View Full Version : What was the first Supporters Bus You went on

MADE IN LEITH
10-08-2013, 09:02 PM
Just remembering back in 1980 to 1982 the First Hibs Supporters bus I was on....

It was from Shades Bar at the bottom of Easter Road. Had some of the best laughs on that bus when I was a young lad many many moons ago.

LOL

10-08-2013, 09:03 PM
Bonnyrigg ;-)

10-08-2013, 09:05 PM
Musselburgh!

Loads of laughs. :greengrin

10-08-2013, 09:06 PM
St Giles juveniles bus from the Grassmarket, Bernie Glancy was bus convener

!963 away to Third Lanark

10-08-2013, 09:08 PM
Hawkhill with Mrs Mac :thumbsup:

10-08-2013, 09:10 PM
One with Maud on it :greengrin

Took me to bits for smoking and drinking :agree:

10-08-2013, 09:20 PM
Beastie

Absolute scream :greengrin

10-08-2013, 09:23 PM
The 26.

legends of 73
Uncle dougies bus from gilmerton's great bus

Aaron
The one that Maude (RIP) ran - think it was Hawkhill ?

OrdHibby
10-08-2013, 09:24 PM
The 26.

ALL THE WAY ROUND

OrdHibby
10-08-2013, 09:26 PM
Just remembering back in 1980 to 1982 the First Hibs Supporters bus I was on....

It was from Shades Bar at the bottom of Easter Road. Had some of the best laughs on that bus when I was a young lad many many moons ago.

LOL

i joined the Carlton bus in 1980 :flag:

erskine-hibby
10-08-2013, 09:27 PM
Went down to Wembley in 1977 on the Centurian Hearts supporters bus.
15 years old, only hibby on the bus...one wild weekend:cb

10-08-2013, 09:28 PM
A big red, white and blue bus from the Longstone social club for the Hibs Aberdeen cup final. We were 2-0 down by the time we got in.

10-08-2013, 09:37 PM
The one that Maude (RIP) ran - think it was Hawkhill ?

Green Reaper
10-08-2013, 09:43 PM
Liberton,great bus

Capt Mainwaring
10-08-2013, 09:45 PM
Bonnyrigg Bus run by Ian Brennan

10-08-2013, 09:46 PM
Maude Macfarlane's green and white army.

The world famous Picnic branch.

Hawkhill ya bass.

10-08-2013, 09:47 PM
Pentland Hibs bus about 1971.. Left from The White Hart in the Grassmarket.

Brick through the bus window at Tannadice. Brick through the bus window at Ibrox. Chased through back gardens in Kirkcaldy, Perth etc etc. Fights at midnight with Aberdeen supporters at Aberdeen. Oh and darts being thrown our way by Killie fans at Rugby Park. Oh and singing stop the bus I need a wee wee. Driver was very accommodating.

Ah the good old days eh.

Cauld Bovril
10-08-2013, 09:50 PM
Hawkhill. Skived the afternoon off school to head to Aberdeen for the first of many thumpings i witnessed up there in the 80`s.

connerg
10-08-2013, 10:02 PM
Carlton bus in 1982 away to Dundee. Got beat 2-1. Remember Fat Larry's Band, Zoom, being played at half time.

10-08-2013, 10:08 PM
Musselburgh!

Pints and pizza at the Caprice when we got back

10-08-2013, 10:08 PM
Carlton bus in 1982 away to Dundee. Got beat 2-1. Remember Fat Larry's Band, Zoom, being played at half time.

Not to mention Hot Chocolate. It started with a kiss.

Yuillsy
10-08-2013, 10:09 PM
Hawkhill with Maude. I travelled on that bus for a couple of years in the early to mid 90's.

10-08-2013, 10:16 PM
Central Branch I think Brian Clancy ran it. I went with my Uncle and in the early days it was the whole bus into the nearest pub leaving me and another couple of young ones outside said boozer being fed with Chisps and Coke. Great days

10-08-2013, 10:22 PM
Granton Travel.

Would leave from the bottom of Pennywell Road.

Some crazy times on that bus.

MADE IN LEITH
10-08-2013, 10:34 PM
Shades Bus back in 1980 to 82 was memorable but how much did you pay?

If I remember correctly I paid £3 and had to sell pontoon tickets also.

Too young to drink at the time but I remember all the booze on the bus and spewings trickling from the front of the bus to the back.

Good laughs apart from that!

10-08-2013, 10:39 PM
Libby travel bus from the Gardeners.bouncing

stormchild
10-08-2013, 10:40 PM
Me too with wee tommy peters

hibby67
10-08-2013, 10:40 PM
Granton Travel.

Would leave from the bottom of Pennywell Road.

Some crazy times on that bus.

This was my first bus the season we came back up from the first division 82 I think ....first game through to ibrox all the windows got smashed and I learnt I was a Fenian ??? Great times

10-08-2013, 10:45 PM
Torino and Beastie. Both a total rammy!

10-08-2013, 10:46 PM
The edinburgh west bus from portobello, mental days they were

Dunderhall
10-08-2013, 10:57 PM
Might have been Calton, too young to remember.
was going as an annoyance to my big brother then to the "safe" games.
Must have been late 70s and went to Dunfermline. No issues until our bus was attacked on the way out of Dunfy. Lost 3-4 windows on our side and freezing back over the Forth Bridge. Think it was old firm fans that done it.

Remember people peeing into empty beer cans, a few brave ones emptied them out the skylight in the bus roof.

One funny moment stands out, late 80's/early 90's on the Gylemuir bus after Tannadice.
A few early buses could park at the bottom of Tannadice St.
Something had kicked off and was over by the time we got to the bus.
Turns out some PC had lost his radio.

Sat for a good while then some high heid one boards the bus with a young WPC in tow.
Says no bus is leaving until the radio is returned.
Someone starts the Radio Gaga etc with the hands above the head clapping.
He went beetroot and the WPC behind him could hardly keep her grin off her face.

10-08-2013, 10:58 PM
St Giles juveniles bus from the Grassmarket, Bernie Glancy was bus convener

!963 away to Third Lanark

I joined the St Giles branch in '63 too. Bernie was a great guy.
Had previously travelled with a group of mates to a game v Third Lanark (IIRC played at Hampden as Cathkin was closed for repair work) with the Southern branch. Still remember the bus convener telling all us exuberant teenagers, if we kept the noise down he'd let us travel for nothing.:hyper: Happy days.

10-08-2013, 10:58 PM
Carlton away to Ross County in the cup, 2009-10 season.

We all know the result and I didn't get back to my Uni halls till 3. :boo hoo:

vein
10-08-2013, 11:29 PM
Crown and Cushion bus around 1994/5 I think. Remember it being a great laugh as an impressionable teenager! The bevvy was allowed at first but stopped when the bus was shared with the Leith branch shortly before the bus stopped all together. For some reason the main memory I have of the bus is the Divine Madness video being played on the way home from Aberdeen.

11-08-2013, 12:03 AM

Me too, for about ten years from late eighties onwards.

kenny-55
11-08-2013, 12:09 AM

Brick through the bus window at Tannadice. Brick through the bus window at Ibrox. Chased through back gardens in Kirkcaldy, Perth etc etc. Fights at midnight with Aberdeen supporters at Aberdeen. Oh and darts being thrown our way by Killie fans at Rugby Park. Oh and singing stop the bus I need a wee wee. Driver was very accommodating.

Ah the good old days eh.
I was also on the Pentland branch bus the same time as you we also sang
that billy ate all the pies 😄😄🍴 ahh happy memories indeed

Billy McKirdy
11-08-2013, 12:31 AM
It was a bus (havent a clue what supporters branch) that left from Albion Road near Easter Road to either Annfield or Somerset Park in 1980, the season we were first relegated to the First Division, I think it was Stirling rather than Ayr, It was my first away game and I was only 14 at the time, I went on my own and knew nobody there. Great experience tho :-)
This was back in the day when you could check in the Evening News through the week to see what buses were running and from where.

Miguel
11-08-2013, 01:13 AM
Carlton bus in the 1960s and early 1970s - cant recall exact name. The most mental bus I was ever on was the White Hoose Celtic bus on the 1970s. Went with a couple of Celtic pals from Niddrie to a European Cup match - think it was a semi-final - against Athletico Madrid. They were dirty b****** and match ended up a draw. Bus didn't get back until about half two in the morning. There were some real crazies on it, guys like Leo Devlin and Davy Adams. This was pre-casuals. Believe me. These guys wouldn't have wiped their ***** with casuals. They were seriously scary men.

11-08-2013, 02:04 AM
Carlton Branch bus when Davie Panton or Eddie Campbell were bus convenors back in late 60's.

Long time member of Carlton branch and can remember among other things..the bus breaking down on the way back form Kirkcaldy, the bus breaking down on the way back from Hampden after the 6-1 defeat by Celtic , being the only ádult' on he bus at Airdrie when the skinheads were pelting us with rocks.

Oh and the toilet thingyy that was a combination of an empty can of Skol and the skylight in the roof.

Didn't make what ran down the back window any better to look at but it did save in pit stop times.

Great memories.

11-08-2013, 03:08 AM
Musselburgh!

Many you wouldnt tell mum about dad!

Auckland Hibs
11-08-2013, 04:23 AM
IEC leaving from The Royal Nip - Charlie & then Dickie running the bus.

Someone should write a book about some of the adventures :not worth

11-08-2013, 06:13 AM

What was the branch with a club in Regent Terrace?

11-08-2013, 06:21 AM
What was the branch with a club in Regent Terrace?

Carlton?

deekster
11-08-2013, 06:24 AM
Maud's bus for about 5 years late 80's to early 90's . Scarfs off when entering Glasgow so the windows didn't get panned in. Some lady.

