View Full Version : Kenny Shiels - Hibs manager?

skoop
25-07-2013, 10:09 PM
Make it happen Petrie

25-07-2013, 10:29 PM
Ok so he's a bit of a loon but we've already got Jimmy Nicholl in place so surely a quick call tomorrow and he's in place for training on Monday.

25-07-2013, 10:43 PM
No thanks

25-07-2013, 10:43 PM
Get jimmy nicol and kenny shields in

25-07-2013, 10:44 PM
Fenlon Out, Shiels In :taxi

25-07-2013, 10:45 PM
Not for me, sorry.

25-07-2013, 10:45 PM
No way! On what basis would we want Kenny Shiels?

25-07-2013, 10:46 PM
God, no!

Get jimmy nicol and kenny shields in

Why?

pedroorange1875
Not sure he is the answer however his team never crumbled in a final, and they did play some decent football. Also developed a few youngsters, not denying he was an erse sometimes, but i think even he is not denying it

MotherSuperior
No way! On what basis would we want Kenny Shiels?

Plays a good brand of football

25-07-2013, 10:52 PM
Nope. The merry go round needs to stop in Scottish Football.

Collins and Le Guen punted because they didn't fit what Scottish footballers were used to. The players couldn't handle it.

Hibs should break the mould and invest in someone who understands what it means to be a professional footballer in modern times within an international context. Hate to say it but Celtic and Lennon are on the right track. They have raised the bar at that club to meet the standards required to succeed domestically and in Europe. Wholesale investment throughout. Their whole youth policy is geared towards developing players good enough to play in the Champions League...not the SPL.

We need the same. Mediocrity out. Our young players are developed to be good enough for the SPL. Not high enough standard imo. They should be developed to be good enough for a higher level than the SPL. Only then will we make progress.

warwickboy
25-07-2013, 11:52 PM
Kenny Shiels isn't a bad shout IMO. I'm biased of course, but - loose cannon that he is - I can see someone like KS doing a good job at ER, especially if you want the focus to be on the next generation of home-growns coming through. Although we turned the end of last season into a shambles, at least KS gave the youngsters a chance of some proper game time, and we'll hopefully see the benefit of that going forward. In short, he always did what he said he would.

Ignoring the occasional embarassment, here is what he achieved in his relatively short time at RP:

> Completion of a historic "treble" by winning the LC v Celtic at Hampden;
> Getting rid of the hoodoo of beating Celtic at CP for the first time in 57 years (with kids in our team);
> Beating Rangers/Sevco/The Huns/Whatever-they're-called-now twice in one season;
> insisting that we play on the floor passing, attack-minded football;
> Engaging with the fans/town on a personal level and making sure all the players did the same;
> Generating media focus on the club, whether through aimless rants, tussles (mostly genuine) with the governing bodies, or just simply mouthing off to get us into the papers.

Think about that.

Saying that, a lot of things point to a deeper problem than just the manager at ER at the moment though. That's a few managers since the heady days of 2007 and JC, and Hibs have been on the slide since.

Apologies if you know better on all of the above. Just thought you'd appreciate an outside view.

gegs70
25-07-2013, 11:56 PM
Another Interview with fenlon apologising to supporters....enough said...

25-07-2013, 11:57 PM
Kenny Sheils
Kenny Rogers
Kenny Gee (saxophone player with a dodgy barnet for the younger readers)

I'd take any of them over Fenlon the way I'm feeling at the moment !!!!

26-07-2013, 12:01 AM
Finally a thread that tops the 'fenlon out, butcher in' thread

Leishy1995
26-07-2013, 12:07 AM
Few people on twitter saying he was at the game tonight with dean

26-07-2013, 12:09 AM
Any team that gets pumped 7 0 has serious questions to answer. Hanlon? Seriously playin him week in week out. Disgraceful

Griffiths kept pats job up til recently.

Sad day to b part of hibs, he must go. Nicoll for head coach or assistant to ks please.the club died tonight with fenlons own team

ColintonHibs
26-07-2013, 12:10 AM
Make it happen Petrie

Are you high?

HibeeB
26-07-2013, 12:21 AM
Noooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!

Is jug ears the hight of our ambition???

Shirley no :dead:

26-07-2013, 01:15 AM
he might slaver some pish but id like Kenny Shiels in as manager :tin hat:

26-07-2013, 02:34 AM
id be happy with Kenny Sheils, be happy with anyone TBH,

jax67
26-07-2013, 05:18 AM
Make it happen Petrie

No way!!

CorrieHibs
26-07-2013, 07:23 AM
Petite would never employ Shiels. He's not a yes man like the others!

26-07-2013, 07:26 AM
Big eck for me

26-07-2013, 07:27 AM
No thanks!

26-07-2013, 07:29 AM
Shiels would have us passing the ball better than we do at the moment that is for sure.

26-07-2013, 07:30 AM
KS is a laughing stock, rent a quote for the Scottish tabloids. I don't want him at ER

26-07-2013, 07:32 AM
Kenny Sheils
Kenny Rogers
Kenny Gee (saxophone player with a dodgy barnet for the younger readers)

I'd take any of them over Fenlon the way I'm feeling at the moment !!!!

Kenny No'resign

Pat 0-7
26-07-2013, 07:37 AM
Not for me either.......

brian6-2
26-07-2013, 07:43 AM
surely this is a joke?

SON OF PADDY
26-07-2013, 07:45 AM
Please God NO Out of the frying pan into the Fire !
Give Jimmy Nic the Job asap.

26-07-2013, 07:48 AM
We have suffered enough embarrassment already over the last few years and certainly don't need him associated with our club. He may or may not be a good manager but some of the utterances that come from his mouth are cringeworthy.

26-07-2013, 07:48 AM
KS is a laughing stock, rent a quote for the Scottish tabloids. I don't want him at ER

Surely the most important qualities he could bring would be in getting the players to pass the ball better.

brian6-2
26-07-2013, 07:50 AM
Surely the most important qualities he could bring would be in getting the players to pass the ball better.

we would need a set of players that have the ability to actually pass a ball first.

26-07-2013, 07:53 AM
Kenny Shiels is a grade A tool.

Can't believe folk want him in after all the abuse directed at him on here recently.

I'd be raging if he was hibs manager.

26-07-2013, 07:55 AM
I'd like the next manager to be some cerebral type I've never heard of from some foreign country with lots of strange ideas about fitness, tactics, professionalism and how a club should operate.

Instead we have folk asking for Kenny Shiels and Jimmy '****ing' Calderwood.

26-07-2013, 08:55 AM
I'd like the next manager to be some cerebral type I've never heard of from some foreign country with lots of strange ideas about fitness, tactics, professionalism and how a club should operate.

