View Full Version : Grounds that no longer exist

Miguel
13-08-2013, 12:42 AM
To take me mind of Sunday, have been thinking about Hibs' visits to grounds that no longer exist, or have been radically altered:
Firs Park: remember going there in the cup about 1968. Think we won 5-3, but it was a typical squeaky bum Hibs performance. Don't know how many it held, but it was packed that day.
Annfield: thing I recall about there was at half-time we just walked over the pitch to go behind the goal Hibs were attacking. Late 1960s?
Brockville: very hostile atmosphere, about 1971. Few guys on our bus got lifted. Had that weird wee bridge over the terracing.
Kilbowie: all seated, maybe first to be so. Didn't they have East Stirlingshire's old stand or something?
Muirton: got chased by St Johnstone fans after a game once. Quite liked Muirton. Natural bowl type of place.
Tynecastle/Ibrox/Parkhead: remember old copper drinking cups and water fountain at first (f knows how we didn't get Legionairees of that; changing ends at 'old' Ibrox was fun!; Celtic was full of jakies, offering you a drink out their bottle. Was only about five...
There must be more I've forgotten...

crewetollhibee
13-08-2013, 01:06 AM
To take me mind of Sunday, have been thinking about Hibs' visits to grounds that no longer exist, or have been radically altered:
Firs Park: remember going there in the cup about 1968. Think we won 5-3, but it was a typical squeaky bum Hibs performance. Don't know how many it held, but it was packed that day.
Annfield: thing I recall about there was at half-time we just walked over the pitch to go behind the goal Hibs were attacking. Late 1960s?
Brockville: very hostile atmosphere, about 1971. Few guys on our bus got lifted. Had that weird wee bridge over the terracing.
Kilbowie: all seated, maybe first to be so. Didn't they have East Stirlingshire's old stand or something?
Muirton: got chased by St Johnstone fans after a game once. Quite liked Muirton. Natural bowl type of place.
Tynecastle/Ibrox/Parkhead: remember old copper drinking cups and water fountain at first (f knows how we didn't get Legionairees of that; changing ends at 'old' Ibrox was fun!; Celtic was full of jakies, offering you a drink out their bottle. Was only about five...

Airdrie's ground , Broomfield was it ? Tiny wee stand, and their daft support singing ee-aye oh, ee-aye oh Airdrie, Airdrie.

13-08-2013, 03:26 AM
Boghead.

£1 a pie, £1.50 a 'Special Pie'.

£2 an Irn Bru, poured form a 2 litre bottle with £1.99 plastered over it.

Clydebank had their season ticket holders listed in the programme.

13-08-2013, 05:04 AM
There is a couple of scottish grounds on here, not,many though.

http://www.footballgroundguide.com/old-grounds-and-stands/index.htm

13-08-2013, 05:35 AM
Love st used to be a bit tasty in the 80's.

East fifes old ground , bayview I think. We got knocked out of cup back in 80's. To make it worse I got a half brick bounced off my head. Had to be taken round the pitch and was spotted by my school headmaster and pulled into his office the next day. He was an east fife fan and after finding out I was ok he just ripped the p1sh out of me.

Mark79
13-08-2013, 08:00 AM
Hearts old ground that was sold off in 2013 was a dump. How it ever got a safety certificate I will never know.

13-08-2013, 08:05 AM

East fifes old ground , bayview I think. We got knocked out of cup back in 80's. To make it worse I got a half brick bounced off my head. Had to be taken round the pitch and was spotted by my school headmaster and pulled into his office the next day. He was an east fife fan and after finding out I was ok he just ripped the p1sh out of me.

You're not wrong about Love Street mate - able to walk round the terrace at half time to 'swap sides' was always a battle - quite literally !

13-08-2013, 08:52 PM

so were do east stirling play now, as i was at the 5=3 game we were one down after a few mins but sure colin stein scored

spurshibby
13-08-2013, 09:03 PM
easter rd might exist but will be a ghost town"stadium" good as not existing ...GET FENLON OOT:flag:

13-08-2013, 09:04 PM
Douglas Park.

Shawfield

Cathkin Park

13-08-2013, 09:06 PM
Hearts old ground that was sold off in 2013 was a dump. How it ever got a safety certificate I will never know.meadowbank thistle, what a dump. soon to become hertz new dump.

Bobo
13-08-2013, 09:07 PM
Shawfield. .... Oops never saw CWG's post, any takers for Bayview.

13-08-2013, 09:08 PM
Douglas Park.aye, and new douglas park still flies the union flag!