TheCabbage
11-08-2013, 06:33 AM
Torino Bus 1987 away to Clydebank in the cup.
Bus attacked with weegies armed with scaffolding poles.
Beat 1.0
Was done out the goalscorer sweep-Tossers didn't want to give me the money.
All in all a bad experience for a 14 year old

11-08-2013, 06:36 AM
Leith bus for me I think.

Also recall the Crown and Cushion bus that went for about 1 season around 1996 I would say.

11-08-2013, 06:47 AM
Bus run from Queensferry, 2003 final I think. Always get it to Hampden. :agree:

Then it was EdinLivi (four in hand), Bounce and then Sect 43. :agree:

gogsy23
11-08-2013, 07:13 AM
Bonnyrigg bus. Was late 80s to aberdeen. I was lead astray by the late great jackie woods. Bout the time poppers were on the go.

Proper mental for a 14 year old.

11-08-2013, 07:19 AM
The infamous Lancashire Hibs Supporters bus....... It broke down on the M6 in the middle of nowhere, there was always some sort of disaster:LOL:

11-08-2013, 07:25 AM
Alloa bus in the 70s when i was a kid but mostly by car in those days. Then the alloa bus again during the 80s when old enough to go on my own. Had some unbelievable laughs and that bus ran home or away every week sometimes with less than 10 of us on it! Trips to Aberdeen were particular favourites. The bus is still going strong, not bad for a wee out of town branch

11-08-2013, 07:27 AM
Carlton mid sixties, Mauds for many years also the Southern branch

GoldenEagle
11-08-2013, 07:28 AM
Gylemuir (Goram) Travel from the Gylemuir Inn

Benny Brazil
11-08-2013, 07:33 AM
Bus that used to pick up at the Rainbow Inn run by big Neil R - cant remember the name of it - some brilliant away days

11-08-2013, 07:42 AM
My first Bus experience was "The Doocat" to Hampden for a Scottish cup final on 6 May 1972

We'll leave it at that shall we. :agree:

11-08-2013, 07:48 AM
First game by bus was to aberdeen on the uphall/broxburn bus in 1995

11-08-2013, 07:48 AM
Maudes picnic branch
Scarves off as soon as we hit Glesgae
We got oor windaes tanned in at hunsville
We used to go to a junior ground not far from hunsville ( st something,i think) cheap as chips
Brilliant bus,,,even tho auld wullie hummed a wee bit
Arnie,jimmy,mikey s, the 2 stevies, and many more
Great days
Bt

11-08-2013, 07:49 AM
Beatie Bus for me, some great times, travelled to Liege on that bus, how we made it to the game God only knows:greengrin

Now travel with Carlton........

11-08-2013, 07:50 AM
my first supporters bus to travel on was wardie supporters bus ( ran from wardie hotel) just remember going to muirton park and one of the guys lifted us over the turnstiles ( about 8 of us) , and some watery stuff running up and down the bus, use to travel with the lochend shamrock way back then to, but wasnt from that area.

11-08-2013, 07:51 AM
Iona bar bus 98-99 Hamilton I think

francobaresi
11-08-2013, 07:53 AM
Hawkhill bus from Easter Road in early 80's, few of us used to go with Maud Mac as convenor. "Scarves doon boys, this is a rough area". lol, god bless Maud...

deekster
11-08-2013, 07:57 AM
Maudes picnic branch
We used to go to a junior ground not far from hunsville ( st something,i think) cheap as chips
Great days
Bt

Forgot about auld wullie he did smell ha ha

vercol36
11-08-2013, 07:59 AM
I got trains for years, so my first bus was a Sect43 one to Ayr away in the cup. Great atmosphere, but not so good for the return leg after I'd managed to get a migraine! Only other bus I got was the .net one to the Falkirk semi. Broke down at Deer Park. Think I might just stick to the choo-choo from now on!

scottish_sleepy
11-08-2013, 08:00 AM
Beastie McCluskey bus. Upstairs v Downstairs on the motorways was always fun. Poor bus driver must have wondered what the hell was going on.

11-08-2013, 08:09 AM
IEC (Independant East Coast) from Ross's in ER (now the mash tun) met ma good buddy J (Desperate Dan) on it. Both young whipper snappers back then

Mid 80's

Bus was run by Charlie.

Crazy times and a bloody eye opener.

11-08-2013, 08:11 AM
Whelehan branch sometime in mid 80's

11-08-2013, 08:11 AM
Libby travel wi my big Bro ..absolute scream of a bus ..never a dull moment wi (Uncle) Dougie Sneddon at the helm ..."The driver got £2.73p & says thanks very much ya bunch o miserable *******s" ...:tee hee:

Went on the IEC a couple o times before I got banned from the club ..:rolleyes:

MADE IN LEITH
11-08-2013, 08:13 AM
Though not Hibs related, I also remember getting a bus from Leith down to Wembley back in the 80's and us making a stop at a service station in Carlisle and it was absolute chaos. We got back on the bus and drove another few hours and decided to make a stop at a Birmingham Service Station, however the Police were there waiting and we didn't even make it to the car park. LOL

11-08-2013, 08:14 AM
Was the Carlton bus for me, remember the windows getting done in after a Rangers cup game in Glasgow, we had stopped in some wild west town for refreshments and got chased out the place, can't remember where that was.

11-08-2013, 08:16 AM
Tranent Hibs Supporters Club in the early 70s.

Dunsmuir's buses from Ormiston, scrappers every single one of them.

Ormiston to Macmerry to Crosskeys in Tranent to Pittencrieff in Musselburgh to wherever.

Great days.

11-08-2013, 08:58 AM
Uphall & Broxburn... Alongside our very own James Mcdonaugh

Ran (term used lightly) by Dougie & Malky... :)

coldingham hibs
11-08-2013, 08:58 AM
Carlton bus during the 80's & The Famous Fife when I moved over the water.

11-08-2013, 09:05 AM
Bonnyrigg. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay back in the day.

11-08-2013, 09:13 AM
Musselburgh 79. With big jim gardner, peter gray, john dickson, billy mince and co. Great times.

11-08-2013, 09:17 AM
A few sorties on the Stanton Branch bus. For the 93/94 final at PH was on the unofficial Stanton 4 bus which was a charabanc of vintage vintage compared to the other 3 actually run by the branch. Only upside i won the first scorer sweep which paid for everything that day.

11-08-2013, 09:34 AM
Free rail up til 16 but sometimes still got the bus for the craic. Pickup from the rob roy ( can't remember name of bus ) whelehan to Liege (robins nest) & remember getting chased about the car park in Dundee from the polis at 14 & told to get back on bus & GTF too funny :greengrin
also uncle dougies Libby (superb bus)

Galahibby
11-08-2013, 09:36 AM
Goram bus from the Gylemuir, mid 80's it would've been. Good times :-)

gorgie greens
11-08-2013, 09:40 AM
Went to a semi final at dens park v Aberdeen ,got the bus from the Chesser inn,then I was a member on Edinburgh West,toss up on the best trip was the beastie bus to wembley,f*****g nuts,best laugh,and Edinburgh West to Leige,they are the best that come to mind
Went
On the gylemuir bus for a couple of years

11-08-2013, 09:40 AM
It SHOULD have been the Musselburgh SC, but they had stopped running just as I was old enough to go on my own. So, my first was the Edinburgh West, from Albion Road.

It was actually totally at random. My Dad dropped me off and there were three buses in a row, I just jumped on the first one I saw.

For a short while, I just went on any bus I found, until I discovered the Artisan. I was hooked! The guys on that bus were a fantastic laugh, Jed, Fairney, Kano (yes, THAT Kano) and the rest. Great days!

Notahappyhibee
11-08-2013, 09:44 AM
Hibs organised buses for the semi final in the skol cup against rangers 85 i think . A Davie copper free kick to make it 1 nil on the night but 2 v 1 on aggregate. Some blue nose put a brick through the windscreen bus never got over 30 on the way home and it was freezing.

11-08-2013, 09:52 AM
Mines must have been the Broxburn bus. I can remember getting picked up in Pumpherston as a laddie. Must have been late 80's or early 90's. Used to travel on the Edinburgh/Livi bus. First time I went on it I ended up chatting to a guy, we've been friends ever since. That's sounds kinda gay tbh. Anyways since the Bathgate line is opened to Weegieville I use the train. Does that bus still pick up at deer park?

11-08-2013, 10:00 AM
For a short while, I just went on any bus I found, until I discovered the Artisan. I was hooked! The guys on that bus were a fantastic laugh, Jed, Fairney, Kano (yes, THAT Kano) and the rest. Great days!

I was working full time at the Arty when they were running the bus so always had to work Saturdays and always missed out.

Smiggy 7-0
11-08-2013, 10:03 AM
CARLTON BRANCH in the early 70's used to leave from the ROB ROY. Great bus, great guys like Big Frank D, Jimmy Marriot, Eddie Campbell, Eric Sykes, and yes even uncle Dougie Sneddon used to be on that one too.

11-08-2013, 10:04 AM
I was working full time at the Arty when they were running the bus so always had to work Saturdays and always missed out.

Bet you were the guy that refused to serve us younguns with the immortal line.

"if yur baws huvnae dropped, yur only gettin soft drinks!"

11-08-2013, 10:06 AM
Bet you were the guy that refused to serve us younguns with the immortal line.

"if yur baws huvnae dropped, yur only gettin soft drinks!"

Nah, we were more likely just to tell you to FO :agree:

plhibs
11-08-2013, 10:14 AM
Me too with wee tommy peters

Same as me. Remember going to Liverpool, really thought we would win that night.

Piqué
11-08-2013, 10:16 AM
The hibs.net bus to Killie last season. Got to start somewhere!

