View Full Version : Hibs Sign Michael Nelson (2 Year Deal Confirmed)

Pages : 1 [2]

02-08-2013, 11:40 AM
Spoke to a few Killie fans this morning at work. Telling me Nelson is slower than a weekend in the slammer and he jumps down the way :rolleyes:

02-08-2013, 11:42 AM
Spoke to a few Killie fans this morning at work. Telling me Nelson is slower than a weekend in the slammer and he jumps down the way :rolleyes:

Jealousy is an awful thing.

berwickhibee
02-08-2013, 11:42 AM

that's why killie didn't want to lose him:greengrin:greengrin

02-08-2013, 11:44 AM
Look how fast he runs when he's celebrating:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5_KLNPPAbA

02-08-2013, 11:45 AM
Lot of yam f##S sniffing around this thread...no cakes to bake today or charities to rip off?? Or maybe just wondering how it feels to sign a player?? Ps hurry up and die!!

02-08-2013, 11:48 AM
Look how fast he runs when he's celebrating:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5_KLNPPAbA

Looks like he can jump ok too :agree:

02-08-2013, 11:49 AM

Fortunately Jordon isn't though Coco - in a partnership, assuming it gels, you're looking for shared qualities. I believe Nelson is a right tough bar steward and just does the simple (head it as far as he can, give the striker a physical game of things) - whereas JF is the best centre half at the club in my opinion, quick, huge heart, no nonsense too. Paul Hanlon also has a bit of pace for a centre half and is a far better footballer on the deck - needs to quicken his game up. The time he sometimes takes to control the ball, look up and pass gets me annoyed. But he's become a better player in the last two seasons there is no doubt.

James McPake, for me, lost a couple of yards last season - whether that was due to injury preservation or lacking in form/confidence I don't know. When he signed the crowd lifted his game and he gained a yard or two. His body language last season was quite often poor - not towards fansm but towards himself and his own performances - he clearly has high standards and is frustrated he wasn't meeting them (again my opinion).

02-08-2013, 11:52 AM
Fortunately Jordon isn't though Coco - in a partnership, assuming it gels, you're looking for shared qualities. I believe Nelson is a right tough bar steward and just does the simple (head it as far as he can, give the striker a physical game of things) - whereas JF is the best centre half at the club in my opinion, quick, huge heart, no nonsense too. Paul Hanlon also has a bit of pace for a centre half and is a far better footballer on the deck - needs to quicken his game up. The time he sometimes takes to control the ball, look up and pass gets me annoyed. But he's become a better player in the last two seasons there is no doubt.

James McPake, for me, lost a couple of yards last season - whether that was due to injury preservation or lacking in form/confidence I don't know. When he signed the crowd lifted his game and he gained a yard or two. His body language last season was quite often poor - not towards fansm but towards himself and his own performances - he clearly has high standards and is frustrated he wasn't meeting them (again my opinion).

Would agree with all of that, especially Forster who is my 'one to watch' this season.

Nelson, Craig and Vine all feature extensively in these SPL highlights from just 9 months ago. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HuUQBgCHP3w

02-08-2013, 11:54 AM
so why didn't he start against Malmo x 2 instead of the ineffective Stevenson ? obviously signed for his potential and will be broken in yet we have a wage thief in Clancy and no-one else.
MisTake's there for covering Hanlon & Forster.
Maybe we do need anther centre back, i find it strange after the barrage of panic on hibs.net about our need for a centre back that we go out and sign a centre back.

So Clancy a wage thief and mistake, dear oh dear.

02-08-2013, 11:55 AM

Yes, they did say he was pretty solid and does the basics but just dont ask him to play football. They weren't sad in the slighest when he left the club though which is a bit of a worry :confused:

Twa Cairpets
02-08-2013, 12:01 PM
so why didn't he start against Malmo x 2 instead of the ineffective Stevenson ? obviously signed for his potential and will be broken in yet we have a wage thief in Clancy and no-one else.
Maybe we do need anther centre back, i find it strange after the barrage of panic on hibs.net about our need for a centre back that we go out and sign a centre back.

Wage Thief?
MisTake?
hibs.net in third person?

Hmmm.

Whats your thoughts on us getting Thumb back in January then?

02-08-2013, 12:01 PM
Yes, they did say he was pretty solid and does the basics but just dont ask him to play football. They weren't sad in the slighest when he left the club though which is a bit of a worry :confused:

Jimmy Nic will obviously know him well, can't see him putting his reputation on the line unless he felt he could do a job for us.

02-08-2013, 12:02 PM
How tall is he?

02-08-2013, 12:03 PM
How tall is he?

:6::2:

Dunderhall
02-08-2013, 12:05 PM
That's just fitba opinions though, it happens all the time.

