View Full Version : Swansea v Malmo

northseahibby
29-07-2013, 09:23 AM
Another chance to see malmo against Swansea
Itv 4 Thursday night.

29-07-2013, 09:28 AM
Another chance to see malmo against Swansea
Itv 4 Thursday night. I think we have all seen enough of Malmo playing football lately. I look forward to seeing Hibs play.

northseahibby
29-07-2013, 09:31 AM
I've been waiting for that a long time..

29-07-2013, 09:46 AM
I think Malmo will do very well against Swansea.

29-07-2013, 09:53 AM
What would people say if Malmö get a result down there?

Greendub
29-07-2013, 10:03 AM
They got beat yesterday

GIRFUY Malmö

29-07-2013, 10:13 AM
Thanks to Hibernian Interactive Extra (who don't do replies or refunds) I've never seen Malmo play so I shall look forward to it.

Plus I want Swansea to get grubbed.

29-07-2013, 01:50 PM
Will be interesting to see how they fair against a decent team. Swansea are in pre-season though and haven't had a competitive game yet so anything less than a 3-0 aggregate win for Malmo won't be good enough :bitchy:.
On a serious note, if they get humped 7-0, do you think their manager would get the bullet?

29-07-2013, 02:01 PM
Swansea will get by Malmo no problem. I reckon 2-0 Swansea in both legs.

29-07-2013, 02:05 PM
Swansea have spent nearly £20m this summer, and havent lost anyone from a very good squad. Regardless of it being preseason Id expect them to get through fairly comfortably.

29-07-2013, 03:03 PM
we should run a poll to see how many times our scoreline from last thursday is mentioned by the commentators/studio team etc etc :boo hoo:

29-07-2013, 03:12 PM
Swansea will beat Malmo comfortably over two legs. Sadly, the 'Malmo are the new Barca' fantasists are going to have to come to terms with the fact that we are an exceptionally poor team, with no leadership, who had an off day, and were badly humiliated by a no more than a competent, professional European side.

Delboy4
29-07-2013, 04:23 PM
Gefle 2 - 0 Malmo FF

What the fleck, Gefle have only won 2 in their last 15 games

29-07-2013, 04:26 PM
Gefle 2 - 0 Malmo FF

Malmo obviously feeling the effects of a tough game during the week.

therealgavmac
29-07-2013, 04:26 PM
Gefle 2 - 0 Malmo FF

It's cause we ran them ragged - they were f***ed!

29-07-2013, 04:28 PM
Maybe Gefle are futher into their season

29-07-2013, 04:32 PM
Petrie had Gefle-1 on his European accumulator.

Told Pat to set up as pishly (new word) as he could so Malmo would be done in.

29-07-2013, 06:05 PM
Swansea will have an experienced defence and are used to sharp passing and pace. Can't see them having a problem.

29-07-2013, 07:14 PM
I don't see how Swansea have any chance in this game. The EPL hasn't even started yet.

29-07-2013, 07:30 PM
Hope Malmo get royally fooooked.

Under normal circumstances I would want any team putting Hibs out of Europe to go on and do well. But their wee bout of pss taking in the last 15 minutes at ER and their player rubbishing our team ( no matter how true his words ) in the papers a few days later shows 1 ) a lack of respect for fellow professionals and 2 ) a lack of class.

Its not that uncommon to see that sort of stuff .... but when we are on the receiving end it really pisses me off !!!

29-07-2013, 07:37 PM
Swansea will beat Malmo comfortably over two legs. Sadly, the 'Malmo are the new Barca' fantasists are going to have to come to terms with the fact that we are an exceptionally poor team, with no leadership, who had an off day, and were badly humiliated by a no more than a competent, professional European side.

Curly1875
29-07-2013, 07:41 PM
Hope Malmo get royally fooooked.

Under normal circumstances I would want any team putting Hibs out of Europe to go on and do well. But their wee bout of pss taking in the last 15 minutes at ER and their player rubbishing our team ( no matter how true his words ) in the papers a few days later shows 1 ) a lack of respect for fellow professionals and 2 ) a lack of class.

Its not that uncommon to see that sort of stuff .... but when we are on the receiving end it really pisses me off !!!
I seemed to have missed this, what did one of their players say?

29-07-2013, 08:35 PM
Will be an interesting game to watch. I'll be hoping for Malmö for what it's worth though I think they'll lose over the two legs.

