View Full Version : Starting XI

02-08-2013, 02:46 PM
So with Vine, Cairney, Clancy, McGivern, McPake and Forster all out, what would be your starting team? Michael Nelson coming in will help with defensive issues so what would you go with? For me: Williams; Mullen, Nelson, Hanlon, Stevenson; Harris, OTJ, Thomson, Taiwo, Craig; Collins.

Stringer
02-08-2013, 02:57 PM
Williams

Mullen. Hanlon. Nelson. Stevenson

Taiwo. Jones

Robertson. Craig. Vine

Collins.

TheFamous1875
02-08-2013, 02:59 PM
Williams

Mullen. Hanlon. Nelson. Stevenson

Taiwo. Jones

Robertson. Craig. Vine

Collins.

Nae Harris? Swap Harris for Vine (suspended)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

02-08-2013, 03:00 PM
GK - Williams
RB - Mullen
CB - Nelson
CB - Hanlon
LB - Stevenson
DM - Taiwo
DM - Thomson
RW - Robertson
AM - Craig
LW - Harris
ST - Collins

Stringer
02-08-2013, 03:03 PM
Nae Harris? Swap Harris for Vine (suspended)

Forgot Vine was out. Stick Harris on then

02-08-2013, 03:06 PM
Williams

Mullen Nelson Hanlon Stevenson

Robertson Taiwo Thomson Craig Harris

Collins

02-08-2013, 03:08 PM
Williams
Robertson OTJ Tawio
Harris Collins Craig

02-08-2013, 03:20 PM
I don't like the idea of Collins being up front on his own. He seems like the type of player that will score some and assist some. But I don't think he's an out and out solo goal scorer.

If we are planning to play him on his own up front, I think it may prove to be ineffective.

02-08-2013, 03:25 PM
Williams

Robertson Craig Taiwo Harris

Caldwell Collins

Is what I'd on balance probably want. Think well play 451 or 433 though.

TheFamous1875
02-08-2013, 03:29 PM
I'm not sure about all calling for Robertson on the right wing either. Has he ever played there before?? May have to relent and put Craig there so he can cut in, and Harris on the left to do likewise.

Actually, maybe on the right Harris would be more adept at getting to the byline and setting up for Collins? This wasn't a concern with Sparky last year as he created for himself.

02-08-2013, 03:31 PM
GK: Williams

RB: Mullen
CB: Nelson
CB: Hanlon
LB: Stevenson

DM Thomson
DM Taiwo

RAM Harris
CAM Robertson
LAM Craig

ST Collins

hibeequinn
02-08-2013, 05:22 PM
Gk Williams
Rb Mullen
cb Nelson
Cb Hanlon
lb stevenson
Cm taiwo
cm thomson
rm harris
lm handling
st collins
st caldwell

GoldenEagle
02-08-2013, 05:56 PM
Attack attack attack.... Nae choice.

Amit
02-08-2013, 06:01 PM
GK: Williams

RB: Mullen
CB: Nelson
CB: Hanlon
LB: Stevenson

DM Thomson
DM Taiwo

RAM Harris
CAM Robertson
LAM Craig

ST Collins

I would like to see this team/formation.

02-08-2013, 06:31 PM
Williams

Mullen
Nelson
Hanlon
Stevenson

OTJ
Thomson

Harris
Stanton
Craig

Collins

02-08-2013, 07:19 PM
Stevenson will be RB
Nelson will be on bench
No strikers up top
PF to play the Levein formation
JC to come off bench in 85 th minute and scores the winner
All is barry again
Bt
Nae smileys as this is fae me fone !!!

02-08-2013, 07:24 PM
Williams

Mullen
Nelson
Hanlon
Stevenson

OTJ
Thomson

Harris
Stanton
Craig

Collins

Just out of curiousity why would you start Stanton and drop taiwo?
For me taiwo has been one of our best performers in last 6 months and Stanton has done nothin to merit a start imo

02-08-2013, 09:08 PM
Williams

Harris Taiwo Robertson Thomson

Craig

Collins

02-08-2013, 09:11 PM
Just out of curiousity why would you start Stanton and drop taiwo?
For me taiwo has been one of our best performers in last 6 months and Stanton has done nothin to merit a start imo

More of a creative player. Got OTJ and Thomson as defensive mids. Would have picked Cairney but he is injured. So Stanton is the only other player available for that role

02-08-2013, 09:16 PM
Williams

Mullen Nelson Tudor-Jones Stevenson

Thomson

Harris Taiwo Robertson Craig

Collins

cloudy
02-08-2013, 09:26 PM
GK.. Williams
RB..Mullen
LB.. Stevenson
CB.. Nelson
CB.. Hanlon
CM..Thomson (c)
CM.. Jones
CaM. Craig
LM.. Harris
RM..Stanton/Handling
CF.. Collins

02-08-2013, 09:59 PM
Williams

Mullen
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern (if fit) or Stevenson

Jones
Taiwo
Thomson
Harris

Craig

Collins

OTJ played right mid against us at ER against Stevenson last season. They channeled nearly every attack through him. Thought at time it wasn't his natural position but played well that day.

