View Full Version : Team vs Dundee Utd

12-08-2013, 10:26 AM
What team would you like to see face the arabs? Obviously we would all like a new manager first:greengrin

cloudy
12-08-2013, 10:31 AM
Williams
Mullen nelson hanlon mcgivern
KT
Robertson Craig
Handling Collins McCourt

12-08-2013, 10:32 AM
Because of how unbalanced the squad is i'm totally out of ideas on how to change things without getting the same net result, pish.

Sadly i think Fenlon is in exactly the same boat.

12-08-2013, 10:32 AM
Williams
Forster Nelson Hanlon McGivern

Robertson Thomson Craig Lewis

Caldwell Collins

12-08-2013, 10:33 AM
Stevenson

Caldwell
Collins
McCourt
Thomson

Hanlon
Fenlon
Tampon
Nelson

Taiwo
OTJ

Can't be any worse.

12-08-2013, 10:34 AM
Williams

Maybury Nelson Hanlon McGivern

Taiwo Thomson

Handling Robertson Craig

Vine

steve75
12-08-2013, 10:38 AM
Would like

Williams

Mullen Nelson Forster McGivern
Thomson
A Winger A Winger
Craig
Collins Vine/Caldwell

With what we have...

Williams

Mullen Nelson Forster McGivern
Thomson
Robertson Craig Vine (all interlinking positions)
Collins Caldwell

lugz
12-08-2013, 10:39 AM
William
Maybury
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern
Thomson
Taiwo
Robertson
Craig
Vine
Collins

4-1-3-2 anyone wanting to drop Collins already needs to have a word!!

12-08-2013, 10:40 AM
I'd drop Hanlon, put in Jordon. I'd also drop Vine and Collins, both need to work on fitness and sharpness - I'd put Ross and Danny up front.

As for right back, don't think Mullen put a foot wrong yesterday to be honest, and if he's injury free I'd stick with him. McGivern at left back.

Gustavo Fring
12-08-2013, 10:55 AM
id be tempted to bin the lot of them and play the under 20's team .

12-08-2013, 11:01 AM
Williams

Mullen
Forster
Hanlon
Mcgivern

Thomson
Taiwo
Robertson

Craig

Collins
Vine/Caldwell/Handling

In the dugout: Jimmy Nic (Temporary Manager)

12-08-2013, 11:01 AM
If we're going to lump it up the park anyway then may as well try and make the best of it.

______________Williams

Mullen____Nelson______Hanlon_____McGivern

______________Thomson

______Robertson_________Craig

______Vine______Caldwell______Collins

12-08-2013, 11:02 AM

Some of them need home truths told to them Paco - some need to hire a sprint coach not a 'fitness guru' - some just need to be told not to come back tomorrow.

12-08-2013, 11:04 AM
Do we have 11 folk on here who fancy a game next Saturday? I'll manage :agree:

12-08-2013, 11:06 AM

It;s funny but last week someone asked if our under 20s team could beat our 1st team and was ridiculed for 'getting silly'.

Not sure about ours but Hearts under 20s were certainly capable. Only objection i have to a few of our under 20s getting the nod is it would be throwing them to the lions and they would be playing under a manager who doesn't have a scooby.

A big part of the problem for me yesterday was that the players didn't seem to know what they were supposed to be doing. Hearts were dire but they looked as though they had something resembling organisation and tactics.

12-08-2013, 11:06 AM

I'll donate both my groins to Tim Clancy mate if that helps you - his are clearly made of tissue paper.

12-08-2013, 11:10 AM

...........do you have any Irish connections?
:cb

12-08-2013, 11:12 AM
...........do you have any Irish connections?

Surname/family history but otherwise, I'm as Irish as Irn Bru.

12-08-2013, 11:16 AM
Williams

Mullen
Nelson
Forster
McGivern

Robertson
Taiwo
Thomson

Craig

Collins
Vine

12-08-2013, 11:17 AM
If we're going to lump it up the park anyway then may as well try and make the best of it.

______________Williams

Mullen____Nelson______Hanlon_____McGivern

______________Thomson

______Robertson_________Craig

______Vine______Caldwell______Collins

I'd go with this. Let's go for it and finally try to score!

