View Full Version : Home teams paying Hearts for visiting fans

26-07-2013, 05:49 PM
Spend way beyond your means. Spend the sugar daddys money that wasn't his. Don't worry help is at hand.

Barry Anderson ‏@BarryAnderson_8 (https://twitter.com/BarryAnderson_8)56m (https://twitter.com/BarryAnderson_8/status/360804201393176578)
Nice gesture from @St_Johnstone_FC (https://twitter.com/St_Johnstone_FC) to donate £1 from each ticket sold v #Hearts (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Hearts&src=hash) on Sunday 4 August to the 1874 Fighting Fund. #SaveOurHearts (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23SaveOurHearts&src=hash)

All respect for St Johnstone has gone.

26-07-2013, 05:53 PM
Spend way beyond your means. Spend the sugar daddys money that wasn't his. Don't worry help is at hand.

Barry Anderson ‏@BarryAnderson_8 (https://twitter.com/BarryAnderson_8)56m (https://twitter.com/BarryAnderson_8/status/360804201393176578)
Nice gesture from @St_Johnstone_FC (https://twitter.com/St_Johnstone_FC) to donate £1 from each ticket sold v #Hearts (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Hearts&src=hash) on Sunday 4 August to the 1874 Fighting Fund. #SaveOurHearts (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23SaveOurHearts&src=hash)

Thats a shocker, they've been cheating financially against the other clubs for years and now getting a wee clap on the back for it.

Dunderhall
26-07-2013, 05:58 PM

Payment to the 1874 FF.
That will allow them to gloss over a few things, it's a step forward.

(Don't know what St J are playing at)

26-07-2013, 06:04 PM

Thats unbelievable, a team who were knocked out the Scottish cup only 2 seasons ago because of hearts financially doped up squad are now rewarding them for it.
On the plus side it wont be a huge amount when you take away season tickets, and its going to the 1874 painting steps fund anyway.

26-07-2013, 06:04 PM
Truly disgusting behaviour from St Johnstone.

26-07-2013, 06:12 PM
St Johnstone will be thinking it'll attract more hearts fans to the game, and they'll be right, so they'll benefit from it just as much as hearts will.

26-07-2013, 06:14 PM

That simply must be against basic football/company rules - one club paying money to another club without receiving benefit in return must be regarded as a bribe or have potential to influence the actions/performance of the other. In this case, it has potential to influence the Yams approach to their matches with St J or the Yams matches against those clubs who haven't been so generous to them. Wrong on so many levels and will be challenged - stupid idea.

26-07-2013, 06:18 PM
Truly disgusting behaviour from St Johnstone.

IMHO it is not legal, within the rules or even within the spirit of the rules. Stupid idea that could open up a whole can of worms with some clubs subsidising other clubs, paying other clubs to play harder in certain games, money changing hands for no apparent reason. Bonkers.

26-07-2013, 06:31 PM
f£%% st johnstone.
Hope you get pumped out of europe.
And give us Spoony back too.

Mark79
26-07-2013, 06:32 PM
£1 from each ticket? Wow £8k probably. They are £20million plus in debt.

Like wee bairns at a pour oot at a Wedding.

26-07-2013, 06:46 PM
£1 from each ticket? Wow £8k probably. They are £20million plus in debt.

Like wee bairns at a pour oot at a Wedding.

They are no longer £20m+ in debt, they have walked away from that. All they are doing now is negotiating to buy the club and stadium back debt free.

Hibeesforever
26-07-2013, 07:05 PM
They are no longer £20m+ in debt, they have walked away from that. All they are doing now is negotiating to buy the club and stadium back debt free.

Surely HMRC are going to want to be paid in full though ?
Otherwise, what sort of message does that sent out to the other tax-paying teams in the league.

26-07-2013, 07:06 PM

Quite simply and advertising ploy by St J to encourage more ticket sales. If it gets them a bumper crowd then more power to their elbow IMHO. Especially if they then discover that the rules will not allow the to actually hand over any cash as suggested may be the case by the more knowledgable posters here.

26-07-2013, 07:10 PM
Otherwise, what sort of message does that sent out to the other tax-paying teams in the league.

Tough on them, they are not getting that money back.

Gus Fring
26-07-2013, 07:39 PM
Quite simply and advertising ploy by St J to encourage more ticket sales. If it gets them a bumper crowd then more power to their elbow IMHO. Especially if they then discover that the rules will not allow the to actually hand over any cash as suggested may be the case by the more knowledgable posters here.

Exactly, a mere fraction of the overall gate. This is nothing more than a PR gesture, one that allows ST Johnstone the ability to say "Oh well, we tried to help them and it wasn't enough, we done our bit though"

26-07-2013, 07:46 PM

They can want. They won't get.

IMHO it is not legal, within the rules or even within the spirit of the rules. Stupid idea that could open up a whole can of worms with some clubs subsidising other clubs, paying other clubs to play harder in certain games, money changing hands for no apparent reason. Bonkers.

Nothing illegal about it.

rossc
26-07-2013, 07:49 PM

Saints just want to fill the away stand £1 vs £20 odd

26-07-2013, 07:52 PM
Saints just want to fill the away stand £1 vs £20 odd

Exactly, don't know why we are getting all worked up about this. Saints just trying to fleece a few extra Jambos to go to the game

26-07-2013, 08:01 PM
Exactly, don't know why we are getting all worked up about this. Saints just trying to fleece a few extra Jambos to go to the game

Saintees are being extra cunning here. They're enticing yams to invest £20 or so to get £1. A loss (in non-yamathematics) of £19, which the yams are too dumb to notice. So that's £19 less that each yam sucker will then have available to put into the Save Hearts In Trouble funds. At a stroke the supersaintees will have slashed the ongoing working capital available to HOMFC. Brilliant!

26-07-2013, 08:10 PM
If anyone thinks Yams are going to go to a game because they are giving a pound to a fighting fund they are deluded. A PR masterstroke ? Hardly. Just poor form from the Saintees.

Dunderhall
26-07-2013, 08:42 PM
Remember the 1874 FF simply subcontract the painters and decorators.

