The Hibs.
My parents split when I was 14 so I was able to put Hibs posters on the wall and brought my wee brother up a Hibby too.

I saw my first Hibs game in September 1999 - Hibs v Celtic, I didn't have a ticket and it was full, I showed my drivers license to the guy on the door and he let me in - I found a seat in the old East and soaked it up ( I had dreamt of sitting in it for years ), we lost 2-0 and I had to go for a walk I was so overwhelmed.

I moved to New York and went home 3 more times - Kilmarnock, St Mirren and 0-0 with Hearts ( when Mixu put the penalty over the bar ).

I check Hibs.net every day, I have Hibs TV, I buy 2 kids ST's every year through hibs.net, my kids have tops, tracksuits, pencils, lunch boxes and key-rings, most importantly my kids are Hibby's - my son is 8 and a fantastic footballer who plays for Sydney Olympic over here and dreams of playing for The Mighty Hi-Beez, no barcelona or Man U, he dreams of going to ER and I dream of taking him to a match.

He cried his heart out at that final, it was 3am when it finished and we watched it on Setanta at home. I was going to watch it with fellow Sydney Hibs fans but he wanted to watch it with me.

I love Hibs, my kids love them, how lucky would we be to stand and sing with people like us?

23-08-2013, 06:00 AM

I was brought up in Niddrie and moved to Sydney when I was 10 and no-one had ever taken me to a game. My real Dad wasn't into football and my step-Dad was a jambo.My mum's side were all Hibbies - so that's what I wanted to be.
My Grandad or my uncles never took me as they thought it would be disrespectful to my new Dad - he never took me for the same reasons.

I always checked Hibs scores, never wore a top or talked about them in front of my auld man but I've always loved The Hibs.
My parents split when I was 14 so I was able to put Hibs posters on the wall and brought my wee brother up a Hibby too.

I saw my first Hibs game in September 1999 - Hibs v Celtic, I didn't have a ticket and it was full, I showed my drivers license to the guy on the door and he let me in - I found a seat in the old East and soaked it up ( I had dreamt of sitting in it for years ), we lost 2-0 and I had to go for a walk I was so overwhelmed.

I moved to New York and went home 3 more times - Kilmarnock, St Mirren and 0-0 with Hearts ( when Mixu put the penalty over the bar ).

I check Hibs.net every day, I have Hibs TV, I buy 2 kids ST's every year through hibs.net, my kids have tops, tracksuits, pencils, lunch boxes and key-rings, most importantly my kids are Hibby's - my son is 8 and a fantastic footballer who plays for Sydney Olympic over here and dreams of playing for The Mighty Hi-Beez, no barcelona or Man U, he dreams of going to ER and I dream of taking him to a match.

He cried his heart out at that final, it was 3am when it finished and we watched it on Setanta at home. I was going to watch it with fellow Sydney Hibs fans but he wanted to watch it with me.

I love Hibs, my kids love them, how lucky would we be to stand and sing with people like us?Excellent post Nicky ..thanks for sharing that with us mate ..:top marks ..:aok:

Bill Milne
23-08-2013, 08:19 AM
"I was born a Hibby and I'll die a Hibby". That didn't just apply to Lawrie!!

23-08-2013, 08:32 AM

I love Hibs, my kids love them, how lucky would we be to stand and sing with people like us?

Terrific post nicky

Islington Hibs
23-08-2013, 09:27 AM
It's a great question. I have no idea really. No tradition of supporting Hibs, or even football, in my family really although my father could probably be described as mildly Hibs inclined. But since I was about six I always waited, on bated breath on a Saturday, for 'the teleprinter,' on Grandstand, to type out the results. Hibernian 2 then a great pause before Heart of Midlothian 0. cos we always won in those days (early '70's). First game was in 1975 - a 0-0 with Aberdeen and have been hoked ever since. Think it may have been because most people at School were Hibbies?

I have asked myself many times why on earth. But it matters and still does and although I now live in England and only can make a few games a season I really miss it and frankly although the EPL is a far better league its Hibs and only Hibs I really care about.