12-08-2013, 11:19 AM
Ok, it should really be:

Williams

Mullen
Nelson
Forster
McGivern

Robertson
Craig
Thomson

Handling
Collins
Caldwell

Makaveli
12-08-2013, 11:20 AM
Struggling to care TBH, but here we go...

Williams

Forster
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Robertson
Taiwo
Thomson
Vine

Collins
Caldwell

Jones is gash and Craig doesn't want the ball. To start those two ahead of Taiwo should be a sackable offence in itself.

12-08-2013, 11:20 AM
Williams

Mullen
Forster
Hanlon
Mcgivern

Thomson
Taiwo
Robertson

Craig

Collins
Vine/Caldwell/Handling

In the dugout: Jimmy Nic (Temporary Manager)

Saves me the bother of typing.

12-08-2013, 11:23 AM
Saves me the bother of typing.

You'd have Hanlon in before Nelson, Scoop?

The Leith Dutch
12-08-2013, 11:25 AM
Williams (not captain)

Mullen - Forster - Nelson - Hanlon

Thompson

Vine - Robertson - Craig - McGivern

Collins

12-08-2013, 11:26 AM
Williams

Maybury Hanlon McGivern Stevenson

Taiwo Thomson Robertson Craig

Collins Vine

12-08-2013, 11:33 AM
I think we need to drop this 1 up front, it just doesn't work for hibs

12-08-2013, 11:40 AM
Williams
Maybury. Nelson Hanlon McGivern
Robertson Thomson. TT

Craig

Collins. Caldwell

12-08-2013, 11:47 AM
Apart from the lack of pace (and someone with that creative spark) in the team, I dont actually think the team that was put out on Sunday is that bad - its the dreadful tactics have cost us the last two games.

Weve barely created anything, but when we have had chances it has been through good football, keeping the ball on the ground, sharp passing, and using the fullback and the players out wide. If the CBs/goalie stop booting it up the middle of the pitch as soon as we get it, we might actually get on better.

As for the team vs United -

Williams
Maybury Forster Hanlon McGivern
Robertson Taiwo Thomson
New winger Collins Craig

12-08-2013, 11:51 AM
Williams

Mullen
Nelson
Forster
McGivern

Robertson
Taiwo
Thomson

Handling
Collins
Craig

I feel Nelson and Forster have the potential to be a real strong pairing and with Mcgivern back, the defence would look a lot stronger

LioNeilMessi
12-08-2013, 11:59 AM
I would at least start the last current Hibs player to score in a competitive match: Caldwell :agree:

I would have.
Williams
Mullen Forster/Hanlon Nelson Mcgivern

Robertson Thomson Craig

Handling Caldwell Collins

Dundee United are very poor just now as well so there is no reason to play 451 at home this time.

12-08-2013, 12:25 PM
Williams

Robertson Craig Thomson

Vine Collins Stanton

12-08-2013, 12:30 PM
I am not keen on the formation but 3-5-2 would pretty much having people in the right positions.

12-08-2013, 12:45 PM
I don't think we have a balanced starting XI at the moment, especially with Harris out. I've thought about who I'd like to see play, different formations etc but the same issues come up time and time again: no width, no pace and no creativity. Unfortunately I dont think any combination of players can fix this.

Reinforcements (and a new manager) are desperately needed which is worrying considering Pat has brought in around 8 players this summer I think I read?

Based on the current squad and those we know are fit I'd go:

Williams

Mullen Forster Hanlon McGivern

Vine Robertson Thomson/Taiwo Craig

Collins Caldwell

I dont have a lot of faith however that the team above, under the current management will be able to do much more than scrape a draw at the weekend.

12-08-2013, 12:52 PM
If Fenlon's in charge, it's irrelevant who plays.

They will be put on the park to play the most negative, eye-bleeding hoofball.