13-08-2013, 09:48 AM
Is this going to happen throughout the season ? Madness.

Partick Thistle has very kindly followed in St Johnstone's footsteps and will donate £1 for every adult and concession ticket sold back to Hearts. The club would like to extend its gratitude to both clubs for their help during this time.

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20130812/ticket-info-partick-thistle-a_2241384_3346058

13-08-2013, 09:52 AM

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20130812/ticket-info-partick-thistle-a_2241384_3346058

It will as long as it works economically for the home team. It worked well for St Johnstone, they got ~4000 Hearts fans paying them >£50K, in return they had to pay Hearts £4K. Whereas last season they would have got more like £10K from Hearts visiting fans.

It wouldn't make much sense for Celtic, Hibs and possibly the northern clubs to do it, but I think this will carry on with the other central belt clubs as long as they take above normal travelling supports.

BarneyK
13-08-2013, 09:53 AM

It's quite a good idea from Partick's point of view I suppose - should encourage more away fans. In general, would this be an idea for all clubs - the away side takes a small percentage of their away support? Would we gain more than we lose?

13-08-2013, 09:56 AM
It will as long as it works economically for the home team. It worked well for St Johnstone, they got ~4000 Hearts fans paying them >£50K, in return they had to pay Hearts £4K. Whereas last season they would have got more like £10K from Hearts visiting fans.

Can't agree. By those figures you suggest that only 800 would normally make that trip. No way. The yams have a decent away support and it was the first game of the season. Who would make the decision to go to a game they wouldn't normally attend because a pound is going back to their club ?

13-08-2013, 09:56 AM

But surely this is a return to teams splitting the gate money. There were many arguments about this a long time ago with the OF and hertz in particular complaining about subsidising less well supported teams. Oh how times change.

13-08-2013, 10:11 AM
Can't agree. By those figures you suggest that only 800 would normally make that trip. No way. The yams have a decent away support and it was the first game of the season. Who would make the decision to go to a game they wouldn't normally attend because a pound is going back to their club ?

By my calculations, if more than just 100 extra supporters travel then the home club is quids in. At St Johnstone I reckon it could have been as high as 1,000 extra supporters.

What is happening with this offer is that the home club are getting the offer "promoted" both locally and in Edinburgh. The "free" advertising (and "perceived" goodwill of the club) in itself is worth it. Hearts will also promote it, as can be seen on their website, and encourage extra supporters along (#createhistory :wink: ) so that they get more cash into BDO's coffers.

It's a win/win for Hearts and the home teams.

13-08-2013, 10:14 AM
By my calculations, if more than just 100 extra supporters travel then the home club is quids in. At St Johnstone I reckon it could have been as high as 1,000 extra supporters.

What is happening with this offer is that the home club are getting the offer "promoted" both locally and in Edinburgh. The "free" advertising (and "perceived" goodwill of the club) in itself is worth it. Hearts will also promote it, as can be seen on their website, and encourage extra supporters along (#createhistory :wink: ) so that they get more cash into BDO's coffers.

So 100 extra supporters say @ £25 each (average) = extra £2500 for St Johnstone. 3500 yams = Saintees giving yams £3500.

Yamanomics.

13-08-2013, 10:15 AM

I look forward to Rod announcing that we are giving them money and will reap our reward with lots of goodwill from "them".

13-08-2013, 10:16 AM

What's a win? Any chance we could introduce it at Easter Road?

13-08-2013, 10:27 AM

Okay then, I'll give you a practical example. Hearts performed very well during the 97/98 season and took bigger than usual travelling supports to most grounds. They were due to play at St Johnstone in mid January. Hearts told St Johnstone that they expected over 3000 of their fans to turn up. St Johnstone then allocated them the whole of one side stand and one end stand (about 4500 seats), which involved moving some of their own fans. The game was moved for Sky to a Monday night and only 1000 Hearts fans (if that) turned up, leaving St Johnstone out of pocket and pissing off some of their fans.

Truth is that the away supports of Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen are very volatile, sometimes with encouragement and reasonable scheduling you can get 3000+ travelling (if not more than that), most of the time nowadays you are lucky if there is 1000. The difference between those two outcomes is worth ~£50K to the home team. If that means making a relatively small payment to the visiting team it's worth their while.

But surely this is a return to teams splitting the gate money. There were many arguments about this a long time ago with the OF and hertz in particular complaining about subsidising less well supported teams. Oh how times change.

The complaint about "gate splitting" was that the away team got a cut of the whole attendance, not just the away section, which effectively meant that season ticket buyers for one club were subsidising each visiting club. St Johnstone and Partick are only paying £1 for each of the visiting fans in these cases.

13-08-2013, 10:30 AM
So 100 extra supporters say @ £25 each (average) = extra £2500 for St Johnstone. 3500 yams = Saintees giving yams £3500.

Yamanomics.

No, please keep up.

Yams usually take about 2,500 supporters meaning £2,500 out of pocket if no extra supporters turn up.

100 extra supporters turn up and an extra £2,500 collected .. break even.

More than 100 extra turn up and they are quids in!

Sainteenomics. :wink:

EDIT: In simple terms, if just 1 out of every 20 supporters is one that has been talked into going by their mates, or the promotion on the Hearts website, then the "promotion" has earned the home club some extra cash.

13-08-2013, 10:35 AM
Okay then, I'll give you a practical example. Hearts performed very well during the 97/98 season and took bigger than usual travelling supports to most grounds. They were due to play at St Johnstone in mid January. Hearts told St Johnstone that they expected over 3000 of their fans to turn up. St Johnstone then allocated them the whole of one side stand and one end stand (about 4500 seats), which involved moving some of their own fans. The game was moved for Sky to a Monday night and only 1000 Hearts fans (if that) turned up, leaving St Johnstone out of pocket and pissing off some of their fans.

Truth is that the away supports of Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen are very volatile, sometimes with encouragement and reasonable scheduling you can get 3000+ travelling (if not more than that), most of the time nowadays you are lucky if there is 1000. The difference between those two outcomes is worth ~£50K to the home team. If that means making a relatively small payment to the visiting team it's worth their while.

