View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Motherwell

hibs4thecup1988
04-08-2013, 10:09 AM
Well I cannot see a thread update...so I thought I would try and extend my unbeaten run of 4 from last season.

Nice and sunny here in Edinburgh, bit of a chill but sunny all the same.

Any more team news?

Predicitions?

3-1 Hibs :hibees

Greendub
04-08-2013, 10:16 AM
Looking forward to it, lets put malmö behind us and get behind the team for a good season!

i think 2-1 would like a Collins double, but would take a Craig free kick too :-)

04-08-2013, 10:29 AM
Any early team news?

04-08-2013, 10:54 AM
Just cannot see us winning unfortunately. Just hope Motherwell are knacked after Thursday.

04-08-2013, 10:57 AM
Just cannot see us winning unfortunately. Just hope Motherwell are knacked after Thursday.

Beginning of the season not totally match fit ... It won't have done them any harm fitness wise, but recovery time may be longer ... Could maybe see them tire in the last half hour !!!

04-08-2013, 11:13 AM
Beginning of the season not totally match fit ... It won't have done them any harm fitness wise, but recovery time may be longer ... Could maybe see them tire in the last half hour !!!

I just hope Pat and Jimmy were watching 'Well's full backs on Thursday, particularly their right back - time and time again he got exposed, left for dead and found chasing shadows. They were up against a top top team mind you but I was suitably unimpressed with both Motherwell's full backs.

It'll be a midfield contest today as neither team has that cutting edge up top at this stage of the season. Lasley makes them tick over so he needs pressurised as often as possible - if only to light that touch paper temper of his too.

Will be a difficult game today but even with our injuries and suspensions I think we can sneak it by the odd goal in a low scoring contest (compared to previous games between us) - 1-0 or 2-1 for me.

04-08-2013, 11:14 AM
Team for me

Williams

Mullen. Nelson. Hanlon. Stevenson

Taiwo. Thomson

Handling. Craig. Harris

Collins

Think that's what he will go for and the midfield attacking 3 will rotate positions

04-08-2013, 11:19 AM
Well Team

Motherwell FC ‏@MotherwellFC 1m (https://twitter.com/MotherwellFC/status/363982030725328896) Motherwell: Hollis, Hammell, Ramsden, Hutchinson, McManus, McFadden, Lawson, Sutton, Vigurs, Lasley, McHugh

04-08-2013, 11:26 AM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub Hibernian: Williams, Mullen, Nelson, Hanlon, Stevenson, Harris, Robertson, Jones, Thomson, Craig, Collins #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 1m (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/363984144587431936) Subs: Murdoch, McGivern, Maybury, Handling, Taiwo, Stanton, Caldwell #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 1m (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/363984264062173184) Williams captains the side while new signings Nelson and Collins will make their Hibs debuts today #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 1m (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/363984385806057473) Alan Maybury who has returned to the club as a development coach is also part of the first team squad and is named on the bench #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

Bob Box Fish
04-08-2013, 11:28 AM
Looks a decent team on paper

Happy with that team, would have liked Taiwo in midfield for his energy but still a decent midfield.

Very strange taiwo is dropped!

04-08-2013, 11:29 AM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub Hibernian: Williams, Mullen, Nelson, Hanlon, Stevenson, Harris, Robertson, Jones, Thomson, Craig, Collins #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 1m (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/363984144587431936) Subs: Murdoch, McGivern, Maybury, Handling, Taiwo, Stanton, Caldwell #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 1m (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/363984264062173184) Williams captains the side while new signings Nelson and Collins will make their Hibs debuts today #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 1m (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/363984385806057473) Alan Maybury who has returned to the club as a development coach is also part of the first team squad and is named on the bench #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

Cant complain about what we have put out team wise today

04-08-2013, 11:30 AM
Very strange taiwo is dropped!

Couldn't play with three ball winners in the middle though. We saw that didn't work last season. I'd have played him ahead of Thomson though.

04-08-2013, 11:31 AM

Maybury on subs bench. :confused:

04-08-2013, 11:32 AM
Maybury on subs bench. :confused:

Club confirmed hes a player/coach.

Doesn't look a bad team on paper. Bit surprised Taiwo is dropped but Jones gives us a bit more of a physical presence and Robertson is starting to threaten to be the player I hoped he would be.

Feeling slightly more optimistic seeing that.

4-5-1?

Bob Box Fish
04-08-2013, 11:33 AM
Butcher or mccall would easily get top four with that team ;)

04-08-2013, 11:34 AM
By the way what's happening with the weather?

Is the Bollah barmometer making an appearance this season?

04-08-2013, 11:36 AM
4-5-1?

An absolute certainty after the Malmo game.

04-08-2013, 11:42 AM
By the way what's happening with the weather?

Is the Bollah barmometer making an appearance this season?

04-08-2013, 11:45 AM
Club confirmed hes a player/coach.

Thanks.

04-08-2013, 11:45 AM
Going for the 0-0 draw then!

'Mon the clean sheet!

04-08-2013, 11:46 AM
Those saying its a good team on paper, have you seen that defense? Two full backs who are very poor, a central defender who's weak at virtually every aspect of the game and a 33 year old who's playing his first game for the club, and if we are all honest we don't know how he will do?

