View Full Version : Paddy McCourt trains with Hibs, signs for Barnsley

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Leishy1995
07-08-2013, 01:22 PM
Just been told he's passed the medical and signed, dont shoot the messenger.

If you are right I will never bad mouth Blackpool again.

07-08-2013, 01:27 PM
Why Paddy McCourt? Our signings/targets (if he is one) seem to be increasingly random? I'd love to think there was a plan but I just can't see one.

:confused: Perplexed by your take on this rumour. Random? How So???

He's a tricky wide attacking player - a kind of player we desperately need with Harris and Cairney out especially. Fans were ardently complaining in the last game vs Motherwell about a lack of support for Collins, lack of chances created.

Fenlon targets a player who could address these deficiencies and now it's RANDOM???
WTF?!?!?

07-08-2013, 01:30 PM
If its bollox i will name him. :greengrin

Never mind your source, where's your CV???

07-08-2013, 01:31 PM

He's a tricky wide attacking player - a kind of player we desperately need with Harris and Cairney out especially. Fans were ardently complaining in the last game vs Motherwell about a lack of support for Collins, lack of chances created.

Fenlon targets a player who could address these deficiencies and now it's RANDOM???
WTF?!?!?

Thhhhiiiiiiiiiisssssss.

Great signing if true and exactly what we need (apart from at least one really speedy defender chap).

Please be true!!! :agree:

07-08-2013, 01:31 PM
:clapper:

I am a fat bald man that used to manage Killie.
what do I know, eh ?[/QUOTE]

A fat bald man with international managerial experience, no less.

GreenPJ
07-08-2013, 02:23 PM

WTF?!?!?

Fenlon has never publicly confirmed there were any specific areas needing addressed other than up front when Griffiths and Doyle went, he has however, gone on at length at changing the culture at the club, hard working ethic etc.

Everything that has ever been said about McCourt is he is very skillful but lazy - that is why I presume people are confused by the signing as it does seem to contradict the type of player and ethic Pat says he is trying to instill.

07-08-2013, 02:41 PM
Fenlon has never publicly confirmed there were any specific areas needing addressed other than up front when Griffiths and Doyle went, he has however, gone on at length at changing the culture at the club, hard working ethic etc.

Everything that has ever been said about McCourt is he is very skillful but lazy - that is why I presume people are confused by the signing as it does seem to contradict the type of player and ethic Pat says he is trying to instill.

Maybe a change of direction from Pat, goodness knows he needs it.
I'm torn on McCourt. I've seem the bits of magic on Sportscene, YouTube etc but I also remember when he started against us at Easter road and the game seemed to pass him by.
We do need a player who can get the ball from midfield to forward though so on balance probably worth a gamble.
Still need a decent centre half though.

07-08-2013, 03:51 PM

Totally agree with this aspect, but as far as I can tell from other peoples post, this would be a short term kind of deal. For a potentially problematic player like McCourt, that could work. If he does really well, then it buys the team/Fenlon time till the next window to get a more suitable replacement. If not, then no great loss.

In anticipation of the derby alone, I say well worth a punt..

07-08-2013, 03:59 PM
@MLSTransfers: Source: Andy Roxburgh has been in contact with Hibs over fitness level of Paddy McCourt. Might not join #RBNY this window

07-08-2013, 04:06 PM
Since the halcyon days of Gaz and Deeks, we've lacked a player who can consistently do the business where it matters most, in George Street.

Paddy could be that man.

07-08-2013, 04:08 PM
The sound of groans coming from Easter Road have been sourced as Kevin Thomson and James McPake fearing the emergence of a 'third force' in the battle for the treatment table.

Time For Heroes
07-08-2013, 04:17 PM

Cheers for sharing BH, exciting singing before the derby, bring on the ****.

07-08-2013, 04:53 PM
Cheers for sharing BH, exciting singing before the derby, bring on the ****.

'Exciting' singing doesn't do it justice. After a few Bloody Marys no-one can stop Paddy belting out Bobby Womack on the karaoke. Let the good times roll:cheers:

07-08-2013, 05:35 PM
"@SuperTortolano: Sources close to me say McCourt is a done deal - short term

#superjoeexclusive

#GGTTH"

Hope so :agree:

07-08-2013, 05:38 PM
I'm hearing it will be confirmed tomorrow.

07-08-2013, 05:41 PM
Best whoosh moment for a few weeks at least

07-08-2013, 05:49 PM

Sorted. 👍

07-08-2013, 05:57 PM
Really, REALLY hope he has signed. Think he is a great player, okay, can be a bit lazy in games, but is also more than capable of an inspirational moment which turns games on their head. Would certainly create a lot more chances for Collins and even Vine. PLEASE let it be true.

07-08-2013, 06:02 PM
Really, REALLY hope he has signed. Think he is a great player, okay, can be a bit lazy in games, but is also more than capable of an inspirational moment which turns games on their head. Would certainly create a lot more chances for Collins and even Vine. PLEASE let it be true.

Will sell out tynie if he signs.

1875Hibees
07-08-2013, 06:05 PM
Will sell out tynie if he signs.
And if he dosent. But he will.

07-08-2013, 06:06 PM
delighted if true :thumbsup:

07-08-2013, 06:13 PM
And if he dosent. But he will.

No chance we'll sell out if we don't announce.

1875Hibees
07-08-2013, 06:22 PM
No chance we'll sell out if we don't announce.
We will.

07-08-2013, 06:32 PM
What a lift this would be for the whole club before Sunday!

07-08-2013, 06:35 PM
We will.

With around 1000 tickets still left we won't.

07-08-2013, 06:35 PM
Happy enough with this. Bit of an enigma but a player who can do special things and get people out of their seat.

Don't sell McCourt, Paddy McCourt
I jusy don't think you understand
If you sell McCourt, Paddy McCourt
You're gonna have a riot on your hands.

To the tune of Achey Breaky Heart. Get learning.

07-08-2013, 06:37 PM
Happy enough with this. Bit of an enigma but a player who can do special things and get people out of their seat.

PB. One is slightly concerned with this post.... Do you get out?? ;-)

Ps or parts of it (the song)

07-08-2013, 06:43 PM
PB. One is slightly concerned with this post.... Do you get out?? ;-)

Ps or parts of it (the song)

Shamelessly stolen from Celtc

(makes a change from the other way round)

07-08-2013, 06:46 PM
Shamelessly stolen from Celtc

(makes a change from the other way round)

Ha ha.bout time too.

(Fwiw absolutely quality signing when he does)

PS I believe you bout the song, some wouldn't ;-)

07-08-2013, 06:46 PM

We've got McCourt, Paddy McCourt
I just don't think u understand.
And now we've got McCourt,Paddy McCourt
I wana see this riot u had planned

07-08-2013, 06:47 PM

Like it.

