View Full Version : Who else is beyond excited?

02-08-2013, 05:42 PM
The new season starts tonight!

Woo hoo.

02-08-2013, 05:46 PM
Im absolutely pishing my frillies

02-08-2013, 05:47 PM
Think i will give tonight a watch.

02-08-2013, 05:47 PM
Hell yeah, I love that it's back.

02-08-2013, 05:48 PM
Drat, I'm off out for a game of snooker.

02-08-2013, 05:51 PM
The start of a new season is always exciting. Love it. When does the EPL start?

02-08-2013, 05:55 PM
Not quite ... the Malmö game has dampened any excitement I may have had more than slightly, however, it's a new season and I want my club to do well - here's hoping for some good times ahead...

02-08-2013, 06:00 PM
The start of a new season is always exciting. Love it. When does the EPL start?

2 weeks yet.

02-08-2013, 06:02 PM
For all those wondering about our lack of depth and BIG names, take a swatch at the United line up:

Cierzniak, Watson, Dillon, Butcher, Robertson, Paton, Armstrong, Dow, Gauld, Ciftci and Goodwillie

02-08-2013, 06:05 PM
Buzzing for the new season I must admit. I've spent the summer watching re-runs of Friends and Two and a Half Men.

Go Soccer!! :greengrin

02-08-2013, 06:16 PM
2 weeks yet.

Thanks. I might ease myself back into things with a bit of tonight's English Sky match.

02-08-2013, 06:31 PM
I canny wait for Sunday and hope its a typical Hibs result, pumped against Malmo then playing a fancied team. Hibs then turn it on and win by a couple.

Archie70
02-08-2013, 06:34 PM
Is tonights game on telly if so what channel

TAHibby
02-08-2013, 06:36 PM

BT sport :(

I'm right up for it. It's the first game of the season and most of the teams are on equal points, if we can cut out the silly mistakes at the back we can have a good season.

Sky Sports 1 at 7.45 :aok:

02-08-2013, 06:37 PM
Not really, no. As Peejay also said, I've had that knocked out of me already with the Malmö games.

I realise it may turn out to be too negative a view but I'm already concerned about Sunday's game. If that's not too disastrous, and we beat Hearts, then maybe the excitement will re-appear.

Greendub
02-08-2013, 06:38 PM
Just landed at Edinburgh, buzzing for Sunday!

good to have the footy back!!

02-08-2013, 06:41 PM
Sky Sports 1 at 7.45 :aok:

No it isn't - they're showing the Sheffield United vs Notts County game.

02-08-2013, 06:42 PM
Is our former superstar Rankin no playing ????
Bt

02-08-2013, 06:42 PM
BT sport :(

Is that the Partick game? I've got BT. Gonna have a look to see what their coverage is like.

02-08-2013, 06:45 PM
No it isn't - they're showing the Sheffield United vs Notts County game.

Aye, I thought that's the game he meant. I didn't know Partick v Dundee United is on. I'm going to have a wee nosy.

02-08-2013, 06:48 PM
Is that Gary McAllister co-commentating?

02-08-2013, 06:56 PM
I'm beyond excited too :flag:Come on Hibs :flag:

Stuarty27
02-08-2013, 06:57 PM
Jags started well, seems a good atmosphere too

02-08-2013, 06:58 PM
Thistle playing well, should be 1 up.

Good start fast paced game.

JoeTortolanoFanClub
Thistle look quite good. Lots of movement up front.

02-08-2013, 07:02 PM
Looks a good crowd in. Good atmosphere too.

green.and.white
02-08-2013, 07:02 PM
It's been quite an entertaining game

02-08-2013, 07:22 PM
United should have buried that header.

02-08-2013, 07:24 PM
Listening to it on Sportsound but Derek Ferguson is an annoying tit as always.

02-08-2013, 07:25 PM
Brilliant reflex save by the United keeper there. Almost an own goal.

02-08-2013, 07:33 PM
Good first half. I hope Sunday's match is this entertaining.

02-08-2013, 07:37 PM
Why is Neil Warnock there?!

02-08-2013, 07:39 PM

I've put my stream on mute :greengrin

02-08-2013, 07:40 PM

Just the old ESPN/Sky pundits as well

JoeTortolanoFanClub
02-08-2013, 07:43 PM

To be fair, his analysis of the first half has been spot on.

Tinribs
02-08-2013, 07:46 PM
Just checked the BBC page for this game http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23555728

I have a slight issue with the "As it stands Table"

02-08-2013, 07:54 PM
Just checked the BBC page for this game http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23555728

Tweeted them and i wasn't the first.:greengrin

02-08-2013, 07:55 PM

Not so fast, Mr Romanov. http://www.skysports.com/football/league/0,19540,11780,00.html :cb

02-08-2013, 07:58 PM
Friday night Footie :greengrin:greengrin - I really hope we get a few at ER...best after 3pm Friday for me...