Instead we have folk asking for Kenny Shiels and Jimmy '****ing' Calderwood.

Agree.....

Wonder if the Malmo gaffer fancies Edinburgh:greengrin

26-07-2013, 09:02 AM
I think this tread highlights the problems in finding the right manager. Half the folk think he would be a good appointment the other half think he would be awful. When you look at the managers appointed since Mowbrey, with the exception of Calderwood, not many would have been unpopular appointments. Collins, Mixu were both very popular. Even Fenlon was wanted by Dundee Utd before he came to Hibs so wasn't just the "Cheap Option" as many people claim. Calderwood was a cheap option compared to Steve Clarke but perhaps his demands were too high. Easy with hindsight to complain.

26-07-2013, 11:18 AM
Yes.Get a bit passion at the club rather than the easy-osy "well whatever happens is foyne n therell be a crock o gold at the end o the rainbow.f this. We want winners.

26-07-2013, 11:19 AM
Why don't we just go the whole hog and get Garry 'golden shower' Locke in.

Ltyf

26-07-2013, 11:22 AM
surely this is a joke?

Or a Yam?

Mikeystewart
26-07-2013, 11:29 AM
Yes.Get a bit passion at the club rather than the easy-osy "well whatever happens is foyne n therell be a crock o gold at the end o the rainbow.f this. We want winners.

QMU-1875
26-07-2013, 11:38 AM
Completely agree, shiels has a win at all costs attitude that we have been sorely missing!

GlasgowHibee
26-07-2013, 11:40 AM
Shiels and Jimmy Calderwood are probably equally as bad but just for the fact that he doesn't slaver absolute nonsense in the media i'd rather wee had the latter.

26-07-2013, 11:40 AM
We have sash send for Tango

26-07-2013, 12:14 PM
we would need a set of players that have the ability to actually pass a ball first.

We already do.

26-07-2013, 02:03 PM
he might slaver some pish but id like Kenny Shiels in as manager :tin hat:

Me too :agree:.

04-08-2013, 02:42 PM
Kenny Shiels has been at last 2 hibs games. Nichol is his mate. Fenlon out Kenny Shiels in ;)

04-08-2013, 02:45 PM
Kenny shiels in???? Please noooooo!

04-08-2013, 02:45 PM
Seen Kenny And Dean Sheils in Stand id give him the job i know he is a bit of outspoken appears a tube in media but ithink him and jimmy nic could work wonders with the players that Fenlon obv cant his tactics are mince and he cannot change the game Shouldve went 3-5-2 Collins looked exposed with craig and harris meant to playing off him utter pish yet again im afraid time to go Pat :bye:

04-08-2013, 02:47 PM
Kenny Shiels has been at last 2 hibs games. Nichol is his mate. Fenlon out Kenny Shiels in ;)

Never been a fan of Shiels but I would be happy with that now, ditch Fenlon and give Shiels until the end of the season to see what he can do.

He can sign his son as well.

04-08-2013, 02:53 PM
Never been a fan of Shiels but I would be happy with that now, ditch Fenlon and give Shiels until the end of the season to see what he can do.

He can sign his son as well.

No matter what he always backs his team. Transformed Kilmarnock he just never got on with the chairman.

04-08-2013, 03:00 PM
Anybody got a link - feel sickened by that performance - Pat, sorry - time to go, but please not Kenny Shiels...

pontius pilate
04-08-2013, 03:02 PM
He said when I first came into the club if I could turn it around great if I can't someone else will come in. To me I think he knows his time is up. How much of his negativity is rubbing of onto the players?. With kenny and dean shiels in the stand to-day are they being courted by the club?.

04-08-2013, 03:03 PM
He said when I first came into the club if I could turn it around great if I can't someone else will come in. To me I think he knows his time is up. How much of his negativity is rubbing of onto the players?. With kenny and dean shiels in the stand to-day are they being courted by the club?.

If take them both in a heart beat. Anything to get rid of that wee imposter

OrdHibby
04-08-2013, 03:03 PM
Get Kenny Shiels in for the derby. Has a fantastic record at the piggery

hungryhibs
04-08-2013, 03:06 PM

am told by someone inside the club kenny is taking over and that a would be happy with as he done a good job with killie just has 2 keep his mouth shut

04-08-2013, 03:07 PM
am told by someone inside the club kenny is taking over and that a would be happy with as he done a good job with killie just has 2 keep his mouth shut

Aye very good. Nice try though. :fishin:

04-08-2013, 03:07 PM
Get Kenny Shiels in for the derby. Has a fantastic record at the piggery

No chance. He looked like he wanted to be anywhere other than ER today.

pontius pilate
04-08-2013, 03:08 PM

That's why i asked BH. Kenny as new manager first signing would be dean shiels back. It could work but would the majority be up for both of these appointments. IMHO anything has got to be what we are putting up with now. At times shiels Snr can be an arse but his teams at least tried to play football.

04-08-2013, 03:08 PM
Anybody got a link - feel sickened by that performance - Pat, sorry - time to go, but please not Kenny Shiels...

Sickened? Wow. What were your thoughts on the midfield today player by player?

04-08-2013, 03:10 PM

Please - not that loud mouthed arse - whilst I agree that Pat's time is up - not KS please - an embarrassment to football

04-08-2013, 03:22 PM

I'd be happy with kenny shiels, get his boy signed aswell

04-08-2013, 03:25 PM
Kenny Sheils was watching it in the stands today, along with Deano. A sign? I ****ing hope so

04-08-2013, 03:26 PM

I'd take Kenny Shiels over Fenlon. But there are better candidates waiting in the wings....

04-08-2013, 03:27 PM
Kenny Sheils was watching it in the stands today, along with Deano. A sign? I ****ing hope so

Spent more time in the stands than in the dugout when he was at Killie :greengrin

04-08-2013, 03:28 PM
I'd take Kenny Shiels over Fenlon. But there are better candidates waiting in the wings....

Who are they?

04-08-2013, 03:45 PM

Dean - in a heartbeat
Kenny - please god no, just no

BarneyK
04-08-2013, 03:46 PM
Kenny Shiels would be a good appointment. Hey at least he'd have us playing exciting football. That's got to be worth something surely.

gegs70
04-08-2013, 07:29 PM
He had an eye for some decent players...Im sure petrie would run a manager selection process..but he has spent money on players which cost money therefore Fenlon will likely remain in place til at least January....maybe even run the full 12months of his contract?

04-08-2013, 07:31 PM
Kenny Shiels has played 8, won 4, drawn 3 and lost 1 against Hearts. He has a 100% record at Tynecastle and doesn't like them one bit.