Blackburn Hibee
07-08-2013, 06:47 PM

Hope your not on the wind up Gary;-)

07-08-2013, 06:49 PM
Like it.

You dancing as your signing to this PB?? Bet you are ?????

mentalhibee
07-08-2013, 06:59 PM
Hope he's signed, some of his goals are ridiculous! What a boost before the derby!

mentalhibee
07-08-2013, 07:00 PM

Nice.

1875Hibees
07-08-2013, 07:00 PM
With around 1000 tickets still left we won't.
There are not that many tickets left. And we will.

manx hibee
07-08-2013, 07:04 PM
Nice.

Just a simple

paddy's gonna get ya

repeat to the yams
theyll @@@t themselves

07-08-2013, 07:06 PM
There are not that many tickets left. And we will.

How many are left then?

07-08-2013, 07:10 PM
I really hope we get him signed. He's the sort of player we are crying out for.

West hamBERNIAN
07-08-2013, 07:21 PM
I really hope we get him signed. He's the sort of player we are crying out for.

Seconded, would be gutted if he didn't sign now. No wide man on Sunday sounds terrible.

Purehibee_MYB
07-08-2013, 07:27 PM
Seconded, would be gutted if he didn't sign now. No wide man on Sunday sounds terrible.

As much as I agree, I doubt he'll be fit enough for 90 minutes on sunday

07-08-2013, 07:28 PM

90 seconds would do me as long as a wee bit of his magic produced the winning goal.

Purehibee_MYB
07-08-2013, 07:32 PM
90 seconds would do me as long as a wee bit of his magic produced the winning goal.

:agree: Agreed

07-08-2013, 07:39 PM
:agree: Agreed

Think when he does sign there will be some of this

Ps there is prob some of this already.

07-08-2013, 07:41 PM
Think when he does sign there will be some of this

Ps there is prob some of this already.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-NVkNFrNDQLA/UDwAg19xukI/AAAAAAAAAjQ/uKCVjorngwg/s400/1278324379_angry-daffy-duck.gif

07-08-2013, 07:57 PM
Sorry mate just had to. Like the daffy angry eyes tho!

West hamBERNIAN
07-08-2013, 08:12 PM

I seriously doubt he's as unfit as some would like us to think. If you train every day, how could he not play 90 mins. I play 90 regularly and smoke 20 a day and only train once a week for one hour. Okay I may not be a box to box player but ffs. I seen a ridiculously overweight maradona stroll 45 mins not to long ago.

07-08-2013, 08:13 PM
Team full of paddy,s,
we want a team full of Paddys,
team full of paddyyyyyysssss

Not to do wi McCourt like :greengrin

07-08-2013, 08:15 PM
I seriously doubt he's as unfit as some would like us to think. If you train every day, how could he not play 90 mins. I play 90 regularly and smoke 20 a day and only train once a week for one hour. Okay I may not be a box to box player but ffs. I seen a ridiculously overweight maradona stroll 45 mins not to long ago.

I'm guessing you play against people of a similar fitness level? Of course mccourt could play in a sunday league game for 90 minutes, up against professionals though if they're fitter and sharper they've got a big advantage over you.

I've got concerns about this signing, i don't want to be too negative but it's got the alarm bells ringing for me.

Purehibee_MYB
07-08-2013, 08:16 PM

I know what you mean but it's slightly different at a professional level. He could no doubt get 70 minutes, but he's also not played competitively for a while IIRC so it's about being up to speed in that respect too.

07-08-2013, 08:24 PM
Darren Ferguson was absolutely dying to sign him so he can't be that unfit

Sanger
07-08-2013, 08:31 PM
Saw a programme and he has limitations on his fitness because of heredity physical defects. By the way Sky says we have sold out.

07-08-2013, 08:31 PM
Saw a programme and he has limitations on his fitness because of heredity physical defects. By the way Sky says we have sold out.

wtf?

Boydyhfc
07-08-2013, 08:35 PM

wtf?

The last bit I think he's talking about is the game on Sunday. I wouldn't say we've sold out anyway. Think its more or less confirming the yams have sold out.

07-08-2013, 08:42 PM
Better not have sold out. I'm going up tomorrow to get tickets. :-(

Boydyhfc
07-08-2013, 08:44 PM
Better not have sold out. I'm going up tomorrow to get tickets. :-(

You'll be sound for tickets man.

Sanger
07-08-2013, 09:00 PM
You'll be sound for tickets man.
Sky saying the whole game sold out. Don't if they mean Hearts sold all their tickets and assuming we will sell out.

07-08-2013, 09:03 PM
Sky saying the whole game sold out. Don't if they mean Hearts sold all their tickets and assuming we will sell out.

I got tickets this afternoon and the lower stand was near enough sold out.

Still quite a few in the upper at tha stage but didn't look anywhere near the 1000 mentioned earlier

West hamBERNIAN
07-08-2013, 09:07 PM
I'm guessing you play against people of a similar fitness level? Of course mccourt could play in a sunday league game for 90 minutes, up against professionals though if they're fitter and sharper they've got a big advantage over you.

I've got concerns about this signing, i don't want to be too negative but it's got the alarm bells ringing for me.

I know what you mean but it's slightly different at a professional level. He could no doubt get 70 minutes, but he's also not played competitively for a while IIRC so it's about being up to speed in that respect too.

Well of coarse I wasn't saying that I could last in a professional game but the point I was trying to make was if I, an overweight driver on 20 fags a day on an exercise regime of a game a week and training for an hour can play 90mins then someone who trains every day and is of an athletic appearance then surely there fit enough.
Russell was on 20 a day at 38 still playing pro for Falkirk.

Okay he might not be Gareth bale or ronaldo fitness wise but c'mon, he's not going to be actually unfit.

07-08-2013, 09:38 PM
"@TransferTweeter: Paddy McCourt could be on his way to #Hibernian, after it was revealed that he has been training with the Easter Road club.#hibs"

Persevere80
07-08-2013, 09:44 PM

Quality.

WellingtonHibby
07-08-2013, 09:59 PM
....another ****ing Irish signing....(!)
Pats probably got him pencilled in to solve our right back issue..

07-08-2013, 10:10 PM
....another ****ing Irish signing....(!)
Pats probably got him pencilled in to solve our right back issue..

Nonsense post mate.

07-08-2013, 10:14 PM
Nonsense post mate.

I was assuming it was sarcastic

renato
07-08-2013, 10:16 PM
"Ohhhhhhh Paddy Paddy,
He used to be a Plastic but he's alright now.."

Nae copying the 'dodgers for me!

WellingtonHibby
08-08-2013, 01:12 AM
I was assuming it was sarcastic

Cheers, saved me the trouble...

Sanger
08-08-2013, 05:33 AM
I got tickets this afternoon and the lower stand was near enough sold out.