Then we have a keeper who is liable to throw a goal in at any time, i think you get my drift when i say i'm not too confident we will come away with a clean sheet today. :boo hoo:

04-08-2013, 11:51 AM
Those saying its a good team on paper, have you seen that defense? Two full backs who are very poor, a central defender who's weak at virtually every aspect of the game and a 33 year old who's playing his first game for the club, and if we are all honest we don't know how he will do?

Then we have a keeper who is liable to throw a goal in at any time, i think you get my drift when i say i'm not too confident we will come away with a clean sheet today. :boo hoo:
Not really fussy about clean sheets...just scoring one more than them

Couldn't play with three ball winners in the middle though. We saw that didn't work last season. I'd have played him ahead of Thomson though.

I'm more suprised it's Tudor jones over him

Your analysis of the defence is a tad harsh IMO.

04-08-2013, 11:52 AM

Then we have a keeper who is liable to throw a goal in at any time, i think you get my drift when i say i'm not too confident we will come away with a clean sheet today. :boo hoo: Being a wee bit harsh on Williams I think B'pool

steviehibsleith
04-08-2013, 11:55 AM

Kinda agreeing with you here but goalie is good and ill give Mullen and new CH a chance. Im just being optimistic.

04-08-2013, 11:56 AM
PIC: Warming up in the Leith Sunshine; the Hibees prepare for the big kick off

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BQ0mTBPCQAAjHY1.jpg:large

PIC: Today's line-ups for the new Scottish Premiership season; Hibernian v Motherwell at Easter Road

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BQ0m3v_CUAApBAJ.jpg:large

04-08-2013, 11:57 AM

Do you just alternate between being wildly optimistic to depressed and pessimistic every season? :greengrin

04-08-2013, 11:58 AM

You're in for a rough season if you think he's our problem ... :greengrin

007 Mickey Weir
04-08-2013, 11:59 AM
Thats the team I would have went for. Jones sitting in front of back 4 man marking McFadden. Robertson playing in the Attacking Midfield role behind Collins. With Craig, Thomson and Harris across the middle of the park.

Hibeescott
04-08-2013, 12:00 PM
I think what folk have been meaning is that it's just about the best team we could have put out, certainly can't argue with it!

The defence doesn't look great, but with an entire back 4 out, what do you expect.

Tudor Jones isn't a surprise at all, for anyone who seen him last season would know he was fantastic for ICT!

04-08-2013, 12:00 PM
Not really fussy about clean sheets...just scoring one more than them

Your analysis of the defence is a tad harsh IMO.

Being a wee bit harsh on Williams I think B'pool

I agree we need to score one more than them Callum, i have my doubts we can?

I disagree with Fergus and Eric, our defense is poor whatever permutation the manager puts out, even with the injured players fit.

I dont get the love in with Williams either, he makes way too many mistakes for me, and the game last week against Malmo only confirmed it again in my opinion.

He makes some fantastic saves, he really does but then throws one in he should be saving.

04-08-2013, 12:02 PM
Decent team. I'm glad we have kept Maybury on, he didn't do too badly last season.

04-08-2013, 12:06 PM
I agree we need to score one more than them Callum, i have my doubts we can?

I disagree with Fergus and Eric, our defense is poor whatever permutation the manager puts out, even with the injured players fit.

I dont get the love in with Williams either, he makes way too many mistakes for me, and the game last week against Malmo only confirmed it again in my opinion.

He makes some fantastic saves, he really does but then throws one in he should be saving. I tend to agre , to a point, with your analysis of Williams, but , as I say, to a point. He is , without doubt the best keeper we have had at E/Road for many a season, and, as seems the case, Fenlon is happy with him, we will be running with him for rest of season. Just out of interest, if it wasn't Williams in goal - who do you suggest we play ?

04-08-2013, 12:08 PM
I tend to agre , to a point, with your analysis of Williams, but , as I say, to a point. He is , without doubt the best keeper we have had at E/Road for many a season, and, as seems the case, Fenlon is happy with him, we will be running with him for rest of season. Just out of interest, if it wasn't Williams in goal - who do you suggest we play ?

I'm not suggesting we play any other keeper, i have not seen anything of our number 2 and have no idea what he's like?

04-08-2013, 12:09 PM
Williams may make mistakes but folk need to get real on what we can afford.

He's the best we have had for years.

StevesFamau5
04-08-2013, 12:10 PM
I'm amazed the Lewis stevenson hate crew haven't reared there heads in anger and disgust that he is playing haha. Happy with the line up.. Play ball :-)

04-08-2013, 12:12 PM

Agree 100%, now can we stop this in-fighting and get back to the game, cheers. C'mon the Hibs, 3 points today and that will settle the nerves for next week.

OrdHibby
04-08-2013, 12:14 PM
Surprised TT is on the bench. Thomson and TT are my first choices over any of the other midfielders.

Bob Box Fish
04-08-2013, 12:15 PM

Defo

04-08-2013, 12:16 PM
Is there no online radio link for this match ? BBC website is a nightmare

04-08-2013, 12:16 PM
Actually a better crowd than I expected.

C'mon Hibs.

