View Full Version : Team vs Killie

17-08-2013, 07:51 PM
Slightly early perhaps for this thread but what team do you think we will see vs Killie? Sadly KT is suspended. So who takes his place?

Hibby 2005
17-08-2013, 07:56 PM
Aye, let's put another slow, defensive midfielder in there when we actually improved today when Craig and Robertson took over in the middle once our prima donna got his rightful marching orders.

17-08-2013, 07:56 PM
.....................Williams
Stevenson.Nelson....Hanlon..McGivern
....................Taiwo
....Robertson..............Craig
..................Handling
...........Caldwell....Collins

17-08-2013, 07:58 PM
Put Craig in the middle with Stevenson on the left of midfield, McGivern at LB and either Maybury/Forster at RB

JMac
17-08-2013, 07:59 PM
I'd go:
Williams
Mullen Nelson Hanlon McGivern
Taiwo
Handling Robertson Craig
Caldwell Collins

Hibby 2005
17-08-2013, 07:59 PM

Fenlon would have a heart attack putting out that formation, way too attack minded.

17-08-2013, 08:01 PM
Put Craig in the middle with Stevenson on the left of midfield, McGivern at LB and either Maybury/Forster at RB

Fenlon obviously doesn't fancy Forster at right back. He's been playing him at centre back in the under 20's. If he thought he had a chance of playing right back for the 1st team, he would have played him there for the young team

17-08-2013, 08:03 PM
4-4-1-1

Williams

Stevenson
Hanlon
Nelson
McGivern

Handling
Craig
Robertson
Stanton

Collins
Caldwell

17-08-2013, 08:06 PM
Does anyone think Hibs might put an appeal in?

I just saw the melee and didn't actually see what happened in terms of punches etc.

I'm sure I saw the yellow card in the ref's hand and wondered if the two players kept it going verbally for them to get reds.

HTD1875
17-08-2013, 08:08 PM
Probably not the team I'd pick but can see PF going with something similar like this

Williams

Stevenson
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Handling
Taiwo
Robertson
Craig

Caldwell
Collins
Stanton to start at left mid,tawio at right mid in front of Stevenson ,Robertson and Craig in the centre of the park,and handling to partner CollinsCollins

17-08-2013, 08:08 PM
Slightly early perhaps for this thread but what team do you think we will see vs Killie? Sadly KT is suspended. So who takes his place?

I would play Craig in the role he assumed when KT departed.

I think TT is the player who will benefit.

17-08-2013, 08:09 PM

I just saw the melee and didn't actually see what happened in terms of punches etc.

I'm sure I saw the yellow card in the ref's hand and wondered if the two players kept it going verbally for them to get reds.

Take it you were watching SSN?:greengrin PF said there might be an appeal made once he's had a 'proper look' mate.

17-08-2013, 08:10 PM

I doubt it, KT seemed to make the first move. The ref had the red card in his hand as soon as he called them over to him.

17-08-2013, 08:10 PM

I like :agree:

17-08-2013, 08:12 PM

Perfect. Can you take the coaching this week too?

17-08-2013, 08:14 PM
Take it you were watching SSN?:greengrin PF said there might be an appeal made once he's had a 'proper look' mate.

No, not watched it.

I was wondering if people actually saw it clear enough to say if the reds were merited.

I thought right away it would be an appeal and the reaction of his team mates to the red seemed to back that up. Some of the comment on here has me thinking again though!

West hamBERNIAN
U21 team:agree:

17-08-2013, 08:15 PM
U21 team:agree:

Under 20's you mean, don't have under 21's anymore

kentao
17-08-2013, 08:20 PM
.................Williams
Mullen Forster Nelson Mcgivern
Handling Taiwo Robertson Stevenson
.........Collins......Caldwell

or
...............Williams
Stevenson Forster Nelson Mcgivern
... Robertson Taiwo Craig
................Handling
..........Collins.....Caldwell

ColintonHibs
17-08-2013, 08:25 PM
Williams

Stevenson
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Handling
Craig
Robertson
Stanton

Caldwell
Collins

17-08-2013, 08:28 PM

No chance of an appeal. Thomson was either trying to grab the guy by the throat or belt him in the face, or some combination of the two.