01-08-2013, 08:14 AM
Are we meant to be cheering on Malmo now hoping they bury Swansea or are we meant to hope Swansea dish out some retribution, I have conflicting feelings :dunno:.Or perhaps the we just meh... it is of no interest since Hibs are not playing. I did read somewhere that good sportsmanship dictates we follow and support the team that dumped us out.. or I have I got the wrong end of the stick???

Time For Heroes
01-08-2013, 08:34 AM
Urgent advice?
Face meet palm.

01-08-2013, 08:42 AM
Are we meant to be cheering on Malmo now hoping they bury Swansea or are we meant to hope Swansea dish out some retribution, I have conflicting feelings :dunno:.Or perhaps the we just meh... it is of no interest since Hibs are not playing. I did read somewhere that good sportsmanship dictates we follow and support the team that dumped us out.. or I have I got the wrong end of the stick???

Be your own man.

You make a decision.

Then keep it to yourself. :wink:

01-08-2013, 09:04 AM
I hope malmo get a win down there, it will make our hammering a bit easier to take.

01-08-2013, 09:18 AM
Just saw on bet 365 that Malmo are 7/1 to win in Swansea tonight.. Be putting a tenner at least on..
Main reason being that whilst I dont buy into some peoples overly flattering opinion of Malmo, Swansea are two weeks behind us in terms of pre-season, and if they arent at the races Malmo have a decent chance.

TAHibby
01-08-2013, 06:29 PM
Have to admit I'm intrigued about this one. Not sure whether to give the pre match a miss or not though... Maybe I'll spot myself with my head in my hands.

01-08-2013, 06:44 PM
The guy presenting for ITV4 just very kindly told the watching millions that Malmo beat Hibs 7 - 0 on 'aggregate' :thumbsup: I feel better already.

01-08-2013, 06:46 PM
I'm interested to see how they get on.

01-08-2013, 06:48 PM
It will be interesting to see how Swansea cope with their number 29, who basically had free rein to do whatever he wanted last week.

01-08-2013, 06:50 PM
It will be interesting to see how Swansea cope with their number 29, who basically had free rein to do whatever he wanted last week.

Swansea will be used to that type of pace and quick passing. I doubt they will have a couple of 19 year olds pitched into the back four either.

01-08-2013, 06:51 PM
2 mins in:
Swansea 0-0 Malmo
No signs of nerves from the Swans on their return to European action as they quickly settle into their trademark passing style. Full-backs Angel Rangel and Ben Davies offering plenty of width as Malmo get plenty of bodies behind the ball.

Sigh :rolleyes:

01-08-2013, 06:51 PM
Swansea looking a different class right across the park. Maybe Malmo did us a favour :cb

01-08-2013, 06:52 PM
Swansea will be used to that type of pace and quick passing. I doubt they will have a couple of 19 year olds pitched into the back four either.

I suspect that will be the case. It's just that he looked like a superstar last week with all his trickery and his pace and quick feet.

I don't see him having the same impact tonight.

Swansea looking a different class right across the park. Maybe Malmo did us a favour :cb

I was saying before last week's game that I would genuinely fear what Swansea would do to us.

Poor support from Malmo tbh

GlenrothesHibee
01-08-2013, 06:53 PM
That god we aren't playing Swansea. Giving Malmo the run around

01-08-2013, 06:53 PM
Malmo took about 20 mins to string two passes together last week anyway!

01-08-2013, 06:54 PM
Poor support from Malmo tbh
they have already had 3 euro trips from what i know unless their all millionaires I'm guessing most of them are skint :greengrin

01-08-2013, 06:57 PM

And Malmo aren't 2 goals up from the first leg.

01-08-2013, 06:57 PM

And athletic physical presence (pace and power). Scotland needs to rethink its physical education program...

01-08-2013, 07:05 PM
This is Swansea's first European game since 1991, when they lost 8-0 to Monaco (10-1 aggregate).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1991-92_European_Cup_Winners%27_Cup#First_round

Swansea and Cardiff used to get into Europe (Cup Winners' Cup) by winning the Welsh Cup.