It's a no brainer for me. :agree:

BarneyK
04-08-2013, 07:32 PM
Kenny Shiels has played 7, won 4, drawn 2 and lost 1 against Hearts. He has a 100% record at Tynecastle and doesn't like them one bit.

It's a no brainer for me. :agree:

:thumbsup: What's his record against us?

Bob Box Fish
04-08-2013, 07:33 PM
Please no

ackeygraham
04-08-2013, 07:34 PM
I'd take big terry butcher. Shiels, no thanks.

BarneyK
04-08-2013, 07:34 PM
Please no

C'mon you know it makes sense :wink:

04-08-2013, 07:36 PM
:thumbsup: What's his record against us?

Played 10 - won 2, drawn 3, lost 5. I don't think we'll have to play ourselves though. :wink:

04-08-2013, 07:41 PM
Played 10 - won 2, drawn 3, lost 5. I don't think we'll have to play ourselves though. :wink:

And his record against Hearts is irrelevant as well, as they won't be around

04-08-2013, 07:54 PM
According to wiki kenny shiels record for killie was 30.85% win rate from 94 games. Sure he won them a cup but so did Danny Lennon for saints and his league record is pretty crap too. Not worth the baggage, there must be better options out there.

04-08-2013, 07:55 PM
According to wiki kenny shiels record for killie was 30.85% win rate from 94 games. Sure he won them a cup but so did Danny Lennon for saints and his league record is pretty crap too. Not worth the baggage, there must be better options out there.

Would you trust Petrie to pick someone better?

Kenny Shiels was sacked by Killie because his behaviour was embarrassing and their home record was the worst in decades. Also, some of their defensive antics were laughable. Playing the ball out from the back is fine, but sometimes a hoof into row Z is needed.

People should remember that he accused Paul Cairney of diving to get the winning penalty against Killie at ER last season. When the tv replays showed what had seemed obvious at the time i.e. the award was correct, he continued to claim it was a dive. I've had no time for the man since then. He seems more interested in getting newspaper headlines for his comments than in coaching a team.

A massive no from me.

Ain't that better than Fenlons record? Plus he'll have better players at his disposal:agree:

04-08-2013, 08:00 PM
Ain't that better than Fenlons record? Plus he'll have better players at his disposal:agree:

Nope, pats record is 36% from 75 games.

04-08-2013, 08:02 PM
Would you trust Petrie to pick someone better?

Not necessarily, but given that there are better men for the job out there, imo, I'd rather take that chance than settle for employing Kenny shiels and turning hibs into an even greater laughing stock.

jakeshibs
04-08-2013, 08:03 PM
No thank you

04-08-2013, 08:03 PM
Nope, pats record is 36% from 75 games.

Ah, cheers that:thumbsup:

Emerald
04-08-2013, 08:08 PM
I don't think there is any chance KS will ever be employed at Hibs. Rod Petrie will know how outspoken he is and will not want the hassle IMO. Not worth the hassle IMO either, mind you it would really wind some folks up so..............just a wee maybe! :greengrin

04-08-2013, 08:19 PM
Petite would never employ Shiels. He's not a yes man like the others!

04-08-2013, 08:22 PM
I don't think there is any chance KS will ever be employed at Hibs. Rod Petrie will know how outspoken he is and will not want the hassle IMO. Not worth the hassle IMO either, mind you it would really wind some folks up so..............just a wee maybe! :greengrin

Depends if, like Mixu, he's learned things from his first real management appointment - Hughes was more outspoken than Shiels - Shiels just happened to be more intelligent and articulate. Kenny also questioned integrity a few times - which fans are crying out for.

I'm not saying Kenny Shiels wasn't an arse at times, or that his comments detracted from the game - but he polarises support and as such the club. Hibs need that, as the fans are united on the stands (I sense).

I'd love a manager who not only cares a out Hibs but quite openly questions integrity, referees, the establishment and suits. For too long Hibs have been a right soft touch.

Shields Hibee
04-08-2013, 08:26 PM
Someone mentioned Kenny Shiels to me before the match as well as a possibility to replace Fenlon.

While he would get us trying to play football, his antics on the touchline at times with Killie mean we are relying on a good No 2 to shout the instructions from the dugout for when Kenny is banned. He is honest about how he feels about decisions but that doesn't always work in his favour with the top brass of our game.

Would Petrie want a man who would have us in the headlines on a regular basis for being outspoken?

04-08-2013, 08:27 PM
Depends if, like Mixu, he's learned things from his first real management appointment - Hughes was more outspoken than Shiels - Shiels just happened to be more intelligent and articulate. Kenny also questioned integrity a few times - which fans are crying out for.

I'm not saying Kenny Shiels wasn't an arse at times, or that his comments detracted from the game - but he polarises support and as such the club. Hibs need that, as the fans are united on the stands (I sense).

I'd love a manager who not only cares a out Hibs but quite openly questions integrity, referees, the establishment and suits. For too long Hibs have been a right soft touch.

I agree and apparently he was at the game with his very talented son. I think he will be the next Hibs manager given the Jimmy Nicholl appointment and if so hope it happens soon so that he can bring in his own players before the window shuts.

Emerald
04-08-2013, 08:33 PM

That is very important, he polarises support. I'm not for one minute saying I want KS as manager but I agree with your points. We need someone to come in and when asked what their target for the season is for them to say "I don't care what league position we finish in, the target is to get all those empty seats filled, that will be prove my success". Maybe I should apply! :greengrinI'd just book Garry Barlow and FO!!

04-08-2013, 09:13 PM
No thanks

04-08-2013, 09:14 PM
Who are they?

Alex Mcleish.has a soft spot for hibs.heard he was at east mains last week.not trying to get a job but just visiting

04-08-2013, 09:20 PM
Alex Mcleish.has a soft spot for hibs.heard he was at east mains last week.not trying to get a job but just visiting

Aye, and he only stayed there as long as we wanted him to.

Gerard
04-08-2013, 09:22 PM
I agree and apparently he was at the game with his very talented son. I think he will be the next Hibs manager given the Jimmy Nicholl appointment and if so hope it happens soon so that he can bring in his own players before the window shuts.

If and it is a big if that he becomes our next manager we can be assured that his press interviews will not be boring.:greengrin. I like a manager who is not afraid to voice his opinion with the media. A manager who will tell the players when they have played well and when they have been S1. If that causes a few holes in training room doors...... it will be a small cost to play if we finish one place higher in the SPL and win cups. Perhaps Mr Fenlon is too nice a man to manage Hibs.
If not Mr Shiels then Mr Butcher could do a job for us.:wink:

OrdHibby
04-08-2013, 09:23 PM

What are Hibs managed by Fenlon ? kettle pot n awe that ehh

04-08-2013, 09:28 PM
Aye, and he only stayed as long as we wanted him to. Nice chap.

