View Full Version : Reason for attending on Thursday

27-07-2013, 05:31 PM
Great crowd of 16,000.......Genuinely interested if there were specific reasons for attending the match.

27-07-2013, 05:37 PM
All of the above.

Emerald
27-07-2013, 05:40 PM
I went because I'm a Hibs supporter and season ticket holder. I don't need another reason to go but its becoming easy to think of reasons not to go. :agree:

27-07-2013, 05:43 PM
I went because I am a Hibs fan, a season ticket holder, we were at home in Europe in a tie that was possible to overturn from the first leg and it was my day off work as well.

Another important factor was certainly to pay my respects to Lawrie Reilly but I would have been there regardless of the circumstances.

27-07-2013, 05:45 PM
I went because Hibs were playing.

27-07-2013, 05:46 PM
yep, no further explanation needed.

27-07-2013, 05:57 PM

Exactly.

27-07-2013, 05:58 PM
As others have said, Hibs were playing.

27-07-2013, 06:17 PM

27-07-2013, 06:18 PM
Maybe should have added the caveat, that we have 8-9K in ST holder's, was more interested in the additional attendees on the night....

27-07-2013, 06:19 PM
I went for ritualistic sadism, watching yet another inept performance and asking why blind faith costs so much.

As per most others, I actually went to watch hibs play fitba. Whatever that was, in was neither hibs or fitba.

27-07-2013, 06:19 PM
I went because it was Hibs, and wanted to see another epic European defeat. Sadly i was let down once again. :boo hoo:

27-07-2013, 06:21 PM
I went because it was Hibs, and wanted to see another epic European defeat. Sadly i was let down once again. :boo hoo:

You did see an epic European defeat though:greengrin

Makaveli
27-07-2013, 06:27 PM
Maybe should have added the caveat, that we have 8-9K in ST holder's, was more interested in the additional attendees on the night....

I voted European match and fair pricing on behalf of the four neutrals I know who went for those reasons.

27-07-2013, 06:28 PM
As others have said, Hibs were playing.

I went with this expectation but it didn't happen.

Pat 0-7
27-07-2013, 06:28 PM
I think the pricing was a big factor. There were loads of kids there, I think it shows that a lot of parents think £5 is a reasonable price.

27-07-2013, 06:38 PM
I think the pricing was a big factor. There were loads of kids there, I think it shows that a lot of parents think £5 is a reasonable price.
Would agree with that. My 5 year old lad came with me and £20 was a lot more appealing than a minimum of £34 for a league game.

TomoHFC
27-07-2013, 06:46 PM
that was my first ever european game

TAHibby
27-07-2013, 07:04 PM
Because I hate myself?

27-07-2013, 07:09 PM
Because Hibs were playing.

**** knows what I actually witnessed though.

27-07-2013, 07:11 PM
Because I wanted those the team I support, compete (?) live in a competitive game.......

27-07-2013, 07:17 PM
Were Hibs playing? I must have missed this!

I planned to go before LR sadly passed away, but this nailed it and thankfully we (as fans) did him proud. The team alas...

EuanH78
27-07-2013, 08:46 PM

Were they? I think I missed that bit. :)

EuanH78
27-07-2013, 08:47 PM
Were Hibs playing? I must have missed this!

I planned to go before LR sadly passed away, but this nailed it and thankfully we (as fans) did him proud. The team alas...

Dammit, teach me to read all the replies 1st

27-07-2013, 08:49 PM
Went to see Hibs.

What i witnessed should have had the manager sacked by now.

27-07-2013, 08:53 PM
Went to see Hibs.

What i witnessed should have had the manager sacked by now.

27-07-2013, 08:54 PM
Great crowd of 16,000.......Genuinely interested if there were specific reasons for attending the match.

Interesting that 60 out of a crowd of 16,000 have voted. Just shows that Hibs.net does not represent the views of all Hibs supporters.

