View Full Version : Hibs Sign Michael Nelson (2 Year Deal Confirmed)

muzzhfc
01-08-2013, 04:46 PM
Experienced defender . . . http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130801/nelson-joins-hibernian_2262950_3334559

01-08-2013, 04:47 PM
...from Bradford. See we've paid a fee for him too.

DoonTheSlope
01-08-2013, 04:47 PM
Great news really looking forward to the new season.....I believe we will challenge for second spot

leithsansiro
01-08-2013, 04:49 PM
Any ideas how much he signed for or was he free?
Good experience nonetheless

01-08-2013, 04:50 PM
great news Roll on sunday

01-08-2013, 04:54 PM
Great news. We need him!

01-08-2013, 04:56 PM
Just experienced cover or will he really stake a claim?
Donno much of him but suspect there will be a few underwhelmed dudes out there...

01-08-2013, 04:57 PM
2 year deal surprises me. Can see him being a main CH this season tbh. Was also shocked that we paid something for him, just assumed it would be a free.

01-08-2013, 04:58 PM
Never heard of him TBH......just hope hes ok and not a cart horse......anyone enlighten me?

01-08-2013, 04:58 PM
Just experienced cover or will he really stake a claim?
Donno much of him but suspect there will be a few underwhelmed dudes out there...

Not so sure. Not an instantly recognisable name but on reading further into his career i think he is a cert to be our first choice defender this year.

JDHibs
01-08-2013, 05:00 PM
Brilliant signing! Solid! A total leader!

HibeeEmma
"I was also impressed with what the manager, Pat Fenlon had to say about what he wants to achieve here at Hibs and I'm excited about being a part of it."

Wonder what that was? :dunno:

Dangerous from set pieces? :greengrin:

Seven Zero
01-08-2013, 05:05 PM
Well Done Pat Fenlon and the board on a superb transfer window. We have the makings of a good side there. Roll on sunday!

Leishy1995
01-08-2013, 05:06 PM
Came from nowhere!

01-08-2013, 05:10 PM
Came from nowhere!

2yr deal for a 33 yr old is a bit weird, must be a fit lad.

is McPake still toiling after the malmo game?

muzzhfc
Came from nowhere!

No, Bradford

Straight in the team for Sunday I guess. A name I recognise but don't remember much about him. Maybe our resident Killie fan can give us his thoughts on him.

Steviethebear
Never heard of him TBH......just hope hes ok and not a cart horse......anyone enlighten me?

Ex Killie Pie, decent CH

I also hope this signing allows James McPake to get take his time, get a proper return to full fitness. It would be great to see our Captain back in fine form.

01-08-2013, 05:13 PM
What a difference one signing can make, for the past week since the drubbing at the hands of Malmo it has been all doom and gloom on here. Now, because we have signed a c/h, even if it is one we haven't really heard of, everything in the garden is rosy again. Football supporters eh, :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Ex Killie Pie, decent CH

Jimmy Nicholl must have recommended him, he was assistant at Killie when Nelson played there

Jimmy Nicholl recommendation. Doesn't look good for the skipper long term possibly.

I believe so bud.

Big Sexy Dave
01-08-2013, 05:14 PM
Asked a Killie mate on Facebook "good in the air but seen tanks turn faster than him. not too fussed by him going to hibs."

SuperAllyMcleod
01-08-2013, 05:14 PM
Well at least he's a defender and not another midfielder. However, I do feel we are still a little short in midfield - height, not numbers :wink:

01-08-2013, 05:17 PM
Well at least he's a defender and not another midfielder. However, I do feel we are still a little short in midfield - height, not numbers :wink:

a right winger joining in the next 48 hrs hopefully

01-08-2013, 05:18 PM
Asked a Killie mate on Facebook "good in the air but seen tanks turn faster than him. not too fussed by him going to hibs."

Should cope well with McFadden and young Anier on Sunday.

01-08-2013, 05:19 PM
Did he play much in Bradfords run to the league cup final?..Decent experience.Good signin.

01-08-2013, 05:21 PM

Hope so :thumbsup:

SuperAllyMcleod
01-08-2013, 05:21 PM

Iniesta or Xavi?

Wait, that won't solve our height problem though?

01-08-2013, 05:22 PM
Must admit I've not heard of him, but delighted we've signed an experienced CH.

We certainly needed a defender so hopefully things work out.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23540624

Gordy M
01-08-2013, 05:23 PM
Iniesta or Xavi?

Dont know if your joking or not, but otj and liam craig are both 6ft plus????

vanNISHtelroy
01-08-2013, 05:23 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A3dp1xtdMEE :agree:

squire
01-08-2013, 05:24 PM
He looks like a proper centre half.

Spender
01-08-2013, 05:26 PM
Experienced defender . . . http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130801/nelson-joins-hibernian_2262950_3334559

never even mentioned the training complex or stadium in his appraisal of his move to Hibs. :greengrin

Purehibee_MYB
Any ideas how much he signed for or was he free?
Good experience nonetheless

Says Nominal fee, so I'd imagine not much more than 10,000 or so. Not that 10 grand is nominal to any of us.. Or our neighbours for that matter :greengrin

From what I remember he is no nonsense and attacks the ball, that combined with his experience and physique makes him a good signing on paper, not to mention the fact that Jimmy Nic has recommended him.

With Clancy, Forster, Nelson, Hanlon, McPake, McGivern, Tudur Jones, Vine and Collins I tell you what - we better score a fair few from set pieces. Hibs will be a big (physically) side this season which is a positive from me, as long as we can bring in a couple of players with pace up the top end of the pitch to draw fouls, win/force corners etc.

I can't recall the last Hibs side which had so many big players as a team unit. The team that played against Souness' Rangers in 1986 was quite a physical side but can't recall a side since with such qualities.

01-08-2013, 05:27 PM
On paper a decent signing. Could have done with him being a bit younger, but beggars can't be choosers.

SuperAllyMcleod
01-08-2013, 05:27 PM
Dont know if your joking or not, but otj and liam craig are both 6ft plus????

It was a bit tongue in cheek but I have to say that from my seat near the top of the East Stand they all looked very small against Malmo.

It was my first game of the season so I didn't see OTJ obviously but Craig does look like he will do a job for us. However, as Malmo showed us, our defence is the area that needs most attention right now - at least Pat Fenlon has recognised that.

I'm now feeling a lot better about our chances on Sunday.

iainm1875
01-08-2013, 05:28 PM
He's a big unit!

Teapot
01-08-2013, 05:29 PM
With Clancy, Forster, Nelson, Hanlon, McPake, McGivern, Tudur Jones, Vine and Collins I tell you what - we better score a fair few from set pieces. Hibs will be a big (physically) side this season which is a positive from me, as long as we can bring in a couple of players with pace up the top end of the pitch to draw fouls, win/force corners etc.

I can't recall the last Hibs side which had so many big players as a team unit. The team that played against Souness' Rangers in 1986 was quite a physical side but can't recall a side since with such qualities.

Liam Craig is supposed to be a set piece specialist as well. Would be nice to see us get a good few goals from set pieces.

01-08-2013, 05:30 PM
Don't see his age being an issue, certainly not a negative one - some players, defenders especially, have played to a much, much older age than 33 in the SPL.

Gordy M
It was a bit tongue in cheek but I have to say that from my seat near the top of the East Stand they all looked very small against Malmo.

It was my first game of the season so I didn't see OTJ obviously but Craig does look like he will do a job for us. However, as Malmo showed us, our defence is the area that needs most attention right now - at least Pat Fenlon has recognised that.

I'm now feeling a lot better about our chances on Sunday.

No worries mate, id actually prefer our midfield to be a bit more mobile than physically bigger, but like you im a bit more optimistic about sunday.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A3dp1xtdMEE :agree:
Will he do a decent job for us?