Still quite a few in the upper at tha stage but didn't look anywhere near the 1000 mentioned earlier
Paddy's bought a few hundred for family and friends:wink:

08-08-2013, 07:35 AM
Will paddy be signed in time for the derby

08-08-2013, 07:39 AM
Will paddy be signed in time for the derby

Im going to guess yes he will. Not sure he will start though

08-08-2013, 08:13 AM

Looking forward to that today but what about Claros? :dunno: :hmmm:

08-08-2013, 08:35 AM
Looking forward to that today but what about Claros? :dunno: :hmmm:

And Kenny Miller :greengrin, c'mon cat lad you need to deliver pal

08-08-2013, 08:38 AM
And Kenny Miller :greengrin, c'mon cat lad you need to deliver pal

That would be grand...cheeky wee loan deal for KM. didn't he recently sign an extension??

08-08-2013, 08:43 AM
That would be grand...cheeky wee loan deal for KM. didn't he recently sign an extension??

Yeah he did mate I was just winding up thecat re his previous KM chat not materialising :greengrin

08-08-2013, 08:49 AM
Yeah he did mate I was just winding up thecat re his previous KM chat not materialising :greengrin

You never know tho?? Stranger things have happened. Fwiw I still think he could do a decent job for us.

08-08-2013, 09:23 AM
This is the type of signing were crying out for. Someone who everytime he gets the ball you think something is going to happen, it makes us more threatening and other teams more vulnerable especially as most teams will put 2 players on him leaving one of ours free, even if he's not on the ball they will be watching him closely.

He is the type that isn't scared if he makes a mistake, we don't have enough of them IMO, he's confident if it doesn't come off the first second or third time that he still has the ability to create something. For me that is what was most pleasing about Harris on Sunday, he was having a mare but never went hiding and kept on running at them. Them 2 fit on each wing for us would be brilliant

08-08-2013, 10:01 AM
This is the type of signing were crying out for. Someone who everytime he gets the ball you think something is going to happen, it makes us more threatening and other teams more vulnerable especially as most teams will put 2 players on him leaving one of ours free, even if he's not on the ball they will be watching him closely.

He is the type that isn't scared if he makes a mistake, we don't have enough of them IMO, he's confident if it doesn't come off the first second or third time that he still has the ability to create something. For me that is what was most pleasing about Harris on Sunday, he was having a mare but never went hiding and kept on running at them. Them 2 fit on each wing for us would be brilliant

Harris and McCourt on each wing would be fantastic but the unfortunate thing is Harris is out for 3 months, and by the time he'll be back ready to play, McCourt will be departing us for the US. Make no mistake about it though, if Paddy does infact sign he WILL give us some pretty fantastic memories! It's gonna be Agathe part 2, lets enjoy it!

Ps: PRAYING this signing actually happens and is announced today! This is the first thread I'm always checking when logging in these past few days!!

08-08-2013, 10:47 AM
Harris and McCourt on each wing would be fantastic but the unfortunate thing is Harris is out for 3 months, and by the time he'll be back ready to play, McCourt will be departing us for the US. Make no mistake about it though, if Paddy does infact sign he WILL give us some pretty fantastic memories! It's gonna be Agathe part 2, lets enjoy it!

Ps: PRAYING this signing actually happens and is announced today! This is the first thread I'm always checking when logging in these past few days!!

Steady on...

It's Paddy McCourt not Messi or Matt Done.....

:cool2:

08-08-2013, 10:54 AM
Steady on...

It's Paddy McCourt not Messi or Matt Done.....

:cool2:

Wheeshed mibby he disnae want Messi :greengrin

08-08-2013, 10:54 AM

Surely we would get him for longer than 3 months? If not id rather we try get someone else in now who we know we will have for a while that's got quality instead of being in the same position then as we are in now

08-08-2013, 10:56 AM
Surely we would get him for longer than 3 months? If not id rather we try get someone else in now who we know we will have for a while that's got quality instead of being in the same position then as we are in now

So not even until Harris is back fit?:confused: Perfect solution for me even if its not long term

GreenPJ
08-08-2013, 10:56 AM

Zemmama

08-08-2013, 10:59 AM

Word is he is already signed up to the MSL, starting in about three months time. So he would be a temp stand in for us only.

Emerald
08-08-2013, 11:05 AM
Word is he is already signed up to the MSL, starting in about three months time. So he would be a temp stand in for us only.

If that is the case I would personally rather we didn'nt bother. You would have to doubt his commitment to our cause and would much rather we looked for someone busting a gut to play for us.

08-08-2013, 11:20 AM
If that is the case I would personally rather we didn'nt bother. You would have to doubt his commitment to our cause and would much rather we looked for someone busting a gut to play for us.

People look much to far at this commitment factor in my opinion, he will come here do what hes good at and play some games, where does this commitment factor come into it, it's not like he will not try and play less well than he would if he was on say a 2 year deal. Maybe even the opposite he will want to make and leave an impression.

08-08-2013, 11:27 AM

What's the weather like back there in 1952?

nribs
08-08-2013, 11:29 AM
Zemmama
The most overrated player to play for Hibs. No thank you

cad
08-08-2013, 11:32 AM
People look much to far at this commitment factor in my opinion, he will come here do what hes good at and play some games, where does this commitment factor come into it, it's not like he will not try and play less well than he would if he was on say a 2 year deal. Maybe even the opposite he will want to make and leave an impression.

Canny see him taking to kindly picking up an injury before his move to the MSL hence I would be suspect about his commitment .
TBH why bother

08-08-2013, 11:32 AM
So not even until Harris is back fit?:confused: Perfect solution for me even if its not long term

Yeah he would no doubt be a good singing, what I'm sayin is I would rather get someone in with quality now that we know will be here for the long term so we know we are going to have him and Harris. For me signing him just till Harris is back doesn't solve our problems as we would still be needing one more winger.

Emerald
08-08-2013, 11:35 AM

There is already a question mark over the way he applies himself at Celtic. I doubt very much if he is anywhere near match fit and if he has already signed up to play in the US in three months, I feel he woud only be using us to keep his fitness ticking over. If on the other hand he was here trying to earn a longer deal then I would be very happy to watch his skills at Easter Road.

Correct Gary, the guy's apparently been itching to play football, having only started 20 games in the last 5 years, so I really see no problem there. If he comes in for 3 months and does well, it will have been a great bit of business - if he is a disappointment, we're not tied to a big contract for a number of years.

This place shouldn't really surprise me these days, but I'm genuinely startled at the amount of people who are vociferously stating that they don't want him anywhere near us. We have the makings of a perfectly functional SPL team that is crying out for inspiration in the form of a potential match winner - McCourt seems perfect in that regard.