Enjoying the start of the w/e and footie with a glass or two

02-08-2013, 08:00 PM
I'm right up for it. It's the first game of the season and most of the teams are on equal points, if we can cut out the silly mistakes at the back we can have a good season. we don't do cutting out silly mistakes at the back.:tsk tsk:

02-08-2013, 08:04 PM
decent crowd and atmosphere

when did willie get back to Untd :confused:

Tinribs
02-08-2013, 08:05 PM
Tweeted them and i wasn't the first.:greengrin

The power of the interwebs seems to work, the whole Table is gone at the moment :greengrin

Tinribs
02-08-2013, 08:11 PM
decent crowd and atmosphere

when did willie get back to Untd :confused:

The end of last season i think. I have difficulty taking Goodwillie seriously now, all i think of when i see his mug or his name, is Jocky Scott setting fire to his shed :greengrin

Stuarty27
02-08-2013, 08:13 PM
Patrick left back looks a player

02-08-2013, 08:20 PM
Patrick left back looks a player

:agree: Sean Welch doing well too

02-08-2013, 08:25 PM
The CH is aptly named....'Butcher'.

Hawk Eye Thomson standing watching the boy make a 2 foot tackle. Suppose Partick cannae get too far ahead of the filth.

02-08-2013, 08:29 PM
The CH is aptly named....'Butcher'.

Hawk Eye Thomson standing watching the boy make a 2 foot tackle. Suppose Partick cannae get too far ahead of the filth.

Aye, still on the pitch after going over the top of the ball and then a two footed tackle. Very unusual in the modern game.

Tinribs
02-08-2013, 08:30 PM
Armstrong looks useful.

02-08-2013, 08:36 PM
Decent game.

02-08-2013, 08:39 PM
Good match for a 0-0. I enjoyed it. Ref was very poor, though.

02-08-2013, 08:46 PM
A very good point for Partick which takes them 16 points clear of the bottom club. That should see them safe :agree:

02-08-2013, 08:57 PM
A very good point for Partick which takes them 16 points clear of the bottom club. That should see them safe :agree:

Must be the reason Thomson never gave the pen. 18 points would be tough.

02-08-2013, 09:48 PM
Poor start for United really. We'd have been raging about a nil nil at home to Partick.

02-08-2013, 10:10 PM
Poor start for United really. We'd have been raging about a nil nil at home to Partick.

United were away

03-08-2013, 07:05 AM
Only saw the highlights on the SPL Youtube channel. Nice to see Partick Thistle back in the top flight, thought they gave a really good account of themselves, United looked sharp too, seemed to be an enjoyable game. Butcher should have been red carded for the first tackle, how he didn't then get a yellow/red is beyond me - referee not up to speed either, I guess.

03-08-2013, 07:10 AM
Always liked Partick Thistle.

Anybody that resists the lure of the ugly sisters and supports them has my respect. Also 'Firhill for thrills' is one of those things that is just brilliant about Scottish football and we won the 1st division there albeit not against Partick.

03-08-2013, 07:17 AM

Poor attempt Andy! :hilarious

03-08-2013, 07:48 AM
Good to see Thompson has started where he left off. How did Butcher stay on the park after an over the top tackle and a two footed lunge?

03-08-2013, 08:04 AM
United were away

Ah well. We might have just been angry as opposed to raging then!

03-08-2013, 08:15 AM
Cant say im excited about hibs chances this season but excited that football is back!

03-08-2013, 08:18 AM
Cant say im excited about hibs chances this season but excited that football is back!

I am going to counter your negativity with a positive post.

I think we will do well tbh. Very very disappointing result against Malmo but I think, with another CF and possibly a winger, we will push top 4.

More importantly I'm looking for a lot more consistency.

Onwards and upwards- GGTTH

03-08-2013, 08:33 AM
Ive been fairly positive about our chances all summer, until the 7-0 drubbing.

With a couple of more signings confirmed though (and talk of another player coming in), I am quite excited to see how the team comes together. Its a bit of a pain that we cant have a full strength side out tomorrow, but we have enough guys available to put out a team that should at least be competitive, if not lacking a bit i creativity.

I dont get all this talk of Motherwell being vastly improved though, theyve lost nearly all of their players, and have a tiny squad - if they had they same injury/suspension problems as us, they probably wouldnt be able to field a full 11! Given that they have also played midweek, I reckon we have a chance, provided the team are set up properly.