Leishy1995
No, Bradford

I will reiterate, the signing was not spoken about before it. He came from Bradford.

01-08-2013, 05:33 PM
Happy enough with this. Vaguely remember him being a big no nonsense type.

Hopefully fit enough to go straight in on Sunday as we badly need him.

Bob Box Fish
01-08-2013, 05:35 PM
Strange one says that he left Killie to be closer to his family so moved to Bradford.

01-08-2013, 05:35 PM
Looks solid, and will help immediately by being an experienced bod for Sunday. Hope he can bring a more composed approach to ALL our back four. Age/Mobility could be an issue..... Kuqi?? :stirrer:

vanNISHtelroy
01-08-2013, 05:36 PM
Will he do a decent job for us?

Think he will be a solid enough player for you if you have a player with a wee bit more pace beside him. Was good at going and attacking the ball in the air. Think he is a good solid SPL defender that most teams would/should be happy with.

01-08-2013, 05:39 PM
I remember him being pretty decent at Killie and I remember Kenny Shiels being very disappointed when he left. Don't have an issue with the 2 year deal, 33 isn't that old for a centre half who's kept himself in good shape.

01-08-2013, 05:44 PM
Think he will be a solid enough player for you if you have a player with a wee bit more pace beside him. Was good at going and attacking the ball in the air. Think he is a good solid SPL defender that most teams would/should be happy with.
just what I wanted to hear, Thanks

Hibstrooper
01-08-2013, 05:47 PM

Perfect, no nonsense reliable centre half - exactly what we need.

His career reads quite well on wiki too and he seems to be held in quite high regard at his previous teams. Happy with this signing :thumbsup:

01-08-2013, 05:48 PM

2000-2001 Laursen, Fenwick, Smith, Sauzee, Jack and Mixu.

01-08-2013, 05:48 PM
Michael Duberry was 34 when he signed for St. Johnstone. They got 2 good years from him and wanted to retain him when he left, IIRC.

hibIBZ
01-08-2013, 05:49 PM
Strange one says that he left Killie to be closer to his family so moved to Bradford.

Wikipedia says he was born in Gateshead. Could I be right in saying there is not much difference in distance from Edinburgh to Gateshead than Bradford

Fantastic news!

And completely under the radar of those 'in the know' :wink:

Welcome big guy, good to see Jimmy Nichols influence coming into play. Best of luck !!

MKHIBEE
01-08-2013, 05:59 PM
Says Nominal fee, so I'd imagine not much more than 10,000 or so. Not that 10 grand is nominal to any of us.. Or our neighbours for that matter :greengrin

Whats another 10k when your 28 million plus in debt.

01-08-2013, 05:59 PM
2000-2001 Laursen, Fenwick, Smith, Sauzee, Jack and Mixu.

Good shout Treadstone mate - at that time I was blinded by wee Russell's skills. Yep, AM did put together a really good side around then :agree::aok:

01-08-2013, 06:02 PM
Whats another 10k when your 28 million plus in debt.

About one day's interest?

01-08-2013, 06:03 PM
On paper exactly what we needed. A big defender who does nothing else but defend. (And score overhead kicks)

Must say fenlons signings have all been what we've needed. Just hope this season he can get the best outa them.

davieh
01-08-2013, 06:06 PM
Am trying to share the general enthusiasm for this signing, but finding it difficult. Not sure in the logic of giving Nelson 2 years and Forster only 1. Vaguely remember him from Killie, but don't remember him impressing (hope he does for Hibs, of course).

Also, bit worried that the trend for going for height all over the pitch means the ball will never touch the pitch this season....

01-08-2013, 06:10 PM
Forster only got a year because he was still a youth player without any first team games under his belt.

01-08-2013, 06:11 PM
Sounds like a good signing, well done Pat & Rod for getting in the new lads early this year, who know maybe more to come. Welcome to Hibs Michael N :agree:

Ferryhibby
01-08-2013, 06:17 PM
Think Forster could only sign a1 year deal coz of his age....seems a good signing and some much needed experience at the back to help Forster along, who knows what hel be like but knowing our fickle fans hel only be given about a half hour to prove himself lol

01-08-2013, 06:19 PM
Brilliant signing! Solid! A total leader!

This....solid unit of a central defender, no nonsense, exactly what we need...well done Hibs again...timing impeccable with the news from over Gorgie, get it right up them!!! GGTTH

01-08-2013, 06:21 PM
Defence definitely needed strengthened so I'm pleased we have another body in, cant remember him from his time at Killie but hopefully his recent experience of the SPL will be useful.

Still think were desperately short of a little pace in the team, as other folk have pointed out we've got a few big players in the team now but we need another winger other than Harris you can get to the byline, put crosses in and draw fouls. At the moment I think we still lack real options going forward.

01-08-2013, 06:22 PM
Did anyone else notice Nelson didnt once mention seeing the training centre as a key factor in why he signed?
Rod must be losing his grip :hilarious

01-08-2013, 06:25 PM
Did anyone else notice Nelson didnt once mention seeing the training centre as a key factor in why he signed?

33year olds won't improve so aren't going to be as impressed with training facilities as youngsters with their whole career in front of them.

01-08-2013, 06:29 PM
]Just experienced cover or will he really stake a claim?

2 year deal just for cover, what do you think :wink:

01-08-2013, 06:34 PM
33year olds won't improve so aren't going to be as impressed with training facilities as youngsters with their whole career in front of them.

Training facilities are also where you go and work every day so just as important to like the environment.

01-08-2013, 06:36 PM
Just what we needed considering the number of experienced defenders who will be missing on Sunday. Dont know how fit he will be, but with a two year deal I would doubt that he was a last minute stop gap signing.

Anyway .... welcome to Hibs Michael.

01-08-2013, 06:36 PM

I just assumed it was a condition of joining the club :dunno:

01-08-2013, 06:38 PM
2 year deal just for cover, what do you think :wink:

Cover ? Straight into the team for Sunday. If it goes well, he'll keep his place. Don't think any defender at Hibs now has right to see themselves as a guaranteed pick.

01-08-2013, 06:39 PM
Good signing IMO !!
Was in the Kilmarnock side that won the League Cup and showed up well all season
Think this is a good bit of business on two counts
McPake isn't the answer to our need for a commanding C/H - sorry :greengrin
We have three young lads , Hanlon ,Forster and Donaldson who make up our future defence and if this guy can do the business over the two years they will get that much experience under their belts playing alongside him

01-08-2013, 06:41 PM

More ****ing importantly stop conceding from set prices!!!!!

01-08-2013, 06:43 PM
More ****ing importantly stop conceding from set prices!!!!!

Down with prices. :agree:

pedroorange1875
01-08-2013, 06:45 PM
Good signing IMO !!
Was in the Kilmarnock side that won the League Cup and showed up well all season
Think this is a good bit of business on two counts
McPake isn't the answer to our need for a commanding C/H - sorry :greengrin
We have three young lads , Hanlon ,Forster and Donaldson who make up our future defence and if this guy can do the business over the two years they will get that much experience under their belts playing alongside him

Not sure how many people he needs to learn from before we finally realise he is not a centre half, agree with the other 2 lads, they should come on well. Hanlon is a lost cause im afraid

01-08-2013, 06:55 PM
Down with prices. :agree: :greengrin

01-08-2013, 07:00 PM
Is he getting the number 5 shirt? Good to see an experienced CH, pretty pleased with the business we have done so far, I just hope I'm as pleased after a few league games. In Pat we trust...........................................I think :wink:

01-08-2013, 07:04 PM
Jimmy Nicholl recommendation. Doesn't look good for the skipper long term possibly.