I raise you kujabi (based on first 5 games) when people were comparing him to players like latapy?!?! Zemmama on his day was fantastic

I thought their season finished in October, so I can't imagine McCourt starting at the end of a season.

Thought the season was roughly March to October.

08-08-2013, 11:37 AM
I thought their season finished in October, so I can't imagine McCourt starting at the end of a season.

Correct, their new season starts in March :agree:

nribs
08-08-2013, 11:38 AM
I raise you kujabi (based on first 5 games) when people were comparing him to players like latapy?!?! Zemmama on his day was fantastic
Seriously people were comparing him to Latapy? I wasn't aware of that. As for Zemmama I must have missed that day :)

08-08-2013, 11:38 AM

He'll need to get over to find out the best boozer though? :cb

08-08-2013, 11:39 AM
Get him signed. We need some good memories.

08-08-2013, 11:59 AM

shame "his day" only came around about 3 times a season.

08-08-2013, 12:04 PM
Correct Gary, the guy's apparently been itching to play football, having only started 20 games in the last 5 years, so I really see no problem there. If he comes in for 3 months and does well, it will have been a great bit of business - if he is a disappointment, we're not tied to a big contract for a number of years.

This place shouldn't really surprise me these days, but I'm genuinely startled at the amount of people who are vociferously stating that they don't want him anywhere near us. We have the makings of a perfectly functional SPL team that is crying out for inspiration in the form of a potential match winner - McCourt seems perfect in that regard.

Completely agree, he is exactly what we need in terms of ability and flair. If he stays fit IMO he will be a revelation at Hibs.

08-08-2013, 12:24 PM

I had no idea about their season dates, bur presume they will want him in February at the latest for a pre-season with his new team, something that Hibs should take on board you know getting all the players in for a pre-season. All in all if we have him until January that should help Harris and Cairney situation i.e. cover for them.

GreenPJ
08-08-2013, 12:27 PM

Maybe a bit like Paddy McCourt

08-08-2013, 12:29 PM
Maybe a bit like Paddy McCourt

Hopefully we will find out if this is the case, tend to think it wont be.

08-08-2013, 12:45 PM
Seriously people were comparing him to Latapy? I wasn't aware of that. As for Zemmama I must have missed that day :)

Yep because in his first game he had a good touch and done some keepy ups iirc, ridiculous. Come on zemmama had alot of good games for us! Just a pitty with his injuries, Ramadan and his inconsistency

08-08-2013, 12:45 PM

One good day on Sunday would do me

08-08-2013, 12:53 PM

This is drivel. Zemmama was consistently class under Mowbray and Collins but faltered under the poorer management of Mixu/Yogi.

He was a player I genuinely looked forward to watching. I can't really say the same about any of the current team. Apparently we all want rid of Fenlon for playing crap football but we are meant to play great flowing football with boring solid players.

08-08-2013, 12:55 PM
One good day on Sunday would do me

Agree completely.

West hamBERNIAN
08-08-2013, 12:59 PM

He might not go down as one of the best but he was clearly a very talented player.
He had pace, went by players and was a driving force in the team. Always picking the ball up deep in midfield carrying it forward.
Obviously wasn't perfect, a lot of the time he never seen passes when he got forward and his injury record including Ramadan was terrible.
A fit zemmama though was outstanding and would be a revelation in this team IMO. But I have my doubts he'd be the player he was and I would hate to see another old favourite come back and be ridiculed a la sproule and GOC.
Hopefully pat can find something though because right now midfield to attack is like watching golf.

08-08-2013, 01:02 PM
This is drivel. Zemmama was consistently class under Mowbray and Collins but faltered under the poorer management of Mixu/Yogi.

He was a player I genuinely looked forward to watching. I can't really say the same about any of the current team. Apparently we all want rid of Fenlon for playing crap football but we are meant to play great flowing football with boring solid players.

08-08-2013, 01:05 PM

Sorry but will disagree with you... Zemmama fleeted in and out of games and definitely wasn't consistent.

He was the same under all the managers.

Yes on his game he was quality but c'mon you cannot use the word consistent with Zemmama. He either turned up or he didn't and more often than not he didn't.

08-08-2013, 01:10 PM
Its a lot more difficult to be consistently creative than to be a consistent plodder.

08-08-2013, 01:10 PM
Funny how Zemmama is a risk because he doesn't play enough games but McCourt is the answer.

legends of 73
08-08-2013, 01:11 PM
Funny how Zemmama is a risk because he doesn't play enough games but McCourt is the answer.

Oi never mind being on here you been for the tickets yet:greengrin:greengrin

08-08-2013, 01:13 PM

I think thats selective memory, Zemmama on his day was excellent but that rarely ever happened. If you also look at his playing stats for us he averaged around 15 games I season (from memory), and I remember quite a few games where he never even made it past the 15-20 minute mark before having to go off.

You cant play attractive, flowing football when one of the players the team relies on is never available.

08-08-2013, 01:17 PM
Sorry but will disagree with you... Zemmama fleeted in and out of games and definitely wasn't consistent.

He was the same under all the managers.

Yes on his game he was quality but c'mon you cannot use the word consistent with Zemmama. He either turned up or he didn't and more often than not he didn't.

When Zemmama was fit and outside of ramadan month he WAS extremely consistent. You knew you were getting energy commitment and skill every time he pulled on the shirt. I cant understand anyone who watched us regularly in those two and a bit seasons can seriously argue otherwise :dunno:

08-08-2013, 01:22 PM
Oi never mind being on here you been for the tickets yet:greengrin:greengrin

On my way now. :-)

08-08-2013, 01:23 PM
Thought this was a done deal and was being announced today ..... Seems a bit like the Griffiths is returning story ... All wind and p1sh !!!

08-08-2013, 01:23 PM
For me zemmama showed how good he was throughout his time but he was different class in his last season under Hughes. Every game he was very good and everyone was raving about him after each game.

08-08-2013, 01:27 PM
Thought this was a done deal and was being announced today ..... Seems a bit like the Griffiths is returning story ... All wind and p1sh !!!

Hoping something hasn't happened to scupper the deal, worrying that it hasn't been announced at this time in the day

08-08-2013, 01:27 PM

yup, instead it's turned into a Zemamma argument.

08-08-2013, 01:28 PM
Zemamma was different class in a good number of games, his biggest problem was that he just couldn't stay fit long enough.

Hibs did a very nice thing by allowing him to go on loan for the sake of his wife back in 2008, but it derailed his Hibs career considerably - would loved to have seen him supplying Riordan and Fletcher that season. Start of the 2009 season under Yogi he was immense, then got injured again - shortly after he returned, he did his cruciate.

Of course he didn't play well in every single game, but on the other hand he certainly wasn't completely anonymous in the majority of them, as others are implying. Would always rather have had him in the team, than not.