Hibby 2005
17-08-2013, 08:29 PM
No, not watched it.

I was wondering if people actually saw it clear enough to say if the reds were merited.

Thomson deserved a red, not so sure about the Utd. player to be honest.

West hamBERNIAN
17-08-2013, 08:30 PM
Under 20's you mean, don't have under 21's anymore

yeah thats what i meant. :wink: to be fair though i'd play the hibernian subuteo team and there would be more of an attacking mentality.

West hamBERNIAN
17-08-2013, 08:32 PM
Williams

Stevenson
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Handling
Craig
Robertson
Stanton

Caldwell
Collins

this with maybury RB.Lewis did okay today but not his best position by far.

Weir7
17-08-2013, 08:41 PM
Thomson deserved a red, not so sure about the Utd. player to be honest.

Not sure abt utd player..... The boy should be getting a weekend in gayfield.

hibee19
17-08-2013, 09:31 PM
I reckon we'll see a wide player sign this week but if not I'd go for

Williams

Forster Nelson Hanlon McGivern

Mullen Robertson Craig Stanton

Handling

Collins

I'd be very tempted to include Caldwell though.

17-08-2013, 09:37 PM
Reckon it will be

Williams

Stevenson. Nelson. Hanlon. Mcgivern

Robertson craig

Stanton. Handling. Vine

Collins

18-08-2013, 07:15 AM
I reckon we'll see a wide player sign this week but if not I'd go for

Williams

Mullen Robertson Craig Stanton

Handling

Collins

I'd be very tempted to include Caldwell though.
I like the idea of playing Mullen at Right Mid

225-EasterRd
18-08-2013, 09:13 AM
i dont want to see Vine in a hibs top again.

...................Williams .........................or....................... ................Williams

..Stevenson..Nelson..Forster..McGivern ...........................Maybury Nelson Forster McGivern

......Mullen..Taiwo..Craig..Stanton ..................................Mullen Robertson Craig Stevenson

..............Caldwell..Collins .................................................. .......Caldwell Collins

Pray4Marc
18-08-2013, 09:17 AM
Aye, let's put another slow, defensive midfielder in there when we actually improved today when Craig and Robertson took over in the middle once our prima donna got his rightful marching orders.

This is exactly it. We benefited from Craig being in the middle. Looked a totally different team without the defensive midfielders!.

18-08-2013, 09:21 AM
Williams

Forster (anyone but Mullen)
Nelson
Hanlon
Mcgivern

Robertson
Taiwo
Craig

Handling

Collins
Caldwell

18-08-2013, 09:40 AM
Im going for ;;
-------------------------Williams-----------------------------

--Forster-------Nelson---------------Hanlon--------Mcgivern---

------------Robertson------Craig---------Vine---------------

------Handling-----------Collins----------Caldwell-------------

I may be in in an opinion of one ,but i thought Vine started to look a bit dangerous when he started cutting in from the left ,imo

18-08-2013, 09:42 AM
Williams
New r-b Forster Hanlon McGivern
Robertson Taiwo
Stanton Craig Handling
Collins

Stevenson did fine when switched and will give his all in any position but we really need a new man at right-back. Ideally, a player that can get forward as well as defend. Maybury is not the answer and Mullen has been pretty terrible in his first few weeks.
The attacking midfield trio all need to bust a gut to make runs beyond Collins.
Stanton deserves a chance to show what he can do.
Pretty sure none of this will happen however...

GreenOnions
18-08-2013, 09:50 AM

?????? You have seriously got to be joking! I cannot believe anyone would make that comment and mean it? Thomson is way above anything else in our team in terms of quality and it's really showing now that he's had a pre-season with us.