Think he would give good cover for young Mullen as well

Subs

Murdoch
Gold
Robertson
Horribine
Stanton
Handling
Caldwell

JMac
03-08-2013, 12:39 PM
4-2-3-1
GK - Williams
Rb - Mullen
Cb - Nelson
Cb - Hanlon
Lb - Stevenson
Cm - Taiwo
Cm - OTJ
Lw - Harris
Cam - Craig
Rw - Handling
St - Collins

03-08-2013, 01:09 PM
The only reason i'd play Mullen at right back is he's the only fit right back we have. He might have a bit of potential, but he's not that good yet in my opinion obviously.

If he has to play regularly, i predict he will become the new Stevenson this year.

Northern Hibby
03-08-2013, 01:21 PM
Is it just me that thinks Harris is better on the left?

OrdHibby
03-08-2013, 01:29 PM
The only reason i'd play Mullen at right back is he's the only fit right back we have. He might have a bit of potential, but he's not that good yet in my opinion obviously.

If he has to play regularly, i predict he will become the new Stevenson this year.

So you don't hold out much hope for him :tin hat:

I'd play him for the reasons you've said and the fact he appears to be good at dead balls and crossing. With the big fella Collins upfront now this maybe a chance for the laddie to shine.
Thought he was a dirty we **** and escaped 2 clear yellows in the derby he broke his foot in. Hope he get away with that with us :greengrin

03-08-2013, 01:30 PM

Nope, he always performed better on the left at the end of last season :agree:

I would want to see a 4-2-3-1

GK - Williams

RB - Mullen
CB - Nelson
CB - Hanlon
LB - Stevenson

CDM - Tudor-jones
CDM - Thomson

RW - Handling
CAM - Craig
LW - Harris

ST - Collins

03-08-2013, 01:32 PM
So you don't hold out much hope for him :tin hat:

I'd play him for the reasons you've said and the fact he appears to be good at dead balls and crossing. With the big fella Collins upfront now this maybe a chance for the laddie to shine.
Thought he was a dirty we **** and escaped 2 clear yellows in the derby he broke his foot in. Hope he get away with that with us :greengrin

I don't have any real opinion on how good or bad he will turn out. I just feel at the moment he's a bit raw, and not of the standard we should be playing regularly in the 1st team.

03-08-2013, 01:32 PM
..................Williams........................ .

Mullen....Nelson......Hanlon.......McGivern?

............Taiwo.......Thomson...............

Harris.....................................Craig

...........Handling..............................

...........................Collins................ .

Subs: Murdoch Stevenson Stanton Caldwell OTJ Horribine Robertson

OrdHibby
03-08-2013, 01:34 PM
Play Harris upfront with Either Collin's, Handling or Caldwell. He has a bit of pace and Hibs were always dangerous when Sproule played up front with a striker.

OrdHibby
03-08-2013, 01:35 PM
Stevenson will be RB
Nelson will be on bench
No strikers up top
PF to play the Levein formation
JC to come off bench in 85 th minute and scores the winner
All is barry again
Bt
Nae smileys as this is fae me fone !!!

Pick up your jotters on Monday

03-08-2013, 01:38 PM
Play Harris upfront with Either Collin's, Handling or Caldwell. He has a bit of pace and Hibs were always dangerous when Sproule played up front with a striker.

Naw, we need width, and width with pace. We don't have anyone else, and i have had enough of Fenlon playing players out of position.

03-08-2013, 02:34 PM

RB - Mullen
CB - Nelson
CB - Hanlon
LB - Stevenson

MF - Taiwo
MF - Thomson

CAM - Craig

RF - Handling
CF - Collins
LF - Harris

Why not? :greengrin:

03-08-2013, 04:02 PM
I don't like the idea of Collins being up front on his own. He seems like the type of player that will score some and assist some. But I don't think he's an out and out solo goal scorer.

If we are planning to play him on his own up front, I think it may prove to be ineffective.

:agree: Unfortunately I doubt Fenlon agrees.

03-08-2013, 04:06 PM

No, I totally agree. In the future I'd like to see Harris and Booth swapping wings all the time to confuse the opposition. That is, if we ever get Booth back and play him on the wing. I doubt that's ever going to happen with Fenlon in charge.

03-08-2013, 04:14 PM
No, I totally agree. In the future I'd like to see Harris and Booth swapping wings all the time to confuse the opposition. That is, if we ever get Booth back and play him on the wing. I doubt that's ever going to happen with Fenlon in charge.

That's true. Fenlon doesn't rate Booth so unlikely we will see him play for us again. ...

yekimevol
03-08-2013, 04:35 PM
GK - Williams
RB - Mullen
CB - Nelson
CB - Hanlon
LB - Stevenson
DM - Taiwo
DM - Thomson
RW - Robertson
AM - Craig
LW - Harris
ST - Collins

reidy
03-08-2013, 04:40 PM
I would like to see Caldwell start upfront with Collins tomorrow.

03-08-2013, 05:10 PM
Williams

Robertson Taiwo Thomson Craig Harris

Collins

This in my opinion also :hibees:pfgwa:hibees

03-08-2013, 05:33 PM
Williams

Thomson

Craig Taiwo Harris

Caldwell Collins

Think that 1 Holding mid should be the way to go at home and thought Taiwo looked quite creative when he played with Claros and Thomson a couple of times towards the end of last season. Only problem I have is that I think Thomson is no longer the hard tackler he was before his injury problems but if this is a problem swap Thomson and Taiwo.