View Full Version : Weather for Malmo game.

24-07-2013, 09:07 PM
Anyone seen the forecast for tomorrow night at 7pm...............MIST. WTF!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/2650225

davhibby
24-07-2013, 09:13 PM
As long as it's not as bad as that game v Dundee United a couple of seasons ago. That day was brutal

24-07-2013, 09:17 PM
Anyone seen the forecast for tomorrow night at 7pm...............MIST. WTF!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/2650225

A word for use in the match report re close things? :greengrin

24-07-2013, 09:19 PM
I might still brave the shorts. Hopefully no be too cold!

24-07-2013, 09:25 PM
Not liking the visibility "Very Poor" for Leith........ :rolleyes:

Still, think its shorts for me also :wink: 16c

The map at the bottom of the page don't look too bad ..........

http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/2644641

25-07-2013, 06:42 AM
It now has changed to fog for match time.......

Can we have a will the match be on / abandoned thread :dancer:

25-07-2013, 07:12 AM
Not liking the visibility "Very Poor" for Leith........ :rolleyes:

Still, think its shorts for me also :wink: 16c

The map at the bottom of the page don't look too bad ..........

Just as well we are playing in Edinburgh then :wink:

25-07-2013, 07:55 AM
its chucking it down here now - running down the road.....

25-07-2013, 07:55 AM
Rain is absolutely pelting down in Leith the now.

07BigD
25-07-2013, 08:00 AM
I hope they have covers on the pitch

25-07-2013, 08:03 AM
Currently staring at my wardrobe in a confused manner. Looks like the waterproofs are getting an airing tonight.

07BigD
25-07-2013, 08:10 AM
I was thinking about leaving the car and having a few pints but that idea is becoming less of a reality by the second.

25-07-2013, 08:13 AM
Just as well we are playing in Edinburgh then :wink:If you use modern political or postcode boundaries, then yes. :wink: When ER was built it was in Leith.

Burgh of Leith from 1832 to 1920
(http://www.grantonhistory.org/maps/boundaries/leith_boundary_map.htm)
http://i42.tinypic.com/154yhbl.png

25-07-2013, 08:16 AM
Extremely heavy rain here in the borders. Driving up for the match tonight so it better not be a wasted journey!

25-07-2013, 08:22 AM
Met office going for moderate vis at kick off deteriorating to fog by 10pm, 93% humidity though! Rain to ease throughout the day, dry by 7pm. We'll see!

07BigD
25-07-2013, 08:30 AM
Met office going for moderate vis at kick off deteriorating to fog by 10pm, 93% humidity though! Rain to ease throughout the day, dry by 7pm. We'll see!

Very concise

Mac
25-07-2013, 08:52 AM
Spooky that the last few years playing in European competitions the weather has been horrific with thunderstorms and torrential rain.

25-07-2013, 08:53 AM
Where's Hibsbollah with his bollah-barometer? :greengrin:

25-07-2013, 09:20 AM
Spooky that the last few years playing in European competitions the weather has been horrific with thunderstorms and torrential rain.

It's not really spooky.

It's a regular phenomenon in this geographic region, commonly known to meteorologists as July.

25-07-2013, 09:21 AM
I was thinking about leaving the car and having a few pints but that idea is becoming less of a reality by the second.

Straight onto the nips instead?

25-07-2013, 09:24 AM
Very concise

Met office app for android, it's a handy one!

25-07-2013, 09:27 AM
So are Budgie Smugglers and Hibs Top acceptable....and if so what would be acceptable footware :confused:

25-07-2013, 09:28 AM
So are Budgie Smugglers and Hibs Top acceptable....and if so what would be acceptable footware :confused:

It could only be flip flops imo. :greengrin

25-07-2013, 09:28 AM
Mist, fog, rain, FFS why do we not bring in summer fitba!!? :D

25-07-2013, 09:39 AM
Mist, fog, rain, FFS why do we not bring in summer fitba!!? :DWe've just had a couple of months of great weather for summer fitba :wink: It's got tae rain sometime even in the summer. Better warm rain than freezing sleet, hail or snaw.

25-07-2013, 09:41 AM
We've just had a couple of months of great weather for summer fitba :wink: It's got tae rain sometime even in the summer. Better warm rain than freezing sleet, hail or snaw.

25-07-2013, 09:41 AM

Wellies i reckon......You'll be a big hit with the Swedish bints.

25-07-2013, 09:42 AM
Just as well we are playing in Edinburgh then :wink:

Actually, roughly half the stadium is in Leith. The ball crosses the boundary during every goal kick :wink:

Mac
25-07-2013, 09:45 AM
It's not really spooky.

It's a regular phenomenon in this geographic region, commonly known to meteorologists as July.

Not quite so, the last 2 games was the equivalent rainfall that we would expect for the whole of July, vetra was unplayable but played it anyway, don’t normally have the electric storms to the level we have seen and yet occurred to the previous 3 European ties, I would say that was a little spooky and certainly not the norm.

