View Full Version : Fenlon out (post derby)
11-08-2013, 06:10 PM
Don't think so. I'm as confused and p!ssed off as the next.
I just wish we had an answer.
And if he goes, who do we get in? Now that really worries me.......... The Board has a dreadful record :agree:
Behave, your worried about him going? ****ing bring Dusty Bin in for the w'end he'd do better. If you honestly think there isn't a manager out there better you should give up now. There are literally hundreds to choose from in football. Lower scottish leagues, abroad, English leagues. Any and I mean any would be better than Fenlon.
I actually think your at the wind up and if you are I've well and truly bit.
11-08-2013, 06:11 PM
His roll of dishonour makes grim reading:
Took over when we were 9th, finished 11th
Lost SC final 5-1
Pumped 2-0 by Queen of the South in LC.
Finished 7th in an SPL with no Rangers and Hearts in turmoil.
Beaten 3-0 in SC Final.
Beaten 9-0 on aggregate by Malmo, 0-7 at home.
Beaten by the worst Hearts team in years.
Whats the case for the defence? 3 draws and a couple of wins against Hearts? A fightback from a frankly embarrassing position v Falkirk?
I don't care how much unspecified 'good work' he's done behind the scenes, on the park he has been and continues to be an abject failure.
11-08-2013, 06:12 PM
Can I post what all the Petrie/Fenlon/Board lovers usually post to all the supposed "negative" posters when we have a good result - "where are you?". Anyone willing to defend Petrie, Fenlon or the Board tonight? I would have been "delighted to have been proved wrong" about Fenlon but instead it looks like I will be angry, frustrated and gutted about being proved right.
11-08-2013, 06:14 PM
I have always been a string supporter of PF, and I really wanted him succeed, but after today, against a team of that calibre, we should have been all over them today. I think it is time he admits defeat, the hibs job seems to be more than he can handle, time to step aside before we end up I another CC situation where a new manager us brought in just to save us from relegation.
A sad, sad day for hibs today
GlenrothesHibee
11-08-2013, 06:14 PM
Sorry final straw. Lucky if theres 8k at ER next game if he stays. Ive stucky by Fenlon be thats another embarrassment.
11-08-2013, 06:16 PM
Behave, your worried about him going? ****ing bring Dusty Bin in for the w'end he'd do better. If you honestly think there isn't a manager out there better you should give up now. There are literally hundreds to choose from in football. Lower scottish leagues, abroad, English leagues. Any and I mean any would be better than Fenlon.
I actually think your at the wind up and if you are I've well and truly bit.
There were huners last time also! It's the faith in the board that I don't have. :wink:
They have also had plenty opportunity to get it right. The fact is, they haven't....
11-08-2013, 06:18 PM
When I questioned PF after THAT final I got dogs abuse.
When we had our wee spell of being half decentlast season someone dredged up my comments to try and make me look stupid.
Can't remember who it was but I hope he feels silly tonight.
The reaction Fenlon got at full time today showed exactly what the majority think of him.
11-08-2013, 06:25 PM
When we had our wee spell of being half decentlast season someone dredged up my comments to try and make me look stupid.
The reaction Fenlon got at full time today showed exactly what the majority think of him.
Not the only one mate. Seems they are happy to pile on and have a sly dig yet when the dust has settled they know fine well they are all wrong.
The lets hold on till Xmas crowd should take a good look at pat and his team and be honest with themselves. We should stand together get the change we need not just at manager level and get our club back.
I'll tell you what if the mob over the road weren't in such a bad state, the pressure on Rod would be double. He's had breathing space by his backers because of that distraction. Well for me we sort our own ***** out before worrying about them.
11-08-2013, 06:27 PM
There were huners last time also! It's the faith in the board that I don't have. :wink:
They have also had plenty opportunity to get it right. The fact is, they haven't....
Can't argue with any of those points! :D
It's unreal what the board get away with it really is.
11-08-2013, 06:30 PM
I think fenlons tactics in that final were also suspect, but like other managers he needed to be given time to see if he could make a difference.
Its clear now he's out of his depth as a manager, the SPFL is way above the standard he should be managing in. :rolleyes:
HiBremian
11-08-2013, 06:35 PM
I think fenlons tactics in that final were also suspect, but like other managers he needed to be given time to see if he could make a difference.
Its clear now he's out of his depth as a manager, the SPFL is way above the standard he should be managing in. :rolleyes:
60th birthday today. Thanks for the wonderful prezzie, Pat. :grr::taxi
Emerald
11-08-2013, 06:35 PM
We were at rock bottom after CC and I said at the time we needed an experienced manager who knew how to manage a team the size of Hibs and had contacts with the right people to identify players. What we got was a manager who had spent his career playing and managing part time teams in the LOI and who only seemed to have contacts in that league. The last thing we needed after CC was another rookie. I was shot down in flames for saying this as in some folks eyes Pat Fenlon was the best option we had, I still can't get my head around the huge confidence folk had in him! He had no previous experience to rely on and there was no evidence he would succeed at this level.
It MAY have worked out but it was another HUGE gamble that has ultimately not paid off and will cost the club a lot of money and time. Football these days requires managers to work with ever changing squads and there really is no room for anyone who wants two years to turn things around, that is the nature of the game these days and Pat was unable to do this from the start or indeed now.
11-08-2013, 06:44 PM
We were at rock bottom after CC and I said at the time we needed an experienced manager who knew how to manage a team the size of Hibs and had contacts with the right people to identify players. What we got was a manager who had spent his career playing and managing part time teams in the LOI and who only seemed to have contacts in that league. The last thing we needed after CC was another rookie. I was shot down in flames for saying this as in some folks eyes Pat Fenlon was the best option we had, I still can't get my head around the huge confidence folk had in him! He had no previous experience to rely on and there was no evidence he would succeed at this level.
It MAY have worked out but it was another HUGE gamble that has ultimately not paid off and will cost the club a lot of money and time. Football these days requires managers to work with ever changing squads and there really is no room for anyone who wants two years to turn things around, that is the nature of the game these days and Pat was unable to do this from the start or indeed now.
Lots of good points for me. the bold is my biggest fear, with RP more than likely to go for the cheaper option......... Again. :rolleyes:
11-08-2013, 06:50 PM
I think his tactics in all the big games have been poor. He should have IMO played 5 in midfield in both SC Finals and also the Malmo game. Yet remarkably plays 5 in the middle v Falkirk, work that one out.
I was definitely for giving him time and last season to a large extent was camouflaged by how good Griffiths was who was well worth watching and later on the emergence of Harris and to a lesser extent Handling and Caldwell.
It seems clear to me now he is either trying his best to lose his job or just hasnt got a scooby. The LOB situation is odd as is the Nicholl one and serious questions need to be asked of the Board in regard to not just their management appointments but also a very odd list of appointments as Assistants too as CC IMO didnt get his guy in and was luimbered with Adams to BB and now Nicholl. To me any manager wants his own team and being foisted with people you dont know and are probably struggling to trust cannot to any extent help how the team will perform. Too much meddling, poor appointments alot of which based on money IMO doesnt make great reading and an overall strategic overview needs to be taken IMO.
1875Hibees
11-08-2013, 06:58 PM
Pat Fenlon has 14 different .net accounts.
11-08-2013, 07:06 PM
Fenlon must know the gigs up. But that "no problem if someone else comes in" comment is starting to look like "if you want rid of me, you'll have to pay me off".
:agree: Of course that's what it is, and it just rubs salt in the wounds. The man is well and truly past his sell by date and yet still hangs around the club heaping more misery on us fans. His comments are disrespectful to the club and fans, and are a terrible message to send to our players who (strangely enough) he is meant to be motivating :confused: He might as well say "couldn't give a flying one". Petrie needs to put us, the club and Fenlon himself out of our misery by firing him first thing tomorrow.
Big Sexy Dave
11-08-2013, 07:09 PM
I've wanted Fenlon to stay despite his defensive line ups but now I want him out. First half we battled but there was no one to put their foot on the ball. Second half we were rank ****ing rotten. Bring Back Collins.
sidneyhibbie
11-08-2013, 07:10 PM
his time is now up but we cant let Petrie mess it up again all the money wasted on paddys picks if he only has less than a year left get rid of him now but dont let petrie pick his replacement
11-08-2013, 07:11 PM
Wouldn't worry about it mate. I have had loads of digs from folk on here for daring to question the great Pat right from day one when I doubted his credentials for the job. I have always maintained he should get time though and felt he had always delivered the minimum of acceptable standards, the minimum but acceptable nonetheless considering how gash we were when he took over. My own personal target in order to keep me from being too critical of him was the rather generous minimum that he delivered top 6 this season. Have never really had confidence he would do it and the summer has not altered my lack of confidence in him. Our start to the season has only served to increase my lack of confidence in him delivering top 6 football.
However, even as recently as last week I felt he should not be sacked even if we lost today. Based on the performance more than the result I now feel his time should be up though.
It is early days still and he could stay and get us top 6 this season but how many more of the -15 do we let him allow Hearts to eat into before we cut our losses. If he stays in charge for next week's game, he'll have to win it and go on a bit of a run otherwise we'll have this debate on a weekly basis until he is sacked. Leave it too long and Hearts might even overtake us and leave us to fight relegation with Killie, Partick, St Mirren et al. A fight I'm not sure we as a club, players, board members and fans have the stomach to win.
I would still be delighted to be proved wrong about Fenlon but if he is not already out of time to do it then he is staring the abyss in the face.
11-08-2013, 07:12 PM
Would one of the stay voters be willing to elaborate on why?
I know you would probably get pelters with emotions running high but i'm genuinely interested to know why anyone believes he should continue.
11-08-2013, 07:14 PM
I think his tactics in all the big games have been poor. He should have IMO played 5 in midfield in both SC Finals and also the Malmo game. Yet remarkably plays 5 in the middle v Falkirk, work that one out.
I was definitely for giving him time and last season to a large extent was camouflaged by how good Griffiths was who was well worth watching and later on the emergence of Harris and to a lesser extent Handling and Caldwell.
It seems clear to me now he is either trying his best to lose his job or just hasnt got a scooby. The LOB situation is odd as is the Nicholl one and serious questions need to be asked of the Board in regard to not just their management appointments but also a very odd list of appointments as Assistants too as CC IMO didnt get his guy in and was luimbered with Adams to BB and now Nicholl. To me any manager wants his own team and being foisted with people you dont know and are probably struggling to trust cannot to any extent help how the team will perform. Too much meddling, poor appointments alot of which based on money IMO doesnt make great reading and an overall strategic overview needs to be taken IMO.