Im sure if some St J fans had asked some randoms on here about Wotherspoon there is a decent chance they would have got negative opinions.
I'm pretty sure they are happy just now.

Pressumably he's been bought in for a specific job, Nicholl will know his limitations.
Lets give him a few games and judge for ourselves, my money's on a split opinion already.:wink:

02-08-2013, 12:05 PM
:6::2:

Thanks, shoe size?

02-08-2013, 12:08 PM
Thanks, shoe size?

John_the_angus_hibby
02-08-2013, 12:17 PM
A 33year old huddy signed from Bradford City should hopefully boost season ticket sales and get us above the 11thousand mark no bother...

An event of which you **** can only dream about. Back to yer cake bakes and screwing charities ya muppet.

02-08-2013, 12:18 PM
Thanks, shoe size?

Which foot?

LongshanksED
02-08-2013, 12:25 PM
A 37yr old David Weir didn't have too many problems at Rangers

A 35yr old Franck Sauzee did well at hibs

Give the new guy a chance before writing him off because of his age

02-08-2013, 12:28 PM
Would agree with all of that, especially Forster who is my 'one to watch' this season.

Nelson, Craig and Vine all feature extensively in these SPL highlights from just 9 months ago. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HuUQBgCHP3w

Hmmm. :hmmm:

portyfelly
02-08-2013, 12:35 PM
You seem to be well informed about Nelson regarding him being a huddy! Is this opinion based on personal experience of seeing him play, the opinions of others who have seen him play, a wild guess or just a reference to his age and previous clubs?

The quote was from his wife , who has a lisp... he is my hubby not huddy, or haddie . But Haddie hud a huddie he widnae ber her hubby.

OrdHibby
02-08-2013, 12:40 PM
Wage Thief?
MisTake?
hibs.net in third person?

Hmmm.

Whats your thoughts on us getting Thumb back in January then?

oh it's you again, :yawn:

OrdHibby
02-08-2013, 12:42 PM

If he improves the team then i for one won't complain. My gripe is i hope it's not a FANS signing :aok:

Dunderhall
02-08-2013, 12:47 PM
Which foot?
He's slow, cannae jump and one footed as you well know.

Size 6, source was a salesman in Clarkes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=idHlk8mTd9Y&feature=youtube_gdata_player

02-08-2013, 12:53 PM

Mullen was injured apparently, so thats why stevenson was playing left back. We can argue about why he didn't start if he was fit enough to come on after 20 minutes but it would be pointless.

I can see if Clancy never regains fitness we need a right back, but at the same time surely you can recognise our need for a CB with experience, forster is 19? and has only played 4 or 5 decent games, rest assured as soon as he has a howler he will be hounded by the usual suspects and his confidence will be shattered in true hibs fashion.

02-08-2013, 01:00 PM

Best part of this video is Kenny Shiels getting sent off to the stands then appears "in the stand" standing right next to the dugout hahaha

OrdHibby
02-08-2013, 01:04 PM
Mullen was injured apparently, so thats why stevenson was playing left back. We can argue about why he didn't start if he was fit enough to come on after 20 minutes but it would be pointless.

I can see if Clancy never regains fitness we need a right back, but at the same time surely you can recognise our need for a CB with experience, forster is 19? and has only played 4 or 5 decent games, rest assured as soon as he has a howler he will be hounded by the usual suspects and his confidence will be shattered in true hibs fashion.

Thats a worry but *** thum. He's playing in a pish league against mostly pish players so play him and back him. I think Hanlon's a player as i did Vaz Te and Claros when the arrived. Unfortunately folk only see the instant hit like Palson and McPake who showed a little at first in a confidence hit side then show nothing else. They're my views and plenty will disagree. We're our worst own enemies at times.

Twa Cairpets
02-08-2013, 01:50 PM
oh it's you again, :yawn:

Interestingly, I have very much the same feeling reading your posts of largely anti-Hibs, unmitigated drivel. I think you're a yam, if I'm wrong I'm wrong, but your posts do, for th emost part, have that particular blooded-turdy whiff about them

02-08-2013, 01:57 PM
They're my views and plenty will disagree. We're our worst own enemies at times.

Don't disagree with folk then.

02-08-2013, 02:05 PM
Are they the only one's who use this. As i said it maybe a bit strong but we've had our wage thieves in the past. Galbraith for one, Alan O'Brien for telling us he was a footballer etc. A wage thief is a wage thief no matter what club is involve. I can't understand someone with Clancy's record was signed in the first place.

Speedway just posted his career average, 16 games a season. How was this not noted before he signed.
I've worked with guys who are never at their work because they get paid when off. get the picture. They're wage thieves.