BoB the Hibby
04-08-2013, 12:17 PM
BBC Link http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17499740

McHibby
C'mon Hibs :flag::flag::flag:

Is there no online radio link for this match ? BBC website is a nightmare

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17499740 :aok:

04-08-2013, 12:18 PM
BBC Link http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17499740

Cheers mate. They make it bloody hard to find it though :greengrin

04-08-2013, 12:23 PM
Good start Hibs. :top marks

_hucks_
04-08-2013, 12:24 PM
Working hard out wide to get crosses into the box here - certainly a positive opening from the cabbage here

04-08-2013, 12:25 PM
Really quick, high tempo start from Hibs. Feeling confident about this game! *touchwood*

04-08-2013, 12:25 PM
Good start Hibs. :top marks

Willias 1st kick out almost proving your poin!

04-08-2013, 12:26 PM
Pressing high and not giving them any time on the ball.

Had the ball in and around their box a few times already, lets see if we can keep it up!

04-08-2013, 12:27 PM

If you go to this site first it's usually easy to find, however if you go to the BBC SPL site it would be easier finding a Yam with a share certificate. :greengrin

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17499740

I'm not suggesting we play any other keeper, i have not seen anything of our number 2 and have no idea what he's like?

Up until last night he wasn't playing.

Nelson started well.

Looks a threat at set pieces as well.

04-08-2013, 12:28 PM
Nelson making his presence felt up front, good stuff. :thumbsup:

nic81
04-08-2013, 12:30 PM
Getting out sang by a few well fans, embarrassment! What happened to sect 43? I knew they had issues but thought they had been sorted! Same losing mentality in the stands as on the pitch

McHibby
McFadden seems a bit rattled :greengrin

Decent start. Thommo started well.

Up until last night he wasn't playing.

Why? :confused:

04-08-2013, 12:32 PM
Decent start from Hibs now 2/1 for a win on Bet365 whilst 'Well are 6/4.

Just placed £20 on Hibs, c'mon Hibees :flag:

04-08-2013, 12:35 PM

You have a PM mate!:aok:

04-08-2013, 12:35 PM
One of the cenrre mids needs to take control and go beyond Collins.

2 or 3 times he's held the ball up, looked and had nothing to aim at whilst the centre mids are all in our own half.

04-08-2013, 12:36 PM
Decent start from Hibs now 2/1 for a win on Bet365 whilst 'Well are 6/4.

Just placed £20 on Hibs, c'mon Hibees :flag:

So did I, got them at 9/4 £20 on it!

04-08-2013, 12:37 PM
One of the cenrre mids needs to take control and go beyond Collins.

2 or 3 times he's held the ball up, looked and had nothing to aim at whilst the centre mids are all in our own half.

:agree:.

Robertson got in a good position when Harris' cutback was intercepted.

He should be making more forward runs IMO.

DoonTheSlope
04-08-2013, 12:38 PM
Come on The Cabbage

04-08-2013, 12:39 PM
Good to see lewis going forward, Shame he tackled himself.

04-08-2013, 12:40 PM
Good to see lewis going forward, Shane he tackled himself.

Hopeless

04-08-2013, 12:40 PM
Good to see lewis going forward, Shane he tackled himself.

Stood on the ball lol!

Gordy M
04-08-2013, 12:41 PM
Collins looks a good player, impressive 1st touch so far. Cmon hibs!!

04-08-2013, 12:42 PM
Collins looks a good player, impressive 1st touch so far. Cmon hibs!!

Agreed. Seems to have a nice weight of pass as well.

04-08-2013, 12:42 PM
This is like an end of season bottom six match.:rolleyes:

04-08-2013, 12:43 PM
Both our full backs are guilty of being the wrong side of their player a couple of times already, Motherwell starting to dictate play now, Hibs sitting back too much.

04-08-2013, 12:43 PM
Let the pace drop in the last few minutes, needs picked up again.

04-08-2013, 12:45 PM
And again. :rolleyes:

04-08-2013, 12:45 PM
Holes starting to appear in that Hibs defence!:rolleyes:

04-08-2013, 12:46 PM
Both our full backs are guilty of being the wrong side of their player a couple of times already, Motherwell starting to dictate play now, Hibs sitting back too much.

Been giving them far too much time on the ball the last ten minutes or so.

04-08-2013, 12:47 PM
Harris has to do better there imo.

04-08-2013, 12:47 PM
Decent chance there for Harris, his shot was pretty poor.

04-08-2013, 12:49 PM
Decent chance there for Harris, his shot was pretty poor.

Took a bobble tbf.

DAVE1875
04-08-2013, 12:50 PM
Hopefully Harris doesn't suffer from 2nd season syndrome

04-08-2013, 12:51 PM
Thomson playing well.

Don't understand though how he can intercept a ball 15 yards inside the Motherwell half, lay it back to Harris and within 30 seconnds its a Motherwell throw in 10 yards inside our half.

Hopefully someone boots McFadgyin soon, he's their only player

Craig always seems to come central when we are attacking, leaving Mullen as our only width on the right side.

04-08-2013, 12:52 PM
Is otj still on the pitch??

Deano at the game... Let the rumours commence!

04-08-2013, 12:52 PM
We have dropped off the pace of the game, we are not getting tight in the middle of the park and getting deeper and deeper.

Purehibee_MYB
04-08-2013, 12:53 PM
Dean and Kenny Shiels in the crowd again.... Could he be signing? :hmmm:

DAVE1875
Looks a sore one

We have dropped off the pace of the game, we are not getting tight in the middle of the park and getting deeper and deeper.