11-08-2013, 10:26 AM
Not belonging to any branch, a bunch of us from school would take any bus leaving from the supporters social club behind ER that had spare seats. The Southern Branch being the most used, run by a giant of a man whose name escapes me. This went on until we were left stranded without transport before a midweek game against the Sheep and rang around in desperation to get a mini-bus. We got one from Boni's that managed to get us to sheepland by half-time and cost, if memory serves, £19 for a 14 seater. We used them from then on and basically did what we pleased in regards to pubs, cairry-oots and 'rest' stops.

Great days :flag:

hibbymick
11-08-2013, 10:37 AM
IEC (Independant East Coast) from Ross's in ER (now the mash tun) met ma good buddy J (Desperate Dan) on it. Both young whipper snappers back then

Mid 80's

Bus was run by Charlie.

is this the same charlie who got nailed wi the porn videos coming back from liege :greengrin

hibbymick
11-08-2013, 10:39 AM

LOL

Do you remember who ran the bus ?

11-08-2013, 10:49 AM
Dolphin bus

Davy Mac
11-08-2013, 12:31 PM
Artisan Bus for me, great, daft and priceless moments thru the years.

We'll never see the likes again............

Depor Hibs
11-08-2013, 01:38 PM
Pentland around 1973-74.

Depor Hibs
11-08-2013, 01:39 PM
Pentland 1973-74

BG23
11-08-2013, 02:01 PM
Central Branch I think Brian Clancy ran it. I went with my Uncle and in the early days it was the whole bus into the nearest pub leaving me and another couple of young ones outside said boozer being fed with Chisps and Coke. Great days

They were great days glad u enjoyed it so much !!

gringojoe
11-08-2013, 02:06 PM
Artisan bus, great laugh.

MADE IN LEITH
11-08-2013, 02:12 PM
Do you remember who ran the bus ?

Only a young lad so no I don't remember names but I have some good memories of the hilarity on board though.

11-08-2013, 03:55 PM
Hawkhill for me too. Still remember trying to sell the pontoon cards and usually spending all my pocket money on them :greengrin

11-08-2013, 04:22 PM
Only a young lad so no I don't remember names but I have some good memories of the hilarity on board though.

Also went on the shades bar bus in the early 80s , you got the bus for free if you sold 50 pontoon tickets , remember Mickey Weir also going on the bus when he was injured ,his brother tubby was a regular , scream of a bus .:agree:

HibbyDave
11-08-2013, 04:35 PM
Early 70's Started out with Southern Branch (run by watty?) till he threw a couple of fans of the bus at Glenfarg on way back from Aberdeen (it was about 11.30pm and pitch dark!). We then moved to our own mini-bus for next few tears/Years. Eventually just started goin by car.

MM19
11-08-2013, 04:39 PM
Started going with the St Giles branch around 1969 junior members had to sell 6 bingo tickets at 5p a go to get on the bus free. Bernie sold the tickets. It was a great bus. Then moved to Edinburgh West in the 70s

Godsahibby
11-08-2013, 04:39 PM
Not a branch but always went on the supporters busses from the Pav. First time was probably early 90's.

11-08-2013, 04:48 PM
Hawkhill for me too. Still remember trying to sell the pontoon cards and usually spending all my pocket money on them :greengrin

wonder how many of us who were from the 80s/90s on t picnic bus can actually remember who on.net are????,,,i aint got a clue,,, i would recognise Mike Sweeney [I think]:wink::wink:
Bt

11-08-2013, 04:55 PM
Uphall & Broxburn... Alongside our very own James Mcdonaugh

Ran (term used lightly) by Dougie & Malky... :)

i must have went on the bus the same time as you then as i mind dougie

11-08-2013, 05:04 PM

wonder how many of us who were from the 80s/90s on t picnic bus can actually remember who on.net are????,,,i aint got a clue,,, i would recognise Mike Sweeney [I think]:wink::wink:
Bt

Hawkhill 1975-76 until 1990 when I could take no more of being treated as a Juvenile member by Mrs Mac as I approached my 30s. It all ended in debauchery on a trip to Aberdeen via a lengthy stop in Forfar.

Mike Sweeney is easily recognisable as he happily hasn't changed a bit. You won't find him on here though - not sure he believes in the telly, never mind the internet.
Hibbyradge is one you will find here - only change there is he doesn't seem up for it much now!!.

Looked up to both of them as a younger fellah :wink: and their crew of BJ, Jackson (who has sadly passed away), Paul Wightman etc.

I sometimes miss the bus and the Saturday morning Association kickabouts (and it was a 100% regular bus unlike a lot of other Branches, who fell by the wayside a long time before Hawkhill), but it is better for me to get around under my own steam now.

I did my time :greengrin

11-08-2013, 05:10 PM
Maudes picnic branch
Great days
Bt

Hiya

1 of the Stevies (Not the one that looks like John Denver)

Feed McGraw
11-08-2013, 05:20 PM
Started going with the St Giles branch around 1969 junior members had to sell 6 bingo tickets at 5p a go to get on the bus free. Bernie sold the tickets. It was a great bus. Then moved to Edinburgh West in the 70s Me too, I was 13 in 1969 and that was when me and my mate started travelling on the St. Giles bus, we used to sit on the steps at "The Vennel" in the Grassmarket waiting on the bus. Yeah a mind the bingo tickets a bob a go, the Evening news used to print the numbers IIRC. Great days, moved to the Carlton branch later on.

11-08-2013, 05:40 PM

Me also, from around 1968. :thumbsup:

cal-d hibs
11-08-2013, 06:54 PM
When I first started going to away games with mates it was the norm to wait at Haymarket and see what buses would arrive. Carlton at £2 was pricey and prayed that space would be on the Musselburgh bus as it was only £1.50 :greengrin Liberton bus would show up and be very unruly! :greengrinIt could get a bit hairy with loads of other teams buses coming in and Herts being very close by:cb

From mid to late 80's it was Hibs Loyal, which split into Michael Whelhan and Captains Cabin which a few of us stuck with for many years.
Probably been on almost every bus at some point, Pentland bus to semi at Ibrox 1985, it got us in for kick off:top marks
Artisan which some of mates stuck with for years, mad bus. Also got a bus from Clermiston a couple of times back in 1983, all the Broomie skins would get on at the old Securex building!!

MADE IN LEITH
12-08-2013, 07:30 AM
Also remember going through to the Skol Cup Final, but can't remember what bus I got through?

Ahhhhhrhhhh:rolleyes:

Bill Milne
12-08-2013, 07:47 AM
Nickies bus, which left from Waterloo Place, and was cheap as chips. This was around 1971. The bus evolved into Pentland Branch. Sadly, Nickie, himself (Malcolm Nicolson), is no longer with us.

tigerted
12-08-2013, 07:49 AM
The one and only Royston bus from the Willie Muir Pub. Also picked up at the Gunner, the Ferryboat and the Doocot. You didn't have to be crazy to get on it, but it helped! We never got the windows tanned in anywhere.

12-08-2013, 07:59 AM
The first buses I remember travelling on was SMT leaving St Andrew Sq. Would be the early 60's and you just turned up paid as you boarded and as one bus filled another would pull in behind. After a couple of years joined St Giles then moved to Calton cos they had two buses, one which went straight back after the game. Very important if you wanted to go out to the dancing on a Saturday night.

Dalkeith
12-08-2013, 08:02 AM
Libby travel bus from the Gardeners.bouncing

me as well

12-08-2013, 08:02 AM
Hiya

1 of the Stevies (Not the one that looks like John Denver)

My best 2 pals the Thomson twins ( Arnie & Jim) have sadly
passed many years ago,,did you sit with Mikey ???
And aye i remember the John Denver lookalike
Bt
Ps Maude would have had health and safety going nuts
pack the bairns on !!!!we always had moire than the regular
number

Dalkeith
12-08-2013, 08:09 AM
Libby travel wi my big Bro ..absolute scream of a bus ..never a dull moment wi (Uncle) Dougie Sneddon at the helm ..."The driver got £2.73p & says thanks very much ya bunch o miserable *******s" ...:tee hee:

i remember those days well, pontoon tickets, all day trips to aberdeen

12-08-2013, 08:50 AM
Edinburgh West, then Capital Hibs [used to pick up in Gorgay at white park] then Carlton for many years was a decent bus at the time.

12-08-2013, 08:55 AM
Edinburgh West, then Capital Hibs [used to pick up in Gorgay at white park] then Carlton for many years was a decent bus at the time.

Still is

12-08-2013, 09:04 AM
Still is

:fishin: never took you long mate :greengrin

12-08-2013, 09:25 AM
Hawkhill bus for a few years, then took the train when I got older, ´scarves doon boys´ and pontoon tickets the norm back then.Think ma first away game was Dunfermline and cos the bus was packed had to lie in the luggage rack above the heads.

12-08-2013, 09:34 AM
i must have went on the bus the same time as you then as i mind dougie

I used to get on at the Buchan arms (early mid 90's) Good guys until the bus broke down... Then it was every man and child for themselves :)

Was in my late teens at the time

berwickhibee
12-08-2013, 10:01 AM

Mid 80's

Bus was run by Charlie.

i used to go on this bus anaw!!:thumbsup: 2 boys, Charlie and stevie Hudson ran it from ross`s lounge,remember a dad and son both called dougie,both crazy but great times with them,me and some mates used to travel from Berwick to go on it, I remember Scottish cup quarter final in 1990 I think?? 52 seater bus to tannadiceand there was about 80 on it:thumbsup: we all had to get out at one point to get the bus up a hill:flag: a real eye opener for me also but the guys on the bus were brilliant with us,great times:flag:

inglisavhibs
12-08-2013, 10:04 AM

LOL

Port Seton from the foot of Inglis Avenue in the late sixties.

delbert
12-08-2013, 10:13 AM

LOL

Bonnyrigg bus in the 70's run by Charlie Fulton (What a man that was !), used to travel with his son, then after with Ian Brennan plus all the characters from that era, Tommy Peters, Tommy Thornton, Stefan Tymcevwyz, laughs too many to mention, was an absolute riot

12-08-2013, 10:14 AM
I started going to away games with friends by the SMT buses from St Andrews Square station. Their drivers went on strike one week and we headed down to the supporters club and that was when i met the immortal Mrs Matilda McFarlane, the rest is history as they say.