Headhunted by the team he supported as a boy, top job (of two) in Scotland - he'd also created a pretty decent Hibs side and left 'Well to come to us knowing we were in a perilous state.

I trained with Hearts as a youth but I'm a absolutely devout Hibs fan - I still would have signed for them if offered a pro contract - does that make me a judas too ? Just asking ? Oh and I would have stayed a Hibs fan regardless - it's in the family blood 😉

OrdHibby
04-08-2013, 09:28 PM

Thats harsh as his club has no budget unlike ours

04-08-2013, 09:48 PM
No

Ricky Bobby
04-08-2013, 09:56 PM
Big eck for me

You know it makes sense.

04-08-2013, 09:59 PM
Finally a thread that tops the 'fenlon out, butcher in' thread

Yeah, well whatever you think of Shiels, he would get us playing better football again, and I doubt he'd need to make 20-odd signings like Fenlon does to make a difference.

04-08-2013, 10:02 PM
Kenny Shiels??? I despair!! His Kilmarnock team was pumped 4-1 at home by Pat Fenlon's Hibs in the cup just a few months ago.

04-08-2013, 10:03 PM

WE are a laughing stock thanks to Fenlon, Calderwood, and all the other duds Petrie and co keep on appointing. It would almost be an acheivement for Shiels to make us look worse. But I agree there are better (safer) candidates out there.

OrdHibby
04-08-2013, 10:14 PM
That is very important, he polarises support. I'm not for one minute saying I want KS as manager but I agree with your points. We need someone to come in and when asked what their target for the season is for them to say "I don't care what league position we finish in, the target is to get all those empty seats filled, that will be prove my success". Maybe I should apply! :greengrinI'd just book Garry Barlow and FO!!

Thats you out of the running then :greengrin

04-08-2013, 10:14 PM
We have sash send for Tango

:sofa: :greengrin

Gerard
04-08-2013, 10:16 PM
WE are a laughing stock thanks to Fenlon, Calderwood, and all the other duds Petrie and co keep on appointing. It would almost be an acheivement for Shiels to make us look worse. But I agree there are better (safer) candidates out there.

Who?

Emerald
04-08-2013, 11:02 PM
Thats you out of the running then :greengrin

On spelling alone, I think you're right sorry Garrrry :greengrin

seven nowt
05-08-2013, 03:18 PM
I hope we appoint Kenny Shiels as manager when Fenlon goes (which will happen sooner or later) He had Kilmarnock playing good football, has experience in winning the cup. Being Mixu's predecessor was a difficult task and I believe he exceeded expectations. He's outspoken, will notice where it went wrong and hopefully he can bring Dean back to get our erses of the seat. Best realistic appointment.

ancienthibby
05-08-2013, 03:23 PM
Someone mentioned Kenny Shiels to me before the match as well as a possibility to replace Fenlon.

While he would get us trying to play football, his antics on the touchline at times with Killie mean we are relying on a good No 2 to shout the instructions from the dugout for when Kenny is banned. He is honest about how he feels about decisions but that doesn't always work in his favour with the top brass of our game.

Would Petrie want a man who would have us in the headlines on a regular basis for being outspoken?

If Sheils was to be appointed manager, it would be an interim appointment to the end of the season, I'd imagine.

And you can be sure of this he would receive some straight words from Sir Rodders about his behaviour and over-worked mouth.

Personally, I don't think that would be a real issue, as the Shiels family are great admirers of Hibs for how Dean was taken care of when he needed an operation on his eye.

Worth a shout, I'd say.:agree:

Gus Fring
11-08-2013, 05:23 PM
Kenny Shiels has mostly spoken well of Hibs and the SPL is probably his "level". I believe Dean is available at the moment as well. They could both do a job both on the pitch and at the side of it.

Discuss

11-08-2013, 05:24 PM
No. Talks complete pish on a large scale.

scuttle
11-08-2013, 05:27 PM
Not for me. Did Deano not score for sevco yesterday so why would that make him available for us?

OrdHibby
11-08-2013, 05:28 PM

and what do you think Fenlon spouts :cb

Gordy M
11-08-2013, 05:31 PM
Not for me, fenlons team thumped sheils team last season, says it all for me.

11-08-2013, 05:32 PM

Don't rate him either.

What's your point?

1875STEVE
11-08-2013, 05:38 PM
Paul Sturrock please.

AndyM_1875
11-08-2013, 05:50 PM
Not for me, fenlons team thumped sheils team last season, says it all for me.

Leigh Griffiths did you mean.... I don't think there is a side in the SPL with a striker of his quality now.

I'd have Shiels in tomorrow at East Mains if I could.

11-08-2013, 05:50 PM
No .

SON OF PADDY
11-08-2013, 08:21 PM
Paul Sturrock please.

P S would be a great shout !
But why would he ruin his CV by coming to us.:'(

11-08-2013, 09:13 PM

he can talk pish on a large scale all he wants, long as he gets the hibs team playing football and winning games, thats all that matters.

11-08-2013, 09:22 PM
Shiels has some pride. It's a start.

SonOfTortolano
11-08-2013, 09:41 PM
Petrie will not buy out a contract for a new manager so Shiels should be a contender.

11-08-2013, 09:54 PM
Kenny Shiels??? I despair!! His Kilmarnock team was pumped 4-1 at home by Pat Fenlon's Hibs in the cup just a few months ago.

2-4

Eternal Hibbie
11-08-2013, 09:57 PM
Shiels is a total non-starter, he had the bottle to cross swords with the powers that be and Petrie is an establishment man.

12-08-2013, 01:44 AM
I overheard something better than this earlier.

Paul Hartley for the hibs job.

12-08-2013, 02:47 AM
NO

SuperAllyMcleod
12-08-2013, 08:12 AM
No to Shiels, maybe to McLeish but I'd like to see us get Terry Butcher in the chair.

I know he may not be that popular with some of our support but he knows how to build a team and get the best out of the players he has. I believe he could get the current squad playing pretty well fairly quickly.

12-08-2013, 02:21 PM
Sheils is an attention seeking fandango who makes his digs and snide comments and when pulled up about them hasn't got the baws to stand by them but claims hes been misinterpreted. He is an absolute phanny of a man and I wouldn't want his rent a gob nonsense anywhere near ER.