Managers job to sort that.

Unless of course this is how he wants us to play.

04-08-2013, 12:54 PM
Hibs full backs getting caught out time and again.:bitchy:

04-08-2013, 12:58 PM
Collins gets in behind and has one (static) option in the centre.

04-08-2013, 12:58 PM
Come on Hibs, get closer to your man. Motherwell are nothing special just compete and get up and support Collins.

04-08-2013, 01:00 PM
Sometimes Harris needs to be less 'clever'.

It doesn't always need a shimmy or a flick or a trick. Just run at the ****.

04-08-2013, 01:02 PM
Solid first half. Kept possession well apart from nelson. Could do with another option upfront as Motherwell are there to be beat today

04-08-2013, 01:03 PM
Well that was 10 minutes optimism followed by 35 of fearing the worst.

Also how was Thomson booked then a Motherwell player not for a challenge at least as bad?

04-08-2013, 01:04 PM
we look pretty dangerous when our midfielders actually get forward.

04-08-2013, 01:04 PM
Playing well IMO. Midfield 3 of Thomson Robertson and Tudor jones looks good IMO. Collins looks like he could be a very good player too, lots of running and holds it up well. Harris doesn't look himself, hope were not expecting too much of him at a young age

04-08-2013, 01:05 PM
Robertson has been a different player for us today. Great to see.

So so so little penetration and attacking threat in the final third though its painful. Have to get someone up there to help Collins.

AL-Qaholik
Well, that was crap...

Well that was 10 minutes optimism followed by 35 of fearing the worst.

Also how was Thomson booked then a Motherwell player not for a challenge at least as bad?

Because Scottish Referees.

TV Pundit: "Motherwell very much in control"

**** off

Solid first half. Kept possession well apart from nelson. Could do with another option upfront as Motherwell are there to be beat today

Nothing in the final 1/3. As per usual our final ball is woeful. That said for 22 minutes we defended well got men behind the ball. We then started to sit a wee bit too deep.

Harris had to do far better and the two full backs need to get forward quicker and join the attack as they did early on.

04-08-2013, 01:06 PM
Well, that was crap...

Hardly.

Dan Sarf
04-08-2013, 01:06 PM
Sometimes Harris needs to be less 'clever'.

It doesn't always need a shimmy or a flick or a trick. Just run at the ****.

Sorry, disagree. Harris is the only tricky player we've got.

04-08-2013, 01:07 PM
Boring 1st half, but after Malmo a solid 45mins was what we wanted

When Craig and Robertson venture forward we have a few good passing movements - needs to happen more often tho

No idea why thommo was booked and challenge on Craig was any different?

Harris having a mare actually, would think about changing him if no improvement after 60mins

04-08-2013, 01:08 PM
Impressed with Collins and Nelson so far :)

**** off

Indeed. Didn't you get the memo? All season on telly we will hear "Malmo, 1-5, humiliation, poor etcetc" regardless of what happens on the pitch.

They are just itching for the jambos to beat us just so they can kick us.

****ers

AL-Qaholik
Hardly.

Very.

No efforts on goal. Midfield dropping deeper and deeper. Full backs caught out repeatedly. No support for Collins. Letting Motherwell completely control the tempo.

That equates to crap for me, I'm afraid.

Hoping for better in the second half nonetheless.

Gordy M
04-08-2013, 01:09 PM
After last weeks debacle i actually think we have done ok. It was important not to lose an early goal, we now need to be a bit more adventurous going forward.

04-08-2013, 01:09 PM
So, not one shot on target yet by Hibs? (BBC Stats)

04-08-2013, 01:10 PM
Sitting in the sunny east, far better set up, looks like the 4-2-3-1 we wanted. Good retention and ball on deck, would prefer Taiwo to Jones, Harris trying to do too much but delighted with Robertson in particular. Thomson seems to be having his best so far, all in all pretty decent.

I'd swap Harris and Craig. Both are cutting inside too often onto their stronger feet, I'd rather see them get some balls in for Collins from wide areas.

My main worry at the moment is our full backs. A few times they've allowed their men to run behind them. Nelson playing well though, although his distribution has been poor.

Impressed with Collins and Nelson so far :)

Nelson looks a good defender. As a footballer though...think he should leave the passing to Thomson haha

TheFamous1875
04-08-2013, 01:11 PM

I think as he gets older, he'll learn sometimes less is more(re Ronaldo). Plenty of time as he's a bairn. Let's get the pressure off him to deliver and let him flourish.

04-08-2013, 01:11 PM

**** off

They clearly are.

We look set up not to lose.

OrdHibby
04-08-2013, 01:12 PM
I've said it before and i'll repeat it, play Harris through the middle with Collins.
Thomson and Roberson are playing well but the forward balls for Stevenson, Craig and Nelson are woeful.

Very.

No efforts on goal. Midfield dropping deeper and deeper. Full backs caught out repeatedly. No support for Collins. Letting Motherwell completely control the tempo.

That equates to crap for me, I'm afraid.

Hoping for better in the second half nonetheless.