I traveled with her bus through the late sixties and the 70's and again, with my son, from the late 80s till she passed away. the memories of the people that used to travel regularly on this bus will always be with me, some still good friends even now.

A remarkable woman who brought loads of Hibbies through thick and thin to support the Hi bees away from home.

Her kindness to so many sometimes went untold but she remains an icon in Hibs fokelore

Mary Hinge
12-08-2013, 11:21 AM
Starting in the mid to late 60s.....

AWAY GAMES - Bonnyrigg Bus

HOME GAMES - My uncle (Davy Paul) used to pick me up in Dalkeith at 11am in his Ford Anglia then straight to the Cockatoo. Whilst Uncle Davy and his pals were in the Cockatoo, I would be kept amused with regular 'gifts' comprising packets of crisps and bottles of Coke. Normally left the Cockatoo at 14:45 for the white knuckle ride to ER.

Happy Days (and a half decent team to watch was also a benefit).

delbert
12-08-2013, 11:27 AM
Starting in the mid to late 60s.....

AWAY GAMES - Bonnyrigg Bus

HOME GAMES - My uncle (Davy Paul) used to pick me up in Dalkeith at 11am in his Ford Anglia then straight to the Cockatoo. Whilst Uncle Davy and his pals were in the Cockatoo, I would be kept amused with regular 'gifts' comprising packets of crisps and bottles of Coke. Normally left the Cockatoo at 14:45 for the white knuckle ride to ER.

Happy Days (and a half decent team to watch was also a benefit).

I had forgotten about Davy Paul on the Bonnyrigg bus, there was another character for sure, there were too many to mention to be honest, but its nice to think back. hard to believe I was watching the best Hibs team i'd ever see, i thought it was going to be like that forever - if only !!

MADE IN LEITH
12-08-2013, 05:42 PM
Hibs organised buses for the semi final in the skol cup against rangers 85 i think . A Davie copper free kick to make it 1 nil on the night but 2 v 1 on aggregate. Some blue nose put a brick through the windscreen bus never got over 30 on the way home and it was freezing.

The same happened to us in 82, but it was the back window that got smashed....yeh and it was freezing also. :boo hoo:

andudare2
12-08-2013, 05:46 PM
Carlton bus in the 1960s and early 1970s - cant recall exact name. The most mental bus I was ever on was the White Hoose Celtic bus on the 1970s. Went with a couple of Celtic pals from Niddrie to a European Cup match - think it was a semi-final - against Athletico Madrid. They were dirty b****** and match ended up a draw. Bus didn't get back until about half two in the morning. There were some real crazies on it, guys like Leo Devlin and Davy Adams. This was pre-casuals. Believe me. These guys wouldn't have wiped their ***** with casuals. They were seriously scary men.leo&davy both dead now m8.

andudare2
12-08-2013, 06:00 PM
is this the same charlie who got nailed wi the porn videos coming back from liege :greengrinaye!!!!!!!!!!!:greengrin

12-08-2013, 08:46 PM
Also remember going through to the Skol Cup Final, but can't remember what bus I got through?

Ahhhhhrhhhh:rolleyes:

Me to, went through on old double deckers, ended up back in Broadfields at Northfield so may have been buses from there.

One of the best ever days as a Hibee.:flag:

12-08-2013, 08:53 PM
Obviously Edinburgh buses whether that be Green or Maroon and White but was driven to away games until the mid 80's. Joined the Captains Cabin Hibs bus run by Johnny Douglas.

12-08-2013, 09:08 PM
Central Branch

12-08-2013, 09:08 PM
I remember I won the jackpot ticket the week I told Maude I was going to start going to go to away games by car. Her response of "if you didnae have any winning pontoon tickets you would've just kept the money" didnae go down too well!

hibbymick
12-08-2013, 09:10 PM
aye!!!!!!!!!!!:greengrin

That was comedy gold. Was it no the sniffer dugs that went into his bag:faf:
I remember him saying he was forced to watch them in front o the cops :greengrin

hibbymick
12-08-2013, 09:16 PM
I remember I won the jackpot ticket the week I told Maude I was going to start going to go to away games by car. Her response of "if you didnae have any winning pontoon tickets you would've just kept the money" didnae go down too well!

I went on her bus just the once, we were half smashed and wanted to stop for a piss, " this bus doesn't stop for the toilet son"
I don't think she was too impressed at finding a warm bottle o shandy half an hour later up the back o the bus. :cb

12-08-2013, 09:22 PM
i used to go on this bus anaw!!:thumbsup: 2 boys, Charlie and stevie Hudson ran it from ross`s lounge,remember a dad and son both called dougie,both crazy but great times with them,me and some mates used to travel from Berwick to go on it, I remember Scottish cup quarter final in 1990 I think?? 52 seater bus to tannadiceand there was about 80 on it:thumbsup: we all had to get out at one point to get the bus up a hill:flag: a real eye opener for me also but the guys on the bus were brilliant with us,great times:flag:

The trips ups north were always the best. We paid a couple of quid extra for a bog on the bus to hide the booze.

Some crazy nights in Stonehaven and I think Laurencekirk as well.

In a word Mental

gorgie greens
12-08-2013, 11:16 PM
Though not Hibs related, I also remember getting a bus from Leith down to Wembley back in the 80's and us making a stop at a service station in Carlisle and it was absolute chaos. We got back on the bus and drove another few hours and decided to make a stop at a Birmingham Service Station, however the Police were there waiting and we didn't even make it to the car park. LOL

remember it well,Carlisle fans heading to wembley stabbed a couple of Scots guys at a service station,stayed in a hotel in Watford there was a bus full of huns in the hotel,(could not believe they never had union jacks but Scottish flags instead)anyway there bus got in a couple of hours before ours and they had managed to get banned from all the local pubs in that time,Great trip,went with a yam mate,bus left the stage door.

Auckland Hibs
13-08-2013, 01:23 AM
The trips ups north were always the best. We paid a couple of quid extra for a bog on the bus to hide the booze.

In a word Mental

Trips to Aberdeen were always the best, plenty booze on the way up, stripper and a stop at Laurencekirk before & after the match (a few of the guys usually stayed there drinking and missed the game). Remember Charlie missing the bus after one trip up there and having to taxi back to Edinburgh.

Trips to Kilmarnock were also usually quite an adventure - breaking down at Harthill one return trip ended up with 40 of us on a LRT bus singing & drinking (pretty sure Dickie had a collection for the LRT Driver to keep him quiet).

One bad memory was after playing Partick Thistle in Glasgow, a few Hibees getting smashed by a group of ICF whilst walking back to their buses which in turn lead to the IEC bus being attacked and one of the guys on the bus being slashed - one of the reasons why I hate Rangers more than any other club in Scotland.

Also went to a few games on the Gilmerton bus back in the early 90's - double decker to Dundee Utd for a Cup Game (think we lost 1-0), remember there being a huge Hibs Support. Lasting memory from the trip was watching the card school on the bus on the way up and some guy winning 300-400 quid, he then lost the lot and more on the way back to Edinburgh!!

Wee Scottie Dug
13-08-2013, 01:35 AM
Hawkhill then Carlton then Central - I think in that order . . . Now just my own wheels or random buses on our Hampden experiences !!

Bukta#8
13-08-2013, 07:20 AM
My big brother took me on the MB bus in.the late 70s with the bananie boys , then.when me and some pals were 13/14 we started forth travel for about half a season in 83 , also went on the dean bus which was very civilized and had a toilet

andudare2
13-08-2013, 10:57 AM
That was comedy gold. Was it no the sniffer dugs that went into his bag:faf:
I remember him saying he was forced to watch them in front o the cops :greengrinwas customs not the plod m8
&vids had never been out the bag. was a couple of them on the bus dashboard that had been watched but the dafties missed them, these belonged to somebody else tho!:greengrin:greengrin guffies fined me a big note for importing them,did say how the fek can you import something you had taken with you?made no odds to the klunts tho!:greengrin:greengrin

andudare2
13-08-2013, 11:06 AM
Trips to Aberdeen were always the best, plenty booze on the way up, stripper and a stop at Laurencekirk before & after the match (a few of the guys usually stayed there drinking and missed the game). Remember Charlie missing the bus after one trip up there and having to taxi back to Edinburgh.

Trips to Kilmarnock were also usually quite an adventure - breaking down at Harthill one return trip ended up with 40 of us on a LRT bus singing & drinking (pretty sure Dickie had a collection for the LRT Driver to keep him quiet).

One bad memory was after playing Partick Thistle in Glasgow, a few Hibees getting smashed by a group of ICF whilst walking back to their buses which in turn lead to the IEC bus being attacked and one of the guys on the bus being slashed - one of the reasons why I hate Rangers more than any other club in Scotland.