Chris.igoe
01-08-2013, 07:12 PM
A wee fiver on malmo 9-1

01-08-2013, 07:14 PM
Apparently St Johnstone were playing Dinamo Minsk tonight, according to the commentator in the Swansea game. :rolleyes:

West hamBERNIAN
01-08-2013, 07:14 PM
This is Swansea's first European game since 1991, when they lost 8-0 to Monaco (10-1 aggregate).

Swansea and Cardiff used to get into Europe (Cup Winners' Cup) by winning the Welsh Cup.

I thought they both joined the English leagues early 1900's??

01-08-2013, 07:17 PM

Thats quite reassuring...:agree:

01-08-2013, 07:19 PM
that forward for them still looks dangerous, ran at them a few times now.

01-08-2013, 07:19 PM
A wee fiver on malmo 9-1

The bookies must love you. :greengrin

01-08-2013, 07:22 PM
I thought they both joined the English leagues early 1900's??

They continued to play in the Welsh Cup until the mid 1990s, when they were stopped from taking the European qualifying place.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17346143

01-08-2013, 07:23 PM
BBC sport

'Malmo suddenly come alive as winger Tokelo Rantie dribbles in from the left, he beats two men before teeing up Jiloan Hamad who drags his shot wide. That came from nowhere and will serve as a wake-up call to the Swans.'

Now 1-0 Swansea however..

GlenrothesHibee
01-08-2013, 07:23 PM
1-0 Swansea

01-08-2013, 07:25 PM
BBC sport

'Malmo suddenly come alive as winger Tokelo Rantie dribbles in from the left, he beats two men before teeing up Jiloan Hamad who drags his shot wide. That came from nowhere and will serve as a wake-up call to the Swans.'

Swansea are defending pretty well and doubling up on the danger men as and when required. Malmo are not that good.

01-08-2013, 07:26 PM
So unlucky for the goal, slip by the young centre back. The main reason I wanted us through was for a trip to the Liberty, decent atmosphere!

01-08-2013, 07:26 PM

Until 1995, some clubs playing in England were also invited to play in the Welsh Cup, but could not progress to the European Cup Winners' Cup by winning the Welsh cup. Instead, the best placed Welsh club in the Welsh cup would take the European place.
From 1996 to 2011, only clubs playing in the Welsh football league system (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Welsh_football_league_system) were allowed to enter the Welsh Cup. This rule excluded the six Welsh clubs who played in the English football league system (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/English_football_league_system): Swansea City (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swansea_City_A.F.C.), Cardiff City (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cardiff_City_F.C.), Newport County (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newport_County_A.F.C.), Wrexham (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wrexham_A.F.C.), Colwyn Bay (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colwyn_Bay_F.C.) and Merthyr Tydfil/Town (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Merthyr_Town_F.C.). On 20 April 2011, the Football Association of Wales invited these six clubs to rejoin the Welsh Cup for the 2011–12 season but only Newport County, Wrexham and Merthyr Town accepted.[2] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Welsh_Cup#cite_note-2) In March 2012 UEFA stated that Welsh clubs playing in the English football league system could not qualify for European competitions via the Welsh cup but they could qualify via the English league and cup competitions,[3] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Welsh_Cup#cite_note-3) hence they were subsequently again excluded from the Welsh Cup.[4] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Welsh_Cup#cite_note-4)

01-08-2013, 07:27 PM
http://www.goal.com/en-za/news/4682/transfer-zone/2013/07/30/4152550/south-africans-abroad-bournemouth-bid-250-000-for-tokelo

01-08-2013, 07:28 PM
Swansea are different class, almost glad we didn't get through!

Rantie (the forward that tore us to bits) has been Malmos only bright spark thus far.

01-08-2013, 07:30 PM
http://www.itv.com/itv4/

If anyone wants to watch at the computer.

01-08-2013, 07:34 PM
****ing typical. Malmos first shot at goal sails miles wide and their centre back slips on his arse to gift the Swans their goal. They didnt do that last week did they? Their manager was right they were lucky. :greengrin

01-08-2013, 07:38 PM
****ing typical. Malmos first shot at goal sails miles wide and their centre back slips on his arse to gift the Swans their goal. They didnt do that last week did they? Their manager was right they were lucky. :greengrin

thats what I was thinking.. I demand a rematch ..:take that

01-08-2013, 07:40 PM
Swansea are defending pretty well and doubling up on the danger men as and when required. Malmo are not that good.