Full backs caught out? You watching a deferent game mate. Lewis has shut out McFadden so much that they swapped him to the other side. And Mullen has done well on the right

Andy Walker says no Hibs players are trying to dribble and beat a man.

Then criticises Harris for losing possession whilst trying to beat his man.

Nothing in the final 1/3. As per usual our final ball is woeful. That said for 22 minutes we defended well got men behind the ball. We then started to sit a wee bit too deep.

Harris had to do far better and the two full backs need to get forward quicker and join the attack as they did early on.

First half was probably set up more not to concede than go out and score. Hopefully open up abit more now if Motherwell European legs kick in.

04-08-2013, 01:13 PM
we are getting slaughtered on Sky

Whats the possession stats btw....its been poor fare, but no one has had any chances?

Greenblood70
Look like we could play all day without scoring. Solid enough elsewhere but it's hardly exciting stuff to watch.

Ken something? These TV guys get easy money - Well are OK, but what do these radges want? Another 0-7?

Andy Walker "hibs are scared" pish

CalgaryHibs
Well, that was crap...

Ditto
Just god awful stuff

StarMan10
Harris having an absolute stinker so far today. Hopefully it doesn't dent his confidence, if at first you don't succeed try and try...

coco22
Some neat stuff going on between the central midfielders but could do with it happening further up the field. Collins, on the little bit we've seen, looks like needs a lot more support - he said himself that he's not a 'target man'.

Andy Walker is spot on, only one team wanting to win the game. Hibs look scared to go forward and commit themselves, same old same old imo.

We need to get much closer those in the middle of the park, if we dont we will end up defending on our 6 yard line trying to scrape a 0-0.

We are good enough to win this if we have a little belief. Comeontae**** Hibs.

04-08-2013, 01:14 PM
Pretty anodyne performance from Hibs - we haven't created any chances, not worked their goalkeeper, no creativity going forward, we seem slowly to be conceding the initiative. Harris looks lost - hasn't beaten his man once. Collins trying hard, but on his own. Motherwell look more likely to pull something out of the bag. Defensively no major lapses yet. We should be trying to win this...

04-08-2013, 01:15 PM
we are getting slaughtered on Sky

Whats the possession stats btw....its been poor fare, but no one has had any chances?

It was 50/50 not long before half time.

Think they can smell blood with fenlon and are trying to heap pressure on him so that they can get a headline in a few weeks.

AL-Qaholik
Full backs caught out? You watching a deferent game mate. Lewis has shut out McFadden so much that they swapped him to the other side. And Mullen has done well on the right

Interestingly, I seem to be watching the same game that the "experts" in the studio are watching.

I've said it before and i'll repeat it, play Harris through the middle with Collins.
Thomson and Roberson are playing well but the forward balls for Stevenson, Craig and Nelson are woeful.

Harris has been terrible so far

I'm not suggesting we knock any guile our of him but something a bit different now and then.

He's tried the same thing about 5 times today and the defender has read it and dealt with it each time. Absolutely no defemders like having someone run at them with pace so he may find thag effective now and then.

04-08-2013, 01:16 PM

My view too. Opinions eh?

04-08-2013, 01:16 PM
The studio guests have been spot on today in their analysis of the game so far. Can't believe I'm agreeing with what that utter welt Andy Walker is saying!

TheFamous1875
04-08-2013, 01:17 PM
You know what? It's an average Motherwell team, not Malmo. We can do this if we believe a bit. Would it be right for anyone to call for his head if we go for it and we become unfortunate and lose a goal?

****ing hell, post after post slaughtering the team. At least wait until we've lost to start all this ***** please. Get behind them ffs!

OrdHibby

I would ask if your watching the same game. Mullen has put in a good shift and made some good challenges but he's been caught sleeping a few time as has Stevenson.
I think McCall will recognise this so the second half will be interesting. I think Motherwell will be drawing the fullbacks infield then employ runners out wide. I wonder if our manager has recognised this.

Far to much expected of young Harris

Well I thought that was pish, Motherwell are dictating play.

We are scared to keep possession. Every time we have it it's a case of 4 passes and a punt. What's wrong with playing it about? Just find the man, even if he's behind you. It's attributed to pressure from the fans and after the Malmo game IMO.

Harris looks like he may be suffering from 2nd season syndrome unfortunately, hopefully he can recover in the 2nd half.

Collins has no support at all. No crosses going and even if he did bring one of those long balls down he's crowded out before he can do anything with it.

I also think the midfield are dropping too deep, especially in possession. Robertson has done well a couple of times though, bursting forward into space. He needs the ball more IMO.

Pick it up in the second half Hibs, because there's no question that Motherwell will.

04-08-2013, 01:18 PM
Thomson has been motm in the first half, Harris is losing the ball too easily, needs to try and use his pace to get beyond a player rather than slowing down to try and dribble it round.
Nelson has had a few scary moments but knows how to tackle and header the ball which is an improvement in our defence.
Collins looks very good but needs someone up supporting him to play the ball off.

We are keeping things tight, which I suppose is key after the Malmo games, but pretty dreadful stuff.

Rather than showing composure and looking up, so many of them have been guilty of aimless punts to noone, which just invites the pressure. Williams especially has been a nightmare, in the first 15 minutes when we looked good he was confidently playing it out to the CBs/FBs, yet for the rest of the half he was booting the ball with absolutely nobody to win it.

