View Full Version : Match Updates Leith Athletic 1 v 1 Hibs U20s (And Saturday's Games)

10-08-2013, 09:53 AM
I think I'm right in saying that today is the East Of Scotland team's first game. Anyone going? If so, don't forget the updates :wink:

The fixture list I have says it's a 2:30pm kick off but the club are saying 3pm. Anyone confirm?

10-08-2013, 10:18 AM
Kick off is 3pm at the 3G astro pitch at Meadowbank stadium

10-08-2013, 12:43 PM
Rangers lead 2-0 at Ibrox over the mighty Brechin City :greengrin

Nicky Law scoring yet again.

Dundee United vs ICT and Ross County vs Partick Thistle to come later this afternoon along with a full SPFL lower league and Championship calendar.

BarneyK
10-08-2013, 12:56 PM

Dundee United vs ICT and Ross County vs Partick Thistle to come later this afternoon along with a full SPFL lower league and Championship calendar.

Dean Shiels on the bench

Cool_Hand_Luke
10-08-2013, 12:58 PM

I thought all their new signings werent able to play until September...or is Law under 21...or a trialist :confused:

10-08-2013, 01:00 PM
I think I'm right in saying that today is the East Of Scotland team's first game. Anyone going? If so, don't forget the updates :wink:

The fixture list I have says it's a 2:30pm kick off but the club are saying 3pm. Anyone confirm?

I can't confirm for sure but at this time of year 2:30 is the normal starting time for East of Scotland fixtures. I'm just heading out shortly to watch my local team in the E of S league and that game certainly kicks off at 2:30.

10-08-2013, 01:04 PM

http://eastofscotlandfa.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/2013-2014-fixtures.pdf

Confusing eh!

10-08-2013, 01:06 PM
http://eastofscotlandfa.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/2013-2014-fixtures.pdf

Confusing eh!

That's the list I've got too.

hibbymick
10-08-2013, 01:11 PM
Peach of a goal for Brechin.

10-08-2013, 01:17 PM
Sheils on the park now.

10-08-2013, 01:22 PM
I thought all their new signings werent able to play until September...or is Law under 21...or a trialist :confused:

He's 25 so he must be registered as a trialist.

Jon Daly must be the same.

10-08-2013, 01:25 PM

Jon Daly must be the same.That's nonsense. How on Earth they are getting away with fielding players who have signed a contract with them as a 'trialist' is a disgrace and it's a loophole that needs shut pronto.

10-08-2013, 01:25 PM
Penalty Rangers - Brechin down to 10 men.

BarneyK
10-08-2013, 01:26 PM

Jon Daly must be the same.

:agree: Both listed as trialists

CalgaryHibs
10-08-2013, 01:26 PM
Final score hunbrox ???

10-08-2013, 01:27 PM
Rangers 3-1 Brechin: Black with the rebound after missing from the spot.

10-08-2013, 01:27 PM
Final score hunbrox ???

Now 3-1.

Black missed the penalty but scored from the follow up.

10 minutes left.

Brechin down to 10 men.

10-08-2013, 01:28 PM
That's nonsense. How on Earth they are getting away with fielding players who have signed a contract with them as a 'trialist' is a disgrace and it's a loophole that needs shut pronto.

I'm sure it's a rule that's open to any non SPL/Premiership (or whatever it's called these days) side.

10-08-2013, 01:30 PM
4-1

Superb goal from Shiels.

10-08-2013, 01:31 PM
4-1 to Sevco.

Good strike from Shiels.

10-08-2013, 01:33 PM
4-1

Superb goal from Shiels.

Do you have some kind of ability to see into the future!?

I posted my post almost immediately as that goal went in and yet your post was still registered as being a minute before mine! :greengrin

Either that or my stream is behind whatever you're watching! :wink:

10-08-2013, 01:34 PM
That's nonsense. How on Earth they are getting away with fielding players who have signed a contract with them as a 'trialist' is a disgrace and it's a loophole that needs shut pronto.

We should play McCourt as a trialist tmw

CalgaryHibs
10-08-2013, 01:34 PM
Cheers lads

10-08-2013, 01:35 PM
Do you have some kind of ability to see into the future!?