I would leave out Nelson and Mullen. They're both too slow, Nelson's distribution has been very poor and he's been culpable in two of the three goals we've lost this season. Our own young guys have earned more of a start - Forster, Handling and Caldwell

......................Williams

Stevenson...Forster...Hanlon...McGivern

Handling...Robertson...Taiwo...Craig

................Caldwell....Collins

18-08-2013, 01:05 PM
Williams

Maybury
Forster
Nelson
McGivern

Robertson
Taiwo
Craig

Handling

Collins
Caldwell

18-08-2013, 01:12 PM
Williams

Stevenson/maybury nelson/Forster Hanlon McGivern.

New guy Robertson Taiwo Craig

Handling

Collins

18-08-2013, 01:14 PM
Williams
Forster, Nelson, Hanlon.
Mullen. McGivern.
Taiwo.
Handling, Robertson. Stanton .
Craig.
Collins.

Mullen & McGivern as wing backs. A wee change.

I wish, unfortunately can't see us getting away with playing 12 players;)

18-08-2013, 01:17 PM
Williams
New winger Robertson Stanton
Craig
Caldwell Collins

lugz
18-08-2013, 01:19 PM

We'd still play for a draw.

Williams

Stevenson
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Handling
Taiwo
Robertson
Craig

Collins
Caldwell

Now of course this team won't happen as Ross is clearly out of favour. IMO Vine & Mullen need dropped and given a serious kick up the ****

18-08-2013, 01:20 PM
Taiwo has to come in. Don't know what Fenlons been playing at by not starting him this season.

In the second half of last season he was by far and away one of our best players.

18-08-2013, 01:21 PM

Stevenson at RB!!!?

You're worse than PF!

18-08-2013, 02:00 PM
Williams

Maybury
Forster
Nelson
McGivern

Robertson
Taiwo
Craig

Handling

Collins
Caldwell

Put Stanton in for Taiwo and weev goat goals in oor teem!

18-08-2013, 02:25 PM
Don't expect any big changes from Pat Fenlon. Tawio will come in for Thomson and we'll be set up exactly the same way as we have been for our first five games, which have yielded a solitary goal.

18-08-2013, 02:40 PM
Don't expect any big changes from Pat Fenlon. Tawio will come in for Thomson and we'll be set up exactly the same way as we have been for our first five games, which have yielded a solitary goal.

Yipee

18-08-2013, 02:53 PM
Williams

Stevenson
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Taiwo
Robertson

Craig
Handling
Vine

Collins

18-08-2013, 02:54 PM
Im going for ;;
-------------------------Williams-----------------------------

--Forster-------Nelson---------------Hanlon--------Mcgivern---

------------Robertson------Craig---------Vine---------------

------Handling-----------Collins----------Caldwell-------------

Vine in central midfield? Are you high?

fife hfc
18-08-2013, 03:15 PM
I'm not a fan of Vines as he seems to be slow and not very mobile. So if Fenlon is going to play him why not play him as the focal point upfront with Collins who seems more mobile playing off him. Why have Collins upfront with Vine supposedly playing off him. Also Stevenson has played the left of midfield and its a more natural position and at the moment I would play Maybury at rbas at least he has experince i that position.

...................Williams....................... ..
Maybury............................Mcgivern
.........Nelson...............Hanlon............
.........Robertson..........Craig................
Handling..............................Stevenson
...........Caldwell........Collins...............

inglisavhibs
18-08-2013, 05:20 PM
I like :agree:

How do we create chances with that team? No width and no chance of getting behind any defence.

inglisavhibs
18-08-2013, 05:23 PM
I'm not a fan of Vines as he seems to be slow and not very mobile. So if Fenlon is going to play him why not play him as the focal point upfront with Collins who seems more mobile playing off him. Why have Collins upfront with Vine supposedly playing off him. Also Stevenson has played the left of midfield and its a more natural position and at the moment I would play Maybury at rbas at least he has experince i that position.