"We believe Michael will bring four qualities to the team - size, physicality, experience and leadership. sounds like a replacement captain if/when required.

hibernator
01-08-2013, 07:14 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ctxXoeZDiZI
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IU_0QzjZClE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A3dp1xtdMEE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ctsEHqXx3Qo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H0YGYaa9lVo
(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H0YGYaa9lVo)http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5_KLNPPAbA

looks a bit like he just remembers Movember after agreeing to this interview :LOL:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rj2fvV-jGVQ

01-08-2013, 07:19 PM
Not sure how many people he needs to learn from before we finally realise he is not a centre half, agree with the other 2 lads, they should come on well. Hanlon is a lost cause im afraid

Aye so he is.... FFS

01-08-2013, 07:21 PM

A thread about a new signing and yet it still gets used to have a dig at one of our players! :rolleyes:

01-08-2013, 07:23 PM
The question is who will drop out for him? I think the defence picks itself for Sunday (out of injuries rather than an abundance of quality) but who will partner him for the rest of the season when everyone is fit?

01-08-2013, 07:25 PM
I seem to remember hem playing really well against us during a game in the winter time - the phrase none shall pass could be applied - but then again, I think I`m right in that he got sent off for Killie in another match against us for adopting the same approach!

01-08-2013, 07:25 PM
The question is who will drop out for him? I think the defence picks itself for Sunday (out of injuries rather than an abundance of quality) but who will partner him for the rest of the season when everyone is fit?

I think him and Hanlon obviously start as first picks with Forster and McGivern the understudies when available (though think McGivern will be first choice LB when fit).

01-08-2013, 07:38 PM

McPake. every time.

01-08-2013, 07:39 PM
Uninspiring signing :rolleyes:

:devil:

Purehibee_MYB
01-08-2013, 07:53 PM
Uninspiring signing :rolleyes:

:devil:

We've all been talking about it for weeks! I feel so underwhelmed.......:cb

01-08-2013, 07:57 PM
Hates a tweet!

Welcome Admiral Nelson.

01-08-2013, 07:57 PM
I think him and Hanlon obviously start as first picks with Forster and McGivern the understudies when available (though think McGivern will be first choice LB when fit).

Id expect it to be McPake, Hanlon then Forster in that order, although I imagine it will mostly be Hanlon.

As McPake and Clancy are never fit, and based on who we have the defence will likely be - Mullen Nelson Hanlon McGivern. None of the players in there are injury prone which is good, but whatever Fenlon picks, lets hope he sticks with it and keeps some stability in the defence.

01-08-2013, 08:00 PM

Hanlon would be my choice. McPake is finished for me. (So no doubt he will play nearly every game and be as solid as a rock all season. :greengrin)

01-08-2013, 08:08 PM
Play him with Forster, the other 2 as back up. Suspect it will be Hanlon tho

01-08-2013, 08:08 PM
Hanlon would be my choice. McPake is finished for me. (So no doubt he will play nearly every game and be as solid as a rock all season. :greengrin)

For someone who jumps down anyone's throat that criticises anything to do with the club, you're awfully blase about the fact that our club captain's career is possibly over.

01-08-2013, 08:09 PM
I don't really remember him from his Killie days, and I'm willing to give him a chance before judging him myself. I lived in Leeds for 3 years so dropped a text to a Bradford season ticket holder asking if he is any good, his reply -

From English Joe

Erm...He's pretty woeful if truth be told. I'm really glad we've got rid. Not too bad in the air, but shocking on the ball and has no pace! x

Like I said, I'll give him a chance before I judge myself. I'm hoping he's a good leader for a back line that's looked really unorganised.

01-08-2013, 08:10 PM
pretty good news!
gaun wee paddy

01-08-2013, 08:11 PM
Bradford fans seem to find him a decent player but one they don't particularly need. Also seem to think they are a higher standard than we are..

Good he was a shocking player.

He will do well at Hibs though.

01-08-2013, 08:13 PM

Watch his Hibs TV interview, he mentions both in glowing terms :thumbsup::thumbsup:

01-08-2013, 08:15 PM
His interview:greengrin

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2AElfL-_HJY#

01-08-2013, 08:17 PM
Bradford fans seem to find him a decent player but one they don't particularly need. Also seem to think they are a higher standard than we are..

Bradford a higher standard than us, riiiiight :faf:

01-08-2013, 08:19 PM
Great news really looking forward to the new season.....I believe we will challenge for second spot

Get a grip pal. You been drinking? Or living under yer blankets? If we come 2nd I will eat my own stools and post it on hibs net for interested parties.

The only interesting thing this season will be watching Fenlon being pushed (though probably too late). I reckon 30% of our fans have formed a splinter group in which somewhere around 6th is acceptable and massive defeats in important games can be excused by members with perceived rational thought.

Niffy
01-08-2013, 08:19 PM

I like the enthusiasm, but fail to see how that fast turn around is possible.
By signing two players after last Thursday .

BUT , I hope your right.

01-08-2013, 08:21 PM

BUT , I hope your right.

Do you really believe last Thursday will have a bearing on how we perform against other SPL teams?

01-08-2013, 08:23 PM

From what I saw of Bradford last season I can't see what you find so hilarious TBH

01-08-2013, 08:24 PM

Not think so?

Do you think Malmo would have papped Bradford by 7?

We aren't in a position to laugh at other clubs right now - except - Hearts and Rangers. Show some humility for gods sake.

01-08-2013, 08:24 PM

I have been saving this gif for special occasions such as this :wink:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BQlhNWpCMAE0b-d.jpg:large

01-08-2013, 08:25 PM
From what I saw of Bradford last season I can't see what you find so hilarious TBH

Nahki Wells and James Hanson up front would be a great pairing in the SPL.

01-08-2013, 08:26 PM
Not think so?

Do you think Malmo would have papped Bradford by 7?

We aren't in a position to laugh at other clubs right now - except - Hearts and Rangers. Show some humility for gods sake.

I don't think Malmo would be Dundee or Morton 7-0. But, like your example, that doesn't bear any relevance to the Hibs result against them.

01-08-2013, 08:28 PM
Doubt you would have seen Hibs beat Arsenal & Aston Villa as Bradford did last season.

That's all down to opinion , thankfully :greengrin

Purehibee_MYB

BUT , I hope your right.

Give me some of that positivity! You've clearly got plenty to dish out :cb

01-08-2013, 08:30 PM
Get a grip pal. You been drinking? Or living under yer blankets? If we come 2nd I will eat my own stools and post it on hibs net for interested parties.

The only interesting thing this season will be watching Fenlon being pushed (though probably too late). I reckon 30% of our fans have formed a splinter group in which somewhere around 6th is acceptable and massive defeats in important games can be excused by members with perceived rational thought.

I hope we finish second.:smug:

01-08-2013, 08:32 PM

BUT , I hope your right.

I think it is fair to say there is no way on this earth that we are as genuinely bad as we showed last week. I actually think we will win on Sunday.

One boy, one cup?

"I was also impressed with what the manager, Pat Fenlon had to say about what he wants to achieve here at Hibs and I'm excited about being a part of it."

Wonder what that was? :dunno:

I think he said 'when we get into Europe by the back door again this season and we get pumped 0-6 on aggregate in our first game, that will be progress and you will be able to say you were a part of that, by the way do you have any pals that could play because I don't have a ****** clue what I am doing, but don't let that worry you'

Stuarty27
What a utter pish signing.

any1 want a season ticket?

01-08-2013, 08:35 PM
I hope we finish second.:smug:

What happens when we finish first????

mentalhibee
01-08-2013, 08:35 PM
Would have been happier with McManus, hopefully a decent signing.

