View Full Version : Match Updates Champions League Qualifying

20-08-2013, 10:16 AM
A few games on tonight and some more tomorrow.

Celtc are first up tonight with an early KO (4pm), away to Kazakhstan to face Shakter Khareganda (live on ITV 4).

A few more then on at 7.45pm on Sky Sports with the highlight being PSV Eindhoven vs Milan on SS1 and the rest on the red button (Lyon vs Real Sociedad, Viktoria Plzen vs Maribor and Pacos Ferreira vs Zenit St Petersburg).

20-08-2013, 11:23 AM
I might have a wee look at the Celtic game. I can't say I wish them well. I find it impossible to get behind either of the Weegie bigot brothers or Hearts in Europe. Any other Scottish teams get my support, though of course it's usually in vain.

20-08-2013, 02:39 PM
http://www.itv.com/sport/football/ecl-qualifiers/match/shakhtyor-karaganda-celtic-3661782/

For anyone interested in watching the Tims match, the link is to the Official ITV feed on their website :agree:

20-08-2013, 02:52 PM
Stunning looking national stadium in Kazakhstan - apparently being played here as Karagandy's stadium isn't fit for purpose.

Celtc with around 15 fans - not a huge surprise given the distance/time to travel.

Mon' Shakhtyor! :thumbsup:

brian6-2
20-08-2013, 02:55 PM
Stunning looking national stadium in Kazakhstan - apparently being played here as Karagandy's stadium isn't fit for purpose.

Celtc with around 15 fans - not a huge surprise given the distance/time to travel.

Mon' Shakhtyor! :thumbsup:

there game is on the up. plenty dosh floating about.

deffo make the trip out there if scotland got them.

supershotmo
20-08-2013, 02:56 PM
Looks like Celtic are playing Dundee Utd.

20-08-2013, 03:05 PM
Fast start! The home team looking shaky at the back!

20-08-2013, 03:07 PM
Karagandy's keeper looks dreadful!

20-08-2013, 03:11 PM
I might have a wee look at the Celtic game. I can't say I wish them well. I find it impossible to get behind either of the Weegie bigot brothers or Hearts in Europe. Any other Scottish teams get my support, though of course it's usually in vain.

Celtc's success or otherwise in Europe this season won't have any bearing on us - they'll still win the League with ease.

On that basis, I'm inclined to wish them well, as Scottish Fitba is in a terrible place right now and at least some progress in Europe will improve the credibility of the Scottish game.

20-08-2013, 03:11 PM
Yas!

Shaktyor 1-0 Celtc :thumbsup:

20-08-2013, 03:12 PM
Yaaassssssss 1-0

supershotmo
1-0 to Utd

Dundee United just scored

20-08-2013, 03:13 PM
Joe Ledley caught ball watching.

20-08-2013, 03:13 PM
What a throw that fella has.

hibsmad
20-08-2013, 03:18 PM
I can never find the Karagandy flag waving smilie when I need it!!

20-08-2013, 03:19 PM
Great strike from Commons - off the underside of the bar!

20-08-2013, 03:22 PM
Great strike from Commons - off the underside of the bar!

Celtic 2/1 atm, could be worth a few notes...

20-08-2013, 03:31 PM
Celtic 2/1 atm, could be worth a few notes...

Should score at least two but can't trust them to keep back door shut. 3/1 and I might get involved.

20-08-2013, 03:46 PM
HT: Shakhtyor Karagandy 1-0 Celtc

20-08-2013, 03:48 PM
HT: Shakhtyor Karagandy 1-0 Celtc

http://gifrific.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/borat-dance.gif

20-08-2013, 03:51 PM

I do love your work sir.

20-08-2013, 03:52 PM

http://stream1.gifsoup.com/view3/1651614/borat-high-five-o.gif

20-08-2013, 03:53 PM
Should score at least two but can't trust them to keep back door shut. 3/1 and I might get involved.

4/1 on Bet365.

20-08-2013, 03:56 PM
4/1 on Bet365.

I'm on.

20-08-2013, 04:03 PM
Hope Celtic make it for the good of our coefficient.

It could do with a bit of repairing.

20-08-2013, 04:04 PM
I'm on.

Same. Only £5 though because Celtic are playing dreadful.

