View Full Version : Does Changing Managers Improve Things?

TowerHibs
19-08-2013, 10:39 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-23724517

Interesting wee article.

Not sure it changes my opinion about Fenlon. Would be different if i could see a style of football that is being aimed for but i can't see the change from his initial 6 months, last season and this season despite having a host of new players

francobaresi
19-08-2013, 11:05 AM
Someone in charge that clearly has no idea or hunger for winning must surely be on a shoogly peg in any business not just football. PF does not have long before his peg shoogles too much......

19-08-2013, 11:07 AM
I'm thinking of managing Hibs as part of a gap year.

hibs4life
19-08-2013, 04:14 PM
http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-23724517

(http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-23724517)Given current discussions, an interesting article, which I don't think has been previously referred to on here.
It is just statistics though and I do think they are only useful in conjunction with some common sense and good judgement...

19-08-2013, 04:41 PM
It does when he disnae have a clue, good mangers can have bad runs with things going against them. Bad/useless mangers are just that.

Dan Sarf
20-08-2013, 05:26 PM
Not much, according to Dutch economist Dr. Bas ter Weel.

"Changing a manager during a crisis in the season does improve the results in the short term, but this is a misleading statistic because not changing the manager would have had the same result."

20-08-2013, 08:17 PM
Not surprised at that at all

20-08-2013, 08:19 PM
we dinnae even get the short term improvement though!!!!

20-08-2013, 08:27 PM
Ah but that piece is looking at do new managers make a difference to a team that is in a slump.

We aren't in a slump, this is about par for the course during Fenlon's reign.

20-08-2013, 08:29 PM
De Ja vu anyone?

hibbymick
20-08-2013, 08:31 PM
Ask Strachan.:aok:

20-08-2013, 08:49 PM
Not at Hibs, because we don't actually replace the real problems, just those who shoulder all of the blame.

Don't expect anything different when a new manager comes in.

20-08-2013, 09:13 PM
It's not just about results at Hibs the style of football that PF plays is eye bleedingly bad.

20-08-2013, 09:19 PM
Keeping one who's useless surely isn't any better?

20-08-2013, 09:21 PM
Just watched The Four Year Plan. Answer seems to be not really!

21-08-2013, 12:23 AM
Does it make it worse? How many bags of sweets do you want Pat?

21-08-2013, 12:24 AM

"Changing a manager during a crisis in the season does improve the results in the short term, but this is a misleading statistic because not changing the manager would have had the same result."

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-23724517Third time at least.

21-08-2013, 12:44 AM
Just watched The Four Year Plan. Answer seems to be not really!At ER just a ****in' plan would be good, much better than just making it up as you go along.

21-08-2013, 06:34 AM

But surely as PF has been in the job for nearly 2 years now
there should be a glimmer of entertainment
All i see is HOOOF , HOOOF, HOOOF
also theres no plan b,c,d etc,etc
But hey if you feel that PF is the man to improve HFC,
thats up to you

Mark79
21-08-2013, 06:37 AM
The closest we got to sorting the real issue was when we appointed collins. He had the right idea about making them fitter and more professional, however they all took the hump. His signings werent that good either which didnt help.

21-08-2013, 06:45 AM

Andy has Pat adopted you yet? :greengrin

21-08-2013, 06:47 AM
If Hibs get a new manager I think there's an 80% chance nothing will change but a few mediocre new signings to see us on the path to continued mediocrity at best

21-08-2013, 07:31 AM

Of course it does ! If they made me the manager and replaced me with a proper one, I can guarantee results would improve. It's no different to any other role or job.

And I'm better than Fenlon :wink:

21-08-2013, 07:33 AM
I think if you replaced somebody who is out of their depth and clueless and replaced them with somebody with a plan, a wealth of experience and knowledge of football tactics you might see an improvement short and long term!!! I will happily debate this matter with any Dutch professors you care to name:cb

21-08-2013, 07:39 AM
If Hibs get a new manager I think there's an 80% chance nothing will change but a few mediocre new signings to see us on the path to continued mediocrity at best

Its nothing to do with signings. Its the style of football he seems to want to play. And lets be clear he did exactly the same when LG was here but his goals allowed us to ignore a lot of the shoyite we were watching. Our football HAS TO CHANGE.

Hibby 2005
21-08-2013, 07:39 AM

Crisis what crisis?

Fenlon is just a symptom, the way the club is run is the real problem as there is no ambition. We have seen progress with the new stands and training ground but those in power don't seem to have the imagination or vision to take us to the next step in terms of a successful product on the pitch.

21-08-2013, 06:19 PM
"Does changing managers improve things?"

It depends on who is choosing them!!