JMac
12-08-2013, 01:14 PM
I'd go with a 4-4-2 diamond midfield, (Not a fan of it but we've got to try something different)
GK - Williams
Rb - Mullen
Cb - Nelson
Cb - Forster/Hanlon
Lb - McGivern
Cdm - Thomson
Lm - Craig
Rm - Stanton
Cam - Handling
St - Collins
St - Vine
Very risky team I know, but if Fenlon just uses the same formation with the same players everytime we won't go anywhere

cloudy
12-08-2013, 01:25 PM
Why are so many people wanting to play Craig wide left? KT sitting in front of the back four with Robertson and Craig in front of KT Supporting Collins with 2 wide men handling and hopefully McCourt if not it'll have to be Stanton

12-08-2013, 01:30 PM
Why are so many people wanting to play Craig wide left? KT sitting in front of the back four with Robertson and Craig in front of KT Supporting Collins with 2 wide men handling and hopefully McCourt if not it'll have to be Stanton

Handling is never a wide man (I have doubts he will even make it in the first team), and McCourt isnt a Hibs player. Craig is the closest thing we have to a proper winger given that he has played a fair number of games there, although I agree in that I would rather see him in central midfield.

12-08-2013, 01:38 PM
I'll donate both my groins to Tim Clancy mate if that helps you - his are clearly made of tissue paper.

I will sit in the pub every night and think, Jackpot, what a great job this is.

Rather than out watching other teams in the SPL.

Sweet Left Peg
12-08-2013, 01:47 PM
I think we need to drop this 1 up front, it just doesn't work for hibs

Hallelujah

Hibby 2005
12-08-2013, 01:54 PM
If Fenlon's in charge, it's irrelevant who plays.

They will be put on the park to play the most negative, eye-bleeding hoofball.

Unfortunately true. No matter who is picked the reality is that they'll be asked to play in a manner that has driven thousands of supporters away.

12-08-2013, 01:55 PM
Williams

Forster Nelson Hanlon

Taiwo Mcgivern

Robertson Thomson Craig

Vine Collins

3- 5 -2

Taiwo and Mcgivern As wingbacks like Lovell and Laursen in old days ...Taiwo is livewire has pace and tackles well ...Mcgivern reminds me of laursen decent on the ball good delivery ...both getting up and down flanks with ....3 ball playing midfielders and 2 new frontmen

Good Luck Lads lol

12-08-2013, 02:05 PM
I will sit in the pub every night and think, Jackpot, what a great job this is.

Rather than out watching other teams in the SPL.

Don't order food there SH, it's awful 😉 mind there's a decent chippy right across the road from it 😊

12-08-2013, 02:19 PM
Don't order food there SH, it's awful  mind there's a decent chippy right across the road from it 

Yeah my mate used to use it, he used to work with me and we would have some cracking nights oot on the bevvy, but he got the heave and now its just me sitting here having a bevvy on my tod nowadays, the new guy my work brought in to replace my mate doesn't bevvy to much and seems to know more about the job than i do.

Its ma round guys, oh just me again, pint of guiness doll, ta.

Cracking job i have here in the capital.

12-08-2013, 02:52 PM
Yeah my mate used to use it, he used to work with me and we would have some cracking nights oot on the bevvy, but he got the heave and now its just me sitting here having a bevvy on my tod nowadays, the new guy my work brought in to replace my mate doesn't bevvy to much and seems to know more about the job than
i do.

Its ma round guys, oh just me again, pint of guiness doll, ta.

Cracking job i have here in the capital.

Sounds like a lonely man, especially if family are elsewhere, his pal has been bucketed and all his customers want him out. Surely not a sustainable existence for long?

BVB Hibs
12-08-2013, 03:29 PM
Collins
Handling Vine
Craig Robertson
Thompson
McGivern Hanlon Nelson Mullen
Williams

4-3-3 using the fact that we've no pace. One man high, two players playing just off him. I reckon this is the strongest formation for the squad we have, gives us the option of lamping it up top and offering Collins support to make this effective, while letting KT drop back to pick up the ball short. Handling and Vine need to work hard, as you'd want them dropping back into the oppositions midfield line when defending and the working up the field hard when we regain possession, but if they're not up to the job what are they doing playing professional football?. Ideally you'd also use Mullen and McGivern to attack down the line when breaking like we did pretty effectively in the second half agains Hearts.