Twa Cairpets
20-08-2013, 04:04 PM
Is it just me, or does the crowd cheers/shouts not sound a bit, well, weird?

patch1875
20-08-2013, 04:10 PM
Celtic double chance -evens

20-08-2013, 04:10 PM
Is it just me, or does the crowd cheers/shouts not sound a bit, well, weird?

They're passionate - something we're not overly used to at ER :greengrin

20-08-2013, 04:17 PM
Mexican wave :ill:

20-08-2013, 04:33 PM
:faf::faf:

Celtc have been awful this half (missed the 1st).
Truely, awful.

20-08-2013, 04:34 PM
Get in!

green.and.white
20-08-2013, 04:34 PM

20-08-2013, 04:35 PM
Wonder who Lennon will blame for this ?

20-08-2013, 04:36 PM
Shame, won't somebody think of the coefficient :rolleyes:

20-08-2013, 04:36 PM
Those Celtic centre halves are awful. Absolute rubbish

green.and.white
20-08-2013, 04:37 PM
Those 2 CBs they've signed look murder

20-08-2013, 04:39 PM
Anyone else think that Forrest is the most over rated player going?

20-08-2013, 04:40 PM
Those Celtic centre halves are awful. Absolute rubbish

I assume Lennon thought he could get these guys some game time tonight but leaving out Ambrose looks a major error in hindsight.

Desperately need a top class striker too.

green.and.white
20-08-2013, 04:50 PM
Anyone else think that Forrest is the most over rated player going?

The Scottish Theo Walcott - very fast, but has no guile or footballing brain at all

pedroorange1875
20-08-2013, 04:52 PM
Amazing what can happen when you have confidence, not worried about the ref and have a go at their back four. Celtic are garbage at the back, did not get many many fouls they would have got week in week out and the difference is there to see. Average team that nobody should be afraid of. But they have spent millions and have a much better squad:rolleyes:

20-08-2013, 04:54 PM
Just shows how pish Scottish Football is.

You can see how poor these players really are tonight, yet they'll still walk the league this season.

20-08-2013, 04:55 PM
I assume Lennon thought he could get these guys some game time tonight but leaving out Ambrose looks a major error in hindsight.

Desperately need a top class striker too.

Completely agree, Ambrose is no Beckanbauer but he is in comparison to the 2 lumps of wood they played in front of him. :faf::faf:

Brilliant, can see the Kazakhs scoring at Parkhead also.

20-08-2013, 04:58 PM
Just shows how pish Scottish Football is.

You can see how poor these players really are tonight, yet they'll still walk the league this season.

Yes because that was an excellent barometer.

Was La Liga pish when Celtic beat Barca?

20-08-2013, 05:01 PM
Delightful 90 odd minutes of football :greengrin

20-08-2013, 05:03 PM
Yes because that was an excellent barometer.

Was La Liga pish when Celtic beat Barca?

Barca didn't look poor against Celtic, they just couldn't get the ball in the net.

Celtic actually look pish poor tonight.

20-08-2013, 06:07 PM
Barca didn't look poor against Celtic, they just couldn't get the ball in the net.

Celtic actually look pish poor tonight.

All over the park they looked poor. Absolutely no threat up front and woeful at the back!

20-08-2013, 06:17 PM
I didn't see all the match but was unimpressed by both teams in the pieces I saw. I don't think Celtic are out of the tie yet. The Kazakhs could be the type of team that doesn't travel well.

20-08-2013, 06:31 PM
I thought Celtic controlled most of that game, but their defending was pretty poor on a few occasions.

I'd still back them to get through the tie.

20-08-2013, 06:34 PM
I thought Celtic controlled most of that game, but their defending was pretty poor on a few occasions.

They need 3 goals - who's going to score them?

There's a reason they didn't score tonight and it wasn't because Karagandy defended like superstars.

REALLY looking forward to the Eindhoven vs Milan game, almost as much as I'm looking forward to the start of Serie A this weekend :thumbsup:

20-08-2013, 06:36 PM
They need 3 goals - who's going to score them?

There's a reason they didn't score tonight and it wasn't because Karagandy defended like superstars.