13-08-2013, 09:21 PM
You're not wrong about Love Street mate - able to walk round the terrace at half time to 'swap sides' was always a battle - quite literally !yep, got fond memories of that place. don't know why it got the name love street. they hated themselves, never mind anyone who got intae their end by mistake. guy said to me, yer in the wrang end pal , but reply was, aye.... so what? what you gonnae dae aboot it/ ye think yer west coast accent frightens me? the Polis then escorted me to oor end! mind you, those days I was not concerned with mixing it a bit, with the young chaps over in the west:greengrin

scuttle
13-08-2013, 09:26 PM
so were do east stirling play now, as i was at the 5=3 game we were one down after a few mins but sure colin stein scored

Ground share/rent with Stenhousemuir

TheFamous1875
13-08-2013, 10:12 PM
I was watching some of the old Hibs videos online and it got me thinking about the facade of the old main stand with the bricks and the 'Easter Road Stadium'.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/--PlYvgR2tEI/TbXpmiDlUqI/AAAAAAAAAMI/ps048cfZFUs/s1600/Copy+of+scand0008.jpg

I have no idea how feasible or un it would be, but I think it would have been a good idea to include the brick facade onto the new main stand. It would be in homage to our proud history, whilst looking forward to our future. N it'd also just look class!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

E10 Rifle
13-08-2013, 10:21 PM

The only positive about that was that we bought Durie soon after...god we were pish back then. Just as well times have changed...oh, wait :doh:

Billy McKirdy
13-08-2013, 10:26 PM
Douglas Park.

Shawfield

Cathkin Park
I mind going to Douglas Park in 1985 and after the game, Accies famous old fan Fergie shouting and cursing at the top of his voice outside the Hibs end at the end of the game. "F#@* O#@ back tae Leith ya shower ay f#@*%#$@ b#@@*#@s...... :-)

I think we got a draw that day.

Miguel
13-08-2013, 11:23 PM

Ochilview mate. Stenhousemuir's ground. Can't remember how the scoring went, but was behind one of the goals. Ground seemed huge, but the I was only seven!

Miguel
13-08-2013, 11:26 PM
By the way, Cathkin was, I believe, the ground where Hibs first won the Scottish Cup, when it was 'First Hampden'. Can anyone confirm that?

14-08-2013, 08:08 AM
By the way, Cathkin was, I believe, the ground where Hibs first won the Scottish Cup, when it was 'First Hampden'. Can anyone confirm that?

Nearly. It was "Second Hampden".

http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_cup_fixture_details.cfm?page=1988&matchID=91671

khib70
14-08-2013, 08:19 AM
East Stirlingshire's Firs Park, where I've spent a few fun Saturdays watching the Shire on days when Hibs were away, still technically exists, but in a sad and desolate condition. See here (http://www.28dayslater.co.uk/forums/other-sites/62446-firs-park-former-home-east-stirlingshire-f-c-july-2011-a.html)

Best one was the opportunity to indulge in a 90 minute barracking of that wee knob Scott Crabbe who showed up playing for Alloa, or someone like that.

It was a great wee ground with a legendary catering outlet in a portakabin run by two Asian teenagers. Pies, burgers, pakora, curry, all top quality, and everything was £1.

Aaron
14-08-2013, 08:24 AM
The Dinipro stadium we went to is no longer there. The ******* police tried to mug me out the back when taking a pass there at half time.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4

14-08-2013, 08:31 AM
The Dinipro stadium we went to is no longer there. The ******* police tried to mug me out the back when taking a pass there at half time.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4

How that ground got a safety certificate I'll never know. No turnstiles or toilets and the concrete terraces were crumbling and wobbled. Shocker of a ground.

Grubbing around the message boards.

Bobo
14-08-2013, 08:50 AM
I was watching some of the old Hibs videos online and it got me thinking about the facade of the old main stand with the bricks and the 'Easter Road Stadium'.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/--PlYvgR2tEI/TbXpmiDlUqI/AAAAAAAAAMI/ps048cfZFUs/s1600/Copy+of+scand0008.jpg

I have no idea how feasible or un it would be, but I think it would have been a good idea to include the brick facade onto the new main stand. It would be in homage to our proud history, whilst looking forward to our future. N it'd also just look class!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

I've thought the same in the past.

The existing west/south corner, next to Norton Park, is where the old players entrance used to be. It only has a bland green metal fence now. If the club could rebuild the old facade again it would help put a little nostalgia and identity back into the stadium and its surroundings.

Surely it wouldn't cost the club too much to have that section of fence removed and have replica brickwork put in its place? I think most supporters who remember the old gates would find it a nice touch.

Miguel
14-08-2013, 10:21 PM
Nearly. It was "Second Hampden".

http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_cup_fixture_details.cfm?page=1988&matchID=91671

Thanks for that.