All of that is far too ****ing sensible. There is something rank rotten at Hibs that any decent owner would have hounded out by now. But don't worry, we'll just sack Fenlon in the morning and everything will be ok as the Board can sell us the "transition" season story again.
11-08-2013, 07:16 PM
Does anyone have up to date stats on PF?
hibbymick
11-08-2013, 07:26 PM
It wouldnt surprise me to see a picture of Pat doing the 5-1 wi half a dozen jambos appear in the next few days. In fact ...throw petrie in there as well.
hibbymick
11-08-2013, 07:27 PM
Does anyone have up to date stats on PF?
No stats needed.................hes ******.
11-08-2013, 07:28 PM
his time is now up but we cant let Petrie mess it up again all the money wasted on paddys picks if he only has less than a year left get rid of him now but dont let petrie pick his replacement
Apparently Petrie wasn't involved in recruiting Pat remember? The club made a big thing about it at the time in the press and on the website.
I don't believe for one minute Petrie was not involved. Pat smacks of Rod's lack of judgement when it comes to picking a manager. He tried to be smart by picking someone from outwith the usual SPL crowd. Hasn't worked.
Look at Hibs last few appointments though, not all been poor choices from the offset but only Mowbray and McLeish can be said to have worked out and even they, less so Mowbray, left the club in a mess on their departure:-
Fenlon - Not the obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment mixed - Failed appointment by the board.
Calderwood - Not the obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment mixed - Failed appointment by the board.
Hughes - Obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment positive - Failed appointment by the board.
Mixu - Obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment positive - Failed appointment by the board.
Collins - Obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment positive - Failed appointment by the board.
Mowbray - Not the obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment negative - Successful appointment by the board.
Williamson- Obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment mixed - Failed appointment by the board.
Sauzee- Obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment positive - Failed appointment by the board.
McLeish- Obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment positive - Successful appointment by the board.
Duffy- Obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment positive - Failed appointment by the board.
That is going back over 15 years of managers. I make it two successful appointments from ten. That is by sometimes going for the obvious choice and sometimes taking a punt on an unknown. Either way, the majority of times the method has not worked. I am pretty sure Petrie has been there all that time. Why has he not been sacked?
patch1875
11-08-2013, 07:39 PM
Wouldn't Hughes and mixu be classed as fan choices at the time?
11-08-2013, 07:42 PM
Tactics suspect before that also IMO
GlenrothesHibee
11-08-2013, 07:47 PM
Disappointment has turned to anger for me. Didn't think we could sink to another low. Fenlon cant get the best out of the players. Lost to a bunch of no hopers. Embarrassing and not good enough. Infact ive never been so embarrassed at a reselt
yeezus.
11-08-2013, 07:57 PM
We can no longer blame the squad - we are 10 times stronger than when Fenlon took over but we really don't look like scoring without Griffiths. Give Pat 1 more game against Dundee United I say.
mcvie7
11-08-2013, 08:04 PM
We can no longer blame the squad - we are 10 times stronger than when Fenlon took over but we really don't look like scoring without Griffiths. Give Pat 1 more game against Dundee United I say.
Why one more game what does that prove? If we win does he keep his job and all is rosey again?
11-08-2013, 08:07 PM
0 goals in our last 5 competitive matches says it all for me. Boring, negative football with no signs of any progress or positivity coming from Pat. He needs to go ASAP but i just can't see him walking nor can I see Petrie sacking him till atleast October. I want Pat and Rod both out of my club, sick and tired of the same old ***** were producing on the park with no urgency and no desire. Whilst I do believe we're signing the right players, PF just does not seem to know what to do with them. Close the door on your way out Pat.
11-08-2013, 08:08 PM
I agree with that, the Dundee United game aside we started last season well, played some attractive football (and let's not have anyone take that away, at times we weren't unpleasant on the eye during that spell) but when that run finished through to the end of the season we were fairly grim, with only minor highlights to pick from.
Not making top 6 was a significant target missed, even more so when we should have been looking towards a top 4 given the state of the league. To then have the results and the performances since the last cup final shows that Fenlon doesn't have what it takes.
Today was garbage, last weekend was negative garbage as well, Malmo... I can't even describe how bad that was, even the Cowdenbeath bore-fest was garbage. It's not what any right minded person would be happy to pay money for.
11-08-2013, 08:17 PM
Apparently Petrie wasn't involved in recruiting Pat remember? The club made a big thing about it at the time in the press and on the website.
I don't believe for one minute Petrie was not involved. Pat smacks of Rod's lack of judgement when it comes to picking a manager. He tried to be smart by picking someone from outwith the usual SPL crowd. Hasn't worked.
Look at Hibs last few appointments though, not all been poor choices from the offset but only Mowbray and McLeish can be said to have worked out and even they, less so Mowbray, left the club in a mess on their departure:-
Fenlon - Not the obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment mixed - Failed appointment by the board.
Calderwood - Not the obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment mixed - Failed appointment by the board.
Hughes - Obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment positive - Failed appointment by the board.
Mixu - Obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment positive - Failed appointment by the board.
Collins - Obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment positive - Failed appointment by the board.
Mowbray - Not the obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment negative - Successful appointment by the board.
Williamson- Obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment mixed - Failed appointment by the board.
Sauzee- Obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment positive - Failed appointment by the board.
McLeish- Obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment positive - Successful appointment by the board.
Duffy- Obvious choice - Fans reaction to appointment positive - Failed appointment by the board.
That is going back over 15 years of managers. I make it two successful appointments from ten. That is by sometimes going for the obvious choice and sometimes taking a punt on an unknown. Either way, the majority of times the method has not worked. I am pretty sure Petrie has been there all that time. Why has he not been sacked?
Who was negative about Mowbray? Aside from a brief moment of 'who?', as far as I recall he won everyone over instantly with his comments upon appointment. We lost our first league game under him and the team were still applauded off the pitch.
11-08-2013, 08:19 PM
:top marks So obvious, yet so many Hibs fans can see no wrong in anything Uncle Rod does. Of course Petrie is at the centre of manger appointments at Hibs; anyone who believes otherwise is a fool. This club needs radical surgery to sort out its problems, not the sacrificial lamb of Fenlon's sacking. Yes, we'll all feel a little better and hopeful that the next man will bring us success, but there's something seriously rotten at the core of our club that's hindering progress on park.
11-08-2013, 08:24 PM
Who was negative about Mowbray? Aside from a brief moment of 'who?', as far as I recall he won everyone over instantly with his comments upon appointment. We lost our first league game under him and the team were still applauded off the pitch.
That's what I was referring to. There was a lot of Tony Who comments over the summer that year and a lot if cheap option comments.
11-08-2013, 08:25 PM
So far in this poll 18 people should see a therapist first thing in the morning.
Talk about lost sheep!!
Shields Hibee
11-08-2013, 08:35 PM
I have supported Pat as my view was its a big jump from part time LoI football to SPL and his record over there was decent albeit he failed big style at Derry City in comparison with his other jobs.
Pat hasn't replicated any of that success whilst here at Hibs. 2 cup finals and one of which was an absolute embarrassment which summed up the season perfectly given he took over from another imposter called a manager! The Malmo performance was an absolute disgrace and most likely told the walk ups that nothing's changed, before long only us ST holders will be seen at ER but if Pat prevails, there's no guarantee even we'll be there. Less walk ups means less revenue.
We failed last season to make the top 6 yet Pat said it was progress on 11/12 & managed to somehow make the SC final on the back of a 2nd half performance & dare I say it, we moved the ball along the ground! Again in the final,bar a few chances early on, we fell to an early goal and you could sense it wouldn't be our day. At times in the early stages of last season, we played some decent football & I thought perhaps Pat was building something albeit slowly. After that Celtic result at the end of 2012, we plummeted and still we heard the hard luck stories.
Now, we are pointless after 2 games and goalless! Unless we start creating soon, I feel we will be fighting at the wrong end yet again to avoid the drop. Fenlon had the chance today to go for it & attack but we turned up and went for the hoofing tactic again, getting beat off a side that can barely find 11 fit players is criminal but its hard luck & things will get better soon says Pat afterwards. His signings were decent players at their former clubs but they turn up at ER and they look ordinary.
For me, I can no longer support Pat anymore. I've now learnt that he doesn't have what it takes to manage at our level. Not being nasty but there's a chance the Athlone Town job will be avail as Roddy Collins is linked with the vacant Bohs job. I'm sure Pat will be at his level in that role.
Time for a change now before we are rooted deep in trouble and Pat appears week after week saying we worked hard but didn't get luck up front. If we lose to Dundee Utd on Sat & Fenlon is still in post, it will get really nasty for him.
Emerald
11-08-2013, 08:42 PM
I have supported Pat as my view was its a big jump from part time LoI football to SPL and his record over there was decent albeit he failed big style at Derry City in comparison with his other jobs.
Pat hasn't replicated any of that success whilst here at Hibs. 2 cup finals and one of which was an absolute embarrassment which summed up the season perfectly given he took over from another imposter called a manager! The Malmo performance was an absolute disgrace and most likely told the walk ups that nothing's changed, before long only us ST holders will be seen at ER but if Pat prevails, there's no guarantee even we'll be there. Less walk ups means less revenue.
We failed last season to make the top 6 yet Pat said it was progress on 11/12 & managed to somehow make the SC final on the back of a 2nd half performance & dare I say it, we moved the ball along the ground! Again in the final,bar a few chances early on, we fell to an early goal and you could sense it wouldn't be our day. At times in the early stages of last season, we played some decent football & I thought perhaps Pat was building something albeit slowly. After that Celtic result at the end of 2012, we plummeted and still we heard the hard luck stories.
Now, we are pointless after 2 games and goalless! Unless we start creating soon, I feel we will be fighting at the wrong end yet again to avoid the drop. Fenlon had the chance today to go for it & attack but we turned up and went for the hoofing tactic again, getting beat off a side that can barely find 11 fit players is criminal but its hard luck & things will get better soon says Pat afterwards. His signings were decent players at their former clubs but they turn up at ER and they look ordinary.
For me, I can no longer support Pat anymore. I've now learnt that he doesn't have what it takes to manage at our level. Not being nasty but there's a chance the Athlone Town job will be avail as Roddy Collins is linked with the vacant Bohs job. I'm sure Pat will be at his level in that role.
Time for a change now before we are rooted deep in trouble and Pat appears week after week saying we worked hard but didn't get luck up front. If we lose to Dundee Utd on Sat & Fenlon is still in post, it will get really nasty for him.