REALLY looking forward to the Eindhoven vs Milan game, almost as much as I'm looking forward to the start of Serie A this weekend :thumbsup:

I'd imagine Stokes might play next week, Samaras and Commons chip in with the odd goal. They will qualify in my opinion.

20-08-2013, 06:53 PM
What a superb start to the Eindhoven vs Milan game!

20-08-2013, 06:55 PM
What a superb start to the Eindhoven vs Milan game!

True. Atmosphere sounds great too.

20-08-2013, 07:01 PM
PSV 0-1 AC Milan: El Sharawi

20-08-2013, 07:02 PM
So nearly 2-0 Milan - Balotelli rattling the bar from 20 yards!

20-08-2013, 07:03 PM
Got the makings of a great game...great save to avoid 0-2

20-08-2013, 07:04 PM
Lyon 0-1 Real Sociedad
Viktoria Plzen 1-0 Maribor

20-08-2013, 07:16 PM
The referee has ruined the game the last 5 minutes or so, stopping it for niggly fouls when advantage could be played!

20-08-2013, 07:20 PM
Pacos Ferreira 0-1 Zenit St Petersburg

20-08-2013, 07:22 PM
Stunning effort by Maher - what a cracking young player he looks!

20-08-2013, 07:38 PM

sorry mate hope these twats get bombed oot hate them with a vengence. they get more money the further they go so out early less money so we aint there feeder club for a few more years.

20-08-2013, 07:40 PM
sorry mate hope these twats get bombed oot hate them with a vengence. they get more money the further they go so out early less money so we aint there feeder club for a few more years.

I never said what i hoped would happen, only what i think will happen. :wink:

20-08-2013, 07:42 PM
I never said what i hoped would happen, only what i think will happen. :wink:

okay let you off , but i really hope they get emptied

20-08-2013, 07:46 PM

The financial gulf between the Tims and the rest will remain ridiculous for a long time whether or not they get to the group stages here or not.

Having said that, I fully agree with your sentiment :greengrin

20-08-2013, 07:52 PM
The financial gulf between the Tims and the rest will remain ridiculous for a long time whether or not they get to the group stages here or not.

Having said that, I fully agree with your sentiment :greengrin

you have a point but the less they do in europe the less there will be glory hunters wanting to support these twats so less money helps the rest off us to try to compete with them.

20-08-2013, 08:03 PM
PSV 1-1 Milan: Matavz

20-08-2013, 08:08 PM
Lyon 0-2 Real Sociedad
Viktoria Plzen 2-0 Maribor
Pacos Ferreira 1-2 Zenit St Petersburg

20-08-2013, 08:39 PM
Great game in the end - PSV Eindhoven 1-1 Milan FT

Lyon 0-2 Real Sociedad
Pacos Ferreira 1-4 Zenit St Petersburg
Viktoria Plzen 3-1 Maribor
Shakhter Karagandy 2-0 Celtc

20-08-2013, 08:52 PM

i would say the less money they have the more likely they are to shop in the domestic market, past few years celtic have done well in europe and spent their cash abroad or in england, whens the last time they paid for a scottish player?

20-08-2013, 08:57 PM

They've just taken in transfer fees of around £18 million for two players after selling Hooper and Wanyama. That is money that no other club in Scotland could hope to generate in such a short space of time.

I hope they are knocked out as well but it won't make a difference to the financial mismatch that we have in Scotland between Celtic and everyone else.

20-08-2013, 09:06 PM
Hopefully FC Shakhter can do us all a favour and finish the job off at Celtic Park. The thought of another torturous Champions League campaign with Celtic, their fans and Scottish media constantly banging on about them all winter would be just too much to bear.

20-08-2013, 09:37 PM
Some of the goals scored in the qualifiers tonight were ridiculous!

Both of Sociedad's goals, Maribor's consolation and Shirokov's third goal for Zenit, all things of beauty!

21-08-2013, 09:47 AM
The Scottish Theo Walcott - very fast, but has no guile or footballing brain at all

A bit harsh on Walcott that.

21-08-2013, 10:16 AM
More games on this evening, some of which again are cracking matchups for a qualifying stage!

Dinamo Zagreb vs Austria Wien
Ludogoretz vs FC Basel
Steaua Bucharest vs Legia Warsaw
FC Schalke 04 vs PAOK Salonika
Fenerbache vs Arsenal

Chelsea also play Aston Villa tonight but not televised due to the CL qualifiers.