I posted my post almost immediately as that goal went in and yet your post was still registered as being a minute before mine! :greengrin

Either that or my stream is behind whatever you're watching! :wink:

:greengrin - why yes...yes I do.

10-08-2013, 01:36 PM
:greengrin - why yes...yes I do.

Score for tomorrow?

10-08-2013, 01:38 PM
FT: Rangers 4-1 Brechin City

4-1, full time.

Evidently you don't need my score for tomorrow seeing as you have the same ability :na na:

FT: Rangers 4-1 Brechin City

4-1, full time.

Now you're just playing silly beggars! :greengrin

10-08-2013, 02:21 PM
Leigh has just made it 1-0 for Wolves

Partick 1 up over Ross County

ICT 1 up over Dundee Utd

jonny
10-08-2013, 02:21 PM
Just scored for Wolves, took the ball down at the edge of the box and lashed it into the bottom corner - apparently a cracking finish :boo hoo:

10-08-2013, 02:30 PM
Typical, I wish he had scored first during the week when I backed him, instead of hitting the post!

10-08-2013, 02:33 PM
Partick 1 up over Ross County

If results go their way Partick could be 22 points ahead of Hearts on Friday night.

10-08-2013, 02:45 PM
Jolly good stuff from Partick so far, Apart from our selves, looking for Killie to get some points on the board tommorow..

Buddies vs Jambos for the basement scrap looking likely?

Time For Heroes
10-08-2013, 02:46 PM
If results go their way Partick could be 22 points ahead of Hearts on Friday night.

Partick are at home on Friday too:cb:thumbsup:

KirkyK
10-08-2013, 02:50 PM
1-0 leith half time

10-08-2013, 03:21 PM
Partick now 3 up in Dingwall. Good start for them.

10-08-2013, 03:25 PM

So much for Partick being whipping boys. They're going great early doors.

10-08-2013, 03:28 PM

Sunday's game already looking like the relegation decider.

10-08-2013, 03:31 PM
1-0 leith half time

Anyone know what our team is?

10-08-2013, 03:31 PM

On ye of little faith .... :pfgwa

10-08-2013, 03:32 PM
QoS 4 - Dundee 1

I thought that Dundee were red hot favourites!

10-08-2013, 03:34 PM
QoS 4 - Dundee 1

I thought that Dundee were red hot favourites!

Was just about to post the same - mon' the Queens :thumbsup:

10-08-2013, 03:36 PM

Hopefully we'll be feeling much better about things after tomorrow's game. We need to get off the mark asap.

10-08-2013, 03:37 PM
Tom Soares on a bit of a goal spree, according to the BBC website:

GOAL!

LGE2

Oxford Utd

1 - 1
Bury
Soares 72'

GOAL!

LGE2

Oxford Utd

1 - 1
Bury
Soares 72'

GOAL!

LGE2

Oxford Utd

1 - 1
Bury
Soares 72'

GOAL!

LGE2

Oxford Utd

1 - 1
Bury
Soares 72'

GOAL!

LGE2

Oxford Utd

1 - 1
Bury
Soares 72'

GOAL!

LGE2

Oxford Utd

1 - 1
Bury
Soares 72'

GOAL!

LGE2

Oxford Utd

1 - 1
Bury
Soares 72'

GOAL!

LGE2

Oxford Utd

1 - 1
Bury
Soares 72'

GOAL!

LGE2

Oxford Utd

1 - 2
Bury
Soares 72'

GOAL!

LGE2

Oxford Utd

1 - 1
Bury
Soares 70'

10-08-2013, 03:39 PM
Dundee United with 2 shots on goal so far. Were not the only team to struggle creating chances. ICT mashing them.
Love a new season!

hibbymick
10-08-2013, 03:42 PM
Leigh gets another one :not worth

SonOfDavidFrancey
Penalty for leigh

The last thing the Yams wanted :greengrin. Tomorrow's game has become absolutely huge for them even at this stage in the season. If Hibs can exert some pressure and get ahead, every chance they will crumble.

10-08-2013, 03:44 PM
Why the Gers are in trouble ... Ally McCoist is on £14,000 a week !!

4-1 thistle ... Higinbottom '. .... Disallowed !!

Still 3-1 ....... don't know what is going on now BBC tv showing 4-1 ???? BBC on line says disallowed . Very amateurish again form the beeb ..