I know I keep banging on about it but this is exactly why he should never have been near the job in the first place. Its not Hibs job to train rookie managers, especially in the state we were in when he was appointed. Its like, give Pat a chance he needs to learn, FFS get someone in who knows the score to start with, please!!! :grr:
11-08-2013, 08:42 PM
Any chance Bohs would want him? Lets him leave with his head held high and solves our problem.
11-08-2013, 08:48 PM
I dislike being negative about Hibs, and PF seems a personable guy who actually cares about the club (unlike CC) but I can't see myself going back until he's left and a fundamental change in philosophy takes place. I'm not even that results-myopic, I just want to go along to ER and see a team who are trying to win and to play a bit of football. I don't accept that it can't be done; clubs with paltry resources compared to ours are continually besting us - in fact, this happened today, which is totally disgusting and humiliating.
I've lost track of the number of times over the last half-decade when I've gone along to a game, all happy about hooking up with my friends on a Saturday, only to have the day wrecked by the insipid, uninspired excuse for football on offer. Then we all have to gee ourselves up, simply to enjoying our Saturday evening. A good friend of mine, who stopped going under Calderwood, chillingly hit the nail on the head: 'you realise that your anticipation of the day out is nothing like how its actually going to be. It's just a pretty dull and boring way to spend an afternoon.' Sadly, he's spot-on. I'd rather go to the cinema and catch up with everyone in the pub later on.
Fenlon set that team up not to lose, and try and nick a goal, as did Locke, though it was excusable in his case, given the circumstances he finds himself in. While I wouldn't want to swap places with Hearts in a million years, we should have been ripping them a new one today, as most teams will this season. The problem is that they'll also be doing the same to us, and I, for one, won't be sticking around to witness that.
11-08-2013, 08:53 PM
Simple post but sums it up for those who have forgotten whose been in charge. Mostly cheap options but at the same time people who have FAILED and caused pain / standards to drop.
However I keep repeating - why should a non football person - RP choose the best choice for a manager when he hasn't a clue how the coaching / managing side of the game works. RP is a business man and he seems to do well at that but he's not a football man and shouldn't be anywhere near selecting who is in charge of the clubs playing side.
The club is rotten at the core and has been for the last few years - we all know fans who don't come back due to this - I am still going with my ST bought and will be there on Saturday but I am very close to not renewing next season already if standards / value for money doesn't improve.
We should be striving for 2nd place right now in this league but we seem to be happy to make top 6 at most...and looks like a struggle to do that as it stands!
Fenlon's appointment had split the fans - now it seems everyone agrees he has to go.
The boards work seemed to have split the fans - now it seems more are waking up and realising the re-occurring problem isn't just about the manager and players but those who employ them and the purse strings / decision making above.
We aren't in liquidation or administration but we do have some serious issues to sort out and the sooner the better :agree: Leadership is needed and action also.
Emerald
11-08-2013, 08:54 PM
I dislike being negative about Hibs, and PF seems a personable guy who actually cares about the club (unlike CC) but I can't see myself going back until he's left and a fundamental change in philosophy takes place. I'm not even that results-myopic, I just want to go along to ER and see a team who are trying to win and to play a bit of football. I don't accept that it can't be done; clubs with paltry resources compared to ours are continually besting us - in fact, this happened today, which is totally disgusting and humiliating.
I've lost track of the number of times over the last half-decade when I've gone along to a game, all happy about hooking up with my friends on a Saturday, only to have the day wrecked by the insipid, uninspired excuse for football on offer. Then we all have to gee ourselves up, simply to enjoying our Saturday evening. A good friend of mine, who stopped going under Calderwood, chillingly hit the nail on the head: 'you realise that your anticipation of the day out is nothing like how its actually going to be. It's just a pretty dull and boring way to spend an afternoon.' Sadly, he's spot-on. I'd rather go to the cinema and catch up with everyone in the pub later on.
Fenlon set that team up not to lose, and try and nick a goal, as did Locke, though it was excusable in his case, given the circumstances he finds himself in. While I wouldn't want to swap places with Hearts in a million years, we should have been ripping them a new one today, as most teams will this season. The problem is that they'll also be doing the same to us, and I, for one, won't be sticking around to witness that.
This is exactly where I am. Give us some football, excitement, endeavour and a wee bit of unpredictable skill to get you off your seat. If we get beat then you can still hold your head up with the knowledge your team tried to win the match. Fenlon today was happy with a turgid 0 - 0. I think he is happy he got half of it right, the - 0 part. Supporting a football team is all about pride and that is sadly lacking in his teams.
Big Sexy Dave
11-08-2013, 08:56 PM
Collins won a trophy. Collins never got a fair crack. Petrie should have told Stewart to **** off and backed Colins. Collins got sacked. Hibs have went downhill from them.
Shields Hibee
11-08-2013, 09:01 PM
Emerald, I was surprised when they announced the appointment & just thought, this is a big big gamble. I agree with you though, we were in a dire position at the time and the Board should have made it clear that experience of either SPL or English league management was essential. Then again CC had managed in England...
It might be better for him to return to a club where he's seen as a legend.
Emerald
11-08-2013, 09:09 PM
Emerald, I was surprised when they announced the appointment & just thought, this is a big big gamble. I agree with you though, we were in a dire position at the time and the Board should have made it clear that experience of either SPL or English league management was essential. Then again CC had managed in England...
It might be better for him to return to a club where he's seen as a legend.
It may have worked, an up and coming young manager plucked from Ireland to go on to greater things, it just may have been inspirational. However, at the time he was appointed we didn't need a gamble, we needed experience and organisation to get the team back on a level keel. It was NEVER the right time to appoint Fenlon. Its all hindsight now though but I'm still angry about the appointment and the time he has been given after some of the most embarrassing results in our clubs history ..............and the board are silent :dunno:
Sanger
11-08-2013, 09:12 PM
Think McLeish partly a success because of the big budget he had available and got it badly wrong in last year. Would struggle now.
11-08-2013, 09:13 PM
At the risk of being seen to defend the board I am sure that they have taken advice from "football people" before the appointment of the new managers. At least it was reported at the time. Of all the appointments listed above there were very few fans who were against their appointments.If only we had got Steve Clarke.............. Hibs could do worse than contact Alex Ferguson and ask who he would recommend if they don't go down the experienced manager route. Olle Gunnar Solskjaer has left England to cut his teeth in management and maybe Ferguson could highlight a similar candidate if we don't go down the Butcher route.
11-08-2013, 09:21 PM
Collins won a trophy. Collins never got a fair crack. Petrie should have told Stewart to **** off and backed Colins. Collins got sacked. Hibs have went downhill from them.
Collins was not sacked. He walked out despite Petrie's request to reconsider and stay. Before Collins left his man-management and transfer dealings had already caused Hibs to go downhill a long way.
Gustavo Fring
11-08-2013, 09:25 PM
collins won our 1st and only trophy this century , that day at hampden is 1 i will never forget . the spine shivers just thinking about that infact
how can anyone say he failed ?
11-08-2013, 09:26 PM
Love how Petrie is getting it in the neck for recruiting Fenlon, yet up until three weeks ago any criticism of Fenlon on here was met with a barrage of abuse.
To the majority on here, Fenlon was the right man for the job, he just needed more time, look at the mess he inherited etc etc.
So, if after 18 months in the job the majority on here still thought he was the right man for the job, why is it Petrie's fault he's still here? If Petrie had sacked him when he should have then the majority on here would be after his head for not backing Pat.
The crazy world of Hibs.net.
sidneyhibbie
11-08-2013, 09:28 PM
Petrie must go
Nailrod
11-08-2013, 10:14 PM
I'd give him till easter. I had the hammer and nails out and was all ready to sort him out last easter, but I couldn't catch him what with having to carry a heavy cross as well.
11-08-2013, 10:24 PM
Pressed stay instead of go :confused:
11-08-2013, 10:29 PM
pressed stay instead of go :confused:
ltyf......only joking.
heid the baw
11-08-2013, 10:35 PM
I was backing him too, but now I feel he has to go.
As a walk up supporter who lives 50 miles away, the main reason I attended so many games last year was Griffiths not Fenlon. A delight to watch, tried 100%, great skill, the best since Riordan and with him you always had a chance. He made the trip worthwhile.
Malmo did it for me. Fenlon talked about the game as if it was a pre-season warm up game. Hibs on the other hand marketed it referring heavily to the AEK game atmosphere in the advertising. This shows that the people running the club are not on the same page. 16000 people don't turn up to watch a pre-season friendly. It was embarrassing.
I am not surprised in the slightest that we lost today. Hibs are back to being the easy 3 points that we were before Sparky changed that. He is gone and every team will be queuing up knowing that a goal will probably make the points safe.
Hibs board need to get in a manager for whom losing is just not acceptable. No-one who has managed Hibs recently has gone on to do anything afterwards. That speaks volumes when you compare it to ex managers of other teams in the league.
I will be making no more 100 mile round trips til he is replaced.
andrew_dundee
11-08-2013, 10:46 PM
I voted for him to stay and wanted to explain why.
I should pre-cursor this by saying that I live in London so don't see Hibs often, only on televised games, and even then I didn't see today's one.
Last game I saw was the Motherwell one last week and we were absolutely gutless. However, my feeling is that I would only be confident in calling for his head if I felt we had someone better lined up with the chance to spend resources. PF has just made signings, which means a replacement manager wouldn't have the chance to bring in anyone until Xmas (provided they were even appointed before end of August).
I also don't think last season was a disaster, albeit we were VERY over-reliant on one player. 2 cup finals in a row, unbeaten season against jambos etc. We have been a lot worse. I have to say though, respect to all Hibees who went week in and week out and ensured some crap football, but I think we have been far too fast to sack managers in the past and based on last season I wouldn't have sacked him.
I respect that he's had a shocking start to this season, but I don't think we should emptry him until we have tried out his new players or we have someone better lined up.
Having said that, I voted before seeing the poll results, and with this sort of opposition it seems VERY had for him to stay on.
Anyway I wanted to explain why I thought he should stay, although being honest I'm less convinced now than when I began typing this. I also accept that I would probably feel differently if I was going week in and week out. Last game I actually went to was over Xmas last year against Ross County, if I did that every week then I would probably be protesting in the streets!
I have voted for Fenlon to stay. I am as upset about the results so far this season as anyone else, but I feel the team needs a chance to gel before any drastic action is taken. I still feel he has improved us since Calderwood. The problem with the team seems to be a lack of a cutting edge in front of goal. No one can tell me we deserved to lose that game today. Hearts scored with their only chance in the game. We looked like the team that was going to win the game up until that point. Everyone needs to take a deep breath, get behind the players, and hope we can get the season up and running next weekend against Dundee United. Lets see how the next few weeks go. I fully expect this post to be unpopular.