03-08-2013, 08:41 AM
Ive been fairly positive about our chances all summer, until the 7-0 drubbing.

With a couple of more signings confirmed though (and talk of another player coming in), I am quite excited to see how the team comes together. Its a bit of a pain that we cant have a full strength side out tomorrow, but we have enough guys available to put out a team that should at least be competitive, if not lacking a bit i creativity.

I dont get all this talk of Motherwell being vastly improved though, theyve lost nearly all of their players, and have a tiny squad - if they had they same injury/suspension problems as us, they probably wouldnt be able to field a full 11! Given that they have also played midweek, I reckon we have a chance, provided the team are set up properly.

Don't really see Motherwell being stronger than last season but some astute moves in the transfer market sees them almost as strong if not about the same. They will probably finish above us and many other teams though this does not mean they are unbeatable in a one off game. With confidence being so fragile, if they score first it could be a long game.

03-08-2013, 08:49 AM
Excited to have my first season ticket. :everythin
If Nelson can galvanise the defence and show how its done, and Collins is utilised in an effective system of attacking, and Fenlon uses the players we have to their strengths, I believe we will be top 6. But....

MikeyG
03-08-2013, 08:58 AM
Honestly can't remember being so uninterested about a new season. Malmo was superb but that was because of the company. I have lost faith in the manager for playing Stevenson at right back after he had been roasted away. Can't believe that he repeated the mistake at Easter Road. I will be there as always as its what my kids want to do as they have been brain washed by their dads passion. Truthfully, would rather be on the golf course and check out the result afterwards.

The football has been poor for too long and I go to big games these days hoping we do ourselves justice and don't completely capitulate. So hope that I am proved wrong but will be there as always, in hope now rather than expectation.

Last chance for Fenlon as the jury is most definitely out!!!! Been a proud hibby all my days but it is being put to the test big time, and apathy has replaced excitement. Coming up every week from London to watch the football on offer is becoming more difficult. Up until recently, I had never left a game early but Hearts, Falkirk and Dundee away ended that. So hope I am proved wrong. Doubt it though.. Should be so different as the league is not what it used to be and Motherwell are the best of the rest. Really??? We should be easily competing at that end of the table. The board have backed each manager but we have went steadily downhill since Collins.

Quality ground, quality training facilities, best supporters bar none, less than average team. Top 6 should not be a target for Hibs but a minimum requirement. Fear we have let better managers go. Still be singing on Sunday as its what I do but the marriage is going thru a difficult time.

The new season starts tonight!

Woo hoo.

03-08-2013, 09:08 AM
Always liked Partick Thistle.

Anybody that resists the lure of the ugly sisters and supports them has my respect. Also 'Firhill for thrills' is one of those things that is just brilliant about Scottish football and we won the 1st division there albeit not against Partick.

Yeh .... this for me too.

Anyway, looking forward to the new season even after Hibs doing their best to batter any lingering optimism out of me last week.

C'mon the Hibees !!!

03-08-2013, 09:13 AM
Honestly can't remember being so uninterested about a new season. Malmo was superb but that was because of the company. I have lost faith in the manager for playing Stevenson at right back after he had been roasted away. Can't believe that he repeated the mistake at Easter Road. I will be there as always as its what my kids want to do as they have been brain washed by their dads passion. Truthfully, would rather be on the golf course and check out the result afterwards.

The football has been poor for too long and I go to big games these days hoping we do ourselves justice and don't completely capitulate. So hope that I am proved wrong but will be there as always, in hope now rather than expectation.

Last chance for Fenlon as the jury is most definitely out!!!! Been a proud hibby all my days but it is being put to the test big time, and apathy has replaced excitement. Coming up every week from London to watch the football on offer is becoming more difficult. Up until recently, I had never left a game early but Hearts, Falkirk and Dundee away ended that. So hope I am proved wrong. Doubt it though.. Should be so different as the league is not what it used to be and Motherwell are the best of the rest. Really??? We should be easily competing at that end of the table. The board have backed each manager but we have went steadily downhill since Collins.

Quality ground, quality training facilities, best supporters bar none, less than average team. Top 6 should not be a target for Hibs but a minimum requirement. Fear we have let better managers go. Still be singing on Sunday as its what I do but the marriage is going thru a difficult time.

jiggerman
03-08-2013, 09:25 AM
Completely agree with above.

I know I am a negative so an so, but it infuriates me that people somehow surmise we will finish top 4. Whilst I think we have some decent players, its a team game and we have no balance, organisation, leadership or tactical sophistication!

Always interested, less excited, not hopeful.