Their £35 million wage bill will help!

http://www.itv.com/itv4/

If anyone wants to watch at the computer.

thats what I was thinking.. I demand a rematch ..:take that

Please no, I never want Hibs to play them again!

Swansea are different class, almost glad we didn't get through!

Rantie (the forward that tore us to bits) has been Malmos only bright spark thus far.

Like Hibs, isn't this Swansea's first game of the season ?

Thing that stands out for me is the Swansea players fitness, sharpness and athleticism which is first class. Know they get paid far more than our guys, but fitness and sharpness should not depend on how much you get paid ?

01-08-2013, 07:42 PM

Thing that stands out for me is the Swansea players fitness, sharpness and athleticism which is first class. Know they get paid far more than our guys, but fitness and sharpness should not depend on how much you get paid ?

There was nothing wrong with Hibs physical fitness last week. Match fitness and basic organisation......that was a different story.

01-08-2013, 07:44 PM

They are on a different level to us professionally it's as simple as that.

01-08-2013, 07:44 PM

Agree about fitness and sharpness, but the Premiership lined up against the SPFL (exclude Celtic) and it looks men vs boys.

01-08-2013, 07:51 PM
Swansea are handicapped in this competition I see.............................................Jo njo Shelvey is playing!

01-08-2013, 07:52 PM
Swansea are handicapped in this competition I see.............................................Jo njo Shelvey is playing!

He's playing very good IMO!

01-08-2013, 07:54 PM
I'm waiting in malmo scoring in 6 fold to get my bet up. Looks like they've used up all their goals against us.

01-08-2013, 07:55 PM
looked a penalty to me

01-08-2013, 07:56 PM
He's playing very good IMO!

Is he!!!!! I'll have to turn over and see this

2-0

2-0 Swans

Not going Malmos way. Denied stonewaller then up other end and 2-0 down.

Malmo stonewall pen denied, then Swansea score.

This is the fine line between 2-0 and 0-7 :wink:

01-08-2013, 07:57 PM
Stonewall penalty for Malmo there. Dunno what these xenophobic commentators are on about. Never a dive.

01-08-2013, 07:58 PM
Stonewall penalty for Malmo there. Dunno what these xenophobic commentators are on about. Never a dive.

Eh?

01-08-2013, 07:59 PM
Their bizarre presumption that all foreigners are diving is thinly veiled xenophobia.

01-08-2013, 07:59 PM
I can't say I am surprised Swansea are winning relatively comfortably. I wasn't as impressed with Malmo as some were. A decent team no doubt but certainly nothing special.

01-08-2013, 08:00 PM
Their bizarre presumption that all foreigners are diving is thinly veiled xenophobia.

:greengrin Really

English Premiership arrogance.

In saying that, Swans score again..... Could be 7 by the end :greengrin

West hamBERNIAN
They continued to play in the Welsh Cup until the mid 1990s, when they were stopped from taking the European qualifying place.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17346143
That is mental, never noticed that before.

3-0

01-08-2013, 08:01 PM
The summariser on ITV 4 went radge at that penalty claim.

I think what sums it up is that Swanseas new striker cost them £12million.

I wonder if we have spent that on new players in the past 20 years?

3-0 now

Was never a pen

3-0 Swansea now, thank god we were not playing them this week, they probably would have hit double figures.

Motherwell a goal down now as well.

3-0 swansea, i think malmo done us a favour

Swansea getting all the luck like Malmo did last week.

Who is the prick of a summariser on the tellybox? He describes it as a disgusting dive then after seeing it says minimal contact and then goe on about it being a dive again and saying the boy should have been booked!!!! Just admit you got it wrong ya fanny!!!!! Does ma heid in that does. Even after seeing it still think they are right. Prick.

01-08-2013, 08:02 PM
Who is the prick of a summariser on the tellybox? He describes it as a disgusting dive then after seeing it says minimal contact and then goe on about it being a dive again and saying the boy should have been booked!!!! Just admit you got it wrong ya fanny!!!!! Does ma heid in that does. Even after seeing it still think they are right. Prick.

Must be the same bloke that is making the third umpire decisions at the cricket.

01-08-2013, 08:03 PM

You bizarre presumption that the English media think all foreigners are diving is thinly veiled xenophopia is nothing less than thinly veiled xenophobia. :agree:

01-08-2013, 08:04 PM
Ricardinho still looks decent but Swansea are doing to Malmo what Malmo did to us.