Marty-Hibee
01-08-2013, 08:42 PM
He looks like a mean, no nonsense, row z, horrible, growling radge. All qualities I quite appreciate in an SPL centre half. Hopefully works out well, looking forward to Sunday that wee bit more

01-08-2013, 08:57 PM
I think he said 'when we get into Europe by the back door again this season and we get pumped 0-6 on aggregate in our first game, that will be progress and you will be able to say you were a part of that, by the way do you have any pals that could play because I don't have a ****** clue what I am doing, but don't let that worry you'

Get a grip ffs :bye:

01-08-2013, 08:58 PM

You've not got a season ticket don't lie :agree:

01-08-2013, 09:01 PM

its were we are mate so lets give the guy a chance.

pedroorange1875
01-08-2013, 09:07 PM
A thread about a new signing and yet it still gets used to have a dig at one of our players! :rolleyes:

or a positive about 2 young players who have big potential to learn off the new guy (which is itself a positive about the new guy) but you crack on looking at the negative

Eternal Hibbie
01-08-2013, 09:09 PM

Tin hat time :

I remember him at Killie and I've seen milk turn quicker and we weren't the quickest at the back before.

Hope he does well for us I really do, but seriously is this where we are in the scheme of things.

Yeah I know, give the guy a chance . . .

Be delighted to be proven wrong, maybe our manager knows best, I hope so, the board is clearly backing him . . . for now.

We'll find out soon enough.

pedroorange1875
01-08-2013, 09:10 PM
Aye so he is.... FFS

You agree then he is a young player with little experience that has not had experienced defenders to learn from already in 6 years. Sorry i never spotted that in your reasoned response about a positive post on a new signing that could influence 2 young players with good potential.

01-08-2013, 09:11 PM
or a positive about 2 young players who have big potential to learn of the new guy (which is itself a positive about the new guy) but you crack on looking at the negative

You post a negative about one of our current players being a lost cause and then claim a positive :faf:

Stuarty27
01-08-2013, 09:12 PM
He is absolute rank rotten.

Shocking signing, all this guy is gonna do is stop the progression of Forster. Much rather watch young players than a 33 year old huddy signed from ****** Bradford city

01-08-2013, 09:12 PM

Why would I want a season ticket at Tynecastle?

01-08-2013, 09:14 PM

Shocking signing, all this guy is gonna do is stop the progression of Forster. Much rather watch young players than a 33 year old huddy signed from ****** Bradford city

Can I borrow your crystal ball.

Stuarty27
01-08-2013, 09:15 PM
Why would I want a season ticket at Tynecastle?

Hilarious

01-08-2013, 09:16 PM

So, just for the sake of clarity, you don't think he's gonna do a job for Hibs?

Out of curiosity, how many times have you seen him play?

pedroorange1875
01-08-2013, 09:17 PM
You post a negative about one of our current players being a lost cause and then claim a positive :faf:

Most of the post is a positive about the influence he can have with inexperienced young players the other is a response disagreeing with another posters inferred influence he will have on Hanlon who already is not classed as young or inexperienced and has had various experienced defenders to learn from and not done it. i like your debating style though so i will respond in kind...

:yawn:

01-08-2013, 09:17 PM

Yeah I really enjoyed watching our Young defence against Malmo, that was great wasn't it?

Oh that's right, you were too busy baking cakes and drinking some jakeys homemade beer because your team are that far up the ****ter it's all you can do to help :agree:

Twa Cairpets
01-08-2013, 09:18 PM

Yeh, ok then. I'm assuming you're not wanting money for it. Send me a PM and I' ll have your season ticket, and pass it on Kicks for Kids. or are you just another attention seeking roaster with a flair for the over-dramatic.

01-08-2013, 09:23 PM
Most of the post is a positive about the influence he can have with inexperienced young players the other is a response disagreeing with another posters inferred influence he will have on Hanlon who already is not classed as young or inexperienced and has had various experienced defenders to learn from and not done it. i like you debating style though so i will respond in kind...

My original response was factually correct, I see no need to continue listening to you running around in circles and trying to justify your slagging of one of our current players on a thread about a new signing. :bye:

01-08-2013, 09:24 PM
Not exactly an inspiring signing, although I hope he does a job :thumbsup:

01-08-2013, 09:24 PM

What if he plays alongside Forster ?!?!

Think that would be a good pairing

Hanlon has been a constant in a terrible defence for years

GlenrothesHibee
01-08-2013, 09:29 PM
Doubt you would have seen Hibs beat Arsenal & Aston Villa as Bradford did last season.

Couldn't imagine seeing Bradford beating Celtic either to be fair

Dunderhall
01-08-2013, 09:30 PM

Ageist, bradfordist and notmakingassumptionist, not necessarily in that order.

There is a young team not too far away I believe you could watch instead.

pedroorange1875
01-08-2013, 09:31 PM
My original response was factually correct, I see no need to continue listening to you running around in circles and trying to justify your slagging of one of our current players on a thread about a new signing. :bye:

my response to him is also factually correct therefore not slagging in the slightest, the simple well evidenced fact is he is not very good, has failed to learn from experienced partners and cant play the position to a standard that will move Hibs on, but ill let you continue to ignore the majority of my post, nice use of another smiley :aok: im getting the hang of this debating thing

Welcome Mr Nelson i hope you can impart your experience and knowledge to our young inexperienced defenders :flag:

01-08-2013, 09:33 PM

Shocking signing, all this guy is gonna do is stop the progression of Forster. Much rather watch young players than a 33 year old huddy signed from ****** Bradford cityWhat a pathetic post.

banchoryhibs
01-08-2013, 09:33 PM
A big, no frills, no nonsense centre half; could have done with someone like that last Thursday. I don't care if he can't hit a 40 yard pass if he provides some steel in the middle of the defence that will do for me.

01-08-2013, 09:34 PM

If it's young players you're after, there's another team in Edinburgh that will have an average age of about 17 in a few months' time. Maybe they would be more to your liking.

Nelson may not be the most glamorous signing we've ever made and it's not exactly making me do cartwheels either but I think it's a bit harsh to write him off already without even seeing him play for us.

01-08-2013, 09:34 PM
my response to him is also factually correct therefore not slagging in the slightest, the simple well evidenced fact is he is not very good, has failed to learn from experienced partners and cant play the position to a standard that will move Hibs on, but ill let you continue to ignore the majority of my post, nice use of another smiley :aok: im getting the hang of this debating thing

Welcome Mr Nelson i hope you can impart your experience and knowledge to our young inexperienced defenders :flag:

Seeing as you're so fond of my use of smileys here's another one :thumbsup: Enjoy the season pal I hope we both do :greengrin

01-08-2013, 09:36 PM
Welcome to Hibs hail hail

01-08-2013, 09:40 PM
What if he plays alongside Forster ?!?!

Think that would be a good pairing

Hanlon has been a constant in a terrible defence for years

I like hanlon but its a fair point and there's nobody in our defence that's undroppable.

I'll be in the minority of one here but I'm yet to be convinced by Forster, maybe got potential but Im not sure he's ready for first team regular football yet. Maybe Mcpakes fault is he's trying too hard to be the superhero and he just needs an older head beside him to calm him down and get him to just play his own game.

I'm certainly not convinced mcpakes finished yet.

01-08-2013, 09:44 PM
A big, no frills, no nonsense centre half; could have done with someone like that last Thursday. I don't care if he can't hit a 40 yard pass if he provides some steel in the middle of the defence that will do for me.

Exactly. We've been leaking goals for months and lots of them are due to bad on non existent defending of crosses into our box. It looks like Nelson is a big, no nonsense centre half who will win balls in the air.

Some folk (not you) are never happy

01-08-2013, 09:44 PM
Hilarious

Nah, hilarious is what's happening with your club...

Must be really hard dealing with a one club city...

PM me and I'll happily meet you as I have old crap I can donate for your next jumble sale..

One City, One Team

01-08-2013, 09:46 PM
I have never heard of this guy before, he might be good who knows?

01-08-2013, 09:48 PM
Exactly. We've been leaking goals for months and lots of them are due to bad on non existent defending of crosses into our box. It looks like Nelson is a big, no nonsense centre half who will win balls in the air.