Live TV seems to have been the reason then for your example. You seem to say that 800 would make the trip but because of Saints generosity of £1 per yams ticket going back to Hertz that an extra 3000+ decided to make the trip. I disagree with that assertion.

My real point is that a club with no input from their own fans decides to 'reward' another club guilty of gross financial mismanagement.

13-08-2013, 10:37 AM
No, please keep up.

Yams usually take about 2,500 supporters meaning £2,500 out of pocket if no extra supporters turn up.

100 extra supporters turn up and an extra £2,500 collected .. break even.

More than 100 extra turn up and they are quids in!

Sainteenomics. :wink:

Yams took 3500+. Fact.

Do keep up.

13-08-2013, 10:37 AM

The yams' 'decent' away support is c. 1000 fans.

St J played a blinder, as they did taking spoo.y off our hands.

13-08-2013, 10:38 AM
Live TV seems to have been the reason then for your example. You seem to say that 800 would make the trip but because of Saints generosity of £1 per yams ticket going back to Hertz that an extra 3000+ decided to make the trip. I disagree with that assertion.

My real point is that a club with no input from their own fans decides to 'reward' another club guilty of gross financial mismanagement.

And my point is that the other clubs wouldn't do it if they didn't think they would profit from it.

TBH it looks like you hate Hearts so much that you want to stop other clubs from making a few quid out of the situation.

13-08-2013, 10:43 AM

Yamanomics.

Hobonomics :wink:

2500 Yams @ £25 = £62.5 k.

2500 @ £24 = £60k

2505 @ £24 = £60,120.

Therefore they need just an extra 105 Yams to make it work. Play around with the numbers for any level of "normal" support.

Add to that programmes and catering etc.

It's a gamble, sure, but one that seems to have worked at St. J.

13-08-2013, 10:46 AM
Yams took 3500+. Fact.

Do keep up.

Errr .. exactly. :confused:

Over 1,000 more than they took there the last time they visited.

St Johnstone only needed 100 more than last time to break even with their "generosity", but it looks like they may have raked in more than £20k than they might have expected without the "promotion".

Do keep up. :wink:

13-08-2013, 10:48 AM
TBH it looks like you hate Hearts so much that you want to stop other clubs from making a few quid out of the situation.

I dislike Hearts, yes, can't deny it. I am a Hibs fan first though. I hope i would think/comment the same regardless of the clubs involved in similar situations.

13-08-2013, 10:49 AM
Hobonomics :wink:

2500 Yams @ £25 = £62.5 k.

2500 @ £24 = £60k

2505 @ £24 = £60,120.

Therefore they need just an extra 105 Yams to make it work. Play around with the numbers for any level of "normal" support.

Add to that programmes and catering etc.

It's a gamble, sure, but one that seems to have worked at St. J.

Better numbers than your deleted post of a week or so ago Crops.:wink:

13-08-2013, 10:50 AM
Better numbers than your deleted post of a week or so ago Crops.:wink:

These numbers make sense, though.

As does this:-

To make it work, at any level of expected fans, the home team need to attract 4.16% additional Yams.

13-08-2013, 10:56 AM
The complaint about "gate splitting" was that the away team got a cut of the whole attendance, not just the away section, which effectively meant that season ticket buyers for one club were subsidising each visiting club. St Johnstone and Partick are only paying £1 for each of the visiting fans in these cases.

Their was never any talk about reducing the split for away teams though, it was all or nothing and they agreed on nothing. Can't have it both ways.

13-08-2013, 11:12 AM

That's an urban myth...

Their away support is awful, TV games last season against M'well etc proved that, was shocked at how little tehy took through...

Phuds

13-08-2013, 11:23 AM
Sporting integrity is beyond purchase. No club should be looking to profit whilst backhanding a rival who are guilty of financial doping to the detriment of that club.

Clubs that are giving them money have suffered at least £80,000 per league position by finishing below cheats.

13-08-2013, 11:25 AM
Sporting integrity is beyond purchase. No club should be looking to profit whilst backhanding a rival who are guilty of financial doping to the detriment of that club.

Clubs that are giving them money have suffered at least £80,000 per league position by finishing below cheats.

So is it not right that they should try and recoup some of that?

13-08-2013, 11:31 AM
I am in favour of giving them £1 back only if we can put £2 on a ticket.

13-08-2013, 11:42 AM
So is it not right that they should try and recoup some of that?

I do see your point, Crops. It just rankles with me that they're helping them out along the way. I wouldn't give them the steam aff ma pish.

13-08-2013, 11:43 AM
I do see your point, Crops. It just rankles with me that they're helping them out along the way. I wouldn't give them the steam aff ma pish.

In the great scheme of things, though, it's not a big help to them. It might buy them another few weeks, but not so much that it would change the overall picture.

13-08-2013, 11:45 AM

But they're not, really. They're using the yamfuds to generate income, and letting them lick the plates.

13-08-2013, 11:46 AM
I am in favour of giving them £1 back only if we can put £2 on a ticket.

Why stop at £2 Scoopy ?

hibeesjoe
13-08-2013, 11:52 AM
If Hearts take a few away game humpings then I doubt they will still travel in huge numbers.

Factor in travelling costs, food, drink plus the price of the ticket and you might aswell donate the money straight to hearts rather than them getting a measley pound a ticket from the home team.

LioNeilMessi
13-08-2013, 12:04 PM
A tactic that shamelessly guilts the Yam die hards into attending away matches whilst making insignificant contributions to paying down the club debt.. It's an idea that will work only two or three times this season.

13-08-2013, 01:51 PM
What are you all getting so worked up about?

Whats an extra 1 quid per fan?

You think it's going to tip things in their favour? :crazy:

13-08-2013, 01:52 PM
Why stop at £2 Scoopy ?