Butchers track record speaks for itself and I would take him in a minute. Weve tried Hibs minded managers and now an Irish manager. Ill gladly see past his Ingurland bandage heid and currant buns history if he can bring some organisation and motivation to an under performing squad.

skoop
30-10-2013, 09:57 PM
Said it before, will say it again. Make it happen Rod.

30-10-2013, 09:58 PM
Said it before, will say it again. Make it happen Rod.

No manager would be a better bet than that trumpet.

30-10-2013, 09:59 PM
Until the end of the season anyway

30-10-2013, 10:01 PM
Please god no, I reckon this might happen unfortunately

30-10-2013, 10:08 PM
Few people on twitter saying he was at the game tonight with dean

They were! I passed them standing outside the main door to the West as I headed back to my car after possibly the worst Derby match I have ever been to from a footballing point of view let alone the result!!

30-10-2013, 10:16 PM
Would GLADLY welcome this news! He knows how to set a team up and how to attack.

BH Hibs
31-10-2013, 12:22 AM
Please *** no. Just saying like

31-10-2013, 12:23 AM
Get him in.

31-10-2013, 12:24 AM
He was in the stand again...

Leishy1995
31-10-2013, 12:25 AM
At least he would tell it like it is and not spin us a clichè or claim he's the right man when he's embarrassed us. Repeatedly.

Totally agreed.

No chance

Won't be a yes man to Petrie.To outspoken

BH Hibs
31-10-2013, 12:36 AM
Hes pish

31-10-2013, 12:45 AM
My money is on him to be the next Hibs manager.

31-10-2013, 12:47 AM
I ****ing hope not

31-10-2013, 02:54 AM
Would love him to be our next manager. As said above, he isn't a yes man and doesn't mess with his words. Would have this team playing MUCH better football than we're serving right now.

31-10-2013, 03:10 AM
Much as some of the stuff he came out with was cringeworthy - he also wasnt a yes man to anyone.

Some of the crap he spouted was him just standing up for his club too - also had Killie trying to play the right way, and seemed to unearth the odd decent signing

Id be happy with him

31-10-2013, 05:02 AM
Much as some of the stuff he came out with was cringeworthy - he also wasnt a yes man to anyone.

Some of the crap he spouted was him just standing up for his club too - also had Killie trying to play the right way, and seemed to unearth the odd decent signing

Id be happy with him

May get him till the end of the season

jakeshibs
31-10-2013, 05:11 AM
KS is worse, don't want that clown any where near ER.

Shearer
31-10-2013, 10:04 AM
Why do people want a manager who led Killie to their worst home record in a season since the SPL began??

Just cos he isn't a "yes man" or he's "outspoken", what's that got to do with anything? It's what he knows about setting up a football team that's important not his media relations skills

31-10-2013, 10:11 AM
Shiels is shocking. No thanks. Can we get someone who tries to play football please. Jackie is the man but Utd wont let him go.

31-10-2013, 10:12 AM
Absolutely left field and not quoted at all, but I've heard really good things about Duncan Ferguson (ex Ger, Everton) and his coaching - has done pretty much all his badges and a coach I know thought he'd have a first team appointment anytime soon - at any level he thinks he's that good.

Anyone that banjos Roy Keane and leaves him scared is good enough for me if it's about changing mentality around the place :aok:

Whoever we have in charge, sadly it will be a decision rubber stamped by Rod, and the boxes will have to be ticked - cheap, available now, zero compo, and relatively untested this side of the water/border.

I wouldn't mind Kenny Shiels to be honest - watched him coached at the Academy recently and had the boys hanging on his every word. Good coach from my initial viewing.

Big Sexy Dave
31-10-2013, 10:14 AM
Why do people want a manager who led Killie to their worst home record in a season since the SPL began??

Just cos he isn't a "yes man" or he's "outspoken", what's that got to do with anything? It's what he knows about setting up a football team that's important not his media relations skills

Maybe because he won a trophy for Kilmarnock? beat Rangers home and away in one season, beat Celtic away for the first time in over 50 years? he's not perfect and I don't want him in the papers for non Hibs reasons but he's a lot better than Fenlon.

31-10-2013, 10:22 AM
Absolutely left field and not quoted at all, but I've heard really good things about Duncan Ferguson (ex Ger, Everton) and his coaching - has done pretty much all his badges and a coach I know thought he'd have a first team appointment anytime soon - at any level he thinks he's that good.

Anyone that banjos Roy Keane and leaves him scared is good enough for me if it's about changing mentality around the place :aok:

Whoever we have in charge, sadly it will be a decision rubber stamped by Rod, and the boxes will have to be ticked - cheap, available now, zero compo, and relatively untested this side of the water/border.

I wouldn't mind Kenny Shiels to be honest - watched him coached at the Academy recently and had the boys hanging on his every word. Good coach from my initial viewing.

at east mains?

31-10-2013, 10:23 AM
Was Shiels at the game taking notes last night?

31-10-2013, 10:27 AM
at east mains?

Nope, at one of the SFA Academies :aok:

Last Minute
31-10-2013, 12:40 PM
Get him in now with his no 2 Jimmy Nicol already in place until the end of season. watch the difference if this happens.

vanNISHtelroy
31-10-2013, 01:08 PM

He also led us to a cup win against Celtic and the year of the worst home record since SPL began he led us to the best away record we've had in a decade.

Weststandwanab
31-10-2013, 02:46 PM
Petrie will not buy out a contract for a new manager so Shiels should be a contender. Should = will be.

Shiels is a total non-starter, he had the bottle to cross swords with the powers that be and Petrie is an establishment man. I agree but.....

I overheard something better than this earlier.

Paul Hartley for the hibs job.

:faf: More chance of me getting the job.

Please god no, I reckon this might happen unfortunately Me too.

They were! I passed them standing outside the main door to the West as I headed back to my car after possibly the worst Derby match I have ever been to from a footballing point of view let alone the result!! I watched on TV this morning and they were clearly there,

Get him in now with his no 2 Jimmy Nicol already in place until the end of season. watch the difference if this happens. Which is why it most likely will happen.

NoTottiNoParty
31-10-2013, 02:49 PM

Speaking to a guy on holiday whose son is a youth player at Everton- he had high praise for Ferguson too

31-10-2013, 04:34 PM
Kenny Shiels is the man for Hibs.

31-10-2013, 04:39 PM
Kenny Shiels is the man for Hibs.

Source or just a hunch? Personally think he has been lined up for months.

31-10-2013, 04:44 PM
Give him the job until the end of the season.

Make it clear to him that the 1st time he steps out of line he has blown it. It's highly unlikely we will be relegated so it's worth a go imo. I've never spoken to a Kille fan that doesn't love the guy and i've heard nothing but good things about his coaching and man management.