I also think defensively the midfield have done well, but we really need at least 1 of the midfielders to support the attack. Harris is quite isolated again and cant get the better of his man, so we are really relying on Collins and Craig.

What were people wanting after losing 7-0 last week? It's been a solid first half. Motherwell haven't created anything, people saying our full backs are being caught out are watchin a different game to me, Stevenson hasn't gave McFadden a sniff and the other wing vigurs has barely touched the ball other than one shot.

04-08-2013, 01:19 PM
We look so vulnerable from simple high balls over the top of the defence. We've done ok defensively on the deck. But Motherwell will catch us out with balls over the top.

Up front, we've done nothing worthy of note so far. We're still lacking that bit of creatively and cutting edge.

I dont see much else we could've done 1st 45 mins

we are playing the team that finished 2nd last year...tipped to likely thump us...and we just lost 7-0 at home last week

Happy enough to be at 0-0 at this stage

Crap watching tho to be fair!

Think they can smell blood with fenlon and are trying to heap pressure on him so that they can get a headline in a few weeks.

100% right - how some people here can't see that is beyond me.

04-08-2013, 01:20 PM
Cannae believe half the pish getting written here, what a bunch of fannies.

OrdHibby
Far to much expected of young Harris

If we didn't know what he's capably of i think a few would be crying out for the hook. To be honest he's been brutal. He plays that position well with McGivern and we're seening why Stevenson should only play as cover because he's to negative.

Dan Sarf
I'm not suggesting we knock any guile our of him but something a bit different now and then.

He's tried the same thing about 5 times today and the defender has read it and dealt with it each time. Absolutely no defemders like having someone run at them with pace so he may find thag effective now and then.

Fair enough. All I'm saying is don't try to change him into another predictable run run nonentity. I'm sure you agree.

04-08-2013, 01:21 PM
****ing hell, post after post slaughtering the team. At least wait until we've lost to start all this ***** please. Get behind them ffs!

I sometimes wonder why folk like you come on a message board to read what other folks opinions are if you don't like what you see?

And for what its worth, nobody is slaughtering the team, some like me think we started well but that dropped off after 20 minutes, and i think we could actually win this game if we start competing a little more.

04-08-2013, 01:22 PM
Williams especially has been a nightmare, in the first 15 minutes when we looked good he was confidently playing it out to the CBs/FBs, yet for the rest of the half he was booting the ball with absolutely nobody to win it.

Unfortunately, that seems to be his default way of releasing the ball. Somebody really should have a word with the guy, to at least vary it a bit and play from the back occasionally.

OrdHibby
04-08-2013, 01:22 PM
What were people wanting after losing 7-0 last week? It's been a solid first half. Motherwell haven't created anything, people saying our full backs are being caught out are watchin a different game to me, Stevenson hasn't gave McFadden a sniff and the other wing vigurs has barely touched the ball other than one shot.

Blood n guts, application and a real go. Sitting back isn't having a go, is it. Motherwell look at lot weaker than last season.

Organisation is the difference between the teams.

Been impressed With collins

04-08-2013, 01:23 PM
Fair enough. All I'm saying is don't try to change him into another predictable run run nonentity. I'm sure you agree.

Absolutely.

Sometimes though less is more see Giggs in his pomp (that goal v Arsenal for example), Ronaldo, Bale etc.

04-08-2013, 01:24 PM
I'm happy enough with that first half against last year's runners up.

We can't win games if we're conceding and given that we're missing 3 of our regular back four, and are just off the back of a 0-7 gubbing, it's right that we're putting extra effort into defending.

I think our midfield are working extremely hard and I like the look of Collins.

Nelson looks pretty solid, but he his distribution hasn't impressed so far.

Come on Hibs.

04-08-2013, 01:24 PM
On a positive big Nelson looks solid enough.

04-08-2013, 01:26 PM

i hope none of the players are reading this whilst the game is on

DaveHFC
04-08-2013, 01:27 PM
Much improved but lacking imagination in the final third

04-08-2013, 01:28 PM
I don't understand why we are settling for being 0-0? I don't get this "happy to be 0-0 because they came 2nd last season" thing. We aren't playing good football.

I hate these ***** at sky

50 odd minutes gone and Hibs test the keeper from a free kick. Reminds me of the Bertie Auld era this

1st shot of the game on target

04-08-2013, 01:29 PM
On a positive big Nelson looks solid enough.

04-08-2013, 01:30 PM
Honestly don't think we've been that bad.

Keeping McFadden and Vigurs pretty quiet, Motherwell haven't looked like scoring and no way have they been "in control" of the match.

We could be a bit more adventurous going forward but just now I'm happy that we've been able to keep Motherwell out.

04-08-2013, 01:31 PM
I don't understand why we are settling for being 0-0? I don't get this "happy to be 0-0 because they came 2nd last season" thing. We aren't playing good football.

we've looked just as attacking as they have.

McHibby

I just said the same thing. The media seem to love a team in crisis and they do their best to exaggerate and highlight it. Even yesterday, on the live text from the Celtic v Ross County match said there was an "explosive" press conference with Ally McCoist. All he did was have a wee greet about getting beat, hardly explosive.

Back to the game, I didn't think we were *that* bad to be honest. If a not-very-exciting but solid performance is what it takes to help the players build up their confidence again, then so be it.