I wonder if their manager will get sacked for this? Some fans are saying that they're never going back to the Swedestadion whilst Norling is in charge. Negative, unfit players. What's the setup? Norling's clueless.

And in the week that their all time best player Laurieus Reillysson has passed away as well. Dispicable.

01-08-2013, 08:04 PM
Motherwell losing 1-0 at home to Kuban Krasnodar.

Bit of a stinking draw really, Motherwell will probably lose the tie and it will cost an arm and a leg to travel there.

01-08-2013, 08:05 PM
Thank God we're not playing Swansea!

Could be even worse than last week!

01-08-2013, 08:07 PM
Motherwell losing 1-0 at home to Kuban Krasnodar.

Bit of a stinking draw really, Motherwell will probably lose the tie and it will cost an arm and a leg to travel there.

Good. GIRFUY Tam Cowan.

Clarke Carlisle.

I've enjoyed the 2 documentaries the lad has done on football but a commentator he is not!

hibernator
Shows fragility creeps in when goals are scored and decisions are given against you, A big decision went against Malmo there but it was a definite penalty, If someone takes the foot away that you are about to stand on you cannot stay up so why that idiot is talking about sufficient contact beats me, just say you were wrong pal ! :cb

01-08-2013, 08:08 PM
Good. GIRFUY Tam Cowan.
Motherwell are pish anyway, how come St Johnstone can win in Minsk when they can't even win at Fir Park? McCall will be out a job the morn.

01-08-2013, 08:09 PM
Think we can put to bed the idea that Malmo were some sort of super team and that being half way through your season makes all the difference! Swansea are a good side but it shows that Malmo are not as good as others made out.

Clarke Carlisle.

I've enjoyed the 2 documentaries the lad has done on football but a commentator he is not!

I'm sure he's a really nice guy but there's something about his voice which really irritates me.

Ricardinho still looks decent but Swansea are doing to Malmo what Malmo did to us.

I wonder if their manager will get sacked for this? Some fans are saying that they're never going back to the Swedestadion whilst Norling is in charge. Negative, unfit players. What's the setup? Norling's clueless.

And in the week that their all time best player Laurieus Reillysson has passed away as well. Dispicable.
That was the feeling after a 0-0 draw at part-time Drogheda. No such worries at Easter Road though

01-08-2013, 08:10 PM
Is that strip the prototype for the Yams one, with the armbands and all that ? If so its a f****** howler!

01-08-2013, 08:11 PM
Think we can put to bed the idea that Malmo were some sort of super team and that being half way through your season makes all the difference! Swansea are a good side but it shows that Malmo are not as good as others made out.

Correct. We are just pish.

01-08-2013, 08:12 PM
I'm sure he's a really nice guy but there's something about his voice which really irritates me.

Aye agreed. He has an irritating David Coulthard like quality

01-08-2013, 08:12 PM

That some thinly veiled xenophobia there FH? :greengrin

hibernator
01-08-2013, 08:13 PM

Ha Ha , Yip !, :greengrin

01-08-2013, 08:16 PM

Nobody suggested they were in a European sense but you've got a warped sense of where we are in the world if you can't see that Swansea are on a different planet to both of us.

01-08-2013, 08:16 PM
Swansea are playing some really good stuff here and could peel away further!

01-08-2013, 08:20 PM
Motherwell 2-0 down now, hopefully a similar loss against us on Sunday

01-08-2013, 08:25 PM
2-0 now for Kuban Krasnodar against Motherwell.

All over now I would think.

01-08-2013, 08:26 PM
Nobody suggested they were in a European sense but you've got a warped sense of where we are in the world if you can't see that Swansea are on a different planet to both of us.

Last week was Malmo's cup final. They're just knackered and making Swansea look good. See... 4-0.

01-08-2013, 08:26 PM
4-0

01-08-2013, 08:27 PM
4-0 Swansea are different class.

01-08-2013, 08:27 PM
4-0 Swansea.

01-08-2013, 08:28 PM
Swansea would have been in double figures against us by now. Thank goodness Malmo saved us that at least!

Great goal that.

Since coming to the Prem Swansea have easily played the best football outside the top 4/5, really good to watch.