Pretty easy transition if it starts to get tight too. Robertson out, OTJ in, put Craig into the half forward line and drop OTJ in beside KT. Tudor Jones has gotten a lot of stick on here over the past two games, but he adds some serious defensive stability. Like to fit Taiwo in somewhere too, but while I thought Robertson was poor yesterday, I'd pick him for the position of attacking(ish) midfield as he's willing to give it a go.

KanyeWestLower
12-08-2013, 03:43 PM
4-2-3-1

Williams

Mullen. Forster. Hanlon. Mcgivern

Tudor-Jones. Thomson

Handling. Craig Vine

Collins

Also making them play a conditioned game, The ball isn't allowed over head height

12-08-2013, 03:49 PM
Not many people have Tom Taiwo in their starting eleven - for me he was an absolute stand out in the run in last year and showed more urgency than any of our midfield have the last 2 games in the league.

He'd have been one of the first names on my team sheet for yesterday's game - Hearts midfield last season couldn't get to grips with his tenacity.

Pat really is a funnt fellow when it comes to selections - a bit like dipping your hand into a scrabble bag at present it seems.

Dunderhall
12-08-2013, 03:54 PM
if we're going to lump it up the park anyway then may as
a) forfeit the game.
b) well try and make the best of it.

_____________________williams

mullen____nelson______hanlon_____mcgivern______ste venson

__________________________________________________ ___

vine______caldwell______collins______forster______ otj

ftfy

12-08-2013, 04:05 PM
...................Williams...........

............Hanlon.........Nelson...

.........Collins............Vine......

That's the only players of any use under Fenlon so may as well save some cash on appearance fees.

Tactics: hoof it as far as you can. Repeat.

12-08-2013, 04:30 PM
I'd play only a slightly tweaked team, with McGivern on at left back, and tell them to keep the ball on the deck. We made plenty of chances as soon as we took more time on the ball, and Hearts scored with the ONLY chance they had.

I'd take one of Thomson or OTJ out of the team. Having one makes the other redundant.

....................Williams
...Mullen..Nelson....Hanlon...McGivern
....................Thomson
..Taiwo..Robertson...Craig.....Vine
....................Collins

Stringer
12-08-2013, 04:55 PM
Formation isn't really the problem.

I would like to see the team try to keep possession.

fife hfc
12-08-2013, 05:28 PM
Without natural widemen we will struggle but her goes

Williams

Mullen
Mcgivern
Nelson
Hanlon (the goals we have conceded in the league appear to be nothing to do with Hanlon. Just the latest scapegoat)

Taiwo

Robertson
Thomson
Craig

Collins
Handling or Caldwell

4-1-3-2 any width to be supplied by the full backs as the midfielders are not natural wide men.

12-08-2013, 05:30 PM
The same team as last week with McGirven at left back. But instead of hoofing the ball can we try passing it to each other

fife hfc
12-08-2013, 05:34 PM
Without natural widemen we will struggle but her goes

Williams

Mullen
Mcgivern
Nelson
Hanlon (the goals we have conceded in the league appear to be nothing to do with Hanlon. Just the latest scapegoat)

Taiwo

Robertson
Thomson
Craig

Collins
Handling or Caldwell

4-1-3-2 any width to be supplied by the full backs as the midfielders are not natural wide men.

12-08-2013, 05:50 PM
Williams

Mullen
Nelson
Hanlon
McGirven

Robertson
Thomson
Craig

Handling
Collins
Vine

Go for it, **** it.

12-08-2013, 05:58 PM
http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by myjo
if we're going to lump it up the park anyway then may as
a) forfeit the game.
b) well try and make the best of it.

_____________________williams

mullen____nelson______hanlon_____mcgivern______ste venson

__________________________________________________ ___

vine______caldwell______collins______forster______ otj

ftfy

More likely to be:

__________________________Williams

Stevenson____Mullen____Nelson____Hanlon____Forster ____McGivern

________________Taiwo___Thomson___Tudor-Jones

__________________________Collins

12-08-2013, 06:03 PM
..............................CropleyWasGod....... ..................

..Hibercelona.....Silverhibee.......HibbyAndy..... Happy Hibee....

....Speedway.....Pretty Boy.....Judas Iscariot....Dashing Bob S....

............................Lucky........The Story So Far....................