Also went to a few games on the Gilmerton bus back in the early 90's - double decker to Dundee Utd for a Cup Game (think we lost 1-0), remember there being a huge Hibs Support. Lasting memory from the trip was watching the card school on the bus on the way up and some guy winning 300-400 quid, he then lost the lot and more on the way back to Edinburgh!!re.taxi .got it fae laurencekirk,*****£90 , worth it tho as hibs won 2 0, still dont know how guy in white hotel in laurencekirk let us away with what we done,strippers in his lounge,dancing on pool table, aw the chorrin etc. then he would give us a carry oot for trip hame for fek all,think he was just glad to get rid of us!:greengrin:greengrin

13-08-2013, 12:36 PM
Central for me, late 70s/early 80s, convener Jimmy Marriott(?) ... who had a key for traffic lights, as I remember it? Or maybe he was kidding the kids on, and a teenager me fell for it too. Moved on to Carllton for some vague reason. It was on one of them that I went to an Ayr Utd cup match, where the polis directed the hibs buses into an unlit wasteland of a car park .... where we were ambushed big time with bottles by the local west coast habitees, all wearing hard hats in case any were returned.

What happened to the supporters club buses? Are there still a bunch of them that go to away games?

13-08-2013, 12:40 PM
re.taxi .got it fae laurencekirk,*****£90 , worth it tho as hibs won 2 0, still dont know how guy in white hotel in laurencekirk let us away with what we done,strippers in his lounge,dancing on pool table, aw the chorrin etc. then he would give us a carry oot for trip hame for fek all,think he was just glad to get rid of us!:greengrin:greengrin

It was one if the guys on the buses brother was it not that owned/ran the hotel. Was totally mental but what stuck in my mind was everyone was looked after, from the youngest to oldest.

Brilliant times.

hibbymick
13-08-2013, 01:22 PM
was customs not the plod m8
&vids had never been out the bag. was a couple of them on the bus dashboard that had been watched but the dafties missed them, these belonged to somebody else tho!:greengrin:greengrin guffies fined me a big note for importing them,did say how the fek can you import something you had taken with you?made no odds to the klunts tho!:greengrin:greengrin

Is this you Charlie ?

Highland Hibby
13-08-2013, 01:26 PM
I remember the IEC bus up to Aberdeen when the polis boarded the bus on the motorway to see if we had any peev. Everyone was amazed when they never found any but then found out 10 yards down the road when the came back on again that someone had just opened the emergency door and left the bin liner full of empties in the middle of the motorway. Also coming back from ibrox when houchie had scored the winner the polis redirected us over the Kincardine and forth road bridges after giving us an escort out of Glasgow. Also mind dickie and I think stuart (rip) getting battered by pars fans when in dunfy on the last day of the season. We'll get more drunk than you......iec.....iec

berwickhibee
13-08-2013, 01:47 PM

In a word Mental

remember stopping off at laurencekirk on the way to pittodrie(first league game after mercer) the lass in the cage behind the bar came oot and left the cage open by mistake!!! bottles of everything made it onto the bus,everybody was wrecked!!!:greengrin as I say I look back on these days as great days,loved it.

Highland Hibby
13-08-2013, 01:55 PM
remember stopping off at laurencekirk on the way to pittodrie(first league game after mercer) the lass in the cage behind the bar came oot and left the cage open by mistake!!! bottles of everything made it onto the bus,everybody was wrecked!!!:greengrin as I say I look back on these days as great days,loved it.

Was that the massive bottle of gin and another one too, one guy was unconscious on the floor of the bus. I think it was the bottles they use in pubs to take the nips from so that might have been another day, great bus tho.

andudare2
13-08-2013, 03:14 PM
Is this you Charlie ?yip!:greengrin:greengrin

hibbymick
13-08-2013, 03:21 PM
yip!:greengrin:greengrin

:greengrin I ended up bevying with you on that trip, we sat in a boozer till yon time in the morning , then we ACQUIRED some bevy from a boozer whos shelfs were a bit too close to hand . :cb

13-08-2013, 03:23 PM
Was that the massive bottle of gin and another one too, one guy was unconscious on the floor of the bus. I think it was the bottles they use in pubs to take the nips from so that might have been another day, great bus tho.

It was everything. Maybe that's why I hate whiskey these days. Utterly brilliant time. Like I say everyone looked out fur each other.

andudare2
13-08-2013, 07:08 PM
:greengrin I ended up bevying with you on that trip, we sat in a boozer till yon time in the morning , then we ACQUIRED some bevy from a boozer whos shelfs were a bit too close to hand . :cbassuming your gary f.? aka whitey!!!!!!!!!!!!

13-08-2013, 08:14 PM

Much admired as she was she had a mouth on her!
Not sure what era you were, but the tin lid for me was her telling a young man (who you may know) who was recently separated that it was "no wonder his wife left him"

southfieldhibby
13-08-2013, 09:16 PM

Aye, IEC for me too, an eyeopener for a couple of impressionable teenagers.What an absolute riot of a bus...all over Scotland and into Europe.

Particular memories are Anderlecht away, various trips to Pitodrie, Aidrie midweek when Charlie fell in a puddle and made the entire bus detour via his house on the way home so he could change his troosers before resuming the peeve-a-thin in the nip.

Think Dougie jnr called his kid Callum...those boys never used to actually go the games iirc, just get the bus to whatever city and get pished there!

Adniston Burn
13-08-2013, 09:53 PM
Early 1970's. Bus used to pick up quite a few of us outside Macmerry Miners Club before heading to the Cross Keys in Tranent. Great times

E10 Rifle
13-08-2013, 10:15 PM
The short lived, but nonetheless fun Forthtravel.

Ran during times when Hibs were probably at their very worst (until todays team) so around the early 80's. Saw us lose at Stenhousemuir in a friendly, 4-0 away to Morton when our driver got stopped for drunk driving on the way back (and we all thought we were going to have to spend the night in Port Glasgow)...but amazingly got a 1-0 win away at Celtic when I think Kano scored. The one thing that struck me about that day was the number of Celtic buses going back to Edinburgh outnumbered Hibee ones by about 5:1 (conservatively).

Will never understand why anyone who leaves Edinburgh to support a Weegie team.

13-08-2013, 10:20 PM

Ah the good old days eh.
We are bound to know each other then, as I travelled with this bus as well, if memory serves me the bus was run by "Nicky" [don't know/cant remember his last name, remember he had a bit of a stammer, good bus, loads o' laughs

Dunderhall
13-08-2013, 10:23 PM
Goram bus from the Gylemuir, mid 80's it would've been. Good times :-)
Our paths must have crossed, the one run by Derek Osbourne?

Dundee visits was the Clep and the butcher's pies next door. I was usually the mug that collected the change and ordered something like 35 pies. :greengrin

AustinHibee
14-08-2013, 09:59 AM
Pentland branch vs Leeds Elland road Oct 1974.Guy called Bobby Butcher (real name Kenny Newey).Had a fitba team in the Sunday league.Used to meet in White Hart, Grassmarket.

AustinHibee
14-08-2013, 10:00 AM
Sorry 1973.Cropley ran the show that night.

Simkin911
14-08-2013, 10:38 AM
Edinburgh West in the late 80s particularly. Going to the games home & away was much more fun then!

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 06:40 PM
Me to, went through on old double deckers, ended up back in Broadfields at Northfield so may have been buses from there.

One of the best ever days as a Hibee.:flag:

Without a doubt, a great match, a great turnout and a great WIN :greengrin

14-08-2013, 08:02 PM
We are bound to know each other then, as I travelled with this bus as well, if memory serves me the bus was run by "Nicky" [don't know/cant remember his last name, remember he had a bit of a stammer, good bus, loads o' laughs

That's right. Nicky and Dave. Sadly Nicky died some years ago but I bumped into Dave a couple of years ago at Easter Road.

The good old days.

Simmyalva
14-08-2013, 10:02 PM
Alloa branch mid 80s, Harry Bakker ran it, took 15 drunk teenagers home and away, he must have been off his head..

sadtom
15-08-2013, 12:58 AM
Had 4 seasons or so on firstly, the Erich Schaedler Hibs Supporters Club then Granton Travel. Think about 2 years on each but given the organised chaos that was both buses and my failing memory the countless shenanigans have merged into one. For a 15-19 year old every other weekend was an 'adventure'.
The 2 branches (both excommunicated from the official supporters club) shared a bus a couple of times at end of season, so when Erich would no longer bail out the branch and the last bus company (Tam the driver!) could/would no longer accommodate, then a few started going with the Granton.
Then had a couple of seasons on Dougie's Libby branch. A good laugh but naewhere near as 'hairy' as the other 2. lol

Also over the years, has a couple of trips on the Pentland and Carlton, a few on the Beastie bus. And even a lift home on the Hawkhill after we got left by the Shades or Granton (never ever waited, always folk missing on way back. 3 to a seat going - seat tae yersel on the way back. lol) after some tomfoolery with the natives at Parkheid.
Maude wouldn't let us on her bus after she saw my mate had a Hibs lapel badge with a tricolour on it. Only after a mate (cheers SF:thumbsup:) who was a Hawkhill regular and I'm told a few others on the bus, intervened did the bus pull up 50 yards up the road and we got on. Otherwise they'd have left 2 16/17 year old Hibs fans on London Road wi packs o angry weedgies on the prowl.
I understand that Maude meant a lot to a lot of people, but she was never my cup o' Java.

15-08-2013, 11:00 AM
Carlton away to Ross County in the cup, 2009-10 season.

We all know the result and I didn't get back to my Uni halls till 3. :boo hoo:

When Andy Grierson chased Brockie along the grass verge of the motorway somewhere in the Highlands and fell al his length in the mud. ..now that was hilarious.

GoldenEagle
15-08-2013, 11:22 AM

Dundee visits was the Clep and the butcher's pies next door. I was usually the mug that collected the change and ordered something like 35 pies. :greengrin

Good times!