We do however normally just get persistent pishy rain not the storm activity and real heavy flooding.

Basically it is a little out of the norm and to happen prior to the last 3 European games is a tad spooky :wink:

25-07-2013, 10:13 AM
Maribor home tie was dry wasn't it?

25-07-2013, 10:20 AM
Tonights forecast is as follows;

Fog is likely to be a significant factor this evening, with the wind direction from the Forth all that fog will affect coastal areas and will clear only slowly because of the light winds. Bollah barometer says 1011mb and falling, visibility poor. Floodlights may be necessary despite sunset of 9:34pm it will get gloomy well before then. It will be as warm and damp as the armpits of airdriejambo being pursued by Operation Yewtree detectives, minimum temp 16 degrees at 7:45pm kickoff.

Sartorially speaking, a tshirt may be sufficient, perhaps with a stylish light piece of rainwear casually draped over one shoulder in case we get a bit of drizzle.
Cmon the Hibs:flag:

Mikeystewart
25-07-2013, 10:28 AM
It will be raining goals :greengrin

25-07-2013, 10:30 AM
If you use modern political or postcode boundaries, then yes. :wink: When ER was built it was in Leith.

Burgh of Leith from 1832 to 1920
(http://www.grantonhistory.org/maps/boundaries/leith_boundary_map.htm)
http://i42.tinypic.com/154yhbl.png

Actually, roughly half the stadium is in Leith. The ball crosses the boundary during every goal kick :wink:

:greengrin My seat is in the Leith half! :wink:

25-07-2013, 10:30 AM
It's not really spooky.

Agree. Summer football!!??

I think the only games I can recall being called off, or should have been, have all been in the summer.

Pat 0-7
25-07-2013, 10:34 AM
I remember me and the kids getting absolutely soaked while waiting to get in to the Dinaburg game at ER a few years ago........sun was shining when we left so we had t-shirts / hibs tops on....and that was the start of July......:rolleyes:

25-07-2013, 10:39 AM
Agree. Summer football!!??

I think the only games I can recall being called off, or should have been, have all been in the summer.

The majority of summer games would go ahead though in conditions much better suited to playing a skilful game than in winter. Fans wouldn't be risking their lives driving on treacherous roads to get to matches either.

25-07-2013, 10:42 AM
Remember our one and only postponement of two seasons ago, a friendly against Barnsley?

In the summer? :rolleyes:

25-07-2013, 10:43 AM
It could only be flip flops imo. :greengrin

:worried:broken toes in the melee when we score though

Wellies i reckon......You'll be a big hit with the Swedish bints.

they would just fill with rain

Tonights forecast is as follows;

Fog is likely to be a significant factor this evening, with the wind direction from the Forth all that fog will affect coastal areas and will clear only slowly because of the light winds. Bollah barometer says 1011mb and falling, visibility poor. Floodlights may be necessary despite sunset of 9:34pm it will get gloomy well before then. It will be as warm and damp as the armpits of airdriejambo being pursued by Operation Yewtree detectives, minimum temp 16 degrees at 7:45pm kickoff.

Sartorially speaking, a tshirt may be sufficient, perhaps with a stylish light piece of rainwear casually draped over one shoulder in case we get a bit of drizzle.
Cmon the Hibs:flag:

Sounds like a Turkish bath...hot, damp & sweaty with low visibility

25-07-2013, 11:00 AM
Rain hammering down in Leith at the moment. Summer football - no thanks.

Sanger
25-07-2013, 11:01 AM
:greengrin My seat is in the Leith half! :wink:

Live just outside the historical boundary. Gutted but still tell people I live there!

25-07-2013, 11:02 AM
Rain hammering down in Leith at the moment. Summer football - no thanks.It disnae rain in the winter? Just had a couple of months of great weather for fitba. :agree:

anyway who gives a **** about the weather

'mon the Hibs :flag::pfgwa:flag:

Pray4Marc
25-07-2013, 11:25 AM
Surely this will play to our advantage. Swedes clearly out their comfort zone.

25-07-2013, 12:43 PM
Surely this will play to our advantage. Swedes clearly out their comfort zone.

It rains just as much in Sweden... I stayed there for a year ;) they'll be used to the weather don't worry about that.

25-07-2013, 12:45 PM
The thinking man's choice for tonight with a gilet on top to provide adequate rain-cover.....

https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT9iZBfRWeT28rb2vtHAboCFuwpDFSIR m3mNAIuKvzPOm7Dud1POw

25-07-2013, 12:47 PM
Fog is already fairly thick in Leith , we might be all singing during a game we cant see :greengrin

25-07-2013, 12:51 PM
The thinking man's choice for tonight with a gilet on top to provide adequate rain-cover.....

https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT9iZBfRWeT28rb2vtHAboCFuwpDFSIR m3mNAIuKvzPOm7Dud1POw
What's the pink garment hanging up behind?

25-07-2013, 12:52 PM

Thinking men wear track suits these days?