Bench: Meeko, Blackpoolhibs, Hibby Radge, Mikey, Carlsberg

Manager: HNA4

12-08-2013, 06:08 PM

All I can say to that is.....

There Will be Goals.

12-08-2013, 06:11 PM

Let's do it!

12-08-2013, 06:12 PM

Distinct lack of concentration at centre back. One will be rolling a fag while the other will be in the bookies.

12-08-2013, 06:12 PM

So I should leave my boots at home :(
Not even stripped.
Typical.

yekimevol
12-08-2013, 06:13 PM
--------Williams
Mullen Nelson Hanlon McGivern
-------Tawio Thomson
Robbo ----------------Craig
--------Vine Collins

12-08-2013, 06:13 PM

Plenty of experience there. :thumbsup:

12-08-2013, 06:15 PM
So I should leave my boots at home :(
Not even stripped.
Typical.

You think that's bad Craig, I'll need to phone Lulu to cancel the post defeat after party and sell these duty free Regals I'd got for Paddy - foulkes sake man :greengrin

12-08-2013, 06:16 PM
Plenty of experience there. :thumbsup:

You just go easy on those Celebrations at half time SH - especially the soft centred ones :aok:

12-08-2013, 06:18 PM

Best team so far IMO...

PB & JI aren't quite the midfield dynamo of Broonie & Thommo, I still reckon they can put themselves about :agree:

BarneyHibby
12-08-2013, 06:23 PM
Williams

Mullen
Nelson
Forster
McGivern

Robertson
Thomson
Craig

Handling
Collins
Vine (or Caldwell)

12-08-2013, 06:45 PM
Williams

Mullen
Forster
Nelson
McGivern

Robertson
Thomson
Tudur-Jones
Craig

Vine
Collins

12-08-2013, 06:47 PM
You just go easy on those Celebrations at half time SH - especially the soft centred ones :aok:

The rest of the team are on Fisherman Friends. :wink: :greengrin

May need a few bags of Haribo's to get me through the 2nd half. :hyper: :thumbsup:

12-08-2013, 06:57 PM
dundee united will score at least one goal , so it will take two to beat it and we have no chance of scoring twice, so doesnt matter who or what we play it will be another pishy weekend.

12-08-2013, 07:23 PM
Distinct lack of concentration at centre back. One will be rolling a fag while the other will be in the bookies.

I can't cover for Happy and Andy. :tee hee:

12-08-2013, 07:45 PM
Williams

Maybury
Forster
Nelson
McGivern

Taiwo
Thomson

Handling
Robertson
Vine

Collins

To me Liam Craig has been so heavy legged and predictable so he needs to think he ain't an automatic pick

Subs

Murdoch
Mullen
OTJ
Stanton
Craig
Stevenson
Caldwell

Stringer
12-08-2013, 08:08 PM
McGivern should start in midfield for a game. He was shaky defensively at the end of last season but was always comfortable on the ball. Unlike any of our other defenders his first thought isn't to hoof it.

12-08-2013, 08:24 PM
McGivern should start in midfield for a game. He was shaky defensively at the end of last season but was always comfortable on the ball. Unlike any of our other defenders his first thought isn't to hoof it.

Agree that he has a bit of football in him... So does Forster.

At the end of last season he constantly looked to build from the back... Problem was the midfield were rarely lookin to make an angle to take it as they seemed resigned to the big hoof

Really think he should be in beside Nelson

KanyeWestLower
12-08-2013, 08:30 PM
How has Nelson escaped the blame for the goal on Sunday? Is It just because he isn't Paul Hanlon or Lewis Stevenson?

Purehibee_MYB
12-08-2013, 08:34 PM
I would at least start the last current Hibs player to score in a competitive match: Caldwell :agree:

I would have.
Williams
Mullen Forster/Hanlon Nelson Mcgivern

Robertson Thomson Craig

Handling Caldwell Collins

Dundee United are very poor just now as well so there is no reason to play 451 at home this time.

Respect the ambition LioNeil... Paddy might as well go out with a bang! lose 4-3 or something! would swap Handling for Vine though.. think he's gonna come good

12-08-2013, 08:34 PM
How has Nelson escaped the blame for the goal on Sunday? Is It just because he isn't Paul Hanlon or Lewis Stevenson?