...................Williams....................... ..
Maybury............................Mcgivern
.........Nelson...............Hanlon............
.........Robertson..........Craig................
Handling..............................Stevenson
...........Caldwell........Collins...............

Stanton for Stevenson and we have at least a chance of creating. Stevenson doesn't offer any attacking threat whatsoever. Agree with rest of team.

18-08-2013, 05:36 PM
How do we create chances with that team? No width and no chance of getting behind any defence.

Robertson and Craig will create chances in a central role imo:agree:, dunno about Handling as I have never seen him play AM, if he performs like he did in the second half yesterday, he will also create chances for our strikers:aok:. But then again, Fenlon wouldnt play an attacking team/formation like that as he is clueless.

18-08-2013, 05:42 PM
Just play players in their proper positions.

18-08-2013, 05:48 PM
This is it. 4-2-3-1.The new dawn:agree:

----------Williams
Stevenson Nelson Hanlon McGivern
-------Taiwo Robertson----
----Handling Craig Stanton-------
-----------Collins

Unless you have a beard fetish, there is no reason to want Vine in the team. None.

seven nowt
18-08-2013, 06:15 PM
i dont want to see Vine in a hibs top again.

I don't blame you. He's a huddy!

------------Williams-------------
Maybury-McGivern-Forster-Hanlon
------------Taiwo---------------
Handling---Stanton----Craig-----
-------Collins--Caldwell---------

Handling, Stanton and Craig in attacking midfield...

Up The Bracket
18-08-2013, 06:27 PM
Williams
Stevenson Hanlon Nelson McGivern
Taiwo Robertson Craig
Handling Stanton
Collins

18-08-2013, 06:43 PM

I'm ment to be sober tae. Nae luck.

lumbo_hfc
18-08-2013, 09:42 PM

----------Williams
-----------Collins

Unless you have a beard fetish, there is no reason to want Vine in the team. None.

That's the team i would go for, think we should give Stanton a start to see if he can create anything for Collins although i would completely rule out vine as i've seen him have good games and be effective maybe just needs a bit more time to settle.

18-08-2013, 10:24 PM
--------------------Williams--------------------

Forster------Nelson-------Hanlon------McGivern

Handling------Robertson-------Craig--------Vine

--------------Caldwell------Collins--------------

Made my point clear on the Lewis Stevenson thread that he doesn't do it for me, although he did well against United considering he was playing against the tricky and divey (if that's a word) Gary Mackay-Steven. Handling was without doubt our best player against Utd so he should start. Robertson took his goal well and Craig looked a lot better in the centre of the park (where he belongs). People who are saying that Vine shouldn't play again really need to have a look at themselves... He didn't have a great game obviously but I think people forget footballers have bad games? Had it been Leigh Griffiths last season, we would have just said it was a bad day at the office. Collins worked tirelessly against United and looked lively when he had the ball. Caldwell deserves to be given the chance to prove a point this season. I think he's a decent prospect and would do well up front alongside Collins. 3-1 Hibs as I don't think they will be as big a threat without Boyd.

GGTTH!

jamiehibee
18-08-2013, 10:39 PM
Craig through the middle!

hibee19
19-08-2013, 05:29 AM

----------Williams
-----------Collins

The beard is incredible. Just a shame his feet aren't.

19-08-2013, 05:40 AM
Yipee

Que: we have all the time in the world...

19-08-2013, 06:03 AM
I missed the game on sat but was vine that bad?!? And if so how?? I always thought he looked a really good player, first 2 games he wasn't getting much service but the latter stages of the game against hearts I thought himself and Collins started doing well and causing problems.

Purehibee_MYB
19-08-2013, 06:17 AM
Craig through the middle is a must, and Caldwell playing some part and I will be happy enough with that team (I think...)

