View Full Version : Match Updates Jags v Them
16-08-2013, 08:58 PM
Running our midfield last season? That's not much of an accolade.
I watched the player who refuses to advance with the ball at his feet, and more often than not makes safe rather than positive passes that betrays his international class. The kind of class you'd expect your experienced international to show on a regular basis.
I'll leave it at that, you're entitled to your opinion of course, If Claros makes it back to Hibs we might be able to make a direct comparison at Fiirhill soon.
Even if he doesn't come back Claros is a better player. That's why he's an international. Welsh is a good player not for a min saying he's not. But the way you are dismissing Claros is a bit stupid. He breaks up play, plays the simple ball and keeps it easy. That's what class players do and that's why they get into their national sides.
BarneyK
16-08-2013, 09:00 PM
You just got involved :greengrin
Naw I didnae. Claros is the better player IMO............now I did :greengrin
kdhibees1
16-08-2013, 09:01 PM
Sad to think that it seems the way things are going then staying above hearts this season will be a success. We need to kick start the season with a win tomorrow.
This!!
16-08-2013, 09:03 PM
I watched the player who refuses to advance with the ball at his feet, and more often than not makes safe rather than positive passes that betrays his international class. The kind of class you'd expect your experienced international to show on a regular basis.
I'll leave it at that, you're entitled to your opinion of course, If Claros makes it back to Hibs we might be able to make a direct comparison at Fiirhill soon.
Will that prove it? Scott Brown was immense against Gerrard this week, not too sure many folk rate him as being in the same class though.
16-08-2013, 09:03 PM
Looks like he won't as he has bigger fish to fry.
Welsh has talent yes - but until he plays at the International level Claros has over 41 times and has a solid season in the SPL like Claros did last year in a poor Hibs team then Claros is 100% the better player.
Maybe Claros and Welsh in the same Hibs side could have been interesting...
16-08-2013, 09:04 PM
Will that prove it? Scott Brown was immense against Gerrard this week, not too sure many folk rate him as being in the same class though.
Yip...
Broonie is FAR better :wink:
MADE IN LEITH
16-08-2013, 09:05 PM
Naw I didnae. Claros is the better player IMO............now I did :greengrin
LOL :wink:
16-08-2013, 09:08 PM
Partick now 16 points ahead of the mutants.
It's time the teams around the bottom started to increase the gap on the them also and that means us.
We shouldn't be comparing ourselves to them every week - if so it's a bad sign of things at the club.
16-08-2013, 09:10 PM
Things looking good for Hibs if fraze is right - I was thinking Thistle top 6 no probs so Hibs in top 4 then, nice one
What games is it based on that we are so much better than them? Malmo or hearts?
When did I say we were better than them? I think we are worse just now. By putting surely in italics I was more meaning you'd have to hope with the players we have we could finish above them.
2 games gone. I still think we will finish above them but in the bottom 6. All about opinions though eh
16-08-2013, 09:11 PM
Fighting a losing battle mate..
He must be a relative or mate of SW's..
As I said, he's playing for a 1st division side that are having their 10 mins in the spotlight, that's their level and SW's..
JC is a class act, as is KT, apart from Sparky Jorge was our best player by a mile last year & like LG we're sorely missing him this season...
No point and trying to talk sense to some on here tho :aok:
That is pish poor comment.
You mention Leigh Griffiths. He was passed over as 1st division class, maybe you can concede you are a bit too quick to judge Sean.
We'll see.
16-08-2013, 09:21 PM
You mention Leigh Griffiths. He was passed over as 1st division class, maybe you can concede you are a bit too quick to judge Sean.
We'll see.
When Leigh came to us initially, he played like 1 division class too
Then, he started to realise some of his potential....to the point he was too good for us
Welsh might go the same way and become a Scotland regular, who knows.
Right at this minute though, id take Jorge Claros 1000 times outta 1000 over Sean Welsh
16-08-2013, 09:25 PM
We'll see.
How is it?!
Too quick to judge him?
How long had he been playing 1st division football for after being binned by us?
Not like we had a plethora of good centre midfielders when he was given the boot either!
Pretty injury prone too no and off early doors tonight..
I'd have a 1 eyed & 1 legged JC before SW
16-08-2013, 09:35 PM
Comparing the players that we currently have with the players that any other club currently has, is pointless.