50 odd minutes gone and Hibs test the keeper from a free kick. Reminds me of the Bertie Auld era this

1st shot of the game on target

and how many world class saves has ben had to make?

1 easy save as far as I can remember

Stats are relative

04-08-2013, 01:32 PM
Amazing what nearly happens when you get a few players forward.

04-08-2013, 01:33 PM
Solid enough at the back and Nelson looks pretty no nonsense.

Very little attacking threat though.

Some Neanderthal attacks on Harris though as he's not playing like Messi today!

DaveHFC
Harris having a poor game, bring on Handling.

Thats better Hibs, well done KT.

Would get Caldwell or Handling on for OTJ soon, go for it a bit more.

04-08-2013, 01:34 PM

Yep.

It's nothing to do with Malmo, Motherwell or injuroes.

This type of set up and performance has been par for the course with Fenlon for months.

We have th players to be better than this.

jamesjamieson
04-08-2013, 01:35 PM
Anyone else think the 'well fans with the drummer sound like Gary Glitter's band?

kdhibees1
04-08-2013, 01:36 PM
More like it young Harris, come on Hibs!!!

04-08-2013, 01:37 PM
Starting to warm up now :)

we've been creating more than they have, yet we're going for the draw apparently?

Much much better now we seem to be let off the leash a bit.

Kevin Thomson playing well.

Solid enough at the back and Nelson looks pretty no nonsense.

Very little attacking threat though.

Some Neanderthal attacks on Harris though as he's not playing like Messi today!

Agree, it's the first league game of the season up against a decent side, we have 5 guys making their league debut for Hibs, it's going to take a few games to get used to each other and find their touch.

Harris will be a special player for us but he's still very young and will need patience & support.

and how many world class saves has ben had to make?

1 easy save as far as I can remember

Stats are relative

I don't give a **** how many saves Ben has had to make, I'm talking about is as an attacking force. At home 1st shot to make the goalie save 50 plus minutes. ****ing atrocious

Brilliant from young Harris, proving the hibs.net mafia wrong.

04-08-2013, 01:38 PM
Believe in yourselves Hibs, you can win this.

AL-Qaholik
Finally the midfield are starting to get forward and press higher up the park!
KEEP IT UP HIBS!! This game is there to be won!!

SaudiHibby
:greengrin :flag:

one day maybe...
In all honesty, I have contemplated switching over to the cricket, this is absolutely dire. No excitement, no passion and where is the pace in our team. Lethargic, lacklustre, boring and damn right rubbish, still "come on the Hibs, FFS".

04-08-2013, 01:39 PM
Was a great strike from Robertson!

04-08-2013, 01:39 PM
McFadden still in Stevensons back pocket. Much to the dismay of many posters on here.

04-08-2013, 01:40 PM
Honestly don't think we've been that bad.

Keeping McFadden and Vigurs pretty quiet, Motherwell haven't looked like scoring and no way have they been "in control" of the match.

We could be a bit more adventurous going forward but just now I'm happy that we've been able to keep Motherwell out.

agree and coming into it better

04-08-2013, 01:41 PM
Brilliant from young Harris, proving the hibs.net mafia wrong.

Nobody is saying he's a poor player, he's a terrific talent who had a poor first half.

04-08-2013, 01:42 PM
Harris finished here.

Good referee today.:agree:

McFadden still in Stevensons back pocket. Much to the dismay of many posters on here.

Stevenson been in complete control of him the whole game.

Half of hibs.net must be spewing :greengrin

04-08-2013, 01:43 PM
James McFadden is a bit of a fud eh?

04-08-2013, 01:44 PM
Stevenson been in complete control of him the whole game.

Half of hibs.net must be spewing :greengrin

should have shoot though:wink::aok:

who is commentating on radio Scotland ?

James McFadden is a bit of a fud eh?

How do you work that one out?

04-08-2013, 01:45 PM

Pretending to be hurt when he couldn't skin Stevenson then moaning at the ref about it

aussie_hibee
04-08-2013, 01:45 PM
B

Walter
04-08-2013, 01:46 PM
Been impressed with Mullen this far

04-08-2013, 01:47 PM
B

Very insightful :greengrin:

04-08-2013, 01:47 PM

The nipping away at the ref all game, booting the dug out, sarcastic applause of the fans, a few wee nippy shoves amd pulls...

I'd probably love him if he played for us!

04-08-2013, 01:48 PM
Hopefully Hibs can finish strong and nick a winner and 'Well tire now after Thursdays game. :flag:

Pretending to be hurt when he couldn't skin Stevenson then moaning at the ref about it

Behave!

Utter fannies like Ian Black in the game and some of you have to have a go at a Scotland legend FFS!

In what way?

Spent the entire game moaning to the ref and falling over after being dominated by Lewis. Then applauding the Hibs fans on both the West and East for giving him stick. Tosser and the most overrated player in the SPFL.

How much time left.

04-08-2013, 01:49 PM
I have not been Kevin Thomsons biggest fan since he returned, but he's been a standout for us today in a sea of mediocrity. :top marks

04-08-2013, 01:49 PM
How much time left.

16 plus injury time.

04-08-2013, 01:50 PM
16 plus injury time.