Some folk (not you) are never happy he certainly has the tattoos to prove that there's nae frills about him:wink: I'm happy enough though Jonny.

pedroorange1875
01-08-2013, 09:50 PM
Seeing as you're so fond of my use of smileys here's another one :thumbsup: Enjoy the season pal I hope we both do :greengrin

With Nelson and Forster at CH im sure we will:wink::agree::greengrin

gorgie greens
01-08-2013, 10:09 PM

loved guys like Shaun Dennis when they played for us,couldnae trap a bag of cement,and this guy seems to come from the same cloth,these guys dont want to run the ball out of defence n lose it,give it the wellie the minute anyone comes within ten feet,
wait till they go to tynecastle,the hearts players are all kids,growl at them,tell them what you will do to them the minute they try nutmegs n side steps.
it reminds me of the old Scotland team of Tam Forsyth,Joe Jordan (minus teeth),Gordon McQueen,you just knew they were not going to lie down and let the other team dictate the play,
for a few years we have had a fairly small team who got bullied in many a game,and i think Pat has recognised that as one of our failings.
all i can say is "get in to them"

01-08-2013, 10:19 PM

Go and do one

01-08-2013, 10:21 PM

Give us a detailed account of how many games you have seen him play

gorgie greens
01-08-2013, 10:22 PM
Go and do one

cant agree more,nothing like rolling out the red carpet for our new player.
get behind the team.

Miguel
01-08-2013, 10:32 PM
Can't judge until we see the guy play.

coldingham hibs
01-08-2013, 10:34 PM
If this is the same guy that played for Killie then Fenlon better pack his bags. I can't believe our club have sunk so low, sheer desperation, last minute panic buy. On a 2 year contract, WTF.

I clearly remember stating how bad he was when playing against us at Killie.

God, after all the depression of the last week we get this announcement to top it off.

2 Year contract for a 33 year old, only Hibs could do that.

hfc_aidan
01-08-2013, 10:42 PM

Interested to know how a player who has made around 500 appearances for decent teams in his career can stop forsters progress?

01-08-2013, 10:45 PM

The guy might turn out to be ok. If not, look at the signing's alternative, popular spin.......... It will go some way in contributing to the end of Fenlon's tenure at ER, which would not be too unpopular with a fairly big number of the Hibs ' support.

01-08-2013, 11:02 PM
If this is the same guy that played for Killie then Fenlon better pack his bags. I can't believe our club have sunk so low, sheer desperation, last minute panic buy. On a 2 year contract, WTF.

God, after all the depression of the last week we get this announcement to top it off.

Smells of Yam

Age for a good centre back is irrelevant if they can read the game, John Blackley strolled through games into his late 30s and so did Sandy Jardine, David Weir at 40 strolled it for Rangers.

Think we should wait until we have seen him play a few games for us until we decide how low we have sunk.

coco22
01-08-2013, 11:07 PM
The guy might turn out to be ok. If not, look at the signing's alternative, popular spin.......... It will go some way in contributing to the end of Fenlon's tenure at ER, which would not be too unpopular with a fairly big number of the Hibs ' support.

In the 'glad we signed that player cos he turned out to be the nail in oor gaffers coffin but we've still got him on a 2 yr deal' way' :rolleyes:.

i hope he, as others have stated, at least puts a wee bit of much needed steel into our defence

01-08-2013, 11:12 PM

I'll take it off you.

Meet me in the Hibs Club tomorrow night.

jakeshibs
01-08-2013, 11:12 PM
Welcome to Hibs Michael Nelson, hopefully you can help add some organisation, experience and desire. Well done PF on addressing an area of concern now lets lift the team and get stuck in on Sunday:aok:

coldingham hibs
01-08-2013, 11:13 PM
Smells of Yam

Age for a good centre back is irrelevant if they can read the game, John Blackley strolled through games into his late 30s and so did Sandy Jardine, David Weir at 40 strolled it for Rangeers.

Think we should wait until we have seen him play a few games for us until we decide how low we have sunk.

Forget all the Yam nonsence. I clearly remember this guy playing for Killie.
My son just about fell off his seat when I told him about this signing, carthorse were the first words he said.
Genuine question here, is there any other club in the SPFL who have signed someone aged 33 years old on a 2 year contract.

Dunderhall
01-08-2013, 11:16 PM

Really, none of your previous 11 posts mention that.
Not difficult since the season was long finished by June when you first posted, they make interesting reading though.

01-08-2013, 11:19 PM
My son just about fell off his seat when I told him about this signing, carthorse were the first words he said.
Genuine question here, is there any other club in the SPFL who have signed someone aged 33 years old on a 2 year contract.

I'll humour you, although I know you're at it.

David Weir signed for Rangers at the age of 37 and stayed for 5 years.

coldingham hibs
01-08-2013, 11:19 PM
Really, none of your previous posts mention that.
Not difficult since the season was long finished by June when you first posted.

Wrong, I had a problem with my previous user name and had to re-register.

01-08-2013, 11:22 PM

Lol.

01-08-2013, 11:22 PM

Killie fans seem to rate him quite highly, you can't judge any player until you've seen him play for us, to call any player we've just signed a carthorse is a bit Yammish.....................IMO

Would you have taken Davie Weir who looked class into his late 30's, 33 is not that old.

01-08-2013, 11:26 PM
Give us a detailed account of how many games you have seen him play

She's a jealous yam, just ignore her...

coldingham hibs
01-08-2013, 11:28 PM
I'll humour you, although I know you're at it.

David Weir signed for Rangers at the age of 37 and stayed for 5 years.

Yep, I did mean this season & meant premiership team. However Rangers at that time had a few decent international defenders.

We have signed a player who wasn't very good at Killie a year or 2 ago and we are expecting him to solve our defensive problems.

Fenlon simply hasn't got any idea how to turn our team around, and is wasting good money in the process.

01-08-2013, 11:34 PM
Yep, I did mean this season & meant premiership team. However Rangers at that time had a few decent international defenders.

We have signed a player who wasn't very good at Killie a year or 2 ago and we are expecting him to solve our defensive problems.

Fenlon simply hasn't got any idea how to turn our team around, and is wasting good money in the process.

You are waffling rubbish my friend...

01-08-2013, 11:37 PM

David weir played for rangers in the SPL did he not? He only gave up football last year. Oh right it has to be this year because so much has changed in the last 12 months that signing older players is now a bad thing.

Dunderhall
01-08-2013, 11:38 PM
Well nobody's perfect, I hope you are wrong with your prediction HMFC get the ground, rights and sign a load of players on higher wages than us is equally as wrong.

01-08-2013, 11:39 PM

Who would you suggest we sign then.

Is it not better to be constructive rather than just come on slagging of the manager and our new signing, who hasn't even played a game yet.

01-08-2013, 11:49 PM

2 Year contract for a 33 year old, only Hibs could do that.There is a month to go in the transfer window...

01-08-2013, 11:50 PM

You're not a Hibs supporter. You're scrambling for answers and you know it.

I recognise all the signs. I should know. I'm all over your site.

You really are wasting your time. Haven't you got charities you could be ripping off?

Leishy1995
02-08-2013, 12:23 AM
There is a month to go in the transfer window...

Don't let logic get in the way if bashing the club

Billy McKirdy
02-08-2013, 12:45 AM
An excellent signing Fenlon , now get another striker in please:thumbsup:

02-08-2013, 01:22 AM

:blah: Welcome to Hibs Michael whoever you are..

Purehibee_MYB
02-08-2013, 01:38 AM

Its people like you that ruin players careers at Easter Road before they've even started. You probably bashed players like Rankin and co. without even watching them play...