08-08-2013, 01:29 PM
If we dont sign him we will be going to the Wongadome with no wide players at all. The Yams will be able to put 3 defenders across the 18 yard line without having to bother about us getting round the back.

08-08-2013, 01:29 PM

I'd take either - with Harris out - we (will) seriously lack invention!

08-08-2013, 01:31 PM
Its a lot more difficult to be consistently creative than to be a consistent plodder.

How true, and every team needs a couple of mercurial players who can produce something out of nothing. It was noticable, when our managers find it difficult to balance a team (including now) or produce exciting attacking football, that extensive criticism of the Zemmama's and Riordan's started, when the brand of football that suited them was not being catered for. I'm not saying I want them back, but McCourt for me would be a welcome addition. Whether he would thrive if people aren't getting forward to support as happened versus Motherwell is up to our manager to address.

Crazyhorse
08-08-2013, 01:34 PM
Hoping something hasn't happened to scupper the deal, worrying that it hasn't been announced at this time in the dayThey always seem to drag out a bit with Hibs. Maybe East Mains exists in its own temporal plane... like Narnia in reverse

08-08-2013, 01:35 PM
We've established that he huffs and puffs so can only do 20 minutes of magic a game but right now that could be the difference.

Just hoping this happens soon....another McManus? hopefully not

08-08-2013, 01:55 PM
They always seem to drag out a bit with Hibs. Maybe East Mains exists in its own temporal plane... like Narnia in reverse

I always thought Narnia was tynecastle? You walk up the freshly painted steps into a Scottish institution, packed with World Cup stars and 400,000 fans, where money seems to disappear?

West hamBERNIAN
08-08-2013, 01:57 PM

Never noticed anybody saying that he'd be a risk due to a lack of games. For me, I've heard he'd been playing a more defensive role at Boro. I've not seen him play since god knows when and I wouldn't be sure if he still had that ability to frighten even the best defenders in Scotland. But I'm sure he'd get a trial or pat would see videos of what he's been like at boro. We've all seen what paddy can do when he gets games at Celtic and a lot more recently. Like everything in football, it's a gamble. Hopefully he'll get the right men. If that were both I'd be delighted. Imagine paddy zemmama and Harris. We'll score more goals than you.

08-08-2013, 02:12 PM

McCourt has made 36 appearances for celtc in the last two seasons, no goals and one assist last season, spoke to my brother in law who is a ST holder at darkheid and asked him his thoughts on PM, they weren't good, he said a couple of seasons ago he had a decent season scoring some cracking goals but since then when he has made a appearance for celtc he isn't the same player, now looks slow and struggles to go by a player was what i was told, and he is very injury prone.

Big gamble for Pat Fenlon to take on a player who hasn't done much over the last two seasons and by all accounts not Fenlons type of player if he is trying to change the culture at the club, desperate times for PF.

!0 goals in five seasons tends to suggest that all his mazy runs don't end up with him putting the ball in the back of the net, maybe he loses the ball a lot and after the run he has made hasn't got the energy to get back and try and win the ball back for himself.

If he signs then he gets everyone's backing but i think a few on here have seen him score five goals on youtube from 3 seasons ago and think he is going to be that same player, even in his brief appearances for celtc in the last couple of seasons has shown that he doesn't do these things any more.

West hamBERNIAN
08-08-2013, 02:20 PM
McCourt has made 36 appearances for celtc in the last two seasons, no goals and one assist last season, spoke to my brother in law who is a ST holder at darkheid and asked him his thoughts on PM, they weren't good, he said a couple of seasons ago he had a decent season scoring some cracking goals but since then when he has made a appearance for celtc he isn't the same player, now looks slow and struggles to go by a player was what i was told, and he is very injury prone.

Big gamble for Pat Fenlon to take on a player who hasn't done much over the last two seasons and by all accounts not Fenlons type of player if he is trying to change the culture at the club, desperate times for PF.

!0 goals in five seasons tends to suggest that all his mazy runs don't end up with him putting the ball in the back of the net, maybe he loses the ball a lot and after the run he has made hasn't got the energy to get back and try and win the ball back for himself.

hopefully paddy could be for us what spoony is for st johnstone.
spoony was probably the main boo boy of late and has looked to have made an impressive start over there.
paddy hasn't been doing it for them, hopefully the change will see him back to his best.
If he signs then he gets everyone's backing but i think a few on here have seen him score five goals on youtube from 3 seasons ago and think he is going to be that same player, even in his brief appearances for celtc in the last couple of seasons has shown that he doesn't do these things any more.

08-08-2013, 02:21 PM
Anyone know if McCourt was at training today, or is he still recuperating from Tuesday's session. :greengrin

West hamBERNIAN
08-08-2013, 02:22 PM
Anyone know if McCourt was at training today, or is he still recuperating from Tuesday's session. :greengrin

should be fit by sunday:wink:

08-08-2013, 02:24 PM

Exactly what I've been saying. Honestly don't get what all the hype is about. Give me Deno or Zemmama any day of the week.

08-08-2013, 02:25 PM
should be fit by sunday:wink:

For the 3 minutes of injury time. :wink:

Dunderhall
08-08-2013, 02:27 PM
Done a hamstring getting a lighter out of his back pocket apparantly. :agree:

08-08-2013, 02:27 PM
to be fair HFC did announce the Collins deal a few days after it had been signed sealed and delivered by everyone and their dog!

08-08-2013, 02:28 PM

he most definitely wasn't - Zemmama had 3 poor games for every 1 good game

08-08-2013, 02:29 PM
Paddy. Honed his skills in Ireland making mazey runs to the bar.

08-08-2013, 02:33 PM

:Ummm::faf:

Deek01
08-08-2013, 02:33 PM
to be fair HFC did announce the Collins deal a few days after it had been signed sealed and delivered by everyone and their dog!

A few days is putting it politely !

08-08-2013, 02:36 PM

With CT as Ref injury time will be

only 1 min if Hearts are level or 1 ahead

around 10 mins if Hearts are a goal behind.

08-08-2013, 02:37 PM

I saw him leaving the cash n carry with 800 Superkings and 5 tubs of haribos.

08-08-2013, 02:39 PM

Exactly plus we are hardly in the market for a Messi or Ronaldo who produces scintillating football every single week. I'd rather have a creative player susceptible to an off day than no creative players at all. Unfortunately, we can't quite afford Messi's release clause.

08-08-2013, 02:40 PM

Zemmama was one of the most skilful players I've seen at ER in recent times and could do things that none of the present squad will get close to.

IMO he was a joy to watch, you'll rarely get consistency with that type of player, if you did he would be playing at a far higher level than Hibs, would welcome him back at ER.

Even 1 great performance every 3/4 games would be far better than what we watch these days.