Tbh it wouldn't of mattered who you were the boy took his goal well.

But agree with you bout Hanlon and Lewis.

They could both play blinders but still get pelters in here from folk ;-)

Purehibee_MYB
12-08-2013, 08:36 PM

I would say the blame mainly lies with those who let the cross come in.. Once that cross was hit it was destined for the net it was pin point

KanyeWestLower
12-08-2013, 08:44 PM
I would say the blame mainly lies with those who let the cross come in.. Once that cross was hit it was destined for the net it was pin point

I agree the cross has to be stopped at the route.

Nelson is a limited defender his job is to put his head in places like that, he obviously lost concentration and let his man get the run on him. Now if that was Hanlon who lost his man he would have been crucified.

Also why are the same people who are moaning about the anti-football putting Nelson in there 11? Limited defender - block stuff, head stuff kick the stuffing out of the ball.

12-08-2013, 09:06 PM

He hasn't escaped blame, in the player ratings thread i think pretty much everyone that posted has said he could have done better for the goal but given that he was pretty solid for the other 89 minutes he played and won almost everything else in the air while McGivern and Thomson on the left were also culpible for allowing that cross to be made he has been cut some slack.

KanyeWestLower
12-08-2013, 09:09 PM
He hasn't escaped blame, in the player ratings thread i think pretty much everyone that posted has said he could have done better for the goal but given that he was pretty solid for the other 89 minutes he played and won almost everything else in the air while McGivern and Thomson on the left were also culpible for allowing that cross to be made he has been cut some slack.

Got to be honest, I never read the match ratings thread. Some of the more moronic posts are usually found there

12-08-2013, 09:12 PM
I agree the cross has to be stopped at the route.

Nelson is a limited defender his job is to put his head in places like that, he obviously lost concentration and let his man get the run on him. Now if that was Hanlon who lost his man he would have been crucified.

Also why are the same people who are moaning about the anti-football putting Nelson in there 11? Limited defender - block stuff, head stuff kick the stuffing out of the ball.

He's obviously been told to get the ball from back to front asap by Fenlon, if he was just told to release the ball to a nearby player in space when he won the ball then he is a perfect partner for Hanlon and has been one of the few players along with Robertson and Thomson who actually performed reasonably well in the last two games.

12-08-2013, 09:28 PM
Williams

Horribine Robertson Thomson Stanton

Caldwell Collins

Team needs shaken up. Too many SPL standard players not playing to SPL standard. Craig, OTJ, Vine to name three.

Maybe they just need time to settle, but not been impressed by any of them so far.

nickwhibs
12-08-2013, 09:34 PM
Williams

Maybury Forster McGivern Stevenson

Mullen Taiwo Thomson Craig

Caldwell Collins

yeezus.
13-08-2013, 03:01 PM
I'd drop Hanlon, put in Jordon. I'd also drop Vine and Collins, both need to work on fitness and sharpness - I'd put Ross and Danny up front.

As for right back, don't think Mullen put a foot wrong yesterday to be honest, and if he's injury free I'd stick with him. McGivern at left back.

Vine in particular has to work on fitness - I really hope Fenlon starts Caldwell and Handling!:pray:

Sweet Left Peg
13-08-2013, 03:21 PM
Williams

Forster
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Mullen
Robertson
Thompson
Craig

Caldwell
Collins

13-08-2013, 03:24 PM
.........Williams..........

.......Taiwo Thomson........

Vine .....Robertson.... Craig

...........Collins..........

mikewynne
13-08-2013, 04:15 PM
--------Williams
-------Tawio Thomson
Robbo ----------------Craig
--------Vine Collins

I'd go with this.

EVENTUALLY
13-08-2013, 07:28 PM
Williams

Maybury
Forster
Nelson
McGivern

Taiwo
Thomson

Handling
Robertson
Vine

Collins

To me Liam Craig has been so heavy legged and predictable so he needs to think he ain't an automatic pick

Subs

Murdoch
Mullen
OTJ
Stanton
Craig
Stevenson
Caldwell

Wasnae in Sweden but for me he has been weak, gutless, nervy, looked very unfit in the Malmo game and very poor execution of free ticks around the oppo box. He looks a very poor signing at this stage.