JOD
21-08-2013, 10:54 AM
Hopefully FC Shakhter can do us all a favour and finish the job off at Celtic Park. The thought of another torturous Champions League campaign with Celtic, their fans and Scottish media constantly banging on about them all winter would be just too much to bear.

Only difference m8 is they'll be in Europa instead of Champions League. Will still be a long winter. :greengrin

21-08-2013, 11:49 AM
More games on this evening, some of which again are cracking matchups for a qualifying stage!

Dinamo Zagreb vs Austria Wien
Ludogoretz vs FC Basel
Steaua Bucharest vs Legia Warsaw
FC Schalke 04 vs PAOK Salonika
Fenerbache vs Arsenal

Chelsea also play Aston Villa tonight but not televised due to the CL qualifiers.
Any of those games on cooncil tele?! :greengrin

21-08-2013, 12:35 PM
Any of those games on cooncil tele?! :greengrin

All on Sky along with the Spanish Super Cup at 10pm

Wed 21st Aug
Steaua Bucharest v Legia Warsaw
UEFA Champions League Play Off 1st Leg
19:45
Sky Sports Red Button

Wed 21st Aug
Fenerbahce v Arsenal
Sky Sports 1 / Sky Sports 1 HD

Wed 21st Aug
Ludogorets v FC Basel
Sky Sports Red Button

Wed 21st Aug
Schalke 04 v PAOK
Sky Sports Red Button

Wed 21st Aug
Dinamo Zagreb v FK Austria Memphis Magna
Sky Sports Red Button

Wed 21st Aug
Atletico Madrid v Barcelona
Spanish Super Cup 1st Leg
22:00
Sky Sports 4 / Sky Sports 4 HD

21-08-2013, 12:54 PM
All on Sky along with the Spanish Super Cup at 10pm

Wed 21st Aug
Steaua Bucharest v Legia Warsaw
Sky Sports Red Button

Wed 21st Aug
Fenerbahce v Arsenal
Sky Sports 1 / Sky Sports 1 HD

Wed 21st Aug
Ludogorets v FC Basel
Sky Sports Red Button

Wed 21st Aug
Schalke 04 v PAOK
Sky Sports Red Button

Wed 21st Aug
Dinamo Zagreb v FK Austria Memphis Magna
Sky Sports Red Button

Wed 21st Aug
Atletico Madrid v Barcelona
Spanish Super Cup 1st Leg
22:00
Sky Sports 4 / Sky Sports 4 HD

Didn't realise the Super Cup was tonight! Brilliant :thumbsup:

21-08-2013, 01:05 PM
Didn't realise the Super Cup was tonight! Brilliant :thumbsup:

Will have David Villa playing against Barca for the first time since his move, should be interesting.

Like the quote below from Villa, none of this not celebrating scoring against your old club, maybe not quite as much as usual though, hopefully he does score. :greengrin

I have many friends and fond memories of my three years there. But when we start the game, they are my rivals.

Hopefully I can help my team. I have always celebrated my goals. Out of respect, however, the exuberance of the celebration is different if you face an opponent that you love.

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/1743997-spanish-super-cup-2013-atletico-madrids-david-villa-will-hurt-barcelona

21-08-2013, 07:31 PM
Chelsea 1-0 Aston Villa

Fenerbache 0-0 Arsenal
Schalke 1-0 PAOK Salonika
Steaua Bucharest 1-0 Legia Warsaw
Dinamo Zagreb 0-0 FC Austria Wien
Ludogorets Razgrad 1-1 FC Basel

21-08-2013, 07:36 PM
Villa make it 1-1 in the 49th minute, Benteke again

bust my coupon had Chelsea HT/FT :rolleyes:

21-08-2013, 07:38 PM
Villa make it 1-1 in the 49th minute, Benteke again

Aye me too :(

21-08-2013, 07:38 PM
Villa make it 1-1 in the 49th minute

Benteke with his 3rd of the season. Boys on fire and only 2 games into season.