27-07-2013, 09:08 PM
Interesting that 60 out of a crowd of 16,000 have voted. Just shows that Hibs.net does not represent the views of all Hibs supporters.

Aye, until all 16000 vote we can ignore this poll. :greengrin

27-07-2013, 09:11 PM
I went to see the grass grow at the Holy Ground.

7-Heaven
27-07-2013, 09:15 PM

Ditto

Heedersnvolleys
27-07-2013, 09:17 PM
All of the above.

Benny Brazil
27-07-2013, 09:17 PM

That'll be me then :)

3 reasons - respect for Lawrie Reilly, pricing and Hibs in Europe - and maybe a 4th in that I didnt need to try and get someone to watch my kids

27-07-2013, 09:21 PM
That'll be me then :)

3 reasons - respect for Lawrie Reilly, pricing and Hibs in Europe - and maybe a 4th in that I didnt need to try and get someone to watch my kids

Will you and your kids be back after Thursday. :aok:

Hopefully use will be. :greengrin

Time For Heroes
27-07-2013, 10:20 PM
First time in over 3 years as I lived in Oz until last week, I doubt I'll be allowed back! Haha

27-07-2013, 10:49 PM
The sad thing is that I saw dozens of folk who were clearly there to pay their respects to Lawrie. I doubt many of them will darken the door again

PaulC
28-07-2013, 08:05 AM
Lapsed supporter and the reasons for me;

- Just back from holiday so was nice and relaxed, became a spur of the moment get a ticket (bought my ticket on the Sunday before the game)
- Summer (and evening) football - big fan of both
- Price, as I thought £15 was great value
- Chance to see and sit in the new East as I haven't been to a game since it was built
- Being a competitive match rather than a friendly (memories of the AEK match)

Did I see anything or feel anything that would make me become a season ticket holder again, not at all unfortunately. Scottish football over the winter months - not for me anymore, done my time with that. Odd Friday evening match (or even Saturday evening) ......perhaps ??!?!?!

Dumfrieshibs
28-07-2013, 08:17 AM
Change in work circumstances let me get to the game . Not been a regular for a few years due to work mainly and change should allow me to get to more games . Went to watch Hibs over and above anything else .

StevesFamau5
28-07-2013, 09:57 AM
Hibs were playing, I wasn't working in the hotel like I do on Saturdays, it was a fiver which helped me due to being skint thanks to bills and holiday payments and also I felt after one of the greats of the club who I may never have known personally and due to age never got a chance to see play deserved my appreciation for what he did for the club I have supported since I was a wee nipper in the borders who had no idea about anything. Think that about covers it

Benny Brazil
28-07-2013, 10:06 AM
Will you and your kids be back after Thursday. :aok:

Hopefully use will be. :greengrin

They will be silver - as I said on the PM board - my daughter has been to a few games with me last season as she is a lot older - my son actually enjoyed the experience - he loved the noise and the atmosphere at the start of the game, he joined in the singing and for the first time he sat and watched the game with a little bit of understanding about what was going on - as we left the game at the end he asked when the next game was at ER that we could go to - so a few more games for him and me this season and then possibly season tickets for us all next year.

tonyhib7
28-07-2013, 10:13 AM
Because i am a hibby and a season ticket holder and thats what i do. Support them through good and bad times and boy we can't get and worse than that result.

28-07-2013, 10:21 AM
I moved down to England last year and only get to a few games a season. I was home on a weeks holiday and I was able to make it.

Its a real shame though as of those ~7k extra fans that turned up, how many of them are genuinely going to want to go back over the season after that? If I was in Scotland I would still have a season ticket, and Im sure there are others similar, but for the majority of non-ST supporters who are unsure of spending that sort of money each week (or on a ST), seeing the team getting beaten 7-0 is hardly an incentive to go again.

28-07-2013, 10:31 AM
There is an old footie cliche about diehard fans that would pay good money just to watch the team shirts being hung out to dry. Well we had 16,000 diehards the other night, coz boy, did we get that.