02-08-2013, 01:52 AM

Depends how fit he is. More and more players are playing on into their late 30's. Just a question of how well he's looked after himself.

As for McPake, I really wouldn't be holding my breath.He certainly won't make the Motherwell game and a good few games after.

Best plan would be to make plans to do without - and that seems to go for Clancy as well. :rolleyes:

02-08-2013, 05:46 AM
If I remember him rightly he is a bit of a huddy. By "huddy" I mean someone who won't make wee mistakes - they'll always look rediculous. He's strong, and a good tackler, but slow, so if he's playing in a deep lying back four, then you'll get the most out of him, because he'll be more difficult to get in behind, and his lack of pace won't be so badly exposed.

He's got a lot of experience, and is a bit of a leader - which is what we lacked and why we crumbled so badly in the Malmo game. No McPake, No Deegan, no one to drive the players. Thomson was a good player in his day, but for me his legs are shot, and he has showed no indication of being a leader at Hibs - he was always thought of as a poor captain first time around.

02-08-2013, 06:08 AM

Please just go away . Theirs charities that need paid

GlenrothesHibee
02-08-2013, 06:10 AM
loved guys like Shaun Dennis when they played for us,couldnae trap a bag of cement,and this guy seems to come from the same cloth,these guys dont want to run the ball out of defence n lose it,give it the wellie the minute anyone comes within ten feet,
wait till they go to tynecastle,the hearts players are all kids,growl at them,tell them what you will do to them the minute they try nutmegs n side steps.
it reminds me of the old Scotland team of Tam Forsyth,Joe Jordan (minus teeth),Gordon McQueen,you just knew they were not going to lie down and let the other team dictate the play,
for a few years we have had a fairly small team who got bullied in many a game,and i think Pat has recognised that as one of our failings.
all i can say is "get in to them"

Good point. It's what we have been badly missing since Mcpake's first season. The guy is huge, i already have visions of him holding the tattoo'd freak by the neck in the next derby. Cmon Hibs

02-08-2013, 06:28 AM
I don't believe this , no wait sorry I can... Why are folk so negative on here when we sign a player.

What's Fenlon doing there's a month left of the transfer window - panic buy

What's Fenlon doing signing him so late in the transfer window - panic but.

Get a grip folk eh. I don't care who we sign as long as they come in and improve the TEAM.

Its about getting the right balance and if that means signing a CH who is 33 then so be it.

Folk are never happy - and yes you ken who you are.

02-08-2013, 06:28 AM
Its people like you that ruin players careers at Easter Road before they've even started. You probably bashed players like Rankin and co. without even watching them play...

To be fair to him, it's difficult to make on call on the ability of Hibs players from a seat in the Wheatfield Stand.

Dobosz83
02-08-2013, 06:56 AM
I'm amazed at the level of negativity on here in regards to this signing.

We all knew where improvement was required, an experienced centre half with a no nonsense attitude. It appears we have went and got a guy in Michael Nelson who fits the bill. Clearly a recommendation by Fenlon's new assistant. I'm surprised by this but more than willing to give the guy a chance, he'll be fitter than McPake that's for sure despite being 33. The trouble here in the eyes of many is he isn't McManus or Webster.

It's sad but this signing shows that a section of our support are willing to jump on anything to get Fenlon out the door and no matter what their minds won't be changed. I get that to an extent but lets get behind Michael and the team on Sunday. I get the impression some Hibs supporters are looking for a Motherwell win to strengthen their argument.

GGTTH & welcome to the rollercoaster Mr Nelson!

02-08-2013, 07:00 AM
His twitter handle for those who are inclined (and a Hibs related tweet):-

@mnelse6: Time for bed. First day training with the new club tomorrow #hibees #firstdayatschoolagain

02-08-2013, 07:43 AM
I think the main reason hibs have been so soft recently is due to increased pressure from the support.....we got humped by malmo yet win 4-0 in a closed doors game with no crowd.....i know theres a difference between the teams but is there a chance theplayers could be suffering from stage fright

02-08-2013, 07:56 AM
I think the main reason hibs have been so soft recently is due to increased pressure from the support.....we got humped by malmo yet win 4-0 in a closed doors game with no crowd.....i know theres a difference between the teams but is there a chance theplayers could be suffering from stage fright

Not this old excuse again, the crowd were right behind the team against Malmo hence the packed ER, absolutely nowt to do with pressure from the crowd IMO

Big Sexy Dave
02-08-2013, 07:58 AM

What was your user name then?

Bill Milne
02-08-2013, 07:59 AM
This reminds me of Hibs signing Willie Toner (father of referee Kevin Toner) in the early 60s. An older, experienced defender who was signed to steady the ship while Hibs were struggling badly (almost relegated in 1962/63 season) and allowed younger players to develop. It worked well then and, if this is the plan, it may do so again!!

02-08-2013, 08:05 AM
Good signing, this guy is a good cenre half.

coldingham hibs
02-08-2013, 08:06 AM
There is a month to go in the transfer window...

There may be a month to go in the transfer window but there are only a couple of days before the Motherwell game, hence panic buy.

02-08-2013, 08:15 AM
There may be a month to go in the transfer window but there are only a couple of days before the Motherwell game, hence panic buy.

It isnt really. This is clearly a player they have identified through Jimmy Nicholl and were willing to spend money on (even if it was a tiny amount). Im sure if it wasnt the player they wanted we could have managed one game without another CB!

02-08-2013, 08:17 AM

Was your previous user name Sandy K ?

Twa Cairpets
02-08-2013, 08:20 AM

If you listen carefully, that noise you hear is the sound of a yam fud backtracking desperately...
So what was you old user name then, just so we can stop accusing you of being a total roaster? I can guess a couple of names, but they were all mysteriously faxed back to Kaunas.

RoslinInstHibby
02-08-2013, 08:20 AM

why a panic buy? purely cos of his age? did that make sauzee a panic buy? or mcallister at Liverpool? not saying this guy is as good as these 2 players, but if he is fit enough then fine.

02-08-2013, 08:25 AM

You and your son must watch Killie a lot then.....why?

Nah, your the guy that stands at the bar with a bottle of Peroni with a wee wedge of lemon stickin oot the top bragging to your only mate in life who constantly has saliva dribbling down his chin about how you troll Hibs Net

OrdHibby
02-08-2013, 08:35 AM
I know this might sound cynical but is this another FANS signing. All i've read is we need a centre half for weeks. I think we should have let Forster and Hanlon blossom as they looked the best we've had together since Paterson & McNamara at the tail end of last season. If there was a position needing filled in defence then surely it was a right back.
Interesting season ahead as i think the manager has lost the plot altogether. Still i'll welcome the abuse if proved wrong :tin hat:

02-08-2013, 08:40 AM
I checked his stats out and he has played over 500 league matches for his various clubs.

No matter what club he's been at he's played a lot of games.

Better with a 33yo playing 30 games a season than a 23yo playing 10 and always out injured.

He may turn out to be a good signing and if he helps Forster and Hanlon then so much the better.

02-08-2013, 08:42 AM
I know this might sound cynical but is this another FANS signing. All i've read is we need a centre half for weeks. I think we should have let Forster and Hanlon blossom as they looked the best we've had together since Paterson & McNamara at the tail end of last season. If there was a position needing filled in defence then surely it was a right back.
Interesting season ahead as i think the manager has lost the plot altogether. Still i'll welcome the abuse if proved wrong :tin hat:

You mean right back that we signed mullen for? that we already have clancy for (when he is fit). James McPake is clearly suffering, to only have Jordon Forster(suspended) and Paul Hanlon would be fine if both of them never have a bad run, never get booked, never get injured, but that's not going to happen. If you can't see we needed a solid CH then you are a blind man.

02-08-2013, 08:44 AM
Killie fans seem to rate him quite highly, you can't judge any player until you've seen him play for us, to call any player we've just signed a carthorse is a bit Yammish.....................IMO

Would you have taken Davie Weir who looked class into his late 30's, 33 is not that old.