I cannot see anything in OTJ which will take Hibs forward, he is sluggish and not at all mobile.

The u20 capt. Gold could have been encouraged and coached to do much better than these recruits. Stanton has skill and is another I would throw in. Forster was thrown in and is very unlucky to have lost his place. Caldwell scores lots of goals at u20 level so why not give hime 6 straight starts to see how he goes.

There has to be more focus and belief in the youngsters.

13-08-2013, 07:33 PM
Williams

Mullen
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Thomson
Taiwo

Robertson
Craig
Vine

Collins

13-08-2013, 07:34 PM
Wasnae in Sweden but for me he has been weak, gutless, nervy, looked very unfit in the Malmo game and very poor execution of free ticks around the oppo box. He looks a very poor signing at this stage.

I cannot see anything in OTJ which will take Hibs forward, he is sluggish and not at all mobile.

The u20 capt. Gold could have been encouraged and coached to do much better than these recruits. Stanton has skill and is another I would throw in. Forster was thrown in and is very unlucky to have lost his place. Caldwell scores lots of goals at u20 level so why not give hime 6 straight starts to see how he goes.

There has to be more focus and belief in the youngsters.

Tudur Jones had Andrew Shinnie, Billy McKay and Richie Foran to hit and let loose - all three have pace, skill and energy. He also had midfielders around him that were versatile.

Similarly Liam Craig had pace up front to hit, and busy little players around him to allow him to get forward - centrally. He also had Murray Davidson who is an excellent 'all rounder'. Guys like Steven MacLean to link up with (very Kenny Miller like in workrate), and wee Nigel Hasselbaink who for me is a player I'd love to see at Hibs and allow to develop with good coaching.

13-08-2013, 07:49 PM
Williams
Thomson
Robertson Craig Stanton
Vine Collins

Think Stanton deserves a chance in the starting team, see how he gets on.

dmc1875
13-08-2013, 09:00 PM
Surely Pat has no option but to alter the style of play and be more adventurous this week? SURELY?!

Williams

Mullen Hanlon Nelson McGivern

Thomson Taiwo

Handling Craig Vine

Collins

If McCourt signs then he starts instead of Handling with a bench of: Murdoch, maybury, Caldwell, Forster, Stanton, Robertson, Handling/McCourt/Horribine

Set the team out to PASS THE BALL PAT FFS!
:brickwall

TheFamous1875
13-08-2013, 11:40 PM
Imagine this? 5-2-2-1. Sounds horrible and looks horrible! Swap Maybury with Mullen and McPake with Forster (he needs on the pitch, he may be one of our best players) Taiwo/Roberston/Tudor-Jones accordingly. We have no width other than the full backs, so they would be able to get forward. Craig in the middle for attacking as well! Do it Fenlon!!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

13-08-2013, 11:42 PM
What team would you like to see face the arabs? Obviously we would all like a new manager first:greengrinI think we should start with Stevenson at RB then work from there :agree:

007 Mickey Weir
14-08-2013, 07:20 AM
Can I ask that all players are played on there natural position!!! Or at least one they are comfortable in.

Caldwell is a goal scorer and needs a run in the team. Stanton also maybe needs game time. But maybe too much pressure in this game

Williams

Vine Robertson Thomson Craig

Caldwell Collins.

14-08-2013, 08:17 AM
Can we please at least have Craig playing in the middle and not shoved out on the left or right wing.

I'd like to see Lewis on the left of Mid with McGivern behind him. Those two can link up well and Lewis might get the chance to sort out the mouths in the stand. I'd like to see a back for of
Tawio Thomson Craig Stevenson
Collins Roscoe

I'd drop Vine until he loses his beer belly. Soccerbas claims he's 6ft and 11st....if he's not over 13st im a dutchman
Handling to replace Taiwo at half time.

Hibby_CR14
14-08-2013, 08:25 AM
Does anyone think Mullen could do a job on the right hand side of midfield? He seems to have pace and can deliver a decent ball...