21-08-2013, 07:55 PM
Fenerbache 0-1 Arsenal: Gibbs

21-08-2013, 08:08 PM
Fenerbache 0-2 Arsenal: Wilshere

21-08-2013, 08:10 PM
Arsenal have played really well. :agree:

21-08-2013, 08:24 PM
3-0 Arsenal, 2-1 Chelsea.

21-08-2013, 08:39 PM
How is that not a penalty against Terry? :confused:

21-08-2013, 08:41 PM
Proper game of 2 halves!

c31
21-08-2013, 08:48 PM
With all the money in the EPL and they still have referees that bottle the big calls against the so called bigger clubs - its about time all referees in all leagues are accountable for their decisions

21-08-2013, 09:11 PM
End to end start in the Atletico vs Barcelona game.

Jordi Alba is an embarrassment though, trying to get Costa sent off when he patted him on the head.

21-08-2013, 09:13 PM
What a goal!

Atletico 1-0 Barcelona: David Villa!

21-08-2013, 09:23 PM
Why Barcelona kept Alexis Sanchez ahead of David Villa is absolutely beyond me.

One of the most overhyped players I've seen in recent years.

21-08-2013, 09:31 PM
Atletico's defending has been absolutely superb so far!

21-08-2013, 09:40 PM

At a guess it would be something to do with Villa pushing 32 and entering the last year of his contract. Sanchez by comparison is 24.

Also Sanchez is a winger and Villa is a striker so it is a particularly crass comparison to make?

21-08-2013, 09:50 PM
At a guess it would be something to do with Villa pushing 32 and entering the last year of his contract. Sanchez by comparison is 24.

Also Sanchez is a winger and Villa is a striker so it is a particularly crass comparison to make?

The age thing is perhaps a factor but Barcelona didn't play Villa as an out and out striker last season and both he and Sanchez were competing for the same position, so no, not really.

21-08-2013, 10:12 PM
Fenerbache 0-1 Arsenal: GibbsRamsey scored the second :wink:

21-08-2013, 10:15 PM
Ramsey scored the second :wink:

He did indeed - no idea where Wilshere came from!

21-08-2013, 10:24 PM
Atletico 1-1 Barcelona: Neymar

21-08-2013, 11:26 PM

One of the most overhyped players I've seen in recent years.

Always thought Sanchez was raw but he moved to the wrong club. Barca are great at development through their academy but signed players must do the business.

22-08-2013, 09:02 AM
What a goal!

Atletico 1-0 Barcelona: David Villa!

Atletico 1-1 Barcelona: Neymar

2 nice goals especially Villa's finish, looks like he enjoyed that, bad news for Barca as it looks like Messi feeling that hamstring again, also noticed tonight's games for Spurs & Swansea are on ITV4 at 5pm & 7:05pm tonight.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DtALj5xW0PQ

Dan Sarf
22-08-2013, 09:54 AM
2 nice goals especially Villa's finish, looks like he enjoyed that, bad news for Barca as it looks like Messi feeling that hamstring again, also noticed tonight's games for Spurs & Swansea are on ITV4 at 5pm & 7:05pm tonight.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DtALj5xW0PQ

Well spotted! I keep forgetting to check ITV4.

22-08-2013, 05:27 PM
Well spotted! I keep forgetting to check ITV4.

Spurs playing well tonight now 5-0 up away to Dinamo Tiblisi, still 22 mins left.

Could they win 7-0 away from home :(

22-08-2013, 06:31 PM
Swansea 3-0 Petrolul inside 25 minutes.

22-08-2013, 06:32 PM
Swansea.. Just wow.

They'd put 15 past Hibs

22-08-2013, 06:36 PM
Swansea 3-0 Petrolul inside 25 minutes.

Looks like the Romanians have run out of gas

27-08-2013, 03:02 PM
Had to check the date on this to make sure it wasn't written on 1 April: -

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23852624

27-08-2013, 04:04 PM
Had to check the date on this to make sure it wasn't written on 1 April: -

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23852624

Possibly, yes. It shouldn't be too difficult finding a sheep in Scotland. :faf::faf:

27-08-2013, 04:40 PM
Possibly, yes. It shouldn't be too difficult finding a sheep in Scotland. :faf::faf:

Like this bit as well, "We are currently seeking assurance from Celtic Park that no sheep will be
allowed on the premises ahead of the match." :greengrin