Never really thought it through I guess:greengrin

13-08-2013, 05:50 PM
Next derby at ER, Hibs charge Hearts £31 per adult. If they sell all tickets Hibs will pass £3,800 back to yams. The remaining £30 per person goes to Hibs. If Fenlon.`s still in charge then it's likely we will need the money in due to reduced attendances between now and then

neilmartinrocks
13-08-2013, 06:15 PM
Normaly about 2500 3000 yams at perth. f*kn tossers. saints fans i know are split on it but most aint best pleased about helping them.

13-08-2013, 06:42 PM
St Johnstone will be thinking it'll attract more hearts fans to the game, and they'll be right, so they'll benefit from it just as much as hearts will.

Clever move by St Johnstone,got a few extra quid for themselves:cb

13-08-2013, 06:43 PM
Next derby at ER, Hibs charge Hearts £31 per adult. If they sell all tickets Hibs will pass £3,800 back to yams. The remaining £30 per person goes to Hibs. If Fenlon.`s still in charge then it's likely we will need the money in due to reduced attendances between now and then

The only flaw is that we would have to charge home supporters £31 as well.

13-08-2013, 06:48 PM
The only flaw is that we would have to charge home supporters £31 as well.

I forgot about that! Mind you we could move out of the FAMOUS five stand and fill the West and East. That would give Hibs around 13,000 seats and Yams 3,800. That will be plenty for a meaningless bottom six game for Hibs. Hopefully I'm wrong and we are 2pts off top going into the next derby haha

LeithBoozy
25-08-2013, 12:48 PM
With Inverness C Thistle joining St Johnstone and Partick Thistle, in donating cash to Hearts. Do we take the opportunity to help, when we play them at ER. Would we be bothered if we become the only team in the SPFL not to assist them in this way, or would it be a gesture to far for our supporters to contemplate. :greengrin

25-08-2013, 12:49 PM
Good one

25-08-2013, 12:49 PM
Ltyf!

25-08-2013, 12:51 PM
Usain _ _ _ _

25-08-2013, 12:51 PM
Is this a joke?

Chibs
25-08-2013, 12:54 PM
With Inverness C Thistle joining St Johnstone and Partick Thistle, in donating cash to Hearts. Do we take the opportunity to help, when we play them at ER. Would we be bothered if we become the only team in the SPFL not to assist them in this way, or would it be a gesture to far for our supporters to contemplate. :greengrin
I'd cut ma cock off before I give that bunch of **** anything.

25-08-2013, 12:55 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1gfZwejPv8

Number69
25-08-2013, 12:56 PM
Maybe we could let them play their home games at Easter Road while I'm doin my food shop at Tynesco?

I might get my sack waxed to raise money for them too, why not since every other team in Scotland wants to sympathise with a team who COST them money in position and cup/TV money by cheating.

Maybe not though eh?

25-08-2013, 12:57 PM
I vote bolt.

Might help relations between the sets of supporters, and we could always make it sound condescending though...we could wind them up big time about it, and in the long run will it really help save them?

green.and.white
25-08-2013, 12:58 PM
Who are the hobos now

25-08-2013, 01:00 PM
You really want an answer tae that?

25-08-2013, 01:01 PM
Personally I thought it was a bit cynical of said clubs to donate £1 per person back to hearts. Given that the supporters are doing all they can and are quite gullable, the cash back offer would see more money going into the coffers of the home club. It is a simple marketing ploy. It is of no advantage to Hibs since hearts mostly sellout their end. We already donated 3 points to them, I think that is plenty.

Rossco1875
25-08-2013, 01:02 PM
I think they only paid for there travel to and from the grounds did they not? If they can't afford to get from gorgie to leith then they should do what there fans to and beg for change for the bus hame mate or walk!

Rossco1875
25-08-2013, 01:03 PM
You really want an answer tae that?

Better watch with your comments mate, you will be the talk of kickback again!

25-08-2013, 01:06 PM
Better watch with your comments mate, you will be the talk of kickback again!:paranoid:

25-08-2013, 01:07 PM

Two words.

Off ****.

25-08-2013, 01:08 PM
Just let me check...........................

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b230/yandy069/Gif/bth_1cf3838c.gif

25-08-2013, 01:12 PM
Delete this thread; last night's ingestions are already trying to reappear, and this ain't helping!

25-08-2013, 01:13 PM
I like the way these clubs are cynically trying to increase their gates and the gullible overby are taking it as a marvelous contribution to the club.

What ICT are ACTUALLY doing is contributing part of the gate money from each Hearts fan over and above the number that normally attend. If you want, Hibs could announce exactly the same deal.

We could give them 5 quid for every Hearts fan more than attended last time. As they sold out on the last visit, that would mean giving them no money whatsoever...but think of the publicity for Hibs :thumbsup:

ColintonHibs
25-08-2013, 01:23 PM
Ltyf!

always wondered what this meant? :confused:

25-08-2013, 01:27 PM

Lithuanians Test Your Finances

cam75
25-08-2013, 01:31 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1gfZwejPv8

Quality :-)

25-08-2013, 01:32 PM
For every paying hearts fan we can give them either one complimentary ounce of shame or one ounce of humility.

25-08-2013, 01:35 PM

Launch the yam fud!

25-08-2013, 01:39 PM
They can **** right off! And any Hibby who thinks we should really needs their head examined. Lets not forget how they got themselves into that mess. Owe it to ourselves, big team, champions league etc etc. **** them, **** them, **** them

Gus Fring
25-08-2013, 01:46 PM
We don't play them until January, it's massively unlikely they will still be around come then and if by some stroke of fortune for them they are still here, it'll be because they are out of administration.

25-08-2013, 01:55 PM
Who are the hobos now

:agree: beggars.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eWeezUxIzaE

25-08-2013, 02:00 PM
We should put a pound towards the Poppy appeal seeing as the Yams bumped them.

25-08-2013, 02:09 PM
We should put a pound towards the Poppy appeal seeing as the Yams bumped them.

They shamelessly exploit the war dead to try and make their tawdry, cheating club look better, and then steal the money. It would be nice if a decent club with decent values made up for them. It shouldn't have to be this way but it's maybe necessary.

It's not just the poppy money theft - I don't believe all the den mothers ever got what was rightfully due to them. And lord knows how many local businesses have been hung out to dry by their unsettled bills either.