19-08-2013, 11:55 AM
In my opinion we need:

1) balance
2) width
3) goals

Williams

Maybury Nelson Hanlon Stevenson

Handling Robertson Craig McGivern

Caldwell Collins

Vine is having a bit of a mare just now. Stanton and Taiwo are both central midfielders and shouldn't be wasted out wide. McGivern would be a huge risk for Fenlon but in theory he would give us width and can whip in a few crosses.

I reckon subs from that are also easy. Vine could replace either striker. Stanton could be encouraged into his natural position replacing Craig and Taiwo/OTJ could replace Robertson.

19-08-2013, 12:31 PM
I reckon Fenlon's bullish outlook will be 'the team won't gel if I constantly chop and change.' Injuries aside, I expect he'll play the following team - unless he decides to bench Mullen after his comments in today's EEN over his 'rash' challenges. But I doubt it.

Williams

Mullen
Nelson
Hanlon
Stevenson

Craig
Taiwo
Robertson
Handling

Vine
Collins

Subs: Murdoch, Caldwell, Stanton, Jones, Forster, Horribine, McGivern.

Stringer
19-08-2013, 12:41 PM

Very narrow. Would probably swap handling and Craig.Time for Craig to play number 10

Delboy4
19-08-2013, 12:46 PM
I'd like to try a different formation: 3-5-2/5-3-2 whilst defending

...........................Williams............... ..............

.............Forster... Nelson... Hanlon...................

.Handling.... Tiawo...Robertson...Craig...McGivern.

.................Caldwell.......Collins........... .............

Right mid of the 5 is my problem though! Any suggestions?

20-08-2013, 02:57 AM
......................Williams.................... ....
..... .Maybury.....Hanlon.....McGivern........
..........Stevenson.........Taiwo.................
..Robertson.... ..Handling..... .Craig.......
..............Caldwell.......Collins..............

SUBS: Murdoch, Forster, Nelson, Mullen, Jones, Stanton, Vine

Basic 5-3-2/3-5-2 switch. Stevenson and Taiwo to provide defensive coverage for Maybury and McGivern. Well placed to release Robertson and Craig down the flanks when on the offensive. Handling will work like a horse in central midfield, picking up the scraps and having 4 attacking options available to him (2 out wide, 2 up front).

20-08-2013, 06:04 AM
[QUOTE=225-EasterRd;3725009]i dont want to see Vine in a hibs top again.

So you have written him off already? With supporters like you.......

20-08-2013, 06:59 AM
Seeing as Fenlon plays the occassional long ball ;) I propose:

Williams

TT Craig

Handling Collins Caldwell Vine

Gung ho lads, gung ho

20-08-2013, 07:07 AM
The situation we find ourselves in at RB is farcical

20-08-2013, 06:39 PM
Williams

Forster
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Handling
Taiwo
Robertson
Craig

Collins
Caldwell

ChooseLife
20-08-2013, 06:56 PM
Williams

Nelson Stanton McGivern Forster

Caldwell Stevenson Handling Craig

Collins

Robertson

20-08-2013, 08:30 PM
Williams

Nelson Stanton McGivern Forster

Caldwell Stevenson Handling Craig

Collins

Robertson

Is that you Pat ?

Greendub
20-08-2013, 09:04 PM
Williams

Maybury Nelson Forster McGivern

Robertson Taiwo

Stanton Craig Handling

Collins

4-2-3-1

20-08-2013, 09:13 PM
Williams

Maybury Nelson Forster McGivern

Robertson Taiwo

Stanton Craig Handling

Collins

4-2-3-1

Yep but 4-1-4--1

Robertson into centre with Craig

20-08-2013, 09:19 PM
Williams
Forster..Nelson..Hanlon..McGivern

Handling..Robertson..Craig..Stanton

Caldwell..Collins

A team with still very little width but at least its got 6 attacking players that are all hungry to prove a point!

20-08-2013, 10:26 PM
Williams

Taiwo Nelson Tudor-jones Mcgivern

robertson Thomo Craig Stanton

Collins Vine