10-08-2013, 03:47 PM
QoS 4-3 Dundee !!!!!

10-08-2013, 03:49 PM
Not that either was great for us, but Soares and Deegan have both scored today too

10-08-2013, 03:50 PM
Think UTD will be bottom 6 this season, to use a yam phrase, it is pleasing to see Partick pull further away from the bottom:greengrin

10-08-2013, 03:54 PM
The last thing the Yams wanted :greengrin. Tomorrow's game has become absolutely huge for them even at this stage in the season. If Hibs can exert some pressure and get ahead, every chance they will crumble.

Big game for both teams. We need to get our season underway and create what would be a big morale boost and simultaneously turn the screw on the smellies.

10-08-2013, 03:56 PM
Think UTD will be bottom 6 this season, to use a yam phrase, it is pleasing to see Partick pull further away from the bottom:greengrin

Celtc, Motherwell, Aberdeen, Inverness are all pretty solid for top 6 which leaves the remaining 2 spots open - I reckon St Johnstone have a good shout and the final one really could be anyone!

Always seem to have these days each season where our ex players find the net. Soares, Deegs, Deano and Leigh today

Not that either was great for us, but Soares and Deegan have both scored today too

Doyle too...

10-08-2013, 03:58 PM

Doyle scored as well for Chesterfield

10-08-2013, 03:59 PM
Full time 1-1 in the east of scotland game v leith athletic.

Game times and dates are always subject to change so watch for updates on here, twitter and official site

10-08-2013, 04:01 PM

Judging by remarks on we'reskint.com I don't think they see Partick as the whipping boys. No guesses for who they see as their escape route. :rolleyes:

10-08-2013, 04:04 PM
Great result for the jags, the more points early doors for them gives them the confidence to make it through the season,

10-08-2013, 04:04 PM
Judging by remarks on we'reskint.com I don't think they see Partick as the whipping boys. No guesses for who they see as their escape route. :rolleyes:

They've obviously been reading hibs.net :greengrin

Tomorrow we put that notion to bed.

10-08-2013, 04:06 PM

If it's us, I don't blame them one bit.

10-08-2013, 04:08 PM
Goal - Leigh Griffiths - Wolves 4 - 0 GillinghamPenalty taken right-footed by Leigh Griffiths and scored. Wolverhampton 4-0 Gillingham.

Surely thats guff reporting?

10-08-2013, 04:09 PM
One game into the season where we narrowly lost to the team who were second last year and we're already talking our team down beyond belief. :rolleyes:

10-08-2013, 04:13 PM

Those idiots never stop to think. We're one game into the season and they're talking about how to overturn a 15 point deficit with a team of kids. No matter how bad some of the other teams in the league might be, Hearts don't have the players to turn it around. If we win at the Wonga Wasteland - as we should - perhaps the penny will drop. Just perhaps.

10-08-2013, 04:14 PM
One game into the season where we narrowly lost to the team who were second last year and we're already talking our team down beyond belief. :rolleyes:

I'm not saying I think we're relegation material (though I do worry where goals are coming from).

I'm saying I'm not surprised our rivals would target us as their escape from relegation.

10-08-2013, 04:14 PM

Hibs.net

10-08-2013, 04:18 PM
I see Celtic and Liverpool have moved to the Oirish league :rolleyes:

Dunderhall
10-08-2013, 04:19 PM
Those idiots never stop to think. We're one game into the season and they're talking about how to overturn a 15 point deficit with a team of kids. No matter how bad some of the other teams in the league might be, Hearts don't have the players to turn it around. If we win at the Wonga Wasteland - as we should - perhaps the penny will drop. Just perhaps.
Far too much credit given to them.
St Mirren and Ross County will be their next hope until results say otherwise.

10-08-2013, 04:22 PM

Not a bad game so far, 1-0 Celtc

10-08-2013, 04:27 PM

Why have Celtic never tried to push for a move to the Irish League instead of the Premier League? It is their "spiritual home" after all.

10-08-2013, 04:30 PM
Far too much credit given to them.
St Mirren and Ross County will be their next hope until results say otherwise.
Yes, probably. I can just see them on the Hunchback forum, typing with their thumbs and saying "aye, were gonnae make up fifteen points and sen' the Hobos doon, man. Oor greatest triumpf". It's ludicrous.