It doesn't matter if the players we have are better on paper. They're never anywhere near as good on the field while they're playing for us.
16-08-2013, 09:36 PM
Even if he doesn't come back Claros is a better player. That's why he's an international. Welsh is a good player not for a min saying he's not. But the way you are dismissing Claros is a bit stupid. He breaks up play, plays the simple ball and keeps it easy. That's what class players do and that's why they get into their national sides.
You're not getting it. You're basing your arguement on Claros being an international player. Leigh is now an international player, and will continue to be for many years, however he was passed over...
Lets look beyond that and consider what Hibs need at the moment, and co-incidentally needed last season. We BADLY need someone to link midfield to front. From what I have seen of Sean Welsh he has the attributes to do this, he will carry the ball into dangerous areas, and can pick out a positive pass like we saw tonight. In the time Claros spent at Hibs Claros did not do this, I defy you to evidence that he did. I am hugely pissed off that we passed Sean up as he could conceivably still be in a green shirt ready to do that for us now.
So forget the family member pish, as I have never met Sean but did watch the laddie extensively progress through the 19s so have an appreciation of what he can offer, and have a proper debate.
Hibby 2005
16-08-2013, 09:38 PM
Sad to think that it seems the way things are going then staying above hearts this season will be a success. We need to kick start the season with a win tomorrow.
Hard to believe that it's come to this, hoping that under Fenlon we stay above our city rivals who consist of a team full of laddies with a huge points deficit.
Locke was being very nice to Fenlon after last weeks win as he will see his continued presence as a way of avoiding the drop.
16-08-2013, 09:42 PM
You're not getting it. You're basing your arguement on Claros being an international player. Leigh is now an international player, and will continue to be for many years, however he was passed over...
Lets look beyond that and consider what Hibs need at the moment, and co-incidentally needed last season. We BADLY need someone to link midfield to front. From what I have seen of Sean Welsh he has the attributes to do this, he will carry the ball into dangerous areas, and can pick out a positive pass like we saw tonight. In the time Claros spent at Hibs Claros did not do this, I defy you to evidence that he did. I am hugely pissed off that we passed Sean up as he could conceivably still be in a green shirt ready to do that for us now.
So forget the family member pish, as I have never met Sean but did watch the laddie extensively progress through the 19s so have an appreciation of what he can offer, and have a proper debate.
You're missing the point. It wouldn't matter if Sean was still with us, he'd be just as negative as any of the others, because that seems to be the way the players are set out to play for us.
It's not the players we have thats the problem, its the way they're instructed to play.
16-08-2013, 09:44 PM
You seem to have an extensive knowledge and high opinion of Welsh due to your following of the 19's and from what you have seen of him since then which is fair enough.
Would it be fair to say then that he has the potential to go on and become an international player and perhaps be able to perform on the international scene and give the same consistent level of performances that we have all witnessed from Claros?
16-08-2013, 09:53 PM
Claros created many great chances for Leigh over the season with through balls. I'm telling you Welsh is a good player but Claros is MUCH better. Until he shows he can play week in week out and be close to MOTM for Thistle each game like Claros was then we can carry this forward. Until then he's a player who's at Thistle and believe no disrespect here but if he was that good he wouldn't be there.
16-08-2013, 09:53 PM
When did I say we were better than them? I think we are worse just now. By putting surely in italics I was more meaning you'd have to hope with the players we have we could finish above them.
2 games gone. I still think we will finish above them but in the bottom 6. All about opinions though eh
Indeed - tonight was a very bad result for Partick Thistle
They should have won and need to shake it up a bit at home, take chances and defeat the dross from Gorgie
Hibs should be top 4 but goodness knows where we will end up
16-08-2013, 09:58 PM
You seem to have an extensive knowledge and high opinion of Welsh due to your following of the 19's and from what you have seen of him since then which is fair enough.
Would it be fair to say then that he has the potential to go on and become an international player and perhaps be able to perform on the international scene and give the same consistent level of performances that we have all witnessed from Claros?
I'll disagree with your point about consistent level of performances from Claros as it took him about 6 months to show up, and when he did he did not contribute what we required. Then you can point out to me where I stated that Sean Welsh would become an established international.