Now as i have said before, i wouldn't know our new player if he walked past me in the street. If he'd represented his country as many times as John Blackley, Sandy Jardine or David Weir, i'd be a little more excited than us signing someone i'd never heard of before.

Now he might be a good player, and lets be honest he does not have to be that good to improve our back 4.

What i disagree with though, is making comparisons with real quality internationals, and what appears to be a journeyman player like this?

02-08-2013, 08:48 AM
I really dont know how people remember guys that played for other teams years ago. I really dont notice how good other teams players are unless they are outstanding against us. Maybe i need to start watching other teams more often. Good luck to the guy and hope he turns out to be a good signing

02-08-2013, 08:56 AM
Now as i have said before, i wouldn't know our new player if he walked past me in the street. If he'd represented his country as many times as John Blackley, Sandy Jardine or David Weir, i'd be a little more excited than us signing someone i'd never heard of before.

Now he might be a good player, and lets be honest he does not have to be that good to improve our back 4.

What i disagree with though, is making comparisons with real quality internationals, and what appears to be a journeyman player like this?

To be fair he is English, if he was a regular England International he would be nowhere near Hibs. If he had been Scottish he may have been capped,who knows?

02-08-2013, 08:56 AM

Appreciate this is YOUR opinion and accept that .
My lads at EM tell me the word there is this signing is intended to help Hanlon,Forster & Donaldson gain experience playing alongside an experienced C/B who has " seen it ,done it ,worn the T shirt ".
McPake has , IMO , failed to come up to expectations

Good signing IMO
Good luck to the guy and PLEASE give him a chance to prove himself :rolleyes:

02-08-2013, 09:00 AM
Most of the post is a positive about the influence he can have with inexperienced young players the other is a response disagreeing with another posters inferred influence he will have on Hanlon who already is not classed as young or inexperienced and has had various experienced defenders to learn from and not done it. i like your debating style though so i will respond in kind...

The amount of garbage that is put on here about Hanlon is truly unreal. I do wonder how many people actually watch football now and how many just go to shout and slag off players. Hanlon has been our best defender for the last few years. If you dont think he has improved in the last few years then you are point blank stupid and should probably start going to rugby games instead.
He is a modern CH. A player who likes to play football. I really dont want defenders that spend half the game sliding about on their arse. I'm not sure who you think he has been learning from as he spent most of last season getting McPake out of bother. Its Hanlon thats been carrying the defence. The pairing of Hanlon and Forster has huge potential, but i also support the new signing as we are very short of players in the centre. ALL defenders make mistakes they could really do without their own fans ripping into them every time they miss a tackle.

02-08-2013, 09:01 AM
Appreciate this is YOUR opinion and accept that .
My lads at EM tell me the word there is this signing is intended to help Hanlon,Forster & Donaldson gain experience playing alongside an experienced C/B who has " seen it ,done it ,worn the T shirt ".
McPake has , IMO , failed to come up to expectations

Good signing IMO
Good luck to the guy and PLEASE give him a chance to prove himself :rolleyes:

:aok::aok:

02-08-2013, 09:05 AM
The amount of garbage that is put on here about Hanlon is truly unreal. I do wonder how many people actually watch football now and how many just go to shout and slag off players. Hanlon has been our best defender for the last few years. If you dont think he has improved in the last few years then you are point blank stupid and should probably start going to rugby games instead.
He is a modern CH. A player who likes to play football. I really dont want defenders that spend half the game sliding about on their arse. I'm not sure who you think he has been learning from as he spent most of last season getting McPake out of bother. Its Hanlon thats been carrying the defence. The pairing of Hanlon and Forster has huge potential, but i also support the new signing as we are very short of players in the centre. ALL defenders make mistakes they could really do without their own fans ripping into them every time they miss a tackle.

:aok::agree:

02-08-2013, 09:06 AM

Aye if you call punting the ball 60 yards diagonally the modern way? Your constant bull regarding Paul is staggering, yes he's improved, but FFS stop making him out to be the new Sauzee.

He's part of a defense that's been bloody awful for years, he is probably the best central defender we have, and hopefully will improve more, but if the manager went out tomorrow and brought in a whole new back 4, there would be no complaints from 99% of our support.

WHUHibs
02-08-2013, 09:12 AM

I certainly dont slag Hanlon off but you are a little deluded if you think he has improved. It's a cheap shot telling people that they no nothing and should watch another sport. I've followed Hibs home and away for years and can judge a good player that wears our shirt. Hanlon has not progressed and to call him a modern day footballer is nonsense. Are you living in bygone eras when all people did is crunch into tackles. A defender is asked to defend, place passes , be aware of positional, Hanlon struggles in the main to do any of those 3 apart from the odd game. I hoped that he would b brought on by Mcpake but hasn't. Let's see if another experienced CH can do so,,,if not then perhaps he isn't good enough.. I want to see the goals against column improve especially now we don't have a prolific goal scorer...

Big Sexy Dave
02-08-2013, 09:12 AM

Praise the ****ing lord, someone who speaks sense. A good centre back should have a clean shirt and no yellow card. All the world class defenders would intercept the ball and play the ball forward(Maldini, Barasi, Ferdinand, Thiago Silva) Varane and Nastasic will more than likely end up as the best 2 centre backs in 5 years time because they simply sweep up and give the ball to the attacking players. Give me a Hanlon over a Frazier Wright or Gary Kenneth anyday of the week.

02-08-2013, 09:16 AM
Aye if you call punting the ball 60 yards diagonally the modern way? Your constant bull regarding Paul is staggering, yes he's improved, but FFS stop making him out to be the new Sauzee.

He's part of a defense that's been bloody awful for years, he is probably the best central defender we have, and hopefully will improve more, but if the manager went out tomorrow and brought in a whole new back 4, there would be no complaints from 99% of our support.

The 60yrd diagonal was to make use of Sparky as you know and he was told to do that. Sometimes he's only following orders. :wink:

I dont think of him as the new Sauzee he's much more a Franco Baresi type to me :na na:

The defence has been painful on many occasions i agree but i do think they are hung out to dry a lot of the time by the way we set the team up.

Weir7
02-08-2013, 09:21 AM
Praise the ****ing lord, someone who speaks sense. A good centre back should have a clean shirt and no yellow card. All the world class defenders would intercept the ball and play the ball forward(Maldini, Barasi, Ferdinand, Thiago Silva) Varane and Nastasic will more than likely end up as the best 2 centre backs in 5 years time because they simply sweep up and give the ball to the attacking players. Give me a Hanlon over a Frazier Wright or Gary Kenneth anyday of the week.

At the top level that's how top defenders defend. Back at Hibs level Hanlon can't read the game and sense danger. Look at the goals we lost in cup final, if he was a decent defender hopper doesn't score. At SPL he's decent on ball.

A big bruiser is what we need but that is why scottish fitba is so bad.

I'd love another sauzee strutting his stuff. But aint going to happen.

02-08-2013, 09:26 AM
This reminds me of Hibs signing Willie Toner (father of referee Kevin Toner) in the early 60s. An older, experienced defender who was signed to steady the ship while Hibs were struggling badly (almost relegated in 1962/63 season) and allowed younger players to develop. It worked well then and, if this is the plan, it may do so again!!

Now THAT's a post.

02-08-2013, 09:30 AM
You're not a Hibs supporter. You're scrambling for answers and you know it.

I recognise all the signs. I should know. I'm all over your site.

You really are wasting your time. Haven't you got charities you could be ripping off?

Agree. :not worth

02-08-2013, 09:35 AM
I checked his stats out and he has played over 500 league matches for his various clubs.

No matter what club he's been at he's played a lot of games.