Walter
04-08-2013, 01:51 PM
In what way?
In the way in which I've been impressed by him today on the football pitch

04-08-2013, 01:51 PM
Robertson going to go off for Taiwo. Cramp in the first game of the season? Deary me

He's played well though.

04-08-2013, 01:52 PM

also

Easily impressed I see. As an attacking option he has offered little. He has not really been tested as a full back. So just interested in what impresses you

Behave!

Utter fannies like Ian Black in the game and some of you have to have a go at a Scotland legend FFS!

Not having a go, i like him as a player.

But I dont think a few important goals for the national team should make a player exempt from any criticism.

cmon Hibs! get in there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::fla g::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

04-08-2013, 01:53 PM
Well saved Williams

Behave!

Obviously not in the same league as Ian Black but still a fanny. By your argument we are only allowed to dislike one player at a time? And as for the Scotland legend thing, he hasn't kicked a ball for Scotland in a couple of years and the in the few years after his Paris goal he was poor. How long does he get to dine out on that goal?

we got lucky there.

Nelson has been solid but john Sutton just outpaced him ffs.

04-08-2013, 01:54 PM
Was Robertson being injured not the cue to introduce another forward for the last 10 minutes?

I sometimes wonder why folk like you come on a message board to read what other folks opinions are if you don't like what you see?

And for what its worth, nobody is slaughtering the team, some like me think we started well but that dropped off after 20 minutes, and i think we could actually win this game if we start competing a little more.

I also wonder why "folk like you" come on a message board to moan. Also, what a great couple of saves from super Ben Williams. Wouldn't you agree?

Great saves from Williams, hilarious watching Mullins chasing Sutton for the first attempt.

Walter
04-08-2013, 01:56 PM
Easily impressed I see. As an attacking option he has offered little. He has not really been tested as a full back. So just interested in what impresses you

Ok, ill agree that he has not made me think he is the next Cafu or Maicon or Ribery but as a defender I think he has defended well and he may well have not attacked wildly but in not doing that he has not left massive gaps behind him. Sometimes it's ok to be impressed by a no nonsense competent performance.

04-08-2013, 01:56 PM
Bolton and Blackpool Hibs are obviously having a "lover's tiff" today. :rolleyes:

04-08-2013, 01:57 PM
I also wonder why "folk like you" come on a message board to moan. Also, what a great couple of saves from super Ben Williams. Wouldn't you agree?

2 fantastic saves, whats your point?

Well that should stop all the 'steady performance' nonsense.

Pish.

AL-Qaholik
Typical Hibs.

04-08-2013, 01:58 PM
Defense MIA :rolleyes:

Saw this coming.

So much for Motherwell tiring they're finishing stronger than us, now made it 1-0, been coming in the last few minutes.

Bolton and Blackpool Hibs are obviously having a "lover's tiff" today. :rolleyes:

I think it's a 'time of the month' thing

More poor defending, ball over the top defence too slow !!

04-08-2013, 01:59 PM
I could smell that happening it was so obvious.

TheMentalHibees
Nice to see us being undone by the genius tactical move of a big punt up the park.

Tragic defending costs us again.

To score a goal you have to get forward and create, that my friends is the problem at Easter Road.

No lovers tiff, I've not read his drivel so not sure what he has said:)

Looming for a Well 2nd for the bet to come up though.

How much longer do we have to endure ****ing clueless Fenlon and his stupid tactics for?

WestEndHibee
04-08-2013, 02:00 PM
I think I've seen this episode before...

To score a goal you have to get forward and create, that my friends is the problem at Easter Road.

Nutshell

Relegation fodder.

Hibs offering the best teamtalk Hertz will ever need.

04-08-2013, 02:01 PM
Goal had been coming for twenty mins, flat game we have no pace in our team

So much for Motherwell tiring they're finishing stronger than us, now made it 1-0, been coming in the last few minutes.

i did expect motherwell to tire in last 20. simple ball catches us out again.

Fenlons negativity ****s us up again. weve shown nothing in the 2nd half

Ah lover.... Can't Argie with that. Hibs lose a goal with that set up, it's unlikely we come back. Comical really how poor Motherwell are really. But that's feckless Fenlon for you. Clueless ****!

McCann is getting on my tits as well. Put a ****ing sock in it.

04-08-2013, 02:02 PM

The annoying thing is that the few timea the players have disobeyed orders and done it we have looked ok.

The rest of the time has been chronic and that's down to the managers tactics.

04-08-2013, 02:04 PM
9,257 (or something similar).

Fenlon must go.....this is brutal, shocking from us at home. If he doesn't win v Hearts next week bye bye, draw not good enough there

How much longer do we have to endure ****ing clueless Fenlon and his stupid tactics for?

Until the end of his contract I'd imagine, unless we are relegation candidates by Christmas.

His signings seem decent but tactically, Fenlon is really poor. Thats what makes the difference between sides of similar quality (which is practically all SPL teams bar Celtic).

On the bright side, we are still 15 points ahead of Hearts, and one game nearer Fenlons departure. :rolleyes:

04-08-2013, 02:05 PM
Set up with no intention to win a game and that's what happens.

It's not Nelsons fault he's slow. He's played great today.

I heard McCall sat before the game they were definitely playing two up to have a hi at us today. I'd love that kind of enthusiasm.