Just as well Malmo have played 16 games.

davhibby
Fantastic link up play there. Swansea have been a great watch

01-08-2013, 08:29 PM
Got Shelvey in my fantasy team for this season, reckon he'll be a big player for Swansea this season.

01-08-2013, 08:32 PM
I wonder if the Swans manager has a brother looking for a managers job? :-)

01-08-2013, 08:34 PM
4-0 Swansea.

Swansea are everything Hibs are not... fit, well organised, hungry, confident, busy, clinical, good defenders, athletic. It's utterly depressing how far off the pace Hibs are as a team and a blessed relief that we did not have to play anyone of the that calibre.

01-08-2013, 08:37 PM
Swansea score just highlights how far behind most of Europe the Scottish league has become.

Apart from Celtic we will still be one of the better sides in the league, I'm convinced of that, but we were pumped by a Malmo side who were made to look ordinary in comparison to Swansea.

01-08-2013, 08:38 PM
Swansea are everything Hibs are not... fit, well organised, hungry, confident, busy, clinical, good defenders, athletic. It's utterly depressing how far off the pace Hibs are as a team and a blessed relief that we did not have to play anyone of the that calibre.

I agree with all of that and what is most frustrating is all of the above can be achieved with hard work and application. There is no excuse not to have any of those attributes(exception maybe good defenders) in a professional team. Swansea of course also have bags of talent

01-08-2013, 08:38 PM
Got Shelvey in my fantasy team for this season, reckon he'll be a big player for Swansea this season.

That's his one good game of the season over and done with then :greengrin

01-08-2013, 08:40 PM
I agree with all of that and what is most frustrating is all of the above can be achieved with hard work and application. There is no excuse not to have any of those attributes(exception maybe good defenders) in a professional team. Swansea of course also have bags of talent

A £35 million wage bill mind. Sproule was fast but Didnt mean he could play football. That money gets you athletes that can also play.

01-08-2013, 08:40 PM
That's his one good game of the season over and done with then :greengrin

:bitchy:

01-08-2013, 08:47 PM
:bitchy:

Sorry, I just don't think he was worth £5m but I have been wrong before :greengrin

01-08-2013, 08:49 PM
Sorry, I just don't think he was worth £5m but I have been wrong before :greengrin

On this occasion I think you are spot on :greengrin

01-08-2013, 08:51 PM
Great goal that.

Since coming to the Prem Swansea have easily played the best football outside the top 4/5, really good to watch.
No no no. Malmo are just Pish.

01-08-2013, 08:53 PM

I haven't got a warped sense Andy, I know exactly where we are. And unlike yourself I blame certain people at the club for it where you seem to think it is never the fault of anybody at hibs. I never expected to beat malmo and wouldn't expect to beat Swansea, however I expect us to compete! 9-0 over 2 legs isn't because malmo are in different class than Scottish teams, they were different class compared to us because we were so poor.

The excuses after the 7 - 0 game seemed to point to malmo being an amazing team and them half way through their season. Apparently this was the level of Scottish football now and these results sometimes 'happen'. Sometimes being the first time in Scottish football. Malmo were completely outclassed today and showed they are an ordinary side. Celtic beat a team in malmo's league and where Celtic are better than us I wouldn't accept them taking 7 off us either. Then there is st Johnstone, the anomaly, the team that, by many people's thought process, are doing the impossible.

The thing that seems to be warped is the reasons that are given for when we get humped and who is o blame.

GlenrothesHibee
01-08-2013, 08:54 PM
Hibs are also well behind the likes of Real Madrid. Its not depressing its just reality. Im sure we would give Malmo a better game 17 games into our season

01-08-2013, 09:04 PM
Can't be right. Swansea are still in pre-season and had 5 debutants :confused:.

On a serious note, I honestly can't believe this was the same mob out put 7 past us at ER.

01-08-2013, 09:07 PM
Can't be right. Swansea are still in pre-season and had 5 debutants :confused:.

On a serious note, I honestly can't believe this was the same mob out put 7 past us at ER.

I can. Malmo are no Dnipro or Maribor. They were lucky to get us when we were particularly poor.

01-08-2013, 09:13 PM
My point is that all professionals should be fit and have a huge desire to win whilst playing in a formation they understand. You don't need to be Pele for that. In my opinion Hibs fell wildly short of that against Malmo and some were trying to suggest that Malmo were worldbeaters. They just looked like a decent team to me and they were very well beaten tonight. Hopefully the Malmo game was a one off for Hibs and the season will start brightly on Sunday but I do fear for us this year.