Better with a 33yo playing 30 games a season than a 23yo playing 10 and always out injured.

He may turn out to be a good signing and if he helps Forster and Hanlon then so much the better.

Agree completely.

02-08-2013, 09:38 AM
Iniesta or Xavi?

I hope not, we've got enough centre mids as it is...:greengrin

02-08-2013, 09:39 AM
The 60yrd diagonal was to make use of Sparky as you know and he was told to do that. Sometimes he's only following orders. :wink:

I dont think of him as the new Sauzee he's much more a Franco Baresi type to me :na na:

The defence has been painful on many occasions i agree but i do think they are hung out to dry a lot of the time by the way we set the team up.

Paul IMO can be an excellent defender however to me he is easily bullied by more physical strikers. Even Nish was giving him a hard time in that department for Dundee last season. To move on as a player and improve further that is the area he needs to improve on and quite significantly also. Most teams that play against us with forwards who are physical (such as Sutton, Higdon, Thompson) more often than not attach themselves to PH knowing they are likely to get some joy.

02-08-2013, 09:50 AM
Paul IMO can be an excellent defender however to me he is easily bullied by more physical strikers. Even Nish was giving him a hard time in that department for Dundee last season. To move on as a player and improve further that is the area he needs to improve on and quite significantly also. Most teams that play against us with forwards who are physical (such as Sutton, Higdon, Thompson) more often than not attach themselves to PH knowing they are likely to get some joy.

Yep - dont disagree with that. Plenty of improvement still required.

02-08-2013, 09:57 AM
Except that we play in the SPL.

And this explains why an "old fashioned CH" is necessary. Such a player is a good complement to Hanlon.

Dunderhall
02-08-2013, 10:09 AM
So a newco who has lost their history. :wink:

02-08-2013, 10:22 AM
Maybe this signing will finally free Paul Hanlon up for that midfield role.

02-08-2013, 10:25 AM
Maybe this signing will finally free Paul Hanlon up for that midfield role.

Speaking of which, what is everyone's first choice XI now?

Williams

Mullen
Forster
Nelson
McGivern

OTJ
Thomson

Harris
Craig

Collins
Vine

02-08-2013, 10:33 AM
Speaking of which, what is everyone's first choice XI now?

Williams

Mullen
Forster
Nelson
McGivern

OTJ
Thomson

Harris
Craig

Collins
Vine

is that a 4 - 2 - 2 - 2??

I'll stick with 4231.

Mullen
Forster / Nelson (I beleive Nelson is right footed and i like have a right and leftie in the two roles)
Hanlon
McGivern / Stevenson

OTJ
KT

Vine
Craig
Harris

Collins.

OrdHibby
02-08-2013, 10:49 AM
You mean right back that we signed mullen for? that we already have clancy for (when he is fit). James McPake is clearly suffering, to only have Jordon Forster(suspended) and Paul Hanlon would be fine if both of them never have a bad run, never get booked, never get injured, but that's not going to happen. If you can't see we needed a solid CH then you are a blind man.

so why didn't he start against Malmo x 2 instead of the ineffective Stevenson ? obviously signed for his potential and will be broken in yet we have a wage thief in Clancy and no-one else.
MisTake's there for covering Hanlon & Forster.
Maybe we do need anther centre back, i find it strange after the barrage of panic on hibs.net about our need for a centre back that we go out and sign a centre back.

02-08-2013, 10:52 AM
so why didn't he start against Malmo x 2 instead of the ineffective Stevenson ? obviously signed for his potential and will be broken in yet we have a wage thief in Clancy and no-one else.
Maybe we do need anther centre back, i find it strange after the barrage of panic on hibs.net about our need for a centre back that we go out and sign a centre back.

How is Clancy a wage thief? He got injured playing for Hibs. What a ridiculous and unfounded accusation.

OrdHibby
02-08-2013, 10:57 AM
How is Clancy a wage thief? He got injured playing for Hibs. What a ridiculous and unfounded accusation.

Was he not carrying an injury before he signed and was he not the same at Motherwell. Wage thief might be a bit strong but you can't argue he has done virtually nothing since arriving. We can't afford passengers

02-08-2013, 10:59 AM

Was Mullen not carrying a knock/not up to match fitness? I imagine he only came on in the second leg because we are short of options at the back.

I also dont think you can call Clancy a wage thief, it isnt his fault he is injured!

02-08-2013, 11:03 AM
I think Clancy's career average is something around 16 games a season and he's never played more than 26 games in any one season.

I think there's a clue or two in there.

02-08-2013, 11:04 AM
I also dont think you can call Clancy a wage thief, it isnt his fault he is injured!

It's a phrase oft quoted by Yams though...

02-08-2013, 11:08 AM
[QUOTE=Bill Milne;3700182]This reminds me of Hibs signing Willie Toner (father of referee Kevin Toner) in the early 60s. An older, experienced defender who was signed to steady the ship while Hibs were struggling badly (almost relegated in 1962/63 season) and allowed younger players to develop. It worked well then and, if this is the plan, it may do so again!![/QUOT

I was going to post the same! We also did similarly with Sammy Baird a few seasons earlier, even recognising Sammy was a midfield player the only time he crossed the half way line was to take pens! If MN can give us stability & experience this season & provide cover next season he'll have paid his way.

02-08-2013, 11:08 AM

Wage thief is Yam chat.
I'm as frustrated as anyone by Clancy but calling him a wage thief is out of order.

OrdHibby
02-08-2013, 11:12 AM
It's a phrase oft quoted by Yams though...

Are they the only one's who use this. As i said it maybe a bit strong but we've had our wage thieves in the past. Galbraith for one, Alan O'Brien for telling us he was a footballer etc. A wage thief is a wage thief no matter what club is involve. I can't understand someone with Clancy's record was signed in the first place.

Speedway just posted his career average, 16 games a season. How was this not noted before he signed.
I've worked with guys who are never at their work because they get paid when off. get the picture. They're wage thieves.

Stuarty27
02-08-2013, 11:13 AM
A 33year old huddy signed from Bradford City should hopefully boost season ticket sales and get us above the 11thousand mark no bother...

02-08-2013, 11:14 AM
A 33year old huddy signed from Bradford City should hopefully boost season ticket sales and get us above the 11thousand mark no bother...

Superb

02-08-2013, 11:14 AM

Are you still here? GTF already.

02-08-2013, 11:17 AM

The boy in your avatar doesn't have as good an international goalscoring record as Lawrie Reilly you know.

You should have a real international goalscorer in your avatar.

Stuarty27
02-08-2013, 11:19 AM
Are you still here? GTF already.

Am I not allowed an opinion like? Is this not what this forum about?

02-08-2013, 11:28 AM

You seem to be well informed about Nelson regarding him being a huddy! Is this opinion based on personal experience of seeing him play, the opinions of others who have seen him play, a wild guess or just a reference to his age and previous clubs?

02-08-2013, 11:29 AM

A club near death and liquidation, whose fans claim are the 'big team' and have 'special relationships' with cups and clubs, who have 'the best youngsters in the UK', and one which won a cup recently, couldn't either mate - what is your agenda or point ?

Or do you scarf twirl and enjoy the odd Mary Berry baking programme to get tips ? :cb

How about supporting the team and reserving criticism until you see him play a few games :aok:

02-08-2013, 11:29 AM

That's a **** excuse and you know it.

There's having an opinion, then there's posting the same ***** over and over without trying to debate anyone else.

There's having an opinion, then there's fishing for reactions.

02-08-2013, 11:32 AM
Theres a difference between having an opinion and being a complete arse.

OrdHibby
02-08-2013, 11:34 AM
Theres a difference between having an opinion and being a complete arse.

lol

harsh. If some have views i don't like then i normally ignore them especially the idiots who blame Hanlon for everything. He'll be getting blamed for team selection soon.