15-08-2013, 02:26 PM
That's right. Nicky and Dave. Sadly Nicky died some years ago but I bumped into Dave a couple of years ago at Easter Road.

The good old days.
Sorry to hear that Nicky has past on, was a good Hibby. f memory is correct, there were two "Davy's" on the bus, I was around 18 and think they were early 20's. Recall going down to friendly v Middlesborough, we were behind goals at one end and a young lad - think he was called Tom Tiny - climbed over a fence between us and group of home supporters and challenged them to fight, this resulted in,[ and I kid you not] the entire skinhead support behind goals at other end leaving en-masse and turning up outside gates at our end. They lined arms and ran at gates kicking them over and over in an attempt to get to us. No plod in sight. They forced open gates and mayhem ensued. After game went to Morpeth for a few shandy's. The two "Dave's'" started a fight outside the local disco and we were all rounded up, put on the bus and sent out of town. 3 of us , [myself included] however had been left behind and had to hitch-hike it back home. Happy days.

15-08-2013, 08:44 PM
When Andy Grierson chased Brockie along the grass verge of the motorway somewhere in the Highlands and fell al his length in the mud. ..now that was hilarious.

I concur Brooster, he wasnae a happy chappy after he fell:greengrin

15-08-2013, 08:52 PM
I concur Brooster, he wasnae a happy chappy after he fell:greengrin

Haha. Didn't help that he had a white polo on. It was even funnier when he went have a swig of whisky from his hip flask to calm himself down only to spill that on his polo as well.

Evergreen86
15-08-2013, 09:39 PM
Not so much a supporters bus story but more a story of a missed supporters bus.....

Me and a mate decided to go to a rearranged midweek game at St Johnstone..... I think the game had been called off at the weekend and they where charging a pound for the replay I think..... Must have been about 14/15 at the time.....

We both missed the bus by minutes and a fellow Hibby coming out his flat across from the ticket office seen us looking despondent and offered us a lift to Perth so without hesitation we jumped in.....

took us all the way to Perth, went our seprate ways at the game and then lo and be hold after the game (we got beat 1-0
i think...Freezin cauld!!!) he was outside waiting with his wife/bird who was meeting him at the game that night........

Took us both home and I still have no idea who he is........So firstly Id like to thank him for not doing a Jimmy Saville on us and secondly you got us to the game and back and I dont know who you are...... So thanks Mr Hibby -Top Boy!:not worth

Oh aye and my auld dear went radio rental when I got in and told her... got a bat across the jaw.......:grr:

15-08-2013, 09:43 PM
I travelled on various buses until around 1977 when i joined Edinburgh West...my older mates thought it was the mentalist bus and i was dragged along for two seasons which opened my eyes to all sorts of nonsense...it was mental but im not sure it was the mentalist...Moved house to the sticks in 79 and travelled with Bonnyrigg leaving from The Ex Servicemens Club and The Harrow Hotel, the aforementioned Tammy Peters and Ian Brennan ran a smooth operation and i continued my apprenticeship as a young alcoholic which i'd started on Edinburgh West.

One memory stands out from travelling with The Bonnyrigg Branch...stopping at Perth on the way back from Aberdeen one guy dared another to swim naked over the River Tay in the centre of Town...Taking up the dare the Man from Atlantis stripped off and began swimming but was caught by a current and quickly washed downstream, his head kept going under as he drunkenly fought the pull of the river and it looked like he was a goner as he was struggling badly in the icy water...then suddenly he hit a sandbank and managed to drag himself to his feet much to the relief of the guy who offered him the dare and the sizeable crowd which had gathered to watch the suicide bid... Once back on the bus the fiver bet was settled after a bout of handbags from the swimmers mates who felt the blame for the near death experience lay with the guy who offered the bet and not the guy who took up the offer...mental times but i got fed up with supporters buses as your at the mercy of too many possibilities over which you have no control...i go in the car these days....always first home.

iainm
15-08-2013, 10:05 PM
Bonnyrigg bus - season 77-78. Used to get picked up outside the Harrow Hotel in Dalkeith

As been said, some characters on that bus!!

Still got my membership card from when I first joined the supporters club

Used to like the voting for the 'man of the match' on the way home. Always seemed to be won by Jackie Macnamara! And rightly so as he was a class act!

15-08-2013, 10:58 PM
Haven`t read all 6 pages but has anyone mentioned Excursión buses that ran in 70s ? Eastern Scottish doublé deckers that filled up in St Andrew`s Square depending on demand , for big cup games there`d be 6 or 7 doublé deckers . Especially popular for places like Motherwell where train ( age of Football Specials ) weren`t an option . Though not run by oficial supporters clubs there were a lot of regular travellers on these buses and even some rivalry between buses - " Excursion 1 they kill for fun " . These buses and supporters club buses ran at a time when not many people had cars and it`s obvious from comments from this thread and others that many fans became regular fans of Hibs at this time at least partly because of friendships that struck up then . Have often thought that Hibs should do more to encourage fans to travel by bus or train to away matches and maybe booze sponsors could help too while discouraging drink driving .

16-08-2013, 12:16 PM
Haven`t read all 6 pages but has anyone mentioned Excursión buses that ran in 70s ? Eastern Scottish doublé deckers that filled up in St Andrew`s Square depending on demand , for big cup games there`d be 6 or 7 doublé deckers . Especially popular for places like Motherwell where train ( age of Football Specials ) weren`t an option . Though not run by oficial supporters clubs there were a lot of regular travellers on these buses and even some rivalry between buses - " Excursion 1 they kill for fun " . These buses and supporters club buses ran at a time when not many people had cars and it`s obvious from comments from this thread and others that many fans became regular fans of Hibs at this time at least partly because of friendships that struck up then . Have often thought that Hibs should do more to encourage fans to travel by bus or train to away matches and maybe booze sponsors could help too while discouraging drink driving .

great points; the match itself was often as not a sideshow to the travel

16-08-2013, 03:30 PM
Had 4 seasons or so on firstly, the Erich Schaedler Hibs Supporters Club then Granton Travel. Think about 2 years on each but given the organised chaos that was both buses and my failing memory the countless shenanigans have merged into one. For a 15-19 year old every other weekend was an 'adventure'.
The 2 branches (both excommunicated from the official supporters club) shared a bus a couple of times at end of season, so when Erich would no longer bail out the branch and the last bus company (Tam the driver!) could/would no longer accommodate, then a few started going with the Granton.
Then had a couple of seasons on Dougie's Libby branch. A good laugh but naewhere near as 'hairy' as the other 2. lol

Also over the years, has a couple of trips on the Pentland and Carlton, a few on the Beastie bus. And even a lift home on the Hawkhill after we got left by the Shades or Granton (never ever waited, always folk missing on way back. 3 to a seat going - seat tae yersel on the way back. lol) after some tomfoolery with the natives at Parkheid.
Maude wouldn't let us on her bus after she saw my mate had a Hibs lapel badge with a tricolour on it. Only after a mate (cheers SF:thumbsup:) who was a Hawkhill regular and I'm told a few others on the bus, intervened did the bus pull up 50 yards up the road and we got on. Otherwise they'd have left 2 16/17 year old Hibs fans on London Road wi packs o angry weedgies on the prowl.
I understand that Maude meant a lot to a lot of people, but she was never my cup o' Java.

How do you think i felt then, i travelled on the Granton bus, and that day i happened to get lifted with another guy from Broomhouse, from being kept in a massive cell under celtcs main stand then taken to London Rd police station where the both of us were let out at about the same time the pubs were closing, scary so it was walking back along London Rd. :greengrin

They were the days eh. :thumbsup:

16-08-2013, 04:41 PM
Much admired as she was she had a mouth on her!
Not sure what era you were, but the tin lid for me was her telling a young man (who you may know) who was recently separated that it was "no wonder his wife left him"

It was roughly mid '80s - mid '90s when I went on the bus.

16-08-2013, 05:41 PM

I started going on the gylemuir bus in the mid 80s. Went to just about every away game for over ten years. Some great times. Who are you because i used to nip into the butcher and place the pie order.

Dunderhall
16-08-2013, 09:39 PM
I started going on the gylemuir bus in the mid 80s. Went to just about every away game for over ten years. Some great times. Who are you because i used to nip into the butcher and place the pie order.
Good to hear from you, it's a small world.
just need goldeneagle to reveal himself. :agree:

You heard from Jan the Pole recently. :greengrin

sadtom
16-08-2013, 11:03 PM
How do you think i felt then, i travelled on the Granton bus, and that day i happened to get lifted with another guy from Broomhouse, from being kept in a massive cell under celtcs main stand then taken to London Rd police station where the both of us were let out at about the same time the pubs were closing, scary so it was walking back along London Rd. :greengrin

I'll bet is was.

They were the days eh. :thumbsup:

They were indeed. Mad bad and dangerous at times but wouldn't have had it any other way back then. :greengrin
Plenty laughs but plenty fill yer breeks moment too. About 60 of us tryin to stand our ground in the carpark at the back o the broomloan end wi what started as about 2/300 sticky buns then more and more of them til there were thousands of them. I remember seeing a guy Harry's (he had his own song!!:greengrin) tooth flying through the air in the middle of the chaos. Then having to fight all the way through their support all the way to the bus which was parked about half a mile away. Don't think there was a single person on the bus who wasn't sporting some sort of injury.

I still cant always remember what happened on either bus, both were similarly mental.
Everytime I think about it another 'incident' springs to mind.
Pinching a set of ladders out someone's garage and using it to get the whole bus over the back wall into Love Street. Was a pity the spikes at the top were covered in tar and everyone had manky black hands for the rest of the day!