HOMFC - they are a morally repugnant stain on Edinburgh, on football and society in general. No shame, no class.

25-08-2013, 02:12 PM
Ltyf.

25-08-2013, 02:44 PM
Away and *****!!

25-08-2013, 02:51 PM
Wouldn't piss on them if they were on fire

MichelleHibs
25-08-2013, 03:00 PM
These other clubs are benefiting in the long run as they're getting extra revenue as more supporters are attending In The away end! However we wouldn't benefit from this as they usually bring a decent size support so no, tell them to **** off!!

There won't be a hearts team to play us in January anyway!

connerg
25-08-2013, 04:12 PM
I'd rather stick needles in my eyes :fenlon

25-08-2013, 04:22 PM
What ! Ive already pledged £100 a month .
OO
!
V

25-08-2013, 04:37 PM
These other clubs are benefiting in the long run as they're getting extra revenue as more supporters are attending In The away end! However we wouldn't benefit from this as they usually bring a decent size support so no, tell them to **** off!!

There won't be a hearts team to play us in January anyway!

Absolutely. Do people seriously think that clubs are doing this out the goodness of their hearts as a good will gesture? It`s a simple exercise in getting a few extra visiting fans along, not a problem we often have when Hearts visit Easter Road.

25-08-2013, 06:14 PM
Charge the away support 40 quid, tell them the difference is going to Hearts.

Then pocket the difference.

The Yams will think it's their own board doing this as that's the way they've been treated by them for ages.

25-08-2013, 06:16 PM
They're reluctantly getting £40 from me for the two derbies this season - that's more than enough to be going on with.

25-08-2013, 06:59 PM

Not in the slightest.

Can't believe that's even a serious question.

Dunderhall
25-08-2013, 07:06 PM
Isn't the money going to the fighting fund or whatever.
So some more painted steps or such doesn't really bother me.
They have made a few £K so far, ST J was adults only I seem to recall.

Can't get worked up about what others do, its not changing anything but should we give them anything is a big no from me.

25-08-2013, 07:13 PM

If you actually look at the bigger picture the home teams are making money from doing this ,the yams turn up ,extra fans in ,more money for the home club,quite clever really

25-08-2013, 07:29 PM
two words

f***** disgusting.

cheat to the hilt and then be rewarded by other clubs?

I'd rather fund the Syrian regime. Seriously.

If you actually look at the bigger picture the home teams are making money from doing this ,the yams turn up ,extra fans in ,more money for the home club,quite clever really

aye, cute indeed. but they are getting nice PR and are being rewarded for their cheating. I find this absurd.
why are hearts treated with all this love and care when others like dunfermline, Airdrie, even the Huns suffered in the right way?

I honestly hope Lithuania kills the little kid fiddling outfit.

portycabbage
25-08-2013, 07:38 PM
Wouldn't piss on them if they were on fire

I would, but only in such a way that the fire was guaranteed not to go out.

edit- on second thoughts, if it was gary locke he might enjoy that sort of thing.

gillythehibby
25-08-2013, 07:59 PM
Get Them tae fk. If Hibs are smart they'll play on this and refuse. This will entice more of our own fans to come out to play the Moral high ground card. Go on Rod, you know what you need to do:wink:

25-08-2013, 09:27 PM
I know everyone keeps saying that other teams will be making money off this offer but I really can't see Hearts fans travelling to games for the sake of a pound! If Hibs were in this situation I'd be travelling to every away game coz I'd be fired up big time like the Hearts fans currently are!! If I wasn't fancying a trip to Inverness then I wouldn't go, simple. I wouldn't spend the best part of £50 getting to Inverness just to give a measly pound back to my club! Anyone who thinks extra Hearts fans are travelling the length and breadth of the country to get their club a POUND are living in cloud cuckoo land in my opinion. Clubs are basically handing the cheats money for nothing

25-08-2013, 09:37 PM
I'd rather Suck the hairspray out of Donald Trump's comb-over than give that mob a penny!!

25-08-2013, 09:51 PM
Clever marketing by the clubs concerned to increase their gates and get more money.

Utterly dumb of the Yam fans to fork out money on travel and tickets so that their bankrupt club can gain a quid when they could donate all of that money direct to BDO's fees.

And since they always sell their allocation at Easter Road there is no benefit to Hibs in donating a quid for each Yam that crawls through our doors.

I'd say "screw them" but that would be unhygienic so will settle for "no chance".

25-08-2013, 09:53 PM

They shamelessly exploit the war dead to try and make their tawdry, cheating club look better, and then steal the money. It would be nice if a decent club with decent values made up for them. It shouldn't have to be this way but it's maybe necessary.

It's not just the poppy money theft - I don't believe all the den mothers ever got what was rightfully due to them. And lord knows how many local businesses have been hung out to dry by their unsettled bills either.

HOMFC - they are a morally repugnant stain on Edinburgh, on football and society in general. No shame, no class.

This should be printed on the front page of every national newspaper.

The club that have no shame.

25-08-2013, 10:03 PM
I think LeithBoozy has been on the sauce. I mean no sober Hibs fan would even think of what he's asking, let alone start a thread about it

25-08-2013, 11:21 PM
No way, disusting septic stinkholes. Let them die

Sent from my iPhone at home on crutches

26-08-2013, 07:21 AM
No chance.

LeithBoozy
26-08-2013, 11:30 AM
I think LeithBoozy has been on the sauce. I mean no sober Hibs fan would even think of what he's asking, let alone start a thread about it

I only wanted to find out if any hibby fans attitude was slacking, I have been delighted with the responses, trust me. If your going to start a thread, you might as well start one that will be sure to encourage a response.No I had not been on the sauce Jonnyboy, but I thank you for not accusing me of being a yam. :wink:

BH Hibs
26-08-2013, 11:51 AM
**** that they will be due us money after the game when they smash our seats, toilets etc going by their past behavior. In Fact I'd charge them a premium to pay for the damage in advance. ****bags

LioNeilMessi
26-08-2013, 12:05 PM
What about £1 of every ticket we don't sell goes to Hearts? Guaranteed sellout and Petrie has to flea the country :greengrin

26-08-2013, 12:14 PM
What about £1 of every ticket we don't sell goes to Hearts? Guaranteed sellout and Petrie has to flea the country :greengrin

Is that you Rod?