Thank you for your input Pat
hibee19
11-08-2013, 11:08 PM
Everyone is behind the team and suggesting otherwise is nonsense.
We're a laughing stock, we play god awful football, we are a defensive team who struggles to defend, we create nothing, no-one in the world knows what Pat is attempting tactically. We set up to be 'hard to beat' but when we create very little its actually pretty easy to get beat. I can see almost no positives in continuing with Fenlon.
Seven Zero
11-08-2013, 11:18 PM
To be fair to Fenlon he has brought in good players (give them time to gel) but for me the manager wont get the best out of them. 3 candidates only for me, McCall, Butcher or my personal choice McLeish. Paddy has given us beleif that we can beat THEM and others who we couldnt beat for years and have decent results but he cant take us any further. Thanks for steadying the ship and giving us some great days but time is up.
woody0-7
11-08-2013, 11:32 PM
I take it you never watched the game we were second to every ball all day don't forget that's the same team our boys have been beating for the last 3 years!!!
11-08-2013, 11:38 PM
I've had my doubts about Fenlon for a while so heres some examples of where i think he has effed up. Hopefully i'm not talking a load of ****.
Hearts cup final:
Its obvious hearts main threats that day were down the wings. Fenlon decides to set us up in a diamond formation leaving us hopelessly exposed to Suso and Driver. He also kept kujabi on who was a cert to be sent off. Ian Black ran the show as a DM but Paddy decides to leave us with 2 strikers up front.
Motherwell home game December 2012:
We are 2 nil up and doing quite well but Fenlon decides to take Griffiths off leaving doyle up front himself. Stuart mccall does the obvious thing and takes off a defender and puts on a forward. We get battered for last 20 and lose the game.
Celtic game at Parkhead (last game before the split)
Hibs have to win to get into top 6 and it takes us until 80 odd mins to get a shot on goal. Ridiculous.
Celtic Cup final:
2 nil down with about 30 to play and we still have one man up front who is injured. Our other best player Kevin Thomson was shunted to left wing aswell. Pointless game as Fenlon just seemed to accept defeat.
Every game this season:
Stevenson right back, Starting an injured mcpake v Malmo, 4-5-1 v Motherwell, playing a narrow midfield on the tightest pitch in the league.
Overall:
He doesn't have a clue imo.
hibee19
11-08-2013, 11:51 PM
I've had my doubts about Fenlon for a while so heres some examples of where i think he has effed up. Hopefully i'm not talking a load of ****.
Hearts cup final:
Its obvious hearts main threats that day were down the wings. Fenlon decides to set us up in a diamond formation leaving us hopelessly exposed to Suso and Driver. He also kept kujabi on who was a cert to be sent off. Ian Black ran the show as a DM but Paddy decides to leave us with 2 strikers up front.
Motherwell home game December 2012:
We are 2 nil up and doing quite well but Fenlon decides to take Griffiths off leaving doyle up front himself. Stuart mccall does the obvious thing and takes off a defender and puts on a forward. We get battered for last 20 and lose the game.
Celtic game at Parkhead (last game before the split)
Hibs have to win to get into top 6 and it takes us until 80 odd mins to get a shot on goal. Ridiculous.
Celtic Cup final:
2 nil down with about 30 to play and we still have one man up front who is injured. Our other best player Kevin Thomson was shunted to left wing aswell. Pointless game as Fenlon just seemed to accept defeat.
Every game this season:
Stevenson right back, Starting an injured mcpake v Malmo, 4-5-1 v Motherwell, playing a narrow midfield on the tightest pitch in the league.
Overall:
He doesn't have a clue imo.
I would add St Johnstone at home last season.
I take it you never watched the game we were second to every ball all day don't forget that's the same team our boys have been beating for the last 3 years!!!
When we changed our approach in the second half and McGivern was getting into space on the left, Collins missed three chances and Taiwo missed one. I struggle to recall any missed Hearts chances. Patterson took his only chance. Personally, would have thought Caldwell would have been handy to bring on because he has done so well against the players in the Hearts defence through youth level and scoring the winner at the end of last season. I think your view of the game is harsh on our players.
Purehibee_MYB
12-08-2013, 12:58 AM
When we changed our approach in the second half and McGivern was getting into space on the left, Collins missed three chances and Taiwo missed one. I struggle to recall any missed Hearts chances. Patterson took his only chance. Personally, would have thought Caldwell would have been handy to bring on because he has done so well against the players in the Hearts defence through youth level and scoring the winner at the end of last season. I think your view of the game is harsh on our players.
I'm still trying to figure out why Taiwo came on instead of Caldwell... His record against the yams is impeccable
12-08-2013, 03:43 AM
Time up.
12-08-2013, 06:10 AM
I voted for him to stay and wanted to explain why.
I should pre-cursor this by saying that I live in London so don't see Hibs often, only on televised games, and even then I didn't see today's one.
Last game I saw was the Motherwell one last week and we were absolutely gutless. However, my feeling is that I would only be confident in calling for his head if I felt we had someone better lined up with the chance to spend resources. PF has just made signings, which means a replacement manager wouldn't have the chance to bring in anyone until Xmas (provided they were even appointed before end of August).
I also don't think last season was a disaster, albeit we were VERY over-reliant on one player. 2 cup finals in a row, unbeaten season against jambos etc. We have been a lot worse. I have to say though, respect to all Hibees who went week in and week out and ensured some crap football, but I think we have been far too fast to sack managers in the past and based on last season I wouldn't have sacked him.
I respect that he's had a shocking start to this season, but I don't think we should emptry him until we have tried out his new players or we have someone better lined up.
Having said that, I voted before seeing the poll results, and with this sort of opposition it seems VERY had for him to stay on.
Anyway I wanted to explain why I thought he should stay, although being honest I'm less convinced now than when I began typing this. I also accept that I would probably feel differently if I was going week in and week out. Last game I actually went to was over Xmas last year against Ross County, if I did that every week then I would probably be protesting in the streets!
Not a dig at you but it's surprising to me how many of the folk who think Fenlon should get more time aren't shelling out good money to sit and suffer his idea of football every week.
12-08-2013, 06:36 AM
Not a dig at you but it's surprising to me how many of the folk who think Fenlon should get more time aren't shelling out good money to sit and suffer his idea of football every week.
Probably right. Those who don't have to suffer this stuff week-in week-out get some romantic notion that things cannot possibly be as bad as people say. And the pain is less acute.
The Toun Hibee
12-08-2013, 06:54 AM
At the beginning of the season I was for Fenlon staying. Now after four Ames I can see that the team is no better after 2years of his tenure. Better players but they just don't seem to know how to play together. That's down to Fenlons recruitment policy. Te players should be gelling by know, but they're not. Also there's signs of the lack of confidence again which he was brought into remove. All in all Fenlon must go.....
12-08-2013, 07:10 AM
At the beginning of the season I was for Fenlon staying. Now after four Ames I can see that the team is no better after 2years of his tenure. Better players but they just don't seem to know how to play together. That's down to Fenlons recruitment policy. Te players should be gelling by know, but they're not. Also there's signs of the lack of confidence again which he was brought into remove. All in all Fenlon must go.....
Dont think its down to recruitment policy. Pure and simple down to tactics. He seems incapable of setting them up and moulding them into a unit.
andrew_dundee
12-08-2013, 07:16 AM
I think that's fair, as I say, if I went every week, or even spent every Saturday in the pub with London Hibs, then I would prob want him to go too.
12-08-2013, 07:26 AM
Dont think its down to recruitment policy. Pure and simple down to tactics. He seems incapable of setting them up and moulding them into a unit.
Its this, time and time again.
12-08-2013, 07:31 AM
Just had a look out of interest at the ICT team on the day PF took over at Hibs and the one that went top on Saturday. No one asked for them to be given time to 'gel'. The 'Shinnies' are different ones (Graeme and Andrew).
Esson
Brill
Tokely
Raven
Hogg
Shinnie
Gillet
Warren
Meekings
Meekings
Hayes
Vincent
Tansey
Draper
Shinnie
Doran
Davis
Ross
Foran
McKay
Tade
Foran
NatureBoy
12-08-2013, 07:33 AM
Against my better judgement I decided to make the trip to the PBS yesterday and what I saw was nothing short of woeful!
I was all for giving Fenlon time this season but the catastrophe that has been our start has surely made his position untenable. A massive vote of no confidence from the fans speaks volumes.
The longer the board procrastinate the more damage they do to our beloved club.
The fact last seasons 3-0 humbling in the cup final to Celtic was spun as some sort of moral victory tells you everything you need to know about our club and those who run it. Happy to accept mediocrity so long as the season ticket money is in the coffers.
HibbySpurs
12-08-2013, 07:38 AM
:agree:.
I was prepared to give him a chance after Malmo in the thought that it was a freak result which happens from time to time.
However I also said that our first two games we should be targetting minimum 4 points, we have 0.... Therfore it's time to go.
We should have battered Hearts yesterday, gone straight for the jugular and even if they had scored their one chance it would have been an irrelevance....
A woeful display against the worst team in the division who are struggling to even field a full team...
Gerard
12-08-2013, 07:50 AM
The situation that Hibs are in needs to be changed. We can not have another season where we finish in the bottom six. The more games we lose, the more the crowds will drop, the less money the club will have and the bigger loss it will make. There is still time to turn this season around. I think PF is a decent guy and I thank him for trying to make Hibs a success. He will join a list of managers who were not successful at Hibs.
I wish him well for the future.
12-08-2013, 07:51 AM
Folks that keep saying he has improved things off the park. Like what?
and in any case, is his single task, the most important thing of all, not to improve whats ON the **** park?
Malmo game was the biggest embarrassment in my life time, the 5-1 game was a disaster but he had a bunch of loanees and we all know about the cheating ref. and their financial doping. Fast forward to this season and 1st game at home, new team and season, you'd think they'd be buzzing in the sunshine, getting us interested and maybe even excited about the new season. We lose and barely mustered a shot on goal. He then takes us to the PBS against the WORSE Hearts team EVER. Once again, humiliation. Slow, negative, hoofball.
He has painted the away dressing room green, planted some nice flowers at EM and signed less alcoholics than we usually do. All hail king Pat.
Just because Calderwood was rank rotten too, doesn't mean this "nice guy" from Ireland deserves to continue to humiliate our football club.
Please, just go & give us our club back.
12-08-2013, 07:57 AM
Football is a game, a game to be enjoyed. I've not enjoyed watching Hibs for a very, very long time. Why are our managers so against playing the game the simple way?