If it works out we can offer him longer, if it doesn't we have the summer to find someone else.

There is no way he can be worse than Fenlon.

31-10-2013, 04:50 PM

:agree: Hes turned up to more games than half the team

31-10-2013, 04:51 PM

Make it clear to him that the 1st time he steps out of line he has blown it. It's highly unlikely we will be relegated so it's worth a go imo. I've never spoken to a Kille fan that doesn't love the guy and i've heard nothing but good things about his coaching and man management.

If it works out we can offer him longer, if it doesn't we have the summer to find someone else.

Agree and personally think he would do a decent job and hopefully he can bring Deano back and give us a bit of much needed creativity.

31-10-2013, 04:51 PM
:agree: Hes turned up to more games than half the team

Absolutely true though that wouldnt be too hard. :greengrin

31-10-2013, 04:53 PM

Neither, just personal preference.

31-10-2013, 05:23 PM
Shiels is shocking. No thanks. Can we get someone who tries to play football please. Jackie is the man but Utd wont let him go.

That's exactly what he did at Killie.

31-10-2013, 05:32 PM

It's impossible to be worse than Fenlon. Even Calderwood wasn't as bad, as he was in the job for less time.

The 'quality' of our football under Fenlon is no better than CC. And Fenlon has more, better players too.

I still can't believe he's still here. Humiliation follows humiliation and he keeps his job.

Ragin'.

davhibby
31-10-2013, 05:39 PM
Think he'd be great. Tries to play football the right way and did well at killie

31-10-2013, 05:42 PM

Totally agree. At the very least he would try to play the game properly.

The existing squad is probably better than he ever had at Killie too, IMO.

S.sct
31-10-2013, 06:23 PM
Yes, him for me

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

31-10-2013, 06:25 PM
For those who sit in the West - how often has he been at games recently?

kdhibees1
31-10-2013, 06:29 PM
I would be very happy if Shiels was appointed!!

Big Sexy Dave
31-10-2013, 06:47 PM
Facebook'd my Killie mates asking what they thought of Shiels as the Hibs boss "please no, i'd hate to see him at another scottish team!" "A gem of a man. Beat Sevco at Ruggers for the first time in 17 year. Beat Celtic at the San Giro. Beat Sevco at the bigot dome. Best away record in over a decade. It tears me up he's left Killie. He might even win Hibs the Scottish cup lol.

31-10-2013, 06:54 PM
Get him hiding out in the changing rooms at the club shop and all he has to do is await the call... that's how big teams do it!

Gerard
31-10-2013, 06:57 PM
Facebook'd my Killie mates asking what they thought of Shiels as the Hibs boss "please no, i'd hate to see him at another scottish team!" "A gem of a man. Beat Sevco at Ruggers for the first time in 17 year. Beat Celtic at the San Giro. Beat Sevco at the bigot dome. Best away record in over a decade. It tears me up he's left Killie. He might even win Hibs the Scottish cup lol.

We can only hope that we win the cup. If the Red Sox can win the World series after almost 90 years then there is still hope for us.:wink:

MotherSuperior
31-10-2013, 07:00 PM
http://terracepodcast.net/scottish-premiership/2013/10/31/betting-blog-kenny-shiels-to-hibs

31-10-2013, 07:10 PM
absolutely no danger.
idiotic appointment if it were made.
anyway, he's off to manage Derry

31-10-2013, 08:32 PM
absolutely no danger.
idiotic appointment if it were made.
anyway, he's off to manage Derry

Why?

31-10-2013, 08:34 PM
It's impossible to be worse than Fenlon. Even Calderwood wasn't as bad, as he was in the job for less time.

The 'quality' of our football under Fenlon is no better than CC. And Fenlon has more, better players too.

I still can't believe he's still here. Humiliation follows humiliation and he keeps his job.

Ragin'.

Worse than Calderwood? That's just ridiculous.

31-10-2013, 08:37 PM
If he could stop making an erse of himself by arguing with officials and talking complete pish to the press he'd be ideal. It's the type of football we all want to see....isn't it?

mrdependable
31-10-2013, 08:52 PM
the more I think about Kenny Shiels becoming Hibs manager, the more I think its a good idea- knows the division, his teams play good football, a good track record at Killie with a worse squad than we have, a good record against Hearts and a cup winner.

31-10-2013, 09:00 PM
the more I think about Kenny Shiels becoming Hibs manager, the more I think its a good idea- knows the division, his teams play good football, a good track record at Killie with a worse squad than we have, a good record against Hearts and a cup winner.

Plus Jimmy Nicholl, Nelson and Heff are here and he will know them inside out:agree:

Bronson
31-10-2013, 09:07 PM
Kenny Shiels is not the man to take us forward, sacked by killie - says enough for me.

To think we could've had steve clark when we got calderclown:grr:

31-10-2013, 09:15 PM
http://terracepodcast.net/scottish-premiership/2013/10/31/betting-blog-kenny-shiels-to-hibs

A decent blog.

I`m still unsure if Kenny Shiels would be the answer, but of all the (obvious) candidates he would appear to be the standout.

31-10-2013, 09:41 PM
If Kenny Everett was still alive i'd have him before Fenlon.

AndyM_1875
31-10-2013, 09:42 PM
Kenny Shiels is not the man to take us forward, sacked by killie - says enough for me.

That's somewhat unfair on Kenny Shiels. He fell out with Michael Johnston and was done for after that.
Despite winning them the League Cup and representing the club with dignity when the you g Killie players father collapsed and died at Hampden.

The fact that he also had Hearts on toast most of the time and really got under the skin of Neil Lennon & to a lesser extent McCoist makes him alright in my book.

Leishy1995
31-10-2013, 09:44 PM

Sacked for the reason "playing youth players to much"

Aye I don't want that man at Easter road for being sacked.

Prof. Shaggy
31-10-2013, 09:45 PM

Sacked by Micheal Johnston - a singularly clueless and self-serving clot. (allegedly)

31-10-2013, 09:51 PM
The more I look into this, the more I believe that Kenny Shiels is a perfect fit for Hibs.

He won't get the job though, as I doubt he'd be shy in letting the support know if he felt Petrie wasn't pulling his weight, and Rod wouldn't like that.

31-10-2013, 09:53 PM
I'm not against Kenny Shiels getting the job.
It wouldn't be dull that's for sure.

31-10-2013, 09:55 PM
I'm not against Kenny Shiels getting the job.
It wouldn't be dull that's for sure.

Kenny Sheils teams player football from the back. We don't have a single defender who is comfortable on the ball

Big Sexy Dave
31-10-2013, 10:39 PM

To think we could've had steve clark when we got calderclown:grr: He hardly failed at Killie.