26-08-2013, 12:27 PM
I think most people are commenting on what they THINK other clubs are doing as opposed to what they're ACTUALLY doing.

The other clubs are using a cynical marketing ploy to encourage more Hearts fans to put more money in that other clubs pockets. For instance, ICT announced that they'd give a fiver for every Hearts fan attending over and above the number that normally attends.

Consider the following.

1) The same number or less Hearts fans attend as there was last time. RESULT? All gate money goes to ICT

2) 100 extra Hearts fans attend, paying on average 20 quid each. RESULT? ICT keep all gate money except 500 quid, making them 1,500 better off than the previous game against Hearts.

3) Both cases: ICT get good PR.

26-08-2013, 12:32 PM
It would seem churlish of us not to do the something similar, to be honest.

26-08-2013, 12:36 PM
I think most people are commenting on what they THINK other clubs are doing as opposed to what they're ACTUALLY doing.

The other clubs are using a cynical marketing ploy to encourage more Hearts fans to put more money in that other clubs pockets. For instance, ICT announced that they'd give a pound for every Hearts fan attending over and above the number that normally attends.

Consider the following.

1) The same number or less Hearts fans attend as there was last time. RESULT? All gate money goes to ICT

2) 100 extra Hearts fans attend, paying on average 20 quid each. RESULT? ICT keep all gate money except 100 quid, making them 1,900 better off than the previous game against Hearts.

3) Both cases: ICT get good PR.

500 quid mate , they are paying a fiver for each fan over

26-08-2013, 12:36 PM

churlish, or bending over backwards for them, spreading our cheeks?

hmmmm ... I'll go with churlish.

Or - to be a bit more generous - let's just go with the same deal as they gave us when we visited the pig farm.

A further alternative; let's not have them at ER at all, we'll be on a run by then, it's New Year, if they're still alive we don't need them, we can fill ER ourselves. That'll save them a few bob.

26-08-2013, 12:37 PM

Have you forgotten that this club are the definition of lying, cheating, thieving ****! Man up, man!

26-08-2013, 12:48 PM
500 quid mate , they are paying a fiver for each fan over

Thanks, post updated accordingly

So they still make 1,500 extra themselves.

big-mo
26-08-2013, 03:33 PM
Surprised that no one mentioned it, but I think Partick Thistle also gave them a £1 back for the game at Firhill.

As for the money that it will cost St J, for every one of the hearts fans that pay to get in they will donate £1 back to the club, however they will still have to pay the vat on that £1, so it will cost them £1.20 for every Yam at the game.

26-08-2013, 04:01 PM
I think it might be a more fitting gesture if we gave the gave the excess pound to Musselburgh or Stenhousemuir, or some other deserving body who has been shafted by those maggots.

Dunderhall
26-08-2013, 04:43 PM
Why not put a £10 surcharge on top.A full away end would cover the loss to the big hearts charity.Who could possibly object to it....

EK_Hibs
04-09-2013, 12:13 PM
It was £5 for every Yam that attended OVER THEIR USUAL AVERAGE of 650, so if there were 651 Yams at the game they would have been handed £5.
No chance we will do that, or least we better not, although I have no idea what their average attendance at ER is.

The away attendance was 1165 which means ICT would have handed over £2,575 to HoMoFC.
If we did something similar (we won't) there would be an uproar.

gorgie greens
04-09-2013, 12:14 PM
It was £5 for every Yam that attended OVER THEIR USUAL AVERAGE of 650, so if there were 651 Yams at the game they would have been handed £5.
No chance we will do that, or least we better not, although I have no idea what their average attendance at ER is.

Still £5 too much,they could nearly buy a third of a tin of paint for that.
Seriously can see why clubs would want to fleece the deluded ones,not sure the walk up prices at ICT but if it's £20 then it's £20 less going to Direct Debit or at least £50 if your tea total Tom.Drag along the rug rats whose Christmas you have ruined because you are now skint

NeilOrrSquareBa
04-09-2013, 12:19 PM
Why are clubs offering money back to HMFC.
Did Hearts do it for them?

04-09-2013, 12:26 PM

Encourage a lot more Hearts fans to travel. Assuming they paid £23 to get in ICT would have made an additional £9252 compared to a normal game from the gate alone. Throw in pies, programmes etc, not as daft as it seems. The irony is that means the supporters run dry of cash quicker as an away day in Inverness is not cheap. Hearts are the long term losers. BTW any Billy Boy songs this week?

04-09-2013, 12:29 PM

Why are hearts fans demanding other clubs should give homfc a donation?

No need to reply; rhetorical question. They're ****.

Alan62
04-09-2013, 12:33 PM
This cash back scheme is marketing genius.

If it's based on paying a modest kickback after the seasonal average has been achieved then it all adds up to more cash for the hosting club.

For the Hearts supporting daftie, particularly the ones who never used to go to Inverness or wherever, they'd be better off staying at home and throwing another fiver in the Tynecastle fire.

Crossgates Hibs
04-09-2013, 01:34 PM
Each club has profited by giving them cash back as they brought more fans than normal. They don't give a toss about them they get good press and better gate receipts from the gullible yams. I think we should offer them a paid for poppy wreath should they sell out there end to save them further bad press at the next rememberence day.

GreenPJ
04-09-2013, 02:37 PM
The away attendance was 1165 which means ICT would have handed over £2,575 to HoMoFC.
If we did something similar (we won't) there would be an uproar.

Hate to say it but that is an impressive away support to take up there.

04-09-2013, 02:54 PM

Or to look at it a different way ..

.. the travelling yams increased the coffers of one of their rivals by close to £8k. :wink:

04-09-2013, 03:00 PM

They're on their knees. It's a last hurrah. We'd be the same, or better. It's not impressive in the slightest.