The references to international class were made by Pretty and Judas in relation to Claros to stack up their arguement. I remain unconvinced that Claros's international attributes of taking and recycling the ball is what Hibs need at present, I maintain that the player we need in THAT position is one that has the ability to progress with, and distribute the ball positively. Hence Sean Welsh > Jorge Claros.
Do you understand that? If not go back and re-read slowly.
16-08-2013, 10:02 PM
I'll disagree with your point about consistent level of performances from Claros as it took him about 6 months to show up, and when he did he did not contribute what we required. Then you can point out to me where I stated that Sean Welsh would become an established international.
The references to international class were made by Pretty and Judas in relation to Claros to stack up their arguement. I remain unconvinced that Claros's international attributes of taking and recycling the ball is what Hibs need at present, I maintain that the player we need in THAT position is one that has the ability to progress with, and distribute the ball positively. Hence Sean Welsh > Jorge Claros.
Do you understand that? If not go back and re-read slowly.
No need for you arsey comments at all, I was actually supporting your point of view and asking if you thought Sean Welsh could become an established international and not suggesting that you said he would. So cut out the pish remarks and stop going on the defensive when I wasn't even having a go! Do you understand that?????
16-08-2013, 10:03 PM
Indeed - tonight was a very bad result for Partick Thistle
They should have won and need to shake it up a bit at home, take chances and defeat the dross from Gorgie
Hibs should be top 4 but goodness knows where we will end up
We should be 2nd, never mind 3rd or 4th.
We're the 2nd best off team in the league in terms of resources. If we're not battling for 2nd, then we're underachieving.
Finishing anywhere in the bottom 6 this season or any other season is an absolute travesty.
Most people seem to consider scraping a top 6 finish as an achievement. Well it's not.
16-08-2013, 10:07 PM
Claros created many great chances for Leigh over the season with through balls. I'm telling you Welsh is a good player but Claros is MUCH better. Until he shows he can play week in week out and be close to MOTM for Thistle each game like Claros was then we can carry this forward. Until then he's a player who's at Thistle and believe no disrespect here but if he was that good he wouldn't be there.
How can you hold the arguement that if Welsh were better he'd not be at Thistle, when the same could be applied to established international Claros at Hibs?
My view is that Hibs (with the complete lack of pace on the wings until the recent showing of Harris) needed a proper quarterback DM that can spray passes in the mould of Beuzelin and I firmly believe Welsh can do that. It's about the players you need in specific positions, Claros is good at what he does, but I don't think that is what we need.
16-08-2013, 10:10 PM
No need for you arsey comments at all, I was actually supporting your point of view and asking if you thought Sean Welsh could become an established international and not suggesting that you said he would. So cut out the pish remarks and stop going on the defensive when I wasn't even having a go! Do you understand that?????
The arsey comments are as a result of your dull wind ups in the past so suck it up and dinnae give it the affronted pish.
16-08-2013, 10:10 PM
We should be 2nd, never mind 3rd or 4th.
We're the 2nd best off team in the league in terms of resources. If we're not battling for 2nd, then we're underachieving.
Finishing anywhere in the bottom 6 this season or any other season is an absolute travesty.
Most people seem to consider scraping a top 6 finish as an achievement. Well it's not.
I agree completely but at the moment I'm not sure which teams in the league we can honestly say we're better than
I also think that Partick Thistle aren't this season's Dundee
I think they'll do better than that based on how they've been playing
16-08-2013, 10:13 PM
The arsey comments are as a result of your dull wind ups in the past so suck it up and dinnae give it the affronted pish.
Wow! So you have a problem with me participating and contributing to your conversation, you should have just said that in the first place to save me the bother. What a sad individual you are.
Hibby 2005
16-08-2013, 10:14 PM
How can you hold the arguement that if Welsh were better he'd not be at Thistle, when the same could be applied to established international Claros at Hibs?
My view is that Hibs (with the complete lack of pace on the wings until the recent showing of Harris) needed a proper quarterback DM that can spray passes in the mould of Beuzelin and I firmly believe Welsh can do that. It's about the players you need in specific positions, Claros is good at what he does, but I don't think that is what we need.
As someone else touched on earlier in this thread Fenlon has so far managed to turn effectual players into ineffectual ones with his lack of tactical awareness therefore I would humbly suggest that Welsh would soon become yet another mismanaged player under Fenlon.
16-08-2013, 10:16 PM
Wow! So you have a problem with me participating and contributing to your conversation, you should have just said that in the first place to save me the bother. What a sad individual you are.