Fenlon is playing some of the worst football I've seen at ER. Calderwood was the same. Why can't our board appoint someone who can actually say, I'll play attractive football and get an attacking side on the park. The name of the game is to SCORE not set out not to lose. I'd much rather give a manager more time if he's actually trying to win and have a go, than a manager who sets up a team with a striker so far up on his own he touches the ball maybe 3 times the whole game.
Just leave Pat, stop embarrassing our club and yourself. It's starting to get nasty towards him and as a nice guy that's a shame. But the longer we have him there there longer he's going to get it tight. He's not the man I fully support Hibs but not him.
khib70
12-08-2013, 08:02 AM
Folks that keep saying he has improved things off the park. Like what?
and in any case, is his single task, the most important thing of all, not to improve whats ON the **** park?
Malmo game was the biggest embarrassment in my life time, the 5-1 game was a disaster but he had a bunch of loanees and we all know about the cheating ref. and their financial doping. Fast forward to this season and 1st game at home, new team and season, you'd think they'd be buzzing in the sunshine, getting us interested and maybe even excited about the new season. We lose and barely mustered a shot on goal. He then takes us to the PBS against the WORSE Hearts team EVER. Once again, humiliation. Slow, negative, hoofball.
He has painted the away dressing room green, planted some nice flowers at EM and signed less alcoholics than we usually do. All hail king Pat.
Just because Calderwood was rank rotten too, doesn't mean this "nice guy" from Ireland deserves to continue to humiliate our football club.
Please, just go & give us our club back.
That's the most accurate and complete summary of the "progress" made under Fenlon that I've seen so far.
Bye Pat
12-08-2013, 08:07 AM
Petrie must go
Robeson must sing.
12-08-2013, 08:08 AM
Just had a look out of interest at the ICT team on the day PF took over at Hibs and the one that went top on Saturday. No one asked for them to be given time to 'gel'. The 'Shinnies' are different ones (Graeme and Andrew).
Esson
Brill
Tokely
Raven
Hogg
Shinnie
Gillet
Warren
Meekings
Meekings
Hayes
Vincent
Tansey
Draper
Shinnie
Doran
Davis
Ross
Foran
McKay
Tade
Foran
Transition season: two words that are a symptom of how soft we are.
12-08-2013, 08:12 AM
"Mutual Agreement" better be in the next sentence that Petrie utters in a press conference.
Preferably at 3pm today and about 2 people.
12-08-2013, 08:16 AM
Bye Pat, you need to go. Time up son. Take your crap signings with you. Get Butcher in. Thoughts ?
12-08-2013, 08:21 AM
People saying the team needs time to gel is crazy. I could take that if it was just were not playing fast flowing football. But the team are being set up to be negative and actually scared! How on earth can you rip the confidence out of players so much that they dont think they can tan the erse of a bunch of wee ladies. We have the 2nd best squad in the league and its a disgrace that Fenlon is allowed to have the team playing this way!
12-08-2013, 08:23 AM
For Pats own sake I hope he's away by Saturday. If/when Utd beat us it will not be pretty and it's going to get very personal.
Quite astonishing that a manager that has got us to two cup finals in a row, gone a season undefeated against them and played in Europe isn't seen as a god. But yet he's managed all if the above with three of our biggest embarrassments.
12-08-2013, 08:23 AM
People saying the team needs time to gel is crazy. I could take that if it was just were not playing fast flowing football. But the team are being set up to be negative and actually scared! How on earth can you rip the confidence out of players so much that they dont think they can tan the erse of a bunch of wee ladies. We have the 2nd best squad in the league and its a disgrace that Fenlon is allowed to have the team playing this way!
I think there is one or two teams that could quite rightly argue against that point.
londonhibby
12-08-2013, 08:25 AM
Excerpt from the Record's take, says the same as everyone else and almost all that needs said, apart from: Go Now.
"... All it took was one terrific cross from Dylan McGowan and one flashing header from Callum Paterson 20 minutes from the end of a game that was short of quality but never dull.
That’s usually all it takes to beat Hibs these day. This is a team that cannot score a goal so one against them tends to be enough and now manager Pat Fenlon’s job is surely hanging by a thread ..."
12-08-2013, 08:26 AM
He wont come - but I'd have Collins back in a second.
Johnny Clash
12-08-2013, 08:26 AM
As manager, Pat must realise if things go wrong then his neck will be on the chopping block. But the Board must realise they have consistently chosen managers lacking the ability to get Hibs playing to the standard we demand.
I mean, how many other Capital City clubs in the world settle for mediocracy?
I'm sure Pat Fenlon is giving his all but unfortunately it's not working. I'm just not sure if the Board are giving their all. For example, to aspire to meekly 'make progress' and presumably be a top six team just isn't good enough. It's shameful in fact.
With all due respect to the likes of ICT and Motherwell... Hibs should always be confidently aiming for top three and nothing less. That is what the Board should be charged to due and if they fail then they should move aside and let new blood in to shake things up.
Maybe our mistake in the past is to focus our frustrations on the manager? The Board get relatively little heat yet they seem to be the consistent factor in our long term failures.
londonhibby
12-08-2013, 08:31 AM
As manager, Pat must realise if things go wrong then his neck will be on the chopping block. But the Board must realise they have consistently chosen managers lacking the ability to get Hibs playing to the standard we demand.
I mean, how many other Capital City clubs in the world settle for mediocracy?
I'm sure Pat Fenlon is giving his all but unfortunately it's not working. I'm just not sure if the Board are giving their all. For example, to aspire to meekly 'make progress' and presumably be a top six team just isn't good enough. It's shameful in fact.
With all due respect to the likes of ICT and Motherwell... Hibs should always be confidently aiming for top three and nothing less. That is what the Board should be charged to due and if they fail then they should move aside and let new blood in to shake things up.
Maybe our mistake in the past is to focus our frustrations on the manager? The Board get relatively little heat yet they seem to be the consistent factor in our long term failures.
Unless you have a spare £10 million or so lying spare or have a mate that does, the only thing that can change is the manager – via changing the board's mind about the manager.
12-08-2013, 08:31 AM
Bye Pat, you need to go. Time up son. Take your crap signings with you. Get Butcher in. Thoughts ?
Fenlon Out, Butcher In.
Butcher wouldn't leave Caley to come to hibs, he already turned down a lucrative move down south (forget which team) because he's happy at Caley. There can't be many managers out there who would actually want the hibs job. Looking at previous managers in recent times, none of them bar Mixu or Mowbray have progressed after leaving us. Plus we won't be offering a huge wage to a new manager if we have to pay fenlon off.
12-08-2013, 08:38 AM
To be fair to Fenlon he has brought in good players (give them time to gel) but for me the manager wont get the best out of them. 3 candidates only for me, McCall, Butcher or my personal choice McLeish. Paddy has given us beleif that we can beat THEM and others who we couldnt beat for years and have decent results but he cant take us any further. Thanks for steadying the ship and giving us some great days but time is up.
Agree with your three candidates but would any of them come?
Doubt any of them desparately need the money.
I don't think McLeish would take it.
Sadly McCall is at a club just now which will give him a better platform than Hibs can offer. The only way he would come is if Motherwell started to decline and we showed we could offer him resources to shuffle things.
Butcher might come - he must get frustrated at ICT with the lack of support they get and unless they get more investment or are able to hang onto their players, it will be difficult to reproduce it year on year and he will know that. He might think that the potential of Hibs would be worth leaving ICT for.
12-08-2013, 08:40 AM
Ill be shocked and surprised if he's still at hibs by the end of today.
12-08-2013, 08:42 AM
Still not sacked then? Oh well, back to work. :(
Gustavo Fring
12-08-2013, 08:48 AM
whys that ? he's already said he aint for quitting and petrie wont sack him
12-08-2013, 08:49 AM
I'd be shocked but not surprised.
12-08-2013, 08:53 AM
I'm all for a manager taking his time to get his team sorted, organised and gelling well.
But.....if I cast my mind back a few years ago I can remember going to a pre-season game at Easter Road against Leeds when Tony Mowbray had only been in the job a matter of weeks. Even from that pre-season game, you could see an outstandingly seismic shift in our play, formation and ethos. Every ball was passed on the deck, everyone knew their role and the new signings looked like they'd been there for years (incidentally I walked away from that game saying to my old man that our "left back looked like he was towing a caravan"). Turned out to be the best left back I've seen in my 25+ years following Hibs.
Something is inherently wrong at Hibs just now and if it is broke, f*****g fix it!
12-08-2013, 08:59 AM
whys that ? he's already said he aint for quitting and petrie wont sack him
Do I really need to explain why! If he's not away then I'd love to see the attendance for the next few home games.
12-08-2013, 09:01 AM
Do I really need to explain why! If he's not away then I'd love to see the attendance for the next few home games.
This is the reason he'll be sacked.
Mixu finished 6th and was sacked because of poor ticket sales and Fenlon will be no different.
12-08-2013, 09:01 AM
Ok, just back from the gym. Why am I not able to read about Fenlon's departure from the club ? Is this just a website/communications issue or has something gone seriously wrong ? If those who make the decisions at HFC still think Fenlon is the right man to take us forward, questions need to be asked of their judgement and ability to run this club. If I thought it would make the slightest difference, I'd write a sternly worded letter to owner :rolleyes:
Makaveli
12-08-2013, 09:06 AM
Ok, just back from the gym. Why am I not able to read about Fenlon's departure from the club ? Is this just a website/communications issue or has something gone seriously wrong ? If those who make the decisions at HFC still think Fenlon is the right man to take us forward, questions need to be asked of their judgement and ability to run this club. If I thought it would make the slightest difference, I'd write a sternly worded letter to owner :rolleyes:
There were posts like this the morning after Malmo.
You're spot on btw. How many more times does he need to embarrass us?
sidneyhibbie
12-08-2013, 09:07 AM
Thats my job and i will be doing this task today.
12-08-2013, 09:07 AM
This is the reason he'll be sacked.
Mixu finished 6th and was sacked because of poor ticket sales and Fenlon will be no different.
Maybe the Hibs Board would be good enough to tell us all what the attendance needs to be in order to get a terrible manger removed ? That would be customer friendly and avoid us all having to go through weeks of depleting crowds and reduced revenues in order to reach that point. Get it over in one week and allows us to move on.
Come on Hibs, you know the process:
1. You hire them in hope
2. We fire them, as you're too weak to do it yourself.
12-08-2013, 09:10 AM
Thats my job and i will be doing this task today.
You must have RSI of the wrist.
And then you pick up a pen.
12-08-2013, 09:14 AM
I'd be neither shocked nor surprised .. just angry.
Yesterday he brought on a decent attacking full back with fresh legs .. and the team continued to play down the opposite side of the park through a full back that was having a very poor game.