04-09-2013, 03:47 PM
If Hibs did something like what St Johnstone are doing I wouldn't go to the game. I'm a season ticket holder, but it's the only way I can let them know how disgusted I would be if they did. I'm absolutely sick and tired of listening to the Hearts media on Sportsound playing the sympathy card. So many people from other clubs seem to have short memories as regards Hearts. Nobody should have sympathy for them at all apart from their own fans. Just my opinion though.

ACLeith
04-09-2013, 03:55 PM

I have to disagree and say we should play fair here. First, confirm the capacity of the South stand is 3,500, then offer a fiver for every seat sold over 3,490, deducting of course £50 to cover admin costs. :wink:

15-09-2013, 11:19 AM
So, did Saint Johnstone donate £1200 to a Hibs charity after yesterday's game?? Only fair that they should treat each club the same.

15-09-2013, 01:32 PM

Not really from a fan base of 400,000

19-10-2013, 06:09 AM
I see Motherwell are the latest team to donate a £1 to FOH for every away fan.

portohibee
19-10-2013, 07:47 AM
I see Motherwell are the latest team to donate a £1 to FOH for every away fan.

I hope we dont do the same thing, that would be the end for me, surely the tash would know the fans would go radio rental, and what might look good as a PR stunt for the club, could ultimately end in a financial loss for the club

DONT DO IT ROD, have some backbone and tell they ****s to GTF

:fenlon

19-10-2013, 08:00 AM
I hope we dont do the same thing, that would be the end for me, surely the tash would know the fans would go radio rental, and what might look good as a PR stunt for the club, could ultimately end in a financial loss for the club

We could offer to donate £ 1 per visiting Merrick, but to give to some of the local businesses that have been screwed.

Highlight the damage done by the fraudsters.

19-10-2013, 08:05 AM

FWIW I thnk Rod hates them as much as the rest of us so no chance of this happening

19-10-2013, 08:15 AM

Rod could offer £10 per Yam, and they would still find a reason to boycott ER. They always do when it looks like we're going to beat them.

19-10-2013, 08:20 AM

Not.A.Chance.

19-10-2013, 08:29 AM
We could offer to donate £ 1 per visiting Merrick, but to give to some of the local businesses that have been screwed.

Highlight the damage done by the fraudsters.

Or better still, for every fair weather stay-away yam who leaves an unsold seat we will pay £1 to lady haig poppy fund

19-10-2013, 08:51 AM
In the true spirit of that lot, for each away fan that attends we should donate £1 to ourselves.

19-10-2013, 10:00 AM
In the true spirit of that lot, for each away fan that attends we should donate £1 to ourselves.

Lets give it to the poppy fund. Make up for the cash they stole and Hibs get some good press for a change.

Crossgates Hibs
19-10-2013, 10:09 AM

They do it for extra income knowing the idiots will attend in greater numbers. No chance of us doing it as they will sell out anyway. Nobody gives a stuff about Hearts just a pr stunt for better attendance

19-10-2013, 10:09 AM
Really can't get my head around all this soft soaping by the media and teams who are contributing to them at away games, now a friendly with Wolfsburg coming up.

It just shows you that crime really does pay.

Galahibby
19-10-2013, 10:10 AM
Or better still, for every fair weather stay-away yam who leaves an unsold seat we will pay £1 to lady haig poppy fund

Good call! :agree:

19-10-2013, 05:49 PM
Don't remember anyone doing it for rangers. Why the change in procedures??

19-10-2013, 05:56 PM
These teams do realise that they have most likely lost out to Hearts in some way over the past 7 or 8 years as a result of the financial mismanagement that has seen them end up in this state, right?

Whether it be on the pitch, with Hearts beating one of these clubs with a squad that they couldn't afford, or off the pitch with Hearts buying one of their many dozens of players that they've had over recent years, who was maybe a target for one of these clubs but who ended up choosing Hearts because they couldn't compete with the wages that Hearts were offering at the time. Wages that Hearts themselves couldn't afford.

Stuff helping them out.

Thankfully I don't think there's any danger that we'll be following this trend.

19-10-2013, 06:06 PM
These teams do realise that they have most likely lost out to Hearts in some way over the past 7 or 8 years as a result of the financial mismanagement that has seen them end up in this state, right?

Whether it be on the pitch, with Hearts beating one of these clubs with a squad that they couldn't afford, or off the pitch with Hearts buying one of their many dozens of players that they've had over recent years, who was maybe a target for one of these clubs but who ended up choosing Hearts because they couldn't compete with the wages that Hearts were offering at the time. Wages that Hearts themselves couldn't afford.

Stuff helping them out.

Thankfully I don't think there's any danger that we'll be following this trend.

:agree: :top marks

19-10-2013, 06:12 PM
Don't remember anyone doing it for rangers. Why the change in procedures??

Different situations.

Rangers weren't openly begging and went straight to Liquidation after 3 months.

Plus, there wasn't the same motivation for other clubs as Rangers were already taking large numbers to away games.

19-10-2013, 11:23 PM
I might be in the minority but are we not playing into the papers hands by not supporting their away fans? Can you imagine the furore if we do nothing? Playing into the propaganda that seems to follow that mob around.

Just for a minute have a wee think, how good would it be for the tabloids to report that Hibs are to give £1.50 for every Hearts fan that turns up? The biggest donation by an SPL club from their biggest rivals? No negative press on Hibs just positive and in a weird way it will pi55 them off big time, upper hand, bigger man situation and all that.

And for what? Just over £5k?

P.S I want them to die as much as the rest but Hibs can only get bad press by not doing anything but some good if we are smart.

20-10-2013, 12:32 AM
I might be in the minority but are we not playing into the papers hands by not supporting their away fans? Can you imagine the furore if we do nothing? Playing into the propaganda that seems to follow that mob around.

Just for a minute have a wee think, how good would it be for the tabloids to report that Hibs are to give £1.50 for every Hearts fan that turns up? The biggest donation by an SPL club from their biggest rivals? No negative press on Hibs just positive and in a weird way it will pi55 them off big time, upper hand, bigger man situation and all that.