Maybe in Tranent! :greengrin

25-07-2013, 12:55 PM
It's an image from the internet, thus not the exact replica of mine that is currently hanging about in the wardrobe.

Last time it was worn was the 4v3 game against Falkirk, it deserves another airing tonight I think. :agree:

25-07-2013, 01:16 PM
Live just outside the historical boundary. Gutted but still tell people I live there!

I was born in the Eastern General, so that makes me a "Leither" :greengrin

25-07-2013, 02:33 PM
Sun trying to poke through at Omni Lloyds, very humid still though.

25-07-2013, 03:01 PM
Sun trying to poke through at Omni Lloyds, very humid still though.

Very sunny in the Borders at the mo! :aok:

LeithBoozy
25-07-2013, 03:04 PM
Fog is already fairly thick in Leith , we might be all singing during a game we cant see :greengrin

I only hope if it gets any thicker, Pat has the brains to slip Collins on at half-time. :greengrin

Mac
25-07-2013, 03:09 PM
I only hope if it gets any thicker, Pat has the brains to slip Collins on at half-time. :greengrin

Thunder storm at Gyle

25-07-2013, 03:10 PM
The majority of summer games would go ahead though in conditions much better suited to playing a skilful game than in winter. Fans wouldn't be risking their lives driving on treacherous roads to get to matches either.

The roads are treacherous all the time. Anyway, you can't play the whole league during June and July, you need at least 10 months which must include a good chunk of the winter what ever you do.

25-07-2013, 03:21 PM
Thunder starting in Lochend.

JoeTortolanoFanClub
25-07-2013, 03:43 PM
Just got soaked playing golf at Ratho. Serves me right for skiving off I guess.

HibeeEmma
25-07-2013, 03:44 PM
Quite sunny in East Lothian - although not where the game will be played...

25-07-2013, 04:14 PM
Not looking good.

25-07-2013, 04:30 PM
According to this we shall be fine! Maybe :wink:

25-07-2013, 04:30 PM
Game off due to fog. Oh hang on no they've just burned a burger in Frankie & Benny's.

Does look a bit misty down the Walk though...

25-07-2013, 04:33 PM
Game off due to fog. Oh hang on no they've just burned a burger in Frankie & Benny's.

Does look a bit misty down the Walk though...

Or you've been on the lash again......

25-07-2013, 04:34 PM
Or you've been on the lash again......
Got my wee man with me so sat here with a Coke. I can't believe it either!

25-07-2013, 04:37 PM
Got my wee man with me so sat here with a Coke. I can't believe it either!

Well done, hope he enjoys it.
Remember I saw you on Friday morning last week!!!!

Greendub
25-07-2013, 04:37 PM
http://i897.photobucket.com/albums/ac179/Brianmk6fezzy/B92A78EF-7172-49B9-B4F6-98D6655DF240-9191-000008FA1849A15C_zps30d30e1d.jpg

Looking a bit foggy

25-07-2013, 04:39 PM
Well done, hope he enjoys it.
Remember I saw you on Friday morning last week!!!!

Ah yes when we were the walking dead on our way back to the station. Bit of a struggle!

25-07-2013, 04:49 PM

I hope that's a Palmeiras top but guess that its not...

patch1875
25-07-2013, 05:06 PM
Getting foggy now in east lLothian

25-07-2013, 05:08 PM
Hi-ho Hi-ho, it's off to play Malmo.. We just need 3 to play Swansea Hi-ho, Hi-Ho, Hi-ho, Hi-ho!!!

25-07-2013, 05:22 PM
Pitch looks stunning.

25-07-2013, 05:46 PM
How's the mist looking at the stadium ? I know the irony in that question.

25-07-2013, 05:47 PM
How's the mist looking at the stadium ? I know the irony in that question.

Parked just off Easter Rd, overcast but not misty

26-07-2013, 08:31 AM
After last night's debacle I am tendering my resignation as official meteorologist forthwith. I hold up my hands and accept that last night's performance was unacceptable. Hearts based metaphors are no longer enough to conceal my continued failure. I forecast fog and it clearly didnt materialise to the extent I predicted. In fact, by the second half the skies had cleared and it was quite pleasant as Malmo knocked in their 5th and 6th goals. I just hope my replacement can take this great club to where it should be :flag:

26-07-2013, 08:33 AM
After last night's debacle I am tendering my resignation as official meteorologist forthwith. I hold up my hands and accept that last night's performance was unacceptable. Hearts based metaphors are no longer enough to conceal my continued failure. I forecast fog and it clearly didnt materialise to the extent I predicted. In fact, by the second half the skies had cleared and it was quite pleasant as Malmo knocked in their 5th and 6th goals. I just hope my replacement can take this great club to where it should be :flag:

We had high hopes for you and you've interviewed well after each weather episode but you just haven't delivered. It was always a risk taking a punt on an inexperienced contender like you. There are some LOI teams that might suit your level better...

26-07-2013, 08:39 AM

It's not your fault, you are merely the latest poor appointment by Petrie.