If he didn't instruct the players to get the ball over to the opposite side of the park then he is tactically inept, if he did and they didn't do it then he has no control over the team .. either way the end result should be the same .. :bye:
12-08-2013, 09:19 AM
I'd be neither shocked nor surprised .. just angry.
I won't be shocked, surprised or angry. I'm completely resigned to him being there long enough to **** this season up.
Big Sexy Dave
12-08-2013, 09:30 AM
Collins was not sacked. He walked out despite Petrie's request to reconsider and stay. Before Collins left his man-management and transfer dealings had already caused Hibs to go downhill a long way.
Apologies If I'm wrong but did the players not go to Petrie's office and complain about doing 2 lots of training per day(Michael Stewart was the ringleader) and Petrie backed the players?
12-08-2013, 09:33 AM
Whats the email address for the board? Probably already been posted somewhere on this thread.
Sick of hibs and and that **** pettie especially. Hes slowly killing the club year by year
Cracker
12-08-2013, 09:34 AM
I won't be shocked, surprised or angry. I'm completely resigned to him being there long enough to **** this season up.
Just had txt saying on Scotsman Web that PF gone by Mutual consent.
12-08-2013, 09:36 AM
Apologies If I'm wrong but did the players not go to Petrie's office and complain about doing 2 lots of training per day(Michael Stewart was the ringleader) and Petrie backed the players?
No that did not happen, the opposite happened. He listened to them and told them to go back and have it out with Collins. And Petrie backed the manager 100%.
12-08-2013, 09:37 AM
A text from the Scotsman text service or a text from somebody saying that there's a Scotsman article online about PF going? Cause I checked and there's nothing (yet?) :boo hoo:
12-08-2013, 09:37 AM
No that did not happen, the opposite happened. He listened to them and told them to go back and have it out with Collins. And Petrie backed the manager 100%.
Aye - never let the truth get in the way of FACTS - END OF.
12-08-2013, 09:39 AM
No you must be wrong BH, 'cos I've read it on here numerous times how Petrie backed the players and that's where all our recent troubles began. That and not paying £150,000 for Griffiths when we had the chance.
12-08-2013, 09:40 AM
Still not sacked then? Oh well, back to work. :(
Gustavo Fring
12-08-2013, 09:41 AM
fenlon will not leave by mutual consent , he's going to want a payoff
12-08-2013, 09:42 AM
fenlon will not leave by mutual consent , he's going to want a payoff
Which is what he gets by mutual consent.
12-08-2013, 09:44 AM
Aye - never let the truth get in the way of FACTS - END OF.
Whatever I'd still have him back tomorrow. Our team is lazy and lacking in pace and more importantly belief.
12-08-2013, 09:58 AM
Whatever I'd still have him back tomorrow. Our team is lazy and lacking in pace and more importantly belief.
Thats probably one thing you can't level at this lot.
Lmc2105
12-08-2013, 10:48 AM
Sick of people saying that he is a nice good guy etc, that's fair enough but a nice guy doesn't make a good manager. Based on what i have seen for the last few months he has to go no tactics Hoofball & no organization what so ever.
He doesn't deserve the UTD game he should go now.
12-08-2013, 10:53 AM
They or you are mistaken as of 11.53am
pampdahoosmoose
12-08-2013, 10:55 AM
A text from the Scotsman text service or a text from somebody saying that there's a Scotsman article online about PF going? Cause I checked and there's nothing (yet?) :boo hoo:
It's a comment by someone at the end of an article in the comments section, so nothing official.
12-08-2013, 10:59 AM
Hibs should be a top 6 side, we should be challenging for Europe every season through our league positioning, its where a team with our fan base and infrastructure should be. Yet we have not finished in the top six since the 09/10 season.. we are currently on course (IMO) to finish in the bottom 6 for the 4th consecutive season.. how has this been allowed to happen to this club? We sacked Yogi after hed finished 4th with the team the season before, if a manager came in next week and somehow managed to get us into 4th spot I would have serious questions as to whether this man was in fact distantly related to Jesus. We are going nowhere with Fenlon, I have seen absolutely nothing from him in recent times to suggest we will be able to put in a strong challenge again for a top 6 place, especially with teams like Motherwell, Aberdeen, Caley etc. seemingly miles ahead of us in terms of football being produced. And after Particks performance at the weekend im even worried theyll manage to finish above us aswell.. something big needs to change and something big needs to change now before we alienate even more of our supporters who have been given far far less than what they deserve.
12-08-2013, 11:00 AM
It's a comment by someone at the end of an article in the comments section, so nothing official.
Therefore most likely a yam.
tastypinkflaps
10:22 AM on 12/08/2013
Pat Fenlon has left the club by mutual consent (actually meaning the club have reached a compensation figure). The club are expected to announce this via a media conference this afternoon (more likely to fed through this evenings Reporting Scotland), don't shoot the messenger but that's what's directly coming out of Easter Road this morning.
12-08-2013, 11:11 AM
Since club removed Yogi it hasn't moved on at all and*arguably gone backwards. One of the 2 managers has been sacked in CC, PF has to go and so do the people who have overseen this debacle of money wasted dire football and history making embarrassing defeats, a totally disgraceful spell in last 4 years.
12-08-2013, 11:35 AM
Therefore most likely a yam.
tastypinkflaps
10:22 AM on 12/08/2013
Pat Fenlon has left the club by mutual consent (actually meaning the club have reached a compensation figure). The club are expected to announce this via a media conference this afternoon (more likely to fed through this evenings Reporting Scotland), don't shoot the messenger but that's what's directly coming out of Easter Road this morning.
With a user name of tastypinkflaps I'm sure this must be a merrick at the lash.
12-08-2013, 11:45 AM
Since club removed Yogi it hasn't moved on at all and*arguably gone backwards. One of the 2 managers has been sacked in CC, PF has to go and so do the people who have overseen this debacle of money wasted dire football and history making embarrassing defeats, a totally disgraceful spell in last 4 years.
We have not kicked-on from the CIS win in March 2007 .. it has been a downward spiral since IMHO.
12-08-2013, 12:26 PM
We have not kicked-on from the CIS win in March 2007 .. it has been a downward spiral since IMHO.
Nonsense, we finished 4th and qualified for Europe through our league position after that.
12-08-2013, 02:22 PM
Can everyone hear that.?
12-08-2013, 02:27 PM
He no away yet
12-08-2013, 02:32 PM
Can everyone hear that.?
Silence is indeed deafening!
12-08-2013, 02:33 PM
Can everyone hear that.?
The silence is deafening :agree:
FFS Petrie, it's nearly 4pm - do your job, man :fuming:
12-08-2013, 02:57 PM
Are we there yet?
12-08-2013, 02:58 PM
I suspect the board are scared to face the thousands of protestors outside.
12-08-2013, 03:03 PM
FFS Petrie, it's nearly 4pm - do your job, man :fuming:
I keep checking in to see if he's gone .. However, I think RP thinks he'll get PF paid odd cheaper after much booing/chanting etc this Saturday at ER when another inept performance is dished out!
12-08-2013, 03:05 PM
Just got out of work without a look at t'internet, was expecting a mutual consent message.
Why has there been no announcement??
12-08-2013, 03:11 PM
Just got out of work without a look at t'internet, was expecting a mutual consent message.
Why has there been no announcement??
Because Fenlon won't be going anywhere any time soon. We're stuck with him.
12-08-2013, 03:13 PM
What makes you think we are stuck with him? No way he will be here long term. 1 or 2 more weeks max.
Won't be expensive to pay him off so nowt to stop us really.
12-08-2013, 03:15 PM
The stuff on the Scotsman website is in the comments section only.
The same thing has been posted a few times and get's deleted by the Scotsman Admins every time.
Gustavo Fring
Because Fenlon won't be going anywhere any time soon. We're stuck with him.
petrie will be content to stick with him until were staring the 'championship' in the face . its going to take some form of boycott/protest from us supporters before petrie will even notice theres a problem
Hibby_CR14
Surely better to get rid of him now rather in a week or 2...give the new manager time to get some pace/width into the team and give a few needed kicks up the backside!!
Sanger
12-08-2013, 03:17 PM
One year of contract left = £150k
extra 1000 walk ups at £22 per game for 18 games = £396k
12-08-2013, 03:17 PM
I have to admit I'm surprised there's been no announcement
12-08-2013, 03:18 PM
What makes you think we are stuck with him? No way he will be here long term. 1 or 2 more weeks max.
Won't be expensive to pay him off so nowt to stop us really.
It seems to me that there's been some sort of orchestrated concerted effort by the Board to galvanise continued support for Fenlon.
Is it just a coincidence that Kevin Thomson, Pat Stanton and Pat Nevin have today all came out in support of Fenlon? - I think not.
Looks like we're stuck with the guy until his contract runs out. So be it, I guess the Board know what they are doing.
12-08-2013, 03:19 PM
I have to admit I'm surprised there's been no announcement
Sadly, I'm not.
Anyone know when the AGM is due?
12-08-2013, 03:24 PM
It seems to me that there's been some sort of orchestrated concerted effort by the Board to galvanise continued support for Fenlon.
Is it just a coincidence that Kevin Thomson, Pat Stanton and Pat Nevin have today all came out in support of Fenlon? - I think not.
Looks like we're stuck with the guy until his contract runs out. So be it, I guess the Board know what they are doing.
The football guys on the board that chose the football manager to make us play good football and WIN :rolleyes:
This could be a long week (s) - I know RP reads these boards and while it's rare for Hibs to do anything straight after a game - I would expect surely a change for the weekend. Give it to Jimmy and at least see how he gets on while you search for a suitable replacement.
Usually Hibs sack managers between Sept - Xmas - often before the AGM to take the heat off the board.
The longer this goes on the more abusive / angry fans will get towards the manager / board about how things are turning out -which isn't going to be good press.
Have any managers been sacked / left in England yet ? Maybe Hibs don't want to be the first :confused:
12-08-2013, 03:27 PM
About two days after they eventually sack Fenlon.
12-08-2013, 03:36 PM
Our clubs slow at everything we do, even inevitable sackings of the manager go on longer than it should.
I understabd why the club don't want to give him the dreaded vote of confidence but if he's staying fenlon should have a statement out apologising for recent results.
Big Sexy Dave
12-08-2013, 03:46 PM
So why did Petrie not sell or release said players?
12-08-2013, 03:47 PM
Surely that was up to Collins - who did get rid of a few?
12-08-2013, 03:50 PM
Ivan Sproule and Michael Stewart.