P.S I want them to die as much as the rest but Hibs can only get bad press by not doing anything but some good if we are smart.

No way should Hibs even entertain this idea, IMHO. They are in this mess because of their own misdeamours. Why should other fans, whose clubs have suffered because of Hearts' cheating, help them out? Re the media, why should we care what they say about this matter? They try to paint us in negative light most of the time anyway so why should this be any different?

Hibs07p
20-10-2013, 05:40 AM

You mean £1.50 per head as well as half the gate money?
Me personally, if I was RP I'd find it hard to give those yam fuds a smell of a watery fart, never mind half the gate money. The quicker those fv<kers go to the wall the better.

20-10-2013, 06:08 AM

Let's pay the competition money to encourage their fans to come to our ground to cheer on the opposition, to the detriment of our own team ? Utter madness. Why don't we just give them hammers to smash up the place up while we're at it.

Irrelevant anyway. As ever when the Yams fear a pumping, there will be the traditional "boycott" of ER the next time they're due to play us :greengrin.

20-10-2013, 06:59 AM

Other clubs are doing this simply as an excercise to encourage more travelling Hearts fans along. As Hearts will be selling out their end or there or thereabouts for the derby anyway, to give them money for every attendee would be simply ridiculous.
I can see where you are coming from in the sense of their humiliation at receiving a donation from Hibs, but I would rather have them squirming by giving them a right tanking at Easter Road and consign them to further misery.

20-10-2013, 07:19 AM
As its a cup game and the gate will be split I doubt we'd be allowed to give them anything.

hibbymick
20-10-2013, 07:29 AM

Why don't we announce this £1.50 stunt then just bump them. I've heard that's what big clubs do :agree:

20-10-2013, 08:38 AM
While having a wee laugh over on brokeback I see they're taking pops at "murderwell" and their fans...... This, despite being given a share of the gate by Motherwell......

Yam Class.

20-10-2013, 09:07 AM

Its a cup game, they already get a share.

Oh plus, **** them

20-10-2013, 09:29 AM
Its a cup game, they already get a share.

Oh plus, **** them

Exactly, and if the mutants do any damage in the away end,they are held accountable.

20-10-2013, 09:37 AM
Exactly, and if the mutants do any damage in the away end,they are held accountable.

And I'll be very surprised if they don't cause any damage. They will get 40% of the gate with home team getting 60 to cover costs etc.

So they might not get 40%.

Wonder if they'll be standing with their hands out wanting the money before they leave?

Crossgates Hibs
20-10-2013, 09:45 AM

no chance of us giving them anything. Watch the other teams stop giving now that they are accepting relegation and crowds dwindling. It was always to encourage greater gates for themselves not help them. If we are to donate anything save it for the 29th of Marxh when they won't sell out and we want a full away end to see us relegate them:na na:

20-10-2013, 09:55 AM
They will fill their end anyway as they normally do so even if they werent getting half the gate, it would be pointless as there would be no need for us to encourage anymore of them along unless we were to give them another stand.

It's coming up for Poppy selling season anyway so they'll be able to start selling Poppy's and pilfer all the money for themselves!!

20-10-2013, 10:03 AM
no chance of us giving them anything. Watch the other teams stop giving now that they are accepting relegation and crowds dwindling. It was always to encourage greater gates for themselves not help them. If we are to donate anything save it for the 29th of Marxh when they won't sell out and we want a full away end to see us relegate them:na na:

1200 or so of them at 'well yesterday; Hibs usually take that or more anyway, without 'enticements'.

20-10-2013, 11:03 AM
Hearts are charging their supporters a £1.50 booking fee for buying online so they are already making more per head than us. Why should we give them more?.

20-10-2013, 11:11 AM
1200 or so of them at 'well yesterday; Hibs usually take that or more anyway, without 'enticements'.

Motherwell must have made around £30k from the lemmings yesterday, and gave back just over £1k. Marketing at its best :aok:

20-10-2013, 11:19 AM
They already get 40% of the gate money and will no doubt do their best to smash up the South Stand, as per usual. Give them nothing.

As for the league game; if it actually goes ahead then they can whistle for a donation from Hibs. Why should we help them out of a hole caused by their years of cheating?

20-10-2013, 11:24 AM
They already get 40% of the gate money and will no doubt do their best to smash up the South Stand, as per usual. Give them nothing. As for the league game; if it actually goes ahead then they can whistle for a donation from Hibs. Why should we help them out of a hole caused by their years of cheating?

If their fans don't/cannot behave then their cut for the game will be reduced accordingly to pay for any damage caused.

Carry on damage the place at the end if the day they'll pay for it.

20-10-2013, 12:24 PM
I never said it should be done for the cup game, anyway, I like a few of the comments back and see that a lot of people don't want to contribute at all to them in any way and I get that but I really can't help but think the moral high ground would get up their noses more that doing nothing. Gives them nothing to say at all.

I also love the idea of collecting and donating to the poppy appeal or some other local organisation they have bumped.

20-10-2013, 02:22 PM
F*** them.

They don't even deserved to be pished on if they were on fire.

die h***** die :lolyam:

20-10-2013, 02:26 PM
F*** them. They don't even deserved to be pished on if they were on fire. die h***** die :lolyam:

(I know one of them that likes that sort of thing Silver)

20-10-2013, 02:33 PM
Can't understand this at all, morally wrong. The despicable, detestable, pathetic little club that is hearts have cheated for years and years to get ahead whilst everybody else has struggled along having to live within their means yet clubs are willing to help them out when it all finally goes tits up for them. Hearts and their vile fans have allowed this to happen because the financial doping fuelled there ludicrous delusions that they are some kind of super power club. Their own arrogance was their down fall.

**** hearts - they deserve **** all generosity. Their bigoted, arrogant, deluded fanbase have loved lording it over us and the other clubs over the years giving it the big un! Now they are grovelling about like the tramps they are shaking their begging bowls at everyone.

20-10-2013, 02:34 PM
F*** them.

They don't even deserved to be pished on if they were on fire.

die h***** die :lolyam:

Sooner they are wiped from the face of the earth the better!