31-10-2013, 10:46 PM
Kenny Sheils teams player football from the back. We don't have a single defender who is comfortable on the ball

Should we discount all managers who want to play it from the back ?

Im not saying he is our great saviour or anything , im just not against his appointment:greengrin

31-10-2013, 10:58 PM
If Kenny Everett was still alive i'd have him before Fenlon.

That's just all hot gossip :)

31-10-2013, 11:19 PM
Worse than Calderwood? That's just ridiculous.

Is it really though?

Keep seeing that Calderwood would have get us relegated the year Fenlon came in, for instance. Read today that Calderwood took 14 points from 15 and Pat took 19 from 23. So although it's two crap records Pats was just worse in terms of points per game.

Listen, I didn't like Calderwood. The way he treated the club was a disgrace. But Pat has given me the worst days of my Hibs supporting life. Although I didn't like Calderwood I can't ever recall feeling as low under him as I do these days. Not a lot in it for me.

31-10-2013, 11:29 PM
I'd take Kenny Shields but not my first choice. I want Hope Powell, another first, Imagine the headlines and publicity it would generate around the world

31-10-2013, 11:33 PM
Apart from Michael Nelson who played for the all conquering Killie Brazilianesque side under Sheils obviously.

1875STEVE
31-10-2013, 11:45 PM
P S would be a great shout !
But why would he ruin his CV by coming to us.:'(

Ive touted Sturrock for the last 3 or 4 manager changes.

Plus he's also unattached.

He has an incredible record in English lower leagues and a pretty good record in Scotland.

St Johnstone - promotion
Dundee Utd - took them to their highest placing at the time in 20 years
Plymouth - 2 straight promotions
Southampton - Last about 40 days - fall out with chairman
Sheff Wed - Took over with them near bottom - promotion by end of season.
Swindon - Took over with them near bottom - promotion by end of season.
Plymouth - took them to highest ever position in their history -top 10 of championship.
Southend - Took over and had 5 players (total) on first day in charge, had them leading league for most of season on smallest budget in division, finished mid table. 2nd season left after falling out with chairman, with them sitting in play off positions and in a cup final.

Experienced, builds good attacking sides and takes no *****.

Only problems I see is he seems to fall out with chairmen, and he has parkinsons, apparently only a mild case, but apparently it can get worse quite quickly.

Kris1875
31-10-2013, 11:48 PM
Ian holloway ? If anything the boys got good chat !

JMac
31-10-2013, 11:53 PM
Please No!!! Absolute Roaster

31-10-2013, 11:59 PM
Kenny shiels can do one as far as I'm concerned, never rated him as a manager and don't think he would benefit us in the slightest

Would much rather see us take a punt on someone like Ian Murray who has played at a high level, knows what it means to the club, understands the culture, wants to give young guys a go and gets instant respect from players and coaches.

Leishy1995
01-11-2013, 12:11 AM
I'd take Kenny Shields but not my first choice. I want Hope Powell, another first, Imagine the headlines and publicity it would generate around the world

I don't want to hire a manager for publicity.

01-11-2013, 12:22 AM
Said it before, no thanks Mr Sheils not for me.

01-11-2013, 12:23 AM
We could do a lot worse than Shiels, at least it wouldn't be dull!

01-11-2013, 06:46 AM
He was at the game the other night and I see him there quite a lot.

Means nothin of course. Jut saying like :agree:

01-11-2013, 07:32 AM
I'm not keen to be honest. I didn't like him when he was killie manager not sure I'd like him at ER.

jakeshibs
01-11-2013, 07:33 AM
Make it happen Petrie

he is worse that PF

jakeshibs
01-11-2013, 07:36 AM
Maybe because he won a trophy for Kilmarnock? beat Rangers home and away in one season, beat Celtic away for the first time in over 50 years? he's not perfect and I don't want him in the papers for non Hibs reasons but he's a lot better than Fenlon.

Really?

01-11-2013, 07:48 AM
he is worse that PF

It is almost impossible to be worse than Fenlon. Calderwood was better than Fenlon based on the players he had.

The only folk I know who like Fenlon are Jambos. Just sayin like.

01-11-2013, 07:54 AM
No he wasnt.

01-11-2013, 07:57 AM
It is almost impossible to be worse than Fenlon. Calderwood was better than Fenlon based on the players he had.

You shouldn't keep such poor company.

01-11-2013, 08:37 AM

And he has an excellent record against Hearts.

01-11-2013, 09:42 AM
Fenlon out, anyone in.

01-11-2013, 12:50 PM

I would completely back Kenny Shiels if he were to get the job. However, if we lost goals like 3 of the four that we scored away at Killie in he SC QF last season on a regular basis (like Killie did), I'm sure attitudes to him and his style would change pretty quickly.

01-11-2013, 12:57 PM
You shouldn't keep such poor company.

Not sure I follow you.

The only folk I know who like Fenlon are Jambos.

I don't know any Hibees who like his brand of football, the humiliations or the complete lack of results.

01-11-2013, 01:04 PM
I would completely back Kenny Shiels if he were to get the job. However, if we lost goals like 3 of the four that we scored away at Killie in he SC QF last season on a regular basis (like Killie did), I'm sure attitudes to him and his style would change pretty quickly.

I hear what you are saying however these were schoolboy players mistakes and nothing really to do with the coach I would have thought.

1068gary
01-11-2013, 01:06 PM
Have we really stooped so low, that we would even consider this guy? I'm getting depressed!

01-11-2013, 02:18 PM
I hear what you are saying however these were schoolboy players mistakes and nothing really to do with the coach I would have thought.

Of course Jim, but they came about regularly from individual errors and if that were to happen at ER then the blame would eventually be put onto him. Managers cannot legislate for individual errors (from their own players or officials) but they can make or break their careers.

HappyHibby93
01-11-2013, 02:22 PM
Would genuinely be sole distraught if he was put in charge, he is not the man!! Petrie, do not make this happen

jakeshibs
01-11-2013, 02:24 PM

I am Hibs through thin and thinner mate, just don't see that idiot doing any better than the numpty we have at the moment, he is definitely not the answer to our problems, and if you think he is then here's to a couple more years of the same.

jakeshibs
01-11-2013, 02:26 PM

He has an incredible record in English lower leagues and a pretty good record in Scotland.

St Johnstone - promotion
Plymouth - took them to highest ever position in their history -top 10 of championship.
Southend - Took over and had 5 players (total) on first day in charge, had them leading league for most of season on smallest budget in division, finished mid table. 2nd season left after falling out with chairman, with them sitting in play off positions and in a cup final.