LOL That was worth the read.
16-08-2013, 10:18 PM
LOL That was worth the read.
:thumbsup: Cheers pal, I knew you'd come round in the end. Now back to your point about Welsh. He'll not be the first player that has been released by one club as not good enough and proved them wrong, I guess a full season in the Scottish premiership may convince some folk that you are correct.
16-08-2013, 10:28 PM
:thumbsup: Cheers pal, I knew you'd come round in the end. Now back to your point about Welsh. He'll not be the first player that has been released by one club as not good enough and proved them wrong, I guess a full season in the Scottish premiership may convince some folk that you are correct.
I've simmered down now and concede that I did go off on one at you, which having re-read and understood your comments was misplaced. Apologies.
I'll stand by my assertion however, that we would prosper in our current configuration with Welshy better than with Claros.
hibee19
16-08-2013, 10:33 PM
I think id Claros was in that Thistle team he'd look like a superstar and if Welsh was in last years Hibs team he might struggle. I think Claros was overrated by many but that doesn't take away from the fact that he's a very decent player, would probably get in any SPL team bar Celtic. I'm happy hes not re-signed, we just dont need another defensive midfielder and I have a feeling KT will get back towards his best and if he does hes twice the player Claros is.
16-08-2013, 10:34 PM
I've simmered down now and concede that I did go off on one at you, which having re-read and understood your comments was misplaced. Apologies.
I'll stand by my assertion however, that we would prosper in our current configuration with Welshy better than with Claros.
:aok: Nae bother mate thanks, much appreciate your apology. I haven't seen enough of Welsh to give an honest opinion either way. I very much doubt that we will see Claros back in any configuration this season but as I said earlier you've seen plenty of him (Welsh) to have an opinion so fair do's.
Hibby 2005
16-08-2013, 10:40 PM
"Our current configuration" is boring hoofball, Welsh is better off at Partick.
16-08-2013, 10:55 PM
Anyway..
Has Claros not signed 'cos he's waiting for a big move to Thistle?!
16-08-2013, 10:57 PM
Anyway..
Has Claros not signed 'cos he's waiting for a big move to Thistle?!
Was offered in a swap for Welshy, but Archibald said **** off.
16-08-2013, 11:06 PM
Was offered in a swap for Welshy, but Archibald said **** off.
archie goals would never have said that, he'd have said vete a la ****** pour va vor:confused::wink::confused::wink:
16-08-2013, 11:14 PM
I won't read a bad word against Jorge Claros.
He's a saint and his face should be printed on money.
16-08-2013, 11:15 PM
archie goals would never have said that, he'd have said vete a la ****** pour va vor:confused::wink::confused::wink:
Thats what Archibald would have said to Gary Locke.
16-08-2013, 11:28 PM
Thats what Archibald would have said to Gary Locke.
no senior hed have said tuve relaciones sexuales con su esposa y su hermano en la puerta de atrás
16-08-2013, 11:33 PM
no senior hed have said tuve relaciones sexuales con su esposa y su hermano en la puerta de atrás
Googles struggling with that last bit.
16-08-2013, 11:47 PM
Thanks to my years of watching Dora the Explorer, I'm sure it translates as "Gary, what fun is there to be had in being relentlessly covered in someone else's pish?"
16-08-2013, 11:54 PM
Thanks to my years of watching Dora the Explorer, I'm sure it translates as "Gary, what fun is there to be had in being relentlessly covered in someone else's pish?"
Kids are growing up too quickly these days, and no wonder wi that midden Dora letting adult pastimes out the bag.
17-08-2013, 12:02 AM
Why do you keep banging this drum when its not true?
You even claimed on another thread that we paid "several times" more than other teams and when asked to back it up you didn't. Just waffled some drivel about common sense but proffered no actual evidence to back up your claims.
1875Hibees
17-08-2013, 12:08 AM
Why do you keep banging this drum when its not true?
You even claimed on another thread that we paid "several times" more than other teams and when asked to back it up you didn't. Just waffled some drivel about common sense but proffered no actual evidence to back up your claims.
We really are. No other team aside from Celtic would have payed 200k for a striker this season.
17-08-2013, 12:29 AM
We really are.No other team aside from Celtic would have payed 200k for a striker this season.
I would imagine little things like income would be a consideration.