View Full Version : Hibernian Hippos

09-08-2013, 09:20 AM
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2013/aug/09/hull-rebranded-hull-city-tigers-name

i can't see how this is going to pass without a storm

09-08-2013, 09:27 AM
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2013/aug/09/hull-rebranded-hull-city-tigers-name

i can't see how this is going to pass without a storm

Hibernian Hippos :confused:

hibby67
09-08-2013, 09:35 AM
More like Hibernian hyenas as we are a bit of a joke just now

09-08-2013, 09:39 AM

I was just meaning sticking an animal name after/in a british football team (discounting wolves :greengrin) doesn't quite work.. don't think it'll go down well with the Hull fans

i have nothing against hippos

09-08-2013, 09:52 AM
More like Hibernian hyenas as we are a bit of a joke just now

I think you are getting us mixed up with our pink neeboors.

09-08-2013, 09:59 AM
If we need an animal name how about Hibernian Hellbenders or Hibernian Harriers (sounds more like a running club). I'd steer clear of Hibernian Hedgehogs and Hibernian Hatchet Fish though :wink:

09-08-2013, 10:06 AM
Hull City are known as the tigers because of their colours so the name's already part of their identity. It therefore might be acceptable to the supporters.

Juice-Terry
09-08-2013, 10:09 AM
Don't like it. Another obvious step toward Americanisation. Awful.

Rocky
09-08-2013, 10:15 AM
Hibernian Honeybadgers. They're radge

neilmartinrocks
09-08-2013, 10:21 AM
Hibernian Harp(ie)s.

09-08-2013, 10:23 AM

You've got to be thick skinned to be a Hibby these days!

09-08-2013, 10:24 AM
You just can't call them Hull Tigers - because then you'd be able to colour one of the letters in!

09-08-2013, 10:28 AM
Thank God I watch a team in a 'mickey mouse' league. Cardiff change their strip colour and now name changes. Hibernian FC in green since 1875 and forever!

09-08-2013, 10:30 AM
It seems in their never ending quest for new markets the owners of football clubs love pissing all over tradition.

See badge changes at Man Utd, Arsenal, Spurs etx. Colour change at Cardiff, a name change at Hull. God forbid that a club should retain any historic identity if it stand in the way of selling a few strips to the Koreans and Japanese.

09-08-2013, 10:41 AM
How about a 70s US Soccer League style name like Hibees Sting?

DanHFC1875
09-08-2013, 10:53 AM

How do we make this official LOL:top marks

09-08-2013, 10:57 AM

09-08-2013, 11:01 AM
For all those who think this is tacky, I refer you to the Austrian league. They've been changing the names of clubs for years to add company names. Some companies have even moved from one club to another, making it even more confusing.

I give you (company names in bold)...

Red Bull Salzburg
Puntigamer Sturm Graz
Trenkwalder Admira Wacker
Austria Wien (formerly FK Austria Memphis Magna)
FC Magna Wiener Neustadt (Yep, same Magna as above)
SV Bauwelt Koch Mattersburg
Josko Fenster Ried

(There are others, but I got bored)

09-08-2013, 11:04 AM
Maybe something to consider for our unfortunate neighbours when they have to reform in a new guise.

Gorgie Gorillas
Hearts Humpbacks
Maroon Merricks

Makaveli
09-08-2013, 11:05 AM
Their beyond cringeworthy "mauled by the tigers" chant makes it difficult to have any sympathy...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tgS1RFk1cU8

09-08-2013, 11:14 AM
Not to bad up here Hibs n hearts could have been Edinburgh fc and Edinburgh united. Celtic and rangers could have been Glasgow and glasgow united.Just as well our main cities have imagination.

09-08-2013, 11:16 AM
Gorgie grunters. With that big bird hanging oot the window as thier badge.

Isaac_Refvik
09-08-2013, 01:01 PM
Heart of Mad Lithuanian?

09-08-2013, 01:10 PM
For all those who think this is tacky, I refer you to the Austrian league. They've been changing the names of clubs for years to add company names. Some companies have even moved from one club to another, making it even more confusing.

I give you (company names in bold)...