Only problems I see is he seems to fall out with chairmen, and he has parkinsons, apparently only a mild case, but apparently it can get worse quite quickly.

this sounds more encouraging:agree:

01-11-2013, 02:44 PM

St Johnstone - promotion

The pilgrim I know would say don't touch with a bargepole.

01-11-2013, 02:47 PM

St Johnstone - promotion

I didn't remember Sturrock being that good at Utd, so had a look - in his two seasons in charge they finished 9th and 8th respectively, in a ten team SPL.

His overall record was

P 85
W 27
D 19
L 39

A loss percentage of 46%

Very good record overall, though.

01-11-2013, 02:50 PM
I didn't remember Sturrock being that good at Utd, so had a look - in his two seasons in charge they finished 9th and 8th respectively, in a ten team SPL.

His overall record was

P 85
W 27
D 19
L 39

A loss percentage of 46%

Very good record overall, though.

Wouldnt fancy Sturrock at all. Does he not have some serious illness issues also. Southend were pretty poor were they not.

01-11-2013, 02:51 PM
Wouldnt fancy Sturrock at all. Does he not have some serious illness issues also. Southend were pretty poor were they not.

Yeah, I wouldn't want him now Jim - was just highlighting how bad his stint at Utd was, in the context of a good overall career.

SneakersO'Toole
01-11-2013, 02:56 PM

I agree with you completely. He has been worse in my book.

I'll give you 5-1, 7-0 and this seasons 2 defeats against the worst Hearts side in living memory and someone come back to me with what was worse under Calderdud???

01-11-2013, 03:31 PM
I am Hibs through thin and thinner mate, just don't see that idiot doing any better than the numpty we have at the moment, he is definitely not the answer to our problems, and if you think he is then here's to a couple more years of the same.

Im saying they're both terrible, it's a photo finish for who's worse. Pat wins as he's been given more money, had longer and signed better players.

Last year we had a goal machine, Sparky - he's gone and we've scored two more goals than the worst team in the League, Hearts.

Big Sexy Dave
01-11-2013, 04:03 PM
Has he been appointed yet?

DarrenSQH
01-11-2013, 04:07 PM
Has he been appointed yet?

I dont think he is hanging about the clubstore Jim Jeffries style.

Although I wouldnt be shocked if he was appointed on Monday.

TheMentalHibees
01-11-2013, 04:17 PM
For the love of god, no.

Cabbage_Patch
01-11-2013, 04:18 PM
If the board appoint Kenny Shiels as Manager I will never set foot in Easter Road. The mans a complete and utter Bell end and deserves to be no where near our Club.

01-11-2013, 04:18 PM
I say no, even in a caretaker capacity.

01-11-2013, 04:21 PM
big choice in the poll:greengrin

01-11-2013, 04:27 PM
Make it happen Petrie

No way :bitchy:

Ryan69
01-11-2013, 04:28 PM
Its been clear for a while the press were out to get Hibs...Do we really need to give them more ammunition!

Kenny Shiels....would be the wrong choice!
Blames everybody apart from himself every week.

01-11-2013, 04:34 PM
He's far from the worst but also far from the best option out there - a NO from me then

01-11-2013, 04:36 PM
slightly off topic but who was the Icelander that was supposed to be manager till the end of the season. it was apparently all done but then it fell apart?

ColintonHibs
01-11-2013, 04:37 PM
If kenny ****ing shiels ends up the manager at ER then someone can have my ST. Its time for the club to step up and show that they care about the fans. If its another dud who no one's even heard of they can find some other mug who is willing to part with over £500 a year! To think that going to watch hibs used to be the highlight of my week! If I realised it was possible to be so ****ing bad at kicking a ball around a pitch I would've stuck at football as I have no doubts I would've been far better than the majority of the "players" I have witnessed over the years. I would rip the piss out of rowan vine! Hibs really are in some nick. Sunday league stuff

01-11-2013, 04:38 PM
Nope. The merry go round needs to stop in Scottish Football.

Collins and Le Guen punted because they didn't fit what Scottish footballers were used to. The players couldn't handle it.

Hibs should break the mould and invest in someone who understands what it means to be a professional footballer in modern times within an international context. Hate to say it but Celtic and Lennon are on the right track. They have raised the bar at that club to meet the standards required to succeed domestically and in Europe. Wholesale investment throughout. Their whole youth policy is geared towards developing players good enough to play in the Champions League...not the SPL.

We need the same. Mediocrity out. Our young players are developed to be good enough for the SPL. Not high enough standard imo. They should be developed to be good enough for a higher level than the SPL. Only then will we make progress.

Collins went because he made a bunch of terrible signings and his man-management skills were atrocious. You can slag off the other SPL managers, but I doubt ANY of them would do worse than what Fenlon has. And a fair few of them would have us sitting second just now.

01-11-2013, 04:39 PM
The pilgrim I know would say don't touch with a bargepole.

Yep. I say: Stuck Furrock. (or something like that.)

01-11-2013, 04:41 PM
Not sure i get all the hatred towards Kenny Shiels.

I know he could/can be a bit of an erse but he always spoke very highly of Hibs and us fans.

01-11-2013, 04:41 PM
Pros and cons IMO. He's an idiot which we all agree on. On the football front we could do worse I think. We want the players to pass it and we know he'd try to get them doing it. I think youth would alto get its chance as well.

Oranje39
01-11-2013, 04:43 PM
No way!

Last Minute
01-11-2013, 04:45 PM
It has to be shields . Him and jimmy had killie playing good football. And I still standby that we have a good squad of players here. At least him would play them in their correct positions

Weststandwanab
01-11-2013, 04:46 PM
Its been clear for a while the press were out to get Hibs...Do we really need to give them more ammunition!

Kenny Shiels....would be the wrong choice!
Blames everybody apart from himself every week. Not much different from Fenlon then !

I know he could/can be a bit of an erse but he always spoke very highly of Hibs and us fans. When was that ?

01-11-2013, 04:47 PM

I know he could/can be a bit of an erse but he always spoke very highly of Hibs and us fans.

I speak nicely of Hibs, have a poor win % and am a gob*****. Do I get the job?

01-11-2013, 04:47 PM
Not much different from Fenlon then !

When was that ?

After we looked after Dean so well with his eye problems and again after last years Scottish Cup tie when he said we were the best fans he's ever seen at Rugby Park and hoped we went on to win it.

01-11-2013, 04:48 PM
Not much different from Fenlon then !

When was that ?

mainly about how we treated Dean

subcom mixu
01-11-2013, 04:49 PM
Mowbray or McLeish are what we need....