Taking a detour on the way to motherwell (I think) and going via the rangers club/orange hall in broxburn or Bathgate (all look the same to me :agree:) storming the place and 'rearranging' the interior (and a few faces). lol

Then there was the gadgie who was the skinhead brother of a former miss Scotland who was buzzing glue on the bus on route to parkheid (might have even been the same day mentioned earlier). He conked out and pished himself. Then when we arrived at the ground he walked straight over to a chippy filled wi celtc fans and put his boot straight through the window much to the shock of the 2 coppers who were standing about 5 feet away. They wouldn't have had an easier 'collar' in their careers. At least you didnae have to spend your time in the cells stinking of yer own pish. :greengrin

Getting banned fae Kinross (twice) - think that wiz the Shades.

I'm shakin' my heid thinkin about it all.
I'd run a mile the other direction now but back then it was a scream.
Canny whack a bit of daft laddiness when yer a daft laddie. :greengrin

16-08-2013, 11:18 PM
Also went on the shades bar bus in the early 80s , you got the bus for free if you sold 50 pontoon tickets , remember Mickey Weir also going on the bus when he was injured ,his brother tubby was a regular , scream of a bus .:agree:

That was me and a mate of mine. Capital Hibs was the name and we ran it for a couple of years when we were only 17/18 years old.

Some brilliant trips especially up to Aberdeen and Dundee. Alas had to stop it when someone chucked a headrest out the rear exit window through the windscreen of a Rangers fan's car on the M8 coming back from Ibrox. Mad bus driver as well. Great banter with Artisan Bus at that time also.

We also took 92 people on a 57 seater to Hampden for the Scotland v Spain WC qualifier :greengrin

delbert
17-08-2013, 02:29 AM
I travelled on various buses until around 1977 when i joined Edinburgh West...my older mates thought it was the mentalist bus and i was dragged along for two seasons which opened my eyes to all sorts of nonsense...it was mental but im not sure it was the mentalist...Moved house to the sticks in 79 and travelled with Bonnyrigg leaving from The Ex Servicemens Club and The Harrow Hotel, the aforementioned Tammy Peters and Ian Brennan ran a smooth operation and i continued my apprenticeship as a young alcoholic which i'd started on Edinburgh West.

One memory stands out from travelling with The Bonnyrigg Branch...stopping at Perth on the way back from Aberdeen one guy dared another to swim naked over the River Tay in the centre of Town...Taking up the dare the Man from Atlantis stripped off and began swimming but was caught by a current and quickly washed downstream, his head kept going under as he drunkenly fought the pull of the river and it looked like he was a goner as he was struggling badly in the icy water...then suddenly he hit a sandbank and managed to drag himself to his feet much to the relief of the guy who offered him the dare and the sizeable crowd which had gathered to watch the suicide bid... Once back on the bus the fiver bet was settled after a bout of handbags from the swimmers mates who felt the blame for the near death experience lay with the guy who offered the bet and not the guy who took up the offer...mental times but i got fed up with supporters buses as your at the mercy of too many possibilities over which you have no control...i go in the car these days....always first home.

That I remember well, the guy in question was a guy called Davie Vandepeear, we were in the pub opposite where he went in and came out and watched the whole thing, mental but funny as ! When he came out he had cut his foot really badly but we still went back to Bonnyrigg, when we got off the bus we flagged down a police car but seeing a bunch of football nutters they just drove off, cue much abuse, so much so they stopped and came back, were looking to arrest someone/anyone, but when they saw the state of Davie's foot they finally got the message, think they might have carted him off to the hospital, not sure though, memory a bit hazy !! There were a number of crazy days out on that bus, but some really brilliant trips up north, Glasgow was another matter, 50 miles west and 200 years back into the past, who needs a tardis for time travel ?

17-08-2013, 09:03 AM
Only once ever ..... Famous Fife to Belgium :agree: Great times

MADE IN LEITH
17-08-2013, 05:58 PM
That was me and a mate of mine. Capital Hibs was the name and we ran it for a couple of years when we were only 17/18 years old.

Some brilliant trips especially up to Aberdeen and Dundee. Alas had to stop it when someone chucked a headrest out the rear exit window through the windscreen of a Rangers fan's car on the M8 coming back from Ibrox. Mad bus driver as well. Great banter with Artisan Bus at that time also.

We also took 92 people on a 57 seater to Hampden for the Scotland v Spain WC qualifier :greengrin

Remember coming home from the game on the Shades bus and the bus driver had the front bus door open and once we came to Gorgie Rd a pi5hed Hibs fan was hanging on to the front door spitting at people. Mental days :cb

17-08-2013, 06:51 PM
It was roughly mid '80s - mid '90s when I went on the bus.

Did you play with the Hawkhill legends on a Saturday morning perchance?

hibby07
19-08-2013, 03:15 AM

Are you sure it was Capital Hibs. I helped run Capital Hibs when it was in existence and can't remember leaving from shades usually we left from the top of the lane at the Hibs club. After repeated attempts to join the Hibs supporters association and being turned down we disbanded and most of us joined Southern Branch.

19-08-2013, 08:05 AM
Did you play with the Hawkhill legends on a Saturday morning perchance?

Aye, i turned up a few times, in some pretty rough states too!

I remember playing in a federation 5's tournament in Perth when we ended up turning over a pool table in a boozer, I doubt old Maude heard about that! I'm sure we ended up in a "questionable" establishment just off Rose Street, but, thankfully the memories a bit vague!

brian6-2
19-08-2013, 08:29 AM
crown & cushion from piershill about 18 years ago.

great bus!!

19-08-2013, 08:52 AM

Mid 80's

Bus was run by Charlie.

That was one radge bus right enough. Fish supper stops in Govan and an incident defending huns in a Coatbridge Tim boozer/shrine come to mind.

andudare2
19-08-2013, 12:53 PM
That was one radge bus right enough. Fish supper stops in Govan and an incident defending huns in a Coatbridge Tim boozer/shrine come to mind.that was peter grant,s boozer. we gave a lift through to game to a couple of hun fans fae ross,s. went to boozer,muppets picked on them so got told in no uncertain terms to leave well alone as they were with us!. went to the ants club that day,missed game(no suprise there then ha ha)as did most of guy,s on bus, came hame with hibs scarfs tied to wing mirrors of bus ,just a normal trip with the I.E.C then eh?

19-08-2013, 02:08 PM
Famous Fife - only a few times. Hated the fag reek! :sick:

19-08-2013, 02:45 PM
Aye, i turned up a few times, in some pretty rough states too!

I remember playing in a federation 5's tournament in Perth when we ended up turning over a pool table in a boozer, I doubt old Maude heard about that! I'm sure we ended up in a "questionable" establishment just off Rose Street, but, thankfully the memories a bit vague!

Its Colin, right? I think a radiator was a casualty that night too.

Davy Mac
19-08-2013, 04:45 PM
I have already posted earlier that the 'Artisan' as my bus of choice but I thought I would share this little ditty, one of my pals travelled to Fife for an East Fife cup match where I remember we got beat 2-0, total nightmare game, the usual big Hibs crowd, lots of promises, win the cup BLAH BLAH BLAH

But he is a Fisherman eh?, left Dunbar harbour as usual did a bit of fishing in the Forth headed across to Methil, pitched up and then back out on the boat for a bit of fishing in the dark - brilliant!

Gala Foxes
19-08-2013, 05:05 PM
4 games on Carlton in 1977 then joined Capital until it collapsed in 1979 when I joined Edinburgh West - happy days on the west until 1986

19-08-2013, 06:08 PM
Its Colin, right? I think a radiator was a casualty that night too.

Aye it is indeed! :agree:

Cannae mind the radiator though!

MADE IN LEITH
21-08-2013, 08:57 PM

Your stories bring back memories mate, the shades bus was a great laugh and will be forever in my mind.

21-08-2013, 09:31 PM
Aye it is indeed! :agree:

Cannae mind the radiator though!

Good man.
you were my first pick for right back every time.

Hope you are well
Non JD Stevie

21-08-2013, 09:41 PM
Good man.
you were my first pick for right back every time.

Hope you are well
Non JD Stevie

I doubt I would be now! :-)

FifeHibernian
22-08-2013, 01:55 AM
Anyone go on or ever been on the 4 In Hand bus? Know if it's any good?

half.time.draw.
22-08-2013, 02:01 AM
That I remember well, the guy in question was a guy called Davie Vandepeear, we were in the pub opposite where he went in and came out and watched the whole thing, mental but funny as ! When he came out he had cut his foot really badly but we still went back to Bonnyrigg, when we got off the bus we flagged down a police car but seeing a bunch of football nutters they just drove off, cue much abuse, so much so they stopped and came back, were looking to arrest someone/anyone, but when they saw the state of Davie's foot they finally got the message, think they might have carted him off to the hospital, not sure though, memory a bit hazy !! There were a number of crazy days out on that bus, but some really brilliant trips up north, Glasgow was another matter, 50 miles west and 200 years back into the past, who needs a tardis for time travel ?

I was a regular on that bus.
Sadly Davie is now dead. Rip Vandie.

sadtom
22-08-2013, 08:51 AM
Your stories bring back memories mate, the shades bus was a great laugh and will be forever in my mind.

:-)
Had to be seen to be believed sometimes.

22-08-2013, 09:32 AM
Good to hear from you, it's a small world.
just need goldeneagle to reveal himself. :agree:

You heard from Jan the Pole recently. :greengrin

Was on the Gylemuir bus coming back from aberdeen when it caught fire at kinross. Thank god for Meadows Removals lorries and their Hibby drivers.

Dunderhall
22-08-2013, 10:39 AM
Was on the Gylemuir bus coming back from aberdeen when it caught fire at kinross. Thank god for Meadows Removals lorries and their Hibby drivers.
I'd forgotten about that.