Red Bull Salzburg
Puntigamer Sturm Graz
Trenkwalder Admira Wacker
Austria Wien (formerly FK Austria Memphis Magna)
FC Magna Wiener Neustadt (Yep, same Magna as above)
SV Bauwelt Koch Mattersburg
Josko Fenster Ried

(There are others, but I got bored)

PSV Eindhoven

PHILIPS Sport Vereniging (Union)

09-08-2013, 01:17 PM
If we change to Hibernian Hero's do we get £1billion?

09-08-2013, 02:38 PM

Absolutely. The game is increasingly going like American football: stadium sponsors, official corporate tie-ins and the like. Corporate names will be next stage. Pepsi Hibernian v Sony Aberdeen :soapbox:

09-08-2013, 02:43 PM

Amercanisation doesn't mean all bad does it? We could learn a lot about how to make our major sporting events more FUN.

09-08-2013, 02:54 PM
Absolutely. The game is increasingly going like American football: stadium sponsors, official corporate tie-ins and the like. Corporate names will be next stage. Pepsi Hibernian v Sony Aberdeen :soapbox:

Wrong drink, you maybe meant this (http://www.7up.com/) one :wink:

09-08-2013, 02:56 PM
Yep i don't like the way it's going either. And how expensive it could become in future. I can see a split in years to come where the rich follow the big teams in lego stadiums where a goal is applauded and stadiums are filled with a passionless audience. The junior grounds will start to fill up with real fans

09-08-2013, 02:57 PM
Yep i don't like the way it's going either. And how expensive it could become in future. I can see a split in years to come where the rich follow the big teams in lego stadiums where a goal is applauded and stadiums are filled with a passionless audience. The junior grounds will start to fill up with real fans

Aye, because when it comes to sport the Americans totally lack passion.

09-08-2013, 03:04 PM
Their beyond cringeworthy "mauled by the tigers" chant makes it difficult to have any sympathy...

Hahaha. Oh dear.

09-08-2013, 03:04 PM

:cup:

09-08-2013, 03:11 PM
Typical Americanised tosh.

What bugs me is that clubs name / re brand themselves using names like Lions or Tigers etc ... Leeds Rhinos rugby league club spring to mind.

What have these animals got to do with British clubs, when was the last time anybody saw a Rhino in Yorkshire apart from a zoo or wildlife park? ..... coz Rhino sounds cooler than Leeds Earwigs or Leeds Sparrows ... geeza break, what are these folk 5 years old?

Quite like Hibernian Hedgehogs though.:greengrin

C'mon you Hogs!!!

09-08-2013, 03:30 PM
(Un) Sporting Padeophille Midlothian, for the zombie Hearts?

09-08-2013, 03:32 PM
Midlothian Maroon Molesters :agree:

Hibernian Hotdogs. :boo hoo:

09-08-2013, 06:02 PM
Wrong drink, you maybe meant this (http://www.7up.com/) one :wink:
We'd play our derbies against The Wonga Yams (assuming they get promoted a few times).

Technofob
09-08-2013, 06:14 PM
How about a 70s US Soccer League style name like Hibees Sting?

Oh, yeah, the Leith Rowdies could catch on :greengrin

09-08-2013, 06:33 PM
What have these animals got to do with British clubs, when was the last time anybody saw a Rhino in Yorkshire apart from a zoo or wildlife park?

So you've not had a Friday night out in Oceana down in Leeds City centre then?

09-08-2013, 07:52 PM

To be fair that is awful!

HibeesLA
09-08-2013, 08:07 PM
Aye, because when it comes to sport the Americans totally lack passion.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XojWNrNG8WE

Fun being on a plane from Los Angeles to Oakland on game weekend, when the whole plane, minus yourself, is dressed like this.

hibee19
09-08-2013, 09:10 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XojWNrNG8WE

Fun being on a plane from Los Angeles to Oakland on game weekend, when the whole plane, minus yourself, is dressed like this.

To be fair the Americans think the 'Raider Nation' are a bit mental as well.

As someone suggested there are things we can learn from American sports, they know how to put on a show. We could for example let a local band perform a small set pre-match/half time and very few disagree with cheerleaders.

BurghHibby
09-08-2013, 09:30 PM
Tigers are