08-08-2013, 02:46 PM
For the 3 minutes of injury time. :wink: well, that's put the McCourt rumour to bed then. HFC usually do a press conference about 3pm or so if they want to announce something? no? previous poster mentioned that it took a couple of days to announce the latest signing,despite all the "done deal" rumours. don't know what to think, if he get McCourt now. you have painted a poor picture, if your informant has got it right. we do need a lift of some sort, for the w/end though.

08-08-2013, 02:51 PM

Yeah!! another wonderful example of the Hibs efficient PR machine .. Pathetic !

08-08-2013, 02:53 PM

Like a dog with a rotten bone.

08-08-2013, 02:59 PM
So let me get this straight we want a player who can create something out of nothing, beat men, be fast, not to have injury problems, always be consistent....and be affordable. I think we may be struggling ;)

08-08-2013, 03:14 PM

Nice to see he's embracing a healthierregime. In his Celtc days it used to be JPS, and 2"x4" blocks of pure tablet. On a pizza.

08-08-2013, 03:16 PM

Hibs PR performance like a rotten bone.

Sorted that for you :-)

08-08-2013, 03:19 PM
Zemmama was one of the most skilful players I've seen at ER in recent times and could do things that none of the present squad will get close to.

IMO he was a joy to watch, you'll rarely get consistency with that type of player, if you did he would be playing at a far higher level than Hibs, would welcome him back at ER.

Even 1 great performance every 3/4 games would be far better than what we watch these days.

agree 100% but he was far too inconsistent/injury prone.

good player to have in your squad but not one to rely on week in week out.

West hamBERNIAN
08-08-2013, 03:19 PM

no multi buys on buckfast available?:rolleyes::greengrin

08-08-2013, 03:20 PM

Hibs as a club announce transfer arrivals based after the confirmation has been received from the SPFL, the SFA, other club etc that they are officially a Hibs player. Imagine signing a player and saying he has joined the club only for the SFA to knock back his registration. That would be pretty embarrassing for the club.

08-08-2013, 03:20 PM
Nice to see he's embracing a healthierregime. In his Celtc days it used to be JPS, and 2"x4" blocks of pure tablet. On a pizza.

He smoked Pizzas as well?!?

He really sounds like my kinda player :thumbsup:

08-08-2013, 03:42 PM
Latest Hibs.net myth: Zemmama was pish :faf:

08-08-2013, 03:43 PM
He smoked Pizzas as well?!?

He really sounds like my kinda player :thumbsup:

Don't be so ****ing stupid, that would be mad eyed raggle taggle pikey behaviour :rolleyes:

He ate the cigarettes:greengrin

08-08-2013, 03:44 PM
well, that's put the McCourt rumour to bed then. HFC usually do a press conference about 3pm or so if they want to announce something? no? previous poster mentioned that it took a couple of days to announce the latest signing,despite all the "done deal" rumours. don't know what to think, if he get McCourt now. you have painted a poor picture, if your informant has got it right. we do need a lift of some sort, for the w/end though.

Here is a we quote from Lennon about McCourt from over a year ago.

"The only thing that has curtailed Paddy is that he has been wrecked by injury", niggly injuries have curtailed him, whether they be back or hamstring injuries".

As i have said before, this is a big risk if he signs for Hibs, but maybe a risk that Fenlon has to take, if he were to play on Sunday and get a bad tackle made on him, and there is a good chance of that from the yam yoof it could see him out for months.

08-08-2013, 03:48 PM

don't think anyone said he was pish.... just inconsistent and injury prone.

nribs
08-08-2013, 03:53 PM
Who said he was pish ill stand by what I said he was overrated

08-08-2013, 04:04 PM
Just wondering why this is now a thread about Zemamma?????

08-08-2013, 04:24 PM
Forgive my stupidity but have we been trying to sign/talk to Zemmamma ? I for one haven't seen/read anything about it other than the posts on here. Hope we are because I liked him before and think he would be a really good signing .

08-08-2013, 04:25 PM
Forgive my stupidity but have we been trying to sign/talk to Zemmamma ? I for one haven't seen/read anything about it other than the posts on here. Hope we are because I liked him before and think he would be a really good signing .

Na

08-08-2013, 04:28 PM
Has Zemmama signed yet? maybe we were just waiting till Ramadan finished?

08-08-2013, 04:31 PM
So let me get this straight we want a player who can create something out of nothing, beat men, be fast, not to have injury problems, always be consistent....and be affordable. I think we may be struggling ;)

Aye - he's also got to be a clean living paragon of virtue with a decent web page - a nap for sure :wink:

West hamBERNIAN
08-08-2013, 04:33 PM

yeah him and benji both signed:greengrin

08-08-2013, 04:37 PM
yeah him and benji both signed:greengrin

That means Bale's away for sure.

green glory
08-08-2013, 04:40 PM

Sure I heard it was Griffiths. 150k.

(Ducks for cover).

08-08-2013, 07:05 PM

Yes

08-08-2013, 07:12 PM
Exactly plus we are hardly in the market for a Messi or Ronaldo who produces scintillating football every single week. I'd rather have a creative player susceptible to an off day than no creative players at all. Unfortunately, we can't quite afford Messi's release clause.

Whaaaat?!!! Fenlon out! Petrie Out! absolute disgrace :grr:

08-08-2013, 07:29 PM

"The only thing that has curtailed Paddy is that he has been wrecked by injury", niggly injuries have curtailed him, whether they be back or hamstring injuries".

As i have said before, this is a big risk if he signs for Hibs, but maybe a risk that Fenlon has to take, if he were to play on Sunday and get a bad tackle made on him, and there is a good chance of that from the yam yoof it could see him out for months.

It will be blood and snotters early doors. Wont be pretty or for those of a sensitive disposition.

08-08-2013, 09:52 PM
Come on guys it's not as if you've said: Zemmama was a bit inconsistent, but obviously had a lot of natural talent and ability.

don't think anyone said he was pish.... just inconsistent and injury prone.

3 good games a season? So in other words, 'pish'...

Who said he was pish ill stand by what I said he was overrated

THE most overrated player to play for Hibs...

In what way?

nribs
08-08-2013, 11:28 PM
Come on guys it's not as if you've said: Zemmama was a bit inconsistent, but obviously had a lot of natural talent and ability.

In what way?
In the way I thought he was over hyped in that way

09-08-2013, 06:14 AM
Apparently we got around £200,000 for him but had he gone for free it'd have to of been said that he'd been a failure going by how many games he actually played, especially for the full 90 mins, and the impact that he had on them.

Clearly a good footballer, but I can't really say he was one of our most important players and worthy of a high wage during his time with us.

He was a player that got you of your feet though, I'll say that for him. His goal against Hearts was truly sublime composure.