Haven't forgotten about the time the brakes failed as we approached them Newbridge roundabout!
Quick wander round to the Newbridge Inn to calm the nerves was in order.
That was in '94 I think.

22-08-2013, 12:22 PM
Are you sure it was Capital Hibs. I helped run Capital Hibs when it was in existence and can't remember leaving from shades usually we left from the top of the lane at the Hibs club. After repeated attempts to join the Hibs supporters association and being turned down we disbanded and most of us joined Southern Branch.

I first cut my teeth on the Eastern Scottish excursion in the mid 70's. The went onto join Capital Hibs late 70's early 80's. I think over the years there were a couple of buses called themselves capital but we were the original 'Mental Capital Hibs Supporters Club'. If memory serves me right we left from London Rd at the top of Easter Road. Had some great times and still good mates with a lot of guys i met on the bus.

After Capital a few of us moved on to Southern Branch were we are still members.

22-08-2013, 12:44 PM
First and only regular bus was the IEC from The Nip.

A bit mental. Strippers on the bus was not unusual.

hibbymick
22-08-2013, 12:54 PM
I remember the shades bus away to Morton. A tannoy announcement at half time telling us to make our own way home. Turned Oot tam the driver got done wi drink driving. So We ended up on the team bus. I've just ripped the tom kite out of benny Brazil for 90 mins ( see it happened back then as well) then had to sit beside him on the way home.

sadtom
22-08-2013, 02:23 PM
I remember the shades bus away to Morton. A tannoy announcement at half time telling us to make our own way home. Turned Oot tam the driver got done wi drink driving. So We ended up on the team bus. I've just ripped the tom kite out of benny Brazil for 90 mins ( see it happened back then as well) then had to sit beside him on the way home.

When the branch got barred fae Kinross, it was on the way back fae tannadice (IIRC) and Tam the driver got carried on to the bus after the pub stop.
Didnt even cross yer mind back then to be concerned that the coach driver was steaming.
Ended up everyone ferrying black coffee from a wee cafe to the bus trying to sober him up. Then after about 2 hours, trying to head off surrounded by polis cars after a guffy speech fae granda Jack that could have been out a hollywood b-movie. (some pish about making a run for it and if the cops stop us we'll turn over their cars etc etc - all sounded plausible at the time. lol)
All because some huns took a liberty with 2 young laddies on the bus, not knowing their was about 60 odd of us round the corner and when we found out, about 20/30 odd of them got proper leathered.

22-08-2013, 10:41 PM
Just found this pic on Facebook and it brought back great memories :thumbsup: When I went on the Hawkhill Bus, I had my first ST for the old Enclosure. Good times :agree:. I'd forgotten about the sliding corrigated iron door :greengrin.

Photo from the Hibernian Retro Group on Facebook and courtesy Of Mark Wright, Hibernian FC Mascot, 1988.

22-08-2013, 11:24 PM
Anyone go on or ever been on the 4 In Hand bus? Know if it's any good?

I'm a regular traveller on this bus. Great bunch of fans on it, good banter and always go to a bowling club or pub pre match.

Don't be afraid if travelling by yourself, we are all friendly

hibby07
23-08-2013, 12:53 AM
I first cut my teeth on the Eastern Scottish excursion in the mid 70's. The went onto join Capital Hibs late 70's early 80's. I think over the years there were a couple of buses called themselves capital but we were the original 'Mental Capital Hibs Supporters Club'. If memory serves me right we left from London Rd at the top of Easter Road. Had some great times and still good mates with a lot of guys i met on the bus.

After Capital a few of us moved on to Southern Branch were we are still members.

That you Griff ?. You are right about leaving from London Rd and not from the top of the lane. Old age and drink playing havoc with my memory. Some great memories Aberdeen trips Especially. Skip

23-08-2013, 06:59 AM
What era did you travel FS ???
I was on picnic branch 80s/90,s
Also used to stand behind dugouts in those days
Jeez the enclosure looks wee there
Many good / bad days/memories,,but hey thats HFC for ya
Bt

23-08-2013, 07:26 AM

It was a strange shape, because there was double the number of steps at the halfway line than at the ends (in the photo)

23-08-2013, 11:43 AM
What era did you travel FS ???
Many good / bad days/memories,,but hey thats HFC for ya
Bt

The 80's BT :wink: Used to go with my school pal, Michelle, who was Gordon Durie's cousin. Some mad, mad days and we were only about 13 or 14 :hilarious. Our Mum's must have been nuts to allow it :lips seal.

23-08-2013, 11:46 AM
Patrick thistle v Hibs at Fir Hill the year we won the league cup without playing a home game. We had bandy in goals and we won the penalties.
Very late night and grounded for 2 weeks but sooo worth it. IIRC, the week before, we were 2-0 down against utd but came back to win 3-2

23-08-2013, 12:07 PM
StGiles in the early mid 70's. They were always getting in fights, with each other :greengrin

24-08-2013, 10:45 AM
My big brother took me on the MB bus in.the late 70s with the bananie boys , then.when me and some pals were 13/14 we started forth travel for about half a season in 83 , also went on the dean bus which was very civilized and had a toilet

Ah, those were the days, from small acorns do mental branches grow :greengrin
Still get stopped in the street by punters wanting to talk about those days and have been asked by a few if I ever thought about writing a book about it :greengrin

I think my own first away bus trip was on the central branch.

MADE IN LEITH
25-08-2013, 10:30 PM
:-)
Had to be seen to be believed sometimes.

FifeHibernian
26-08-2013, 01:45 PM
I'm a regular traveller on this bus. Great bunch of fans on it, good banter and always go to a bowling club or pub pre match.

Don't be afraid if travelling by yourself, we are all friendly

Cheers. I might get on it later in the season.

27-08-2013, 06:46 PM
That you Griff ?. You are right about leaving from London Rd and not from the top of the lane. Old age and drink playing havoc with my memory. Some great memories Aberdeen trips Especially. Skip

Skip i just noticed this thread on the bounce.

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/forum/showthread.php?106368-Capital-Hibs-late-1970-s&p=1341095#post1341095

27-08-2013, 07:40 PM
Ah, those were the days, from small acorns do mental branches grow :greengrin
Still get stopped in the street by punters wanting to talk about those days and have been asked by a few if I ever thought about writing a book about it :greengrin

I think my own first away bus trip was on the central branch.

Were you ever barred from one of the supporters buses MB? :greengrin

28-08-2013, 11:03 AM
Were you ever barred from one of the supporters buses MB? :greengrin

Got thrown off my own bus going through to Greenock on lovely Saturday afternoon J.C.
Bus driver refused to stop for a p155 stop so all the lads did what we had to do and used bottles and empty cans, some of the lads then decided, if still wasn't going to stop then the only method of disposal for the filled containers were through the sky light. Needless to say, grumpy driver got even grumpier and decided the bus going now going nowhere unless the guilty parties were put off the bus so for the sake of all the rest of the guys, off we went.
Have to say, the driver was a lucky man he didn't end up in intensive care through in Greenock that day as some of the lads were for taking control of things themselves, although I don't think anybody had a licence to drive a bus :greengrin

East Coast Hibe
29-08-2013, 01:24 PM
Southern Branch bus was my branch. Bus was run by big Wattie Robb (RIP) for years. I started to travel when I was about 9 - with my old man.

Some great times. I always made a few quid at the pub stop on the way home when I was sent to the chippie for about 15 suppers. Just keep the change son :)

c31
29-08-2013, 01:59 PM
Went to all the away games for years n years

Hawkhill as a wee ladie
Excursions from St. Andrews Square or the train for a few years
Balerno/Currie
Edinburgh West
Van
Car
Then got old & gave up traveling to away games, the cost, not the same goodtimes as it use to be, daft kick off dates and times, crap team spoling it all etc.

29-08-2013, 02:30 PM
Marinellos bus from Leith Walk, mid-80's, and it used to stop down at Portland Street to pick up even more nutters! :greengrin Canny mind the name of that pub.......
I was about 13/14, used to go with my wee mate Bryan (RIP) a couple of years younger than me, we seen a few funny/outrageous/terrifying things back then. Some great midweek nights to Hamilton and Brockville etc etc....... A mere quid for a decent night out with some very scary people! What an education!
Damn good times. :agree:

29-08-2013, 06:20 PM
Got thrown off my own bus going through to Greenock on lovely Saturday afternoon J.C.
Bus driver refused to stop for a p155 stop so all the lads did what we had to do and used bottles and empty cans, some of the lads then decided, if still wasn't going to stop then the only method of disposal for the filled containers were through the sky light. Needless to say, grumpy driver got even grumpier and decided the bus going now going nowhere unless the guilty parties were put off the bus so for the sake of all the rest of the guys, off we went.
Have to say, the driver was a lucky man he didn't end up in intensive care through in Greenock that day as some of the lads were for taking control of things themselves, although I don't think anybody had a licence to drive a bus :greengrin

Must be unique, surely :greengrin

30-08-2013, 08:55 AM
Got thrown off my own bus going through to Greenock one lovely Saturday afternoon J.C. :greengrin

Must be unique, surely :greengrin

It certainly is unique J.C. as every other time I have been through to Greenock it has been p155ing with rain. :greengrin

MADE IN LEITH
01-09-2013, 05:48 PM
Went to all the away games for years n years

Hawkhill as a wee ladie
Excursions from St. Andrews Square or the train for a few years
Balerno/Currie
Edinburgh West
Van
Car
Then got old & gave up traveling to away games, the cost, not the same goodtimes as it use to be, daft kick off dates and times, crap team spoling it all etc.
Yeh mate, its not the same any more... I remember the good times on the buses but take the car now which is even more costly and you also don't get the same banter and laughs. But maybe its just me getting older and more of an old grump. :>)