Williams

Forster...Nelson....Hanlon....McGivern

Mullen...Thomson.....Craig.....Robertson

Vine/Caldwell......Collins

14-08-2013, 08:27 AM
It;s funny but last week someone asked if our under 20s team could beat our 1st team and was ridiculed for 'getting silly'.

Not sure about ours but Hearts under 20s were certainly capable. Only objection i have to a few of our under 20s getting the nod is it would be throwing them to the lions and they would be playing under a manager who doesn't have a scooby.

A big part of the problem for me yesterday was that the players didn't seem to know what they were supposed to be doing. Hearts were dire but they looked as though they had something resembling organisation and tactics.

That was me, I was given it tight by several on here for suggesting that, I think I will bump the thread back up.

14-08-2013, 08:30 AM
______________Williams

Mullen_____Nelson______Hanlon_____McGivern

_______________Thomson

Robertson________Taiwo____________Craig

_________Caldwell______Collins

Would do the job imho.

sparkiedelpaco7
14-08-2013, 09:45 AM
Williams

Mullen -- Nelson -- Forster -- McGivern

Thomson -- Craig

Vine -- Robertson -- Stanton

Collins

shamo9
14-08-2013, 10:52 AM
Does anyone think Mullen could do a job on the right hand side of midfield? He seems to have pace and can deliver a decent ball...

Williams

Forster...Nelson....Hanlon....McGivern

Mullen...Thomson.....Craig.....Robertson

Vine/Caldwell......Collins

Might be worth a shot - I'm told Forster is comfortable at right back too.

I'd be tempted to play McGivern left midfield to try and give us some much needed width on the left as well. I've always felt he looks more comfortable going forward. Liam Craig played at left back for a season at St Johnstone and was very good. Better than Stevenson ever has been in there. I think he's a great player so it would be a way of keeping him in the team and making use of his set piece skills.

Williams

Forster....Nelson....Hanlon....Liam Craig

Mullen....Robertson....Thomson....McGivern

Collins....Vine

That team looks like it has a good balance with a clear game plan. Get the ball out wide quickly to Mullen and McGivern with Collins and Vine waiting for the cross ball, Robertson arriving late for follow ups at times as well.

I would give the front pairing some time. Hopefully with better service they'll come good. Caldwell, Handling and Stanton primed and ready to inject some energy if needed however.

14-08-2013, 11:25 AM
I know this will never happen but id like to see how this would be

.......................williams................... .........

.........forster.....nelson....hanlon............. .

mullen........................................mcgi vern

......................thomson..................
handling.............vine...................craig

......................collins.....................

Hibby_CR14
14-08-2013, 12:55 PM
Might be worth a shot - I'm told Forster is comfortable at right back too.

I'd be tempted to play McGivern left midfield to try and give us some much needed width on the left as well. I've always felt he looks more comfortable going forward. Liam Craig played at left back for a season at St Johnstone and was very good. Better than Stevenson ever has been in there. I think he's a great player so it would be a way of keeping him in the team and making use of his set piece skills.

Williams

Forster....Nelson....Hanlon....Liam Craig

Mullen....Robertson....Thomson....McGivern

Collins....Vine

That team looks like it has a good balance with a clear game plan. Get the ball out wide quickly to Mullen and McGivern with Collins and Vine waiting for the cross ball, Robertson arriving late for follow ups at times as well.

I would give the front pairing some time. Hopefully with better service they'll come good. Caldwell, Handling and Stanton primed and ready to inject some energy if needed however.

This is interesting but don't know what experience McGivern has of playing in midfield.

When McGivern came on on Sunday we looked a little better (well for about 5 mins when we passed the ball on the ground a couple of times before the hoofball started again!!)

The big worry about the teams that other people are predicting and will most likely be the team on Sat is the lack of pace/creativity/entertainment.

A midfield of/ mix of: Tudor Junes, Tiawo, Thomson, Stevenson, Robertson, craig is to slow to break when we get the ball.

If we play 5 in the midfield it can only work if it turns into a 4-3-3 when we have the ball...which it won't!

I also think we should give Vine and Collins more of a chance but think with 30 mins left of the game it would be good to get Caldwell on to have a go depending on how it is going!