09-08-2013, 07:28 AM

In what way?

like how selected the two quotes where i didn't mention his ability but forgot to select the quote where i agreed with someone else about him being one of the most talented footballers i've seen at Easter Road (ON HIS DAY! :greengrin )

09-08-2013, 07:41 AM
The last really talented luxury player we have had was Latapy, although he did play in a much better side than Zemmama or indeed anyone else we'd like to call a luxury.

When Riordan was at the club, he contributed was far from a luxury with the goals and assists he had, so i'd say he was not a luxury player.

These maverick types are the guys that get us off our feet, these are the players that frustrate us, but give us our best memories.

Give me that every time over the journeyman plodders we get in to replace these types, who we never have any memories of. :rolleyes:

BarneyK
09-08-2013, 07:43 AM
So as we head toward Edinburgh derby weekend, can we simply sum it up as thus -
1. McCourt hasnae signed, and 2. Zouma was pish/a genius(delete as applicable) :aok:

Lmc2105
09-08-2013, 07:52 AM
Dont know if this has been mentioned but was reading an article in the scotsman from rowan vine and a bit at the bottom saying that Mccourt would set up a lot off good opportunities for him and would be a great signing. you never know he might just be unveiled today.

09-08-2013, 08:00 AM
Pat could be away on Monday - Do you honestly think Rod will let him sign someone before then... :greengrin

Lmc2105
09-08-2013, 08:04 AM
Dont know if this has been mentioned but was reading an article in the scotsman from rowan vine and a bit at the bottom saying that Mccourt would set up a lot off good opportunities for him and would be a great signing. you never know he might just be unveiled today.

BarneyK
09-08-2013, 08:05 AM

Pretty sure someone mentioned this a couple of posts up :wink:

Purple & Green
09-08-2013, 08:06 AM
The last really talented luxury player we have had was Latapy, although he did play in a much better side than Zemmama or indeed anyone else we'd like to call a luxury.

When Riordan was at the club, he contributed was far from a luxury with the goals and assists he had, so i'd say he was not a luxury player.

This reminds me of a quote in relation to England leaving out Glen Hoddle because he was a "luxury".

Johan Cruyff was incredulous when asked in the run up to a Holland v England game and his quote was along the lines of:

"Hoddle a luxury? Madness. It's the bad players that are a luxury"

And I know that's not what you meant, just saying likes.

09-08-2013, 08:18 AM
This reminds me of a quote in relation to England leaving out Glen Hoddle because he was a "luxury".

Johan Cruyff was incredulous when asked in the run up to a Holland v England game and his quote was along the lines of:

"Hoddle a luxury? Madness. It's the bad players that are a luxury"

And I know that's not what you meant, just saying likes.

No i think Cruyff had it spot on. :agree:

09-08-2013, 08:51 AM

If the rumours about him going to the States for the start of their season or pre-season are true I wonder whether he would take a pay by play deal. He'd have to be assured of always atleast being on the bench when fit though.

GreenPJ
09-08-2013, 09:32 AM

These maverick types are the guys that get us off our feet, these are the players that frustrate us, but give us our best memories.

Give me that every time over the journeyman plodders we get in to replace these types, who we never have any memories of. :rolleyes:

Latapy was not luxury he was integral to that team and provided so much in terms of link up play, ability just to hold onto the ball and relieve pressure as well as creating and scoring goals.

09-08-2013, 09:45 AM

Really think that Latapy was a luxury player that was enhanced by those around him? Latapy was a massive part of that team and without him we would have lacked a massive amount of creativity, look what he brought to the Falkirk team when he was about 40, I don't know how you can class Latapy as a luxury player.

09-08-2013, 09:52 AM
Latapy was part of an excellent TEAM that was well balanced and had a them playing for each other.

hibeesjoe
09-08-2013, 09:58 AM
So after reading through pages about zemmama and latapy does anyone know if McCourt has signed yet or is it another .net myth.

09-08-2013, 09:58 AM
So after reading through pages about zemmama and latapy does anyone know if McCourt has signed yet or is it another .net myth.
Yeah, thought he was to be announced yesterday?

West hamBERNIAN
09-08-2013, 10:02 AM
Latapy was part of an excellent TEAM that was well balanced and had a them playing for each other.

You got your jambo top on?

09-08-2013, 10:05 AM
What's happening with McCourt?! Does anyone actually know if we're close to signing him or is just a simple case of him training with us with no intent to sign atall?

09-08-2013, 10:09 AM
You got your jambo top on?

I will take that as an insult my good man. I would rather stick burning knitting needles in my eyes than put one of them on.

I hope you jest if not I would request you rescind your post.

:-)

Ps must be my age as I don't quite get what you mean from my post. Thicko moment from me der

West hamBERNIAN
09-08-2013, 10:18 AM
I will take that as an insult my good man. I would rather stick burning knitting needles in my eyes than put one of them on.

I hope you jest if not I would request you rescind your post.

:-)

Lol, should they not be rusty knitting needles??? And did you have them in when you watched latapy? When he left and Sauzee took over that team was far from solid no? Russell is easily the second best player I've seen at hibs. Top class. And also worth noting was in the top 30 best players in the world at the time:agree:

09-08-2013, 10:37 AM

Now ramadan is over and Eid is underway, McCourt should be signing very soon. As for Zemmama, hibs net understands his heavy drinking, and smoking might scupper a return.

I might be getting confused again :faint:

steve75
09-08-2013, 10:49 AM
Lol, should they not be rusty knitting needles??? And did you have them in when you watched latapy? When he left and Sauzee took over that team was far from solid no? Russell is easily the second best player I've seen at hibs. Top class. And also worth noting was in the top 30 best players in the world at the time:agree:

Actually only 33rd, clearly a luxury :wink:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hibernian/1068893.stm

09-08-2013, 11:40 AM
like how selected the two quotes where i didn't mention his ability but forgot to select the quote where i agreed with someone else about him being one of the most talented footballers i've seen at Easter Road (ON HIS DAY! :greengrin )

Three negative posts to one positive one, it was easy to miss :wink:

09-08-2013, 11:42 AM
This is totally no happening now.

Leishy1995
09-08-2013, 11:47 AM
Decent pat Mccourt thread

09-08-2013, 11:50 AM

How come?

09-08-2013, 11:53 AM

Wot you on about?

Deek01
09-08-2013, 11:55 AM
Could this be similar to the Thomson signing where the dealine to play against hearts was the Friday but we announced it on the Saturday night?

Persevere80
09-08-2013, 11:57 AM
I have read that if he was to sign it would be a short term contract before he heads to America. Has he actually signed for a club in the mls

K-Zazu
09-08-2013, 12:47 PM

09-08-2013, 12:51 PM

Patience

09-08-2013, 12:52 PM
How come?

Is he signing mate? Heard any whispers?

09-08-2013, 12:54 PM
Patience

Have to say, my patience is running out, this is a big signing on our hands and I'm desperate to see it completed!!