A £35 million wage bill mind. Sproule was fast but Didnt mean he could play football. That money gets you athletes that can also play.

01-08-2013, 09:13 PM

And worth £35 million!

01-08-2013, 09:15 PM
Swansea score just highlights how far behind most of Europe the Scottish league has become.

Apart from Celtic we will still be one of the better sides in the league, I'm convinced of that, but we were pumped by a Malmo side who were made to look ordinary in comparison to Swansea.

No. I don't get that.

Celtic consistently do OK in Europe. They don't hammer everyone in Scotland every week. They generally mostly win but not by 7-0.

St J have shown Scottish clubs can compete. So what is it with Hibs (and Motherwell/Dundee Utd)? Poorly coached, lacking professionalism?

Not enough ambition or high enough aspirations. We don't aim high enough. Almost expect to get beat.

01-08-2013, 09:18 PM
I can. Malmo are no Dnipro or Maribor. They were lucky to get us when we were particularly poor.

Agreed. Although their manager and players must have howled with laughter when they saw we were putting out the same back four. Massive boost to their confidence I reckon :agree:

01-08-2013, 09:45 PM
There was no excuse for our humping by Malmo ..... 9 - 0 on aggregate has no excuse.

But I do not think that our result against Malmo was a reflection of the state of Scottish football. Malmo are a decent middle ranking European side who did what many teams of that calibre do when they see the words English premier league next to the name of the side they are about to play. They lost all confidence in their ability because they just didnt think they could win.

Their passing in possession, even when under little pressure was a lot worse than it was at Easter Road and in the last half hour they seemed to run out of steam.

No, what happened to us was the result of a number of factors:

A lack of preparation: Dumbarton, Raith Rovers Gibraltar and a Forest team playing their first pre season game. Hardly a testing schedule given the fact that we could have ended up against an even better team than Malmo.

The lack of urgency in getting a forward and even a centre half in place before Europe started.

The fact that we had two of our best defenders ( Clancy & McGivern ) out injured and another who, no matter what he says was obviously not fit enough to start the game ... witnessed by the fact that he only lasted 20 odd minutes.

Some poor decisions by the manager ... Stevenson at right back, when he had been ( by all accounts ) ripped a new one in the first leg.

Added to that the fact that we were just poor on the night and you have a recipe for disaster unless the luck goes with you.

I guess that what I'm trying to say is that Scottish football may not be great, or even adequate at times .... but it isnt as bad as Malmo 9 Hibs 0

Capt Mainwaring
01-08-2013, 10:06 PM
Highlights ( in Welsh) on S4C Sky Channel 134 now

02-08-2013, 02:55 AM
There was no excuse for our humping by Malmo ..... 9 - 0 on aggregate has no excuse.

But I do not think that our result against Malmo was a reflection of the state of Scottish football. Malmo are a decent middle ranking European side who did what many teams of that calibre do when they see the words English premier league next to the name of the side they are about to play. They lost all confidence in their ability because they just didnt think they could win.

Their passing in possession, even when under little pressure was a lot worse than it was at Easter Road and in the last half hour they seemed to run out of steam.

No, what happened to us was the result of a number of factors:

A lack of preparation: Dumbarton, Raith Rovers Gibraltar and a Forest team playing their first pre season game. Hardly a testing schedule given the fact that we could have ended up against an even better team than Malmo.

The lack of urgency in getting a forward and even a centre half in place before Europe started.

The fact that we had two of our best defenders ( Clancy & McGivern ) out injured and another who, no matter what he says was obviously not fit enough to start the game ... witnessed by the fact that he only lasted 20 odd minutes.

Some poor decisions by the manager ... Stevenson at right back, when he had been ( by all accounts ) ripped a new one in the first leg.

Added to that the fact that we were just poor on the night and you have a recipe for disaster unless the luck goes with you.

I guess that what I'm trying to say is that Scottish football may not be great, or even adequate at times .... but it isnt as bad as Malmo 9 Hibs 0

I wonder what will happen if Malmo lose the return leg 5-0 and go down 9-0 or more (and there is every indication this will happen. Will they be having similar conversations to what we have been having, drowning in our pity and Pi$$. Just a thought!