MotherSuperior
12-08-2013, 03:51 PM
I've been a season ticket holder for 22 years and over the last few years I've started to lose interest a wee bit. But honestly calderwood's and now fenlon's teams and general style of football has taken its toll and I'm giving it a miss this weekend. Its just become total torture.
12-08-2013, 04:00 PM
You do know Petrie was not the manager? :confused:
sidneyhibbie
12-08-2013, 04:10 PM
The date of the AGM Has not been announced yet i dont think he will last till the end of this week never mind the AGM
12-08-2013, 04:16 PM
Sadly, I'm not.
Hopefully AGM arranged for this Friday then. :greengrin
hibee19
12-08-2013, 04:17 PM
Sadly, I'm not.
I'm sure I heard somewhere December 10th.
Edit: Here
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/TV/ExtendedHighlightsDetail/0,,10290~3001950,00.html
12-08-2013, 04:26 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/page/TV/ExtendedHighlightsDetail/0,,10290~3001950,00.html
Fenlon better hope that we don't lose to Partick on the 7th.
Big Sexy Dave
12-08-2013, 04:42 PM
You do know Petrie was not the manager? :confused:
Yes but he made/makes all the decisions. Back on topic I feel it's time for Fenlon to leave, looks like Shiels is the best of a bad bunch.
12-08-2013, 04:43 PM
Yes but he made/makes all the decisions. Back on topic I feel it's time for Fenlon to leave, looks like Shiels is the best of a bad bunch.
Best of a bad bunch? There's a whole footballing world out there, how can it be a bad bunch?
12-08-2013, 04:46 PM
December 9th is Monday, the wrong details posted in the above link
12-08-2013, 04:47 PM
I don't for one minute think he picked the team or told the manager which players to sign or let go. So basically you were talking absolute mince.
Also Shiels is the best of a bad bunch, how many managers do you have in this bunch?
12-08-2013, 04:48 PM
I've had doubts about Fenlon for quite a while now, the home defeat to Motherwell last season really had me questioning him and now I think he should go asap. But when I look at from Petrie's point of view why would he take action based on:
Very few if anyone was calling for his head at the end of last season, indeed a number of posters on here were telling us he was making progess.
We sold more season tickets than last season, suggesting fans had faith in him.
He has been backed in the transfer market including the signing of a player for a reported £200,000.
We have only played 2 league games.
Other than on this board I haven't heard many calls for Fenlon to go at the games.
Like I say I think his time is well and truly up, but I can see why no action has been taken.
sidneyhibbie
12-08-2013, 05:19 PM
30 stay votes now :confused:
12-08-2013, 05:58 PM
Are we really going to go through another laboured out sacking Rod so you don't like an idiot exactly the same as you did under CC? Do the right thing releave him of his duties and then resign yourself, totally embarrassing last few years Rod.
12-08-2013, 06:05 PM
Not only can petrie not appoint a decent manager, he doesn't know when times up to sack one either
12-08-2013, 06:09 PM
I said last season when we didn't make the top 6 that I was 51% sure I wanted him to go but the way we played out the rest of the season might effect it a bit and help me make my mind up, we improved slightly so I thought right with a few new players in we may be able to kick on from here with a bit confidence.
A few games in and I'm at 100% he should go, I genuinely think we have a decent squad at our disposal but with him in charge we are nothing short of pathetic, we all know he will get the sack or leave at some point, there is absolutely no way he can turn this round, if this poll is anything to go by then the vast majority agree.
let's at least give the new manager a fighting chance and as much time as possible to turn it round.
I will continue to go as I always do, but watching something I love shouldn't be a chore, I should look forward to it and at least be a bit entertained.
May as well give money that I would spend on watching Hibs to someone to punch me in the baws for 90 mins a week, would give the same pleasure at the moment.
12-08-2013, 06:11 PM
30 stay votes now :confused:
Does that include Pat Nevin, Murdo MacLoad and Pat Stanton?.......... :aok:
12-08-2013, 06:13 PM
Not only can petrie not appoint a decent manager, he doesn't know when times up to sack one either
He has made a cock of it and needs to accept it sack the manager and then resign a shambles at ER over last few years.
12-08-2013, 06:13 PM
I clicked stay by mistake I think.
Just a wee reminder of what's needed, Rod:
"The Inverness energy was marvellous today. They were well-disciplined and organised. There's a physicality about them but they can pass the ball as well. If they continue that sort of form they'll have a fabulous season."
BBC Sportsound summariser Willie Miller at Tannadice.
K.Marx
12-08-2013, 06:55 PM
Surprised the press haven't picked up on these figures. A few papers ran stories after the malmo game when 65% of fans wanted Fenlon out. Now it's up at 95%, in by no means a small sample. It's staggering the board can ignore this. Starting to feel very disillusioned at the state of the club at the moment, mainly due to 'head in the sand' behaviour from the board who seem willing to let this slide continue in order to A. Save face, and B. Save having to pay off Fenlons contract.
Gustavo Fring
12-08-2013, 06:58 PM
some of the 5% clicked stay by accident too so its probably more than 95% want him out 'to be honest'
12-08-2013, 06:59 PM
some of the 5% clicked stay by accident too so its probably more than 95% want him out 'to be honest'
What about those who clicked "go" by accident?
Thomson
12-08-2013, 07:00 PM
I clicked yes as i like pat. Absolutely no justification for wantin him to stay. :dunno:
12-08-2013, 07:02 PM
Surprised the press haven't picked up on these figures. A few papers ran stories after the malmo game when 65% of fans wanted Fenlon out. Now it's up at 95%, in by no means a small sample. It's staggering the board can ignore this. Starting to feel very disillusioned at the state of the club at the moment, mainly due to 'head in the sand' behaviour from the board who seem willing to let this slide continue in order to A. Save face, and B. Save having to pay off Fenlons contract.
I don't think the press are even interested in Hibs these days. For example, the Daily Record reporter gave both OTJ and Lewis 6 out of 10, proof that he didn't actually attend in person or watch it on TV.
12-08-2013, 07:28 PM
STV Talking Point Video
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/hibernian/235784-talking-point-is-this-the-end-of-pat-fenlons-hibernian-reign/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
Talking Point: Is this the end of Pat Fenlon's Hibernian reign?
Grant Russell (https://twitter.com/STVGrant) and Scott McClymont (https://twitter.com/mcclymontscott) discuss Fenlon's tenure and ask if his time in the capital is at an end.
sidneyhibbie
12-08-2013, 08:09 PM
Add in Paddy and RP But that still leaves 25:confused:
Makaveli
12-08-2013, 08:11 PM
STV Talking Point Video
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/hibernian/235784-talking-point-is-this-the-end-of-pat-fenlons-hibernian-reign/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
Grant Russell (https://twitter.com/STVGrant) and Scott McClymont (https://twitter.com/mcclymontscott) discuss Fenlon's tenure and ask if his time in the capital is at an end.
Good chat. Hope the print media applies similar pressure.
hibee19
12-08-2013, 08:20 PM
STV Talking Point Video
Decent watch but one mistake. They described our midfielders as 'players who go box to box'. It should be 'players who go box to half-way line.
MADE IN LEITH
12-08-2013, 08:30 PM
I nearly did the same myself!
12-08-2013, 08:33 PM
Decent watch but one mistake. They described our midfielders as 'players who go box to box'. It should be 'players who go box to half-way line.
HibeeHendo
12-08-2013, 08:55 PM
I don't even think he'll be sacked if we lose this weekend's game.
1068gary
12-08-2013, 09:16 PM
time to go Pat, Cheerio!
Come on Rod, bin the bozo; bring this nightmare to an end and embark on a new era for our beloved club. 95% of your customers can't be wrong!
sidneyhibbie
12-08-2013, 10:03 PM
31 now :confused:
13-08-2013, 06:20 AM
I don't even think he'll be sacked if we lose this weekend's game.
He won't.
13-08-2013, 06:43 AM
Well Fenlon isn't going to do the right thing and resign, he would have done it yesterday if he was going to. Proves that it's all about the money with him as he is waiting to be sacked and paid off. Come on Pat save your dignity and step down, save the club which has given you an opportunity and backed you the money you don't deserve to be put towards the next mans budget. Losing respect for him now!!! Sad.
Weir7
13-08-2013, 06:48 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/latest/pat-fenlon-can-t-solve-hibs-jigsaw-puzzle-1-3042307
A good article.
13-08-2013, 06:49 AM
Well Fenlon isn't going to do the right thing and resign, he would have done it yesterday if he was going to. Proves that it's all about the money with him as he is waiting to be sacked and paid off. Come on Pat save your dignity and step down, save the club which has given you an opportunity and backed you the money you don't deserve to be put towards the next mans budget. Losing respect for him now!!! Sad.
He will never get as good a job as this ever again. So he will take all the money from the job he can get.
If he had an ounce of respect for the supporters, he'd have resigned after the malmo game. In fact, the 5-1 game.
13-08-2013, 07:03 AM
He will never get as good a job as this ever again. So he will take all the money from the job he can get.
If he had an ounce of respect for the supporters, he'd have resigned after the malmo game. In fact, the 5-1 game.
I hate pish like this. If you watch the interviews after recent games you can see how much he is hurting.
You mention respect yet you show him none whatsoever with your cheap insinuations.
There is nothing wrong with him having the self belief that he is the right man for the job regardless of how most of us feel.
Its the boards decision whether he remains or not and rightly so.
13-08-2013, 07:04 AM
Link (http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/latest/pat-fenlon-can-t-solve-hibs-jigsaw-puzzle-1-3042307)
13-08-2013, 07:08 AM
The club need to either sack him or release a statement backing him. Saying nothing is just going to ramp up the pressure, create more negative media stories and piss the support off some more.
13-08-2013, 07:11 AM
The club need to either sack him or release a statement backing him. Saying nothing is just going to ramp up the pressure, create more negative media stories and piss the support off some more.Absolutely, if he's going then get rid and hopefully someone else can come in and turn things around.If he's staying then let's see improvement/change in tactics etc. But either way it would be nice to know what the board are intending to do so we can all move on from this exceptionally grim start to the season.
13-08-2013, 07:11 AM
100%spot on
Weir7
13-08-2013, 07:12 AM
The club need to either sack him or release a statement backing him. Saying nothing is just going to ramp up the pressure, create more negative media stories and piss the support off some more.
Petrie won't do that. He'll hang him out to dry. We win on Saturday it gives another few games before he has to do anything.
We get beat on Saturday, boom, ER explodes and Fenlons position is untenable.
Also, Petrie will be down Wembley with the Blazer Bum Boys.
Leith Bloke EH6
13-08-2013, 07:14 AM
I hate pish like this. If you watch the interviews after recent games you can see how much he is hurting.