Doesn't mean he wasnt available for selection or was injured. And Speedway's stats are for Killie only where he wasn't always first choice. He made 28 appearances for Motherwell in season before we signed him.

02-08-2013, 02:07 PM
A 33year old huddy signed from Bradford City should hopefully boost season ticket sales and get us above the 11thousand mark no bother...

The hurt is strong with you, young Padawan. :thumbsup:

OrdHibby
02-08-2013, 02:15 PM
Interestingly, I have very much the same feeling reading your posts of largely anti-Hibs, unmitigated drivel. I think you're a yam, if I'm wrong I'm wrong, but your posts do, for th emost part, have that particular blooded-turdy whiff about them

it's from your breath. now stop trolling

Twa Cairpets
02-08-2013, 02:28 PM
it's from your breath. now stop trolling
We'll that's not very nice, and certainly not Hibs class.

02-08-2013, 04:06 PM
If he improves the team then i for one won't complain. My gripe is i hope it's not a FANS signing :aok:

We need cover in defence, is that not obvious.

Purehibee_MYB
02-08-2013, 04:51 PM
To be fair to him, it's difficult to make on call on the ability of Hibs players from a seat in the Wheatfield Stand.

:greengrin He'll be twiddling his thumbs soon enough!

Purehibee_MYB
02-08-2013, 05:17 PM

Are you one of these people who just gets a kick out of being miserable?

OrdHibby
02-08-2013, 05:32 PM
We'll that's not very nice, and certainly not Hibs class.

and neither is trolling :aok:

Stuarty27
02-08-2013, 06:46 PM
Bring back Joe Keenan

02-08-2013, 07:54 PM
Bring back Joe Keenan

you not bored yet

lEXO
02-08-2013, 09:44 PM
Guys no kicked a ball for us yet and he,s getting slaughtered by some. Our captain is now called Mistake and other nonsense. Enjoy your season everyone........:rolleyes:

vanNISHtelroy
02-08-2013, 09:46 PM
Best part of this video is Kenny Shiels getting sent off to the stands then appears "in the stand" standing right next to the dugout hahaha

He stands where he wants, he's Kenny Shiels and he stands where he wants!

That was when he said he had to stand there cos he couldn't sit in the stand cos of his piles IIRC. The SPL then changed it from sent to stand to sent to directors box or similar I think!

Stuarty27
02-08-2013, 10:04 PM
I don't agree with people that this guy is a good signing!! I have seen him play for Killie and Bradford numerous times before and he is not a good of footballer. Slower than Colin Murdock and the signing stinks of pure desperation. I thought it was a wind up when I was told. I still stand by my previous comments, how the hell is a 33 year old signing from Bradford City going to entice fans to come back??

And just for the record I am a season ticket holder and will be at the game Sunday to support the team and the player, fingers crossed he proves me wrong but I just can't see it.

02-08-2013, 10:14 PM
I don't agree with people that this guy is a good signing!! I have seen him play for Killie and Bradford numerous times before and he is not a good of footballer. Slower than Colin Murdock and the signing stinks of pure desperation. I thought it was a wind up when I was told. I still stand by my previous comments, how the hell is a 33 year old signing from Bradford City going to entice fans to come back??

And just for the record I am a season ticket holder and will be at the game Sunday to support the team and the player, fingers crossed he proves me wrong but I just can't see it.

We just played a young defence and conceded 7 goals at home to Malmo. A big defender with a lot of experience is not going to hurt at all. Maybe if his influence helps the defence work as a unit and progress the younger players then we will have a bit more luck with defending this season. May as well give him a chance and see what he's like for us.

Stuarty27
02-08-2013, 10:29 PM
I will give him a chance but he couldnt even get a game for Bradford last season and has been mediocre all his career.

We have just come off the back of the worst result in our history and we sign this guy. Only Hibs

02-08-2013, 10:34 PM
I will give him a chance but he couldnt even get a game for Bradford last season and has been mediocre all his career.

We have just come off the back of the worst result in our history and we sign this guy. Only Hibs

Beat in Europe, disaster

02-08-2013, 10:35 PM

How will you give him a chance? You've already said you've written him off. You say he couldn't get a game for Bradford, yet say you've seen him play plenty games for Bradford. Make your mind up.

Our resident Killie fan says he is a decent SPL centre half. He's never been pacy, so like Davie Weir, his age isn't an issue.
Our respected assistant manager has recommended him, and I always remember nelson as a no nonsense ball winner, that does everything simply. That'll do for me at the minute.

So at least wait 15 minutes into the Motherwell game before you start giving him abuse

03-08-2013, 09:39 AM
Can we cut out the witch hunts please. I don't know Stuarty27 personally but I do know that he's a Hibs fan.

There are plenty other people ripping into the club just now, go pick on one of them.