JOD
02-08-2013, 03:34 AM
Please no, I never want Hibs to play them again!

I think overall they are beating us 12-9 in our 4 matches to date so yes I would take a rematch in ___ years time.:take that :wink:

02-08-2013, 06:32 AM
Swanseas new striker cost 12 million. Ours 200 thousand. That shows how financiallly far behind a middle ranking SPL club is in relation to a middle ranking EPL club. No surprise to me Swansea swept Malmo aside as vs us I thought the Swedes were poor at the back altho obviously we did nothing to capitalise on that.

What we should have brought to the Malmo game was organisation and the basics of playing players in the right positions. You dont need an EPL budget to do that. We still wouldnt have beaten Malmo who were faster.fitter and technically superior but it might have made it less of a pounding.

02-08-2013, 08:51 AM
I wonder what will happen if Malmo lose the return leg 5-0 and go down 9-0 or more (and there is every indication this will happen. Will they be having similar conversations to what we have been having, drowning in our pity and Pi$$. Just a thought!

Theres every chance they will win their league so I doubt that situation will arise.

Swanseajack81
02-08-2013, 09:22 AM
Thanks to Hibernian Interactive Extra (who don't do replies or refunds) I've never seen Malmo play so I shall look forward to it.

Plus I want Swansea to get grubbed.

The ‘Swim Away’ chant (complete with breast stroke actions) derives from a Swansea v Cardiff encounter in 1988; following the Bluebirds triumph over the Jacks at their Vetch home (http://outsideoftheboot.com/magazine/), the Swansea fans hunted down some of the Cardiff contingent (it seems the number of Cardiff fans varies from whoever is telling the story) and chased them towards the beach until the Cardiff fans attempted to escape the Jack Army by diving into Swansea Bay an attempting to ‘swim away’ from their pursuers. Since that day in 1988 the ‘Swim Away’ chant regularly resonates from the Jack Army in a taunt at Cardiff fans supposed cowardice. Even current and former Swansea players have performed the ‘Swim Away’ as a goal celebration much to the delight of the Swans faithful (as Darren Pratley demonstrates (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c3cOcgE2UME)against Cardiff here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c3cOcgE2UME)). :na na:

oh well on to Europe....

02-08-2013, 12:00 PM
BBC sport

Now 1-0 Swansea however..

Do you know, Malmo picked him up for nowt from Orlando Pirates ( I think it was them)

02-08-2013, 12:40 PM

Think the issue is that we only conceded 2 over there and completely collapsed at home through poor play which would have resulted in us getting beat by just about any team. I don't think anyone really thought we would beat malmo, but expected us to make a game of it. In Europe you can't be downbeat if you made the opposition work hard for their victory, we didnt,we made it very easy for them and gifted goals. The main concern for me about the defeat against malmo was the acceptance from part of our support. It was almost as if it was ok to get Beat by such a margin from a Swedish side. Swansea showed malmo as being an ordinary side. From some of our support there seems to be a massive reluctance to admit that we were honking and still struggling.

02-08-2013, 02:13 PM
I don't think Malmo were either honking or fantastic. The football that we played in the last 20 in Malmo and the first 20 at home was a good enough indicator to me that they were not brilliant and eminently beatable. We needed an early goal, we failed in that and allowed them to score a shocking defensive goal from our point of view. They then went and scored another before we had any penetration or chance to score. Tie over. Heads dropped, and whether that is right or wrong is the topic of another discussion, and we got thumped, hard. I don't think there is any doubt in my mind that the top Swedish teams would have beaten any of our top teams apart from Celtc and they only managed a 1-0 against Elfsborg at home and are definitely not safe. For me, it all comes down to money. The Swedes were, going by reports at the time, paying a helluva lot more than we were, Swansea are paying a helluva lot more than Malmo. Ergo an escalating scale of competencies in players. I am not for one second saying it is right, neither am I saying it is acceptable to lose at home 7-0 but I do believe that the mitigating factors on the night led to it. On any other night in a few months time, I reckon we would give Malmo a much closer game.

Islington Hibs
02-08-2013, 03:56 PM
Harsh reality Sky spends £1.2 Billion over 3 years on the EPL and Sky pays is it £24m fir the SPL. No competition. This is not an excuse for our desperate performance v Malmo but the SPL ex Celtic has the resources of League One in England. It makes it very tough.