03-08-2013, 09:34 AM
After watching the highlights I'm worried. I know it was only highlights but it looked as if the game was played at a speed we could only dream of reaching and the players showed commitment that we've been lacking. Hope we are up to the challenge. Still excited for tomorrow!!

Oh and Craig Thomson, this man gets paid actual money to ref games????

03-08-2013, 11:34 AM
Opening day of the season used to be really exciting but with only 2 games at 3pm on Saturday, one on the Friday night, one at tea time Saturday and 2 on the Sunday with ours being at 1.15pm (meaning I can't go incidentally due to shifts) it just doesn't have that special feel about it.

03-08-2013, 11:40 AM
Beyond excited? eh, naw!

03-08-2013, 12:37 PM
Update on the snooker, I won both games. :thumbsup:

03-08-2013, 12:41 PM
Best news of the season so far :greengrin

03-08-2013, 12:54 PM
Completely agree with above.

I know I am a negative so an so, but it infuriates me that people somehow surmise we will finish top 4. Whilst I think we have some decent players, its a team game and we have no balance, organisation, leadership or tactical sophistication!

Always interested, less excited, not hopeful.

But apart from that everything is ticketyboo.:rolleyes:

If that statement wasn't so perfectly true, it would be quite funny.

03-08-2013, 01:03 PM
I'm excited. Even a double spread of Susan Boyle in the Mayfair would get me excited right now. :greengrin

Seriously.....looking forward to tomorrow. Forget the Malmo game, that's history now.

GGTTH.

OsloHibs
03-08-2013, 07:12 PM
Woo hoo. :flag:

03-08-2013, 07:18 PM
Of course, it's why I go to football matches.

03-08-2013, 07:32 PM

I bet you are pish as well! :greengrin :fishin:

03-08-2013, 08:32 PM

Were your opponents still in their pre season? :wink:

03-08-2013, 08:42 PM
Was excited but being in my last week of pregnancy has ruled me out of going tomorrow :-( so my season ticket wont be getting used and will have to watch it on tv instead.

03-08-2013, 08:56 PM
Any boozers open before 12.30 ? Thanks

Shields Hibee
03-08-2013, 10:55 PM
I always look forward to the season starting as having no matches to go to for a few months soon gets boring.

04-08-2013, 06:34 AM
Up at 6.30am, C'mon Hibs.
Raining in Loanhead, hope it brightens up for the game.

04-08-2013, 02:13 PM
Not really, no. As Peejay also said, I've had that knocked out of me already with the Malmö games.

I realise it may turn out to be too negative a view but I'm already concerned about Sunday's game. If that's not too disastrous, and we beat Hearts, then maybe the excitement will re-appear.

.......and today, my dear friends, helps explain my view

04-08-2013, 02:18 PM
I bet you are pish as well! :greengrin :fishin:

No i'm worse than that, made an 18 break in the first frame, and a 21 in the 2nd. Both games were never in doubt after those breaks, that tells you the standard i suppose. :greengrin

04-08-2013, 02:30 PM
Anyway, Football's back, isn't it great!

yeezus.
04-08-2013, 02:45 PM
My excitement has been dulled a bit by today but I am looking forward to next Sunday for some reason... :flag:

04-08-2013, 02:49 PM
My excitement has been dulled a bit by today but I am looking forward to next Sunday for some reason... :flag:

Give yourself another 40 odd years following the Hibs and you will soon change your tune.

yeezus.
04-08-2013, 02:50 PM
Give yourself another 40 odd years following the Hibs and you will soon change your tune.

haha I've seen enough over the past two years! Are you going next Sunday or is that a stupid question?

04-08-2013, 02:53 PM

No Hibby in that stadium today looked or sounded excited. There is a malaise hanging over ER and we need someone or something, a result, a player or a manager to spark some interest. Failure to do so and the disappointing crowd today is only going to get smaller.

04-08-2013, 03:12 PM
haha I've seen enough over the past two years! Are you going next Sunday or is that a stupid question?

Yes it is a stupid question, the answer is no.

04-08-2013, 07:23 PM
90 minutes into a new season and I'm bored already. I was bored to bits sitting through the Raith friendly but put that down to pre season routine. Today did nothing to help my enthusiasm.

Fenlon Out. As soon as possible please Rod.

04-08-2013, 07:49 PM
Soccer!

04-08-2013, 09:57 PM
90 minutes into a new season and I'm bored already. I was bored to bits sitting through the Raith friendly but put that down to pre season routine. Today did nothing to help my enthusiasm.

Fenlon Out. As soon as possible please Rod.

That's cos you were sitting next to me :greengrin