09-08-2013, 12:58 PM
Have to say, my patience is running out, this is a big signing on our hands and I'm desperate to see it completed!!

Like the rest of us. Frustrating It is mate. Sure things will be done and dusted and it will be announced. Hibs way mind!!

09-08-2013, 01:04 PM
Has Pat done has Derby day press call yet?

09-08-2013, 01:05 PM

I think it's this afternoon. Is it not usually bout now??

09-08-2013, 01:11 PM

Is this a hint about a possible unveiling?!?! Please please please please

09-08-2013, 01:16 PM
Is this a hint about a possible unveiling?!?! Please please please please

Everything Speedway posts isn't subliminal messages.. I'm sure he's just asking a question :greengrin

09-08-2013, 01:18 PM
Everything Speedway posts isn't subliminal messages.. I'm sure he's just asking a question :greengrin

Yeah, I'm sure too... :)

09-08-2013, 01:21 PM

Or is that what he leads you to believe??

09-08-2013, 01:28 PM
Or is that what he leads you to believe??

I've fell out with everyone 'itk' after what happened to Griffiths anyway :wink:

09-08-2013, 01:31 PM
I've fell out with everyone 'itk' after what happened to Griffiths anyway :wink:

Leigh Griffiths did sign for Hibs. Hibs have colluded with Wolves to create an element of surprise on Sunday when he is featured on the team sheet at 11.30am.

GlenrothesHibee
09-08-2013, 01:35 PM
Leigh Griffiths did sign for Hibs. Hibs have colluded with Wolves to create an element of surprise on Sunday when he is featured on the team sheet at 11.30am.

Source? :wink:

09-08-2013, 01:36 PM

:hyper:

09-08-2013, 01:39 PM

Dear dear Meh...Giffiths. Thought we'd agreed that one had been out to bed!! ;-)

09-08-2013, 01:51 PM
Dear dear Meh...Giffiths. Thought we'd agreed that one had been out to bed!! ;-)

It will never be put to bed :wink:

09-08-2013, 02:00 PM
It will never be put to bed :wink:

Had a feeling that would be the case mate.

09-08-2013, 02:12 PM
:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti

K-Zazu
09-08-2013, 02:17 PM
He would have been announced by now looks to me like its not happening

09-08-2013, 02:18 PM

This is the worrying feeling that I'm getting also..

09-08-2013, 02:22 PM

Patience

09-08-2013, 02:23 PM
This is the worrying feeling that I'm getting also..

Patience

09-08-2013, 02:26 PM
aaaagggggghhhhhhhh Just *** aaaaaagggggghhhhhh

09-08-2013, 02:28 PM
Patience
Someone knows something ...................

09-08-2013, 02:29 PM
:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti:I'm waiti
You just know it aint gonna happen :hnet:

09-08-2013, 03:20 PM
Patience

Are you going off of another posters post on the matter or have you actually heard something for yourself?

09-08-2013, 03:28 PM
:faf: it's not been announced so its not been done.

Quit the moaning, it's not Ronaldo we're signing. It'll be done

BarneyK
09-08-2013, 03:33 PM
MLS Transfers ‏@MLSTransfers 8 Aug Source: Paddy McCourt signs 3 month deals to Hibs of Scotland. Expected MLS to come in Jan. Has talked with San Jose and NY recently #MLS

Not sure how accurate this is, mind. (Edit : posted on Twitter yesterday)

09-08-2013, 03:39 PM
He reckons he's not fit to play on Sunday according to the paper.

09-08-2013, 03:40 PM
He reckons he's not fit to play on Sunday according to the paper.

And we believe everything written in the paper speeders?

09-08-2013, 03:42 PM
Sounds like PMcC is using Hibs to get a modicum level of fitness in, perhaps enough to blag a few years on the treatment table at some MLS outfit.

09-08-2013, 03:44 PM
And we believe everything written in the paper speeders?

I wasn't stating it as fact :greengrin

Dunderhall
09-08-2013, 03:45 PM
:faf: it's not been announced so its not been done.Quit the moaning, it's not Ronaldo we're signing. It'll be done
Better not be Done. :grr::greengrin

09-08-2013, 03:45 PM

Aah.. You didn't have FACT at the end. Silly me! ;-)

09-08-2013, 03:46 PM
Hope we don't announce it if it has happened. As much as it would be 'poor communication' it means hearts can't prepare for it.

09-08-2013, 03:57 PM

What paper is it in.

09-08-2013, 04:20 PM
Telt he's signed on pay per play basis.

09-08-2013, 04:28 PM

by minute or appearance :)

MountcastleHibs
09-08-2013, 05:02 PM
Nothing imminent according to Pat on HibernianTV.

09-08-2013, 05:04 PM

Booooooo

09-08-2013, 05:05 PM

One of these days you'll get one right. I've still not forgiven you for Dani Mallo ;)

09-08-2013, 05:14 PM

Pat has no compunction about telling lies. It's one of the reasons the press don't like him.

09-08-2013, 05:14 PM
One of these days you'll get one right. I've still not forgiven you for Dani Mallo ;)

Who's Dani Mallo? That wasnae me!

09-08-2013, 05:15 PM
Just watched the interview on Hibernian tv, seems like we can all calm down now as nothing looks to be happening anytime soon. Fenlon said McCourt has other options aswel to also consider and that his signing isn't imminent, that he hopefully will be in training with us next week again and that both parties need things to be right for a deal to be done.

In any case, looks very highly unlikely that he'll be signed and in the squad for Sunday.

Where do people get these "heard its a done deal" from when the very manager comes out and says he hasn't signed!

09-08-2013, 05:17 PM
Who's Dani Mallo? That wasnae me!

Yon Falkirk keeper who we wanted when Yogi took over. I distinctly recall you telling us you'd heard from within the Tannadice boardroom that Mallo had signed for definite.

I told everyone. And it didn't happen, he went to Spain or something. And I looked a right welt. Again. :greengrin

09-08-2013, 05:20 PM
Yon Falkirk keeper who we wanted when Yogi took over. I distinctly recall you telling us you'd heard from within the Tannadice boardroom that Mallo had signed for definite.

I told everyone. And it didn't happen, he went to Spain or something. And I looked a right welt. Again. :greengrin

Ah, your the one that fell for it, I've often wondered who it was..... :greengrin

09-08-2013, 05:24 PM
Ah, your the one that fell for it, I've often wondered who it was..... :greengrin

Stop the world, I want to get off.

09-08-2013, 05:59 PM

Somebody should have asked him if any wins were imminent.:cb

09-08-2013, 06:01 PM

Who to believe - the manager or TQM? It's a tough one.

09-08-2013, 06:02 PM
Who to believe - the manager or TQM? It's a tough one.

TQM every time. 😬