10-08-2013, 04:38 PM
The new Celtic forward Balde is a bit of a beast - he will score and make a few

10-08-2013, 04:41 PM
I'm not saying I think we're relegation material (though I do worry where goals are coming from).

I'm saying I'm not surprised our rivals would target us as their escape from relegation.

:agree: Totally agree. The Yams are so utterly obsessed with Hibs that they will use us as motivation. If they can beat us tomorrow, that's 12 behind. Use that to beat Thistle on Friday... now down to 9 (3 games into the season). At least that's what the Yam management will be planning. And why not.

However, more likely is a whipping tomorrow, a humping next Friday by the pre-season faves for relegation and the reality of the situation will hit them like a baseball bat :greengrin.

Shields Hibee
10-08-2013, 05:02 PM
Given Partick gave Ross County a thumping, I strongly expect them to follow up with a good result at home against the charity thieves. They won't beat us tomorrow & having lost 4 in a row by next Friday night including against pre season favourites for the drop, relegation will be in the bag :greengrin

10-08-2013, 05:29 PM
Well !
Didn't see that one coming
RC 1 V PT 4 !!
Scuppered my "fixed Odds" big time !:greengrin

10-08-2013, 05:41 PM
Eoin Doyle scored today aswell. And Garry Deegan. Former hibees had a good day the day.

10-08-2013, 05:57 PM
Not a bad game so far, 1-0 Celtc

1-0 FT, good result, for a weakened Celtc side much as I dislike saying it.

10-08-2013, 06:07 PM
Eoin Doyle scored today aswell. And Garry Deegan. Former hibees had a good day the day.

And Roy O'Donovan and Tom Soares. To throw in two names less deserving of praise.

10-08-2013, 06:35 PM
Goal - Leigh Griffiths - Wolves 4 - 0 GillinghamPenalty taken right-footed by Leigh Griffiths and scored. Wolverhampton 4-0 Gillingham.

Surely thats guff reporting?

Aye.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BRUycyOCMAAc9zI.jpg

11-08-2013, 03:06 AM
Do we know the Hibs team that drew 1-1 yet? Who scored? What was the crowd like?

Bobo
11-08-2013, 08:33 AM
Do we know the Hibs team that drew 1-1 yet? Who scored? What was the crowd like?

Team:

Horne
Baptie
Martynuik
Gardiner
Dunsmore
Sinclair
Black
Beaton
Doyle
Allan
Todd

Hibs had about 75% possession throughout the game but took too many touches in the final third and were reluctant to play in crosses, when they did the deliveries were poor. Sinclair scored the equaliser late on.

We lost a really soft penalty which the Leith player took well by fooling Horne and dinking it down the middle. other than that Leith had a couple of chased long balls which created half chances for them but they weren't that great to be honest.

Hibs were missing a couple of players and will play much better than this in games to come.

11-08-2013, 08:41 AM

Report here:

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130811/under-20s-draw-local-derby_2262950_3344785

and here:

http://www.leithathleticfc.com/index.php/news/426-leith-athletic-fc-1-1-hibernian-fc-10-08-13/

Not sure about the size of the crowd.

11-08-2013, 08:43 AM
Aye.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BRUycyOCMAAc9zI.jpg

Wolves goals, cracking first goal from Sparky, bit of a dodgy pen :greengrin, but buried in his usual spot.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=18XwqeBLE1w

11-08-2013, 08:47 AM
Wolves goals, cracking first goal from Sparky, bit of a dodgy pen :greengrin, but buried in his usual spot.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=18XwqeBLE1w

Pen looked like an assault to
Me... He could score 30 goals in that league no problem - I could see him getting a great move ...

11-08-2013, 08:55 AM
I attended another E of S fixture yesterday and from what I saw, I'm not sure if it's the correct league to be nursing young talent. There will be some good football players on show but at the same time you can be guaranteed that the opposition will have its fair share of slow overweight hammer throwers.

I'm not sure if its typical of E of S fixtures, but no linesmen were assigned to the game which of course made it difficult (impossible in fact) for the Ref to make correct judgments on offside etc.