You mention respect yet you show him none whatsoever with your cheap insinuations.
There is nothing wrong with him having the self belief that he is the right man for the job regardless of how most of us feel.
Excellent post. I believe PF also has a difficult family illness to contend with.
13-08-2013, 07:14 AM
The club dont seem to do statements after embarrassing results (and theres been a lot recent). They go into media shutdown for a few days, and then only come out of it to try and get us to buy something (merchandise, Hibs lottery etc).
As for the article, its spot on.
13-08-2013, 07:15 AM
We are all allowed opinions.
I mentioned on another thread about Steve Kean. He was under HUGE pressure and was HATED..... YET to me, his team at least played decent football and tried to win games. So I can understand, that he had some self belief that things would get better.
Where is there any kind of evidence that Pat Fenlon can deliver? Our rivals in administration with the worse team they've ever had, still had the joy of singing theirs only one Pat Fenlon.
He has lost the support of many and has shown nothing at Hibs. He or Petrie need to act, it's of my (and others) opinion that he should resign and stop this joke right now. Call that a cheap insinuation all you like, personally don't give a hoot.
13-08-2013, 07:15 AM
No, it's also his
13-08-2013, 07:18 AM
many people saying Pat should 'do the right thing and resign' and the fact he hasn't means it all about money :confused: whats brings people to that conclusion?
could it not be that he hasn't considered this as he genuinely believes he can oversee a change in results? (obviously you could argue whether this belief is based in reality or is delusional)
for the record I think that we have the best squad we have had for some time (on paper) mostly assembled by Pat. We have yet to see that made into a team however. While the start has been disappointing in the extreme, taking account of having 7 out of 25 players unavailable to begin with and the stage in the season we need to hold tight for another few matches and see - as now being said by others far more qualified than me - what reaction there is from the players, as there are no indications I have heard that Pat has lost the dressing room (unless others know differently?)
These players ought to be collectively performing better than they are no matter if I was in charge. Internally there have been good changes made by Pat and would hope this could be built on. Its a results game of course and so without better results change will happen - its a question of when.
Part of my thinking is not wanting another season of 'transition' (just how many of those have we had in past 30 years?) where a different manager is looking to change players / build his squad / create his style - anyone up for watching Kenny Shiels try and get our defence to play possession from the 18 yard line for example?
I think that having had a season of not getting beat by them and actually standing up to them (not pretty most of the time) and competing was such a positive after years of different managers failing to achieve that with their teams - that having this reversed so early and meekly against one of their youngest / weakest teams ever is why most responding to poll are so adamant.
Anyway I've made a target - make sure not to miss :wink:
13-08-2013, 07:22 AM
I understand your thinking, but Petrie can't do anything to relieve the pressure.
If he comes out and says he supports the manager, the press will just interpret it as the "dreaded vote of confidence".
Only a win on Saturday, with a decent performance will loosen the noose, albeit temporarily unless we get a massive and long term upturn in
However, I just can't envisage that.
The atmosphere at Easter Road will be poisonous. Hibs will start with energy and commitment in the hope of scoring early and getting the fans back on side.
When it doesn't materialise, the abuse towards the players will get louder and more destructive.
United will revel in it, their handful of fans will have a great laugh at our expense and we'll lose.
Sometimes its crap having a crystal ball.
13-08-2013, 07:24 AM
We are all allowed opinions.
I mentioned on another thread about Steve Kean. He was under HUGE pressure and was HATED..... YET to me, his team at least played decent football and tried to win games. So I can understand, that he had some self belief that things would get better.
Where is there any kind of evidence that Pat Fenlon can deliver? Our rivals in administration with the worse team they've ever had, still had the joy of singing theirs only one Pat Fenlon.
He has lost the support of many and has shown nothing at Hibs. He or Petrie need to act, it's of my (and others) opinion that he should resign and stop this joke right now. Call that a cheap insinuation all you like, personally don't give a hoot.
I think he should probably be replaced too. What I object to are the cheap shots about him just hanging around for the money.
13-08-2013, 07:29 AM
I think he should probably be replaced too. What I object to are the cheap shots about him just hanging around for the money.
I don't think it's a cheap shot. It's realistic.
He is in a fixed contract.... and as you stated, the board ultimately have to make the call to terminate it or not.
I don't know the money he is on, but he won't get it anywhere else.
In any walk of life, there are people who will stay in a job as long as they can because of the good money, even if they aint up to it & leave the decision to others.
I understand your thinking, but Petrie can't do anything to relieve the pressure.
If he comes out and says he supports the manager, the press will just interpret it as the "dreaded vote of confidence".
Only a win on Saturday, with a decent performance will loosen the noose, albeit temporarily unless we get a massive and long term upturn in
However, I just can't envisage that.
The atmosphere at Easter Road will be poisonous. Hibs will start with energy and commitment in the hope of scoring early and getting the fans back on side.
When it doesn't materialise, the abuse towards the players will get louder and more destructive.
United will revel in it, their handful of fans will have a great laugh at our expense and we'll lose.
My only concern and it will be plain and clear for all to see is that it will only paper over the very large cracks should he get more time.
Unless there is a drastic turn of events then we will just stumble along with 'Luck' not being on our side.
13-08-2013, 07:56 AM
Did you buy a ST? If you did, maybe you should get a new crystal ball :wink: :greengrin
13-08-2013, 08:08 AM
Yip, all the qualities fenlon tries to sign in a player it looks like he has none himself. I expected him to walk or off by mutual consent yesterday. Sad times indeed
13-08-2013, 08:49 AM
This article hits the nail right on the head.
Makaveli
13-08-2013, 08:55 AM
Aye. Almost makes you glad so many Edinburgh journos are jambos itching to put the boot in.
Don't care who does it as long as the pressure is kept on.
13-08-2013, 09:05 AM
Apart from the unsubstantiated speculation about Griffith and Taylor and the usual rubbish about Petrie being tight fisted...
13-08-2013, 09:13 AM
Hibs cannot afford to go into limbo by appointing an interim manager as it illustrates disarray and uncertainty. My gut feel is that Petrie will be sounding out possible replacements as we speak, and will announce a new manager at the same time as announcing Fenlon's departure.
13-08-2013, 09:13 AM
I think Fenlon just isn't good enough for the SPL. Too big a step. He is imo tactically clueless, for example on Sunday bringing on another defensive midfielder with the game at 0-0 with 60mins on the clock :confused:, and doesn't know how to have us up for the big games. Not good enough and needs to go.
13-08-2013, 09:33 AM
Hibs cannot afford to go into limbo by appointing an interim manager as it illustrates disarray and uncertainty. My gut feel is that Petrie will be sounding out possible replacements as we speak, and will announce a new manager at the same time as announcing Fenlon's departure.
No chance imo, it'd make him look underhand if he did that. He may be tentatively making enquiries about alternatives but we won't announce a new manager for q while yet
13-08-2013, 09:41 AM
Aye. Almost makes you glad so many Edinburgh journos are jambos itching to put the boot in.
Don't care who does it as long as the pressure is kept on.
Two days in a row from Bathgate and three in a month attacking Hibs and Fenlon. Anything to take his mind off Yamageddon.
Harpandcastle
13-08-2013, 09:50 AM
Two days in a row from Bathgate and three in a month attacking Hibs and Fenlon. Anything to take his mind off Yamageddon.
He can write a daily article about Fenlon's shortcomings as far as I'm concerned. Right now we need all the help we can get removing him from his position. It's gone far enough, his team is shambolic and I doubt many people see that changing.
13-08-2013, 10:03 AM
He's absolutely spot on though. Yam or no yam.
13-08-2013, 10:30 AM
You have much more faith in Petrie than I do.
13-08-2013, 10:43 AM
Petrie doesn't operate like that. He always plays it by the book which I used to applaud but now just see it as yet another example of how soft Hibs are. We do need strong leadership, clarity of vision and an ability to pull the club together at this point. We get none of that from Petrie.
13-08-2013, 10:44 AM
Bathgate writes p!sh. Regardless of whether what he's written is what you think, you can't say "good article" because his articlez on the liars/cheats/thieves across the town have been sycophantic drivel.
SurferRosa
13-08-2013, 10:45 AM
Journos have been trawling the tinterweb for a story and it appears this poll and the protest thread have made the national press. ( Record ) :coffee:
" Ninety-five percent of Hibs fans want Pat Fenlon to quit. More than 500 supporters yesterday voted in a poll on Hibs.net - and only 5% called for the manager to stay.
Support for Fenlon has plunged in the wake of Sundays derby defeat by Hearts and fans are calling for a protest. "
Negative publicity like this will certainly put more pressure on the club to act in some way i`d have thought.
sidneyhibbie
13-08-2013, 04:32 PM
But 33 others cant also have made this mistake
13-08-2013, 04:34 PM
But 33 others cant also have made this mistake
mcfly
13-08-2013, 04:51 PM
Am I right in saying pat fenlons contract is up at end of season?
If so surely the board are looking to his replacement already as we cannot be giving him a new contract.
In my view he has failed with the football on show an embarrassment. He's had enough time and must be removed.
The other thing that has annoyed me is the silence from the board. They are quick enough to plead for season ticket money but after yet another derby defeat - silence.
They deserve as much criticism as the manager of the result and performance is poor again on sat.
sidneyhibbie
13-08-2013, 08:03 PM
36 votes now in the stay camp thats frightening :confused:
13-08-2013, 08:27 PM
36 votes now in the stay camp thats frightening :confused:
Don't know why i'm even bothering to respond to this but **** it. It was obvious from the start that you were a jambo at the wind up, at first it was mildly amusing but it's boring now. You're running out of things to say so just stop posting here and start thinking about all the letters you can send to various Lithuanians when they decide to flush your team down the ****ter.
hibee19
13-08-2013, 09:25 PM
Breaking news: Pat has already been sacked and the Hibs board are just about to choose the new manager.
13-08-2013, 09:29 PM
Breaking news: Pat has already been sacked and the Hibs board are just about to choose the new manager.
Always wanted to do this....source ???
hibee19
13-08-2013, 09:31 PM
Always wanted to do this....source ???
The same as the source for most stories on here. I made it up.
13-08-2013, 09:33 PM
The same as the source for most stories on here. I made it up.
What's the point in that ?
hibee19
13-08-2013, 09:37 PM
What's the point in that ?
It was intended as a joke. I thought the picture would give that away.
13-08-2013, 09:42 PM
It was intended as a joke. I thought the picture would give that away.
Whoops, should have clicked on the picture to see it better....where is the I'm a twat smiley....
hibee19
13-08-2013, 09:53 PM
Whoops, should have clicked on the picture to see it better....where is the I'm a twat smiley....